728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

Tackle your next outdoor project with the Scotts Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch. Made from pine, this mulch helps deter weed growth while conserving soil moisture and moderating soil temperature. Color advantage helps preserve color throughout the year to keep your yard or garden looking great.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(306 reviews) 306
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product233 of 296reviews
Rating Breakdown 306 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(186)
4
(39)
3
(19)
2
(19)
1
(43)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product233 of 296reviews
Customer questions and answers:
29 Questions | 124 Answers
Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
Review 1 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Hiram, Ga.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Colors Not Consistent

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I too was disappointed, as were other reviews, with the inconsistent color of this "RED" mulch. I purchased (30) bags today and had (22) bags of Burgundy/Chocolate colored mulch and only (8) bags of what could be considered "RED". The Red was a very nice color. Unfortunately, I was halfway finished with the job before I got to the "RED" bags of mulch (8) of them. Up until that time I thought the Red color was lacking. It was not until I opened a bag with "RED" mulch that I saw the extreme color difference. After loading and unloading 30 bags and carrying all 30 bags to my backyard, I was too exhausted to return the unused bags of NOT RED mulch to Home Depot. If anyone is buying this mulch, it is on sale at a good price, take the time to turn the bag over to the clear plastic side to see if it
is in fact "RED" color. It is not easy to tell the printed side which is facing up. By the way, my mulch all came from the same pallet.
Cons: inconsistent color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+35points
38out of 41found this review helpful.
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareApril 28, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareApril 28, 2015
We're sorry to hear about your disappointment in the Scotts Earthgro Red Color Advantage Mulch. We work hard to make sure that the color stays as consistent as possible. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n scotts
Review 2 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Lake Forest, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great mulch!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This mulch, when ued correctly retains moisture incredibly well. we have clay dirt so when the mulch came though, we got to save a lot on our water bill.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: color fades a bit too quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not consistent

PostedMay 11, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 16 bags of this for my yard and wasn't overly impressed with the product. Some of the bags had formed white mold in it already and 2 of the bags were a totally different color than the rest. The 2 different bags had the same label but were a much more bright/rich red that I would have actually preferred. I'm wondering if the other 14 bags were from last year (due to the mold and less vibrant color) and the 2 brighter ones were from this year. Overall the product still looks ok, for now, but I wouldn't be suprised if the color didn't last long. Dissapointing considering the name brand (Scott's) and who I purchased it from (Home Depot).
Pros: good value
Cons: mold, not a consistent color
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Dallas, tx

Two different colors

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was given bag with 2 different colors one brown the other orangish red. Did not have the patience to return it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Akron, NY 14001, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best purchase ever...

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Looks great! Great color! Easy to use and apply to landscape
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Allentown, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Conformity

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I made the mistake of buying this mulch without reading the reviews. All of the negative reviews about the lack of continuity in color/texture are 100% true. As far as I could tell, the people who wrote the positive reviews, were fortunate enough to get all of their mulch from the same batch.
I bought all the mulch from the same Home Depot on the same day, but from two different pallets (18 bags from one pallet, 12 from the other). Sure enough, about one-third of the mulch is completely different from the rest. The majority is an a clay red, and is mostly composed of sawdust and a random shard of wood here-and-there. The minority is a tasteful deep red (almost brown) with coarse strands of wood which looks like it will take a long time to decompose.
Either of the two would have been passable on their own, but when combined, the result is hideous. My tips are, if you're going to buy this mulch, make sure it's all from the same pallet. Another check that I noticed (during installation) was that the bags of the darker mulch is noticeably heavier. After placing the mulch, I had to check the empty bags to make sure they were all marked the same way (they were).
The 2nd star is only because the darker mulch is quite good. But for $3.33 a bag (which equates to $45 a yard), I was expecting at least a little bit of QA/QC.
Cons: not uniform
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+67points
67out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Edison, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage -- Never again

PostedMay 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been using bagged mulch from other big box store but decided to give this a try because of the Scotts brand name. Turned out to be a huge mistake and a total waste of money and time. I bought 20 bags of this mulch in red. The mulch consisted mainly of sawdust and huge blocks of wood. Some of the wood chips were as long as 14 inches and many of them were 1-3" inch cubes. If that was not enough, the color was gone after the fist rain in less than a week. I put this mulch last Sunday and the color is mostly gone after the rain last Tues/Wed. My other mulch from last year sill looks much better than this. I ended up going back to the other store and apply another layer on top of this junk.
Cons: Not Durable, bad quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+32points
37out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Nashua, NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pieces of Wood, Not Mulch

