728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

This Scotts Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch features shredded pine to beautify your landscape areas. The 100% wood composition helps conserve soil moisture and moderate temperature, and the mulch blocks growth and light access to help discourage weeds when applied at a depth of 3 in. or greater. Color Advantage helps maintain color for up to 12 months.
Overall rating:
3.831 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(243 reviews) 243
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product180 of 233reviews
Rating Breakdown 243 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(118)
4
(53)
3
(18)
2
(21)
1
(33)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product180 of 233reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
Review 1 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Mulch at a Good Price

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this mulch for a few years now but tried more expensive (and cheaper) brands. This and the more expensive brands are going to last and keep a nice color for about a good year. I got about 15 bags during the Spring Black Friday Sale which HD tends to have every year. I like the look of fresh mulch every Spring and for the price, laying new mulch is one of the cheapest landscaping projects you can do.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: needs yearly replacing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Ramsey, Mn.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easiest spring work ever.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The mulch was very easy to spread right from the bag.Just open bag, and pour it where you wanted it.Do a little raking to level it, and instant beauty. I'll never go back to buying mulch loose by the truck load. We've received so many complements on Hosta Garden.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

Nice Color, Good Mulch

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Laid down 13 bags of this mulch at one of my investment and I am happy with the results. The mulch has a nice color and is looks nice. My only issue is that in every bag I had at least one large hard clump which was hard to break apart. I think this may have been due to the fact it is still early in the season and Home Depot had the mulch stored out in the freezing cold.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
36out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Hamden, ct
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Terrible, loaded with trash and plastic

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 20 bags, spent two hours picking out plastic, Styrofoam and metal pieces out of the mulch!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
23out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Pearl City
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Product

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been buying this product for over 8 years, it transformed my back yard. If used properly it will not only beautify your yard, but reduce your weed and grass growth around your plants.
I usually weed about every three months, but its not much due to this mulch and a weed barrier.
Just bought 10 more bags today for $20. Normal Price is $5.97 for a 2 cf bag. Saved $40. bucks
Comes in three colors, but I prefer the brown. Have used other mulch products before and others fly all over my yard on windy rainy days. This Scotts product is a denser, maybe heavier product, cant beat it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from bullhead city AZ.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice Clean Mulch--

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have bought all kinds of mulch, bark, etc.but this Earth Gro brand is by far the best in my opinion. I usually buy the red, but the dye comes off all over hands and gloves, so thought I would go with the brown this year. I am so glad I did! Beautiful dark brown, nice small pieces, very clean( no junk mixed in it) and my flower beds look so rich and beautiful now. The price was fantastic too!! Was in the ad, but ended up being more of a sale at our local store. Bought extra bags to freshen up throughout the year too. Added some of the sale mums while I was at it too---
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Maryland
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Affordable accessible choices of colors

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have purchased more than 50 bags of this mulch. Found quality about 85-90% consistent..have found large branches among the mulch and some which produced weed growth just where that bag of mulch had been spread. Color retention over the season remains to be seen but generally quite pleased with this and will continue to use.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, colors selections offered
Cons: large pieces among the mulch
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+26points
28out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Mechanicsburg, pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not buy unless you are wanting to grow mold and mushrooms

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am going to be requesting a refund from Home Depot for the 100 bags purchased. In addition, the dye has stained my driveway. Do not purchase regardless of the sale!”
Cons: product complaint
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from North New Jersery
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this mulch on all the beds in my yard. It keeps out all weeds and looks great. Very easy to install.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Massachussetts
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tons of plastic, trash in every bag

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have purchased about 50 bags of this mulch over the past 3 months. Every bag is loaded with trash - that's visible to the eye after it's spread - black plastic bags, pieces of food containers, metal pieces, hard plastic, etc. Will never buy again. Very disappointing purchase and even more so, after it's spread across the front and back yard.
Cons: filled with trash
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not consistent

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I bought 25 bags of this mulch and it was great however when I decided to do another area in my yard I went back to get 6 more bags and same bags on the outside only this second mulch was completely different from the first batch. Different color and with practically no bark at all ( which the first was full off) just a soft material . so different
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

