728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Laminate Wood Flooring or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)

Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)

Authentic Texture 8mm Laminate Flooring creates texture and a distinctive one of a kind style pattern. This product has achieved Greenguard Indoor Air Quality Certification and has been tested for more than 10,000 volatile organic compounds, including formaldehyde, to meet these standards. The glueless installation is easy and economical; above grade, on grade and below grade. This laminate flooring captures beauty and elegance with the hardwood look and appeal.
Overall rating:
4.238 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product17 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(5)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product17 of 19reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
Review 1 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
from Southern California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good floors--but not perfect. Here's why...

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
-- The look of this flooring (for the price) is GREAT
-- I ordered about 800 sqft of this flooring and NOT ONE was damaged. ALL in perfect condition. So, I'm very surprised about other reviews.
-- The problem with this floor is that it gets dirty easily especially if you have kids (I have a 2 and 5 year old).
-- It looks like real wood, with the hand scraped look
-- Other issues:
i) powder/Bathroom floats a bit (since it's pinched against the toilet and it doesn't have room to adjust).
ii) It's not impervious to scratches. Doesn't easily scratch, but when it is, I used a black sharpie and smeared it w/ my fingers to help blend.
iii) If possible, don't install in bathrooms or on the stairway. Steps and risers are flat--looks like laminate. While bathrooms float/bubble up because of toilet.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Cons: Difficult to Clean, have to use hand/rug to clean (mops not effective), easily gets dirty, scratch resistant but not scratch proof
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
from Layton, UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful floor

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We replaced a light oak colored floor with this much darker floor. Everyone who has seen it tells us how beautiful it is. I am not much of a fan of laminate flooring, but this looks really nice. To me, it looks like real wood planks. I like the wavy texture on the top that is supposed to make it look and feel like hand scraped wood - it you really look at it, you can tell it isn't, but for the casual observer, it looks really convincing. I also like that it isn't flush from one piece to the next - the edges are beveled down so you have a little groove between each piece of flooring. Again, that just makes it look more like real wood planks. I hate how laminate tends to curl up at the edges of each piece and I am hoping the way these have the beveled edge will keep that from happening. Installation was fairly easy. I have installed laminate before so I was familiar in doing it already. As long as you have the proper saws to cut pieces that need to be cut - especially if you need to cut the long edge - then cutting is easy. The pieces are a bit thin so that is why I said the quality was only good, but it was on special when we bought it so the price far outweighed any downside in my mind. My daughter came to visit after we installed it and asked what material the floor was. She was walking on it barefoot and said she loved the way it felt under her feet. Laminate does tend to show spots and with this being such a dark color, it definitely shows them but we are hoping with time that we will figure out how to keep it clean better.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
from Rockford, MI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVED THIS FLOORING!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was nervous about ordering 540sf of flooring online, without ever seeing it in person. But for the price, and the photos online, I took a chance! So glad that I did! It was super easy to install and looks great--there's a lot of variation in the boards so you can't tell if there's any repeat patterns, plus it has the handscraped feel which makes it feel more like real wood. I love it!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall, a decent product.

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Almost a full case and a half out of 16 cases were damaged and unusable. I don't know whether the damage occurred during shipping or packaging at the manufacturer, most likely packaging at the manufacturer because the damage was not only on the outer pieces but throughout each case. At least 2 to three slats were distributed among each case, even in the middle of cases that had no other damage. To ensure an excellent product you may want to consider inspecting and repackaging the product at your own facilities before presenting to the customer, as I suspect it was poor quality control at the manufacturers packaging facilities.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Floor

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed this over both a vapor barrier and underlayment over concrete. Laminate was easy to install for a first time installer. Use a miter blade with many teeth. Spacers and a hammer block definately came in handy. I have two dogs that are crazy-hyper. This floor has not shown ONE scratch! It has been through an adjacent bathroom flooding, snow and rain, muddy shoes and paws, a dropped hammer, and more - it still looks brand new with just a steam mop. I would definitely purchase this brand again.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
from Stansbury Park, UT 84074, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product and Easy to install

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love the look of the flooring. The color is perfect and it was relatively easy to install once I got going. I have two more rooms to go but the first two look really nice and we are happy with our choice. Granted we just finished installing last week.
Pros: Good Wood, Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Comfortable, Great Accent, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
from Salt Lake City, UT.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So glad we did!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Highly recommend this beautiful flooring! My husband installed it in a basement bedroom and didn't have any complaints or bad things to say so I'm guessing the install was easy as others mentioned.
It looks amazing! The color is just what I wanted at a great price!
I will try to upload a picture.
The only downside, is that there was a few planks damaged but my husband used those for spots that called for smaller pieces and had to be cut down anyway.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
from Friendswood, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase but the material looks like it was handled carelessly. Some of the packages were damage.

