728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Concrete, Basement & Garage Floor Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Floor-Tex 1 gal. Clear Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat Sealer

Floor-Tex 1 gal. Clear Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat Sealer

The Seal-Krete Floor-Tex 1 gal. Satin Interior/Exterior Top Coat is designed to seal and protect concrete surfaces in exterior and interior locations. It applies milky white and dries to a clear, satin finish to help enhance the surface color. This top coat resists dust and mildew growth to maintain a fresh, clean appearance.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product9 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(8)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product9 of 10reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Floor-Tex 1 gal. Clear Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat Sealer
Review 1 for Floor-Tex 1 gal. Clear Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat Sealer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Immediate results, just go easy with the rolling on. I wasted too much at first.

PostedJune 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Immediate results, just go easy with the rolling on. I wasted too much.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Floor-Tex 1 gal. Clear Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat Sealer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy and safe to apply. Appearance is very pleasing.

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Instructions and application are easy to follow. Ordering over Home Depot's website is convenient and fast.
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Floor-Tex 1 gal. Clear Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat Sealer
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice shine, top coat

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product goes on really smooth and easy. 1 gallon will cover my entire garage floor including two top coats on the main surface area. It looks milky as it goes on, but it dries clear with noticeable shine. 1 coat is all you really need with this stuff.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Floor-Tex 1 gal. Clear Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat Sealer
from MN

good product - easy to apply

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good product. It does what it is supposed to do and actually brings out the colors when applied to colored concrete.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Floor-Tex 1 gal. Clear Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat Sealer
from Columbia, SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Forgiving!

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm a blond female, and the finish still came out close to flawlessly! Grin. Need I say more?
Seriously, because the top coat is a thin liquid and it's clear, it's very forgiving. I learned that I needed as smooth a coat as I could manage (minimal bubbles and overlay), but the end product was exceptional! I like the sheen - not too glossy but not flat, either. I used it for tile I painted as well as a sink that I painted. Everyone grinned and scoffed when I explained my project...painting the floor and the sink instead of replacing...but the joke is (so far) on them....been about 5 weeks and the finish is holding it's own!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Floor-Tex 1 gal. Clear Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat Sealer
from Huntington Bay, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After painting a concrete floor I wasn't happy that the finish was a matte finish, so I purchased this product. It went on simply with a roller, and sealed the floor beautifully...the gallon went pretty far. I'd highly recommend this product. It's a shame that Home Depot doesn't carry it in the store as I had to special order the product.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: i have no con's
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Floor-Tex 1 gal. Clear Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat Sealer
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice finish, good product!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Goes on easy and very forgiving as far as overlapping. Does not go 500 sq ft even on a painted surface that had three coats of paint, got two thin coats on 180 sq. ft. Bought two more gallons for the concrete driveway and got one thin, I mean "thin" coat that got me about 350 sq per gallon before I ran out :-( ... going back for more to finish the job. Overall good product but plan on 250 sq ft per gallon to get a good coating.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: low coverage on concrete surface, does not come in 5 gallons like some of the others
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Floor-Tex 1 gal. Clear Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat Sealer
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product, but buy more than you think you need

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My never-sealed concrete driveway soaked this up like a sponge. Make sure the surface is completely dry before you use it. I used a 2-gallon pump sprayer to apply it. Took four coats over four days, but well worth it. The concrete visibly sheds water, has a nice pearly finish. I also sealed the concrete on my screened porch, where I'd been having a tremendous problem with mildew. Mildew problem GONE! First I pressure washed, waited several days to make sure all was dry, then used the sealer. Could not be happier!
Pros: Good Protection, Looks Great
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Floor-Tex 1 gal. Clear Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat Sealer

Easy to apply

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good at protecting driveway pavers as intended. Dried in a reasonable amount of time.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Dries Quickly
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Floor-Tex 1 gal. Clear Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat Sealer
from Orlando
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not seal out water or oil !

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not think this will keep oil or water from penetrating into the concrete! A car dropped oil on the driveway and within 3hours I tried to wash it off. The oil penetrated and looks horrible on my refinished driveway. Drop a cup of water and 5 minutes later you will see a water stain.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By Convenience ProductsFebruary 2, 2015By Convenience ProductsFebruary 2, 2015
Glenn,
It looks like you have reviewed Floor-Tex twice under 2 identifications (Glenn and Rocketman). Our Technical Services Department would like to discuss your application process (condition of concrete, previously applied coatings, primer used, etc). With such limited information, it is difficult to determine the cause. SEAL-KRETE contact information is available on packaging. Please contact us directly. Thank you! SEAL-KRETETouchnFoam