728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

Tackle your next outdoor project with the Scotts Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch. Made from pine, this mulch helps deter weed growth while conserving soil moisture and moderating soil temperature. Color Advantage helps preserve color throughout the year to keep your yard or garden looking great.
Overall rating:
4.094 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(117 reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product93 of 114reviews
Rating Breakdown 117 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(73)
4
(18)
3
(5)
2
(6)
1
(15)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product93 of 114reviews
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 82 Answers
Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
Review 1 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
FastRichie
from American Canyon, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The color is vibrant and looks great in the flower beds

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to spread color matches from bag to bag I would recommend this product
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
FlowerGals
from Shasta California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

POP of COLOR

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My sister and I are 63 years old, and share a home and all the garden work. Last year we purchased 60 bags of this product on sale, and we made seven trips to pick it up.
After we planted out floral and shrub garden and our vegetable garden, we put the mulch down. We didn't use any weed fabric. We didn't have any weeds, and our landscaping is beautiful. The red color of the bark lost a little color when it rained, and still it's red, after a year of the harsh sun. We live in Northern California and have 110 degree heat every day during the summer. The mulch doesn't blow away like the other mulch does. It also doesn't attract cats, my least liked pest.
Also, we turned the mulch over, and it's as bright as when we first put it down.
Last week we added another area to our garden, and we're off to purchase more mulch, can't beat the sale price.
You won't be sorry you purchased this, it's fantastic. The neighbors give us compliments all the time.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Great Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
Amanda
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Totally Worth It...Transformed a useless area to a hang out

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked this product up when it was on sale and used it for my front yard...I loved it so much I went back and got more to do the back yard..The color is rich and beautiful! It bleeds on to your hands and clothes but nothing that a little soap wont fix..I love it!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: bleeds onto hands clothing and pet feet.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
Robert
from Lancaster, Pa.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 12 bags of this product and I must say you can't beat it for the price. The color is bright . and it held up after quite a few deluges of rain here of late. Of course it is a no brainer to wear gloves to put the mulch down - I love the red color, I always used to put down brown. or black ... not anymore.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: no cons
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
daddyjeff
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

inconsistent color

PostedApril 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 15 bags of the red on sale. What I thought was a good deal was lost because of the quality of the mulch. The color varied from bright red (which is what I expected) to almost black in some bags. Out of the 15 bags only 5 were good. Unfortunalty I opened and dumped out the bags that were darker first, which I could've put up with if all the bags were the same color. Very disappointed with this product considering Scott's put their name on it. Also, all the bags came off the same pallet so you would think the chances were good the color would match. Will have to purchase more mulch (NOT SCOTTS) to try and cover and blend this mess together.
Cons: color inconsistent, some looked moldy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
28out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
ctcladdagh

great mulch

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this mulch, especially on sale at 5 for $10. It is less uniform than the more expensive Scott's. We need loads of it, so can't beat the price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
Ruffie
from ithaca,ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best mulch ever

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great mulch goes down easy covers great great value. well worth the trip to Home Depot. Saw a bad review about color and Im assuming that person bought a culled pallet which is why colors varied bag to bag. awesome product Scotts.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
STEALTH
from Bakersfield, Ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Scotts Earthgro Red Mulch

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product, very reasonable. Slows water evaporation, weed control, and the yard
looks great.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, Great Value
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
Cheesy
from Shakopee, Mn
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

It's Mulch.....come on, people.....

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We picked up 10 bags of this for a home we recently purchased. 10 bags were not nearly enough, lol. We went back (after the sale ended, of course, lol) and got 6 more bags. Did the two batches match up perfectly? Nope. The new 6 were slightly darker red than the first.
And do you know what? Who cares? lol. In a month they will all fade and blend even better than they do now. It's MULCH, folks. Each batch comes from different trees or processing plants and there will be a slight change from bag to bag. Throw it down, kill the weeds, and remember that nobody else will notice the color difference from batch to batch as much as you will as the home owner. It is dyed and will sit in the sun and get rained on and.....it will fade. lol. It will break down. That is the nature of mulch! That's why it is so affordable.
Enjoy the sale. I am going back tonight for more....and if the color is not a perfect match I really don't care.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+65points
70out of 75found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
Cebb
from Holly Springs, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product was great for the money...

