728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher

48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher

Agri-Fab 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher is perfect for the larger gardens with its twenty four heat treated tines that are three sixteenth in diameter each. Ideal for bringing matted layers of thatch and large clippings to the surface. Has a simple to use cantilever transport handle for easy raising and lowering.
Overall rating:
4.04 / 5
4
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(12)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
Review 1 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Shelburne, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to use, great value

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble, easy to use, all around great product for the money! I was surprised how much dead grass was hidden in my lawns after a long winter!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Francestown, NH

Good purchase

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Difficult to assemble, read directions carefully, took an hour and a half. Would recommend d.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher

lawn dethacther

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wouldn't recommend this dethaxer to hard to put together looks cheap I woundn't buy another one
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from MA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good At What It Does

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got it last week. No problem putting it together, had a bolt and a couple of nuts left over after putting it together correctly. Used it on bumpy at times 3/4 acre yard. First used 2 patio stones @ 17 lbs. each, Way too much weight as it dug up soft grass, was better without weight (YMMV).
Got up lots of thatch, but to get even more you should go in different directions a number of times. May have to stop often to clean the tines as they get clogged, as a previous reviewer said, backing up slightly makes it easier to clean.
Bottom line, so far it has done a good job for the money.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher

Agri-Fab 48" tow dethatcher #45-0295

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The assembly was easy to follow. I would recommend using a drift to seat the tabs down that hold the tines instead of the screwdriver method in the instructions. That's just a hint. It keeps them from rattling a lot less.
The Dethatcher performed better than I thought it would. I was cleaning the tines out every few passes at first. I had a couple of hang weight's for my John Deere lawn tractor that I used for weighting the unit instead of bricks or patio stones that others and the directions suggested. They worked great. They weigh 42 lbs each so just one weight was all that was needed for my lawn.
My only suggestion for Agri-Fab would be to elongate the notch better for the handle being raised. It never happened to me but with weight on the unit it tends to lean a little when raised.
(Hint) The directions for use do not suggest this but in my experience if you back up slightly when before you are ready to clean out the tines, you'll find it much easier than try to pull the thatch out by just lifting the unit up and pulling it out.
The unit seems well made and some thought was put into assembling it. All the parts were included along with clear directions. I assembled this on a bench instead of on the ground for my use. A well made nice unit. I recommend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does a good job!

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put 2 22lb landscaping blocks on top of it and it did a good job. Not quite as good as a powerrake but it was much easier being able to pull it behind my lawnmower instead of having to use a powerrake.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product is easy to use

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
worked great built great simple to use great thatcher clean years of mulched oak tree leaves up then baged them yard was greener with in weeks
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, thatched years of mulched leaves from my yard
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher

Can't use it!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Arrived missing two major parts....can't put it together! Have to get company to reship the rest of my machine, then I can actually give it a test.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher

does exactly what it is supposed to do and does it very well.

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1-2 hrs assemble time, no problem. Well made and does a good job.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Roosevelt utah
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What it needs

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It does need to be made with some weight to it instead of having to build sand bags. Everyone doesn't sew
Pros: Easy to Use
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher

Works well, but be advised:

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
With a moderate level of complexity, the dethatcher went together. However, the illustrations, and parts list, in the included manual were all wrong. After downloading the correct info from Agri-Fab's site, all was well. As others have stated, you must place some weight on top of the unit to properly dethatch your lawn. All in all, well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Wyoming, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm not sure why other reviews say that it's difficult to assemble. If you are mechanically inclined it a breeze to put together. Once it's assembled it works perfectly. The only possible minor issue is the lever that raises the tynes is a little difficlut to release to lower them. Otherwise I think it's a good product that do4es what it is intended to do at a great value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Manassas, Va
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice product for the money.

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered this product online. Was delivered promptly unassembled. Assembly was easy. Once wieghted properly it performed well. Great for removing the carpet moss in my yard.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dethatches yard quick w/o damage to yard.

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Instructions were easy to follow and operation is simple. I used 4 22 lbs (88 lbs) as additional weight to dethatch yard, appear to work okay.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: light weight would preferred heaver gauge metal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from PA

Excellent Product

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing rocks!! My lawn looked terrible from the very dry summer. I received the dethatcher less than 3 days after I ordered it (free shipping BTW). After a single use, I couldn't believe how much old, dead grass came up. I overseeded after dethatching and my lawn looks great! I'm ready for the winter and look forward to seeing how the lawn looks next spring.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher

pain to put together

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
pain to put together, product works ok, lift arm hard to use, must put weight on it to fuction right
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Much better than the dethatcher I used to have. Works well on our centipede and zoysia with 8.8 lbs. plates on both sides. Would be nice if there were more/bigger holes to run a bolt through to hold the plates in place. Easy to raise the deck for crossing pavement and taking to neighbors' homes. Several of them want me to do their yards now, too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Waldo, Oh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product f/ the price

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One note: don't rely on the manual totally. The manual refers to the wrong size of the item to be used. Also, pictures are not laid out properly. Try to look ahead, before assembling or else you will be undoing what you just done.
Other then that, the item works well. Assembly took alittle more time, due to the manual errors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just a lot of pieces to put together.

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works very well. My only objection was there was nothing put together on this device. All tines had to be locked into place and then tabs bent to complete the locking process. I guess that is the price we pay for free shipping as if it had been partially assembled, a bigger box would have been needed for shipping.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 48 in. Tow Lawn Dethatcher
from Crete, Illinois

nice unit at the rite price

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did my back yard 10,00 square feet, with my garden tractor and it came out fine, you need to get the dethatcher level with whatever is towing it and it just goes, clean the tines occationally, go cross ways, up and down the yard and you will get it done. I thought about renting one but it was more than this cost. I also get to keep this when I'm done so I can use it again. A very good value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>