728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

Tackle your next outdoor project with the Scotts Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch. Made from pine, this mulch helps deter weed growth while conserving soil moisture and moderating soil temperature. Color Advantage helps preserve color throughout the year to keep your yard or garden looking great.
Overall rating:
4.188 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(181 reviews) 181
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product146 of 175reviews
Rating Breakdown 181 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(118)
4
(27)
3
(8)
2
(8)
1
(20)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product146 of 175reviews
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 92 Answers
Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
Review 1 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Allentown, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Conformity

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I made the mistake of buying this mulch without reading the reviews. All of the negative reviews about the lack of continuity in color/texture are 100% true. As far as I could tell, the people who wrote the positive reviews, were fortunate enough to get all of their mulch from the same batch.
I bought all the mulch from the same Home Depot on the same day, but from two different pallets (18 bags from one pallet, 12 from the other). Sure enough, about one-third of the mulch is completely different from the rest. The majority is an a clay red, and is mostly composed of sawdust and a random shard of wood here-and-there. The minority is a tasteful deep red (almost brown) with coarse strands of wood which looks like it will take a long time to decompose.
Either of the two would have been passable on their own, but when combined, the result is hideous. My tips are, if you're going to buy this mulch, make sure it's all from the same pallet. Another check that I noticed (during installation) was that the bags of the darker mulch is noticeably heavier. After placing the mulch, I had to check the empty bags to make sure they were all marked the same way (they were).
The 2nd star is only because the darker mulch is quite good. But for $3.33 a bag (which equates to $45 a yard), I was expecting at least a little bit of QA/QC.
Cons: not uniform
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Edison, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage -- Never again

PostedMay 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been using bagged mulch from other big box store but decided to give this a try because of the Scotts brand name. Turned out to be a huge mistake and a total waste of money and time. I bought 20 bags of this mulch in red. The mulch consisted mainly of sawdust and huge blocks of wood. Some of the wood chips were as long as 14 inches and many of them were 1-3" inch cubes. If that was not enough, the color was gone after the fist rain in less than a week. I put this mulch last Sunday and the color is mostly gone after the rain last Tues/Wed. My other mulch from last year sill looks much better than this. I ended up going back to the other store and apply another layer on top of this junk.
Cons: Not Durable, bad quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Meriden, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Scotts Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
really makes my landscaping complete and attractive. It is easy to spread and the color is appealing.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Stylish, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Manassas, VA, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love how the red mulch just wakes up my yard!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The color is vibrant and it smells fresh. I got a call from HD saying my order was ready. I was not able to go until 2 days later and my items were there stacked and waiting for me. There was a great guy who put them into my car. I had to make two trip and he was ready for me each time. Thanks Marcus!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Great Quality, great service
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Nashua, NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pieces of Wood, Not Mulch

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The color was nice. It smelled good. But isn't mulch supposed to be, well, mulch? The part that was mulched was really quite nice. But a good percentage was all shapes of big pieces of wood. Some stained, some not. I spent more time burying and picking out the big, ugly pieces then spreading the mulch. This year I decided to go with a well known name brand as opposed to the no name cheapo stuff I usually buy. Big mistake! While even the other stuff has some big pieces, Scotts has much, much more. I'm so disappointed.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Carson, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Good Product!!!! Price Great!!!!!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product because I wanted to enjoy my patio minus the weeding and saving water. This product was so easy and capture exactly what I wanted.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Shasta California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

POP of COLOR

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My sister and I are 63 years old, and share a home and all the garden work. Last year we purchased 60 bags of this product on sale, and we made seven trips to pick it up.
After we planted out floral and shrub garden and our vegetable garden, we put the mulch down. We didn't use any weed fabric. We didn't have any weeds, and our landscaping is beautiful. The red color of the bark lost a little color when it rained, and still it's red, after a year of the harsh sun. We live in Northern California and have 110 degree heat every day during the summer. The mulch doesn't blow away like the other mulch does. It also doesn't attract cats, my least liked pest.
Also, we turned the mulch over, and it's as bright as when we first put it down.
Last week we added another area to our garden, and we're off to purchase more mulch, can't beat the sale price.
You won't be sorry you purchased this, it's fantastic. The neighbors give us compliments all the time.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Great Quality
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from American Canyon, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The color is vibrant and looks great in the flower beds

