728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Temporary Shades or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)

Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)

A must for baby’s room, daytime sleepers, or your media den, Redi Shade’s black paper shade blocks a whopping 99% of sunlight. Installs in less than one minute. No drill, no screws, no brackets just trim, peel, and stick. Cord-free, secures with 2 low-profile clips.
Overall rating:
4.152 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product54 of 62reviews
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(18)
3
(8)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product54 of 62reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
Review 1 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
from philadelphia, pa

good to keep sun out

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great for apartments no nailing or damage to wood. My friend had them and she had them up for a long time. Easy to put up and in summer the black keeps the rooms cooler. I dressed mine up with scarfs.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)

Look good and very inexpensive for the look.

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The paper shades have to be carefully handled since they tend to wrinkle or crinkle very easily. Must be hung perfectly level.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
from Little Rock
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The cheapest way to blackout a room.

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If your goal is to make a room completely dark, this is by far the easiest cheapest way to do it. They look kind of cheap and they crinkle but overall they work great for blacking out the sun.
My nephew and I were easily able to completely black out a 12 window west facing sunroom and turn it into a sweet media room in about an hour with these.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional
Cons: Flimsy Quality, Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
from Chicago
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Effectively darkened our bedroom.

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our new house's curtains let far too much light from the alleyway into our room. While I've ordered drapes, they'll take a month to arrive. In the meantime, these were rapidly installed. In a way, they are giant post-its but far sturdier and with better stick. I can imagine these being wonderful for dorm rooms or any situation where you don't want to put holes in the wall or spend too much money. They are surprisingly sturdy for paper drapes.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Fits in Various Rooms, High Quality, darkens a room for a restful sleep
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
from Eastpoint, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good product

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to use on the window and I enjoy how easy it was to use
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
from York PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Temporary paper blinds

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These are really better as temporary blinds. Don't buy them thinking they're durable enough for regular use or adjustment. They are paper, similar to construction paper.
I just bought a new house, and equipping it cost a fortune. I was hoping to save money over regular blinds. Even though I'm using them behind curtains to darken the room, I doubt they will last a year. They do go up easily. It remains to be seen how easily the adhesive can be removed.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Easily Damaged, Flimsy Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
from Trussville
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple Effective Easy Installation

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is our second purchase of these blackout blinds. They install in a flash and help insulate from the heat. Easy to clip up to allow light . If you have ever worked nights, you will understand why we appreciate them.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)

You get what you pay for

PostedApril 30, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
They are a cheap and easy to install solution. They do work. Yes they have a clip to adjust and not pull string, but these are not intended to be pricey functional blinds, they are inexpensive blackout blind that you adjust your length and place a clip at where you want it to stop.
Had them up for about 6 months without problems, One corner of one of the shades has come loose but a little double sided tape patches that easy. These are installed by removing a sticky strip and you press and hold them to the top of the window. They are light weight and easy to install. Unfortunately after about 6 months of use 3 of the 4 shades have faded to brown from their original black, they were all bought and installed at the same time and no differences in shade / sun on them but the 3 faded and 1 has not. When initially installed you get a lot of the zig-zag appearance from the folding of the package, but if you leave them down at all times that does get lost and they will stretch out and look like lined paper in the window, still I don't think they are that unattractive but they are not $100+ blinds either. How ever you look at it, these are what they are and even now still do the job I bought them for which is block out the light in bulk, some light gets through but does block most and does help keep the room temp down.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
from Irving TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These black out shades don't.

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These are supposed to black out shades, but they do not completely close in either direction. When cranking them so that they will deflect the sun (rounded edge out) they do not completely block people from looking in. When cranking them so that they close, (rounded edge in) the sun still filters through and if you lie within 6 feet of the window you have an excellent view of the sky. (see the pictures below) I have never seen a shade so badly designed and then advertised as "black out".
Pros: Good Size & Fit
Cons: Quality, not functional
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-28points
4out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)

Great for Rentals

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Good low-cost alternative to custom expensive blackout blinds. For a good tight installation that doesn't bleed light at the sides, oversize very slightly when cutting (use a SHARP exacto knife to cut when folded). Also, if you want a solid blackest of black shade, double these up.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
from Huntington, IN 46750, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product!

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The blinds arrived in great shape. Easy to size and install. Looks great on the windows and have an extra pair to install if something goes wrong with these. Great value!
Pros: Energy Efficient, Multi Use, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)

Worked to do exactly what I wanted it to do

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to install, i cut it with scissors to the needed measurement with no problem. It does block the light as expected. Simple, convenient, inexpensive solution.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
from Ann Arbor, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No cord. Should have read the description

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I neglected to read the last sentence of the description. These blinds have no way to raise or lower them. Gotta return them.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not functional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
from New York, NY

Completely blackout - perfect for nursery!

PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These blackout shades are a fantastic value - they COMPLETELY block out light. Ideal for a temporary situation, to take on vacation, rooms where the curtains will usually be drawn. They are not very attractive (though not ugly) or durable, but for the price they can't be beat. I installed them behind nice silk curtains in my bedroom and my baby has never napped better. I highly recommend them!!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
from Lubbock, TX

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Shades are as advertised. They are simple and easy to install and they blot out the light. They can also be removed easily.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for the price!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Dramatic reduction in natural light in the room we installed them. Fairly easy to install (make sure you clean and dry the surface you are attaching it to). Easy to adjust size before installing. Holding up well to mild abuse from our declawed cat.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
from Los Lunas, NM, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Blackout shades

PostedApril 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These work really well at blocking out the light, in fact, it worked so well that my Venetian blind behind it melted!
That being said, I do have a problem keeping them up. They have sticky tape on the top, but it doesn't last long. My daughter had to put tacks in hers to keep it up.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product serves its purpose and easy to set up.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased these for better performance of a 3D Flat Screen TV that calls for as little light distraction as possible. These work perfectly and I live in Manhattan where tons of artificial light comes in at night and sunlight during the day.
They work perfectly and took minutes to hang. I know they are paper but, surprisingly they actually work with my décor as well.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)
from NorthEast US

Sleep and watch Media with these inexpensive shades

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These things are great. I initially bought 4 for my West facing windows. Worked perfectly, install was easy. Then, got 4 more for my RV and my East facing windows. Just have to be a little gentle with them, but, they are a tremendous deal.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Paper Black Out Window Shade (4-Pack) (Price Varies by Size)

EXACTLY what it says

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought four of these to black out sun during my kids nap times and they work very well. Having read some prior reviews, I was aware that the sticky glue used to mount the shade to the window was not ideal, so I uses a few wide head screws to share the weight. We've had them in for two weeks and my kid is getting solid two hour naps (before was 40-50 minutes) and waking up rested. Using the clips to move the share up or down is a bit of a pain, but for the price, these really can't be beat!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>