728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscape & Deck Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light

16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light

The Hampton Bay 16 ft. Solar Rope Light is versatile and easy to use, and features a clear flexible design with 55 super bright white LED's. Great for accentuating outdoor railings, trellises, walkways, trim, patios, balconies and patio umbrellas, this rope light will provide ample illumination. Includes 6 ft. of cord from solar panel to lighted rope for optimal positioning to the sunlight, mounting clips for the 16 ft. of lighted rope and handy wall or ground mounting hardware for the solar panel. Uses LED technology - no light bulbs to replace.
Overall rating:
4.361 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(72 reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product61 of 71reviews
Rating Breakdown 72 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(53)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(7)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product61 of 71reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Review 1 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
from Lake Gaston, United States
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Solar Rope Lights

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put them down both sides of our deck stairs and across the bottom landing. They are very nice and bright. The pictures I included don't show the brightness because of the camera flash. they really light up the steps nicely, a great safety factor. Especially good if a person has low vision. I am a 78 year old female and I installed them myself.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
from Ma/Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice accent light.

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this to light a set of stairs. I ran this straight up the side wall, and it fit perfectly, the whole length. It provides just enough light to see each tread. It was perfect for my needs. The charge lasts long enough for our night time use.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Unique, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
from Albuquerque, NM
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Illumination Product

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Have used three of these units and all are reliable. Shortcoming is the mounting hardware. You need to purchase 3/8" cable tiedowns for either end and any bends in mounting surfaces. Protective plastic tubing is rather stiff and the clips are not very good for other than straight, flush mounting. The LED provide great illumination for walkways. Just make sure you select a place to mount the solar collector first before laying out the lamps. You need good sun exposure to ensure all night illumination.
Pros: Functional, Well Made
Cons: mounting flexibility
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
from Madison, Nashville, TN, USA

Excellent product

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased two of the solar rope lights to add to my new deck. I was totally amazed at how much light these give off.
I have attached them to the railings and then down the edge of the steps. Everyone has loved the way the lights light up the steps and gives off a soft light to the deck. No other lights are needed unless we are having a dining party. These give off a great light for the pool parties so people can easily see but are not bothered by bright light like so many other pools and deck.
These are the best solar lights that I have purchased. I'll be getting a few more for the next portion of the deck which is being built now.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Nice Design
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation and looks great!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This rope light provides excellent accent lighting for my outdoor project. Not to be confused with primary lighting (as some previous reviewers suggest), the light may not be bright enough for some purposes. I purchased multiple ropes and installed one on the north side of the house on a long step-down from one patio level to another to light the way for visitors to avoid trips and falls. Only extra effort is extending the wire length to the solar panel to reach a placement for maximum sun exposure. After that, the rope stays lit for at least 4-7 hours (depending on clouds and other variables). If I really need a long lighting duration (for a late party, etc.), I simply install freshly charged batteries earlier in the day and the rope stays lit all night. The rope on the sunny side (south) of the house stays lit all night, every night.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: accent lighting only
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
from hesperia ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great buy

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to install.give out the right amount of light that i was looking for
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love these lights

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased these lights to put around the edge of a pergola that extends out over our driveway slightly. We glued edging pavers to the driveway and filled in the area with river stones. I wanted to make sure the edge was visible at night but couldn't use any lights that had a stake. This product worked perfectly! We epoxy glued the mounting clips-and a few extras we purchased-to the top of the pavers, let them dry for 24 hours, and then clipped the strand in place. They are holding well, are bright and illuminate the edge well, and stay lit most of the night. I made sure to place the solar panel where it gets sun most of the day, but even on cloudy days I don't notice much of a decrease in the amount of light.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
from Union City, Indiana
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Complete Waste of Money

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have a bright solar light above each garage door which work beautifully every night no matter how cloudy the day so I didn't even think about our rope lights we ordered from Home Depot not working when we have a cloudy day. Unfortunately, these ropes lights appear to need a lot of sun in order to illuminate. They don't light up our patio on a good day but will illuminate. The illumination is almost still to dark, but truthfully they don't even do that most of the time. We've had to many cloudy days I guess. This tells me what to expect this winter when there's a lot of cloud cover. They also won't stay illuminated at length. They are out by morning before the sun comes up which still defeats their purpose. Again, our lights above the garage door are still bright in the morning so it wasn't expected.
Cons: don't work well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
from Laguna Niguel
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful outdoor under light for table

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So easy to install under our outdoor stone coffee table. Gives enough light to see all around in the evening but not so bright that its to much. A perfect glow.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
from Milford Ct
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Solar Rope Lights

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought them because I have had them before and I knew Sandy was going to visit us here in Ct. I would put out the rope lights during the day and at night I would bring them in to light up the inside of the house. I laid them out from my kitchen/family room into the bedrooms so we could see where we were going. worked every night until my lights went back on. they are great outside also, where I have my older set woven into the chain link fence in my driveway, they are bright and cover a large area with light. I love them
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Very Bright
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light

Wonderful Appeal

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Normally I am not one to write reviews, but if it will help you decide whether this product is worth buying I will take a few moments to give you my opinion. My wife and I built a redwood deck for our hot tub. I used the lights along a bamboo fence that is four feet off the deck. I was skeptacle that solar would work but since the rope light has a long lead to the panel it was easy to position to get maximum sunlight. We were enjoying a summer night and right at dusk the built in sensor turned them on. We were amazed how bright but quaint the lights were.Great buy
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
from Corvallis, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor design, battery too small.