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 24 bags so I could do my fall/winter flowerbed work. I kept reading all the reviews because I had never tried this brand before. Everyone seem to have very favorable comments about it, so it finally went on sale again and I knew it was time to take a chance. Well, it has worked out so far. Even my lawn guy complimented me on how great my flowerbeds look! I ended up going back and purchasing a few more bags. I really want great coverage for the winter months to protect my perennials. Thus far, I am very pleased and I am looking forward to purchasing more for my future needs.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Great Quality, Good Shape
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
TheHoppers

The wife loves it

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great vibrant color and long lasting for the price. worth the money. The wife picked it out and she was so happy with it we put more out this year in more places.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
candymech
from Reading,PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wrong color(s) in bag!

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought 20 bags of the scotts earthgro mulch. will never buy it again. I dumped out the bags and to my surprise, there were 4 different colors. i'm not talking different shades of red i mean completely different colors but every bag said "RED" mulch. that's why it was such a great sale. the colors were light brown, chocolate, black, and dark red. Will never by a product with Scotts name on it again.
Cons: wrong color in bag
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
DoItPete
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mulich was still frozen in bag - terrible to spread!!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I get VERY upset with the garden soil and mulch from The Home Depot. Sometimes it's great and sometimes it is water logged or rock hard from being water logged. This time the mulch was frozen. I just got some of this Mulch (Scott's Earth Gro) about three weeks earlier (not on sale) and it was fine. I would definitely recommend the mulch but NOT in the condition it was in. A sign to at least warn people would be helpful.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Great Quality
Cons: frozen
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
Anonymous
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Ok Quality

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not satisfied with the color. The color has already faded in less than a month.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
16out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
Mike
from Abilene,tx
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

MULTCH

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Instant Gratification to the yard! Thankyou! I like it for the price and quality of product!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Stylish, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
nate
from west vergina
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awlful brown and smelled rottan

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
awlful brown and smelled rattan. bought 9 bags today all None were red
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
WACKYTRACKER
from Rising Fawn, GA 30738, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

excellent mulch

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Really is the best mulch Ive ever used, covers better then the rest, wish I could of got it a week later when it went on sale. cant win them all.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
Lacerator
from San Francisco
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT STERILIZED

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this bark as a ground cover, to prevent weeds from invading my new plantings. What I did not realize is that it COMES WITH IT'S OWN WEEDS. Within days, clover and grass began to sprout FROM THE BARK. The clover is not sprouting from beneath the bark, but from WITHIN, and it is feeding off the water present in the bark. Clearly not a sterilized product, DON'T buy unless you don't mind spreading WEEDS with it.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

DON'T DO IT

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I grabbed 15 bags of the red mulch when it was on sale( 3 for $10 ). It was enough to recover/touchup my 2 gardens and much less $$$ than having a minimum load delivered by the local nursery like I usually do. A load of mulch was too much product for my needs this year as well. I thought this was the perfect solution. WRONG!
This stuff is FULL of seeds. The gardens looked good when the product was 1st applied( although it has a lot of HUGE chunks of wood not properly broken down )but after some rain and sun suddenly the gardens are over grown with the same type of weed EVERYWHERE! Not exactly sure what it is( similar to crab grass )but what a mess.
These are not weeds that were present either. They are in the mulch and came with it. They are not coming up through it from underneath( especially through the existing mulch and weed mat/blocker )but rather they are in it.
The amount of work this is going to take to fix is very upsetting and daunting( I am disabled so it will be 10X's harder for me to weed it by hand than a normal person ). I can't even use weed killer on most of it or I will kill my plants/shrubs/flowers/etc...
I do not recommend you buy this product. Mulch is supposed to help keep weed growth down not come with ready to grow seeds in it that you just add rain and sun to. :(
Cons: full of weed seeds
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
Joe78039
from LaCoste, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthwhile purchase

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The color is great. I am impressed with how long the color remains without fading. The product is very clean; no debris or twigs at all. I also appreciate the sturdy packaging - the bag does not rip while being handled. I have not purchased 40 bags and plan to buy more!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>