728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Indoor Ceiling Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 in. Recessed White LED Retrofit Trim

6 in. Recessed White LED Retrofit Trim

The Commercial Electric 6 in. White Recessed LED Trim with clean and elegant design is ideal for glare free lighting in any room of the house. This high efficiency dimmable Trim has received Energy Star Certification for year-round energy savings and is also ETL classified for safety. Compatible with dimmer switch for desired illumination needs and increased energy saving.
Overall rating:
4.562 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product11 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(1)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product11 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for 6 in. Recessed White LED Retrofit Trim
Review 1 for 6 in. Recessed White LED Retrofit Trim
CantGetRight
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Lights but Dimming Issues

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I Purchased 6 of these Commercial Electric LED lights with 6 H3 CE cans for my kitchen. They are great lights with a quality finish for a very clean look when installed. The color is somewhere between warm and white which I think is perfect for a kitchen setting. My issue with these lights are the fact that when used with a dimmer, they are somewhat flaky. I purchased the Leviton IP106 which is a recommended dimmer in the installation literature. At random times the lights would flicker for a few seconds then back to normal. This may happen several times throughout the day at various dimming levels. The Leviton can be adjusted to dim these lights as low a level as you wish BUT these LED's would not turn on if the dimmer is set under 35% before switched to the on position. You must set the dimmer 50% or more, turn the switch on, then lower the LED's to your desired level.
At the price they want for LED's, I had no interest in dealing with the dimming issues.
I returned the Commercial Electrics in exchange for 6 Cree CR6's and the Cree's work PERFECT. Perfect dimming functionality.
I would recommend the CE LED's only if you have no intentions on using a dimmer, you have 5" cans, and/or if you have shallow cans (Cree's will not work with shallow cans).
Over all, The Cree CR6 is a much better LED if they fit in your cans.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 in. Recessed White LED Retrofit Trim
Netvet
from Hudson Valley, New York State

Great light but not wat I was looking for

PostedJuly 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Im an early adopter and have had LED lights in my house for about 10 years. Most of them are cool white and most of the CFLs are also cool white too.
This light is warm white, about 3000K so it doesnt fit the lighting in my house. It is however a great value for the money and with Halo high hats (Model H7ICAT which it fits in quite nicely) it comes to about 29 per lamp, not including installation. (wow!)
At that price it is a win-win because assembled LED recessed lighting can cost $150-200 each, and it is a money saver because at 14.5 watts it is as bright as a 65 Watt incandessant bulb.
So Home Depot: since this is your house brand please stock the COOL white version of this item at this price point and I will be in to buy 12 more of them.
The reason my wife and I prefer cool white is that it matches daylight, so every color in our house will look the same in natural light and at night with the lights on. We also read an article that full spectrum white light (5500 Kelvin) is healthier for you and keeps you from getting Cabin fever in the winter
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 in. Recessed White LED Retrofit Trim
Kitster

Unobtrusive and very well made

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Slowly but surely we are changing out all of our incandescent recessed lights to these LED retrofit lights. We installed one over our kitchen sink 3 years ago and loved the look. Unfortunately it had the 'old style' wiring that twisted as you installed the fixture and it shorted out rather quickly.
I'm so glad the manufacturers changed to the separate screw-in base and put a wiring harness on the light fixture that you attach afterwards. We replaced the kitchen light with this style LED retrofit 2 years ago and it's still working just fine.
Next up, we are replacing two old fluorescent light 'box' fixtures with new cans and then fitting them with these LED's. At the same time we are converting all of the remaining incandescent recessed lights in the master bath to LED's and we're installing dimmer switches as well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 in. Recessed White LED Retrofit Trim
jeep88rc
from Seal Beach
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great LED, bright, efficient, clean look!

