728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

Designed for bench and stationary use, the powerful RYOBI 18-Volt ONE+ 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw offers miter angle stops at 0, 15, 22.5, 31.6 and 45 degrees to both the left and right. It cuts through a maximum thickness of 1-1/2 in. The saw also features a laser guide to help you achieve precision in a variety of cutting jobs.
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(108 reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product99 of 106reviews
Rating Breakdown 108 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(73)
4
(22)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product99 of 106reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
Review 1 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for cutting meters. Especially if you have never done this.

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this model so I did not have to worry about cords and it uses the same batteries as all the other tools I purchased. For some one that never used a table saw this has been very easy and using suggestions on line I was able to make excellent cuts and the job looks great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

pleasantly surprised

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this saw. As a general contractor I have almost always carried a miter saw with me. The problem with my other saws is that take up a lot of space in my van and it was a pain to look for power when if I only needed to make a few cuts. I bought the 12 tool combo several months ago and I'm very pleased. I've used this saw to cut and install baseboard, casing, crown moulding, 2x4, etc. this saw obviously won't cut 45' on 6" crown moulding but it works for about 95% of what I need it to on a daily basis. With the 4ahr battery I can cut all day or even several days without charging
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

Great Purchase

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After 10 years using a hand powered miter saw I finally decided to go with the Ryobi 18v Compound miter saw. I make quite a few things out of Oak 2 and 3 inch boards. Using my hand miter saw, a cut that takes minutes now is finished in a few seconds. With a Freud 60 tooth finish blade this saw makes crosscuts so clean that very little sanding is needed. I would recommend a Lithium Ion battery. My retirement projects are so much more fun now since I can see results a whole lot faster.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Portland, OR
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I like this saw for what it was designed for

PostedJune 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
If you are going to be cutting some 2x6's, 4x4's or even 2x4's on a regular basis this saw is not for you.
This saw is for small jobs like trimming out windows, framing a small closet and other odd jobs like cutting aluminum (use a 140 tooth blade) for replacement window screens. For that it is perfect.
It is light, easy to pack around and best of all it doesn't need any cord to make it run. I did a small job the other day and cut about 20 2x4's, and one 2x6 and then cut a bunch of trim to add on a closet in a basement bedroom. It did all of that on one battery. In fact I built the whole closet without a power cord. Even the portable light was batter powered.
For small quick jobs this is the saw to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

ok

PostedJuly 31, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
i order this because its cordless, and i dont need a pro miter saw as i am just a home owner. i tested it when i was doing my home remodel. its has not enough power to cut a 2x4 like others, it shut itself down in middle of cutting, had remove the battery to reset it, this happen several times. also the laser not turn or when i switch on, turned couple time to turn on, this happen once. last thing is after use the saw, the battery can not to be charged right away, had to let it cold down for awhile before take it to the charger.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Houston, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My 1st Miter saw

PostedJuly 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My 1st Miter saw. Bought this to add to my 6 pc Ryobi tools I got for Father's Day. Never used any power tools before except for power drill. This saw is very easy to use. Just read the manual on how to set up and went to Ryobi site for some basic instruction on how to use and was cutting 2x4s in no time.
The saw is very light. Easy to use. I'm a seasoned DIY'fer but the quality to is very good. Uses the Ryobi 18V One Plus System. I'm not planning on doing elaborate projects (out of my league), but for doing some odd and ends around the house, it's perfect for me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Georgia, VT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice handy little saw

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was looking for a small light weight saw to be close by as I laid HW flooring and did some trim work. This saw fit the bill perfectly. I would recommend buying a good quality blade and discarding the one that came with it. You battery will go much farther and get nice smooth cuts. Other than that it is a perfect light weight trim saw. The Ryobi 18v One Plus tool set is a #1 pick as far as price/performance goes for the home owner.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from RTP, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi P551 Miter Saw: Excellent!

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you need a portable miter saw, especially if you need it where there is no AC power, then this is the tool for you! It's lightweight so transporting it is really easy! No problem bringing this up into the kids' treehouse to make a few cuts right there. The cuts are smooth and easy, but the 7-1/4" blade means that not all miter cuts are possible. Especially great for narrow moulding and 45 or 90 degree cuts. It even has a laser, a nice touch. The P551 can be a power hog, get a P104 or P108 if you need to do a lot of cuts.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from clarksville tn
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have not used it alot but so far I'm very pleased with this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Lake Tahoe, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good for small jobs

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Not as powerful as I had hoped or needed. Struggles to get through a 2x4 escpecially at an angle. Good for trim and other small lumber material but not strong enough for framing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: not powerful enough
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Denver, Co
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use, portable, works with my One + batteries. Love the laser.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Felida, Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great for me!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Miter saw fit into my system of Ryobi 18 volt products, I have many of them and find the portability and common battery a big advantage. I am not a professional, just a guy doing things around the yard, garage and house, For me this is a perfect product as I hate extension cords.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: wish it were a larger blade!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Marlborough, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works great

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
bought this machine to carry around from job to job, no extension cords to worry about, I keep my batterys fresh and they do the job, light and very portable well worth the money, adjust the laser, done, I let the blade peak at full speed before cutting and have had no problems at all, very nice it makes me look good
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from walnut creek, ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

better than expected

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great tool for areas where there is no power. The fact I can use the same battery that I use on other Ryobi tools I own is a plus. the saw is quite accurate and installing door casings was a breeze.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Surf City NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi 18v Chopsaw

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased a 18v Ryobi Chop Saw a few years ago when it was carried in my local home Depot and have been vary pleased with it. I recently purchased another one for my Vacation home. It's light and easy to use in a hurry. Works great for small jobs with trim and 2x4s. Patience needed when cutting wet pressure treated 2x4s.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Lake Zurich, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid Tool

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For the price and the small jobs I want to do around my house, its absolutely perfect. Still haven't used it very long so not sure about durability but impressed by the weight and how easy it is to use.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from California

Stopped Working

PostedMay 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I should have waited before leaving that 5 star review -my Ryobi miter saw is now DEAD. It quit working while I was trimming some 1x3s, so it definitely wasn't overloaded. As I previously wrote, it seemed like a power hog, so I purchased the hi - capacity lithium battery, thinking that might help. No good - the battery indicator showed it still had 3/4 of its charge, and the saw wouldn't power up. The trigger button wouldn't engage. I tried switching batteries (I tried 6 - I can be pretty stubborn), but nothing would work. I think perhaps a saw uses too much power to be cordless. I'll be taking it back to Home Depot today and buying and buying a REAL miter saw.
Cons: Not Durable, died on the 3rd use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Philly
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Liked the price

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good for small home project, no problem with cutting trim
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Small Saw

PostedMay 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect for my DIY projects around the farm. Being female and petite, I've oftentimes been overwhelmed by the power of larger saws. This one, while still getting the job done, is much more my size. It doesn't intimidate me at all. So far, I've built sleeping platforms for my goats, and a couple of birdhouses. The only bad thing about it is that it IS a power hog. I have mostly the compact Ryobi one batteries and it can use those up in just a couple of hours. I just bought a hi-cap battery, so we'll see if that makes a difference.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: eats up battery life
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Olympia, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceeded Expectations

PostedJuly 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I can't say enough good things about Ryobi products. I own almost all of the 18 volt tools and love all of them. I recently bought this miter saw as a back up and lighter option. I took it to finish a deck job and it cut through everything perfectly including pressure treated 2x4s. One of the big lithium batteries lasted all day. My only complaint is that it shut down randomly a few times. I had to remove/re-insert the battery twice.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>