728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Laminate Floor Maintenance & Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll

500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll

Aquabar "B" floor and tile underlayment is an extremely effective moisture vapor retarder for use in a variety of interior construction applications. Consisting of two layers of Kraft paper laminated with asphalt, Aquabar "B" is a non-reinforced 30/30/30 duplex type Grade "B" paper. In the battle against interior moisture damage, the best defense is a strong offense. When you block moisture vapor from creeping underneath finish materials or reaching moisture sensitive substrates, you help increase the useful life and appearance of finish surfaces. To help win the battle, the Fortifiber Building Systems Group offers Aquabar "B" as inexpensive insurance to reduce moisture-related problems.
Overall rating:
4.917 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product22 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product22 of 22reviews
Customer reviews for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
Review 1 for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
step02
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

National Wood Flooring Association Approved Vapor Retarder

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is great in that it provides the necessary vapor protection when installing wood floors in rooms over unfinished spaces (in my case, the living room over the basement). It is an product approved by the NWFA as a underlayment for wood and tile.
This is a much cleaner product to user over asphalt / felt paper, as the asphalt material is sandwiched in between to layers of kraft paper. In addition, rosin paper and felt paper are no longer recommended underlayments. A penny more per square foot compared to rosin paper.
Product was shipped faster than the estimated delivery. Installation is a breeze, especially with the markings showing your where to overlap adjacent sheets (min 4").
No need to attach the paper to the subfloor, as it will be held in place with the nails or staples holding down the wood floor. I just did one line of staples near the middle to hold the paper in place.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
Woody

great underlayment

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect underlayment for wood flooring over a finished lower lever. Strong yet easy to work with. Better than smelly, sticky and too thick roofing felt or too thin rosin paper. Should be a staple at the store yet had to order though it arrived quickly. Thanks HD!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
CCMillsLtd
from Bellevue, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Simple, Easy, Functional

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great price always in stock, product is always packaged an displayed for easy pick-up.
Product is an industry/trade/contractor grade item that is
accepted as best practice installation for hard wood flooring
installations.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
NJtechdiver
from North East
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far this product does what it states it will

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I used this as an underlayment for my hard wood floor project. Simple to install and works better than rosen paper
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
Physicsguy
from Buffalo NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

no problem!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recommended by the pros - I could have used red rosin paper, which is a stock item at HD, but this will slow down any moisture movement through the floor and (I hope) avoid problems in our new 3/4 in. oak site-finished floor. Easy to work with, no roof paper mess or smell, 2 rolls arrived at home in a few days UPS in good shape. I'm surprised it's not a stock item locally.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
decman

aquabar "B" at great price and free,fast shipping. Can't beat it.

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was unsure if this was the right product since the information presented on it was very sketchy at best. I'm putting it on 3/4 T&G under hardwood as a vapor barrier. It says just "aquabar" not aquabar "B" so I was not 100% sure it was what I thought it was. The picture is as non-descript as you can get and tells you little. Also it says "Roberts" and I knew fortifiber made the stuff I wanted. However since I figured this was a trademark name and they appeared to only make one kind I took a chance - plus I could take it back to the store anyway so I had nothing to lose with free shipping. Product arrived in 2 days and it was what I expected - Fortifiber Aquabar "B". Very good for free shipping. Everyone else wanted a good deal to ship this stuff due to the weight and none of my local stores had it at all. Really glad I went this way after looking all over for it. Saved me some time AND money.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
nowj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems legit as moisture barrier

PostedJune 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Remodel. Was recommended for use under 5/8 bamboo tongue and grove flooring - not the glued kind but the nail/stapled kind. Wasn't sure it would help eliminate squeaks or that it was needed but it appears to barrier travel of moisture from crawl space. Not sure if it was / is needed but is easy to use. I screwed the subfloor to help control squeaks but could still get some noises sometimes some places. It had been nailed w/ ring nails. With the T&G floor stiffening the whole membrane and the "lubrication" of the barrier paper the squeaks are reduced if not eliminated. Might, of course, have been fine w/ out the paper, too.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
csubudhi
from Chesterfield, VA 23832, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Newer Product

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy rollout and tack down with staples. Black line already on underlayment - set for 4 inch overlap. This product was used for solid 3/4 hardwood, above ground on wood subfloor. Far superior than just tar paper.
Only downside was it was only available online.
Will use again for another floor install.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Cons: not instore
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
DoubleD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great alternative to plastic vapor retarder

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Since the Aquabar “B” has a very low permeability (i.e., meets 2009 IRC < 1perm), it can be used as substitute for a plastic vapor retarder. I replaced lot of moldy fiberglass insulation with Roxsul insulation. Roxsul is now sold at competing big box store. Roxsul does not have a paper facing barrier, so vappier retarder must be used. I decided to use product instead of plastic as it can be used in wide variety of applications. It’s also much easier to install (e.g., cut).
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Effective
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
gcscotty
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product, will use and recommend again.

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is a must use for laying hard wood flooring- lighter and cleaner than tar paper, and in my opinion a better choice than red rosin paper.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
dec49
from TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

much easier to use under wood floor than felt paper

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just used 3 rolls of this under some new pre-finished hardwood flooring. Was much easier to use than felt paper. It's way easier to keep fom getting tar on painted walls and this is thinner so I ran into no problems overlapping edges. I thought it was easier to work with. Also, since the quantity I bought put me in the free shipping price range that meant this was a much better deal on this than I saw anyhere else. The local stores here did not carry it. And Home Depot has been super fast on shipping everything I've ordered online to my home.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
Cory
from KY
Age Range:35 to 44

easy but not as tough as felt

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This stuff is light, easy to cut, and does not mark walls. Multiple layers that do not span the width of a board will not make the wood crooked like felt does. However staples will often blow right through it, and walking on it will easily rip and crush exposed edges. Should work fine but you have to hit it with the stapler perfectly.
Pros: easy to cut doesn't mark
Cons: rips easily
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
Handyman

Good product, keep it. Good vapor barrier.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good vapor barrier fo under wood floors. Most installers are not aware of this. Recommended by a book on hardwood floors.
Pros: Effective
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
gejbooks
from New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great product

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this as an underlayment for new construction oak hardwood flooring. Easy to install, weighs a lot less than the alternatives. I was very happy working with it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
geoff
from NY

Aquabar

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
New to contractor. I insisted on it. After using it, he loves it. He said he'll use it again.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
stinger3369
from North Dakota, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

far better than roofing felt

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this under hardwoo d floor, love this stuff. Sure beats roofing felt.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
RudyG
from Staten Island, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent quality, value & easy to install! A must buy!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
rocco

no marking on painted walls

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
no marking on painted walls............................
Pros: Effective
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
Pprisjr
from Bridgewater, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Superior

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would normally use the Rosin paper to put down as hardwood flooring underlayment. The Rosin rips very easily and I wind up having to replace it. This AquaBar was very durable held up great no issues and paid nearly the same as the Rosin. No brainer here.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 500 sq. ft. AQUABAR "B" Tile Underlayment Roll
Britcar
from Nashville
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for use under hardwoods!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We installed this underlayment when installing Bruce 3/4" hardwood flooring. Aquabar is easy to work with and did a great job going over the existing hardwood flooring. Would definitely use again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>