728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Decor or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-Tier Cement Fountain

2-Tier Cement Fountain

This Hampton Bay 2-Tier Cement Fountain features a natural stone design in dark ash. The fountain is constructed of cement and fiberglass for durability and is crafted and painted by hand.
Overall rating:
2.765 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
44%of customersrecommend this product27 of 62reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
2.8 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(34)
Quality 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
44%of customersrecommend this product27 of 62reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
Review 1 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
from Bonner Springs,Ks
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't last a year, don't waste your money

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fountain was very pretty but it began to crumble in approximately 9 months. I was very disappointed.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
from nothbrunswick nj 08902
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

2 tire cement fountain

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this in the summer only got on summer out of it falling apart want to know what we can do to have it replaced with something will hold up the weather I have had other fountains and never had a problem I up grated to this one for a bigger one and was very unhappy to see what happened to it pleas help me
thank you
Irene
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+27points
28out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
from waukegan, Il
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Fountain for the price, but you can't leave it out for the Winter.

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have read so many negative reviews of this fountain crumbling and falling apart after a year or so. I noticed that most people with this issue left the fountain outside for the winter. The instructions clearly say that the fountain must be moved indoors during the winter. Draining it and covering it, but still leaving it outside, isn't going to stop the effects of freezing weather on something that was not built to withstand the freezing/unfreezing cycle of winter. This being said, and after reading so many people with issues with this fountain leaking and falling apart, I purchased a clear cement sealer and sealed the fountain. I will also be moving the fountain into the basement before the cold weather sets in. If this were an all cement fountain it would cost hundreds of dollars more. I will report back next year with the condition of my fountain.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Strong
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain

Biggest bang for the buck

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this fountain in 2012 for $109.00. 3rd season in Wisc. and looks almost like the day I bought it. Bring it out on Memorial Day and put it in the basement after Labor Day. DON'T LET IT FREEZE!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
from Saxton, PA 16678, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Problems

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had problems with this fountain since purchase. About two months after I purchased it it started to leak. Applied some sealer and problem solved. In the spring the cement that the fountain was made from started to crumble. I'm now going to have to get a new fountain but it certainly won't be like this one. Very disappointed in the fountain. I hope you have better luck if you purchase this.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+41points
42out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain

Excellent two tier fountain

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this to replace an urn fountain I bought about two years ago from home depot. This compliments my yard so much nicer and the sound of the water is loud and refreshing. The birds tend to like my new addition as well and the added bonus is with it being a tiered fountain the basin is high off the ground and has less dirt/debris accumulation that can clog the pump. The access door in the back makes cleaning the pump fast and easy, way better than my previous fountain. Putting it together took less than five minutes, no joke, everything just drops in place. This is a very nice addition to any yard or outdoor patio area. Only thing to keep in mind is it splashes a bit so don't put it anywhere you want to avoid water spots (I have it next to brick and in an area with ground cover and rocks so it's fine and the splashes add to the effect). For the price you'll be hard pressed to beat this setup.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+23points
26out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
from Woodland Hills, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Good fountain for price with nice sound

PostedMay 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this unit at an incredible price, and if it only lasts one summer, it is fine. I live in dry So. Calif and hope the crumbling problem is only related to being outside during winter freezing weather.
SETUP - while one person can do it alone within 30 minutes, it will go much easier and safer for a two person set up. The weight and size makes a one person setup dicy. I am a female 'senior' but had no problem with set up but would have liked an extra set of hands.
STABILITY - The unit does not lock into place. It can be somewhat unstable and potentially dangerous if you have children playing around it or animals. I don't and it is set up against a fence on the garden area
LEVELING - I had some difficulty leveling the unit, but because it is not locked into place, I could level when needed.
ADDED HEIGHT - I set the unit on bricks, which did two things. It provided a stable, level base and added height to the unit.
PUMP TUBE - I had just enough tubing to connect to the pump. I would have liked a minimum of 1/2" or more. It becomes a little irritating when I had to unplug the tube to get the pump out of its hole to addjust the water flow.
WATER FLOW - the adjustment is on the pump and one just rotates the intake hole to add more flow or less. I have it on less flow, but it still is fairly constant.
SOUND: I was alarmed that the sound was a little too loud and may upset condo neighbors. I went outside the fence and found that the sound was only intensified by my patio fence and was not invasive outside the patio.
SPRAY OUTSIDE OF BOWL: The bowl is designed with a low outward facing bowl, which does not contain the sporatic spray. I had some spray but it was not much and it increased the much needed (I live in arid So. Calif) humidity and created a coolness on the skin. If you don't want the spray, get a fountain with a bottom bowl that has high upright sides -- such as the 2-Tier Alfresco Fountain, HD Model # 5701FBXS . Offered at a higher cost but it is not concrete.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Comfortable, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight
Cons: can be unstable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
from Baltimore
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don, waste you money

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was my second fountain of this type, the first crumbled to piece after one summer. I blamed it on freeze thaw during the winter so with this one I drained it and covered it. I just uncovered it and it is also crumbling to pieces. Pleas don't waste your money on this fountain, learn from my misfortune.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
from Rochester NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

you have to put sealer on it!

