728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher

48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher

Agri-Fab 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher is perfect for the larger gardens with its twenty four heat treated tines that are three sixteenth in diameter each. Ideal for bringing matted layers of thatch and large clippings to the surface. Has a simple to use cantilever transport handle for easy raising and lowering.
Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product29 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(13)
4
(18)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Features 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product29 of 30reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
Review 1 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Oregon WI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great purchase

PostedApril 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Time consuming to assemble but went together just fine. Helpful to read instructions first. Important things to remember: tighten all bolts to the max, level unit after hooking up to your tractor, add weight but keep it to the center of the unit, make sure grass is relatively dry to avoid build-up on tines. If you put weight to the outside, the unit will wobble. I went over each area several times. It did an excellent job and I am completely satisfied.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
easy to assemble , need to add weight for it to work right
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Stafford, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, lousy packing

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This dethatcher is a good product., However, the original product arrived in a box that looked like it had been opened and parts had been removed. The box was torn, tape was split and it was missing 11 of the 12 spring tines, a mounting plate and a few nuts and bolts. Customer service was prompt with the replacement parts - 2 days. Assembly was not difficult (once I had all the parts). I did download an instruction PDF from the Agri-Fab website that detailed the assembly process. It was a lot easier to use than the assembly diagram that came in the box. It took about an hour to assemble.
The dethatcher does need additional weight so that the tines stay in contact with the ground as you run around the lawn. I used a couple of extra decorator bricks. It took me 2 days to completely dethatch my 3/4 acre lawn because of the buildup of grass clippings in my yard. It does work as stated.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: shipping box torn, parts missing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Boston, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Unit, Good Internet Price - Parts Missing

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This thing is pretty decent - I recommend it compared to the other products on the market.
I used it once and it performed as promised
PROS:
- solid construction
- good materials
- decent price as an internet purchase
CONS:
- it was missing 9 parts when it arrived (tines and a tow-bracket plate - they arrived w/in 3 days of my call)
- it takes a while to assemble, with some brute force (bending steel to hold in tines), so it's not for the convenience shopper
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Elma, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Buy!

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Assembly is not difficult but takes some time. I used this for over 2 acres and product held up well and works fantastically! GREAT VALUE. I definitely recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Lake Charles, LA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Useful Purchase

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product was easy to assembly. Have not the opportunity to use the product yet.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Ararat, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Lawn Tool

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I order the dethatcher online from Home Depot. I received it very fast. Very easy to assemble. Works great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Louisiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Good Purchase

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
very easy to assembile and use-good overall product
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Shelburne, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to use, great value

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble, easy to use, all around great product for the money! I was surprised how much dead grass was hidden in my lawns after a long winter!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher

Agri-Fab 48" tow dethatcher #45-0295

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The assembly was easy to follow. I would recommend using a drift to seat the tabs down that hold the tines instead of the screwdriver method in the instructions. That's just a hint. It keeps them from rattling a lot less.
The Dethatcher performed better than I thought it would. I was cleaning the tines out every few passes at first. I had a couple of hang weight's for my John Deere lawn tractor that I used for weighting the unit instead of bricks or patio stones that others and the directions suggested. They worked great. They weigh 42 lbs each so just one weight was all that was needed for my lawn.
My only suggestion for Agri-Fab would be to elongate the notch better for the handle being raised. It never happened to me but with weight on the unit it tends to lean a little when raised.
(Hint) The directions for use do not suggest this but in my experience if you back up slightly when before you are ready to clean out the tines, you'll find it much easier than try to pull the thatch out by just lifting the unit up and pulling it out.
The unit seems well made and some thought was put into assembling it. All the parts were included along with clear directions. I assembled this on a bench instead of on the ground for my use. A well made nice unit. I recommend.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from MA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good At What It Does

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Got it last week. No problem putting it together, had a bolt and a couple of nuts left over after putting it together correctly. Used it on bumpy at times 3/4 acre yard. First used 2 patio stones @ 17 lbs. each, Way too much weight as it dug up soft grass, was better without weight (YMMV).
Got up lots of thatch, but to get even more you should go in different directions a number of times. May have to stop often to clean the tines as they get clogged, as a previous reviewer said, backing up slightly makes it easier to clean.
Bottom line, so far it has done a good job for the money.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Cottonwood, California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Quality for the price

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Assembling the product was challenging and some nuts & bolts were missing. It worked very well on my lawn. I used it on my lawn for the first time in 30 years and it really performed well. I had to print out instructions from the website which made assembly a little easier.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dethatcher

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The assembly was very difficult, much easier as a two man job than by someone alone. Instructions were simply diagrams.It works fine on my large lawn however.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: instructions difficult
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does a good job!

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I put 2 22lb landscaping blocks on top of it and it did a good job. Not quite as good as a powerrake but it was much easier being able to pull it behind my lawnmower instead of having to use a powerrake.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Francestown, NH

Good purchase

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Difficult to assemble, read directions carefully, took an hour and a half. Would recommend d.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Easy to Store, Light Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher

lawn dethacther

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wouldn't recommend this dethaxer to hard to put together looks cheap I woundn't buy another one
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product is easy to use

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
worked great built great simple to use great thatcher clean years of mulched oak tree leaves up then baged them yard was greener with in weeks
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, thatched years of mulched leaves from my yard
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher

Can't use it!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Arrived missing two major parts....can't put it together! Have to get company to reship the rest of my machine, then I can actually give it a test.
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher

does exactly what it is supposed to do and does it very well.

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
1-2 hrs assemble time, no problem. Well made and does a good job.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Wyoming, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm not sure why other reviews say that it's difficult to assemble. If you are mechanically inclined it a breeze to put together. Once it's assembled it works perfectly. The only possible minor issue is the lever that raises the tynes is a little difficlut to release to lower them. Otherwise I think it's a good product that do4es what it is intended to do at a great value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>