728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator

2000-Watt Inverter Generator

Whether it's tailgating, camping, or smaller power needs for the job site, the Ryobi Inverter Generator delivers clean, extremely quiet (50% quieter than a standard generator) power for a wide range of items. This unit is safe to use with sensitive electronics like laptops and flat panel TV's but can also power lights, refrigerators and other household items. The Ryobi Inverter Generator is designed for maximum performance and superior convenience- with feature such as Auto-Idle which saves fuel and reduces noise and digital monitoring '“ that alerts the user to power overloads and low oil levels. The generator has integrated wheels and extendable handle for easy transport. Auto charging cables are included and each generator is backed with a 3-Year warranty.
Overall rating:
3.806 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product24 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(20)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product24 of 32reviews
Customer reviews for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator
Review 1 for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator
from Raleigh, NC

First impression: pretty good so far.

PostedMay 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just picked up this generator today from my local Home Depot store. This model is Ryobi's first entry into the inverter generator market. I took some photos while unboxing it but there's really not much to it. You get the generator, a bottle of 10w-30 oil, an oil filler bottle, a spark plug wrench extension, a battery charging cable, and the owner's manual. The manual claims that a tool bag, socket wrench, and wrench handle should also be included, but I think that is probably a typo. You will need your own socket wrench and 5/8" socket to change the spark plug.
After adding the oil and putting in about 1/4 tank of gas, I went to fire it up for the first time. Pulled 6 times with choke on, got nothing. Tried 1/2 choke and no choke, but still no luck. I added some more gas to bring it up to 1/2 tank, just in case the gas feed line wasn't sitting near the bottom of the tank. Same deal. Removed the spark plug and tested it against the metal chassis and was getting a spark so the plug seemed ok. I reinstalled it and tried starting again. As a last-ditch effort I changed the idle switch to Auto (with choke on full), instead of Off, and then the generator started up. Upon subsequent starts I did not have to enable auto-idle, so I think it was just a coincidence. I've had similar difficulty starting other brand-new engines but I don't expect this to be a problem in the future.
Once it had warmed up for few minutes with the choke off, I got my 13amp circular saw and plugged it in. The generator speed increased (even with auto-idle turned off) but it seemed to have no problem running the saw. The maximum continuous load permitted by this generator is 13.33A. After that I hooked up a couple of my Ryobi 18V lithium chargers and had it charge some batteries with auto-idle enabled.
This is my first inverter generator but it does seem pretty quiet compared to open-frame gensets. Honda rates their "super quiet" generator noise at 7 meters so that is what I used for my test. With auto-idle enabled and no load on the generator I measured 58dB (A-weight) and with auto-idle disabled I measured 62dB (A-weight). Readings taken in my fenced-in back yard which probably increased the sound level a little bit. I wasn't able to test the sound level at full-load. The short video linked in this review shows the generator switching between auto-idle mode and regular mode, but with the cheap microphone on my camera you may not hear much of a difference.
The telescoping handle feels a bit cheap and the wheels are pretty small, but they do make transporting the generator very easy on pavement or short grass. The wheels seem to be roller-blade style wheels so they actually have a clear rubber surface, not a plastic surface. The generator can also be carried one-handed if you can lift ~50 lbs plus the weight of any gas in the tank.
To check/clean the air filter you have to remove both the green side panel and the black air filter cover (Philips screw). There are 2 pieces, both can be washed with soap when dirty. The gas tank has a debris screen which was a nice inclusion, but there is no gas gauge. The tank only needs to be vented while running the engine, during storage or transportation it should be closed. There's also a drain tube that you can see if you remove the side panel, it is used to remove any gasoline from the carburetor for long-term storage. You should still use gasoline stabilizer like Sta-bil to treat gas used in small engines.
Regarding maintenance, the first oil change should be done at 10 hours (or 1 month). Thereafter at 100 hours (6 months). Spark plug and air filter replacement recommended at 300 hours (1 year).
It shouldn't be a surprise to anyone, but the generator is made in China like many other Ryobi products. The engine is manufactured by Yongkang ZhongJian Tools. It is EPA compliant, emission rated for 250 hours. This is the same company that makes the TOPSUN brand inverter generators. In fact the TG2000i generator looks just like the Ryobi generator except it doesn't have the wheels or pull handle. The generator specification label says Techtronic Industries North America which is the parent company of the Ryobi brand.
The warranty is 3-years for residential use or 90-days for commercial use. The purchaser is responsible for shipping charges to & from a Ryobi service center so keep that in mind.
One final thing, in the Ryobi owner's manual and in the manual for most portable generators you will find a warning that the generator must always be grounded using 8-gauge copper wire connected to an existing grounding system or to a metal rod driven at least 8 feet into the ground. Many people use their portable generators without grounding them, which is allowable by OSHA as long as the generator uses its own metal frame as a grounding point and all electric devices are directly connected via extension cord, outlet strip, etc. If the generator is connected directly to a building transfer switch it has to be properly grounded. The plastic casing of the Ryobi generator also makes it highly unlikely that you could electrocute yourself if there was an internal short in the wiring.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+56points
56out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator
from Traveling the World

