728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Washers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR

Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR

From America's #1 preferred laundry brand comes a premium laundry experience equipped with the PowerWash cycle for the best cleaning in the industry. To keep your household's clothes, fabrics and special items ready for daily life, this high-efficiency 4.3 cu. ft. washer includes a 10-year limited parts warranty and Maytag Commercial Technology. The 16-hour Fresh Hold option keeps clothes left in the washer fresh. The CEE Tier III rating reduces utility bills and an NSF Certified Sanitize setting uses the power of steam to remove 99.9% of household bacteria. Why do we put so much thought into your laundry? So you don't have to.
Overall rating:
4.488 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(168 reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product146 of 162reviews
Rating Breakdown 168 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(123)
4
(30)
3
(0)
2
(4)
1
(11)
Features 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product146 of 162reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR
Review 1 for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR
from Arizona

maytag Maxima MH7000XW front loader

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My third Maytag front loader in 11 years. We do lots of laundry! Upgraded for the fresh hold feature,steam and slightly larger capacity.
This is the most load sensitive machine I have ever had. About one out of every five loads comes out soaked.
When it fails to complete a cycle, the machine never gets to high speed spin, times out, says wash is complete,still has time on the timer and the clothes are soaked.
This can happen on any setting and any sized load.
Ran the diagnostics, there are no codes.
When it works it works well. When it does not it is very inconvenient.
I suspect there will be a firmware change coming if this is a design related issue.
In any event my expectations for the machine were high however in the end the machine is a big disappointment.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR
from Berkeley, CA

Not Happy At All

PostedMarch 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am so sad to say that the other reviews complaining about the washer not spinning predicted what has happened to me. I should have paid more attention.
First they delivered a machine that was DOA--It was missing the door latch entirely and unuseable. They delivered a new washer about 6 days later and then I got to find out that it doesn't spin.
Another 6 days later a repair guy came and said you can't overfill these--as if you pay over a thousand bucks for 5 CF capacity so you can just use it for the same size load as the smaller capacity machines that cost half the price. As he was saying that he verified for himself that it woudn't spin any size load.
Well, we had a nice little discussion about how I paid so much money for a smart-looking machine like this one that he doubts is any where near as smart as the cheap ones, and now I am waiting for his company, a third party contractor, to get a new part.
So it's been some time now that I've had a very pretty machine that I basically can't use. He doesn't believe the new part will get me a machine that spins a full load, but at least HE is trying.
This is not the way to do business. I am getting ready to write a letter to the CEO of Maytag and ask him why he puts stuff like this on the market that clearly has not passed any competent QC reveiw. What an insult to consumers and shareholders alike.
And by the way, you can take your Consumer Reports mag if you have one and throw it in the round file. Their reviews are so shallow they are worthless, and of course they didn't pick up on this problem, which is a deal breaker for anyone who wants a machine that delivers the basics.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR
from Elizabeth City, NC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Washer

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love my washer (we also purchased the matching dryer, awesome too!). I have three boys so I needed something that has a bigger capacity so that I can stay on top of laundry. I sold my last set a week ago and had to go to the laundromat on Wednesday to wash clothes because they don't carry many appliances in stock any longer because they provide free delivery and haul away but the wait was worth it. It's so quiet and the little musical jingle to notify me that a load is done is cute and won't wake up any of my infant nieces or nephews when they're visiting. The washing cycles are long but I don't mind because I haven't had to wash an item again because it wasn't clean or smelled funky. We didn't purchase the pedestals because I had pedestals prior and they became a catch all for junk and I need an area for folding clothes instead of storage, I would definitely recommend the pedestals if you need storage though. I'm happy with this product, it is so quiet and quite the bang for the buck.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
11out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Quiet, large loads, and clothes come out clean.

PostedApril 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were replacing our 14 year old Maytag Neptune washer which finally died. After talking with a few appliance repair men, they all said to stick with Whirlpool or Maytag. Maytag is owned by whirlpool and the comparable models between the brands are basically identical except for small subtle feature and asthetic differences.
4.3 cu. ft. capacity is wonderful. We're used to a much older front load washer which a significantly smaller capacity. Maybe some people used to large washers won't be impressed, but we think the capacity is excellent.
The Allergen cycle got out pet odors on "dog blankets" that we were never able to get out with our old washer. Just one cycle on allergen and there is no trace of the pet odors. Partially this is due to this washer just being a lot better at cleaning than the old one, but the allergen cycle and "sanitize" options are great for my allergies and for getting out musty mildew odors from towels.
It's very quiet. When washing the only sound you hear is the actual clothes tumbling, the motor is silent. When spinning it hums along quietly. It's in our garage but even if it were in the house I would consider it quiet enough.
Bottom line we love this washer so far. We have had no problem and clothes are coming out cleaner than ever.
We have not yet experienced problems with the spin cycle like a few reviews I've seen. Out clothes come out with so little water they're practically dry. Maybe they improved this over older year models or maybe it's just how you load it. But if it does fail to spin, you can run a drain/spin only. According to the manual put it on rinse/drain/spin and "turn off extra rinse" to get it to spin/drain only.
I recommend you actually read the manual so you understand how to operate it properly. I see some negative reviews different places on the internet because it appears these people aren't using it properly.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR

Do NOT PURCHASE

PostedMarch 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had a Maytag Neptune that worked wonderfully for 10 years. This machine is sooo sensitive to loads. The sensor for towels and denims leaves 90% of those loads soaking wet and needing to be pulled apart, realigned and spin cycle again. You cannot put towels and sheets together which for only 2 people in the house, wastes time, electricity and water. I had 5 pairs of jeans in the wash today, it sat sensing on the clock it read 37 mins but it sat at that number for 28 mins! The timer never moved....had to keep slowly going around and around finally shut off without never finishing. DO NOT BUY unless they work out the kinks. Not worth the money.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR

dryer is fine, washer is terrible (fam of 4)

