728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

Designed for bench and stationary use, the powerful RYOBI 18-Volt ONE+ 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw offers miter angle stops at 0, 15, 22.5, 31.6 and 45 degrees to both the left and right. It cuts through a maximum thickness of 1-1/2 in. The saw also features a laser guide to help you achieve precision in a variety of cutting jobs.
Overall rating:
4.439 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(98 reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product89 of 96reviews
Rating Breakdown 98 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(67)
4
(19)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product89 of 96reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
Review 1 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for cutting meters. Especially if you have never done this.

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this model so I did not have to worry about cords and it uses the same batteries as all the other tools I purchased. For some one that never used a table saw this has been very easy and using suggestions on line I was able to make excellent cuts and the job looks great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Small Saw

PostedMay 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect for my DIY projects around the farm. Being female and petite, I've oftentimes been overwhelmed by the power of larger saws. This one, while still getting the job done, is much more my size. It doesn't intimidate me at all. So far, I've built sleeping platforms for my goats, and a couple of birdhouses. The only bad thing about it is that it IS a power hog. I have mostly the compact Ryobi one batteries and it can use those up in just a couple of hours. I just bought a hi-cap battery, so we'll see if that makes a difference.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: eats up battery life
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Lake Tahoe, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good for small jobs

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Not as powerful as I had hoped or needed. Struggles to get through a 2x4 escpecially at an angle. Good for trim and other small lumber material but not strong enough for framing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: not powerful enough
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

lite duty, small project saw

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this saw for small projects that I do around the house. I have used it only once at this point and it worked very well, it produced nice square cuts on some 2X4 pieces. My P106 batteries were sufficient. Do not think I will go for the more powerful P108 battery at this time. It seems well designed and produced.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from California

Stopped Working

PostedMay 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I should have waited before leaving that 5 star review -my Ryobi miter saw is now DEAD. It quit working while I was trimming some 1x3s, so it definitely wasn't overloaded. As I previously wrote, it seemed like a power hog, so I purchased the hi - capacity lithium battery, thinking that might help. No good - the battery indicator showed it still had 3/4 of its charge, and the saw wouldn't power up. The trigger button wouldn't engage. I tried switching batteries (I tried 6 - I can be pretty stubborn), but nothing would work. I think perhaps a saw uses too much power to be cordless. I'll be taking it back to Home Depot today and buying and buying a REAL miter saw.
Cons: Not Durable, died on the 3rd use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

Great Purchase

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After 10 years using a hand powered miter saw I finally decided to go with the Ryobi 18v Compound miter saw. I make quite a few things out of Oak 2 and 3 inch boards. Using my hand miter saw, a cut that takes minutes now is finished in a few seconds. With a Freud 60 tooth finish blade this saw makes crosscuts so clean that very little sanding is needed. I would recommend a Lithium Ion battery. My retirement projects are so much more fun now since I can see results a whole lot faster.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

fantastic trim and project saw.

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am rebuilding my small garage and used this saw over a several day span. All the replacement wood is wet pressure treated 1x4, 2x4 or 2x6. No problem cutting it. Its battery powered, so u go a little slower, thats the only concession I made. The laser guide is great. Very accurate. Just remember to turn it off after a cut. I felt this should be tied into the trigger. I cant see not wanting it on. Lite, easily transported around the job site and fairly quiet. Everyone enjoyed using it with no complaints. Im an ex contractor and own everything, but the Ryobi tools are now my goto tools. Fast, convenient, reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Surf City NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi 18v Chopsaw

