728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw

5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw

The RIDGID 5 in. TwinBlade Circular Saw offers plenty of power for tough job site applications and TwinBlade technology for cutting many different materials with the same blade. The 5 in., counter-rotating blade is designed to reduce kickback and provide versatility. It can cut forward and backward. The saw includes a secure, micro-textured hex grip and a 10 ft. cord.
Overall rating:
3.849 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product38 of 50reviews
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(27)
4
(9)
3
(5)
2
(6)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product38 of 50reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer reviews for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
Review 1 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from Manchester, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Saw

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this saw with the desire to get a tool that could handle demo work and not buck and fight me like a conventional circular saw does. It accomplishes that mission with flying colors. Light and easy to wield, I can accurately slice through a variety of materials with ease. It comes with a rugged tool bag to hold the saw, blades, and other stuff if you want. I recommend getting a can of dry lubricant and lubricating both blades on installation and before any big job - it will extend the life of the blades greatly. I don't cut much metal with it, just drywall, wood, nails etc. and it doesn't buck when you go on a bit of a curve. The other nice thing is you can go forwards as well as reverse and it doesn't matter to this saw. Two things that take getting used to are: holding the guard back to do plunge cuts/radical cuts and putting the cord over one shoulder so as to not have the cord in the way and cut it; these things are minor and expected given the design. Some people might wonder what the need is for a saw like this if they are happy with a circular saw but will love it if you do any kind of demo work. Don't expect to make fine cuts in a perfect straight line with this saw, that's not what it's for. I always had good luck with Ridgid stuff and this tool doesn't disappoint.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from Lexington, KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cuts almost anything

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The most amazing thing about this saw is how easy it is to control, there is no kick back and no pressure. When it arrived I took it out in the garage and tried it on everything I could find. A few weeks later I was using it to cut through some wood with aluminum reinforcement and steel tee nuts, perfect tool for the job.
Not having a base on the saw makes it a little difficult to keep the cut at 90 degrees or any angle in wood or plywood but in 1/8" mild steel plate it was easy to follow a line. Controlling depth takes some practice also. The nicest thing about cutting mild steel with this saw is there is no shower of sparks like when using abrasive cut off wheels, the noise is about the same with either tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Know what you are buying

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This saw is not a circular saw replacement. It is for cutting material which a traditional circular cannot handle. I found it to be great at cutting sheet metal and laminate. The lack of a base makes it difficult to cut a straight line and control your depth. I highly recommend wearing safety gear when cutting metal it really throws metal chips! The unit is also too bulky which makes cutting in tight areas or up against objects next to impossible. It is well built and I don’t need to talk about the warranty. I do have a big problem with the saw being moved out of the stores to online only and have you tried to pick up a blade.
Pros: Sturdy, versatile
Cons: Difficult to Use, no blades in store, really throws metal flakes, too bulky, no base
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from Broken Arrow ok
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome Saw! been using dual blade saws since they came out this one is best by far

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have always bought dualsaw brand saws ive shelled 4 at this point as i will shell this one but i think this one will be the longest living one just bu judging initial quality. I read some carpenter guys take on this saw, id say this is a metal saw on metal its AWESOME ive cut cars in half with these dual blade saws makes it far easier, i would not recommend for wood. Every metal guy should own one im a 30+ year veteran professional wish i had these years ago
Pros: dual blades for metal cutting exeptional
Cons: not available at all stores mostly online
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

All Purpose

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have now used this saw for two major projects and it has excelled at both. The first was the removal of a whirlpool bathtub, that I had to cut free then cut in half to remove from the bathroom. It cut through the fiberglass with ease and made quick work of it. The second was the adjustment of some kitchen cabinets that needed a new toe kick. Again, quick work. The only downside to this saw is the lack of a shoe or mechanism to ensure you are square to the blade. I found it is easy for the blade to cut out of vertical alignment if I don't hold it perfectly. But, since this seems to really be designed for demolition, it serves it's purpose.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from Simsbury CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Good Saw

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The saw works as advertised. Cuts steel rod and tubing like butter. No shower of sparks, but chips spread out in a messy way. Takes practice to cut along a line. Great for what it does, but don't expect it to replace a regular hand circular saw. Cutting depth is a bit over 1 inch.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: learning curve
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from East Sandy, UT

Good saw at a good price

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a friend that purchased one of "those" other saws seen on television and this one performs much better at a fraction of the price.
One thing I wasn't aware of is that this particular saw is not meant for detail type cutting, as it doesn't have the mechanics to square the blade to the surface. It's great for demolition work.
It comes with some lube sticks for cutting metal which I haven't had a chance to use yet. I would highly recommend using a spray on DRY lubricant between the blades every time. I tried with and without and it performs much faster and MUCH quieter with the dry lube.
The total width of the cut is the standard 1/8". Each blade is 1/16th".
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Best tool I have ever used to cut metal roofing.

