728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

This Scotts Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch features shredded pine to beautify your landscape areas. The 100% wood composition helps conserve soil moisture and moderate temperature, and the mulch blocks growth and light access to help discourage weeds when applied at a depth of 3 in. or greater. Color Advantage helps maintain color for up to 12 months.
Overall rating:
3.86 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(358 reviews) 358
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product270 of 347reviews
Rating Breakdown 358 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(180)
4
(74)
3
(27)
2
(28)
1
(49)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product270 of 347reviews
Customer questions and answers:
29 Questions | 99 Answers
Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
Review 1 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doing fine

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Has seen a few rains and still holding 90% color. I was a bit concerned after the first rain, but has seen several since and is holding well. The value rating is because this is bagged mulch, of course you get a better value with bulk vs. bagged. There were a few bits of granite gravel here and there in the bags, but not a deal breaker. I purchased 25 bags to give it a shot, plan on getting 25 more to complete the planters.... Approved!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Shelby Township, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Good Product

PostedMay 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased 4 bags of the mulch because it was on sale for 4 for $10. I had already put down mulch from a landscaper and didn't purchase enough. I had also purchased 20 bags of mulch from Lowe's (Premium 2-cu ft Dark Brown Hardwood Mulch). The color of that mulch is a dark brown, browner than most brown mulches. I thought it was good mulch until I noticed how large the pieces were. They were similar to large chunks of wood more so than mulch. Some pieces were parts of a small tree trunk or branch cut about 4 - 5" in length. Also found large rocks in a few bags of mulch. One rock was the size of a softball. I waited to do this review until I purchased some more mulch produced by Scotts and sold by Home Depot. This mulch was much better quality, no large chunks and the color was closer to the mulch that I get from wholesalers.
I wouldn't go so far as to recommend not purchasing the Lowe's mulch, because mulch is seasonal and regional. The lot that I got may have been a bad lot but in the future I will be more cautious purchasing their brand and lean more toward the Scotts Brand.
Pros: Great Quality, good color, right consistency
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Mulch at a Good Price

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used this mulch for a few years now but tried more expensive (and cheaper) brands. This and the more expensive brands are going to last and keep a nice color for about a good year. I got about 15 bags during the Spring Black Friday Sale which HD tends to have every year. I like the look of fresh mulch every Spring and for the price, laying new mulch is one of the cheapest landscaping projects you can do.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: needs yearly replacing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+61points
62out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Ramsey, Mn.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easiest spring work ever.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The mulch was very easy to spread right from the bag.Just open bag, and pour it where you wanted it.Do a little raking to level it, and instant beauty. I'll never go back to buying mulch loose by the truck load. We've received so many complements on Hosta Garden.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Roanoke, va.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Hardwood mulch.

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased 25 bags when it was four bags for $10.00. It really did great in my flower beds and I am very please that each bag was the same brown color.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from bullhead city AZ.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice Clean Mulch--

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have bought all kinds of mulch, bark, etc.but this Earth Gro brand is by far the best in my opinion. I usually buy the red, but the dye comes off all over hands and gloves, so thought I would go with the brown this year. I am so glad I did! Beautiful dark brown, nice small pieces, very clean( no junk mixed in it) and my flower beds look so rich and beautiful now. The price was fantastic too!! Was in the ad, but ended up being more of a sale at our local store. Bought extra bags to freshen up throughout the year too. Added some of the sale mums while I was at it too---
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

Disappointed

PostedMay 11, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product last year and was very pleased.....not so this year.....Mushrooms and fungus are growing in it and most of the mulch is not in chunks....it's shredded...
Cons: inferior quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Germantown MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Color not consistent this year! Very disappointed and my yard looks terrible!

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have been buying this mulch and about 150 to 180 bags per Spring. I have a lot of beds and a pond we landscape. So far this year, we've purchased 145 bags and have been finding the brown to be so inconsistent in the color. Some look gray/black, other the brown color we are used to. Another thing we noticed this year, it s more finely shredded than chucky type mulch like it was before. When we brought this up to HD, we were told all mulch was newly ordered, nothing was old and to take it up with Scotts, not them!!!!!
+17points
28out of 39found this review helpful.
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareApril 28, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareApril 28, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment and will be happy to speak with you and assist you with our product guarantee. Size and color can vary from lot to lot dependng the material that is available. For additional assistance, please contact us using the following link. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n scotts
Review 9 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from North New Jersery
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this mulch on all the beds in my yard. It keeps out all weeds and looks great. Very easy to install.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

DYE dripped all over side of car !!!