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to spread color matches from bag to bag I would recommend this product
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Totally Worth It...Transformed a useless area to a hang out

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked this product up when it was on sale and used it for my front yard...I loved it so much I went back and got more to do the back yard..The color is rich and beautiful! It bleeds on to your hands and clothes but nothing that a little soap wont fix..I love it!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: bleeds onto hands clothing and pet feet.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+41points
44out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Lancaster, Pa.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 12 bags of this product and I must say you can't beat it for the price. The color is bright . and it held up after quite a few deluges of rain here of late. Of course it is a no brainer to wear gloves to put the mulch down - I love the red color, I always used to put down brown. or black ... not anymore.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: no cons
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Dundalk
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Looks fabulous!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Red mulch really pops! Brown is the perfect accent!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Beaverton, OR
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great deal, great product

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mulch was on sale 5/$10 and you cant resist that kind of a deal. Looks nice and I'd recommend it to anyone
Pros: Stylish, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Foxborough, MA 02035, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Mulch

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mulch is a great value... great price for what U get. I buy at least 4 bags every Spring.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Chicagoland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good ole Mulch

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great deal, used 52 bags, almost as good as the Scotts Nature Scapes. But at less than half the price, could not pass up. Some weird sticks in it. Hopefully it does not fade quickly.
I also rented the truck for $20 so I wouldn't mess up our minivan. Was able to get all 52 bags home in one trip.
I prefer these bagged mulches instead of landscaping company truck dumps. I have found a lot of garbage in their mulch (plastic, metal). The bagged mulch is much, much higher quality and the price is even cheaper when on sale.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

inconsistent color

PostedApril 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 15 bags of the red on sale. What I thought was a good deal was lost because of the quality of the mulch. The color varied from bright red (which is what I expected) to almost black in some bags. Out of the 15 bags only 5 were good. Unfortunalty I opened and dumped out the bags that were darker first, which I could've put up with if all the bags were the same color. Very disappointed with this product considering Scott's put their name on it. Also, all the bags came off the same pallet so you would think the chances were good the color would match. Will have to purchase more mulch (NOT SCOTTS) to try and cover and blend this mess together.
Cons: color inconsistent, some looked moldy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
31out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

great mulch

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this mulch, especially on sale at 5 for $10. It is less uniform than the more expensive Scott's. We need loads of it, so can't beat the price.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Holly Springs, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product was great for the money...

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 24 bags so I could do my fall/winter flowerbed work. I kept reading all the reviews because I had never tried this brand before. Everyone seem to have very favorable comments about it, so it finally went on sale again and I knew it was time to take a chance. Well, it has worked out so far. Even my lawn guy complimented me on how great my flowerbeds look! I ended up going back and purchasing a few more bags. I really want great coverage for the winter months to protect my perennials. Thus far, I am very pleased and I am looking forward to purchasing more for my future needs.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Great Quality, Good Shape
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Shakopee, Mn
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

It's Mulch.....come on, people.....

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We picked up 10 bags of this for a home we recently purchased. 10 bags were not nearly enough, lol. We went back (after the sale ended, of course, lol) and got 6 more bags. Did the two batches match up perfectly? Nope. The new 6 were slightly darker red than the first.
And do you know what? Who cares? lol. In a month they will all fade and blend even better than they do now. It's MULCH, folks. Each batch comes from different trees or processing plants and there will be a slight change from bag to bag. Throw it down, kill the weeds, and remember that nobody else will notice the color difference from batch to batch as much as you will as the home owner. It is dyed and will sit in the sun and get rained on and.....it will fade. lol. It will break down. That is the nature of mulch! That's why it is so affordable.
Enjoy the sale. I am going back tonight for more....and if the color is not a perfect match I really don't care.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+73points
78out of 83found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from ithaca,ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best mulch ever

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great mulch goes down easy covers great great value. well worth the trip to Home Depot. Saw a bad review about color and Im assuming that person bought a culled pallet which is why colors varied bag to bag. awesome product Scotts.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Bakersfield, Ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Scotts Earthgro Red Mulch

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product, very reasonable. Slows water evaporation, weed control, and the yard
looks great.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, Great Value
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>