728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Deluxe Dandelion Weeder

Deluxe Dandelion Weeder

This Ames Deluxe Dandelion Weeder deluxe dandelion weedier is a great alternative to treating weeds with chemicals. The weedier can be used on a variety of weeds. The 36 in. hardwood handle extends your reach and reduces stooping and bending.
Overall rating:
3.4 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product11 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product11 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for Deluxe Dandelion Weeder
Review 1 for Deluxe Dandelion Weeder
from Wilmington, DE, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

My #1 most used tool all year round.

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bent the one I've had for about 4 years and thought I should get another one right away in case it breaks. I have both of my knees replaced and have a bad back. I can do everything with this tool. Obviously, remove weeds by the root, sort broken plants and leaves from flower beds, I use it instead of a cane when I'm walking the dog around the house, that way, I can kill a weed or two on the way. I will not be without this tool. Now I have one near the back door and the front door, depending on which door the dog's going out! I love it!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality, Good Shape
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deluxe Dandelion Weeder

works, but not sturdy.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Great for removing dandelions, but it bent just after a few hours of use. Will return to the store to get a new one. Overall product works, just wished it was more sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deluxe Dandelion Weeder
from Bell and Tatum
Age Range:35 to 44

I am addicted I the plant and flower sales.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product is great so far. I potted them and they are lovely! There was a gentleman that clearly had a passion for fruit and plants and gave me some expert advice! Best Home Depot I have ever visited!!
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality, Good Shape
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deluxe Dandelion Weeder
from Bellevue, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bends too easily, won't buy it again

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this one because I had an old one from the 1950s. It still works fine, but when there are 2 of us working together, we each need the tool. But this one bends too easily, both from the angle the metal is connecting with the wood, as well as bending in the metal itself.
I don't want to pluck the top of a dandelion, snipping the top and leaving the root still in the ground. I use this tool to dig deep into the soil adjacent to it, and then loosen the soil before pulling as much of the whole plant as possible. This tool doesn't handle the torque well.
Cons: Not Durable, not strong/rigid enough
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deluxe Dandelion Weeder
from San Jose

Very disappointing

PostedAugust 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got what I paid for. The soil in my front yard is not very hard, but the metal piece bent 90 degrees after just a few digs. I am very disappointed that Home Depot sells such low quality (to say the least) product.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deluxe Dandelion Weeder
from Columbus, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent weeded

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This weeder is an excellent addition to my lawn care tools. The length of the pole means you do not have to bend to weed. It digs down to the root and grabs the entire weed. I would recommend this tool to anyone looking for a comfortable way to weed.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Stylish, Good Shape, Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deluxe Dandelion Weeder

Poor quality

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Apparently, the steel working end (made in Taiwan) is not tempered, because it bends easily when used on tough weeds in harder earth. So, if that's your situation, do not depend on this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deluxe Dandelion Weeder
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product works great for pulling more than dandelion weeds. The two prongs slide easily into the soil and by bending the wand back, easily lives the little amount of soil attached to the weed roots. This thing sure beats the heck out of manually pulling out the weeds by hand.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deluxe Dandelion Weeder
from Hillsboro, OR, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Disappointing

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had a similar experience as Shuuba where the base bent after only an hour or two of work. Returned it for store credit as they didn't have another brand.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deluxe Dandelion Weeder
from Waterford, mi
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Item and works well for the price, handle could be a little longer

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great item for the price and works well and handle could be a little longer
Pros: Multi Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deluxe Dandelion Weeder
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great tool overall, but I wish there was a little ledge on it like you have on a shovel, so you could use the power of your legs to dig in instead on your arms and back. After 20 minutes of bending over, my back started screaming for a little foot ledge! I think I will add one myself by drilling through the rod at the bottom and inserting a thick dowel into it. Other than that, the fork at the bottom is perfect for getting those suckers out of the ground!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deluxe Dandelion Weeder
from WSHNGTN XING, PA 18977, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Weeder

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This is a well made tool and I bought it expecting to save on some back breaking work. But the tool requires a ratehr precise alignment of the small tip to the not so easily seen weed stem. So a lot of pocking going on...if they had made the tang at least twice as wide it would make this a much more useful tool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deluxe Dandelion Weeder
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool, just be gentile with it

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's a great tool to help you get rid of all the weeds in your garden, since it helps get to the roots. It's not the most robust of tools, so you just need to be gentile with it and it will last a long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deluxe Dandelion Weeder

Great for bad backs.

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Been looking for a tool to pull weeds that didn't require bending or kneeling. Really helpful for someone with back problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deluxe Dandelion Weeder

"Dandelion" weeder is great!

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looked all over for this "weeder" where you do not have to bend over (3.5 foot handle). Made well and reasonably priced at $10.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.