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is our 2nd summer with this fountain...when we got it last year we gave it 3 coats of sealer and its just beautiful...many compliments from the neighbors...dont leave it out in the winter!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cute fountain..for one summer

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like others have said, this fountain will crumble, totally ,after one season. Had I taken it in when it got cold, before the freeze, I don't know if it would have helped. I don't think it would've helped much.
While it lasted, it was cute and easy to assemble. I was very happy with it...for a few months.
It was inexpensive, but for a few months, not worth even that much.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Good Shape
Cons: Not Durable, not duable at all.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
from GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this fountain

PostedApril 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the easiest fountain to assemble we have ever bought. It is quite heavy, but that will keep the cats from knocking it over when they get a drink. Cleaning it will be a breeze since the pump is directly behind a little access panel in the lower bowl. On most fountains some teardown is required. The pump WILL get clogged in normal use and they thought of that in the design. The instructions were a little confusing because they kept saying to lock the sections together. They do not lock, but are keyed to fit together only one way. I am not familiar with the material it is made from, but it appears to be durable. After a couple of years in the GA sun, we'll see. Really pleased so far.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Beware

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This fountain looks great, however it may only last one season. As the top layer of paint ages it becomes porous and water enters, works it way through over time and leaks out. If it freezes you will see it crumble as another poster had happen. Whether it freezes or not it will still deteriorate and leak quickly. My fountain although stored all winter lasted 6 months and is now garbage.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
from n.j.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PLEASE! Believe these reviews,especially mine.

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
WEll I did not believe the reviews before I purchased this product and I got burned! This fountain looked good and was great for the first 3 months of the summer,then winter came. I took apart the entire fountain and wraped each section in a packing blanket and stored it in my sealed outdoor shed. Last week I unwraped the sections to reassemble only to find crumpled pieces,such a waste of money, so please do not make the istake I did,do not buy this unit it is junk...................
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
from Los Angeles

We love our fountain and have had it for over a year

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This has been a great fountain and it looks great in our front garden. We had to replace the pump recently but that is something that is a usual replacement for water fountains. We are n So. calif. so our fountain is not exposed to extreme weather.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
from MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hampton Bay 2-Tier Cement Fountain

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although decent looking, it lasted one year. Larger bowl crumbled and both the bottom surface and central mounting section fell apart storing outside in winter even though disassembled and covered. If you buy this, STORE IT INSIDE in above freezing temperatures. The cement is absorbing and holding water. When it freezes, it cracks and falls apart in layers.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
from Carson City, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Loved the look but not the quality.

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Enjoyed the fountain for one season now it has crumbled. Finish is coming of in chunks despite being covered this winter. Very disappointed.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
from Caseyville, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent features

PostedMay 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased this fountain yesterday from my local Home Depot and installed it on my front porch. I have owned several fountains in the past and know quality. This fountain is heavy built and well made, not one of those plastic fauxcrete type which fall apart in a few years.
Love the sound and the look, not a small weak sounding fountain. It makes a statement.
My mail carrier complimented it when he walked up to the house, said how it was really beautiful and you could hear the water, even when he was approaching from next door.
It's a good buy and I would recommend it.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain

Beautiful Fountain, Birds Love It

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second of two fountains that I bought at Home Depot for my balcony. I almost didn't buy it, wondering how I was going to drag up it the stairs by myself. One of the smart Home Depot workers suggested I take it out of the box downstairs and bring it upstairs one piece at a time. That made the sale!
This is a lovely fountain and it works perfectly. It was not difficult to assemble. I did have to wrestle a bit with the second tier, and the little "pineapple" shaped fixture on top, to get them level. That makes a difference with regard to how evenly the water falls. Also note: it takes up a bit of the length of the cord to go up inside the fountain to the wide bowl, where the pump sits, so if there is any distance at all between the base of the fountain and the place you're going to plug it in, you may need an extension cord.
It gives off a pretty splashing sound (it does splash a bit outside the bowl from the first and second tiers). The birds love it....I even saw a finch take a serious bath in the shallower top tier! I've spent hours on the internet looking at fountains....they are very expensive. So glad I found this one.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
from Hawaii
Age Range:45 to 54

junk - don't waste your money.

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'd give it zero if I could. That's a LOT of money for a product that falls apart. I live in Hawaii, so it had nothing to do with "winter". Just crumbled over time - and not a long time - less than two years! I'm angry the Home Depot sells such JUNK.
Pros: loved the size, loved the look
Cons: Not Durable, disintigrates, didn't last 2 years, poor quality for the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
from Lucerne Valley, Ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Leaking

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I hate that I have to give it 1 star but I have only had it 34 days and this morning it started leaking from the bottom base. I still have my receipt so I am taking it back before it starts crumbling. I LOVE it otherwise and I really hate that is such poor quality but I just can't afford to through away money. It is the end of September and I live in the High Desert in California, so I don't think the weather is the issue.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>