728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw

5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw

The Ridgid R3250 10 Amp 5 in. TwinBlade Circular Saw offers plenty of power for tough job site applications and TwinBlade technology for cutting many different materials with the same blade. The 5 in. blade can cut forward and backward. The saw includes a 10 ft. cord for easy operation, and it is compact enough to make precise cuts in confined areas. For a secure grip and great comfort, the saw features a Hex Grip micro texture design.
Overall rating:
3.615 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product26 of 36reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(8)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product26 of 36reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer reviews for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
Review 1 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Know what you are buying

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This saw is not a circular saw replacement. It is for cutting material which a traditional circular cannot handle. I found it to be great at cutting sheet metal and laminate. The lack of a base makes it difficult to cut a straight line and control your depth. I highly recommend wearing safety gear when cutting metal it really throws metal chips! The unit is also too bulky which makes cutting in tight areas or up against objects next to impossible. It is well built and I don’t need to talk about the warranty. I do have a big problem with the saw being moved out of the stores to online only and have you tried to pick up a blade.
Pros: Sturdy, versatile
Cons: Difficult to Use, no blades in store, really throws metal flakes, too bulky, no base
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

All Purpose

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have now used this saw for two major projects and it has excelled at both. The first was the removal of a whirlpool bathtub, that I had to cut free then cut in half to remove from the bathroom. It cut through the fiberglass with ease and made quick work of it. The second was the adjustment of some kitchen cabinets that needed a new toe kick. Again, quick work. The only downside to this saw is the lack of a shoe or mechanism to ensure you are square to the blade. I found it is easy for the blade to cut out of vertical alignment if I don't hold it perfectly. But, since this seems to really be designed for demolition, it serves it's purpose.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from East Sandy, UT

Good saw at a good price

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a friend that purchased one of "those" other saws seen on television and this one performs much better at a fraction of the price.
One thing I wasn't aware of is that this particular saw is not meant for detail type cutting, as it doesn't have the mechanics to square the blade to the surface. It's great for demolition work.
It comes with some lube sticks for cutting metal which I haven't had a chance to use yet. I would highly recommend using a spray on DRY lubricant between the blades every time. I tried with and without and it performs much faster and MUCH quieter with the dry lube.
The total width of the cut is the standard 1/8". Each blade is 1/16th".
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from Appleton, WI
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent tool !

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
good power and fits hand well. Makes it easier to view while cutting thereby increasing accuracy.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good saw, but has needs

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The saw itself is typical solid Rigid quality and it cuts great. The ability to cut forward or backward is quite useful and plunge cuts with minimal or no kickback is great, BUT... The saw is in desperate need of a plate of some sort to help square up the cut and increased cutting depth. It should have been designed at minimum to cut deep enough to hack off a 2-by piece of lumber. It's so close to making it all the way through that it's maddening to have to break out another tool to finish the cut if you can't get to the other side of the work piece for another pass.
If you have a lot of pipe, thin steel or sheetmetal, etc. to cut quickly this thing is probably not a bad investment. Otherwise I find it more of a novelty than anything else in its current configuration.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ok saw needs guide plate and more cutting depth

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased this saw mainly to cut steel but also thought its multiple materials cutting ability would be a handy feature. This saw is pretty heavy duty for its size and has a solid feel however there are a few things that were dis-satisfactory. First of all I would recommend getting familiar with the cutting technique of this saw as it is a little different than a traditional circular saw and while it is advertised as a no kickback saw it can and will kickback. Second it has no guide plate to set the cutting depth or help make a straight cut which is especially annoying when trying to rip with this saw. Maybe Ridged did this to supposedly help get in tight areas but with the handle design you will not be getting this saw in very tight places anyway and even a small plate would help this saw or a removable one. Now for the final and biggest negative design flaw the max cutting depth is only 1- 1/16 inches. Think about it what is the thickness of all standard two by boards? It is 1-3/4 inches so why only 1-1/16 inches cutting depth? To cut just a 2x4 which is 1-3/4 inches thick you have to cut one side and then the other and without a guide plate to boot forget about making a straight cut. Like I said I bought this saw to mainly cut metal but the rib height on standard R panel for steel buildings is 1-1/2 inches so there again with only 1-1/16 inches cutting depth you have a hard time cutting all the way through a sheet. So my conclusion is that while this saw does seem heavy duty, has a solid feel and does cut multiple materials without a guide plate and only 1-1/16 inches max cutting depth you will have a hard time making a straight cut and cutting all the way through. Ridged needs to go back to the design table and come up with a saw that has at least a 6-1/2 inches blade and some type of guide plate and then they would have a winner.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy
Cons: no guide plate, does not cut deep enough
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw

Great saw at any price.

