728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

This Scotts Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch features shredded pine to beautify your landscape areas. The 100% wood composition helps conserve soil moisture and moderate temperature, and the mulch blocks growth and light access to help discourage weeds when applied at a depth of 3 in. or greater. Color Advantage helps maintain color for up to 12 months.
Overall rating:
3.803 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(223 reviews) 223
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product164 of 213reviews
Rating Breakdown 223 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(104)
4
(52)
3
(17)
2
(19)
1
(31)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product164 of 213reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
Review 1 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Mulch at a Good Price

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this mulch for a few years now but tried more expensive (and cheaper) brands. This and the more expensive brands are going to last and keep a nice color for about a good year. I got about 15 bags during the Spring Black Friday Sale which HD tends to have every year. I like the look of fresh mulch every Spring and for the price, laying new mulch is one of the cheapest landscaping projects you can do.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: needs yearly replacing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Ramsey, Mn.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easiest spring work ever.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The mulch was very easy to spread right from the bag.Just open bag, and pour it where you wanted it.Do a little raking to level it, and instant beauty. I'll never go back to buying mulch loose by the truck load. We've received so many complements on Hosta Garden.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

Nice Color, Good Mulch

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Laid down 13 bags of this mulch at one of my investment and I am happy with the results. The mulch has a nice color and is looks nice. My only issue is that in every bag I had at least one large hard clump which was hard to break apart. I think this may have been due to the fact it is still early in the season and Home Depot had the mulch stored out in the freezing cold.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+26points
32out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Hamden, ct
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Terrible, loaded with trash and plastic

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 20 bags, spent two hours picking out plastic, Styrofoam and metal pieces out of the mulch!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Pearl City
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Product

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been buying this product for over 8 years, it transformed my back yard. If used properly it will not only beautify your yard, but reduce your weed and grass growth around your plants.
I usually weed about every three months, but its not much due to this mulch and a weed barrier.
Just bought 10 more bags today for $20. Normal Price is $5.97 for a 2 cf bag. Saved $40. bucks
Comes in three colors, but I prefer the brown. Have used other mulch products before and others fly all over my yard on windy rainy days. This Scotts product is a denser, maybe heavier product, cant beat it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Mechanicsburg, pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not buy unless you are wanting to grow mold and mushrooms

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am going to be requesting a refund from Home Depot for the 100 bags purchased. In addition, the dye has stained my driveway. Do not purchase regardless of the sale!”
Cons: product complaint
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Massachussetts
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tons of plastic, trash in every bag

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have purchased about 50 bags of this mulch over the past 3 months. Every bag is loaded with trash - that's visible to the eye after it's spread - black plastic bags, pieces of food containers, metal pieces, hard plastic, etc. Will never buy again. Very disappointing purchase and even more so, after it's spread across the front and back yard.
Cons: filled with trash
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Maryland
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Affordable accessible choices of colors

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have purchased more than 50 bags of this mulch. Found quality about 85-90% consistent..have found large branches among the mulch and some which produced weed growth just where that bag of mulch had been spread. Color retention over the season remains to be seen but generally quite pleased with this and will continue to use.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, colors selections offered
Cons: large pieces among the mulch
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not consistent

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I bought 25 bags of this mulch and it was great however when I decided to do another area in my yard I went back to get 6 more bags and same bags on the outside only this second mulch was completely different from the first batch. Different color and with practically no bark at all ( which the first was full off) just a soft material . so different
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch

Be careful of what's in the bag

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first 103 bags of this mulch were almost entirely pine bark with coarsely shredded material. The last 17 used to finish a front view portion of my job were a finely shredded wood material. Although the color is the same, the appearance is contrasting instead of uniform, making for an unsatisfactory job appearance. Returning that many bags for exchange is impractical.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+83points
95out of 107found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Ashburn, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality mulch from Scott

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When took the product out of the color was vibrant brown. Little after 5 days the color settled to little darker brown. Over all I liked the consistency of color over 105 bags I purchased. Hope Scott's 12 month guarantee on the color holds true.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: 3 to 4 sq feet spread not as much as adv
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
21out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from seaside, ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointing product

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently purchased 21 bags of brown mulch to re-do my front garden. In every bag, I found big rocks, pieces of shredded plastic bag, pieces of plastic (like bottle caps), etc. I don't know if they do any sort of quality control, but if so, they need to step it up.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: trash in it
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Manchester, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It is brown and looks good

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was my second order on the bark mulch. This order was for 40 bags my first pick up was for 20 bags.
But when I got the bags home many of the bags were ripped and the inside mulch was lumped a lot. It took a lot of hard work breaking up the larges lumps. It was like frozen or something that makes it to lump up. My first 20 bags I picked up did not have this problem but the next 40 bags did have this problem, bags I did not pick out but
was ready when I went to the store for pick up. Not a happy camper at all. As this made a lot of extra work for me along with spreading the bark mulch.
Pros: nice color
Cons: full of large lumps of bark mulch
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from North Haledon, NJ, USA

Earthgro Brown Mulch, As Advertised

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchase over 90 bags of this product and spread it myself. Each bag was consistent in texture and color. I would definitely purchase this product again.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
21out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from South Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Avoid this messy mulch!

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I opened my four bags of this mulch, the brown dye poured out and stained my concrete walkway and adjacent white vinyl fence. The brown color does NOT stay in the mulch chips. Any water or moisture in or around the bag will cause the dye to separate and stain anything nearby.
I purchased this mulch because of the Scotts name and have filed a complaint with them.
The $3.33-per-bag purchase price at HD was good, but I'm going back to the no-name brown mulch that I bought previously at Lowes (same price) rather than again purchase this Scotts junk.
Cons: messy -- drips dye.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Binghamton, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mulch!

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 75 bags for around my yard. It's a great product. Buy on sale at Home Depot for $2.00 to $2.50 a bag.
Excellent value and easy to transport and spread.
Why buy bulk mulch? Bulk mulch IMO is not as nice. The color does not last as long as this product.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Pa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mulch at a great price

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's mulch. It's brown. And it looks great! We didn't need enough to justify going to a garden center paying for delivery etc. So when this stuff was on sale 5 for $10 we picked some up. The product is great! The bags aren't that heavy, unless soaking wet and it went down easy and my gardens look 1,000 time better. No running of color. Would highly recommend!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Mulch!

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product for years and buy it every time I need mulch. The color stays true for a very long time. Home Depot has great sales on this mulch in the Spring so it is an even better buy then.
Great mulch! Great buy!
Pros: Great Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Naugatuck, CT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product - Of All Scott's Earthgro Mulch Colors, Buy the Brown One

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We landscaped the side and front of our house last year using the red and black Scott's Earthgro mulch. Needless to say, we bought the brown this year and hence the review for the Brown color. The Black was the worse! Granted, we had a horrible winter here in the Northeast, specially in CT, but the black faded out within a probably 2 months after we put it down in July. The red kept it's color longer, I'd say they lasted about 8 months before it started losing color. This Brown is where it is at! We put it down in Feb and after heavy rain, snow, it still looks nice. We just bought about 15 more bags to mulch a new area and laid it down about 2 weeks ago and it still looks new. If you're going to buy this particular brand of mulch, get the brown, it lasts the longest.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 cu. ft. Brown Mulch
from Madison
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saving your money

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't buy this mulch- within one week the brown color looked like the old mulch we covered up. I'm already asking for a refund from Earth gro- lets see how good their guarantee is.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>