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I would have rate this saw a 5 but no wax sticks to lube the blades were available from HD or anywhere else online. They were supposed to be included (a few) with the saw purchase but did not . Some were eventually found at Harbor. I purchased a second saw from HD to have as a back up. If you subtract the cost of a replacement blade from the purchase, you are getting the saw for about $45!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw

better than the nationally advertised original.

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This saw cut through 5/16 threaded rod faster than a diegrinder with a cut off wheel.
I also used it to cut sections out of a large automotive hood and it did that with ease. I am seriously considering buying 2 more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Surprising Saw

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This small saw has surprising power. Solidly built. Takes a little getting used to but worth the effort.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from Kingsport
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First time registrants only

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
twin blade saw does exactly what I needed for it to do. Can not do with regular circular saw what I can do with twin blade saw.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hard to use...

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This saw is difficult to use. It is hard to get started on the wood because the flap is shut and you have to use two hands to hold and open the flap at the same time. Not easy...
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from Myrtle Creek Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tough tool

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
WOW, say goodbye to sheet metal shears. The twin blade rips through sheet metal as fast as you can guide it. It makes a pretty clean cut out of the 12 gauge sheet metal I cut. I made 30 cuts with this tool and it cut the last one the same as the first. The tool itself is not real loud but whatever you are destroying in front of it makes a big noise, so plan to wear some hearing protection.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw

Great saw at any price.

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have used this saw to cut up 1/4" diamond plate for an old porch/deck renovation. Though I did go through a set of blades the saw performed flawless. Easy to use, very good grip. You have to take your time with any twinsaw. Have used the Sears twinsaw(burned one up) also tried the as seen on TV twinsaw(blades are no good and hard to find, screws fell out of the shield. Home Depot carries the Ridgid blades in stock. Use carefully, they are not cheap.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from pittsburgh pa
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

very good tool

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
saw was very easy to use and handle. All you need is extra blades
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, easy to operate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from LI,NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everything I thought it was going to be

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Arrived quicker than expected. Performs well. Very happy with this purchase.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from MICHIGAN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor design

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There is to way to follow a guide line. For or it to be useful it needs to have a base built on to it, well? like a circular saw. I can't imagine what R&D was thinking when they made this thing.
Pros: All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features, Too Heavy, Difficult to Use
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ok saw needs guide plate and more cutting depth

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I purchased this saw mainly to cut steel but also thought its multiple materials cutting ability would be a handy feature. This saw is pretty heavy duty for its size and has a solid feel however there are a few things that were dis-satisfactory. First of all I would recommend getting familiar with the cutting technique of this saw as it is a little different than a traditional circular saw and while it is advertised as a no kickback saw it can and will kickback. Second it has no guide plate to set the cutting depth or help make a straight cut which is especially annoying when trying to rip with this saw. Maybe Ridged did this to supposedly help get in tight areas but with the handle design you will not be getting this saw in very tight places anyway and even a small plate would help this saw or a removable one. Now for the final and biggest negative design flaw the max cutting depth is only 1- 1/16 inches. Think about it what is the thickness of all standard two by boards? It is 1-3/4 inches so why only 1-1/16 inches cutting depth? To cut just a 2x4 which is 1-3/4 inches thick you have to cut one side and then the other and without a guide plate to boot forget about making a straight cut. Like I said I bought this saw to mainly cut metal but the rib height on standard R panel for steel buildings is 1-1/2 inches so there again with only 1-1/16 inches cutting depth you have a hard time cutting all the way through a sheet. So my conclusion is that while this saw does seem heavy duty, has a solid feel and does cut multiple materials without a guide plate and only 1-1/16 inches max cutting depth you will have a hard time making a straight cut and cutting all the way through. Ridged needs to go back to the design table and come up with a saw that has at least a 6-1/2 inches blade and some type of guide plate and then they would have a winner.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy
Cons: no guide plate, does not cut deep enough
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from San Bernardino, CA

A unique tool with results that leave you amazed

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just started using the saw, so I can't speak to the longevity of the blades. They are a little pricey, so I hope they last. My only complaint has to do with the blade guard. It wraps around a little further than regular circular saws, making it a little harder to get the cut started. I found that I had to retract the guard manually just a bit, particularly on smaller items.
Overall I think this is the concept of the future.
+14points
19out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5 in. Twin Blade Circular Saw
from Myerstown, PA 17067, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Impressive

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a very impressive saw. I did not purchase it to cut wood (I have a standard circular saw to do that); rather, I got it to cut metal. I have gone through ½” rebar without any problem. I can lay out multiple pieces of rebar, strike a line and cut every piece without one hiccup from this saw. I have also cut through some 10 gauge metal cabinets with no stalling. This is, by far, a great product for cutting metal.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>