728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Concrete, Basement & Garage Floor Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Floor-Tex 1-gal. Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat

Floor-Tex 1-gal. Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat

The Seal-Krete Floor-Tex 1-gal. Satin Interior/Exterior Top Coat is designed to seal and protect concrete surfaces in exterior and interior locations. It applies milky white and dries to a clear, satin finish to help enhance the surface color. This top coat resists dust and mildew growth to maintain a fresh, clean appearance.
Overall rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product9 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(8)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product9 of 11reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Floor-Tex 1-gal. Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat
Review 1 for Floor-Tex 1-gal. Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy and safe to apply. Appearance is very pleasing.

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Instructions and application are easy to follow. Ordering over Home Depot's website is convenient and fast.
+2points
8out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Floor-Tex 1-gal. Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice shine, top coat

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product goes on really smooth and easy. 1 gallon will cover my entire garage floor including two top coats on the main surface area. It looks milky as it goes on, but it dries clear with noticeable shine. 1 coat is all you really need with this stuff.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Floor-Tex 1-gal. Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat
from Columbia, SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Forgiving!

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm a blond female, and the finish still came out close to flawlessly! Grin. Need I say more?
Seriously, because the top coat is a thin liquid and it's clear, it's very forgiving. I learned that I needed as smooth a coat as I could manage (minimal bubbles and overlay), but the end product was exceptional! I like the sheen - not too glossy but not flat, either. I used it for tile I painted as well as a sink that I painted. Everyone grinned and scoffed when I explained my project...painting the floor and the sink instead of replacing...but the joke is (so far) on them....been about 5 weeks and the finish is holding it's own!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Floor-Tex 1-gal. Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Immediate results, just go easy with the rolling on. I wasted too much at first.

PostedJune 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Immediate results, just go easy with the rolling on. I wasted too much.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Floor-Tex 1-gal. Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat
from MN

good product - easy to apply

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good product. It does what it is supposed to do and actually brings out the colors when applied to colored concrete.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Floor-Tex 1-gal. Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice finish, good product!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Goes on easy and very forgiving as far as overlapping. Does not go 500 sq ft even on a painted surface that had three coats of paint, got two thin coats on 180 sq. ft. Bought two more gallons for the concrete driveway and got one thin, I mean "thin" coat that got me about 350 sq per gallon before I ran out :-( ... going back for more to finish the job. Overall good product but plan on 250 sq ft per gallon to get a good coating.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: low coverage on concrete surface, does not come in 5 gallons like some of the others
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Floor-Tex 1-gal. Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product, but buy more than you think you need

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My never-sealed concrete driveway soaked this up like a sponge. Make sure the surface is completely dry before you use it. I used a 2-gallon pump sprayer to apply it. Took four coats over four days, but well worth it. The concrete visibly sheds water, has a nice pearly finish. I also sealed the concrete on my screened porch, where I'd been having a tremendous problem with mildew. Mildew problem GONE! First I pressure washed, waited several days to make sure all was dry, then used the sealer. Could not be happier!
Pros: Good Protection, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Floor-Tex 1-gal. Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat
from Huntington Bay, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After painting a concrete floor I wasn't happy that the finish was a matte finish, so I purchased this product. It went on simply with a roller, and sealed the floor beautifully...the gallon went pretty far. I'd highly recommend this product. It's a shame that Home Depot doesn't carry it in the store as I had to special order the product.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: i have no con's
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Floor-Tex 1-gal. Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat

Easy to apply

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good at protecting driveway pavers as intended. Dried in a reasonable amount of time.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Dries Quickly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Floor-Tex 1-gal. Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible, does not protect against water or oil !!!

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the second driveway I have used this product on. Water will go through the sealer to the concrete !!! Oil will go through the sealer to the concrete !! I had two perfectly clean driveways. A contractor drove up and parked on the driveway and dripped oil. I tried to wash it up within 4 hours and it would not come up !!!
Cons: does not seal out water or oil
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Floor-Tex 1-gal. Satin Interior and Exterior Top Coat
from Orlando
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not seal out water or oil !

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not think this will keep oil or water from penetrating into the concrete! A car dropped oil on the driveway and within 3hours I tried to wash it off. The oil penetrated and looks horrible on my refinished driveway. Drop a cup of water and 5 minutes later you will see a water stain.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.