728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

With its innovative Automatic Feed Spool system, the Black & Decker 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless Trimmer and Edger makes use of centrifugal force to advance the cutting line, thus eliminating the need for bumping. This cordless trimmer incorporates a hardworking Power Drive transmission and a Groom 'N' Edge head that converts the tool into an edger at the push of a button. This trimmer includes a pre-wound spool of line, two 18-Volt Ni-Cad batteries and a battery charger.
Overall rating:
3.959 / 5
4
 / 
5
(269 reviews) 269
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product197 of 253reviews
Rating Breakdown 269 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(140)
4
(61)
3
(16)
2
(21)
1
(31)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product197 of 253reviews
Customer reviews for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
JJK2220
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

So Simple to Use and Maintain

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this 18 Volt B&D Trimmer during the summer of 2010 at Home Depot, and purchased a third battery and extra string kits, (2012 price $3.50 more per string set). I have a 1/4 acre property and I just make it with the three (3) 2.5-year-old batteries, doing three edger cuts along a 110-ft sidewalk and curb and two cuts along the 25 ft walk; trimming a raised garden bed 5' x 40 ft.; three sides of the house and 20' x 40 ft side of the garage, also around numerous planters and displays on the property. The automatic string feed work’s great and it is so simple when changing spools. I charge the batteries for 10 to 12 hours (plus) each on the days immediately before use. I now only have a problem with one of the original batteries not holding up as long as the others when doing the property. It was the best $115 or $120 investment (with extra battery) garden power tool purchase I ever made. No more gas model 2 cycle fuel mix, spark plugs; no more problems with starting, trim string and spool changing, tool weight and above all loud noise, all have gone away. The B&D Trimmer does take longer to cut/trim, it is not as fast as the gas model, until you count prep time, service, maintenance and time to correct usage problems of the latter unit.
This is the one tool that Black & Decker should get the Genius Award for, it is so simple to use and maintain.
If anyone is having problems with this Trimmer, read the Manufacturer’s Instructions; if the problem continues call the Manufacturer, you may have purchased a statistical deviation of a quality product (a lemon), have them replace it.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, so simple to use and maintain
Cons: replacement cost of string in 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+54points
55out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Gordo
from Lutherville-Timonium, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

A really good buy

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The BLACK & DECKER18-Volt String Trimmer functions most excellently. I give it very high score for functionality. Battery life is a well documented limitation. Providing two batteries and chargers is a partial solution. I get 10 to 12 minutes active use from a battery before it needs recharging. This is also true for the BLACK & DECKER Cordless Electric 18-Volt Sweeper (Leaf blower) – another excellent buy! Having both gives me three batteries and chargers (it is not clear to me why B&D do not provide a second battery for the blower). A belt-type carrier for the spare battery would help. I made one and it saves a carrying issue. The twin function as trimmer and edger is good and the switch-over from one function to the other is very easy. The trimmer is very light-weight, especially for such a powerful machine. I have had difficulties inserting and removing the battery pack after use – the locking mechanism sticks and requires some extra effort. The automatic feed spool system functions well and provides a uniform supply of string. However, using the very efficient edge trimmer along a paved edge uses up a lot of string. Buy a AF-100 Spool three-pack replacement spool pack! Overall a really good buy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
WeedTickler
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weed Eater? More like Weed Tickler.

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this trimmer about 30 days ago and have already returned it for a gas-powered Echo. This trimmer was easy to use and pretty comfortable to maneuver, but it was severely lacking in power. At the start it seemed to be fine, but after about five minutes of use, I would already be noticing a drop-off in performance. 10 minutes into the job, the thing was useless. I felt like I was having to sit there and attack the same weed for about 10 seconds before it would cut. That's why I jokingly referred to the machine as my "Weed Tickler". I would just walk around the yard tickling the weeds until I grew frustrated enough to switch the battery. Lo and behold, the story was the same for battery two.
After all was said and done, I had 2/3 of my yard shoddily trimmed with 1/3 untouched and two dead batteries.The only reason I didn't give this one star is because I figured it would suffice if someone had a tiny yard and only needed it to work for 5 minutes. If that's the case, this product might work for you.
TL:DR - Only buy this product if you intend to tickle your yard. Buy something else to trim the yard.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: lacks power, battery drains quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Chad