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to install. Some of the boxes were damaged but was able to use them. I had some cuts that eliminated the damaged ends.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
from PITTSBURGH PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
EASY INSTALLATION. FAST SHIP TO STORE PROCESS. PRODUCT LOOKS GREAT
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
from Highlands Ranch, CO

Looks great!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just had this flooring installed in two living rooms and a dinning room. It looks awesome! I was a little worried about the hand scrapped texture, but it just adds to the realistic look of wood we were going for. We also had them install this flooring on stairs and it turned out great. The only disappointment is that that floors show every speck of dust and every smudge. Home Depot did a great job installing the flooring!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)

Very nice look/ can be a bit tedious

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall my impression of the flooring is very good. I installed it over a concrete floor with a 3 in 1 vapor and moisture barrier with very good success. Floor will install quiet well if you are realistic with your install time frame. No it is not a SNAP to put down like advertised on the diy tv shows. I Installed about 300 sq. Feet which included office area, large 9x12 walk in closet and a 3x12 storage closet, in about a day and half. The results were excellent if you don't rush it! Locking in the tongue nd groove can be somewhat tricky at times but with some practice it goes pretty well. I would not suggest that novice take this on though, experience with cutting and accuracy will make all the difference. I have installed all types of flooring and this snap and lock type flooring can be tedious at times. As for the look of the flooring it is excellent with a very low sheen hand scraped finish. The dark finish will make a SHARPEE marker your best friend for blending in those occasional light scratches. Also (fyi) Pergo makes a dark caulk that matches this floor perfectly. This was the only and best choice I could find that worked for me. So overall the floor looks great and customer is very pleased.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)

Poor Groove rendering

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought 65 boxes to do my entire flooring of my house. A number of unusable boards but that is to be expected when buying 65 boxes. A few boards had too much of their factory sealant on them and required some extra board prepping, but all an all a pretty easy install for a first timer. Some of the groove rendering would actually break when locking into place which worried me a bit, but holds together well.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
from Virginia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful Floors

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The laminate floors install with great ease. I love the hand scraped texture and the color is a nice deep color. I am very happy with the purchase.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
from Bel Aire, KS
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Beautiful color; great quality and excellent price. Ordering online with fast and free in store pick up.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: heavy boxes ;-)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
from Auburn
Gender:Female

Very reasonably priced for a very contemporary look

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We looked at dark hard wood and laminate and decided we liked the look of this product better than the real wood. We purchased enough product to replace all our carpeting. We have finished the downstairs and it looks excellent. We are novices and it did take longer than planned, but you eventually get the hang of the cutting/planning. Not an easy job, but saving on the labor gave us flooring cheaper than we could have done carpet. We installed over the Roberts noise reduction underlayment. I would have rated this a 4 but we had to return a fair number of the boxes due to damaged boards. Quite a few had broken corners and major scratches. I recommend you go through all your boxes carefully. This floor also scratches and chips easier than I expected, but it's still a great value for the price. Looks like it cost us a lot more. You can touch up the scratches with a pergo pen and filler. Not really noticeable until you point it out to someone. I do recommend an area rug over heavy traffic areas like hallway to avoid scratching.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)

Nice floor but disappointed

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two boxes for a small project. I love the color but was disappointed in the quality. It was my contractor's opinion that the box delivered to me consisted of pieces that had been used. They splintered easily and the edges were bent, almost broken. He had to pick through it carefully.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
from Concord nc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Looks great

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had installed in whole house. Looks great and got a buy on it since it is discontinued. Only had 3 pieces that had something wrong with them. Love it and would do it again. Hoem Depot was great in their help.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)

GREAT PRICE GREAT PRODUCT

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT PRODUCT GREAT QUALITY GREAT PRICE LOOKS NATURAL GREAT COLOR
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NICE LOOKING BUT.......

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
PRODUCT LOOKS GOOD BUT THE INSTALLERS ARE TELLING ME THERE ARE QUITE A FEW BOARDS WITH CHIPS IN THEM,ALSO SOME OF THE SNAP TOGETHER GROOVES ARE BAD RENDERING THE BOARDS USELESS.LAST NOTE THE MANUFACTURER WAS SUPPOSED TO SHIP THE TRANSITIONS AND 1 FINAL CASE TO ARRIVE IN 3 DAYS TO MEET INSTALLERS.ALAS THE MNFCTR DECIDES TO SHIP OUT OF GA,AFTER THEY ASSURED HOME DEPOT ON THE PHONE THAT IT WOULD SHIP THE FOLLOWING DAY OUT OF CALIF ON A RUSH PLZ EXPEDITE BASIS, INCURRING ADDITIONAL EXPENSES FOR AN ADDITIONAL TRIP NEXT WEEK FOR THE INSTALLERS TO FINISH..NOT GOOD! I WAS WILLING TO PAY UPS 3 DAY SO IT COULD ARRIVE ON TIME BUT WAS ASSURED BY THE MANUFACTURER THAT IT WOULD SHIP FROM THE WEST COAST TO OREGON..DID NOT HAPPEN!!!
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8 mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
from Cleveland, OH
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't get this floor.

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The sample looked really good when I got it home. It wasn't until I ordered 400sq ft of it and installed three rows that I realized it has waviness to it - making it look like wrinkled, wet cardboard. The surface feel is cheap and very slippery and sounds cheap, too. The boards show dust, footprints, smudges, mop streaks - impossible to keep spotless. For me it was too late to turn back, but for you its not. DO NOT ORDER THIS FLOORING.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: impossible to keep clean, feels and sounds like plastic, looks like wrinkled wet cardboard
-6points
7out of 20found this review helpful.
1 2 >>