728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

Tackle your next outdoor project with the Scotts Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch. Made from pine, this mulch helps deter weed growth while conserving soil moisture and moderating soil temperature. Color advantage helps preserve color throughout the year to keep your yard or garden looking great.
Overall rating:
3.99 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(310 reviews) 310
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product236 of 300reviews
Rating Breakdown 310 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(187)
4
(40)
3
(20)
2
(19)
1
(44)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product236 of 300reviews
Customer questions and answers:
29 Questions | 129 Answers
Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
Review 1 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Hiram, Ga.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Colors Not Consistent

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I too was disappointed, as were other reviews, with the inconsistent color of this "RED" mulch. I purchased (30) bags today and had (22) bags of Burgundy/Chocolate colored mulch and only (8) bags of what could be considered "RED". The Red was a very nice color. Unfortunately, I was halfway finished with the job before I got to the "RED" bags of mulch (8) of them. Up until that time I thought the Red color was lacking. It was not until I opened a bag with "RED" mulch that I saw the extreme color difference. After loading and unloading 30 bags and carrying all 30 bags to my backyard, I was too exhausted to return the unused bags of NOT RED mulch to Home Depot. If anyone is buying this mulch, it is on sale at a good price, take the time to turn the bag over to the clear plastic side to see if it
is in fact "RED" color. It is not easy to tell the printed side which is facing up. By the way, my mulch all came from the same pallet.
Cons: inconsistent color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+36points
39out of 42found this review helpful.
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareApril 28, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareApril 28, 2015
We're sorry to hear about your disappointment in the Scotts Earthgro Red Color Advantage Mulch. We work hard to make sure that the color stays as consistent as possible. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n scotts
Review 2 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Lake Forest, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great mulch!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This mulch, when ued correctly retains moisture incredibly well. we have clay dirt so when the mulch came though, we got to save a lot on our water bill.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: color fades a bit too quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not consistent

PostedMay 11, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 16 bags of this for my yard and wasn't overly impressed with the product. Some of the bags had formed white mold in it already and 2 of the bags were a totally different color than the rest. The 2 different bags had the same label but were a much more bright/rich red that I would have actually preferred. I'm wondering if the other 14 bags were from last year (due to the mold and less vibrant color) and the 2 brighter ones were from this year. Overall the product still looks ok, for now, but I wouldn't be suprised if the color didn't last long. Dissapointing considering the name brand (Scott's) and who I purchased it from (Home Depot).
Pros: good value
Cons: mold, not a consistent color
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 21, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 21, 2015
We are sorry for the disappointing experience with the mold you found and the difference in color with Scotts Earthgro Red Color Advantage Mulch. Our mulches are produced regionally, and for that reason they may vary slightly in color and size. Composted mulch by nature can develop mold and fungus. These organisms help break down the organic material so that plants can use the nutrients. Neither fungi nor molds that break down dead organic matter harm growing plants.
We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n scotts
Review 4 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Dallas, tx

Two different colors

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was given bag with 2 different colors one brown the other orangish red. Did not have the patience to return it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 9, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 9, 2015
We apologize that the product did not meet your expectations. This is not the experience we want you to have with our products. We do have our No Quibble Guarantee. The following link provides all of our contact information:http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5 scotts
Review 5 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Allentown, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Conformity

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I made the mistake of buying this mulch without reading the reviews. All of the negative reviews about the lack of continuity in color/texture are 100% true. As far as I could tell, the people who wrote the positive reviews, were fortunate enough to get all of their mulch from the same batch.
I bought all the mulch from the same Home Depot on the same day, but from two different pallets (18 bags from one pallet, 12 from the other). Sure enough, about one-third of the mulch is completely different from the rest. The majority is an a clay red, and is mostly composed of sawdust and a random shard of wood here-and-there. The minority is a tasteful deep red (almost brown) with coarse strands of wood which looks like it will take a long time to decompose.
Either of the two would have been passable on their own, but when combined, the result is hideous. My tips are, if you're going to buy this mulch, make sure it's all from the same pallet. Another check that I noticed (during installation) was that the bags of the darker mulch is noticeably heavier. After placing the mulch, I had to check the empty bags to make sure they were all marked the same way (they were).
The 2nd star is only because the darker mulch is quite good. But for $3.33 a bag (which equates to $45 a yard), I was expecting at least a little bit of QA/QC.
Cons: not uniform
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+68points
68out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Edison, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage -- Never again

PostedMay 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been using bagged mulch from other big box store but decided to give this a try because of the Scotts brand name. Turned out to be a huge mistake and a total waste of money and time. I bought 20 bags of this mulch in red. The mulch consisted mainly of sawdust and huge blocks of wood. Some of the wood chips were as long as 14 inches and many of them were 1-3" inch cubes. If that was not enough, the color was gone after the fist rain in less than a week. I put this mulch last Sunday and the color is mostly gone after the rain last Tues/Wed. My other mulch from last year sill looks much better than this. I ended up going back to the other store and apply another layer on top of this junk.
Cons: Not Durable, bad quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+33points
38out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Akron, NY 14001, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best purchase ever...

