728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Laminate Wood Flooring or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)

Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)

Authentic Texture 8mm Laminate Flooring creates texture and a distinctive one of a kind style pattern. This product has achieved Greenguard Indoor Air Quality Certification and has been tested for more than 10,000 volatile organic compounds, including formaldehyde, to meet these standards. The glueless installation is easy and economical; above grade, on grade and below grade. This laminate flooring captures beauty and elegance with the hardwood look and appeal.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product11 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(4)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product11 of 13reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
Review 1 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
jvaldes
from Southern California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good floors--but not perfect. Here's why...

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
-- The look of this flooring (for the price) is GREAT
-- I ordered about 800 sqft of this flooring and NOT ONE was damaged. ALL in perfect condition. So, I'm very surprised about other reviews.
-- The problem with this floor is that it gets dirty easily especially if you have kids (I have a 2 and 5 year old).
-- It looks like real wood, with the hand scraped look
-- Other issues:
i) powder/Bathroom floats a bit (since it's pinched against the toilet and it doesn't have room to adjust).
ii) It's not impervious to scratches. Doesn't easily scratch, but when it is, I used a black sharpie and smeared it w/ my fingers to help blend.
iii) If possible, don't install in bathrooms or on the stairway. Steps and risers are flat--looks like laminate. While bathrooms float/bubble up because of toilet.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Cons: Difficult to Clean, have to use hand/rug to clean (mops not effective), easily gets dirty, scratch resistant but not scratch proof
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
courtnykay
from Rockford, MI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVED THIS FLOORING!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was nervous about ordering 540sf of flooring online, without ever seeing it in person. But for the price, and the photos online, I took a chance! So glad that I did! It was super easy to install and looks great--there's a lot of variation in the boards so you can't tell if there's any repeat patterns, plus it has the handscraped feel which makes it feel more like real wood. I love it!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
jensroad2
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall, a decent product.

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Almost a full case and a half out of 16 cases were damaged and unusable. I don't know whether the damage occurred during shipping or packaging at the manufacturer, most likely packaging at the manufacturer because the damage was not only on the outer pieces but throughout each case. At least 2 to three slats were distributed among each case, even in the middle of cases that had no other damage. To ensure an excellent product you may want to consider inspecting and repackaging the product at your own facilities before presenting to the customer, as I suspect it was poor quality control at the manufacturers packaging facilities.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
Koby
from Stansbury Park, UT 84074, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product and Easy to install

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love the look of the flooring. The color is perfect and it was relatively easy to install once I got going. I have two more rooms to go but the first two look really nice and we are happy with our choice. Granted we just finished installing last week.
Pros: Good Wood, Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Comfortable, Great Accent, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
Jason875
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Floor

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed this over both a vapor barrier and underlayment over concrete. Laminate was easy to install for a first time installer. Use a miter blade with many teeth. Spacers and a hammer block definately came in handy. I have two dogs that are crazy-hyper. This floor has not shown ONE scratch! It has been through an adjacent bathroom flooding, snow and rain, muddy shoes and paws, a dropped hammer, and more - it still looks brand new with just a steam mop. I would definitely purchase this brand again.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
CzechChick
from Highlands Ranch, CO

Looks great!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just had this flooring installed in two living rooms and a dinning room. It looks awesome! I was a little worried about the hand scrapped texture, but it just adds to the realistic look of wood we were going for. We also had them install this flooring on stairs and it turned out great. The only disappointment is that that floors show every speck of dust and every smudge. Home Depot did a great job installing the flooring!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
xHockeyfanx

Poor Groove rendering

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought 65 boxes to do my entire flooring of my house. A number of unusable boards but that is to be expected when buying 65 boxes. A few boards had too much of their factory sealant on them and required some extra board prepping, but all an all a pretty easy install for a first timer. Some of the groove rendering would actually break when locking into place which worried me a bit, but holds together well.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
mikek

