728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

The Ryobi 18-Volt ONE+ 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw operates with an 18V ONE+ battery (not included) and provides powerful performance. Designed for bench and stationary use, this powerful saw offers miter angle stops at 0, 15, 22.5, 31.6 and 45 degrees to both the left and right to help you handle a wide variety of cutting jobs. The saw can cut through a maximum thickness of 1-1/2 in. and features a laser guide to help you achieve precision. The saw is UL listed for safety.
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product57 of 63reviews
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(41)
4
(15)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product57 of 63reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
Review 1 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

pleasantly surprised

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this saw. As a general contractor I have almost always carried a miter saw with me. The problem with my other saws is that take up a lot of space in my van and it was a pain to look for power when if I only needed to make a few cuts. I bought the 12 tool combo several months ago and I'm very pleased. I've used this saw to cut and install baseboard, casing, crown moulding, 2x4, etc. this saw obviously won't cut 45' on 6" crown moulding but it works for about 95% of what I need it to on a daily basis. With the 4ahr battery I can cut all day or even several days without charging
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Georgia, VT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice handy little saw

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for a small light weight saw to be close by as I laid HW flooring and did some trim work. This saw fit the bill perfectly. I would recommend buying a good quality blade and discarding the one that came with it. You battery will go much farther and get nice smooth cuts. Other than that it is a perfect light weight trim saw. The Ryobi 18v One Plus tool set is a #1 pick as far as price/performance goes for the home owner.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Frostproof, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Battery Chop saw!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my Second Ryobi Chop Saw. I have used the first one for for over 8 years and it is still going. I saw the new Lithium type with the laser guise and just had to have it. It is a big improvement over the original. New version even seems to have a little more power which is great. Doing craft work and smoall odd job around the house it is great. Even used the original as a contractor!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Detroit
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very good saw

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have not used it yet but have had one for the last ten years and it is still going strong. I expect this one to last just as long once the other give out. Wish it had a nine or ten inch blade.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

nice light weight saw

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
works good for small jobs. Don't have to drag big chop saw out for a couple of cuts. Fence could be a little taller when cutting trim
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: fence to short to cut trim standing up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from iowa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little saw.

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Saw is everything that I wanted. Portable, accurate and all for a good price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

Handy!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered this to cut window trim and it pallet boards for decor itms. Easy to use, easy to move, does the job!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Framingham, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi battery Mitre Saw

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Should have come with a fine tooth blade, after all, it's meant to be used as finish moulding cutting tool. Had to return to the store & spend an add'l $20 for a quality fine-tooth blade. 1 screw was stripped on the blade guard when removed to change the blade. I do appreciate it being lightweight & easy to move from room to room.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

Ryobi cordless miter saw

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the saw came fast , great shipping , no problems, I like the miter saw for small projects I've had one in the past and I loved it, I wish they did not discontinue it but you know how Home Depot is like the 12 Volt Ryobi drill and circles saw and little sawzall ,they discontinued that and that was a great little tool set
thank you
AAAAA+++++ *****
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Felida, Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great for me!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Miter saw fit into my system of Ryobi 18 volt products, I have many of them and find the portability and common battery a big advantage. I am not a professional, just a guy doing things around the yard, garage and house, For me this is a perfect product as I hate extension cords.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: wish it were a larger blade!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from nortex
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nifty keeno gadget

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First of all I bought this cut balsa and some hardwoods ex., (maple) to build model planes, with a 60 tooth blade and a few tweaks to get it aligned perfectly it does that better than any saw I've used. The kerf is narrow with the new blade and the cuts are square and smooth. The power and precision of this thing leaves all of those so called modeling saws in its wood dust.
I'm also using it with the original blade to cut soft wood like pine to build frames, no problems there at all, I even cut 6 inch wide by 3/4 inch pine, it doesn't go all the way across of course so I just flop the board over and using the blade, not running of course, to align the cut I can finish it off.
I bought the Ryobi P818 drill/driver kit primarily to get the batteries and the charger, it has the P107 battery (28wh) and the P117 charger that I judge superior to the battery and charger combo's offered. Getting capacity and performance capabilities of each battery and charger is difficult at best, Ryobi doesn't make it easy to compare them. Hopefully the batteries and charger being a purty grey with green trim are superior to the all grey ones.
One last thing, lithium batteries don't like to be discharged below a certain point but they can be charged at any time, flat or not, something I learned from flying lithium ion batteries in electric models. When the saw won't cut normally, as long as it's obviously the battery pooping out, it's better to charge the battery or swap it out with a fresh one than continue to use it until it won't go anymore. It is probably still above it's minimum voltage when it won't run the saw at all but why chance it. A battery discharged below the minimum level is probably a paperweight after that unless the charger has some fancy voodoo in it. That brings me to the laser, leaving it on until it quits shining would probably drain the battery beyond its minimum since its voltage requirements are so low thereby killing the battery permanently, I just remove the battery like I do in my models, that way there is no doubt.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Dunkirk, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best little saw