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have used this saw to cut up 1/4" diamond plate for an old porch/deck renovation. Though I did go through a set of blades the saw performed flawless. Easy to use, very good grip. You have to take your time with any twinsaw. Have used the Sears twinsaw(burned one up) also tried the as seen on TV twinsaw(blades are no good and hard to find, screws fell out of the shield. Home Depot carries the Ridgid blades in stock. Use carefully, they are not cheap.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not worth using

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I return this before even finished my project . It had no power to cut wood. Was building a wood fence and the boards were only 1" deep and 5" long. The saw would stop half way and yes I was holding as they say the correct way. The only good it has is small and light weight
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from Myerstown, PA 17067, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Impressive

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very impressive saw. I did not purchase it to cut wood (I have a standard circular saw to do that); rather, I got it to cut metal. I have gone through ½” rebar without any problem. I can lay out multiple pieces of rebar, strike a line and cut every piece without one hiccup from this saw. I have also cut through some 10 gauge metal cabinets with no stalling. This is, by far, a great product for cutting metal.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from iowa

does not work

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
failed immediately
expected more from Ridgid
hope to get a refund
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from San Bernardino, CA

A unique tool with results that leave you amazed

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just started using the saw, so I can't speak to the longevity of the blades. They are a little pricey, so I hope they last. My only complaint has to do with the blade guard. It wraps around a little further than regular circular saws, making it a little harder to get the cut started. I found that I had to retract the guard manually just a bit, particularly on smaller items.
Overall I think this is the concept of the future.
+14points
19out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from Denham Springs, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great features as stated on box

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
have yet to use the product. but if it is anything like the rest of my Ridgid products I am sure I will be greatly satisfied.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

No guide or surface plate

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did not realize there was no surface plate to use to cut a straight line or level cut. It also dumps dust on the line you are trying to follow since it depends on the blades being square which is extremely hard to do without a flat plate attached to the body of the saw, it binds and is hard to use on 4X8 sheets of plywood. I would really like the saw if it had a plate on the bottom.
Pros: Powerful
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw

needs improvment

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the RIDGID adaptation of the OEM saw that was called "Twincut Power Saw Plus" or something like that. With that design, the user held the saw by its tail where the handle is and when using it, pushed it forward, where the line of the impact is longitudinal with the saw. RIDGID made the change in that design and added a handle to the front side of the tool and removed the tail. In my view, 'bad move'.
Second, I realize that the tool is a free hand tool, however, why could it not have a guide fence as an accessory ?! (RIDGID engineers???)
Third, because of the forward rotation of one of the blades, it dumps its waste material right on the work surface exactly where you need to have view to guide the tool over the line where the cut has to go. There are reviewers that complain about things flying everywhere which I agree with. The exhaust air from the motor can be used to guide the waste material to a desired direction.
I like the plunge capability and forward and backward cutting but it needs some refinement for sure.
Cons: Difficult to Use, does not have a guide fence
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from Deerfield, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ok tool. Innovative.

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Useful tool. Bought 2 of them. Cutting plastics. The return spring for the guard has failed after one week and parts don't seem to be readily available on the hd web site. I'll have to order 99-cent part and pay $6 shipping.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lacks lot of power

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I always read reviews before I buy something. I always take the bad reviews as well maybe they did not know what they were doing or expected to much. I cut up a few small branches around the dumpster and there was a plastic bumper needed to be cut up. it cut about 8 inches and froze up. I took the blades off and cleaned them and used a lubricating stick this time. Did it again in about 8 inches. Lacks lots of power. My Girlfriend has one she purchased off TV and it will not bog down like this one did. I have never had a problem with the one she had. I guess I will continue to borrow hers
Cons: Not Durable, lacks lots of power
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from Annapolis, MD

Poor Design, Limited Use

PostedMay 11, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We are a contracting company always looking for tools that help the job go faster, or with less fatigue. We purchased this saw with hopes of both, but returned it 3 days later.
Good points-nice weight
Bad Points-
-No foot, if you are cutting a board it will not be a perfect 90 degree cut.
-Uncomfortable handle angle, the angle of the body and guard do not match, making it odd to use
-Dust spits out the wax hole, right over the guide notch, right into your face
-Cannot cut through 2x lumber, the most common size for construction because the angle of the guard and guide are wrong.. It seems that 1x lumber is the max, but why would you cut trim with a saw that is not precise.
-Guide notch is poor, you have to look into flying dust to view it, it is not precise. It should be a line or a square notched out, not a "u" shape.
-Guard it difficult to start. The notch of the guard that catches to push it back is at a poor angle making you have to wobble the saw back and forth to get the guard to move enough to push easily. That ruins your cut. If you cut 2 handed with one hand holding the lever back it works fine, but you cannot hold your lumber also.
-There is no depth adjustment, so you cannot cut a drywall patch out, or through sheathing without damaging your structural members.
-A pack of replacement blades is $50.
Overall:
It may be able to cut many different materials, but it is an additional tool, it does not replace any tool because for pipe a pipe cutter is smoother, quieter, and just as fast, for wood it only cuts thin material, for plastic sheets (OK maybe for this but a scoring knife works great for $2), for steel a grinder.
I think that this tool is great for...nothing.
+42points
91out of 140found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from Watertown, NY 13601, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

About Negative Reveiws

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
As for the blades not being available fit it. Well I've found a ton of them for sale on the web. And to the lady upset that they didn't re-box the item. Did you ever think to ask for another box? Lets get real about these reviews. You're trashing a product forreasons other than quality and price. Come on!!
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw

OK Kinda

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Got this saw to cut 14 Gauge soft steel tube in half. Worked great for around 8' then blades started to move apart making a sliver down the middle. Stopped saving and decided to replace blades but had to order on line at $42 buck a set. Needed to cut 50' of tubing so that means around $200 in blades. Good news is only have to cut one tube..... Maybe would buy as it does cut metal, just not a lot before blade change required...
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use
Cons: blade ware in metal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from Oak Harbor, WA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

easily cuts through fiberglass laminate!

PostedDecember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I cut up a 20' boat with this saw. Old school thick fiberglass laminate. Would of taken me 20+ sawzall demo blades. Good job Rigid!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>