728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)

One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)

The Ryobi 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw features an 18-volt motor to help provide a powerful performance. Designed for bench and stationary use, this powerful saw offers miter angle stops at 0, 15, 22.5, 31.6 and 45 degrees to both the left and right to help you handle a wide variety of cutting jobs. The saw can cut through a maximum thickness of 1-1/4 in. and features a laser guide to help you achieve precision. The saw is UL listed for safety. <br /><br /><center><img src="https://s3.amazonaws.com/HomeDepot1/Ryobi-18-Volt-Lithium-Ion-Battery.jpg"></center>
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product36 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product36 of 40reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
Review 1 for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
Hizzer
from Marlborough, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works great

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought this machine to carry around from job to job, no extension cords to worry about, I keep my batterys fresh and they do the job, light and very portable well worth the money, adjust the laser, done, I let the blade peak at full speed before cutting and have had no problems at all, very nice it makes me look good
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
ToolboyNC
from RTP, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi P551 Miter Saw: Excellent!

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you need a portable miter saw, especially if you need it where there is no AC power, then this is the tool for you! It's lightweight so transporting it is really easy! No problem bringing this up into the kids' treehouse to make a few cuts right there. The cuts are smooth and easy, but the 7-1/4" blade means that not all miter cuts are possible. Especially great for narrow moulding and 45 or 90 degree cuts. It even has a laser, a nice touch. The P551 can be a power hog, get a P104 or P108 if you need to do a lot of cuts.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
Matt
from NC
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Got a dud

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Saw works great when it works. Sometimes during mid cut or between cuts when i depress the safety and trigger the saw will only spin maybe 2 inches. I change the battery and it still doesn't work. I change to a third battery and it starts working again. 10-15 minutes go by and it acts up again. I change it to the same battery that didn't work before and it works again. Not sure whats going on.... But when it works it works great. Lightweight, I use diablo blades and it cuts very smooth and precise. I used it to make my miter saw work bench, cut 2x4's and 1x4 trim boards. Too bad I have to return it. I have about 16 Ryobi 18V cordless tools and all of the other tools work great with my batteries which are three P109s (Lithium+), one P108(Lithium +) and one P128 (Lithium). When are they going to come out with a cordless Ryobi One + FRAMING NAILER like the new one Dewalt has???? C'mon RYOBI
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
daval
from Goose Creek, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT AS GOOD AS IT WAS.

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you ever used or had the original RYOBI P550, then this is a real let down. I had my first battery opperated mitre saw for a year till it was stolen. I immediately replaced it with another P550. 5 years later it was stolen. I replaced it with the Ryobi P551. What a let down. Blade capacity is smaller.7.25 Vs.8.25. may not seem like much, Till you cut something larger than 2x4 stock or molding.You no longer get the quick release clamp, or even support bars that insert into the saw, to cut long pieces. But, you do get a nice laser to help you make those difficult straight cuts. let`s not forget the change in price point. 20-40$ more to get less. if you never had a battery opperated mitre saw, and are looking for something basic, this is it.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Limited Features
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
none
from pittsburgh pa.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

fast cut

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
saw was great light weight easy to use no cord to get in the way use it for work & home
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
JFleming1965
from Lincoln, NE, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

An amazing addition to my ONE+ collection

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is another fine example of why I chose the ONE+ tool collection in the first place. This saw has already paid for itself for me. It works great. The RPM rating is wonderful, not only for a cordless saw, but for anything this size. It cuts smooth with the right blade for your particular task and the battery life is wonderful. I am currently building 2 baby beds and a changing table out of solid maple and a single battery has gotten me by for several evenings with each charge.
If I was forced to come up with a down side, I would say that the preset miter locks are fairly loose and require a good adjustable square to make sure the first cut is the last cut.
All in all, I would buy it again. For the price the quality is greatand my first grandchildren (twin girls) will be able to pass down the baby beds for gerations to come.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, great battery life
Cons: preset miter angles are a little loose
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
Adino
from Springfield Mo
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Saw did not run.

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I received this for Christmas this year. I loved the idea that I could cut 2x4’s anywhere on my property. Unfortunately, the unit was shutting off mid cut, no matter hard or soft I tried to cut the board. I needed to flip the laser switch off to “re-set” the saw, then cut…die switch on…cut die switch off cut die. No matter how I tried to get it to run it just would not go. Called Ryobi Tech Support and they said they had never had one do that. Claimed it must be my batteries. I informed him that I also got for Christmas 4 brand new P108’s. The batteries have been running everything else with no problems. I tried all batteries with no success. So, back to the store it went. They are out of stock….even on line  I got a store credit till the new one comes in. I am hopeful that I had a bad unit. I will update this negative post after I get a new one and try it again. I’m giving it 2 stars because I’m willing to try another one, It should really only get 1 star…
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
mockingbeard
from WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool for light work

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not used it too much yet, but it does exactly what it should do, as long as you keep to light duty jobs. New Lithiium ion batteries are plenty strong.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
BobT
from Anaheim, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I wanted!