Be careful of what's in the bag

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first 103 bags of this mulch were almost entirely pine bark with coarsely shredded material. The last 17 used to finish a front view portion of my job were a finely shredded wood material. Although the color is the same, the appearance is contrasting instead of uniform, making for an unsatisfactory job appearance. Returning that many bags for exchange is impractical.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+84points
96out of 108found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Ashburn, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality mulch from Scott

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When took the product out of the color was vibrant brown. Little after 5 days the color settled to little darker brown. Over all I liked the consistency of color over 105 bags I purchased. Hope Scott's 12 month guarantee on the color holds true.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: 3 to 4 sq feet spread not as much as adv
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
22out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Manchester, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It is brown and looks good

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was my second order on the bark mulch. This order was for 40 bags my first pick up was for 20 bags.
But when I got the bags home many of the bags were ripped and the inside mulch was lumped a lot. It took a lot of hard work breaking up the larges lumps. It was like frozen or something that makes it to lump up. My first 20 bags I picked up did not have this problem but the next 40 bags did have this problem, bags I did not pick out but
was ready when I went to the store for pick up. Not a happy camper at all. As this made a lot of extra work for me along with spreading the bark mulch.
Pros: nice color
Cons: full of large lumps of bark mulch
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from North Haledon, NJ, USA

Earthgro Brown Mulch, As Advertised

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchase over 90 bags of this product and spread it myself. Each bag was consistent in texture and color. I would definitely purchase this product again.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
21out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Rochester, New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wasn't real happy-

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had used this this from Scott's a few years ago. I picked up 25 bags and spread it. I was quite happy
with the mulch- nicely shredded, not a lot of large bark pieces or chips.
Then 2 days later went back to the same Home Depot, to get another 25 bags- Was NOT HAPPY.
the first 4 were as described above, nicely shredded. After that every other bag was large chucks chips and very little shredded material- All OFF the SAME pallet. I would have thought that Scott's, being a
name brand, would have better quality control- Consistency between bags was awful.
I don't blame Home Depot, not their fault. And I did use the mulch in different areas. Let's face it, I wasn't loading 25 bags back on the truck to return them.
* Just be cautious of what you're actually buying if, like me, you like the mulch to look the same.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: product wasn't consistent bag to bag
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Silver Spring, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was concerned after reading some of the reviews, but found the mulch to have good consistent color and size. I initially bought 10 bags and found it to be much better than the mulch that I previously purchased at a local nursery, so I went back and bought another 20 bags. The mulch in those bags was consistent with the mulch in the first 10 bags. The color has not faded at all through some pretty varied weather. My wife has commented several times to me how much better our front yard looks with this mulch.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from seaside, ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointing product

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently purchased 21 bags of brown mulch to re-do my front garden. In every bag, I found big rocks, pieces of shredded plastic bag, pieces of plastic (like bottle caps), etc. I don't know if they do any sort of quality control, but if so, they need to step it up.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: trash in it
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Sandy Hook, Newtown, CT 06482, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Sale Price for a Decent Enough Product

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Come on people....this is mulch we are talking about...not high quality diamonds. Purchased and put down 80 bags of this much at $2.00 per bag...great deal and I am totally satisfied with the purchase. Have purchased lawn center mulch in the past and ended up with fungi growing for years. Have finally cleared all of that out and very happy with this mulch. That said, if you purchased this product and really are not happy with it, check out Scott's guarantee:
Scotts No-Quibble Guarantee®: If for any reason you, the consumer, are not satisfied after using this product, you are entitled to get your money back. Simply send us evidence of purchase and we will mail you a refund check promptly.
+43points
50out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Las Vegas ,Nevada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very unhappy customer

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
unhappy with product also how my first bad review was never listed on anyone of the 20 pages of reviews..I used several bags of this product but was never warned about all the unwanted weed and grass that completely filled my planters ..these planters were previously completely weed and grass free for over ten (10) years prior to using this product.. I for one will NEVER use or recomend this brand of Mulch again ...
Cons: unwanted weed and grass growth, includes unwanted plastic and garbage mixed in
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>