PostedApril 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The washer does not hold any more than my old top-loader.
It CONSTANTLY retains water, detergent, and fab softener.
The wash-time is ridiculously high... I cannot imagine it's more energy efficient due to that issue alone.
If I try to wash lots of clothes in one cycle, it rattles and complains. We have had it for 3 months. It worked for the first 2 without too many concerns. The pooling water and detergent is getting worse and worse. With 2 teenaged boys, trying to find every possible piece of paper or gum wrapper or lint ball is difficult, but even one of these items will stop up the drains completely.
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR

First front loader

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the first front loader I've purchased. I've put off buying one in the past because I know top loaders work and the higher price tags for the front loaders. I decided to give a front loader a try to see what all the hype is about. Great machine so far. Convenient features and super quiet. I know Im using less water and detergent and thats good.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR
from Southern, CA

Works Excellent

PostedMarch 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this washer with the matching dryer for 3 days. I've washed 6 loads from clothes, towels, blankets, sheets, and everything has washed good. All the loads have been rinsed well. I wasn't going to buy this item because of the reviews, and I'm glad I decided to still buy them. I also did good size loads with no problems. I like all the features, and if you want your load to wash for less time you just choose the soil level. I would highly recommend this washer.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR
from Arizona

MHW7000XW Update

PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an update from my post dtd February 22, 2011,"my third Neptune in 11 years.
Maytag customer satisfaction did address the no spin issue and has a fix. They just replaced my control board with updated firmware. It has solved the problem. The tech messed up the wiring and numerous codes upon fire up but once I got the connectors sorted out it runs great!
So with this update I now give this machine a 5.
Tnx for the repair Maytag!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Absolutely love this washer!

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this washer after returning a GE model, which was a joke for a washer. I have had this model for 2 months now and have NO complaints. Not one! I love the fact that I can wash my king comforter at home now. It is so quiet, uses less detergent, and has so many features. Also, it's easy to use!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR

Excellent Washer

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought this and the matching dryer and I am very happy with my purchase. Had to read the manual on the various modes but after i got used to them my clothes came out really clean. I even rewashed a few old clothes and was floored at how clean they look. I was really surprised by the negative reviews but I've always been a big supporter of Maytag products so I had to try this washer first and make my own judgements.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR
from utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This washer is great. Good for getting stains out. Love the features on the washer.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR
from Walla Walla, WA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Doesn't Spin!

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this washer for a year now. I bought it because as a family of 6 I wanted the commercial like quality that I thought the 5.0 cu. ft. washer offered.
From the first week I had it I noticed it wasn't spinning loads , I thought this was a user error so I would do smaller loads. Still once or twice a week I would have to re-run a load on the spin cycle again, regardless of the load size because the washer didn't spin out the water.
I finally gave in and got a repairman out who told me it was because my washer wasn't balanced. I figured ok, fine. Well I get to call them for the second time tomorrow because out of 5 loads I have ran today none of the 5 have spun and gotten the water out. Making me run the spin cycle alone again and again. Now after seeing other peoples reviews I imagine this to be an ongoing problem.
All I can say is I am glad I got the extended warranty and it looks like the repair man is going to be a good friend of the family here soon.
Save yourself the trouble and buy something else.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR
from Green Bay, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Superb and Quiet

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very quiet, cleans thoroughly, has all the cycles one could want or think of, completely satisfied.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Nice Design, Quiet
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Terrific Washer

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Read all the reviews including consumer reports. This was only machine that owners consistently recommended (there were the few odd that didn't). I have found it to be great, lives up to what they and Mfgr said. Wash cycles are all relatively long, which would be only issue. However results are well worth it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR
from Missouri City, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Washer

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have had this washer for about 2 months. We are a family of 5 and do LOTs of laundry. I have not had any problems with the machine. It seems to wash beatifully. Some of the cycles are really long, but I love the features.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent. No problems

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were replacing a 20 year old top of the line Maytag Neptune.
After extensive research, I choose to go with this model which has an identical version under the whirlpool brand (Maytag is owned by whirlpool.) We chose the Maytag version solely based on how features are presented on the controls.
We are very pleased with this washer. It gets clothes cleaner than our old washer and it works very well.
The only cons are that cycle times are long. This appears to be due to the smarter computerized washing methods and a lot of time it spends re-balancing loads.
The other con is that sometimes the washer completely fails to balance thick blankets or small loads for the spin cycle and eventually gives up. Even re-positioning even subsequent re-trying the balance/spin fails. However, these are rare occurrences.
I highly recommend this machine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: balance/spin sometimes fails
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR

So Quiet!!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this washer, it is so quiet compared to my Maytag Neptune. It has features that you don't think you need, but are so cool like how the drum lights up. My other washer was only 6 years old, which in this day in age, that makes it prehistoric, so this washer is hip with the times!! HA
Easy to use and cleans really well. It's so quiet even with the pedestal. One thing I hate is how water drips from the door onto the floor, no big deal though, it's not a deal breaker. Hope it lasts for 10+ years!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR
from Lake City, SC 29560, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best by far!!

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used to hate doing laundry before I purchased this washing machine because I had to go through the task of stain treating etc.. not anymore. I actually look forward to washing my clothes. the features are fantastic! I am so happy with my choice,I did my research and chose the right one for me.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Maxima 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR
from cleveland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Maxima washer is awesome

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quiet even on large loads. Steam is a bonus for the price nothing is even close! bought it with the gas dryer and love it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>