728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

This Scotts Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch features shredded pine to beautify your landscape areas. The 100% wood composition helps conserve soil moisture and moderate temperature, and the mulch blocks growth and light access to help discourage weeds when applied at a depth of 3 in. or greater. Color Advantage helps maintain color for up to 12 months.
Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(124 reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product92 of 118reviews
Rating Breakdown 124 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(54)
4
(34)
3
(6)
2
(11)
1
(19)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product92 of 118reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
Review 1 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
Nick

Nice Color, Good Mulch

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Laid down 13 bags of this mulch at one of my investment and I am happy with the results. The mulch has a nice color and is looks nice. My only issue is that in every bag I had at least one large hard clump which was hard to break apart. I think this may have been due to the fact it is still early in the season and Home Depot had the mulch stored out in the freezing cold.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
2Rabbits
from Maryland
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Affordable accessible choices of colors

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have purchased more than 50 bags of this mulch. Found quality about 85-90% consistent..have found large branches among the mulch and some which produced weed growth just where that bag of mulch had been spread. Color retention over the season remains to be seen but generally quite pleased with this and will continue to use.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, colors selections offered
Cons: large pieces among the mulch
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
astonman
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Mulch at a Good Price

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this mulch for a few years now but tried more expensive (and cheaper) brands. This and the more expensive brands are going to last and keep a nice color for about a good year. I got about 15 bags during the Spring Black Friday Sale which HD tends to have every year. I like the look of fresh mulch every Spring and for the price, laying new mulch is one of the cheapest landscaping projects you can do.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: needs yearly replacing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
AsburnRKK
from Ashburn, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality mulch from Scott

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When took the product out of the color was vibrant brown. Little after 5 days the color settled to little darker brown. Over all I liked the consistency of color over 105 bags I purchased. Hope Scott's 12 month guarantee on the color holds true.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: 3 to 4 sq feet spread not as much as adv
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
LeeM
from North Haledon, NJ, USA

Earthgro Brown Mulch, As Advertised

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchase over 90 bags of this product and spread it myself. Each bag was consistent in texture and color. I would definitely purchase this product again.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
17out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
lnx029

Be careful of what's in the bag

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first 103 bags of this mulch were almost entirely pine bark with coarsely shredded material. The last 17 used to finish a front view portion of my job were a finely shredded wood material. Although the color is the same, the appearance is contrasting instead of uniform, making for an unsatisfactory job appearance. Returning that many bags for exchange is impractical.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+70points
82out of 94found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
SHGardner
from Sandy Hook, Newtown, CT 06482, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Sale Price for a Decent Enough Product

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Come on people....this is mulch we are talking about...not high quality diamonds. Purchased and put down 80 bags of this much at $2.00 per bag...great deal and I am totally satisfied with the purchase. Have purchased lawn center mulch in the past and ended up with fungi growing for years. Have finally cleared all of that out and very happy with this mulch. That said, if you purchased this product and really are not happy with it, check out Scott's guarantee:
Scotts No-Quibble Guarantee®: If for any reason you, the consumer, are not satisfied after using this product, you are entitled to get your money back. Simply send us evidence of purchase and we will mail you a refund check promptly.
+34points
39out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
Unsatisfied
from Pearl City
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Product

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been buying this product for over 8 years, it transformed my back yard. If used properly it will not only beautify your yard, but reduce your weed and grass growth around your plants.
I usually weed about every three months, but its not much due to this mulch and a weed barrier.
Just bought 10 more bags today for $20. Normal Price is $5.97 for a 2 cf bag. Saved $40. bucks
Comes in three colors, but I prefer the brown. Have used other mulch products before and others fly all over my yard on windy rainy days. This Scotts product is a denser, maybe heavier product, cant beat it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
WeekendWarrior
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mold Laden

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Mulch was on sale so I bought 320 bags. 50 of the bags were laced with mold. 20 of the bags were about 50% brown and 50% black mulch. They claim the material is 100% wood which makes it hard to understand why my yard smells heavily of manure. It's marginal quality if you pay $2.00 to $2.50 a bag. Now that it's back to full price, I would suggest staying away from it. I have used Scott's products for 40 years. I trusted the brand. That was a mistake.The mold is terrible.
Pros: mold
Cons: mixed color in bag
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
Jamin1
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrid

