728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color

Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color

Existing pipe boot repair and preventative maintenance -The Perma-Boot is a gasket-less two piece pipe boot repair system designed to permanently repair the most common type of roof leak - the leak around the vent pipes that penetrate your roof. The Perma-Boot can also be used as a very effective preventative maintenance product to guard against future roof leaks and the resulting damage to sheetrock, insulation, paint and hardwood floors etc. The Perma-Boot will stand up to all weather extremes and is warranted for the life of the existing shingle. Patented design allows for use on roofs pitched from 3/12 to 12/12. Available in Black, Brown, Weathered Wood and Gray to match your shingles. Made in the USA and requires no tools for installation.
Overall rating:
4.158 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product17 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product17 of 19reviews
Customer reviews for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color
Review 1 for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color
from Knoxville, Tennessee
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

The very best alternative to repairing a leaking roof pipe vent!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The perma-boot repair kit is absolutely the best alternative for a permanent fix for a leaking roof vent.
It was an easy install (5 mins). It took longer to get on and off the roof than it did to install the kit. The
bottom slips over the pipe vent and boot and fits snug. It is adjustable to fit your roof pitch. I used a non-silicone adhesive sealer and simply followed the simple instructions. A much better alternative than removing roof shingles and installing a new boot. The Perma-boot is guaranteed for the life of the roof. The original boot only last 12 years. To "boot" it looks much better on the roof than the original boot. No white pipes showing now.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Light Weight, Looks Great
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color
from bay area
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

ok, but the sticker placement

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'd probably rate this a 4 if it didn't come with blg stickers on the viewable face that when peeled leave all the backing and glue stuck on the viewable unit. Maybe if you have goo be gone or something it's not that big a big deal but I didn't have it and by the time I tried vinegar, steel wool, paint stripper and razor blades, they were pretty goofed up. It also says you need to adhesive together, but none is provided. I bought 6 and wish I hadn't. The stickers caused probably an additional 60 minutes to the install. Why do they have to use those stickers, it's not like this is something someone would steal? Why couldn't they put them on the bottom? Sorry to rant.
i
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: nasty stickers
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color
from orleans, ma
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Very easy to install, works wonderfully!

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Super easy to install, less than 10 minutes. No more leaking. The instructions should say what type of adhesive or include a small tube of recommended.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color

Easy Install

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Install took less than 10 minutes. I popped it on, used a silicon to glue the top and was done. These are brand new installs and I've had a few rainstorms. No leaks thus far. I can' t wait to see how these survive the winter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, Good Shape, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color
from New Hudson, MI
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

:Pure Genius!

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was fantastic. . . slipped over the existing pipe and old rubber seal and presto done!!. The silicone bead went on easy nothing to cut it was on in less than a minute. Took longer to get out the ladder and climb onto the roof.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color
from Jamestown, MO 65046, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Product Should Be Standard On All New Construction!

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The standard boot they install on roofs is a joke. It degrades within a few years and you end up with leaks, which you may not find out about until you see water damage on your ceiling or walls. This boot is heavy duty and will last the life of the house and far exceeds what was already installed. It installs quickly and easily. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Seals Well, High Quality, Reliable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good quality, good idea, but didn't work for me

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these for the leaking vent pipes on my home. My pipes were just barely long enough for the product to fit (don't use for anything less than 10 inches..)
For the most part, It worked, but I still got a leak if it was rainy and windy.. I ended up taking them off and installing a very heavy duty slip-over replacement gasket (which was resizable too) I was able to get it from a local roofing products supplier.
Pros: Easy to Install, High Quality
Cons: Leaks, Inconsistent
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color
from Ames, IA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Pipe boot (Perma A Boot)

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
They work great you might have to trim the shingles around the old boot to get it to sent down flat on it. Used on 1.5 inch copper worked just fine. I had to extend the vent pipe as it was a little short use a copper coupler and a short pcs of copper. just siliconed then as there is no pressure. It works best if the vent is about an inch shorter than the boot. Also used a 3 inch and a 2 inch worked like a charm only had to trim the shingle around the old boot that was there to get them to set nice on the roof. Would use again
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color
from Trenton nj
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worked as advertised

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product installed and worked as advertised But did not come with sealant ,whereas unit bought from manufacturers website did.HD's price looked better until you buy the sealant separately.
Pros: Easy to Install, Seals Well
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color
from Van Alstyne, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Fairly easy installation.