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The color was nice. It smelled good. But isn't mulch supposed to be, well, mulch? The part that was mulched was really quite nice. But a good percentage was all shapes of big pieces of wood. Some stained, some not. I spent more time burying and picking out the big, ugly pieces then spreading the mulch. This year I decided to go with a well known name brand as opposed to the no name cheapo stuff I usually buy. Big mistake! While even the other stuff has some big pieces, Scotts has much, much more. I'm so disappointed.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
26out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Bellingham, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Color and quality both bad - Not like other Scott products

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I agree with all other reviews. Last year in 2014 Homedepot kept great red mulch. This year I bought the mulch expecting the same color and consistency and above all I bought because of the name brand Scott. I was so disappointed. Also the content is so not mulch like, it is like crushed wood. As a result you need more bags than normally needed. Don't buy because it is cheap. It is really bad.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Price keeps going up instead of down

PostedApril 20, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've used it before and wanted to pick some up this year again. 2 weeks ago, it was 5 for $10. Last week, it was 4 for $10. Went today to buy it and it was 3 for $10. Isn't the price supposed to go down, not up? I decided to go with a different mulch instead.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Lee, Ma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

TAKE A GOOD LOOK AT BAGS FOR COLOR AND WEIGHT

PostedMay 14, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased 30 bags from Home Depot earlier in the Month and all were nice and dry and had excellent color, I needed 5 more to finish so went back yesterday and got them, one bag was like the first 30 but the other 4 bags were wet and had a real bad smell and were as brown as if I had purchased the brown color. I had to use them and top them off with a couple of the first ones I purchased to finish the job as the local Home Depot is some distance from my house. So take a good look at the bag before purchasing it to examine the color and make sure it looks ok and also the weight of the bag when you pick it up, especially if pallet has been out in the sun for some time.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install
Cons: some variance
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Minnesota
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Infamous Hill

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a hill in my yard...and by hill I mean HILL ! The mulch is used at the top portion of the hill to avoid cutting the hill . We hauled 86 bags of mulch up the hill...86 bags :( But it looks beautiful !!! It was worth all the body aches the next day :) We are very happy with the outcome and would recommend this product to anyone !
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Stylish, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Totally Worth It...Transformed a useless area to a hang out

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked this product up when it was on sale and used it for my front yard...I loved it so much I went back and got more to do the back yard..The color is rich and beautiful! It bleeds on to your hands and clothes but nothing that a little soap wont fix..I love it!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: bleeds onto hands clothing and pet feet.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+53points
57out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from American Canyon, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The color is vibrant and looks great in the flower beds

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to spread color matches from bag to bag I would recommend this product
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Wyandotte, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst mulch ever!

PostedJune 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought the mulch Saturday morning and had it all in the raised beds by Saturday afternoon. It looked great! Saturday evening & Sunday morning it rained. Granted it was a heavy rain at times. On Sunday afternoon, about 24 hours after the mulch was applied I now have raised beds with an ugly peach color mulch.
I don't know where Scott's tested this mulch to make the claim of guaranteed "12 month color" because it didn't last even 24 hours.
Perhaps in the desert climes where there is no rain and/or you didn't water the flower beds it would be fine.
I may just go out and read the information on one of the empty bags and contact Scott's directly about the poor quality of the colorant used & challenge their claim of "12 months of color"
The worst mulch I have ever used!
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't keep the color after a rain, rain or water totally destroys the color
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from McLeansville
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Red Mulch Looks good

PostedMay 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased the red mulch so I could make a change to the shrubbery on the front of my house. For 23 years I had used brown mulch and I thought, my evergreen shrubs would probably look real good with a red mulch back drop. I was right! The mulch color has not faded much either.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Lewiston
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mulch makes Garden Pop

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to handle bags making project complete in one day !
Pros: Vibrant Color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

I love it!

PostedMay 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had purchased 8 bags for my back yard. I didn't really want to use it on the front but as soon as I spread it at my back yard I wish I had some for the front so I got another 6 bags for my front flower bed . It came out beautiful .
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from West Des Moines, IA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Moldy Mulch

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased several bags of mulch online. I went to the store to pick it up and they loaded it into the back of my SUV. Once I started down the road, I noticed a horrid smell coming from the mulch. I had to open all the windows to make it home. Once there we unloaded it and opened the bag and every single one was full of mold. I went back later to look at the bags as they had them all outside. Every single bag I could see was moldy. So, it wasn't worth returning it to exchange. So, we had to use the hose to wash it off because the smell was so bad every place we put the mulch down. I will not be buying it again next year from Home Depot.
We had purchased this same mulch 2 weeks prior and it was not moldy at all. But, then 2 weeks later every bag was moldy.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: moldy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Lancaster, Pa.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased 12 bags of this product and I must say you can't beat it for the price. The color is bright . and it held up after quite a few deluges of rain here of late. Of course it is a no brainer to wear gloves to put the mulch down - I love the red color, I always used to put down brown. or black ... not anymore.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: no cons
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
24out of 28found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 16 >>