728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Temporary Shades or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)

Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)

A must for baby’s room, daytime sleepers, or your media den, Redi Shade’s black paper shade blocks a whopping 99% of sunlight. Installs in less than one minute. No drill, no screws, no brackets just trim, peel, and stick. Cord-free, secures with 2 low-profile clips.
Overall rating:
4.131 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product50 of 57reviews
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(31)
4
(17)
3
(7)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product50 of 57reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
Review 1 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
mmh449

Look good and very inexpensive for the look.

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The paper shades have to be carefully handled since they tend to wrinkle or crinkle very easily. Must be hung perfectly level.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
lily
from philadelphia, pa

good to keep sun out

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great for apartments no nailing or damage to wood. My friend had them and she had them up for a long time. Easy to put up and in summer the black keeps the rooms cooler. I dressed mine up with scarfs.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
troycameronstein
from Ann Arbor, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No cord. Should have read the description

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I neglected to read the last sentence of the description. These blinds have no way to raise or lower them. Gotta return them.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not functional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
redmarisabel
from Chicago
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Effectively darkened our bedroom.

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our new house's curtains let far too much light from the alleyway into our room. While I've ordered drapes, they'll take a month to arrive. In the meantime, these were rapidly installed. In a way, they are giant post-its but far sturdier and with better stick. I can imagine these being wonderful for dorm rooms or any situation where you don't want to put holes in the wall or spend too much money. They are surprisingly sturdy for paper drapes.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Fits in Various Rooms, High Quality, darkens a room for a restful sleep
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
RenovatorIrving
from Irving TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These black out shades don't.

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These are supposed to black out shades, but they do not completely close in either direction. When cranking them so that they will deflect the sun (rounded edge out) they do not completely block people from looking in. When cranking them so that they close, (rounded edge in) the sun still filters through and if you lie within 6 feet of the window you have an excellent view of the sky. (see the pictures below) I have never seen a shade so badly designed and then advertised as "black out".
Pros: Good Size & Fit
Cons: Quality, not functional
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-16points
4out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
tridyjean
from Los Lunas, NM, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Blackout shades

PostedApril 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These work really well at blocking out the light, in fact, it worked so well that my Venetian blind behind it melted!
That being said, I do have a problem keeping them up. They have sticky tape on the top, but it doesn't last long. My daughter had to put tacks in hers to keep it up.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
CIndy
from Huntington, IN 46750, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product!

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The blinds arrived in great shape. Easy to size and install. Looks great on the windows and have an extra pair to install if something goes wrong with these. Great value!
Pros: Energy Efficient, Multi Use, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
3DMovieWatcher
from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product serves its purpose and easy to set up.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased these for better performance of a 3D Flat Screen TV that calls for as little light distraction as possible. These work perfectly and I live in Manhattan where tons of artificial light comes in at night and sunlight during the day.
They work perfectly and took minutes to hang. I know they are paper but, surprisingly they actually work with my décor as well.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
Peter

You get what you pay for

PostedApril 30, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
They are a cheap and easy to install solution. They do work. Yes they have a clip to adjust and not pull string, but these are not intended to be pricey functional blinds, they are inexpensive blackout blind that you adjust your length and place a clip at where you want it to stop.
Had them up for about 6 months without problems, One corner of one of the shades has come loose but a little double sided tape patches that easy. These are installed by removing a sticky strip and you press and hold them to the top of the window. They are light weight and easy to install. Unfortunately after about 6 months of use 3 of the 4 shades have faded to brown from their original black, they were all bought and installed at the same time and no differences in shade / sun on them but the 3 faded and 1 has not. When initially installed you get a lot of the zig-zag appearance from the folding of the package, but if you leave them down at all times that does get lost and they will stretch out and look like lined paper in the window, still I don't think they are that unattractive but they are not $100+ blinds either. How ever you look at it, these are what they are and even now still do the job I bought them for which is block out the light in bulk, some light gets through but does block most and does help keep the room temp down.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
DJFourstar

Great for Rentals

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Good low-cost alternative to custom expensive blackout blinds. For a good tight installation that doesn't bleed light at the sides, oversize very slightly when cutting (use a SHARP exacto knife to cut when folded). Also, if you want a solid blackest of black shade, double these up.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
AndrewR
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for the price!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Dramatic reduction in natural light in the room we installed them. Fairly easy to install (make sure you clean and dry the surface you are attaching it to). Easy to adjust size before installing. Holding up well to mild abuse from our declawed cat.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
ManhattanMommy
from New York, NY

Completely blackout - perfect for nursery!

PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These blackout shades are a fantastic value - they COMPLETELY block out light. Ideal for a temporary situation, to take on vacation, rooms where the curtains will usually be drawn. They are not very attractive (though not ugly) or durable, but for the price they can't be beat. I installed them behind nice silk curtains in my bedroom and my baby has never napped better. I highly recommend them!!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
LovesHorsesII
from Lubbock, TX

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Shades are as advertised. They are simple and easy to install and they blot out the light. They can also be removed easily.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
ccyt
from norfolk va
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I really did get what I paid for.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The shades really block the light and the black color works well. They are not permanent but will serve the purpose until I make a decision about a replacement. I like the way the black looks from the outside.
Pros: Great Value, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
TheGam
from NorthEast US

Sleep and watch Media with these inexpensive shades

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These things are great. I initially bought 4 for my West facing windows. Worked perfectly, install was easy. Then, got 4 more for my RV and my East facing windows. Just have to be a little gentle with them, but, they are a tremendous deal.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
James

Met our expectations -- worked fine.

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We were visited by a family with young children who needed a dark room. We wanted to remove these shades after they left, but knew they would be needed again in the future. I cut a strip of poster board for the adhesive to stick to (and to reinforce the top) and then used tiny hooks to hang them from each window frame. They did their job and are now back in their box until needed once again.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
Michael

EXACTLY what it says

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought four of these to black out sun during my kids nap times and they work very well. Having read some prior reviews, I was aware that the sticky glue used to mount the shade to the window was not ideal, so I uses a few wide head screws to share the weight. We've had them in for two weeks and my kid is getting solid two hour naps (before was 40-50 minutes) and waking up rested. Using the clips to move the share up or down is a bit of a pain, but for the price, these really can't be beat!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
aberry0528

definitely blocks out the light!

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
these shades were recommended as the best value for blacking out our son's nursery .... they work great! we installed them behind the existing blinds.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms, Good Size & Fit
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
Eddie
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

his product was exactly what i needed

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Simple to install and reasonably priced This product was better than i expected and great for reducing light
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
steinie
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great room darkener

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very impressed,easy to install....I installed these in our master bedroom--which gets full sun from 2pm on and is above the garage-we already have noticed the air is not running as much,even with a hot car in the garage.
Also is veryy effective as a room darkener.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>