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product provides a permanent solution without the need to disturb the existing roof shingles. It was quite easy to install.
The other alternative, replacing the boot, would have been much costlier in term of time or labor cost, and, it does not provide a permanent solution; since, after 5 years, the replaced boot may start leaking again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Reliable
Cons: can't think of one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Quick fix

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We were able to quickly fix our vent flashing before the rains began. Super easy install - the scariest part was getting onto the roof.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color
from Jacksonville, FL, USA

Good concept, beware short pipes

PostedJune 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 5 perma-boots (four 1.5" and one 3") for my 14yr old roof in Florida. Two vents were actually leaking. I like the concept and value; however, I was unaware that pipe length is critical. Proper installation of the boot requires pipe length of about 10-12 inches measured from the roof. Only one of my pipes was long enough for proper installation; all others were shorter (one was only 6.5"). I attempted to cut the boot and cap; however, due to tapering of the neck this does not work well either. I found all this out the hard way since Home Depot's web site does not provide any warnings about pipe length. Product specs state boot height but don't provide pipe minimum length. I'm left with only one boot properly installed and several others only marginally installed after multiple attempts to cut the boots and caps. Of course, after this experience I found the following on Perma-Boot's web site under Installation Helpful Hints: "In most areas, building code states that the PVC pipe must be 12 inches above the roof. The Perma-Boot can handle a few inches of variation from this, but if your pipe is really long or really short you may need to either cut it down to size, or use some PVC pipe fittings to extend it." If only I had known... but now I will have to re-order and extend the pipes for proper fit and function.
Great product I'm sure but measure your pipes first!
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color
from Gloucester, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Pure Genius

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was quoted 500 dollars to repair my leaky boots that unbeknownst to me been leaking into my attic soaking my insulation and causing mold on the ceiling of my bathroom. I found the Perma Boot at my local Home Depot and did it my self for 78 dollars for all three. My neighbor called a roofer and had him install them on his house (he is older) and they only charged him 50 doallrs in labor since it only took 15 minutes to do all four! Wish I would have thought of this product. I am weekend warrior here me ROAR!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color
from Spring, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Work's for me.

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This item did the trick. Not a permanent fix in my opinion, but will last long enough
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color
from PA

Works great on PVC vent pipe of the proper length

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
If you are covering a vent pipe made of PVC that is the proper length recommended by the manufacturer, this product fits snugly on the pipe and takes only five minutes to install with just a tube of adhesive. It's great. Older homes with metal vent pipes or incorrect lengths don't fit so well.
I installed on both types. It doesn't fit well on metal and I'm concerned it might rattle around or even come off in a strong windstorm. But, it's a lot easier than peeling back shingles. With newer PVC construction, this product is a no-brainer.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color

pipe boot easy fix

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product, easy it install and looks good too. I would recommend caulking the old neoprene pipe boot if cracked or torn before installing.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color
from Charlotte, NC

Perfect Fix!!!!

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptic at first of this product, however months after installation I could tell it works. It has saved my wife and I hundreds/thousands of dollars in repairs and prevented me from having to call someone out to fix it. This product is extremely easy to install and is very affordable. (HIGHLY recommend)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Pipe Boot Repair

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This roof jack repair is easy to use and has clear instructions.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Good Shape, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pipe Boot Repair for 2 in. I.D. Vent Pipe Black Color

They don't fit steel/cast iron pipes, copper pipes, or 1-1/4" pipes

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They don't fit steel/cast iron pipes, copper pipes, or 1-1/4" pipes.
Neat idea, but it doesn't work on all pipes. There are many different ways to make the pipe never leak without buying these. Call a professional roofer.
Cons: Inconsistent, Too Big, doesn't work on copper pipes, doesn't work on cast iron pipes, doesn't work on 1-1/4 pipes
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.