728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscape & Deck Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light

16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light

The Hampton Bay 16 ft. Solar Rope Light is versatile and easy to use, and features a clear flexible design with 55 super bright white LED's. Great for accentuating outdoor railings, trellises, walkways, trim, and also useful in decorating your outdoor patios, balconies and patio umbrellas. Includes 6 ft. of cord from solar panel to lighted rope for optimal positioning to the sunlight, mounting clips for the 16 ft. of lighted rope, and handy wall or ground mounting hardware for the solar panel.
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product47 of 54reviews
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(40)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product47 of 54reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Review 1 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
CmomsieD
from Lake Gaston, United States
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Solar Rope Lights

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put them down both sides of our deck stairs and across the bottom landing. They are very nice and bright. The pictures I included don't show the brightness because of the camera flash. they really light up the steps nicely, a great safety factor. Especially good if a person has low vision. I am a 78 year old female and I installed them myself.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
JLo1
from Ma/Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice accent light.

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this to light a set of stairs. I ran this straight up the side wall, and it fit perfectly, the whole length. It provides just enough light to see each tread. It was perfect for my needs. The charge lasts long enough for our night time use.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Unique, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
SwedeHandyMan
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation and looks great!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This rope light provides excellent accent lighting for my outdoor project. Not to be confused with primary lighting (as some previous reviewers suggest), the light may not be bright enough for some purposes. I purchased multiple ropes and installed one on the north side of the house on a long step-down from one patio level to another to light the way for visitors to avoid trips and falls. Only extra effort is extending the wire length to the solar panel to reach a placement for maximum sun exposure. After that, the rope stays lit for at least 4-7 hours (depending on clouds and other variables). If I really need a long lighting duration (for a late party, etc.), I simply install freshly charged batteries earlier in the day and the rope stays lit all night. The rope on the sunny side (south) of the house stays lit all night, every night.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: accent lighting only
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Talltenn
from Madison, Nashville, TN, USA

Excellent product

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased two of the solar rope lights to add to my new deck. I was totally amazed at how much light these give off.
I have attached them to the railings and then down the edge of the steps. Everyone has loved the way the lights light up the steps and gives off a soft light to the deck. No other lights are needed unless we are having a dining party. These give off a great light for the pool parties so people can easily see but are not bothered by bright light like so many other pools and deck.
These are the best solar lights that I have purchased. I'll be getting a few more for the next portion of the deck which is being built now.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Septmorne
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love these lights

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased these lights to put around the edge of a pergola that extends out over our driveway slightly. We glued edging pavers to the driveway and filled in the area with river stones. I wanted to make sure the edge was visible at night but couldn't use any lights that had a stake. This product worked perfectly! We epoxy glued the mounting clips-and a few extras we purchased-to the top of the pavers, let them dry for 24 hours, and then clipped the strand in place. They are holding well, are bright and illuminate the edge well, and stay lit most of the night. I made sure to place the solar panel where it gets sun most of the day, but even on cloudy days I don't notice much of a decrease in the amount of light.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Jimrphoto
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product. I purchased two units to outline my patio. They charge well and provide a nice outline light.
I have recommended them to others.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: so far none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
dana4585
from Allegany, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not what I expected

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not at all what I was expecting as far as 'lighting' goes. This is more for 'very-very' dim decoration lighting. I would not purchase this particular item ever again. It serves no purpose other then 'decoration'. Gives off a 'blue-hue' no 'light'.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Unique, Eco-Friendly, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Appearance, no light
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Norama
from Milford Ct
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Solar Rope Lights

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought them because I have had them before and I knew Sandy was going to visit us here in Ct. I would put out the rope lights during the day and at night I would bring them in to light up the inside of the house. I laid them out from my kitchen/family room into the bedrooms so we could see where we were going. worked every night until my lights went back on. they are great outside also, where I have my older set woven into the chain link fence in my driveway, they are bright and cover a large area with light. I love them
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Very Bright
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Otmar
from Corvallis, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor design, battery too small.

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good: This light rope is easy to install.
The Bad: The tube that holds the lights is not securely sealed so there is a strong risk of failure due to moisture ingress. Mine is cloudy with moisture after only 1 week.
But all that matters little since they are trying to power 54 LED's from a single 600mAHr 3.2V cell. The engineering doesn't pencil out, nor does it last longer than 3 hours here in Oregon.
Maybe if you only need a few hours of light this would be ok, but they really should have at least used the standard larger 1000mAhr cell.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: poor design, poor endurance
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
dridril
from La Grange, TX 78945, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
2 16' ropes up now for 2 months
perfect lights for us - not too bright just right
they are still lite up @4am just a ittle dull
the only improvement i would suggest is a little more articulation in the panel mounts due to where i had to mount them i cant get one pointed as well as the other to catch the best rays
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Eco-Friendly
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
VCdwlr

Wonderful Appeal

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Normally I am not one to write reviews, but if it will help you decide whether this product is worth buying I will take a few moments to give you my opinion. My wife and I built a redwood deck for our hot tub. I used the lights along a bamboo fence that is four feet off the deck. I was skeptacle that solar would work but since the rope light has a long lead to the panel it was easy to position to get maximum sunlight. We were enjoying a summer night and right at dusk the built in sensor turned them on. We were amazed how bright but quaint the lights were.Great buy
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Tank
from Manhattan, ks
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy it!