18-Volt String Trimmer

PostedApril 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First of all I highly do not recommend this product. I'm totally shocked about how high the rating is on this thing. Its ridiculous. I have a small front and backyard. After both of my batteries died, I still had half of the backyard to do. The power of the trimmer drains more and more as you use it. The first 5 minutes of use is the best you will get out of it. Both batteries lasted about 15 minutes a piece the first time. The second time about 10 to 12. Its really insane how it takes 6 to 9 hours to charge just one battery for 10 to 15 minutes use. That makes absolutley no sense at all. I returned it and recieved my money back. I read a review about someone who actually liked it. She said it died on her before she could finish her yard and that it was ok she can finish it tomorrow. Thats unnessacary. I shouldn't have to wait 9 hours or even the next day to finish my yard. Don't let the good reviews fool you. Best solution is to just buy a gas powered trimmer or maybe even an electric trimmer with a stronger battery. Just don't waste your time and money on this junk.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
SVan
from Durham, NC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Lightweight and more powerful than expected

PostedMay 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have weeds for a lawn and backyard. The house I live in went years without any attention and my landlord doesn't care to have it tended to beyond the typical mowing. That leaves me with cleaning up all the areas the kid with the lawnmower doesn't do. It's a lot. Chainlink fences,around bushes and my garden, and half the backyard which is overgrown. I was AMAZED at what this trimmer could do. The Ni-Cad batteries need to be charged,used (they both lasted about 5 minutes each the first time) and then charged again before you get a good run. Second time, both batteries lasted about 20 minutes a piece. I expect I'll top out at 30 minutes each given the weeds and vines that I'm trimming. It cut through grass easily and barely got tangled on the long vines (more my error than poor design). I couldn't be happier. It's easy on my arms (5'6" female here) and I loved that I could flip the cutting edge over to trim along the sidewalk. For light (and even moderate) trimming work, this was a great buy. Exactly what I expected from B&D.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Will
from Niles, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Over 3yrs and still a great tool

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this trimmer for over two years now and it's still running strong. I do notice that the battery does not last as long as it used to, but what do you expect? No battery will last forever.
The only thing I wish they included, was more detailed info about the battery. The instructions say that normal use and recharging is okay. I assumed that this was a simple Ni-MH battery and so I always fully discharge my battery before recharging it by hook them up to a pair of 12V LEDs I bought at my local electronics store. When they are dim, I but the battery on the charger over night. I don't know if this is the best method for these batteries but they've lasted for this long. I'm going into my fourth summer with the same batteries!
I have not researched where to get replacement batteries but I will compare getting these batteries rebuilt vs buying a new trimmer as I hate to throw away a good working tool.
Other wise the tool is great. I've dropped it, kicked it, beat up the trimmer feed and it still works fine.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Long-Lasting
Cons: not enough technical info about the batteries
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Idaho1961
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Already returned this item

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I changed my B&D Grass Hog for this model. At first I want to say that it is very possible that I purchased a defective unit. Over all I was pleased with the difference it was compared to my much heavier Grass Hog. The item was light weight and easy to put together. The charging did take about 9 hours and that is what the manual stated. The other good features was that this item had the batteries that you could interchange with other 18V B&D cordless products. I was going to purchase other items and I probably will go back in the future and try this one again because of what I mentioned above. The problem I had with this item was that the continuous line feeding went out of whack and and after my second use it emptied all of the line that came with this item. That was the defect in this unit and that is the only reason I took it back. I would recommend this in hopes that I was the only one that picked up the defective unit. I plan on getting another one in hopes this was just a isolated incident.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: defective auto feed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Jared

Decent But Batteries an Issue

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've used this trimmer for a few years now and I'm considering purchasing a gas powered trimmer. The batteries were great at first but after some time, they are insufficient for doing even the minor tasks that my lawn requires.
To be fair, I'm also considering purchasing replacement batteries. They retail for ~ $40. The trimmer functions very well for simple lawns (edging and heavy work do eat up even new batteries very quickly, though). However, the additional hassle of having to remember to charge the batteries the night before I do lawn work has me leaning toward a gas powered trimmer.
To summarize, if you need a trimmer for basic lawn work and you don't mind dealing with charging batteries and replacing them after 2-3 years, this will work for you. If you think you'll forget to charge batteries until the day you're mowing or whatever or if you have a huge lawn and need consistent, continued power, this isn't for you.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, battery life
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Snyder
from Edgewater, NJ, USA

