728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wall Paint & Trim or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-Gal. Semi-Gloss Interior Paint

1-Gal. Semi-Gloss Interior Paint

KILZ PRO-X 1-Gallon Semi-gloss Interior Paint features a water-base formula that is designed for application with sprayers, brushes and rollers. This professional paint offers a dark base and great touch-up and hiding performance. It can cover up to 400 sq. ft. when used on trim and wall surfaces.
Overall rating:
4.765 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product16 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product16 of 17reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 1-Gal. Semi-Gloss Interior Paint
Review 1 for 1-Gal. Semi-Gloss Interior Paint
DNSnyder
from Metamora, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Paint!

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased a new house in need of full renovation. There was a combination of drywall repair, new drywall, and painted surfaces that needed to be addressed. The colors that needed to be covered were extremely bold (dark brown, dark red, dark blue, bright yellow, bright yellow with orange/pink spray paint). I ended up choosing Kilz 2 primer and paired with Kilz Pro X 300 series (both semi-gloss and eggshell finishes) for the entire house. I ended up using 2 coats of primer on all rooms because of the bold colors and varying degrees of drywall construction. Kilz Pro X 300 series paint applied smoothly and evenly with little/no show of roller/brush marks, including touch-ups. The amount of paint required was much less than I expected to use, even with applying two full coats. I don't have any information regarding the durability, longevity, washability, etc. of this product yet, as I just finished all of my painting project a few days ago.
Overall, I am very impressed with this primer/paint combination and I would highly recommend to anyone needing to tackle a painting project.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-Gal. Semi-Gloss Interior Paint
DIYtiliDie
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

all 7 previous reviews are shill reviews

PostedApril 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
All previous 7 reviews are fake, used only to artificially inflate the rating of this paint.
Notice how they talk about "dulling" and generally talk about the same thing.
Try with caution.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-Gal. Semi-Gloss Interior Paint
jackr75
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rolls smooth, great hiding

PostedApril 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Painted two bathrooms with this Kilz paint in the colors called "Skinless Olive, px0935" (dark sage green) and "Opera Evening, px0755" (medium purple). The walls still look freshly painted, no fading to the colors, and sheen looks even, no dull spots after frequently wiping down steam.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-Gal. Semi-Gloss Interior Paint
jmills906

Durable finish after 2 years

PostedApril 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I took a chance on this paint 2 years ago, never used it before. My busy kitchen was painted in a red color called Lively Samba and the semi-gloss finish held up well cleaning off grease without dulling. The color hasn't faded out on me either. The paint is well worth the cost.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-Gal. Semi-Gloss Interior Paint
brady6615
from Boulder, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Durable paint, still looking new

PostedApril 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Two years ago, my guest bathroom was painted in a green (Potted Plant) with this Kilz paint. I believe this paint was new to Home Depot back then. I have had fading issues with green in this bathroom with a much more expensive paint from another paint store, lasted less than a year. I wipe down steam from this bathroom often. So far, this Kilz paint has measured up to my expectations: consistent color and sheen. I will definitely use Kilz again for the master bathroom.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-Gal. Semi-Gloss Interior Paint
mitchp88
from Provo, UT, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent paint, enamel finish lasts

PostedApril 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a shared bathroom that builds up a lot of steam and it has been painted twice before in 2010. Back in January 2011, I bought paint from Home Depot for the first time. This Kilz paint is the best I have used. I wipe down the moisture from the walls every week, and the finish hasn't dulled out. The color, Cinco de Mayo, still looks great. I used to spend twice as much for another "boutique" brand I used before, but the Kilz outlasted it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-Gal. Semi-Gloss Interior Paint
darius86
from San Diego, CA 92113, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Covers well, smooth finish

PostedApril 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Kilz paint was well worth my time and money. I painted my master bathroom with this paint last year (color is Blue Velvet, PX0480) and the semi-gloss finish holds up very well to heavy steam, daily with no fading. Another paint I used before dulled in six months, which I paid three times as much from a paint store. I just finished painting my son's bathroom in Mystery Green, PX0680. I don't have to spend a fortune to get excellent paint.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-Gal. Semi-Gloss Interior Paint
nolan888
from Hanford, CA 93230, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great paint, better than others costing more

PostedApril 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sticks well to a primed surface, no peeling. Semi gloss cleans well, after allowing a full cure in about two weeks. Another pricier paint I used remain soft after one month of curing. Your competition does not measure up in quality to the Kilz prox paint. Painted an accent wall in the color: Morning Coffee (dark brown), looks great.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-Gal. Semi-Gloss Interior Paint
rays65
from Lincoln, NE, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent washability; rich, uniform color

PostedApril 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No dull spots with this paint, even semi-gloss finish. After three weeks of curing, finish is tough enough to be cleaned, which I can't say for more pricier paints I've used before. The brown accent wall is immaculate (Caramel Bar, PX0595) in my den.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 1-Gal. Semi-Gloss Interior Paint
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
8 out of 8 recommend this product