728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

This Scotts Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch features shredded pine to beautify your landscape areas. The 100% wood composition helps conserve soil moisture and moderate temperature, and the mulch blocks growth and light access to help discourage weeds when applied at a depth of 3 in. or greater. Color Advantage helps maintain color for up to 12 months.
Overall rating:
3.812 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(261 reviews) 261
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product192 of 251reviews
Rating Breakdown 261 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(128)
4
(54)
3
(19)
2
(22)
1
(38)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product192 of 251reviews
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 66 Answers
Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
Review 1 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Mulch at a Good Price

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used this mulch for a few years now but tried more expensive (and cheaper) brands. This and the more expensive brands are going to last and keep a nice color for about a good year. I got about 15 bags during the Spring Black Friday Sale which HD tends to have every year. I like the look of fresh mulch every Spring and for the price, laying new mulch is one of the cheapest landscaping projects you can do.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: needs yearly replacing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+52points
53out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Ramsey, Mn.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easiest spring work ever.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The mulch was very easy to spread right from the bag.Just open bag, and pour it where you wanted it.Do a little raking to level it, and instant beauty. I'll never go back to buying mulch loose by the truck load. We've received so many complements on Hosta Garden.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Germantown MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Color not consistent this year! Very disappointed and my yard looks terrible!

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have been buying this mulch and about 150 to 180 bags per Spring. I have a lot of beds and a pond we landscape. So far this year, we've purchased 145 bags and have been finding the brown to be so inconsistent in the color. Some look gray/black, other the brown color we are used to. Another thing we noticed this year, it s more finely shredded than chucky type mulch like it was before. When we brought this up to HD, we were told all mulch was newly ordered, nothing was old and to take it up with Scotts, not them!!!!!
+10points
17out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from bullhead city AZ.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice Clean Mulch--

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have bought all kinds of mulch, bark, etc.but this Earth Gro brand is by far the best in my opinion. I usually buy the red, but the dye comes off all over hands and gloves, so thought I would go with the brown this year. I am so glad I did! Beautiful dark brown, nice small pieces, very clean( no junk mixed in it) and my flower beds look so rich and beautiful now. The price was fantastic too!! Was in the ad, but ended up being more of a sale at our local store. Bought extra bags to freshen up throughout the year too. Added some of the sale mums while I was at it too---
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Roanoke, va.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Hardwood mulch.

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased 25 bags when it was four bags for $10.00. It really did great in my flower beds and I am very please that each bag was the same brown color.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

DYE dripped all over side of car !!!

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Spring Black Friday Sale is this weekend, so I picked up 25 more bags of mulch to add to the 25 bags I got last month, and saved $30 on $2 bag sale vs 3.33.
I knew it had rained so I was sure to line my Honda Pilot with a tarp. DESPITE this & despite bags not even seeming THAT wet, I got home to dye DRIZZLING out of my side and back doors. LOVELY.
Not a good indication of how the color would hold. Obviously reading reviews & see so many good ones was POINTLESS. NOT at all worth the sale price. Should've had a truck of mulch delivered like I usually do, but thought bags would be neater/convenient. Off to try to get dye off the inside of vehicle where it ran over tarp. :(
Cons: dye runs like crazy
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

Nice Color, Good Mulch

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Laid down 13 bags of this mulch at one of my investment and I am happy with the results. The mulch has a nice color and is looks nice. My only issue is that in every bag I had at least one large hard clump which was hard to break apart. I think this may have been due to the fact it is still early in the season and Home Depot had the mulch stored out in the freezing cold.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+31points
38out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from North New Jersery
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this mulch on all the beds in my yard. It keeps out all weeds and looks great. Very easy to install.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good buy

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This Brown Mulch meets all of my expectations...i.e. color retention, didn't break down easily.
Half the price of home delivered bulk mulch.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Maryland
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Affordable accessible choices of colors

