728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Decor or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-Tier Cement Fountain

2-Tier Cement Fountain

This Hampton Bay 2-Tier Cement Fountain features a natural stone design in dark ash. The fountain is constructed of cement and fiberglass for durability and is crafted and painted by hand.
Overall rating:
2.941 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
50%of customersrecommend this product23 of 46reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(23)
Quality 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
50%of customersrecommend this product23 of 46reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
Review 1 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
Susiesoccermom
from Bonner Springs,Ks
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't last a year, don't waste your money

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fountain was very pretty but it began to crumble in approximately 9 months. I was very disappointed.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
irene70
from nothbrunswick nj 08902
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

2 tire cement fountain

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this in the summer only got on summer out of it falling apart want to know what we can do to have it replaced with something will hold up the weather I have had other fountains and never had a problem I up grated to this one for a bigger one and was very unhappy to see what happened to it pleas help me
thank you
Irene
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
JNHOFF
from Saxton, PA 16678, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Problems

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had problems with this fountain since purchase. About two months after I purchased it it started to leak. Applied some sealer and problem solved. In the spring the cement that the fountain was made from started to crumble. I'm now going to have to get a new fountain but it certainly won't be like this one. Very disappointed in the fountain. I hope you have better luck if you purchase this.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
MS06
from Woodland Hills, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Good fountain for price with nice sound

PostedMay 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this unit at an incredible price, and if it only lasts one summer, it is fine. I live in dry So. Calif and hope the crumbling problem is only related to being outside during winter freezing weather.
SETUP - while one person can do it alone within 30 minutes, it will go much easier and safer for a two person set up. The weight and size makes a one person setup dicy. I am a female 'senior' but had no problem with set up but would have liked an extra set of hands.
STABILITY - The unit does not lock into place. It can be somewhat unstable and potentially dangerous if you have children playing around it or animals. I don't and it is set up against a fence on the garden area
LEVELING - I had some difficulty leveling the unit, but because it is not locked into place, I could level when needed.
ADDED HEIGHT - I set the unit on bricks, which did two things. It provided a stable, level base and added height to the unit.
PUMP TUBE - I had just enough tubing to connect to the pump. I would have liked a minimum of 1/2" or more. It becomes a little irritating when I had to unplug the tube to get the pump out of its hole to addjust the water flow.
WATER FLOW - the adjustment is on the pump and one just rotates the intake hole to add more flow or less. I have it on less flow, but it still is fairly constant.
SOUND: I was alarmed that the sound was a little too loud and may upset condo neighbors. I went outside the fence and found that the sound was only intensified by my patio fence and was not invasive outside the patio.
SPRAY OUTSIDE OF BOWL: The bowl is designed with a low outward facing bowl, which does not contain the sporatic spray. I had some spray but it was not much and it increased the much needed (I live in arid So. Calif) humidity and created a coolness on the skin. If you don't want the spray, get a fountain with a bottom bowl that has high upright sides -- such as the 2-Tier Alfresco Fountain, HD Model # 5701FBXS . Offered at a higher cost but it is not concrete.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Comfortable, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight
Cons: can be unstable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
Socaldk

Excellent two tier fountain

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this to replace an urn fountain I bought about two years ago from home depot. This compliments my yard so much nicer and the sound of the water is loud and refreshing. The birds tend to like my new addition as well and the added bonus is with it being a tiered fountain the basin is high off the ground and has less dirt/debris accumulation that can clog the pump. The access door in the back makes cleaning the pump fast and easy, way better than my previous fountain. Putting it together took less than five minutes, no joke, everything just drops in place. This is a very nice addition to any yard or outdoor patio area. Only thing to keep in mind is it splashes a bit so don't put it anywhere you want to avoid water spots (I have it next to brick and in an area with ground cover and rocks so it's fine and the splashes add to the effect). For the price you'll be hard pressed to beat this setup.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
JBLI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Beware

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This fountain looks great, however it may only last one season. As the top layer of paint ages it becomes porous and water enters, works it way through over time and leaks out. If it freezes you will see it crumble as another poster had happen. Whether it freezes or not it will still deteriorate and leak quickly. My fountain although stored all winter lasted 6 months and is now garbage.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
cc1827
from Carson City, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Loved the look but not the quality.

