728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater

4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater

Another LIFESMART product that is Smart for you and smart for the planet. The LIFESMART Infrared Heater is a portable heat source that is revolutionary in design to offer you safe, healthy and therapeutic heat for an unobstructed area of up to 1000 square feet and save you money and energy. LIFESMART offers ultra-efficient, safe and evenly distributed heat at less cost then other heating systems. The air quality emitted and it's ultimate heating performance is due to an efficient and innovative design that incorporates the absorption of infrared energy. This allows production and circulation of purified heated air back into your desired space. The results are an even distribution of heat without the heat loss that normally occurs at windows, ceilings and walls. This saves energy, heat and money.
Overall rating:
3.978 / 5
4
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product32 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(13)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Energy efficiency 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product32 of 40reviews
Customer reviews for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
Review 1 for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
AJinUtah
from Kaysville, Utah

Good Heater

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this for a ~500 sq/ft room in an insulated part of the basement. The room only has 2 registers and was quite cold in the winter. I set the heater @ 68 and it keeps the room at a very comfortable temp. (Outside temperatures ranging from 12-40 degrees.) We also have been able to lower the temperature of our natural gas heater for the whole house because we don't have as much cold air coming up from the basement.
The heater puts out good heat, it took a few days to really warm up the room (walls, furniture, etc) and now the heater seems to be much more efficient. It is probably running 50-60% of the time when in use (we only turn it on during the day when our boys will be playing in the room). The outside of the heater stays cool to the touch and it heats the room evenly as advertised.
I do not believe this heater would do a good job for a 1000 sq/ft space unless it was extremely well insulated and protected from drafts. And even then I think it would be running 100% of the time.
When I first took it out of the package there was a varnish smell to it. I considered leaving it in the garage overnight but decided to just let it be. The next day I did not notice the scent, and my wife, who is quite sensitive to smells, never said anything about it (she didn't go into the basement for a day or two after we bought the unit.)
I'd say this unit is the best bang for your buck out there - I shopped for similar units on the internet. 4 stars because of the varnish smell and I don't believe it will heat a 1000 sq/ft room as advertised. Other than that, very satisfied with the purchase.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
JustJoanMac
from Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Bad luck or bad heater

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Based on reviews, price, and Home Depot reputation, I ordered this heater. I read the instructions and prceded to plug it in and turn on the master switch. It crackled and flashed, but I thought perhaps there had been some packing material left inside. I turned it on and was pleased with the warmth and how quiet it was. I turned it off at night. The next day, I tried to turn it on and it was dead. I checked the instructions and tried everything I could think of, but it would not turn on. I returned it and ordered another. After all, every once in while, you get a lemon. The second heater arrived and I plugged it in and turned it on and it ran perfectly -- for about three weeks. When I tried to turn it on, the degree number flashed, but would not stay on. I tried and tried. Every once in a while when I walked by it, I would try again. And every 3 or 4 days, it would start - and then it wouldn't. I returned it.
One good thing -- Home Depot readily accepted the returns and credited the price to my account.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
TweakyNerd
from Virginia

What a great investment!

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I initally bought our unit as a emergency standby heat source in case our furnace went out.
I tested it I it to make sure it was in good working order, I was so impressed at how quiet it was and how evenly it distributed the heat, I decided to use it to supplement our furnace to heat only the room we were in. Much to my surprise we were able to turn our main heater down to 61 during the day and 58 at night. Talk about savings!!!
Well, our main furnace did go out. We were so impressed with the efficiency of our "standby" unit, we bought four more to hold us over until we decide what type of furnace to get. Even though temps where we live hover in the 20's and low 30's most of the winter, having these will give us the opportunity to take our time researching a replacement furnace and even wait until post-season sales for the furnace.
Depending on the cost of running these units as our only heating source, we may not even need to replace our furnace!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
Stumpsiter
from Morganton, GA.

low cost heat

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am retired on fixed income. The cost of propane keeps going higher.I had to do something so I purchased one of these heaters in the fall from A diferent company.I needed two heaters for 2000 sq. ft.I checked with Home Depot they offered one with better cabinet heats the some as the first heater for half the price of the first heater,This is the most comfortable heat I have ever had.It is eaven heat no ups and down temperature like with my gas furnace.The filter cut down on mold smell, we have less head aches and sinus probllems.WE can now set the heat two degrees higher.I think I will save the cost of one tank of propane.That is more than enough to pay for the heaters. At this price I will buy one more so not to work my little heaters to hard.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
forrest356
from Sevierville, TN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

looks good thats all

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
as someone who takes energy efficiency seriously I bought this with hopes of savings in the winter... bought it in November and used it for two months... I am on levelized billing with Sevier county electric and they certainly didn't call me letting me know that my electric doubled the first and tripled the second month. I went from 150 a month to 430 in December. I have never turned it on again in fear of what it cost... However it does look good under the end table. My advice be careful and only use for a little while at a time... a programmable thermostat is the best option to save... my levelized bill is still over 170 trying to pay for the two months, but has never been over 130 since the thermostat.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
Garriss
from Watha, North Carolina

Life Smart Infrared-Quartz Heater !!