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good: This light rope is easy to install.
The Bad: The tube that holds the lights is not securely sealed so there is a strong risk of failure due to moisture ingress. Mine is cloudy with moisture after only 1 week.
But all that matters little since they are trying to power 54 LED's from a single 600mAHr 3.2V cell. The engineering doesn't pencil out, nor does it last longer than 3 hours here in Oregon.
Maybe if you only need a few hours of light this would be ok, but they really should have at least used the standard larger 1000mAhr cell.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: poor design, poor endurance
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
from Norwich, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleasantly surprised!

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Followed directions to let charge first, and my strings worked beautifully. Used while camping for 2 weeks and got great light for the first 2 days, but due to very little sun at my site, much dimmer and shorter lighting the rest of the time, which I expected. I'm concerned the wiring where it connects to the control/solar panel might not last, but for now is holding up. And the ground stakes for the solar panel/controller shouldn't be moved repeatedly. Very flimsy plastic spikes break rather easily. Overall, pleased with these strings. I just hope they last through storage until next summer.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
from La Grange, TX 78945, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
2 16' ropes up now for 2 months
perfect lights for us - not too bright just right
they are still lite up @4am just a ittle dull
the only improvement i would suggest is a little more articulation in the panel mounts due to where i had to mount them i cant get one pointed as well as the other to catch the best rays
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Eco-Friendly
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
from Manhattan, ks
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy it!

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I hung the rope light above my table on the back porch. Perfect lighting for company and visitors while setting outside. Light lasts several hours...doesn't make it through till sunrise.
Plenty of clips for hanging and lots of lead wire from the solar collector. Great product!
Pros: Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Nice Design
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light

Less than 2 hrs of light in less than 90 days

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These lights would be terrific if the batteries had legs but the set I bought, in less than 90 days, wasn't lighting the string for even 2 hours after sundown so I returned them. Not sure if the solar batteries do not hold enough charge or if what I bought just had bad batteries. If it was the latter I'd buy them again but if the former I would not purchase these. You'd be spending a lot replacing batteries too frequently to make these cost-effective.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

quite expensive... but very good..

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i used these to outline a deck railing. i am always a little wary of the "home depot" brand (this is their in house brand), and these were relatively expensive when i compared the price of other led solar light strings.
but... now that i've had them up and running for about 3 months, i can say they are an excellent set of solar led lights. they are very bright, and they seem to last at least 8 hours / night, charged in the los angeles sun.
i have some other rope lights off amazon by flipo, and these flipo lights were less expensive in that they were the same price, but 30 feet long -- so literally half the price. but these latter lights are not nearly as bright as the home depot / hampton bay ones. and i probably would not have even noticed or minded, had i not noticed how much brighter the home depot / hampton bay ones were. plus, on my other sets by flipo (i have 3!), the rechargeable battery (just an AA) died after about 2 months on each (i replaced it with them with sanyo enercell AA's from costco!). the home depot set however, has lasted longer and burns brighter.
these home depot / hampton bay lights are definitely priced at a bit of a premium... but they are very good quality and provide nice bright white light. so if you can splurge, do so -- it's expensive but worth it. ;-)
Pros: Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright
Cons: more expensive than other solar led rope lights
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
from South East NM
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Happy with design

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ends are sealed with a soft silicon rubber insert. Heat and cold cause the tubing to change length, and the the end pieces pop of and the LED string works its way out. And then moisture goes into the tube and the lights fail.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright
Cons: bad design, wont last long
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
from Califonia

Fits the Need

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wanted to add some light to a few trees, these solars work perfectly. They give off more light than I anticipated. The solar tubing is protected on both ends with a plastic plug to prevent moisture from entering. The solar battery can be taken on/off the unground stake. There is a long cord connected to the solar battery so that I can set it out in the sun for recharge. Everything I expected.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
from Sacramento

Light up walkways, decks, retaining walls, etc with Solar Power

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We built a retaining wall along our back fence and there is no electrical to run electric powered lighting. These were perfect to lightup the base of the wall. They also look great along the edge of the patio. We are also considering lighting up our palm tree trunks with them as well.
These would be awesome if they could be innerconnected like the electric ones.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>