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Spring Black Friday Sale is this weekend, so I picked up 25 more bags of mulch to add to the 25 bags I got last month, and saved $30 on $2 bag sale vs 3.33.
I knew it had rained so I was sure to line my Honda Pilot with a tarp. DESPITE this & despite bags not even seeming THAT wet, I got home to dye DRIZZLING out of my side and back doors. LOVELY.
Not a good indication of how the color would hold. Obviously reading reviews & see so many good ones was POINTLESS. NOT at all worth the sale price. Should've had a truck of mulch delivered like I usually do, but thought bags would be neater/convenient. Off to try to get dye off the inside of vehicle where it ran over tarp. :(
Cons: dye runs like crazy
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareApril 28, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareApril 28, 2015
We are sorry to hear about your experience. We would not expect the color to run from mulch and onto your car. We would like to speak to you about your purchase, please contact us at your earliest convenience. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n scotts
Review 11 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Austin, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedMay 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 45 bags of this mulch when it was on sale for 5 bags for $10, thinking I was getting a good deal, but the quality of this mulch is really poor.
First, I should have known when it said "10% more color" that this was a dyed product that would probably fade quickly. And it did....the first time it came in contact with water. Of course it didn't wash off evenly, so i have pockets of my garden that look like bleached wood chips while most of the rest of the beds look brown, at least for now. Clearly the paint/dye they use to color this stuff doesn't adhere equally to all the species of wood they mix in.
Second, the grind on the product varied by bag. Some of it was shredded, but most of it was chipped. Not a huge deal, but consistency is not their strong suit.
Third, this is a really lightweight product. You will not be able to blow any debris out of your garden without also sending out a bunch of these wood chips. And they float too, so a heavy raid that causes ponding will rearrange your mulch for you.
Next year i'm going back to the local hardwood mulch available here in Central Texas. The grind is consistent, the color is consistent and never fades and it stays in place. Thinking about the fact that I could have gotten that this year for about $1 more a bag makes me really angry.
Pros: cheap when on sale
Cons: color washes off, lightweight, floats
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from West Branch Iowa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Splendid Mulch

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Mulch was very easy to handle, clean and nice wood used to create the mulch. The density of the mulch is the best quality mulch I have used.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

Another unhappy customer

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just purchased 25 bags of the brown mulch. First 2 bags looked great. The next 5 bags looked moldy and next 2 bags are totally different color brown than the first 2 bags. After my break I'll see what the rest look like and will be back at Home Depot getting a refund.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from ABQ, NM
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good ground cover

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
good color - i just hope it doesn't fade quickly. time will tell.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inspect each bags color before buying

PostedMay 16, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought 29 bags last weekend and was disappointed to find 3 different "brown" color variations between the bags. One bag was actually half and half! Ridiculous. The colors ranged from a few bags which were nearly black, a few dark brown, and the majority (75%) were a very rich lighter brown which is what we expected. I understand that there may be different material used but the dye should be adjusted to accommodate this.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

Nice Color, Good Mulch

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Laid down 13 bags of this mulch at one of my investment and I am happy with the results. The mulch has a nice color and is looks nice. My only issue is that in every bag I had at least one large hard clump which was hard to break apart. I think this may have been due to the fact it is still early in the season and Home Depot had the mulch stored out in the freezing cold.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+31points
38out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from White Bear Lake, MN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No up to par

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Too many pieces of large wood product, not very consistent color, several pieces lack any color at all.
Cons: cheap, not consistent
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk...

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Price is great but almost positive this mulch is made from old pallets. There was a ton of blue shredded wood pieces in the bag. This only bothers me because pallets are filled with chemicals and I really dont want those chemicals in my apple tree....
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareApril 30, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareApril 30, 2015
The wood used in our mulches is natural forest products that are the by-products of the timber industry. This can include, but is not limited to pine, fir, cedar, cypress. Our mulches have been certified by the Mulch & Soil Council. One aspect of this certification is to certify that the mulch contains no recycled lumber. This mulch can be used safely around the apple trees. If you have any additional safety concerns or questions, please contact us by using the following link. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n scotts
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareApril 30, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareApril 30, 2015
The wood used in our mulches is natural forest products that are the by-products of the timber industry. This can include, but is not limited to pine, fir, cedar, cypress. Our mulches have been certified by the Mulch & Soil Council. One aspect of this certification is to certify that the mulch contains no recycled lumber. This mulch can be used safely around the apple trees. If you have any additional safety concerns or questions, please contact us by using the following link. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n scotts
Review 19 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Alpharetta, GA

Ants, Ants and more Ants...

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The mulch was completely infested with ant colonies. This was not limited to one or two bags - it was a problem in a majority of the bags of mulch. After installation, I now have major ant problems all over my yard. Huge disappointment.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Park City U

Worst mulch ever purchased

PostedMay 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Over the last 4 days I have purchased 46 bags of the brown mulch. In order to get the 46 bags, a employee and I must have gone through over 150 bags in order to find some that were not covered in mold. Since I started with the product, it was necessary that I not change product or colors. Spent too much time working with an inferior product.
Cons: moldy product
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 18 >>