728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger

Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger

The Black and Decker Grasshog 14 in. 6 Amp Dual-Line Trimmer and Edger features the Groom 'N' Edge with flip-up edge guide to promote easy conversion from trimming to edging. The 6 Amp, high-torque motor is designed to deliver powerful performance to help you trim grass in hard-to-reach areas where mowers can't cut. It features an ergonomic design and secondary handle positions to ensure maximum comfort and control during operation.
Overall rating:
2.282 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(117 reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
36%of customersrecommend this product40 of 112reviews
Rating Breakdown 117 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(15)
3
(7)
2
(7)
1
(67)
Features 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Quality 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
36%of customersrecommend this product40 of 112reviews
Customer reviews for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
Review 1 for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
SANTA139
from Kissimmee, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mr

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This is the Model 750. I had to buy this one as the Model 700 was not available. I had the 700 before and loved it but the spindle would not rotate any more. the new one the 750 is now tangling up all the time. I am 70 yr old ande should not have to fool with such things. I should have waited and got it at K-mart as it was I am handicapped and I ordered on line. Two days latter a friend offered to give me a lift to purchase some potting soil.That is when I saw the same weed eater for a cheaper price. Then I would not have to pay shipping. But I buy on line because I am handicapped. I am also a Vet an could not get my military discount. But Thanks for the on line service.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
jimmydwight
from California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Save your money and frustration

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I cannot believe I have kept this piece of junk around for over a year. Today was the last straw. It went into the dumpster for good. The dual string sounded like a good thing. Too bad it doesnt work in reality. I have had to constantly take the stringing mechanism apart to get the string to come out. It works for a minute or two and then out of string again, or tangled? I have spent most of my edging working on getting the string to come out than I have actual edging.
I use to like Black and Decker products but this is the 2nd time I have been burned. The first one was their coffee maker, but then I won't go into that right now. I have learned my lesson.
Pros: orange
Cons: Too Heavy, Difficult to Use, doesnt work well
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
Gardensalot
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So Far, So Good

PostedJune 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this before I saw the poor reviews but figured I'd give it a try anyway. Trimming and edging my front, back, and side yards with the 710 has been a breeze. That was a pleasant surprise, especially after reading all the bad reviews.
The 710 is powerful, well balanced, converts easily to an edger, and has a convenient telescoping shaft. Weighing in at just 5.4 lbs., it's great for a petite person during prolonged use.
No string or vegetation has become tangled in it, and it's consumed very little string. I also got it at a discount, which sweetened the pot, and I'm keeping my fingers crossed that the 710 continues to work well for me.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
WeekendWarrior
from King of Prussia, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

POOR CHOICE, STAY AWAY!

PostedMay 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've used grass trimmers from B&D for years. My last one gave up the ghost so choosing another B&D product was a no brainer...right? This is the worst trimmer I've ever owned, and I go back to when you had to hit the ground to release more cutting string. A fully wound spool runs out seemingly in minutes (I haven't a clue where it goes). Turning the head required a twist and a turn rather than a simple button and turn. Not a big deal but it just adds to the overall aggravation.
Another problem is aligning the cutting with the grass edge. I don't know why but the cut is uneven and difficult to control. Sometime no cutting, then without warning it cuts a big divot. Does make for a nice trim at all.
Not sure if I will be able to return it but I certainly will try. Would I purchase another B&D trimmer? Certainly, just not this model. Stay away from this model.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, cord eater, uneven cutting
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
pksact1
from Fort Smith, AR, USA

piece of junk

PostedApril 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
cannot believe i was stupid enough to buy my 3rd one of these. This one just died this morning after less than a year. at one time all I would buy is b&d products but they are all cheap junk now. going to buy another brand and never buy b&d again
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
150053
from Fresno, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

spool replacement $$$$

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is terrible. I can't see how anyone could say this is a quality product.
The auto-feed feature doesn't work. Anytime the string hits something like a wooden fence or curbing it breaks then it either doesn't feed or it sends out way to much and then snaps off in the spool. The actual spool breaks quite often so the little plastic pieces that are suppose to hold the line break or bend so badly they don't work anymore. After that happens it doesn't matter how much string is left you can't use it.
Also the replacement spools are $8 dollars. I didn't realize when I bought this that you can't buy string and spool it, you have to buy the special auto-feed spool.
I have only used this five times, I have probably trimmed a total of 50ft linear of grass, I have used 3 replacement spools.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
Andres
from Norh Miami
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad Trimmer

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought it around September 2014, and I have used for a total of 12 hours. At least 5 of those hours dealing with coil problems. Now it just broke down completely. A plastic part just melted and now it does not spin at all. In summary, this is $50 wasted in junk
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
unhappy
from Houston
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

JUNK

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Goes thru string so fast you can't get yard finished before you need more. And hand winding is impossible to make work you have to buy pre-spooled. Worst thing B&D ever made. If I had my receipt I'd try to return it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
Pants
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I Can't Believe Anyone Has A Positive Review Of This Product

PostedJune 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DON'T BUY THIS TRIMMER! Yes, this trimmer is easy to assemble and use but Black & Decker really dropped the ball. We bought one last September and only used it a couple times for some light trimming. When I used it today on some heavier work it constanly jammed and coninusouly fed new line whether I needed it or not. It stopped working so I grabbed the box and receipt and took it back for a replacement. I got a new one and I'm taking it back tomorrow!!!!! I needed a pair of shears just to continuosly cut the non-stop waste of line that comes out and tangles. I only used a couple feet of line but the rest of the expensive spool was wasted. I barely got a quarter of the area I was working on trimmed. This trimmer really stinks!!!
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
ATgardener

Don't buy it!

