728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Replacement Engines & Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 oz. Synthetic Fuel Additive

4 oz. Synthetic Fuel Additive

Fix poor or non-running engines with 4 oz. mechanic in a bottle. This synthetic fuel additive works in your power equipment with 2-cycle and 4-cycle engines. It removes all varnish in the fuel system without having to remove the carburetor, removes carbon deposits, removes water, reconditions rubber and plastic components, and revitalizes old fuel. Mechanic in a bottle rejuvenates your equipment's fuel system so that it starts efficiently and operates in top condition.
Overall rating:
4.923 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product13 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Features 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product13 of 13reviews
Customer reviews for 4 oz. Synthetic Fuel Additive
Review 1 for 4 oz. Synthetic Fuel Additive
from Aromas, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bring the life back to your gas powered equipment

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Needed an additive to help get my saws and lawn maintenance equipment running their best. Added a little to the fuel and ran each piece of equipment for 5-10 minutes. I started to notice smoother running, better throttle response and easier starts. This is not a cure-all product or a way to repair mechanical damages to small engines. Further adjustments to my equipment may still be necessary to ensure the best operation possible. I’m using this additive in all my ongoing fuel mixes.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 oz. Synthetic Fuel Additive
from Chicago il
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stuff works great

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had trouble with my snowblower starting. I had already used it this year so couldn't believe it was carberator. Put new plug thought might be in key switch not sure. If I put little gas in spark plug hole it would run for a second. So decided to try mechanic in a bottle followed a YouTube video on ( how to use mechanic in a bottle ) it started on 2 nd pull let it run for about 10 min. Had to use it the other day started on first pull and does run better then before snowblower is 10 years old I have 6 buildings 7 snowblowers will be my go to product from now on
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 oz. Synthetic Fuel Additive
from Ogden, UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't Believe it Worked!

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Anything named "mechanic in a bottle" is questionable but this stuff actually worked! Took a couple mows over a week before it worked but now my lawn mower and edger run great! after using this product to clear out that bad gas crud, find a gas station with ethanol free gasoline or use additives!!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 oz. Synthetic Fuel Additive
from Omaha, NE
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful stuff!!

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My Honda mower was stalling out, cleaned the spark plugs and it still stalled out. I pulled the plug our and it had a lot of soot and carbon on it. I put a new plug in and it ran for about 8 minutes and was about to stall out again. I poured in half a bottle of the additive in the tank and let it run a few minutes. Started mowing and the performance was markedly improved. The more I mowed the better it got. I even had to check to make sure the idle wasn't set too high because it was running so well. First time I've ever had an additive that worked like advertised.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 oz. Synthetic Fuel Additive
from Hickory NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like a charm

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Usually these gimmicky type things never work. Low & behold to my surprise this stuff worked.
I hadn't run my 13hp generator for over 2 yrs. and the carburetor had varnished inside. The motor wouldn't even attempt to start. I followed the directions on the YouTube video & poured Mechanic In A Bottle full strength into the carb. & let it sit overnight. I was only able to get about 1.5 oz in it. The next morning I put in fresh gas, turned the fuel valve on & after the 3rd pull it fired right up. I couldn't believe it.
Here are a few tips:
Don't expect this stuff to work in a few minutes, let it sit in the carb overnight.
If you have a small engine like on a push mower or blower you can empty the gas tank & then pour this stuff full strength into the gas tank. Push the primer bulb or pull the start cord a few times to get the stuff into the carb.
If you have a large motor & large gas tank, it might be difficult to get the stuff into the carb. Home Depot sells a gas tank shut off valve kit in the mower department where the Mechanic In A Bottle is kept. The kit contains fuel line, clamps, & a shut off valve with barbs on each end. Get this kit & get the smallest funnel you can find. The funnel end needs to fit in the end of this fuel line so the end of the funnel needs to be very small. Empty the small engines gas tank to remove the bad gas. Take the fuel line loose from the tank. Usually the fuel line from the gas tank to the carb is too short to try to pour the Mechanic In A Bottle into. So you're going to use the shut off valve in the kit to couple the fuel line from the tank to the fuel line in the kit. Put one end of the barb on the shut off valve into the end of the gas tank fuel line & put the other end on the hose that came in the kit. I had to sand down the plastic barb on one end of the valve to get it to fit the fuel hose on my generator. Stick the end of the funnel into the other end of the hose & pour the Mechanic In A Botlle & make sure the valve is open to let the solution flow in. Let it sit overnight.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 oz. Synthetic Fuel Additive
from Norwalk, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Got my mower up and running again

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had neglected to add stabilizer to the fuel in my mower for winter storage, and I knew I was going to have problems starting it. The ethanol in modern fuels separates and attracts moisture, which will prevent your engine from starting/running. I drained the fuel out using a small siphon pump and followed the Mechanic in a Bottle (MIB) instructions. I knew that my problem was varnish in the carburetor, etc. My other issue was that my mower does not have a manual prime. If you have a piece of equipment like this, don't worry, just pull the cord 10-15 times, which will work the MIB into the carburetor. I let it sit over a day, and then added fresh fuel. It started on the 2nd pull, the sputtered. Pulled the cord 1-2 times more, and I was back in business.
MIB saved me from having to take the carburetor apart and cleaning it out. Sweet product!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 oz. Synthetic Fuel Additive
from Fairfield, CT

Worked like magic..

