728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

With its innovative Automatic Feed Spool system, the Black & Decker 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless Trimmer and Edger makes use of centrifugal force to advance the cutting line, thus eliminating the need for bumping. This cordless trimmer incorporates a hardworking Power Drive transmission and a Groom 'N' Edge head that converts the tool into an edger at the push of a button. This trimmer includes a pre-wound spool of line, two 18-Volt Ni-Cad batteries and a battery charger.
Overall rating:
3.948 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(270 reviews) 270
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product197 of 254reviews
Rating Breakdown 270 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(140)
4
(61)
3
(16)
2
(21)
1
(32)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product197 of 254reviews
Customer reviews for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Newport News, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Battery ran down quickly

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a 1/4 acre lot, not large. Ran down both batteries and still had about 20% to go. Returned it.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Allen, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product has Battery Issues

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recommend an Electric Edger over a cordless.Cost of Battery is phenomenally very high and the system demonstrates weak power to complete even a small area. As a consequence, I am actually not happy buying this product and do not recommend such type of battery powered edger.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: lack of power, battery lasts too short
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Arkansas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One use and done

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used one time for 10-15 minutes and put away for about 8 hrs, came back to start again and would not start, replaced with second battery and still would not start. What a poor product this is. Could not find anything on trouble-shooting and Black and Decker does not even have a website that works as the site in the manual does not return.
Will be returning the product.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Austin, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of Junk

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this thing for about a year now.
I hate it. The batteries don't last long enough, and they take forever to charge. The stupid auto feeder doesn't ever work, I constantly have to stop what I'm doing and mess with the feeder so I have enough line to actually trim something with.
It's not strong enough, even at a full charge, to consistently cut thicker pieces of grass. It just shreds and I have to go over it again and again in order for the thicker stuff to actually cut.
Do not buy this junk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

useless

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Batteries go dead before you even finish a typical residential lot. Then take 9 hours each to recharge. Total joke.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Already returned this item

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I changed my B&D Grass Hog for this model. At first I want to say that it is very possible that I purchased a defective unit. Over all I was pleased with the difference it was compared to my much heavier Grass Hog. The item was light weight and easy to put together. The charging did take about 9 hours and that is what the manual stated. The other good features was that this item had the batteries that you could interchange with other 18V B&D cordless products. I was going to purchase other items and I probably will go back in the future and try this one again because of what I mentioned above. The problem I had with this item was that the continuous line feeding went out of whack and and after my second use it emptied all of the line that came with this item. That was the defect in this unit and that is the only reason I took it back. I would recommend this in hopes that I was the only one that picked up the defective unit. I plan on getting another one in hopes this was just a isolated incident.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: defective auto feed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Winter Park, FL

Broke after 1 year

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The 2 batteries are necessary, because 1 battery never lasts long enough to trim/edge my whole yard, and I do keep up with it at least every 2 weeks. The automatic string isn't very automatic, it doesn't come out on it own usually and I have to stop and pull it out manually. And after a little over a year of use it seems that the something broke off the motor internally because when I squeeze the trigger something is making noise and spinning inside but the string is not spinning and so I can't cut anything. Awesome.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Massachusetts
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought Yesterday & Returning Today - Battery is Junk

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this yesterday with the matching leaf blower & returning it today. Battery only lasts for 10 minutes, yet takes over 5+ hours to charge. It's nice that it came with 2 batteries, but not worth the $$ if they only stay charged for 10 minutes. Very disappointed with Black & Decker.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as good as the previous model

PostedApril 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In my previous review I mentioned that the 2118 shaft is "several inches shorter" than the 2018. This is not correct. The shaft is indeed shorter but not by several inches.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

would not recommend this trimmer to anyon came with 2 batteries but they only last 15 min a piece

PostedApril 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
would not recommend this trimmer to anyon came with 2 batteries but they only last 15 min a piece
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Toms River, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor battery life

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After two years, and after warrantee is over; I will have to buy a new trimmer. Replacing batteries is too costly, and I do not know what to buy after much research. The batteries slowly die until no life is left. It takes longer to charge and time goes by, and then dies. Do not expect to get only two years out of the batteries after taking care of them keeping them in a kitchen cabinet so that they were in average temperature through summer heat and winter cold.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: battery life
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from MONTGOMERY, TX.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

THIS TRIMMER IS EASY TO SPOT WHEN ON THE GROUND

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Please do yourself a service and not purchase this product. The battery has been replaced many times, and does not hold a charge. The one and only good feature is the ability to turn the head over so that it trims vertically around the outside of flower beds. Five minutes is the length of time at full speed, then down it goes. Too bad it's so worthless.
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Terrible Battery Life

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
9 hours to charge one battery (18 hours for both). When I first purchased the product I was able to finish my small front yard and 1/4 of the back...with both batteries. Now a year later I cannot finish my front yard.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: terrible battery life
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from sewell nj
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bringing it back

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
what else can I say charged 2 batteries total of 18 hours charging time, first battery lasted about 15 minutes second about 17 minutes,and since it has only one line and not a very high speed ,didnt get done .so I had to break out the ol' gas trimmer that only takes 1 minute to refill and 5 minutes to trim the whole yard.so much for convenience...........
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Montesano, WA 98563, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it comes with 2 batteriesbut they last about 20 minutes before needing recharging that takes hours

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
ok for tiny yards & limited use. Not for normal or large yards.
Cons: Short Battery Life
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Mahopac
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very disappointed!

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I have used B&D products for decades now both in and outside the home. The first battery lasted me 20 minutes and the second under 10 this was AFTER charging them for 9 HOURS! Spoke with B&D and they said the 20 minutes I got was above average as the run time is 10-12 minutes. 10-12 minutes run time for 9 HOURS of charging? It would take me at least a week and half to do my property based on this. Crazy lack of run time and extensive recharge time!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: 10-12 minute run tim per b&d customer serive, 6-9 hour recharge time on the batteries, the box stated extended run time not accurate!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst product I've ever bought

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not get deceived by other reviews that say this product is good. The battery lasted less than 10 minutes and the worst is that it is not powerful enough to do the job. Do not waist your money and time buying this product or any other that is battery powered. I tried to save some money and ended up with a product that is not worth the bucks.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

Battery will not finish the job

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My lot is 7500 sq feet. I charged both batteries for the recommended 9 hours each, did 3/4 of the front yard and had to switch batteries. I then got halfway through the backyard when the second battery died. I packed everything back in the box and returned it to Home Depot. 18 hours of charging for 15 minutes of power . Do not buy this product.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

18-Volt String Trimmer

PostedApril 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First of all I highly do not recommend this product. I'm totally shocked about how high the rating is on this thing. Its ridiculous. I have a small front and backyard. After both of my batteries died, I still had half of the backyard to do. The power of the trimmer drains more and more as you use it. The first 5 minutes of use is the best you will get out of it. Both batteries lasted about 15 minutes a piece the first time. The second time about 10 to 12. Its really insane how it takes 6 to 9 hours to charge just one battery for 10 to 15 minutes use. That makes absolutley no sense at all. I returned it and recieved my money back. I read a review about someone who actually liked it. She said it died on her before she could finish her yard and that it was ok she can finish it tomorrow. Thats unnessacary. I shouldn't have to wait 9 hours or even the next day to finish my yard. Don't let the good reviews fool you. Best solution is to just buy a gas powered trimmer or maybe even an electric trimmer with a stronger battery. Just don't waste your time and money on this junk.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I paid extra for a model with two batteries. The batteries went bad after only one year of light use.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>