728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater

85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater

The 85 gal. Tall Marathon lifetime electric water heater provides hot water with peace of mind. Plastic tank eliminates the need for anode rod and prevents smelly water. Rigid foam insulation covers the entire tank for maximum efficiency. Bowl-shaped tank bottom drains completely for easy service and sediment removal Lower titanium heating element for superior resistance to lime buildup. Factory installed temperature and pressure relief valve offers added protection. Lifetime limited warranty on tank and 6 year limited warranty on parts. Meets or exceeds National Appliance Energy Conservation Act (NAECA) requirements.
Overall rating:
4.59 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product71 of 78reviews
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(67)
4
(8)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product71 of 78reviews
Customer reviews for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
Review 1 for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Seattle
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would have loved it, if it didn't leak and if HD had an overflow pan to fit ti..

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Rheem provided prompt warranty service and my defective unit was accepted at HD without issue. That's the good news. This unit failed about a week into service. This is a very large anode free (plastic tank?) unit and the brass fittings to tank connections are apparently the weak link. My unit started leaking inside the outer shell where the pressure relief valve mounts to the (presumably plastic) inner tank. Unfortunately, when water cascades from the top of the unit it splashes over the bottom seam and won't all be caught by a 32" diameter drain pan (which HD doesn't sell but I found at Amazon) so water damage is a very real potential.
Rheem did provide me the option to attempt repair of leaky "threaded" connection but after confirming water coming from between the shell & tank I was advised that it was not field repairable.
Both Rheem & HD were very easy to deal with - unnecessarily wrestling a 105 gallon water heater about, not so much.
A plastic, anode free tank is a great concept but every connection has to be bulletproof.
Pros: Light Weight, great concept, good warranty claim process
Cons: Leaks, large drain pan not available with purchase, custom overflow piping required
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater

Great Water Heater

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ordered this water heater a few weeks ago. HD matched a lower price at Menards. Delivery was exactly on time, with a lift truck to drop off at my home on pallet. Surprised at how light it was. Had done a lot of research and this unit always came out on top and with a lifetime tank warranty and excellent recovery time. I used this unit to replace 2 80 gallon units that had lasted 28 years.
It is well made and installation was incredibly easy- took about 20 minutes total. Had hot water in less than 20 minutes. All looks great and only hope it lasts 25 years !
Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Richland, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should be the last water heater I buy.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The installation was easy. I only needed to buy brass nipples and flex tubing to connect. Should last forever. The only thing that might fail is the heater element.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater

Big!

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a big water heater! Not to heavy but it is awkward because it is slippery and there aren't any hand holds on the sides. The heater works and there were no leaks in the factory fittings. You will have to re-plumb your existing connections because the heater is taller than most heaters. I added a Watts automatic water and power shutoff so that I don't end up with another flood like I got from the old heater.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater

Excellent and energy efficient

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am extremely happy with my purchase of this water heater it is much more efficient than my old one and very well-made and good quality!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great if not defective

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very nice heater EXCEPT that mine had a bottom heater element that failed after 3 months of very little use at seasonal camp. Bottom element replaced under warranty BUT I had to buy a 1-7/8" socket and adaptor that were not available locally. Total cost of $100 for tools, shipping, gas, etc. That said, it is well insulated, hopefully well built, and should not have problems typical of "conventional" water heaters. If you buy one do yourself a favor and get the tools needed to replace an element if necessary.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: heater elements require non-standard socket
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Alaska

Good looking water heater? Never thought I'd say that.

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I never thought I'd say there is a good looking water heater. The Marathon 85 gal. is cool looking. We call it our cryogenic tank due to its size, finish and looks. We have been using it for three weeks and so far it is perfect. It was very easy to install. You do need about 25% more space in all directions than a comparable WH. It has a large amount of insulation. The 85 gallon unit will not fit in a standard drain pan or if your old WH only has a couple inches of open space around it you will need to do some careful measuring. Don't forget the height. You could need to alter the plumbing above the WH to make room for this unit. All fittings are standard size (3/4"), male hot water, female cold water and pressure release. If you need to replace the heating element you can NOT just pick one up at the local plumbing supply store. You will need to oder one from Rheem. They range from about $50 - $90 depending on the type (Reg., SS, Titanium). No anode needed.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
26out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Gilbert, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Quality Built

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
85 gallon tank is large, but it fits for my application. Being used in a solar thermal hot water application for both storage and normal electric heat. Live in Phoenix, AZ with lots of sunshine. With "evacuated tubes" as my solar collector I have not needed any electric heat for the past 3 weeks. Rheem water heater is awesome. Do not overtighten the fittings! Specialized for this tank.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Satisfied - Would Recommend

