728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

The Ryobi 18-Volt ONE+ 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw operates with an 18V ONE+ battery (not included) and provides powerful performance. Designed for bench and stationary use, this powerful saw offers miter angle stops at 0, 15, 22.5, 31.6 and 45 degrees to both the left and right to help you handle a wide variety of cutting jobs. The saw can cut through a maximum thickness of 1-1/2 in. and features a laser guide to help you achieve precision. The saw is UL listed for safety.
Overall rating:
4.353 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product45 of 51reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(10)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product45 of 51reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
Review 1 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Frostproof, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Battery Chop saw!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my Second Ryobi Chop Saw. I have used the first one for for over 8 years and it is still going. I saw the new Lithium type with the laser guise and just had to have it. It is a big improvement over the original. New version even seems to have a little more power which is great. Doing craft work and smoall odd job around the house it is great. Even used the original as a contractor!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Chillicothe, MO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

What a Saw! Best miter saw purchased!

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This saw came ready to use, right out of the box. You can adjust the fence squareness if needed, but mine was spot on. The laser is very accurate, though I have the problem with trusting it. That's just me. The dust bag does seem to collect the saw dust well. I use the high capacity 4.0ah batteries and it has all the power needed to cut the hardwood flooring and trim boards that I need from a miter saw. This is an awesome addition to my collection of ONE+ tools.
I received this saw as a gift, ( thank you Philip! )
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Marlborough, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works great

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought this machine to carry around from job to job, no extension cords to worry about, I keep my batterys fresh and they do the job, light and very portable well worth the money, adjust the laser, done, I let the blade peak at full speed before cutting and have had no problems at all, very nice it makes me look good
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from RTP, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi P551 Miter Saw: Excellent!

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you need a portable miter saw, especially if you need it where there is no AC power, then this is the tool for you! It's lightweight so transporting it is really easy! No problem bringing this up into the kids' treehouse to make a few cuts right there. The cuts are smooth and easy, but the 7-1/4" blade means that not all miter cuts are possible. Especially great for narrow moulding and 45 or 90 degree cuts. It even has a laser, a nice touch. The P551 can be a power hog, get a P104 or P108 if you need to do a lot of cuts.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Detroit Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Meets expectations... friend highly recommended it.

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Ryobi 18V Miter Saw has met my expectations. I bought this to use in putting in an engineered hardwood floor (3/8"). The job took an ugly turn when it became clear that the subfloor needed re-enforcing. I've been using it to cut 2X4s so far, and it has made the job much easier. excellent battery life and the laser guide saves a lot of time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from NC
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Got a dud

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Saw works great when it works. Sometimes during mid cut or between cuts when i depress the safety and trigger the saw will only spin maybe 2 inches. I change the battery and it still doesn't work. I change to a third battery and it starts working again. 10-15 minutes go by and it acts up again. I change it to the same battery that didn't work before and it works again. Not sure whats going on.... But when it works it works great. Lightweight, I use diablo blades and it cuts very smooth and precise. I used it to make my miter saw work bench, cut 2x4's and 1x4 trim boards. Too bad I have to return it. I have about 16 Ryobi 18V cordless tools and all of the other tools work great with my batteries which are three P109s (Lithium+), one P108(Lithium +) and one P128 (Lithium). When are they going to come out with a cordless Ryobi One + FRAMING NAILER like the new one Dewalt has???? C'mon RYOBI
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

pleasantly surprised

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this saw. As a general contractor I have almost always carried a miter saw with me. The problem with my other saws is that take up a lot of space in my van and it was a pain to look for power when if I only needed to make a few cuts. I bought the 12 tool combo several months ago and I'm very pleased. I've used this saw to cut and install baseboard, casing, crown moulding, 2x4, etc. this saw obviously won't cut 45' on 6" crown moulding but it works for about 95% of what I need it to on a daily basis. With the 4ahr battery I can cut all day or even several days without charging
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Austin, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Got a dud, too

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this saw and battery online. When it arrived I realized I needed a battery charger too! Went to local HD and bought the charger, charged the battery and put it in the saw. The blade would turn about 2" (same issue "Matt" another reviewer had). Tried it again and it wouldn't turn even 2". Put the battery back in the charger and the charger indicator lights said the battery was defective. So, drove to local HD and got an exchange for the battery. Charged it, put it in the saw and same results. Blade only moves about 2" at a time. Returning everything at this point and shopping for a different brand.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Lincoln, NE, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

An amazing addition to my ONE+ collection

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is another fine example of why I chose the ONE+ tool collection in the first place. This saw has already paid for itself for me. It works great. The RPM rating is wonderful, not only for a cordless saw, but for anything this size. It cuts smooth with the right blade for your particular task and the battery life is wonderful. I am currently building 2 baby beds and a changing table out of solid maple and a single battery has gotten me by for several evenings with each charge.
If I was forced to come up with a down side, I would say that the preset miter locks are fairly loose and require a good adjustable square to make sure the first cut is the last cut.
All in all, I would buy it again. For the price the quality is greatand my first grandchildren (twin girls) will be able to pass down the baby beds for gerations to come.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, great battery life
Cons: preset miter angles are a little loose
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Goose Creek, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT AS GOOD AS IT WAS.

