728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Residential Electric or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater

40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater

The 40 gal. Tall Marathon lifetime electric water heaters provides hot water with peace of mind. Plastic tank eliminates the need for anode rod and prevents smelly water. Rigid foam insulation covers entire tank for maximum efficiency. Bowl-shaped tank bottom drains completely for easy service and sediment removal Lower titanium heating element for superior resistance to lime buildup. Factory installed temperature and pressure relief valve offers added protection. Lifetime limited warranty on tank and 6 year limited warranty on parts. Meets or exceeds National Appliance Energy Conservation Act (NAECA) requirements.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product26 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product26 of 27reviews
Customer reviews for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
Review 1 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent water heater!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in a condominium and when it was time to replace my aging water heater, I wanted to get something that would last. The Marathon unit in a 40 gallon size was larger than the 50 gallon unit it replaced, and barely fit into the master closet where it had to be installed. Despite the overall size, the unit is quite light when empty, and easy to maneuver into place. It was installed in October of 2012, and has worked flawlessly since. The quality seems very high, and I definitely recommend this water heater. Now I don't have to worry about the tank leaking and damaging other units in my building.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is everything I expected so far.

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The delivery was excellent, on time and without any issues.
Installing the heater was extremelly simple. I used Sharbyte connectors and the whole installation was done in less than 30 minutes. I am still surprised how easy this was to do.
So far the water temperature is great.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Valdese, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I would not use any other type of water heater!!!

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this water heater because it is the only water heater on the market that does not put aluminum into the water. All other water heaters have a warning not to drink the water from a hot water heater because they contain an aluminum anode that adds poisonous aluminum salts into the water and are not safe to drink. Check out the other hot water sites, they say right in their web sites "do not drink the water from their hot water heaters" it is for washing and bathing only. This water heater produces safe clean hot water.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, safe to drink!!!, life time warrenty, energy efficient no blanket needed, looks good slimer less space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
24out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent water heater, better than any I have owned

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have had several water heaters in the past few years, living in the country the well water was hard on the other heaters. We tried a Marathon, upon advice from one of our new neighbors, and have not had one minute of trouble since then, just reliable hot water when we need it. We are going to replace our dairy barn water heaters with the larger Marathon units right after January 2012. Our local plumber also told us he has had almost zero problems with the Marathons and that the ones that had problems were due to being installed by someone who did not know what they were doing.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Holbrook, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So happy with this hot water heater

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Marathon is so quick and efficient! I never wait for hot water or run out. It was easy to install and given the energy rating I'm hoping to save a lot just not having to rely on oil anymore.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Kerrville, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First one leaked, Home Depot provided warranty replacement

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Marathon heater developed slow internal leak after two months. Home Deport arranged warranty replacement through Rheem. Employee (Amy) even delivered replacement in her personal vehicle and on her lunch hour. Hope this one meets expecations. Home Depot customer service could not have been better.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Canyonville, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best value

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you have iron in the water this solves the anode problem and rust problem
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Vermont, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very well designed

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Living in an upper condo, I wanted peace of mind from leaks as well as efficiency. This unit gives both. The delay between turning on the tap and having hot water is reduced to almost nothing so I waste much less water. Recharge time is fast. Very nice unit. Easy to install and no need to wrap because it's already insulated.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, fast recharge, excellent capacity
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Daytona Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is a great value and has a great warranty.

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is our second Marathon Water Heater, the first one was so great that when our second conventional heater went out we did not even look around, we bought the another Marathon.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Oklahoma, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product...sleek looking water tank; nothing to erode and leak.

PostedApril 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It fits in a small closet with ease. lots of hot water too!
My husband installed it and loves the idea of not having anything to erode and leak in the bedroom again.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Marathon 40 Gal Hot Water Heater

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this heater given it's all plastic design ie no anode rod ie no "smelly water". The unit is great appearance and quality. Installed with no issues and so far has worked fantastic.
Not the cheapest heater around but again the only one with the all plastic design and has so far solved our smelly water problem!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Wray, CO

This product came and was defective - missing parts

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have called and called and were finally sent to a Rheem representative that was totally rude and would not help us because we did not have it installed by a Home Depot expert!!! who, by the way, would not have had the parts either. We have spent $320 +/- dollars getting the water heater installed and then uninstalled so my daughter could at least have some warm water until the parts came and then the old hot water heater was uninstalled again and the new one was fixed and then installed. We have had no satisfaction from any of the many phone calls - rude people - like I have stated previously and no refund on my credit card for all the additional expense. I should have not accepted it or paid for it but it was too late by the time the plumber got it installed to find out about the missing parts. We will probably never use Home Depot again for any major purchases because of the lack of help on this issue from them or the company you purchase this product from. I have purchased 2 other Marathon Hot Water heaters previously and no one has ever said that it had to be installed by their people in order to have the warranty be good. I guess I need to find out who really makes these models and see if they will help pay all of the added expenses for this disaster!!!
+26points
52out of 78found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good!!

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The water heater delivers much hotter water than the old one, even at the factory set temp. It does not take as long for the water to be hot when you turn on the shower.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Athens, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Relatively easy to swap out with old unit.

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've had this water heater for a few weeks and it provides an adequate amount of hot water for my family of four. The main reason I invested in this water heater was our Power Co. provides a rebate for a portion of the cost with this brand of heater and we could put it on our home depot card and get it for 6 months no interest.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from LAKE CITY, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

40 GAL PLASTIC WATER HEATER

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
PUT 112 PSI AIR PRESSURE ON TANK 9 DAYS AGO &
IT'S STILL HOLDING 112 PSI. SHOULD DO FINE AT
60 PSI WATER PRESSURE WITH 6 PSI FLUCUATIONS.
I'LL BET I'LL GET AT LEAST 40 YEARS OUTTA THIS
TANK.
RECOMMAND PUTTING 100 TO 120 PSI AIR PRESSURE
ON IT LIKE I DID TO MAKE SURE TANK IS GOOD BEFORE INSTALLING SAME. DUE TO THE 30 DAY RETURN POLICY.
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Port Deposit, MD 21904, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Installation--Good Quality

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The light weight makes the water heater easy to position and install. Simple assembly. The easiest water heater I have worked with.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Schuyler, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love the non-rust body

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unit is well built, and appears to be quite well insulated.
The 40 gal. tank was much larger than my old 58 gal. tank which required quite a good deal of repiping to hook up the tank.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater

Great water softener

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good design, lifetime tank. great price. no anode needed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Nj
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Love everything about it but the relief valve. It seems fine but just moves around to much
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40 gal. Tall 6 Year 4500-Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super insulated, lifetime warranty

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Used as a preheat for my Geothermal heating and cooling system. Expensive to purchase but super insulated with a lifetime warranty meaning you should only have to purchase it once.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>