728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED

50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED

When it's time to mow a tough lawn, use the array of tools at your disposal on this Cub Cadet 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki 6-Speed Zero-Turn Riding Mower. The rust-resistant triple-blade design features 6 cutting positions to help cut your grass as low as 1-1/2 in., and the 50 in. cutting width helps you mow a wide area of grass in less time and with fewer passes. A steel frame provides durability for heavy and frequent mowing. Take a refreshing beverage along for the ride in the built-in cup holder.
Overall rating:
3.84 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product18 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product18 of 25reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED
from Central Arkansas

Its Good

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've used it 3 times so far. It is easy to use and the yard looks great. I mow 3 1/4 acres. It used to take me about 4 1/2 hours to mow and with the zero turn I get it done in about 2 3/4 hours. I have a few trees that drop something that looks simular to an acorn, but lighter and slightly larger. The mower picks these up and throws them. Twice now, one of these things has gotten between the drive pulley and the drive belt and have caused the belt to flip off. I don't fault the mower for this and I'm able to reinstall the belt in about 5 minutes. It is something to keep in mind, however. Overall its a great mower that manuvers easy and makes mowing a little more fun... if that is possible...
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED
from Oxbow, NY

Great mower with minor flaws.

PostedJune 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this mower this year using the free delivery. It was delivered to my door and assembled easily. Started right up. It runs and mows great. I mow between three and four acres and it has reduced my mowing time significantly. I have two minor complaints. If you are mowing over uneven ground and you're going too fast, the deck will bounce out of the height you set and you can scalp the lawn. But, you can just slow down a little. The other complaint is when using the mulching attachment, it does the job, however, grass accumulates all over the top of the deck where the belts are located and it takes a lot of cleaning to get it all off of there. If you're going to mow without a mulching attachment, or bag it, that won't be a problem. Well worth the money.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED
from Loris, SC

Great mower so far

PostedJune 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great mower so far. However, the factory forgot to put grease in the left front wheel. This is my 2nd Cub Cadet Zero turn and I really like them. Although the website claims "no assembly required" It WILL take you 30-45 minutes to assemble and set everything up.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED
from Durham, North Carolina

Warranty not honored

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased my Cub Cadet on 3/25/2011. The gear drive is knocking and right wheel will not pull good. I have called for service repair and every time I call they say they will return my call. It has been days and I never get a call back but the same story when I call. Beware of the warranty, it is not honored!
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED

Not a good purchase

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not a durable mower. I've had mine less than 4 months and I've had to repair it 5 times. I am currently inside because the guide on the deck discharge broke and is getting into the blade.
I know some better than thou's out there will say it's my fault, but like most folks that would need a 50" mower, I don't have a manicured 5 acres to mow. It has it's rough places and even though I'm careful, the stinkin deck likes to grab, and the steel is so flimsy it broke.
I wouldn't recommend this mower. If I had it to do over, I'd have bought another John Deere, but I fell in love with the price of this mower and all the gleaming reviews and now I'm paying for it.
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED
from Ohio

Great speed, performance & quality

PostedJune 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Shipping was fast and the Cub Cadet 50 zero turn has not only cut our mowing time in half, it has allowed up to expand our yard to it's full potential by easily cutting down tall grass in areas we could not go on our old rider. Great product, great brand!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED

Monumental Mower!!!

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The best 3 features I have noticed so far are the pivoting front axle, the 4 anti-scalp coaster wheels and the extra wide discharge chute. This 24hp Cub Cadet with it's 50" deck makes my grass clippings disappear in 1 pass and it makes my yard look like a perfectly manicured base ball park. After using my mint condition 13hp 38" deck MTD riding mower for over 12 years I was more than ready to try a 0-turn mower to save time and boy did this Cub Cadet fit the bill! My mowing time went from 2.5 hours to 1.0 hour with this 0-turn Cub.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED
from Oregon

Performance on this product exceeds expectations!

