728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

Tackle your next outdoor project with the Scotts Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch. Made from pine, this mulch helps deter weed growth while conserving soil moisture and moderating soil temperature. Color advantage helps preserve color throughout the year to keep your yard or garden looking great.
Overall rating:
4.037 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(216 reviews) 216
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product165 of 209reviews
Rating Breakdown 216 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(133)
4
(30)
3
(10)
2
(14)
1
(29)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product165 of 209reviews
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 115 Answers
Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
Review 1 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Hiram, Ga.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Colors Not Consistent

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I too was disappointed, as were other reviews, with the inconsistent color of this "RED" mulch. I purchased (30) bags today and had (22) bags of Burgundy/Chocolate colored mulch and only (8) bags of what could be considered "RED". The Red was a very nice color. Unfortunately, I was halfway finished with the job before I got to the "RED" bags of mulch (8) of them. Up until that time I thought the Red color was lacking. It was not until I opened a bag with "RED" mulch that I saw the extreme color difference. After loading and unloading 30 bags and carrying all 30 bags to my backyard, I was too exhausted to return the unused bags of NOT RED mulch to Home Depot. If anyone is buying this mulch, it is on sale at a good price, take the time to turn the bag over to the clear plastic side to see if it
is in fact "RED" color. It is not easy to tell the printed side which is facing up. By the way, my mulch all came from the same pallet.
Cons: inconsistent color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Lake Forest, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great mulch!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This mulch, when ued correctly retains moisture incredibly well. we have clay dirt so when the mulch came though, we got to save a lot on our water bill.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: color fades a bit too quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Allentown, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Conformity

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I made the mistake of buying this mulch without reading the reviews. All of the negative reviews about the lack of continuity in color/texture are 100% true. As far as I could tell, the people who wrote the positive reviews, were fortunate enough to get all of their mulch from the same batch.
I bought all the mulch from the same Home Depot on the same day, but from two different pallets (18 bags from one pallet, 12 from the other). Sure enough, about one-third of the mulch is completely different from the rest. The majority is an a clay red, and is mostly composed of sawdust and a random shard of wood here-and-there. The minority is a tasteful deep red (almost brown) with coarse strands of wood which looks like it will take a long time to decompose.
Either of the two would have been passable on their own, but when combined, the result is hideous. My tips are, if you're going to buy this mulch, make sure it's all from the same pallet. Another check that I noticed (during installation) was that the bags of the darker mulch is noticeably heavier. After placing the mulch, I had to check the empty bags to make sure they were all marked the same way (they were).
The 2nd star is only because the darker mulch is quite good. But for $3.33 a bag (which equates to $45 a yard), I was expecting at least a little bit of QA/QC.
Cons: not uniform
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+57points
57out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Edison, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage -- Never again

PostedMay 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been using bagged mulch from other big box store but decided to give this a try because of the Scotts brand name. Turned out to be a huge mistake and a total waste of money and time. I bought 20 bags of this mulch in red. The mulch consisted mainly of sawdust and huge blocks of wood. Some of the wood chips were as long as 14 inches and many of them were 1-3" inch cubes. If that was not enough, the color was gone after the fist rain in less than a week. I put this mulch last Sunday and the color is mostly gone after the rain last Tues/Wed. My other mulch from last year sill looks much better than this. I ended up going back to the other store and apply another layer on top of this junk.
Cons: Not Durable, bad quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
30out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Nashua, NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pieces of Wood, Not Mulch

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The color was nice. It smelled good. But isn't mulch supposed to be, well, mulch? The part that was mulched was really quite nice. But a good percentage was all shapes of big pieces of wood. Some stained, some not. I spent more time burying and picking out the big, ugly pieces then spreading the mulch. This year I decided to go with a well known name brand as opposed to the no name cheapo stuff I usually buy. Big mistake! While even the other stuff has some big pieces, Scotts has much, much more. I'm so disappointed.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from American Canyon, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The color is vibrant and looks great in the flower beds

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to spread color matches from bag to bag I would recommend this product
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Totally Worth It...Transformed a useless area to a hang out

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked this product up when it was on sale and used it for my front yard...I loved it so much I went back and got more to do the back yard..The color is rich and beautiful! It bleeds on to your hands and clothes but nothing that a little soap wont fix..I love it!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: bleeds onto hands clothing and pet feet.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+51points
55out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Cabot, Arkansas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Impressed with Mulch, Color & Price

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
While I sit here and read all of the reviews, I am shocked at what I read. My husband bought me 5 bags of this red mulch on March 21 and we went back yesterday and got 20 more bags. The 5 bags we put out last month are still as red as the 20 bags we got today and it has stormed, rained to the point of flash flood warnings, and even hailed in the past 3 weeks on the mulch we put out. We did find that this mulch is a little bulkier than other brands, but there was no sawdust or chunks of wood in any of our 25 bags as others are describing on this review website. I will buy more and continue to buy this brand in the years to come. And at the sale price of $2.00 per 2 cu ft bag, that is a great deal!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Lancaster, Pa.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased 12 bags of this product and I must say you can't beat it for the price. The color is bright . and it held up after quite a few deluges of rain here of late. Of course it is a no brainer to wear gloves to put the mulch down - I love the red color, I always used to put down brown. or black ... not anymore.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: no cons
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
23out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Chicagoland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good ole Mulch