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We installed these lights in new cans we installed in our two kids bedrooms. They changed the look of the rooms because of the brightness they brought. The rooms are smaller 10 x 12 about. We installed four lights in one room and three in the other. Plenty of light, way more then what we previously had. Used touch sensitive dimmer switches that we have used before and were very pleased with the results.
These LED's don't suffer from the "warm-up" time we had previously with CFL's. They also dim to a lower level.
Overall I am very pleased.
Cons:
-Springs which hold lights in place seem to weaken if you install them more then twice, ie remove them and replace them.
-Had to return one light because it produced a color different from the other lights.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 in. Recessed White LED Retrofit Trim
Putnam

Great light but flimsy clips

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was "forced" to buy this retrofit for some of our "short" recessed fixtures, because the Ecosolutions/Cree version was too tall. The attachment clips are very flimsy, the spring actually broke on one of the fixtures. I don't recommend it for this reason (the Ecosolutions system is much easier: three steel bands that hold the lamp inside the fixture, and the clips are disengaged for removal by spinning the lamp). Otherwise the light is great and the "airtight" seal works fine, but this unit is not as efficient as the Ecosolutions/Cree version.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 in. Recessed White LED Retrofit Trim
SemiProDIYer
from Westminster, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Investment for long term lighting solution

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are finishing the basement and have really hunted for the right LED light source for the 16 recessed Commercial Electric 6" C1 housings we have installed. The two different single bulb LED spots we tried in them looked too industrial. Found these LED retrofit trims on display at our local Home Depot and the manager really worked with us to get a good deal on a bulk purchase (Thanks!!). They look very clean and can be dimmed to about 30% before they turn off. The light is more white than amber (compared to incandescent) but not harsh.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 in. Recessed White LED Retrofit Trim
Piero

Good light, nice air tight feature

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just moved in a house and the insulation was not too good. I replaced recessed lights with these and I love the bright light, not too warm, not too cold. Dimming is smooth and balanced, even if you have several. They turn on relatively fast compared to regular light, and much faster than CFL. I did not yet do a air tight test, but they seem to be working well in stopping most of the air.
Installation is very simple.
I also tried the 4 inches version, but they are too deep and do not fit in my existing recessed light cases.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 in. Recessed White LED Retrofit Trim
Terence
from Norwood, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bright

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The light is surprisingly bright. It's also by far the best bang for the buck at $25 each. The light isn't a warm glow like regular spotlights but more bright white. It also dims nicely as long as you can find the right dimmer switch which isn't very easy. Home Depot carries one dimmer by Lutron which is rated to work with LED/CFL bulbs.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 in. Recessed White LED Retrofit Trim
Goddess88
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Appearance not too appealing

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Since LED light is such a new product I rather buy it at a local store than online.
The appearance looks cheap, and the light takes a few seconds for it to come on.
I had wish THD would carry more brands of this type of lighting.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
Cons: Appearance, expensive, takes a few second for light to come on
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 in. Recessed White LED Retrofit Trim
Pete
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best lights for the $$

PostedApril 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent lights I ever bought. This lights are amazingly cheap. I got 8 in kitchen, 4 in living room, 3 in hallway, 8 in Family room, plus in all hallways. They are amazingly bright white but can be dimmed to appropriate level.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 in. Recessed White LED Retrofit Trim
LotusGirl

subtle and effective

PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used these lights in combination with pendant lights. The look is subtle and blends in with the white ceiling, but they provide an extra boost of light when desired.
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 in. Recessed White LED Retrofit Trim
Asony01
from Beaumont, CA 92223, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Im in Love...

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Super easy to install, super bright, low power consumption
Can’t beat the price. Feels like the sun is inside my place…
Cold ligth , grate for summer time days..
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 in. Recessed White LED Retrofit Trim
mak2138
from Taylor Mill, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great looking lights

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
installed 6 in kitchen and what a difference it made. very bright and a lot better then cfls and standard bulbs. No heta and kitchen looks a whole lot better
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 in. Recessed White LED Retrofit Trim
Cliebold
from Va bch
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work great

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just installed 20 yesterday. Took about 4hrs. Bright and easy to install. Replaced units that were 23years old.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 in. Recessed White LED Retrofit Trim
hello

Great lights and very cheap.

PostedMay 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These lights are easy to install. Best part is some HDs are selling these lights for $18!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 in. Recessed White LED Retrofit Trim
Dave
from Lakeside, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to install and looks great.

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good lite for only 14 watts, easy to install and fast.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.