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased a 18v Ryobi Chop Saw a few years ago when it was carried in my local home Depot and have been vary pleased with it. I recently purchased another one for my Vacation home. It's light and easy to use in a hurry. Works great for small jobs with trim and 2x4s. Patience needed when cutting wet pressure treated 2x4s.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

pleasantly surprised

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this saw. As a general contractor I have almost always carried a miter saw with me. The problem with my other saws is that take up a lot of space in my van and it was a pain to look for power when if I only needed to make a few cuts. I bought the 12 tool combo several months ago and I'm very pleased. I've used this saw to cut and install baseboard, casing, crown moulding, 2x4, etc. this saw obviously won't cut 45' on 6" crown moulding but it works for about 95% of what I need it to on a daily basis. With the 4ahr battery I can cut all day or even several days without charging
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Georgia, VT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice handy little saw

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was looking for a small light weight saw to be close by as I laid HW flooring and did some trim work. This saw fit the bill perfectly. I would recommend buying a good quality blade and discarding the one that came with it. You battery will go much farther and get nice smooth cuts. Other than that it is a perfect light weight trim saw. The Ryobi 18v One Plus tool set is a #1 pick as far as price/performance goes for the home owner.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Felida, Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great for me!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Miter saw fit into my system of Ryobi 18 volt products, I have many of them and find the portability and common battery a big advantage. I am not a professional, just a guy doing things around the yard, garage and house, For me this is a perfect product as I hate extension cords.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: wish it were a larger blade!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from RTP, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi P551 Miter Saw: Excellent!

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you need a portable miter saw, especially if you need it where there is no AC power, then this is the tool for you! It's lightweight so transporting it is really easy! No problem bringing this up into the kids' treehouse to make a few cuts right there. The cuts are smooth and easy, but the 7-1/4" blade means that not all miter cuts are possible. Especially great for narrow moulding and 45 or 90 degree cuts. It even has a laser, a nice touch. The P551 can be a power hog, get a P104 or P108 if you need to do a lot of cuts.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

Pretty nice saw

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this saw to cut small oak trim for a projection screen I am building. It has worked well. I was surprised that it has a soft start and maybe because of that it works fine with the smaller sized lithium battery. It is well made and looks almost identical to the 120 volt version. Although I am sure it does NOT have
the same power as the 120 volt model.
If I was going to do a lot of cutting I
would get the 120 volt model. But I have
a big miter saw and I think this one will
come in handy for small jobs. And of course the set up time for this saw is almost zero.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This Is Such A Nice Lil Tool
I Use For Hobby, And Small Projects,
It's Light Weight Is Really Great!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Marlborough, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works great

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
bought this machine to carry around from job to job, no extension cords to worry about, I keep my batterys fresh and they do the job, light and very portable well worth the money, adjust the laser, done, I let the blade peak at full speed before cutting and have had no problems at all, very nice it makes me look good
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Just a word of caution

PostedApril 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was cutting some LEXAN plastic that kicked back and bent the fence, try to cut very slowly with these type of materials.
It's all good though, they are sending me a new fence, no charge.
I love all of my RYOBI tools..
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

Handy!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ordered this to cut window trim and it pallet boards for decor itms. Easy to use, easy to move, does the job!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

Great tool

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great tool. Easy to transport and cuts great. Used it to do trim work. Would recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Compact Miter Saw

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Performs better than I had expected. Perfect for smaller jobs and smaller cuts. Love the laser and the weight to this saw. Very compact! Used it to build my blind dog a ramp to the steps.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Lincoln, NE, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

An amazing addition to my ONE+ collection

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is another fine example of why I chose the ONE+ tool collection in the first place. This saw has already paid for itself for me. It works great. The RPM rating is wonderful, not only for a cordless saw, but for anything this size. It cuts smooth with the right blade for your particular task and the battery life is wonderful. I am currently building 2 baby beds and a changing table out of solid maple and a single battery has gotten me by for several evenings with each charge.
If I was forced to come up with a down side, I would say that the preset miter locks are fairly loose and require a good adjustable square to make sure the first cut is the last cut.
All in all, I would buy it again. For the price the quality is greatand my first grandchildren (twin girls) will be able to pass down the baby beds for gerations to come.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, great battery life
Cons: preset miter angles are a little loose
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>