728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

This Scotts Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch features shredded pine to beautify your landscape areas. The 100% wood composition helps conserve soil moisture and moderate temperature, and the mulch blocks growth and light access to help discourage weeds when applied at a depth of 3 in. or greater. Color Advantage helps maintain color for up to 12 months.
Overall rating:
3.777 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(408 reviews) 408
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product297 of 395reviews
Rating Breakdown 408 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(199)
4
(82)
3
(29)
2
(33)
1
(65)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product297 of 395reviews
Customer questions and answers:
37 Questions | 128 Answers
Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
Review 1 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Moore, OK
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Scott's 12 mo color hype is non starter!

PostedJuly 3, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased 95 bags in last 3 days. 21 bags down & all that were not under the eves lost at least 30%+ of their color in last nights rain. Also was not impressed with the amount of mold in some of the bags. Not to fear, the loader said it wouldn't hurt anything as long as I wasn't growing anything or I might spray it!
Go figure ! Just glad it was on sale. Pictures below were less than 15' apart on product installed yesterday.
Cons: Not Durable, tough call even on sale
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareAugust 4, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareAugust 4, 2015
We're saddened to hear about your negative experience with the product. We want you to be confident in our products, which is why we offer a product guarantee to our customers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us using the information that can be found by following the link below so that we may assist you further.
http://www.scotts.com/smg/gosite/Scotts-v2/help scotts
Review 2 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Shelby Township, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Good Product

PostedMay 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased 4 bags of the mulch because it was on sale for 4 for $10. I had already put down mulch from a landscaper and didn't purchase enough. I had also purchased 20 bags of mulch from Lowe's (Premium 2-cu ft Dark Brown Hardwood Mulch). The color of that mulch is a dark brown, browner than most brown mulches. I thought it was good mulch until I noticed how large the pieces were. They were similar to large chunks of wood more so than mulch. Some pieces were parts of a small tree trunk or branch cut about 4 - 5" in length. Also found large rocks in a few bags of mulch. One rock was the size of a softball. I waited to do this review until I purchased some more mulch produced by Scotts and sold by Home Depot. This mulch was much better quality, no large chunks and the color was closer to the mulch that I get from wholesalers.
I wouldn't go so far as to recommend not purchasing the Lowe's mulch, because mulch is seasonal and regional. The lot that I got may have been a bad lot but in the future I will be more cautious purchasing their brand and lean more toward the Scotts Brand.
Pros: Great Quality, good color, right consistency
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Valley Center, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Prodcut

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wish I would have only bought this product (Scotts Earthgro Model # 647185 Brown) before wasting my time on the cheaper brand (Vigoro Model # 133614 Brown) I added photos of the differences and what we originally stared with. 4-5 bags = 1 wheel barrow amount of mulch depends on how high you stack it.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Good Shape, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doing fine

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Has seen a few rains and still holding 90% color. I was a bit concerned after the first rain, but has seen several since and is holding well. The value rating is because this is bagged mulch, of course you get a better value with bulk vs. bagged. There were a few bits of granite gravel here and there in the bags, but not a deal breaker. I purchased 25 bags to give it a shot, plan on getting 25 more to complete the planters.... Approved!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Mulch at a Good Price

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used this mulch for a few years now but tried more expensive (and cheaper) brands. This and the more expensive brands are going to last and keep a nice color for about a good year. I got about 15 bags during the Spring Black Friday Sale which HD tends to have every year. I like the look of fresh mulch every Spring and for the price, laying new mulch is one of the cheapest landscaping projects you can do.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: needs yearly replacing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+66points
69out of 72found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Ramsey, Mn.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easiest spring work ever.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The mulch was very easy to spread right from the bag.Just open bag, and pour it where you wanted it.Do a little raking to level it, and instant beauty. I'll never go back to buying mulch loose by the truck load. We've received so many complements on Hosta Garden.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
31out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from bullhead city AZ.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice Clean Mulch--

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have bought all kinds of mulch, bark, etc.but this Earth Gro brand is by far the best in my opinion. I usually buy the red, but the dye comes off all over hands and gloves, so thought I would go with the brown this year. I am so glad I did! Beautiful dark brown, nice small pieces, very clean( no junk mixed in it) and my flower beds look so rich and beautiful now. The price was fantastic too!! Was in the ad, but ended up being more of a sale at our local store. Bought extra bags to freshen up throughout the year too. Added some of the sale mums while I was at it too---
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Maryland
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Affordable accessible choices of colors

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Have purchased more than 50 bags of this mulch. Found quality about 85-90% consistent..have found large branches among the mulch and some which produced weed growth just where that bag of mulch had been spread. Color retention over the season remains to be seen but generally quite pleased with this and will continue to use.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, colors selections offered
Cons: large pieces among the mulch
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+27points
29out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

Nice Color, Good Mulch

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Laid down 13 bags of this mulch at one of my investment and I am happy with the results. The mulch has a nice color and is looks nice. My only issue is that in every bag I had at least one large hard clump which was hard to break apart. I think this may have been due to the fact it is still early in the season and Home Depot had the mulch stored out in the freezing cold.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
38out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

Be careful of what's in the bag

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first 103 bags of this mulch were almost entirely pine bark with coarsely shredded material. The last 17 used to finish a front view portion of my job were a finely shredded wood material. Although the color is the same, the appearance is contrasting instead of uniform, making for an unsatisfactory job appearance. Returning that many bags for exchange is impractical.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+92points
105out of 118found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Roanoke, va.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Hardwood mulch.