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I hung the rope light above my table on the back porch. Perfect lighting for company and visitors while setting outside. Light lasts several hours...doesn't make it through till sunrise.
Plenty of clips for hanging and lots of lead wire from the solar collector. Great product!
Pros: Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
saavyshopper
from Califonia

Fits the Need

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wanted to add some light to a few trees, these solars work perfectly. They give off more light than I anticipated. The solar tubing is protected on both ends with a plastic plug to prevent moisture from entering. The solar battery can be taken on/off the unground stake. There is a long cord connected to the solar battery so that I can set it out in the sun for recharge. Everything I expected.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
bubbieski
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

quite expensive... but very good..

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i used these to outline a deck railing. i am always a little wary of the "home depot" brand (this is their in house brand), and these were relatively expensive when i compared the price of other led solar light strings.
but... now that i've had them up and running for about 3 months, i can say they are an excellent set of solar led lights. they are very bright, and they seem to last at least 8 hours / night, charged in the los angeles sun.
i have some other rope lights off amazon by flipo, and these flipo lights were less expensive in that they were the same price, but 30 feet long -- so literally half the price. but these latter lights are not nearly as bright as the home depot / hampton bay ones. and i probably would not have even noticed or minded, had i not noticed how much brighter the home depot / hampton bay ones were. plus, on my other sets by flipo (i have 3!), the rechargeable battery (just an AA) died after about 2 months on each (i replaced it with them with sanyo enercell AA's from costco!). the home depot set however, has lasted longer and burns brighter.
these home depot / hampton bay lights are definitely priced at a bit of a premium... but they are very good quality and provide nice bright white light. so if you can splurge, do so -- it's expensive but worth it. ;-)
Pros: Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright
Cons: more expensive than other solar led rope lights
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Pancho
from Yuma, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solar rope light -

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm using my solar rope light around a tall queen palm in my yard. I've had it for over a month, and it works and looks great. It charges up during the day and comes on at dusk. It stays on way past midnight. The LED lites in the rope are nicely spaced out and very bright. The solar panel took a little convincing to make it stay in one place, because I chose to fasten it around the upper part of the trunk instead of placing it in the ground. The only thing I wish was different, is that I wish the rope lite was longer. I am definitely buying another lite, because the current lite makes it look like the tree is wearing a tube top and mini-skirt.... looks awkward. The rope light needs to be longer even if it costs more. Or they could sell different lengths. Overall I am satisfied and would recommend to my family.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, solar - no batteries - no electricity
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
84jennifer
from FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

love it!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought one and had compliment all the time I have owned the first one for about a year now and it is as strong as it was when I first bought it! i even bought one as a Christmas gift to my aunt she loved it !
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
TheScarfLady
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bright light without electric hookup

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My solar collector is not in the best place - facing east but blocked mostly, and blocked completely after only a couple of hours. Still, night after night, this strand gives enough light to make a good difference to lighting a doorway.
Also, the lighting looks good enough that I'm thinking of adding more for light but also for appearance.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, solves a significant problem
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
scratchbaker

Less than 2 hrs of light in less than 90 days

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These lights would be terrific if the batteries had legs but the set I bought, in less than 90 days, wasn't lighting the string for even 2 hours after sundown so I returned them. Not sure if the solar batteries do not hold enough charge or if what I bought just had bad batteries. If it was the latter I'd buy them again but if the former I would not purchase these. You'd be spending a lot replacing batteries too frequently to make these cost-effective.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
kahunagirl
from Sacramento

Light up walkways, decks, retaining walls, etc with Solar Power

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We built a retaining wall along our back fence and there is no electrical to run electric powered lighting. These were perfect to lightup the base of the wall. They also look great along the edge of the patio. We are also considering lighting up our palm tree trunks with them as well.
These would be awesome if they could be innerconnected like the electric ones.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
jennm

wow! love this.

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used 4 sets on my walkway and I just love them. Yes, the pipe that attaches to the spike breaks very easily. I used duct tape to fix that. not a big deal. They are bright and beautiful. Highly recommended.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>