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Looks great! Great color! Easy to use and apply to landscape
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Nashua, NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pieces of Wood, Not Mulch

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The color was nice. It smelled good. But isn't mulch supposed to be, well, mulch? The part that was mulched was really quite nice. But a good percentage was all shapes of big pieces of wood. Some stained, some not. I spent more time burying and picking out the big, ugly pieces then spreading the mulch. This year I decided to go with a well known name brand as opposed to the no name cheapo stuff I usually buy. Big mistake! While even the other stuff has some big pieces, Scotts has much, much more. I'm so disappointed.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Totally Worth It...Transformed a useless area to a hang out

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked this product up when it was on sale and used it for my front yard...I loved it so much I went back and got more to do the back yard..The color is rich and beautiful! It bleeds on to your hands and clothes but nothing that a little soap wont fix..I love it!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: bleeds onto hands clothing and pet feet.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+53points
57out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from American Canyon, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The color is vibrant and looks great in the flower beds

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to spread color matches from bag to bag I would recommend this product
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Bellingham, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Color and quality both bad - Not like other Scott products

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I agree with all other reviews. Last year in 2014 Homedepot kept great red mulch. This year I bought the mulch expecting the same color and consistency and above all I bought because of the name brand Scott. I was so disappointed. Also the content is so not mulch like, it is like crushed wood. As a result you need more bags than normally needed. Don't buy because it is cheap. It is really bad.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 17, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 17, 2015
We are sorry you are disappointed with the color of Scotts Earthgro Red Color Advantage Mulch. I will forward your comments regarding the color and texture of this product onto our Quality Control Department. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n scotts
Review 12 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Lee, Ma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

TAKE A GOOD LOOK AT BAGS FOR COLOR AND WEIGHT

PostedMay 14, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased 30 bags from Home Depot earlier in the Month and all were nice and dry and had excellent color, I needed 5 more to finish so went back yesterday and got them, one bag was like the first 30 but the other 4 bags were wet and had a real bad smell and were as brown as if I had purchased the brown color. I had to use them and top them off with a couple of the first ones I purchased to finish the job as the local Home Depot is some distance from my house. So take a good look at the bag before purchasing it to examine the color and make sure it looks ok and also the weight of the bag when you pick it up, especially if pallet has been out in the sun for some time.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install
Cons: some variance
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 22, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 22, 2015
We are sorry to hear that the product did meet your expectations. This is not the experience we want you to have with our products. We do have our No Quibble Guarantee. The following link provides all of our contact information: http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5 scotts
Review 13 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Minnesota
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Infamous Hill

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a hill in my yard...and by hill I mean HILL ! The mulch is used at the top portion of the hill to avoid cutting the hill . We hauled 86 bags of mulch up the hill...86 bags :( But it looks beautiful !!! It was worth all the body aches the next day :) We are very happy with the outcome and would recommend this product to anyone !
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Stylish, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Wyandotte, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst mulch ever!

PostedJune 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought the mulch Saturday morning and had it all in the raised beds by Saturday afternoon. It looked great! Saturday evening & Sunday morning it rained. Granted it was a heavy rain at times. On Sunday afternoon, about 24 hours after the mulch was applied I now have raised beds with an ugly peach color mulch.
I don't know where Scott's tested this mulch to make the claim of guaranteed "12 month color" because it didn't last even 24 hours.
Perhaps in the desert climes where there is no rain and/or you didn't water the flower beds it would be fine.
I may just go out and read the information on one of the empty bags and contact Scott's directly about the poor quality of the colorant used & challenge their claim of "12 months of color"
The worst mulch I have ever used!
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't keep the color after a rain, rain or water totally destroys the color
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 28, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 28, 2015
We're saddened to hear that the mulch had lost color so soon after being applied. Please keep in mind, that the mu;ch should be applied when there is not rain expected for at least 24 hours afterwards, as this will allow the dye time to dry and set.

We want you to be confident in our products, which is why we offer a product guarantee to our customers. If you haven't already, please contact us at your earliest convenience using the information that can be found by following the link below so that we may assist you further.
http://www.scotts.com/smg/gosite/Scotts-v2/help scotts
Review 15 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from McLeansville
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Red Mulch Looks good

PostedMay 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased the red mulch so I could make a change to the shrubbery on the front of my house. For 23 years I had used brown mulch and I thought, my evergreen shrubs would probably look real good with a red mulch back drop. I was right! The mulch color has not faded much either.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Lewiston
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mulch makes Garden Pop

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to handle bags making project complete in one day !
Pros: Vibrant Color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from Lancaster, Pa.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased 12 bags of this product and I must say you can't beat it for the price. The color is bright . and it held up after quite a few deluges of rain here of late. Of course it is a no brainer to wear gloves to put the mulch down - I love the red color, I always used to put down brown. or black ... not anymore.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: no cons
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
24out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch

I love it!

PostedMay 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had purchased 8 bags for my back yard. I didn't really want to use it on the front but as soon as I spread it at my back yard I wish I had some for the front so I got another 6 bags for my front flower bed . It came out beautiful .
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

inconsistent color

PostedApril 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 15 bags of the red on sale. What I thought was a good deal was lost because of the quality of the mulch. The color varied from bright red (which is what I expected) to almost black in some bags. Out of the 15 bags only 5 were good. Unfortunalty I opened and dumped out the bags that were darker first, which I could've put up with if all the bags were the same color. Very disappointed with this product considering Scott's put their name on it. Also, all the bags came off the same pallet so you would think the chances were good the color would match. Will have to purchase more mulch (NOT SCOTTS) to try and cover and blend this mess together.
Cons: color inconsistent, some looked moldy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
35out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 cu. ft. Red Mulch
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Price keeps going up instead of down

PostedApril 20, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've used it before and wanted to pick some up this year again. 2 weeks ago, it was 5 for $10. Last week, it was 4 for $10. Went today to buy it and it was 3 for $10. Isn't the price supposed to go down, not up? I decided to go with a different mulch instead.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 16 >>