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased 25 bags when it was four bags for $10.00. It really did great in my flower beds and I am very please that each bag was the same brown color.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from White Bear Lake, MN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No up to par

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Too many pieces of large wood product, not very consistent color, several pieces lack any color at all.
Cons: cheap, not consistent
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 9, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 9, 2015
We're sorry that you found the size and color of the mulch pieces to be inconsistent. We want you to be confident in our products, which is why we offer a product guarantee to our customers. Please contact us using the information that can be found by following the link below, and we would be more than happy to help you in any way we can.
http://www.scotts.com/smg/gosite/Scotts-v2/help scotts
Review 13 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Germantown MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Color not consistent this year! Very disappointed and my yard looks terrible!

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have been buying this mulch and about 150 to 180 bags per Spring. I have a lot of beds and a pond we landscape. So far this year, we've purchased 145 bags and have been finding the brown to be so inconsistent in the color. Some look gray/black, other the brown color we are used to. Another thing we noticed this year, it s more finely shredded than chucky type mulch like it was before. When we brought this up to HD, we were told all mulch was newly ordered, nothing was old and to take it up with Scotts, not them!!!!!
+20points
32out of 44found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareApril 28, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareApril 28, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment and will be happy to speak with you and assist you with our product guarantee. Size and color can vary from lot to lot dependng the material that is available. For additional assistance, please contact us using the following link. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n scotts
Review 14 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Wichita
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Scotts Earthgrow Mulch not good this year

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used this product for several years and the Brown Mulch has always looked good and the color seemed to last. This year I spread 60 bags and that night we had rain and the next day the mulch became white washed looking and actually the mulch that was remaining from the year before looked better.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 16, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 16, 2015
We are saddened to hear that the product did not meet your expectations. This is not the experience we want you to have with our products. Please reach out to us at your earliest convenience to see what we can do to help. The following link provides all of our contact information: http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5 scotts
Review 15 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

"Year long Color" ???

PostedAugust 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
"Year long color". I don't think so.
This is my third (and last) year using this product. The color starts to fade after about a month, and the brown mulch which I applied in late spring is now a very pale light brown. Definitely not worth it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareAugust 25, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareAugust 25, 2015
We're saddened to hear that the product had lost color so soon after being applied. We want you to be confident in our products, which is why we offer a product guarantee to our customers. Please contact us at your earliest convenience using the information that can be found by following the link below and we would be more than happy to assist you further.
http://www.scotts.com/smg/gosite/Scotts-v2/help scotts
Review 16 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Hamden, ct
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Terrible, loaded with trash and plastic

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 20 bags, spent two hours picking out plastic, Styrofoam and metal pieces out of the mulch!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+27points
42out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

DYE dripped all over side of car !!!

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Spring Black Friday Sale is this weekend, so I picked up 25 more bags of mulch to add to the 25 bags I got last month, and saved $30 on $2 bag sale vs 3.33.
I knew it had rained so I was sure to line my Honda Pilot with a tarp. DESPITE this & despite bags not even seeming THAT wet, I got home to dye DRIZZLING out of my side and back doors. LOVELY.
Not a good indication of how the color would hold. Obviously reading reviews & see so many good ones was POINTLESS. NOT at all worth the sale price. Should've had a truck of mulch delivered like I usually do, but thought bags would be neater/convenient. Off to try to get dye off the inside of vehicle where it ran over tarp. :(
Cons: dye runs like crazy
+7points
14out of 21found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareApril 28, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareApril 28, 2015
We are sorry to hear about your experience. We would not expect the color to run from mulch and onto your car. We would like to speak to you about your purchase, please contact us at your earliest convenience. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n scotts
Review 18 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from North New Jersery
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this mulch on all the beds in my yard. It keeps out all weeds and looks great. Very easy to install.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Austin, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedMay 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 45 bags of this mulch when it was on sale for 5 bags for $10, thinking I was getting a good deal, but the quality of this mulch is really poor.
First, I should have known when it said "10% more color" that this was a dyed product that would probably fade quickly. And it did....the first time it came in contact with water. Of course it didn't wash off evenly, so i have pockets of my garden that look like bleached wood chips while most of the rest of the beds look brown, at least for now. Clearly the paint/dye they use to color this stuff doesn't adhere equally to all the species of wood they mix in.
Second, the grind on the product varied by bag. Some of it was shredded, but most of it was chipped. Not a huge deal, but consistency is not their strong suit.
Third, this is a really lightweight product. You will not be able to blow any debris out of your garden without also sending out a bunch of these wood chips. And they float too, so a heavy raid that causes ponding will rearrange your mulch for you.
Next year i'm going back to the local hardwood mulch available here in Central Texas. The grind is consistent, the color is consistent and never fades and it stays in place. Thinking about the fact that I could have gotten that this year for about $1 more a bag makes me really angry.
Pros: cheap when on sale
Cons: color washes off, lightweight, floats
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 21, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 21, 2015
We're sorry to hear about your negative experience with the product. We want you to feel confident in our products, which is why we offer a product guarantee to our customers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us using the information that can be found by following the link below, and we would be more than happy to further assist you in any way that we are able.
http://www.scotts.com/smg/gosite/Scotts-v2/help scotts
Review 20 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Pearl City
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Product

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been buying this product for over 8 years, it transformed my back yard. If used properly it will not only beautify your yard, but reduce your weed and grass growth around your plants.
I usually weed about every three months, but its not much due to this mulch and a weed barrier.
Just bought 10 more bags today for $20. Normal Price is $5.97 for a 2 cf bag. Saved $40. bucks
Comes in three colors, but I prefer the brown. Have used other mulch products before and others fly all over my yard on windy rainy days. This Scotts product is a denser, maybe heavier product, cant beat it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 21 >>