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first ZTR mower and it took me just minutes to get comfortable with the operation. Read the manual..a first and it was very readable and gave great instruction on operation. Was very happy with the cutting deck, power and speed at which i could cut. Also the ability of the mower to cut tall grass and discharge it with out stalling the engine. only improvement would be shocks for a smoother ride on rough ground!!!!!!! would highly recommend this mower
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED
from Wylie, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First Hand experience

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered online to get free delivery to my home, since we do not own truck to pick up from store.
shipped everything clean and neat. The very next day, i read all the instruction how to install few things. Started my bumble bee( RZT 50'', Zero turn) for test drive. I was able to steer and maneuver it nicely. After few minutes, stopped and started again and practiced.
After an hour, I came back to test drive again. To my surprise, key didn't go through. I was shocked after seeing the deformed key just by starting 23times since it arrived.
I am not a body builder or a muscle man to twist it hard. I handle it very carefully since its a 3000 bucks machine. Immediately called Home depot and explained the situation. The said will send a replacement Key.
The Chinese proved that their factory made is always ultra low standard metals.
I will once again write my review based on the experience after using it for a while.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Small Turn Radius
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED
from Greeley, co

Great product

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great zero turn mower, excellent maneuverability, clean cut and easy to operate. Kawasaki 726 cc twin cylinder engine provides plenty of power. Mowing my 2.5 acres now takes only about 1 hour 45 min down from 4 hours with my old riding mower. Quick delivery and virtually no assembly required.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED
from Clay Center, Kansas

Rockin' Cub Cadet

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love my new mower. It is easy to start and easy to drive.
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED

Already having issues

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband and I were so excited to finally buy a zero-turn mower and this is the model we decided on. We have mowed our 2 acre lawn 4 times without complaint, then the left side drive went haywire. We have been arguing with warranty issues since. Two weeks we have been without our mower. The mower is too new and expensive to already be having mechanical issues. Very disappointed with this mower, Cub Cadet, and Home Depot. Do not waste your hard earned money on this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED
from Columbia SC

2 dislikes

PostedApril 18, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It isn't easy to get on and off the Mower, It Needs a grab Bar.........also if you go over unleveled ground and if the deck catches enough ground the deck will fall to the ground and you will have to reset the desired level.
-14points
19out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED
from Hamilton, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cuts great, very reliable

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
mines 4 years old and replaced one of the fans on the transmission (stick got to it) and the battery, does kill the grass when parked in yard so we don't do that any more and it does ride rough, could use some springs in suspension, I run my tires a little soft to help with this, still the best mower I've ever had and will buy another when this one finally dies (not soon I'm positive)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED
from nc

stopped working after 2 days!!

PostedMay 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Late delivery then used for two days and mower does not function in drive forward mode. Hope they replace or fix asap
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED
from Rehoboth, Massachusetts

The product works well

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product works well. It cut my mowing time by at least 50%. However, it does use much more fuel than my old mower, but then this machine does have two engines.
I purchased an optional bagging unit. Don't waste your money. The design is inferior and I spend more time clearing the chute than I do mowing. I've read reviews that said the bagged worked well on moist grass. They reviewers must have worked for Cub Cadet/MTD. I have to go atleast 3-4 days days for the bagged to work even remotely well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good cut but exhaust burns grass if you stop

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had a 42 rzt for years sold to neighbor and bought 50rzt.you can tell quality is down thinner deck hangers.I can't stand that if I empty the bag with mower running it will leave a burn spot in grass within the next few days.contacted warranty and the act like it the first time you have every owned a mower.I dont care what time off year it burns grass at idle.even less than 30seconds running there. my 42 rzt could run on lawn for a hour in the same spot without browning the lawn.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED
from Sanibel, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cub Cadet RZT 50

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the 1st RZT-50 in 2005,. I loved the machine and it lasted over 200 hrs. with little problems other then needing a replacement starter. However, on my 2nd purchased of the RZT-50, it too worked great for the 1st season. Starting the 2nd year, the starter, deck belt, solenoid and battery needed replacement. Then, ending year two, the RH Hydrostatic transmission went out. I now read that this is a common problem with the Cub Cadet RZT-50.
I suggest that before you invest $3,000 (which is really inexpensive for a Zero turn machine) Google the RZT-50 transmission problem then decide for yourself. As for me, I turned to Husqvarana and Ariens for my tractors. Cub Cadet who once had a good name with me, seems to have really disappointed their customer base. My problem was never with HD. The machines have always worked past their specified warranty period. If all you want for your $3,000 is just 1 reasonable season, then this is your machine. Please know, that starting in the second season, each time you mow grass, you're on borrowed time.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Cons: Not Durable, known transmission problems, known starter problems
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product with great features and ease of operation

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just used my zero turn for the first time and I love it. Cut my mowing time in half and is fun to operate. Plows thru high grass with no problem and the Kawasaki engine runs smooth and quite. One thing to check if buying assembled from the store is to make sure all bit piece parts are installed. After loading it on the trailer my son noticed missing attachment bolts for the seat. HD made it right before I departed for home.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 50 in. 24 HP Kawasaki V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower RZT50 DISCONTINUED
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent product

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent machine. I found the instruction manual easy to follow and very helpful.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine, Small Turn Radius
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>