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you ever used or had the original RYOBI P550, then this is a real let down. I had my first battery opperated mitre saw for a year till it was stolen. I immediately replaced it with another P550. 5 years later it was stolen. I replaced it with the Ryobi P551. What a let down. Blade capacity is smaller.7.25 Vs.8.25. may not seem like much, Till you cut something larger than 2x4 stock or molding.You no longer get the quick release clamp, or even support bars that insert into the saw, to cut long pieces. But, you do get a nice laser to help you make those difficult straight cuts. let`s not forget the change in price point. 20-40$ more to get less. if you never had a battery opperated mitre saw, and are looking for something basic, this is it.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Limited Features
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Buy

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best part is I already have a charger and extra batteries, Easy to move around and works great on cutting at work area so I can get more accurate cuts when doing tight fit on trim work
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Anaheim, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I wanted!

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for a lightweight, easily carried, and quick to set up saw. I have a 12" dual bevel miter saw which I love - but it is heavy - a pain to move to upstairs rooms. This saw is great for moulding under 6" and for standard 90 and 45 degree cuts. The scale is very small and precise cuts at other angles are a bit of a challenge. Laser is consistently accurate, it has a comfortable grip and trigger. Cordless is a great convenience!! I'm a fan and own much of the Ryobi Lithium 18V line.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
Cons: angle scale
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from snohomish,WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great litle saw!!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this little saw! Have to take it slow on 2x4's but beats using a hand saw. I use mine alot for cutting trim.only reason for th 4 for quality was it feels a little less beefy than others. great deal for the price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Springfield Mo
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Saw did not run.

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I received this for Christmas this year. I loved the idea that I could cut 2x4’s anywhere on my property. Unfortunately, the unit was shutting off mid cut, no matter hard or soft I tried to cut the board. I needed to flip the laser switch off to “re-set” the saw, then cut…die switch on…cut die switch off cut die. No matter how I tried to get it to run it just would not go. Called Ryobi Tech Support and they said they had never had one do that. Claimed it must be my batteries. I informed him that I also got for Christmas 4 brand new P108’s. The batteries have been running everything else with no problems. I tried all batteries with no success. So, back to the store it went. They are out of stock….even on line  I got a store credit till the new one comes in. I am hopeful that I had a bad unit. I will update this negative post after I get a new one and try it again. I’m giving it 2 stars because I’m willing to try another one, It should really only get 1 star…
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

Cordless Miter Saw....Someone saw what we needed!

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Yes, this is the must have tool of the year or the moment. This idea is so for the contractor. Cordless for a miter saw is brilliant, you know you have to move around to do the floors and with no cords in the way.....Perfection is more easily achieved with this tool. Definitely a must have tool for all. I will probably by my Dad one it is so right for him.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)

Great Cordless Mitre Saw

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm surprised this saw isn't that popular in the stores as having a mitre saw that's cordless is great not having to find an outlet nearby. Recently, I used this saw to help build a child's playhouse for my sister and it worked like a charm. Our work area was in the backyard, but since the saw is cordless, not a problem! Because of the 7 1/4 size, I couldn't use the saw for all the mitre cuts (for those I used a circular saw), but the saw breezed through cross cuts and cutting for trim. Many cuts for one battery charge. Weighin at only about 17 lbs or so, the portability is great, especially with the carry handle. The only minor improvements I would reccommend is more contrast on the numbers which the degrees for mitre cuts, and if the safety wood holder had a quick release instead of a screwing. Other than those minor areas for improvement, this saw is wonderful!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not for big jobs!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you only have to cut shoe mould or 2 inch light rail fine but 1 x 4 is a chore even with high capacity battery. I keep it in the van for an unexpected emergency otherwise bring a real miter box!
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Pretty good tool

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It would be incredible if it locked into the preset positions accurately. Unfortunately they are sloppy and you'll need a speedsquare to get the angles perfect each time you change the angle.
Still, I love this tool. It's light and reliable. 1 regular battery will cut enough molding to do every piece in a small apartment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, small footprint
Cons: preset angles are sloppy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from Syracuse, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

super saw!!!

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i work in property maintaince and this saw is perfect for doing trim work. its a whole lot lighter than my dewalt 12 inch and cuts just as good.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ONE+ 18 Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw (Tool-Only)
from WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool for light work

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not used it too much yet, but it does exactly what it should do, as long as you keep to light duty jobs. New Lithiium ion batteries are plenty strong.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>