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Unit is very tall which likely requires some re-plumbing from your old unit to the new unit. That is to be expected, by the way. Unit is light weight and easy to install but having an extra set of hands available is advisable because of the diameter.
Performance is very good so far (4 months). No issues, plenty of hot water without a spike in electric usage.
At this point I would say the unit is worth the additional cost and I would recommend it without reservation.
Would/will give highest rating available if things remain great at one year mark.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from MA

Very happy so far

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed this to replace my boiler hot water system for cost savings. My 1st month of use I did not see a significant increase in my electric bill so I may have made a good decision. Though this is a large unit it is easy to move around to get installed. I appreciate the lifetime warranty on the tank and the 7 year warranty on the electrical parts. Since it is not a metal tank I have no rust worries. This is the highest efficiency rating you can get for an electric unless you go into the world of hybrids. I would rather not have the noise and additional moving parts. There 3 females in the house that use a lot of hot water and it has been continuously available.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Binghamton NY

Great Quality Nice Looking Too !!!

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am very impressed by the quality and construction of the unit and just looking at it gives you the feeling that it is built to last.Lots of thought went into its design. The only thing I can see that I would change is the height of the base, so that there is a little more room to install the heat return lines. Other than that this is one solid unit.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Rutherfordton, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New water heater

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This unit was easy to install and lightweight for its capacity I have only had it a few weeks so there is no track record on its performance, The plastic tank appealed to me because I have had trouble with tanks leaking and going bad in the past. it is a nice looking unit and I hope it will last for a long time.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from San Saba County, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works, which is all I can say, since it's only been installed for a month.

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It's light and installs easily. If you use flexible lines in and out, be sure to grab two 3/4" brass nipples before you leave the store -- the unit's hot and cold are female, and will need to be converted to male. Also, when you order, be sure to order a 30" drip pan. HD doesn't carry them in store or on line. I found one at Grainger. Also, go ahead and order the heating elements and an upper limit switch. The local HD store doesn't carry them, either.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As advertised, easy to move and install.

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Installed a 85 gal. unit on February 15, 2014. Unit is easy to move and transport. The box is big, it fit in the back of my highlander sticking out the back hatch somewhat. The installation directions are easy to understand and install was straight forward even for a first time water heater install project. Took about 2 hours total from draining old unit to turning on new one. We had hot water in about an hour with very cold cold water.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Endless Hot Water

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What more can I say? We can have back-to-back showers while running the dishwasher and the washing machine and most importantly fill our soaking tub without ever losing hot water. Our contractor was so impressed he's buying one for his own home.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far So good

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Let's start by saying i'm a insurance agent not a plumber. I installed this myself.. Way to easy... keep in mind the 85 gallon version is rather tall.. Make sure it will fit before you buy...
Seems like a great product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great investment!

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have now had this water heater for over ten years. I have never had any problems with it. I have never run out of hot water. It performs flawlessly. It is so well insulated that we have had hot water even after 2 days of a power failure. This is one of the few products I have ever bought that exceeds all expectations...
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Florida

Wow, very efficient!

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had no idea what a huge noticeable difference this heater would make. We initially bought it for energy efficiency but got other benefits as well. The water gets hotter faster, the hot water pressure is greater and an added feature is that it's a great looking water heater as well!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Kennewick, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice unit

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very nice unit. Makes more hot water than we've been able to utilize. High temp mark made for 166F water (we turned it down to something reasonable). Easy install but had a bit of a time getting a leak free seal on the cold water inlet. But... that might just be me.
My only complaint is that I wish they'd had made the thermostat covers easier to get on / off and with better fasteners. Other than that, very nice unit.
Pros: Easy to Install
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 85 gal. Tall 4500 Watt Lifetime Electric Water Heater
from Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really nice unit!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I looked at a lot of options for replacing my 26 year old Rheem unit. In the end, a lifetime tank won out over all the fancy and VULNERABLE digital doodads of some of the others. I like that I have a permanent tank and tried and true thermastat/element system that will be simple and cheap to replace when necessary. I've have more than my share of sensitive electronics failures.
This thing is HUGE, but that's because it has a ton of insulation built in. It's light enough for one person to handle and install and the fittings are standard, so installation is a snap unless you have to move plumbing to accomodate the larger physical size.
I've had good service from Rheem products, and am glad to see this one in my house!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, looks good
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>