Very nice look/ can be a bit tedious

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall my impression of the flooring is very good. I installed it over a concrete floor with a 3 in 1 vapor and moisture barrier with very good success. Floor will install quiet well if you are realistic with your install time frame. No it is not a SNAP to put down like advertised on the diy tv shows. I Installed about 300 sq. Feet which included office area, large 9x12 walk in closet and a 3x12 storage closet, in about a day and half. The results were excellent if you don't rush it! Locking in the tongue nd groove can be somewhat tricky at times but with some practice it goes pretty well. I would not suggest that novice take this on though, experience with cutting and accuracy will make all the difference. I have installed all types of flooring and this snap and lock type flooring can be tedious at times. As for the look of the flooring it is excellent with a very low sheen hand scraped finish. The dark finish will make a SHARPEE marker your best friend for blending in those occasional light scratches. Also (fyi) Pergo makes a dark caulk that matches this floor perfectly. This was the only and best choice I could find that worked for me. So overall the floor looks great and customer is very pleased.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
sportiemel
from Auburn
Gender:Female

Very reasonably priced for a very contemporary look

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We looked at dark hard wood and laminate and decided we liked the look of this product better than the real wood. We purchased enough product to replace all our carpeting. We have finished the downstairs and it looks excellent. We are novices and it did take longer than planned, but you eventually get the hang of the cutting/planning. Not an easy job, but saving on the labor gave us flooring cheaper than we could have done carpet. We installed over the Roberts noise reduction underlayment. I would have rated this a 4 but we had to return a fair number of the boxes due to damaged boards. Quite a few had broken corners and major scratches. I recommend you go through all your boxes carefully. This floor also scratches and chips easier than I expected, but it's still a great value for the price. Looks like it cost us a lot more. You can touch up the scratches with a pergo pen and filler. Not really noticeable until you point it out to someone. I do recommend an area rug over heavy traffic areas like hallway to avoid scratching.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
Poohmick

Nice floor but disappointed

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two boxes for a small project. I love the color but was disappointed in the quality. It was my contractor's opinion that the box delivered to me consisted of pieces that had been used. They splintered easily and the edges were bent, almost broken. He had to pick through it carefully.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
Brenda
from Concord nc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Looks great

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had installed in whole house. Looks great and got a buy on it since it is discontinued. Only had 3 pieces that had something wrong with them. Love it and would do it again. Hoem Depot was great in their help.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
blueskydeluxe
from Cleveland, OH
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't get this floor.

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The sample looked really good when I got it home. It wasn't until I ordered 400sq ft of it and installed three rows that I realized it has waviness to it - making it look like wrinkled, wet cardboard. The surface feel is cheap and very slippery and sounds cheap, too. The boards show dust, footprints, smudges, mop streaks - impossible to keep spotless. For me it was too late to turn back, but for you its not. DO NOT ORDER THIS FLOORING.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: impossible to keep clean, feels and sounds like plastic, looks like wrinkled wet cardboard
-5points
6out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
GLOBALDAWG
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NICE LOOKING BUT.......

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
PRODUCT LOOKS GOOD BUT THE INSTALLERS ARE TELLING ME THERE ARE QUITE A FEW BOARDS WITH CHIPS IN THEM,ALSO SOME OF THE SNAP TOGETHER GROOVES ARE BAD RENDERING THE BOARDS USELESS.LAST NOTE THE MANUFACTURER WAS SUPPOSED TO SHIP THE TRANSITIONS AND 1 FINAL CASE TO ARRIVE IN 3 DAYS TO MEET INSTALLERS.ALAS THE MNFCTR DECIDES TO SHIP OUT OF GA,AFTER THEY ASSURED HOME DEPOT ON THE PHONE THAT IT WOULD SHIP THE FOLLOWING DAY OUT OF CALIF ON A RUSH PLZ EXPEDITE BASIS, INCURRING ADDITIONAL EXPENSES FOR AN ADDITIONAL TRIP NEXT WEEK FOR THE INSTALLERS TO FINISH..NOT GOOD! I WAS WILLING TO PAY UPS 3 DAY SO IT COULD ARRIVE ON TIME BUT WAS ASSURED BY THE MANUFACTURER THAT IT WOULD SHIP FROM THE WEST COAST TO OREGON..DID NOT HAPPEN!!!
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
ORNA

GREAT PRICE GREAT PRODUCT

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT PRODUCT GREAT QUALITY GREAT PRICE LOOKS NATURAL GREAT COLOR
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hand Scraped Canyon Grenadillo 8mm Thick x 5-9/16 in. Wide x 47-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (18.45 sq. ft./case)
JIMBO

This is a great looking floor!

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great floor. Very easy to install. Loved the floor so much that I did another room with it!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.