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This mulch looks like it was made by Hair-club for men with its awful dye job... all of Home Depots Mulches are like this. I bought 5 bags put them down. after looking at it, I decided to scoop it back up and get rid of it. Bought some Shredded pine bark mulch at a local garden center. Looks better and will be much better for the soil. Spend your money on mulch locally you will thank yourself for it.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, dyed- bad for the soil and plants
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
25out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
hmc13
from MA

get what you pay for

PostedApril 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 60 bags of this at $2 on sale. As previous reviewers stated (but I only read after putting down the mulch), this is NOT bark mulch. It is shredded wood. Painted. With some large un-shredded chunks and a few rocks (go figure). I wish I had paid more and got the right mulch. Buyer beware!
Cons: Not Durable
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
Vince
from Leland, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rich Brown Colored Mulch

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first time buying this mulch but it had a rich dark brown color that I hope will last 12 months. Just a few large sticks out of 38 bags. No signs of mold or anything nasty. Good value for 3.33 per bag.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
Betty
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Always wet

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This mulch is always wet as none of the chain stores want to cover the bags. The bags weigh about three to four times more when they are wet. Also the mulch seems to promote a lot of weeds. Probably due to being soaking wet. The color is great, not sure it is worth the weeds and the weight. Wish one of these stores would promote dry mulch and soil. When you need 50 bags, it is a lot of work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
CorkC
from York, PA 17403, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a bargain

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Probably the worse mulch I have ever used. After getting the first 4 bags down,
I noticed that the first 2 was shredded mulch and the next 2 bags were more like a hardwood chip, 2 different textures and looks altogether. Finished the last 6 bags, all shredded. Disappointed in the overall look. In fact I went and got different mulch to put overtop! And yes, the color did run, garage floor now has big brown stain. Way too much "junk" also.
Cons: mixed products.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
MDMDnowinFL
from VENICE EAST, FLORIDA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

5+ year Happy Customer with Earthgrow BROWN. Buy BROWN not Red !

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using the Scotts Earthgrow Mulch in my Florida home for over 6 years. I started with the red but changed to BROWN and I have been very happy after changing colors with this product. It has been holding the color on all sides of my home. The north side gets very little sun but the west side gets a full hot day of sun. You would expect the south side to lose color or breakdown very quickly but the BROWN has not. My east or front side of my house has a lot of shade from the trees and the BROWN works great out front as well.
When I first moved to Florida I had, at best, very very poor soil that was mostly sand. I now have over 8 inches of excellent soil that is full of worms. If you have worms you have excellent soil. I have few weeds and my bushes and trees are growing very well. The soil is cool and stays moist in the hot sun.
I put about 60 bags of the Scotts Brown Earthgrow down every year. I used red at first but now I use Brown.
I have had a few bags over the years that were not perfect but not life is not perfect. I started with the red mulch but found the BROWN was a much better quality product per bag. The Earthgrow mulch is a far better quality brand than other brown mulches. With very few big pieces this does not float in the rain and breaks down at a slower rate than any other mulch I have ever bought in Florida.
You get what you pay for. Buying red mulch at 2 dollars a bag is pound foolish even in the short term. I have never seen red soil. I see brown and dark soil all the time. Mulch should break down and the Earthgrow seems to break down at a perfect time frame.
Most reviews are negative because happy customers usually do not take the time to leave positive feedback but I am and have been very happy with the Scotts products. I really have no idea how so many people give bad reviews. I have really never had a problem with more than a bag each year.
Pay attention for the sales when you get more than the 3 bags for $10.00.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape, using over 5 years no problems
Cons: none earthgrow brown mulch is a great product., not a real con i wish mulch bags were recycleable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
kimborly
from Sandy, Or.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

love it

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm really pleased with this bark mulch, looks great in the flower beds,, and who can beat this price!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
Mike
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Watch color consistency from last years product

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought 40 bags of the brown. Some of last years product was mixed with the new. Color was darker than the new product and the old also had mold. Inspect every bag, even the ones that the HD associates help you with.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
ado41
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great in natural areas

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
service was great I called and had them hold for pickup because it was raining & product was not under cover
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
DEL5
from San Gabriel
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product very good --- and person who helped wonderful

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Mulch not only helps contain moisture but adds a great look to the garden
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
gkgroga

not a good bargain.

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Put the brown down last spring. 50 bags. All if it has deteriorated or bleached out. I don't care if it's free, I wouldn't do it again. Stay clear if your smart and don't like rework.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>