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this heater hoping to help lower our heating cost. We haven't recieved a bill yet , but we love the heater. It's attractive, surface doesn't get hot , which is great around our Jack Russells'. It has kept our Heat Pump from coming on during the day. At nights , I move it into my bedroom & close the vent for the heat system & found I don't dry out as bad. The price is great. We were able to purchase it for half of the competitors' price. I would recommend this heater to everyone looking for a Infrared- Quartz Portable heater.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
darb41
from Hammonton, NJ

awesome heater

PostedMarch 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven't received my first electric bill since using this heater so I can't attest to the electric cost, but it is a gentle, thorough and complete heat. I use it in my rec room, which is a 18' x 22" room and always at least 8 - 10 degrees cooler than the rest of the house. It is now the warmest room in the house and it's only set on 66 degrees. The entire room seems much warmer than ever before and is now my favorite room in the house. I am thinking about buying another one for the other areas in the house. Great buy.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
FranCDS
from Nashville TN

Infrared Portable Quartz Heater

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The heater works good but seems to not cover 1000sq ft as stated. I like that it blows out the heat evenly and displays the temperature and can display the room temp. I recommend this item if you want to heat two rooms, but you will need at least another heater to heat more than 500sq ft. I am disappointed that it does not cover the described area, but I like the heater and overall I am happy with my purchase.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
wildburra
from AR
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as described

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Upon reading the small print in the manual, I saw that this "heater" was not to be used as a primary heat source, but as a booster for other sources. It not only doesn't heat 700 sq feet - it doesn't even heat 10 sq feet - the area around my chair. The manual says it's most efficient at 68 to 72 degrees - it would probably be good for reducing cost of a larger furnace, but not for anything else.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
WYOGAL
from Wyoming

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use right from the box. Placed the unit in a 800 sqft - high ceiling room and set the temp at 68. This has cut down the useage of my central unit greatly. I can't wit to get my first utility bill to see the difference.
This unit is very quiet when running. Not an eyesore to look at, very nicely constructed in wood.
It has lived up to everything it said.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
ChevBigGuy
from Aurora, CO

Portable Infrared Heater

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This heater is exactly what I expected, it provides instant heat to any room. I bought 2 and use 1 upstairs and the other downstairs. It instantly takes the chill out of the air in the morning when I get out of bed (the thermostats have been turned down at night). I have a camper trailer and plan on using it there because it's lightweight and portable.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
Aldane

New Heater Working Great So Far

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently added on a 350 sq ft sunroom. Although the evenings temperatures have been in the 50s, so far this heater seems like it will do the job in the colder months ahead. The heat is warm and cozy. The quality of the product is very good. Everything works as advertised. Not sure about heating efficiency, until we see some utility bills.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
PythonRider
from Salisbury, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this was the best deal in the heater market today saved me lots of money

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
as I said before the best deal in the market today the other heaters with same features were at the least 119 dollars more and some were 200 dollars more It was just what you said it was in your ad I am very happy and thinking of buying another one I thought it said I was to get a discount voucher with the purchase But not sure of that
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
fernq
from AZ

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've been very happy with our purchase of this heater. We bought it to offset the operation of our heat pump. We're in AZ and normally the heat pump runs during the night , but with this heater, we've been able to turn the heat pump off. Still waiting for our first electric bill to see the cost effectiveness.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
jenn82

broke in 2 months

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very excited about this product. It worked just wonderful for the first few weeks. Then I felt like it wasn't heating the space as well as it once had. A week or so later it stopped working. The machine still turns on but it doesn't blow heat. Will try and return asap!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
qwerty789
from AZ

Infrared Portable Quartz Heater

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The colour of the unite was not what was advertized. It came in a cherry colour instead of the oak colour.
The controls to set the room temperature is cumpersome. Sometimes it won't work, so you have to keep pressing the buttons.
After you have it set it up it works good.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
Patriciapjp
from Farmington, NM

Great Heater

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Love this heater. We have had -0- degrees at night and having this heater on has kept the house warm. It is attractive and have already had three of my friends order one for themselves. Very comfortable heat. I am getting another one for the back end of the house as well.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
quantas
from Florida

infared portable quartz heater

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
couldn't be happier. we have now used the heater and it works extremely well. the cost was about half or less of any similar product thsat we found elsewhere. HD made it extremely easy to buy and it got here ahead of schedule. what else could I ask for?
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
Ricard1

Gentle heat, very quite

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This heater does a decent job heating our living and dining rooms. It's very quite and I am pleased with it's performance. There are more pwerful heaters, but this one uses less electricity. We won't know how true that is untill we get an electric bill.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 Element Infrared Portable Quartz Heater
GaithersburgHomeOwner
from Gaithersburg, MD

Works as expected

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. I use two of these units to heat an entire 1400 sq ft house. I keep one in the master bedroom and one in the living room. Its much faster at heating rooms than our old oil filled radiators spaceheaters we have used in the past.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>