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My neighbor lady's Honda lawn mower was running poorly -- not starting, or running for 2 minutes and then stalling out. Checked the oil, the spark plug, so it had to be the fuel. She said that it sat in the shed over the winter, with gas in it. Tried Sta-bil, but it must have been too late. Drained the gas, put fresh gas in -- no go.
Then, drained the tank again, poured the Mechanic in a bottle in, primed the engine with it, just like the bottle says, and left overnight.
In the morning, the mower started on the second pull, and ran! I poured fresh gas in, and was able to mow the neighbor's lawn for 15 solid minutes -- no more problems with stalling, etc.
Obviously, some problems are mechanical and can't be fixed by pouring stuff in the tank, but for the price it is worth a try before you bring your mower or anything else to a mechanic.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 oz. Synthetic Fuel Additive
from Framingham MA

Should be called miracle in a bottle...

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My snow thrower carb got gummy - my symptoms were I could not engage the drive and auger at the same time without the thrower stalling. I could also not get the the choke to full. I dumped a bottle into my gas tank, let the engine run on half choke for 10 minutes , and then let the thrower sit overnight.
The next day everything worked great again - the engine ran a little rough but with every use its getting smoother. Don't spend hundreds rebuilding your carb (unless you know what your doing) .
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Powerful
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 oz. Synthetic Fuel Additive
from Bolingbrook
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff saved me $200!

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a Stihl string trimmer and blower that would not start. The local dealer wanted nearly $200 to tune-up the pair. Due to the age of the blower (8 years old), I thought I'd give this stuff a try before shelling out the cash for a tune-up. My initial reaction to this product was not positive. I followed the directions and after waiting overnight both tools struggled to start. In frustration, I set the tools aside. The following week-end, I decided to give both tools another try before taking them to the dealer. WOW! With just a couple of pulls both tools started right up. I then adjusted the carburetors per the instructions in the owner's manual. These things now run like new!
P.S. If you own Stihl gas-powered lawn tools, most contain a spark arrestor that can get gummed-up. The arrestor is located in the muffler and if it's clogged will cause these tools to not run at full throttle. Check YouTube for several videos that show how to clean the arrestor.
Pros: Easy to Use, inexpensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 oz. Synthetic Fuel Additive

It actually works

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
4 cycle Ryobi weed whacker started stalling in early season use last year. I called the Ryobi service center, explained in detail the symptoms and asked what to do. "Bring it in and we'll take a look. That'll cost $50 and any repairs needed would cost more." Yeah, right. I looked around the internet, found reference to the kinds of stalling problems I was experiencing and to this product. It seems these smaller engines get gummed up pretty easily. I bought the product at HD for $6. Applied as directed and have been using my weed whacker for a year with no further issues. After the first application which is aimed at de-gumming the motor, it started operating like new. I now put a very small amount in each time I fill the gas tank and that seems to keep operations running well. It is a pleasant surprise to save that amount of money for service that wasn't even needed and actually have the product work as advertised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 oz. Synthetic Fuel Additive
from Northwestern Pennsylvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great stuff

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a poor running Cub Cadet, that I found water entering fuel system through the fuel cap (located on top of tractor. After draining fuel from tank, I added the recommended amount along with fresh fuel. The engine started like normal, but after running several minutes, I found the engine would run normaly without the choke out, and would also accelerate better than before. I now use mechanic in a bottle regularly and their other products to keep the fuel and system clean
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 oz. Synthetic Fuel Additive

It works

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My snow blower only ran on choke as I forgot to empty the gas from last winter. After some search on the internet, I came across a suggestion for Mechanic In a Bottle (MIB). So I just drained all the gas, add 2oz of MIB, and pressed the primer bulb several times. I let it stand overnight like the instruction says. Next morning, I added new fuel, and the snow blower ran as new. Thanks MIB for saving me from having to remove and clean the carburetor manually.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 oz. Synthetic Fuel Additive
from Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Brought life back to my weed trimmer

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All last summer my weed trimmer would not run at all without constant choking. When it did run, it was very weak. After reading about this product I added some to my blower's gas tank and ran the engine for about 1 minute (stumbling, coughing, etc). I waited about 8 hours and tried the engine again. Now it runs like a bat out of heck!!!!
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.