Excellent for first time user

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well designed, well made, works effectively. This is the first power garden tool of any kind I have bought and it works great. It's light, length is adjustable, easy to use, no cords, no gas to fill up, easy to clean after use. Had to put the guard on when unpacked but that is the only assembly needed with one screw. Between raking, pulling weeds, and moving around the yard, I was able to use the machine for a good hour on the two batteries on the first charge. It will probably go down to 30 minutes soon. Do yourself a favor, go down to the local home depot and handle the machine for a couple of minutes. If it feels good take a look at the boxes and see if it has already been opened. If it has any tape on the ends then it has probably already been opened. Order it on line, I got mine within 4 days on regular shipping which includes a Sunday. This way you will be sure to have a fresh unit from the warehouse.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Holycow1

Love this thing!

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was hesitant to buy this, not knowing if the battery would last long, if it would cut well since I didn't have to tap it for more string, if it would have the power to cut tough weeds since it was "only" battery powered. I am SO glad I bought this. It's a great light weight that I can handle everywhere. It trims and edges as good as any of the big-boys I've owned through the years. I love not having to tap for string but the string is readily available. I don't have a huge yard but on one charged battery I can cover front & back yards and all sidewalks & curbs 3 or 4 times. It's so easy to flip from trimmer to edger and back again. No gas and oil to mix, no ext. cords to drag all over, nice light-weight hard working mean machine - I LOVE it! I bought this trimmer in the spring and just bought the B&D compatible blower for all the fall leaves. It's just as awesome as the trimmer!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
hughcreek

Great Deal!!!

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
II bought this because I was tired of gas trimmers. I did not try the edger option very much so this rating is solely based on the trimmer Right out of the box it was very easy to put together. It is very lightweight and very easy to handle. It has an adjustable length and will be fine for most people. There is very little noise and I did not notice any shaking in the handle while I was using it. There are only a few cons in my book. It only uses one trimmer line so you will have to spend more time on heavy weeds. You have to spend 8 hours per battery on the initial charge and then 6 hours to recharge them. I did my front yard and did not have to switch to my second battery until I was almost done with my backyard. I have to say I was surprised on how well this product worked. If you have a good size yard that does not have heavy weeds, get this and you will be happy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
plymouthman

This is a good unit for the price

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this unit trimmer edger quite a few times. It does a good job for being battery operated. You need to condition the battery as it says in the book. Some ppl put down how bad the battery life is. I get about 20-30 min per battery. That is about all you can expect out of this type of battery. Anyone who thinks that its just this battery is foolish. Turn your battery drill on and let it run full speed for 20 or 30 min and see how much battery you have left. Why do you think battery operated cars are not selling like hot cakes? Because they don't last long enough for most consumers. Could battery life be better of course but it is the nature of the beast. Read the reviews on any model they all say the same thing, wish the battery lasted longer. For those that are so unhappy go get a gas one or plug in your cord nuff said good product for the price.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
PeteS
from Encinitas, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

They Could Have Made This So Much Better

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading the reviews of very poor battery life, I bought it anyway. Other reviewers were correct. The battery run time is short. That's why you get two batteries.
I am in the Lithium battery business, so I know how much batteries and chargers cost to manufacturer. B&D bought the cheapest batteries possible and the lowest end charger they could. For a dollar or two more in cost they could have given us decent batteries that would run longer and a charger that would charge in a couple of hours instead of overnight. The trimmer works fine for light duty. No complaints there. If it had descent batteries and charger, this would be a 5 star product. Once again B&D goes the cheap route.
I wish Milwaukee would make rechargeable lawn tools. Their line of rechargeable power tools has first class batteries and chargers.
I may return this product.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
langelat
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worse than the model it replaces.