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Have purchased more than 50 bags of this mulch. Found quality about 85-90% consistent..have found large branches among the mulch and some which produced weed growth just where that bag of mulch had been spread. Color retention over the season remains to be seen but generally quite pleased with this and will continue to use.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, colors selections offered
Cons: large pieces among the mulch
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+27points
29out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Hamden, ct
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Terrible, loaded with trash and plastic

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 20 bags, spent two hours picking out plastic, Styrofoam and metal pieces out of the mulch!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+24points
38out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

Be careful of what's in the bag

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first 103 bags of this mulch were almost entirely pine bark with coarsely shredded material. The last 17 used to finish a front view portion of my job were a finely shredded wood material. Although the color is the same, the appearance is contrasting instead of uniform, making for an unsatisfactory job appearance. Returning that many bags for exchange is impractical.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+87points
100out of 113found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Pearl City
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Product

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been buying this product for over 8 years, it transformed my back yard. If used properly it will not only beautify your yard, but reduce your weed and grass growth around your plants.
I usually weed about every three months, but its not much due to this mulch and a weed barrier.
Just bought 10 more bags today for $20. Normal Price is $5.97 for a 2 cf bag. Saved $40. bucks
Comes in three colors, but I prefer the brown. Have used other mulch products before and others fly all over my yard on windy rainy days. This Scotts product is a denser, maybe heavier product, cant beat it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Danville, Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome mulch

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was very skeptical on buying Scotts bagged mulch. My neighbor put down the bulk mulch from a local home and garden store and I decided to put down the Scotts Landscape mulch in the brown color. With utter amazement after 3 months of dry heat in the summer, my mulch was looking like it was just put down, the neighbors had faded to a grey color. And too this day, 10 months later, it still holds its color and would recommend and purchase this brand every time. Great product.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Weston CT
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inconsistent

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Some bags were a nice deep coffee brown color mulch while others were rock solid light brown mulch with an almost fluffy consistency but needed to be broken apart. Half the bags were of one kind and half from the other all from the same manufacturer. Disappointing. Now I need to reload my car and return. What a waste!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Port Orange, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is not any good!

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product after a recommendation from Home Depot and I trusted them to know what they are talking about. I used 95 bags for my front and back yard. The product is junk after only 10 or 12 weeks the color is all faded out and it looks terrible. The cheaper brand I purchased last year lasted way longer then this product and even when the less expensive product started to fade it still looked better then my yard looks now. Save your money and buy anything cheaper then this stuff it will be better then this poor product.
Cons: Not Durable, color fades, looks terrible
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Mechanicsburg, pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not buy unless you are wanting to grow mold and mushrooms

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am going to be requesting a refund from Home Depot for the 100 bags purchased. In addition, the dye has stained my driveway. Do not purchase regardless of the sale!”
Cons: product complaint
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
11out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Massachussetts
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tons of plastic, trash in every bag

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have purchased about 50 bags of this mulch over the past 3 months. Every bag is loaded with trash - that's visible to the eye after it's spread - black plastic bags, pieces of food containers, metal pieces, hard plastic, etc. Will never buy again. Very disappointing purchase and even more so, after it's spread across the front and back yard.
Cons: filled with trash
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Ashburn, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality mulch from Scott

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
When took the product out of the color was vibrant brown. Little after 5 days the color settled to little darker brown. Over all I liked the consistency of color over 105 bags I purchased. Hope Scott's 12 month guarantee on the color holds true.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: 3 to 4 sq feet spread not as much as adv
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
27out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Great Stuff1

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just purchased 40 bags of the brown color mulch from HD this weekend while it was on sale. Spread it in my rose garden and boy does it look good. I have mulched with product from a landscaping company in the past but will continue to use this mulch from HD in the future. I found the mulch to be free of large obnoxious pieces of wood. Color was consistent throughout all 40 bags. Most important is that bags are not super heavy .......as I'm a 68 year old female that was really important.
Color is a lovely chocolate brown and my beds look awesome!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>