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Lightweight and worked on a 2by4. Loved the light.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Marlborough, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works great

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought this machine to carry around from job to job, no extension cords to worry about, I keep my batterys fresh and they do the job, light and very portable well worth the money, adjust the laser, done, I let the blade peak at full speed before cutting and have had no problems at all, very nice it makes me look good
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from RTP, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi P551 Miter Saw: Excellent!

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you need a portable miter saw, especially if you need it where there is no AC power, then this is the tool for you! It's lightweight so transporting it is really easy! No problem bringing this up into the kids' treehouse to make a few cuts right there. The cuts are smooth and easy, but the 7-1/4" blade means that not all miter cuts are possible. Especially great for narrow moulding and 45 or 90 degree cuts. It even has a laser, a nice touch. The P551 can be a power hog, get a P104 or P108 if you need to do a lot of cuts.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Ocean City, Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Everything I expected.

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tool is well worth the money for the portability and convenience of a cordless saw. Does everything that I expected it to do.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Detroit Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Meets expectations... friend highly recommended it.

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Ryobi 18V Miter Saw has met my expectations. I bought this to use in putting in an engineered hardwood floor (3/8"). The job took an ugly turn when it became clear that the subfloor needed re-enforcing. I've been using it to cut 2X4s so far, and it has made the job much easier. excellent battery life and the laser guide saves a lot of time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Lincoln, NE, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

An amazing addition to my ONE+ collection

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is another fine example of why I chose the ONE+ tool collection in the first place. This saw has already paid for itself for me. It works great. The RPM rating is wonderful, not only for a cordless saw, but for anything this size. It cuts smooth with the right blade for your particular task and the battery life is wonderful. I am currently building 2 baby beds and a changing table out of solid maple and a single battery has gotten me by for several evenings with each charge.
If I was forced to come up with a down side, I would say that the preset miter locks are fairly loose and require a good adjustable square to make sure the first cut is the last cut.
All in all, I would buy it again. For the price the quality is greatand my first grandchildren (twin girls) will be able to pass down the baby beds for gerations to come.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, great battery life
Cons: preset miter angles are a little loose
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Anaheim, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I wanted!

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for a lightweight, easily carried, and quick to set up saw. I have a 12" dual bevel miter saw which I love - but it is heavy - a pain to move to upstairs rooms. This saw is great for moulding under 6" and for standard 90 and 45 degree cuts. The scale is very small and precise cuts at other angles are a bit of a challenge. Laser is consistently accurate, it has a comfortable grip and trigger. Cordless is a great convenience!! I'm a fan and own much of the Ryobi Lithium 18V line.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
Cons: angle scale
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

great trim saw

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Love it for small quick jobs. Wish it had a little better presets as you have to be really sure your in the preset.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Goose Creek, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT AS GOOD AS IT WAS.

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you ever used or had the original RYOBI P550, then this is a real let down. I had my first battery opperated mitre saw for a year till it was stolen. I immediately replaced it with another P550. 5 years later it was stolen. I replaced it with the Ryobi P551. What a let down. Blade capacity is smaller.7.25 Vs.8.25. may not seem like much, Till you cut something larger than 2x4 stock or molding.You no longer get the quick release clamp, or even support bars that insert into the saw, to cut long pieces. But, you do get a nice laser to help you make those difficult straight cuts. let`s not forget the change in price point. 20-40$ more to get less. if you never had a battery opperated mitre saw, and are looking for something basic, this is it.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Limited Features
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>