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Enjoyed the fountain for one season now it has crumbled. Finish is coming of in chunks despite being covered this winter. Very disappointed.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
Oldmechanic
from GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this fountain

PostedApril 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the easiest fountain to assemble we have ever bought. It is quite heavy, but that will keep the cats from knocking it over when they get a drink. Cleaning it will be a breeze since the pump is directly behind a little access panel in the lower bowl. On most fountains some teardown is required. The pump WILL get clogged in normal use and they thought of that in the design. The instructions were a little confusing because they kept saying to lock the sections together. They do not lock, but are keyed to fit together only one way. I am not familiar with the material it is made from, but it appears to be durable. After a couple of years in the GA sun, we'll see. Really pleased so far.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
Suzi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cute fountain..for one summer

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like others have said, this fountain will crumble, totally ,after one season. Had I taken it in when it got cold, before the freeze, I don't know if it would have helped. I don't think it would've helped much.
While it lasted, it was cute and easy to assemble. I was very happy with it...for a few months.
It was inexpensive, but for a few months, not worth even that much.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Good Shape
Cons: Not Durable, not duable at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
Disappointed
from Baltimore
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don, waste you money

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was my second fountain of this type, the first crumbled to piece after one summer. I blamed it on freeze thaw during the winter so with this one I drained it and covered it. I just uncovered it and it is also crumbling to pieces. Pleas don't waste your money on this fountain, learn from my misfortune.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
rekindle
from Marietta, GA

Poorly Constructed

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this fountain and while putting it together found it did not lock in the separate levels. This makes it very difficult to empty and clean. Also, while putting it together a piece just broke off with no pressure from us. Just crumbled. Immediately returned the item and told them what happened. We currently have two fountains and a bird bath in our yard and have for years and have never experienced this poor a quality product in any of the fountains we have purchased over the years.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
gdear
from louisville ky
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Only last a winter

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The day is 01/04/14 we got it on 07/14/13 I had it covered all winter, took off cover and the bottom fall apart and fell over. I will never buy again.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
Bonniek97
from Minnesota
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't buy

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Didn't last a year, got it for Mother's Day last year 2013 and now it is march and it is crumbling.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
FountainLover
from Caseyville, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent features

PostedMay 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased this fountain yesterday from my local Home Depot and installed it on my front porch. I have owned several fountains in the past and know quality. This fountain is heavy built and well made, not one of those plastic fauxcrete type which fall apart in a few years.
Love the sound and the look, not a small weak sounding fountain. It makes a statement.
My mail carrier complimented it when he walked up to the house, said how it was really beautiful and you could hear the water, even when he was approaching from next door.
It's a good buy and I would recommend it.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
SteveB
from Belleville, Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not even a year!!!

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Haven't even had it a year and it's starting to crumble! The back cover where the pump is located is no longer there. Crumbled completely! Not happy!
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
roxy6

Beautiful Fountain, Birds Love It

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second of two fountains that I bought at Home Depot for my balcony. I almost didn't buy it, wondering how I was going to drag up it the stairs by myself. One of the smart Home Depot workers suggested I take it out of the box downstairs and bring it upstairs one piece at a time. That made the sale!
This is a lovely fountain and it works perfectly. It was not difficult to assemble. I did have to wrestle a bit with the second tier, and the little "pineapple" shaped fixture on top, to get them level. That makes a difference with regard to how evenly the water falls. Also note: it takes up a bit of the length of the cord to go up inside the fountain to the wide bowl, where the pump sits, so if there is any distance at all between the base of the fountain and the place you're going to plug it in, you may need an extension cord.
It gives off a pretty splashing sound (it does splash a bit outside the bowl from the first and second tiers). The birds love it....I even saw a finch take a serious bath in the shallower top tier! I've spent hours on the internet looking at fountains....they are very expensive. So glad I found this one.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
Dottie165
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Super Good Fountain

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have always wanted a fountain and saw this in the Flyer which I do not always have a chance to see. It must have been fate. I went on line, bought it and picked it up Friday night. It was easily put together, although making it level is really important, and it makes the most wonderful sound in my back yard. While not excessively heavy, it is very sturdy and sits solidly. I anticipate enjoying this for some time, as will the birds.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
LazyGardener
from Cordova, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One Season Wonder

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Very good looking; easy to assemble. The top started to crumble after the first frost. Not able to withstand temperature changes/freezes. For the price, if it only lasts one season - just replace it.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
Psst
from Kansas, USA

Lasted 6 months in KC weather

PostedApril 4, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product was simple to install. Good flow from the pump.
No problems untill recently when the sprayed on concrete started cracking and now falling off in chunks.
Not sure what to do with it now.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-Tier Cement Fountain
HighlandFling
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

take time to seal it!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Based on other owners reviews...we picked up a gallon of Thompsons Water Seal the same day we got the fountain...two coats of sealer...and fountain is beautiful and durable...the whole neighborhood is envious!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>