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for a lightweight, easily carried, and quick to set up saw. I have a 12" dual bevel miter saw which I love - but it is heavy - a pain to move to upstairs rooms. This saw is great for moulding under 6" and for standard 90 and 45 degree cuts. The scale is very small and precise cuts at other angles are a bit of a challenge. Laser is consistently accurate, it has a comfortable grip and trigger. Cordless is a great convenience!! I'm a fan and own much of the Ryobi Lithium 18V line.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
Cons: angle scale
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
Chronus
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Pretty good tool

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It would be incredible if it locked into the preset positions accurately. Unfortunately they are sloppy and you'll need a speedsquare to get the angles perfect each time you change the angle.
Still, I love this tool. It's light and reliable. 1 regular battery will cut enough molding to do every piece in a small apartment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, small footprint
Cons: preset angles are sloppy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
myownryobi

Great Cordless Mitre Saw

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm surprised this saw isn't that popular in the stores as having a mitre saw that's cordless is great not having to find an outlet nearby. Recently, I used this saw to help build a child's playhouse for my sister and it worked like a charm. Our work area was in the backyard, but since the saw is cordless, not a problem! Because of the 7 1/4 size, I couldn't use the saw for all the mitre cuts (for those I used a circular saw), but the saw breezed through cross cuts and cutting for trim. Many cuts for one battery charge. Weighin at only about 17 lbs or so, the portability is great, especially with the carry handle. The only minor improvements I would reccommend is more contrast on the numbers which the degrees for mitre cuts, and if the safety wood holder had a quick release instead of a screwing. Other than those minor areas for improvement, this saw is wonderful!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
James
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

very handy

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the best things about this saw is it is small, light, and battery powered by the batteries that I already have. It met all of my expectations.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
David
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Two defective units in a row

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered this miter saw since I have a number of other battery-operated Ryobi tools. On the first order, the unit shut down as soon as you pulled the trigger. After calling technical support, it was clear it was a defective unit. I ordered it again and the second unit had the exact same problem. I took it to the Home Depot store to make sure I wasn't overlooking some setup procedure. They agreed that it was defective as well.
Cons: defective product
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
Anonymous
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome tool for my cordless collection

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For an 18 volt chop saw you can't beat this deal, it's perfect for the homeowner and great on small contracting jobs when you don't want to drag around power cords. ( Which I Hate ).. I do encourage using the biggest 1+battery tho because it does use it up kinda quickly if you have allot to cut.. But all and all.. GREAT TOOL!,
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, the only cordless chop saw i know of
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
mike
from Syracuse, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

super saw!!!

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i work in property maintaince and this saw is perfect for doing trim work. its a whole lot lighter than my dewalt 12 inch and cuts just as good.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
BobinAZ
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesnt work with my One+ batteries

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried to use this product with Lith 18 V and Lith 18V+ batteries - immediately drained them and rendered them non-rechargeable. I had to return batteries 3x. So without batteries, the product won't work. Home Depot employees advised it was the saw - it was defective - and ordered a new one which I am waiting for - and hoping it will work.
Cons: didnt work with all batteries
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
Wireless1
from Pflugerville, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great For Small Jobs (Built a Toy Box)

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a compact unit that delivers a good cut in the size ranges it is made for and seems to last a long tiem on a single battery. I did run into issues when trying to finish angled cuts that were to wide for the saws design (This will not work as a saw to do angles with large crown molding). My only real complaint is that the laser is not strong enough to be seen if you are using this outside on a bright day.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: laser cannot be seen in bright daylight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
Mort
from Broomfield, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works well

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to use. I wanted to miter a 5" board but the saw couldn't cut through.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
LABILL
from Louisiana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

How do I rate this saw?

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
How do I rate this saw? I love it. It is just the tool I need. Unfortunately it worked for about 10 minutes and failed. It has been in the warranty repair shop for 3 weeks with no sign of being repaired. Hopefully, I just got a lemon and the saw will be returned to me and we'll live happily-ever-after.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for One+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool Only)
Anonymous
from Folsom CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Saw!!!!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I Love this saw! I use it everyday to cut aluminum window frame and screen door frame. It is light and easy to move. It is alot easier than unloading my Dewalt saw and extension cord and carrying it to my customers back yard, then finding a plug to plug into.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 >>