728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Concrete, Basement & Garage Floor Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Epoxy Shield 1-gal. Basement Tan Floor Coating Kit-DISCONTINUED

Epoxy Shield 1-gal. Basement Tan Floor Coating Kit-DISCONTINUED

Rust-Oleum EpoxyShield Basement Floor Coating transforms sound concrete basements into living, playing or working spaces. Apply to floors and walls to resist staining and wear. Kit includes 2-part water-based epoxy coating, decorative chips, stir stick and detailed instructions.
Overall rating:
4.077 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product9 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product9 of 12reviews
Customer questions and answers:
27 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer reviews for Epoxy Shield 1-gal. Basement Tan Floor Coating Kit-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Epoxy Shield 1-gal. Basement Tan Floor Coating Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You won't be dissapointed.

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Kit is easy to use. Make sure you wash and dry concrete surface at least once. Follow the mixing instructions. I would recommend 2 people doing this if you want to you the decorative chips. The paint drys so fast I did this alone and it is important to keep your sections wet while you throw the chips on.
Goes on fast! Got 300 +sq feet done in an hour! If you need more than one gallon/mix, do the chemical mix at the same time since it takes 30 for the part a and b to activate. Let both gallons sit use the one first, then move on to the already mixed gallon, so you don't have to wait another 30 mintues for your mix to activate.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Epoxy Shield 1-gal. Basement Tan Floor Coating Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Staten Island, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very pleased with this product

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The floor coating was easily applied, make sure you follow instructions. Went on like any other paint. I used a 1/2 nap roller and went a little more area than suggested application guidelines. Dried within 8 hours and heavy traffic after 24. Simply throw the flecks in the air for a more unique finish, don't try to decorate with them. Very happy with finished product. I've already had friends say they were going to do their basement with this product.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Epoxy Shield 1-gal. Basement Tan Floor Coating Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT and EASY flooring option for the basement!

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was beyond my expectations. The coverage was amazing and our floor looks great!
*Tip- the pot life is 16 hours after mixing the two components together.
I could not complete the job in that time so I stuck the can in the fridge and it worked fine over a period of 3 days!
So if you have to stretch out the job to more than 16 hours, dont worry..... just stick the mixed epoxy in the fridge!
I would use this again in a heartbeat, very highly recommended for basement floors.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Epoxy Shield 1-gal. Basement Tan Floor Coating Kit-DISCONTINUED

Very Happy

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used a lot of epoxy paint, and this was great. It applied easily and has stood up to foot traffic thus far.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Epoxy Shield 1-gal. Basement Tan Floor Coating Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Florida
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Takes a concrete floor up a few notches

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Painted the tan color on concrete floor of screen room; the added sprinkles of black, white and brown gave a finished look to the area.A professional painted the surface while I followed behind to add the texture of paint-chips.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Modern, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks High End, had some left over
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Epoxy Shield 1-gal. Basement Tan Floor Coating Kit-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This stuff is awesome!

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am NOT the painting, handy, crafty woman at all... This stuff covered my concrete stamped floor perfectly!!! We have a back house with stamped, colored, concrete flooring. The floor was not originally sealed correctly (if at all?) and then painted with regular White acrylic paint. I don't know why? But it was horrible!! I thought I had to remove all the paint before applying the epoxy, so that took a lot of time and was a nightmare! It was such a pain I didn't get it all up and just decided to go over what I had missed. After all that I think I could have just painted over the acrylic. As of today it looks Great! The epoxy went on smooth, thick, clean, very easy and more than enough! The tan is very light (I didn't use the flakes), shinny, and almost looks like tile with the stamped concrete. I would definitely recommend and use again!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Modern, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Epoxy Shield 1-gal. Basement Tan Floor Coating Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Corning, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An ugly floor now looks very good.

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We followed the clear directions and are very happy with the results. In our case, prep required vacuuming, scrubbing with soapy water, scraping with a floor scraper. Don't panic if it starts drying uneven. We had bare and painted patches, but when completely dry it looked fine. We did get a few scratches from a loveseat, but overall it's holding up for several weeks now.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Epoxy Shield 1-gal. Basement Tan Floor Coating Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highly recommend

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This did a fantastic job on our back porch which we turned into a game room...The floor looks great and was a breeze to finish. I did a lot of research before purchasing this product and would buy it again in a heartbeat....
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Epoxy Shield 1-gal. Basement Tan Floor Coating Kit-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use and do!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This paint goes down in 4 ft squares then throw the specks on it. Do the next 4 footer paint right over any loose specks and sprinkle again. Cleans off with water. I like to put it on thick and buy extra specks. Covers thin cracks to 1/8 inch. Use one of those flat paint edgers for the edges and a 1/2 in nap roller. Love the look.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Epoxy Shield 1-gal. Basement Tan Floor Coating Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great price' I shopped. Good instructions on surface preparation. Great performance months later. Received on time at my frond door.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Epoxy Shield 1-gal. Basement Tan Floor Coating Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Poughkeepsie, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DISAPPOINTING

PostedApril 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had a professional painter install product on garage floor. Prepared floor professionally and then applied product. Looked great for 6 months, then started to peel off the floor. Did not last one year. Looks horrible now...paint flaking off all over.
Cons: poor quality product
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Epoxy Shield 1-gal. Basement Tan Floor Coating Kit-DISCONTINUED

Do not buy

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought enough paint to cover 1,500 sf. Each can of this paint came out a different shade of tan. Some parts are shiny and some are dull in addtion to the different colors. This paint was put on brand new concrete that was cleaned very well prior to application.
Pros: Dries Quickly
Cons: poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Epoxy Shield 1-gal. Basement Tan Floor Coating Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Athens, GA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Goes on easy. Coverage not semetrical. Scratches easily.

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to apply. Did not get good coverage and it scratches easily. Floor looks better that it did but not as good as I expected. Probably worth what I paid for it.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, inexpensive
Cons: Scratches Easily, uneven application
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.