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This 2118 replaces the 2018 model. The motor on my 2018 model seized up after two seasons but I was well satisfied with it until then; well enough to want to buy another one. Unfortunately, it was replaced by this model 2118 which feels flimsy in comparison, awkward in using the small on the side switch, a nuisance in changing from trimmer to edger in that it takes two hands instead of one, and the metal edge guard, instead of easily flipping down, now requires having to pull it out, which is hard to do. Not only that but the shaft on this one is several inches shorter than the 2018, which makes it harder on the back for someone over 6' tall. This model has practically none of the features that endeared me to my earlier one, which I would have gladly recommended. This one I would not and I have taken it back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
ReadingRattler
from Jacksonville, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My First Weed Eater

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's difficult to confidently rate a product if you've never used one before/have anything to compare it to; however, I've had this weed eater for over a month now, and I've had no problems with it. I love that it comes with TWO (not one) battery; so if you're at the end of one battery's life, you can pop the other in and keep it moving. I also agree with previous posters about it being a little short in length. I'm 5'9, so I found myself stooping a bit when I used it the first time. The second time, I resorted to holding the trimmer by the pole instead of the handle itself, if that makes any sense. I just didn't like stooping.
I would definitely recommend this trimmer to anyone who has never used one before. It's not too heavy and there is nothing intimidating about its assembly or operation.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
hermaj

9 HOURS to recharge battery w power enough for ONLY 5 minutes of trimming! After 5min, runs but can't cut.

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Charging the battery takes 9 hours [EACH!!]. A fully charged battery only has enough power to trim for 5 minutes. After 5 minutes, the motor spins the cord, but even light vegetation (EVEN grass) is not cut...just knocked over. Not enough power left to whip the cord fast enough to trim anything.
At first, I thought it was just my imagination. I timed this, several times---power for 5 minutes of actual trimming...9 hours to recharge EACH battery.
So, if you think planning 18 hours of charging (drawing electricity for 18 hours) for a total of 10 minutes (2 batteries) of cutting is reasonable, fine. I don't. My yard is very small but the 2 battery total of 10 minutes real cutting time is not enough time to finish the job. The soonest you are back in business is the next day. Ridiculous!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Chris
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth every $$!

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was a tad bit skeptical when I first got this tool. But, with a 30 day money back guarantee I figured what the heck. After the first use I was pleasantly surprised at how well it works. I trimmed my large backyard (around fence, trees, and deck) and had plenty of battery left and it did a great job. Although it doesn't have the power of my old gas trimmer it has plenty for a normal sized yard, even with thick weeds. Plus, there's no mixing gas, spark plugs, pull starting, etc. Just click in the battery and go! Also, the self-feeding head works like a charm! Just drop in a new cartridge and that's it! Again, although it lacks the power of a gas trimmer I can trim/edge my yard in half the time because of the ease of use. If you have a normal sized yard I highly suggest this little gem.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
LeRoy
from Seminole, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product has batteries that only last about 15 to 17 mins

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The unit comes with two batteries, I charged both batteries and one read 21 VDC and the other 19,7 VDC. I used the first one and it lasted 17 mins and the battery had 17.7 volts left and would not trim any more grass. I used the other battery hoping to finish the job but it only lasted 16 mins and had 18 VDC left but was running very weak. I did not trim weeds or heavy grass only st. Augustine and it was not very thick. If you have a very small yard this unit will do the job otherwise you need three batteries or do your yard on two different days and hope to get by. I called Black&Decker and they stateed the battery life fully charged is only made to last 15 Minutes. So get an electric unit with 100 foot cord as you will be happier in a long run and will finish the job in one day.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Jim5

Great Trimmer!

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this trimmer despite poor reviews from consumer reports and other users. Poor battery life was a common complaint. However, I already had two other similar batteries that I knew I could use if I needed to. I must say I have been very pleasantly surprised by it's performance! I can trim up my whole half acre yard on one battery. If I need to get into the brush, I have to use a little bit of the second battery too, but never all of both of them. The autofeed feature has been spot on and has never gotten stuck or caused me to have to take it apart to get the line back out. I am very pleased with this trimmer and would highly recommend it to anyone who has light to medium trimming to do. Heavy trimming or thick brush would be too much for this trimmer however.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, battery life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt Straight Shaft Cordless String Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Doon
from Canonsburg, PA

Ideal for a small to medium lawn

PostedMay 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have approximately 2000 sq/ft of front lawn and a little over that in the back. I have a corded trimmer that was too much of a hassle to manage. I did some research on the gas trimmers and either the low priced ones had mediocre reviews or the better/pricier ones where overkill. A cordless, if well designed, would be perfect. I've have always been impressed with Black and Decker products, they understand what the small lawn owner needs and provided precisely what I was looking for. With two 18 volt rechargeable battery packs I'm easily able to do the whole lawn. The trimmer line length and motor output works well with grass plus no more bumping to feed. And it's lightweight. Now when I'm ready to trim the lawn its no more "I got to drag out that cord" again.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>