PostedMay 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I took this back after one use. The string kept over feeding and ran out before finishing my 1/4 acre yard.
Cons: Not Durable
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
pwbtbb101009
from Citrus Heights, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lightweight and Strong

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased GRASSHOG 6 AMP STRAIGHT SHAFT 14 IN. DUAL-LINE TRIMMER/EDGER because of the past experience I have had with this manufacture. It is very durable, lightweight, and adjustable to handle trimming thick weeds and grass. Great for edging also.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
storm
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your time or money

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I had read the reviews before I purchased this trimmer. I'm taking back my second one today. I thought I might have just had a faulty one at first, but it's evident that the entire design is faulty. I don't know how these made it out to the market. The automatic line feed is a joke. I went through about 60 ft. of line in 10 minutes. The cutter does not work, so the line that is continuously feeding just gets wrapped around the shaft. Need to look at something besides B&D, I guess.
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
Caleb
from San Diego
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DON"T WASTE YOUR MONEY LIKE I DID

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product worked great brand new because the line spool is already installed and seemed to feed to line pretty normally. However when the line ran out that's when this product becomes totally useless. First you have to buy a new spool because wrapping the line yourself is impossible to do like they instruct (in perfectly straight lines). So whatever....got the new spool and line for $8 and installed it. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE!!! it continuously feeds way too much line so I was constantly having to cut the line myself so the line wouldnt get caught in the motor and burn the motor cause its stuck. I didn't get through half my yard (a very small yard) when the line ran out! You are better off spending a little more money on a weedwacker that actually works when you need to replace the line. Will never try an auto feeding line again. Black and Decker usually has good products. I usually wouldnt write a review but this thing wasted not only my money but hours of my time so I hope to save other people their hard earned money and important time
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
dicobalt
from Miami, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good trimmer *if* you know you must...

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
... do some specific things: I say that because the Black & Decker auto feed is terrible. The Black & Decker auto feed is extremely unforgiving to hand wound spools. You must wind the line onto the spool *perfectly* as if a machine did it. Look at the spool that comes with the trimmer to see what properly wound line should look like. If you overlap the line even once the line will either not feed or it will shoot out everywhere. You *must* use round non-serrated .065" trimmer line. Only fill the spool about 1/2 to 3/4 of the depth, do not try to wind as much line onto the spool as possible.
You must also soak the bottom of the spool and inside of the orange spool cover in WD40 or some such lubricant, all of the contact surfaces must be kept perfectly clean and smooth.
When you mount the spool lines into the spool head you *must* keep the line snug, do not let the spool line unroll even the least bit. If it does unroll even the least bit you must make sure it goes back to being *perfectly* machine wound.
You must also assure that once you have the line in and the spool mounted that the line is not bending upward (not up toward the inside of the sheath) but instead bending straight out to the sides or down to the grass.
It takes some practice to learn how to wind the spools by hand and sometimes I still have to take the spool cover off because the line gets stuck and doesn't feed. If you can put up with learning this stuff this is an otherwise great electric trimmer that can handle some really thick grass. I even used it to cut some overgrown bushes and 1" thick vines growing up a tree. If B&D would make a manual feed version of this they would have a five star electric trimmer.
I'm sure B&D is more interested in selling replacement spools, sort of like inkjet printers and printer ink.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
disappointedcustomer
from Glendora, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk!

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your money! Auto-feed is a myth. The line jams constantly, forcing you to stop work, pull the thing apart, reset the string ... and you're good for about four feet of cutting until the line jams. Then you stop, pull the thing apart and repeat as above. At first I thought I was using line that was too thick but after trying different diameters I have concluded that this is a poorly designed hunk of junk. In addition, during it's brief periods of actual operation it is noisy and does a lousy job. Because of it's design it doesn't close enough to walls, stone fences and other objects to do a satisfactory trim.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
homeowner

Eats line like nobodys business

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
If you enjoy stopping repeatedly to refill the spool then this is the trimmer for you. I threw mine out in 2 months after much frustration. It has good power but the auto feed mech is garbage. I could not even trim my small yard without stopping once or twice
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
Littleb
from Maryland

Much more powerful than expected

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great so far, blazes through the grass in my little back yard!
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
bj82
from Cleveland, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

this is a mistake it is not worth the postage

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
do not buy this thing will breake you buying spooles for it i have all black&decker products ( weeders to chain saw to battery chargers ) & this dual spool has me in the mood to give it all away this thing is sorry
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
meme
from Naples, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed with GH710

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
From the start I was disappointed with the performance of the weed eater GH710. I would not accept one as a gift. I wish I returned it. It overfeeds the line. Cannot handle long grass without getting tangled up. A heavier line may help feed problem. Gets over heated and melts the plastic housing that holds the bearings. Spool flops around. Need to replace the motor housing. It may not be available.
Pros: Cuts Well, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, a toy, constant repair, over priced, plastic melts
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Grasshog 6 Amp Straight Shaft 14 in. Dual-Line Trimmer/Edger
cakra
from Gainesvlle, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst product ever! Bar None!!!

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is terrible. Always always gets tangled! DO NOT BUY!
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>