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great deal, used 52 bags, almost as good as the Scotts Nature Scapes. But at less than half the price, could not pass up. Some weird sticks in it. Hopefully it does not fade quickly.
I also rented the truck for $20 so I wouldn't mess up our minivan. Was able to get all 52 bags home in one trip.
I prefer these bagged mulches instead of landscaping company truck dumps. I have found a lot of garbage in their mulch (plastic, metal). The bagged mulch is much, much higher quality and the price is even cheaper when on sale.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Price keeps going up instead of down

PostedApril 20, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've used it before and wanted to pick some up this year again. 2 weeks ago, it was 5 for $10. Last week, it was 4 for $10. Went today to buy it and it was 3 for $10. Isn't the price supposed to go down, not up? I decided to go with a different mulch instead.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Meriden, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Scotts Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
really makes my landscaping complete and attractive. It is easy to spread and the color is appealing.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Stylish, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Seattle WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is one of my favorite products to use in both Red and Black

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great product. You get longer life than estimated. The color stays rich and full all year long.
Thanks
David
Square Box Design
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Lakewoo, Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mulch

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I refresh this every year and it holds it's color through the season
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

inconsistent color

PostedApril 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 15 bags of the red on sale. What I thought was a good deal was lost because of the quality of the mulch. The color varied from bright red (which is what I expected) to almost black in some bags. Out of the 15 bags only 5 were good. Unfortunalty I opened and dumped out the bags that were darker first, which I could've put up with if all the bags were the same color. Very disappointed with this product considering Scott's put their name on it. Also, all the bags came off the same pallet so you would think the chances were good the color would match. Will have to purchase more mulch (NOT SCOTTS) to try and cover and blend this mess together.
Cons: color inconsistent, some looked moldy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
34out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Butler
Age Range:25 to 34

Ok mulch but not consistant color

PostedApril 18, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like others I experianced the mutiple colors of each pallet. We had to do three separate trips and each trip the mulch was vastly different colors. The first two trips were somewhat brown and the last trip was vibrant red. We thought we brought the wrong colors intially but after checking the old bags they all should have been red. O well, they were cheap and look decent. We got luckly and used the brown color in the back and the red up front so it still looks good. But if you have a large area these bags are very inconsitant and could ruin the look. I prolly will not use again… Sad because Scotts is usually a trusted name.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareApril 23, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareApril 23, 2015
We are sorry you are disappointed with the color of Scotts Earthgro Red Color Advantage We will forward your comments regarding the color and texture of this product onto our Quality Control Department.Our mulches are produced regionally, and for that reason they may vary slightly in color and size. In most cases the color variation will usually disappear as the product is exposed to rain and sun.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n scotts
Review 17 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Carson, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Good Product!!!! Price Great!!!!!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this product because I wanted to enjoy my patio minus the weeding and saving water. This product was so easy and capture exactly what I wanted.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Beaverton, OR
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great deal, great product

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mulch was on sale 5/$10 and you cant resist that kind of a deal. Looks nice and I'd recommend it to anyone
Pros: Stylish, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Shasta California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

POP of COLOR

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My sister and I are 63 years old, and share a home and all the garden work. Last year we purchased 60 bags of this product on sale, and we made seven trips to pick it up.
After we planted out floral and shrub garden and our vegetable garden, we put the mulch down. We didn't use any weed fabric. We didn't have any weeds, and our landscaping is beautiful. The red color of the bark lost a little color when it rained, and still it's red, after a year of the harsh sun. We live in Northern California and have 110 degree heat every day during the summer. The mulch doesn't blow away like the other mulch does. It also doesn't attract cats, my least liked pest.
Also, we turned the mulch over, and it's as bright as when we first put it down.
Last week we added another area to our garden, and we're off to purchase more mulch, can't beat the sale price.
You won't be sorry you purchased this, it's fantastic. The neighbors give us compliments all the time.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Great Quality
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from land of 10,000 lakes
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Really Red!

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought a load of this stuff last year in Red...it was truly red, and I loved it. Held up great through a horrible Minnesota winter...it's still very red, but I needed a little freshen up to fill in the spots and just update it a little. Unfortunately, the 6 new bags I bought are more rust than red. It's still ok, but it is very disappointing that I won't have that beautiful pop of red color in my landscaping that I had last year. I just really wish they were more consistent in the color. I get that a year apart, they are definitely not going to match exactly, but the new bags are CLEARLY rust, not red.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: invonsistent color
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>