Great Quiet Generator for the Price!

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this generator today for the primary use of running a 6500btu A/C unit for camping in the 90-100 degree southern heat and to recharge the battery bank on my truck while staying in one place for multiple days. While I can't yet comment on it's fuel efficiency or longevity I can say that it will serve my needs perfectly and runs the 6500btu A/C unit at around 3/4 idle when the compressor is on and low idle when just the fan is on. Even at 3/4 or fast idle the generator is very quiet and you are able to carry on a normal conversation standing next to it. Set it 25ft or more away from your camp and you won't even hear it!
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator
from MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A keeper, smaller is better when it fills a need.

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had picked this up at HD as a used clearance table item for less than half of the retail price. An opportunity buy that was a no brainer for me. Always looking in that section of the store I had never seen this model at HD before so I was surprised it was there. With a three year warranty why not take a chance. I already own the red companies eu3000 and the only complaint on that unit is the weight. It takes two people to handle it for transport. This Ryobi unit is much easier to handle for one person and although it is less power it fits a need and is a keeper.
When I got it home I did all the maintenance on it because as a clearance item I had no idea where it had been. One advantage of this size unit is you can pick it up and put it on a table and work on it. I changed the oil and looked it over and lightly used would be my description. With fresh gas it started right up. I used it to power the shop vac and proceeded to clean the garage. I also brought it to the lake where I charged the battery on my boat with the 12V cord that comes with it. I drained the fuel from the carb bowl per the instructions and put it away in July.
For the recent storm in October we lost power for an extended period so I pulled it out and used it the next day. Because I had drained the carb bowl I think it took a few more pulls, maybe 5 to start and then one or 2 thereafter. I never had any stalls. For a Sunday I had it running a TV, Satellite dvr and surround receiver and add to that the refrigerator. Football and cold beer for a Sunday without power, not bad at all. I was able to watch the 1:00PM game and the 4:00PM game on one tank of fuel. That is 6 or 7 hours on less than one gallon ! I could hear a momentary surge once and a while when the fridge kicked in, but it would settle back down to what is the idle RPM. On the Auto idle the RPM seems a little high but I can't complain because it never skipped a beat.
As far as sound goes I think this one is louder than the eu3000 but that is like comparing apples to oranges because the 3000 runs at a lower idle speed. This is a lower noise generator that when standing next to it I can hear all the larger noisemakers hundreds of yards away in the neighborhood. Be nice to your neighbors and get a generator with an inverter like this.
Yes, this is a knockoff of the red company 2000 and only time will tell if it can match the durability and start-ability. It does have a better warranty, easier to roll around and it is a keeper for me.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator
from Pelham, AL

Great little Generator

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I haven't been able to put this generator to the total watt test but running small electronics and tools are no problem. It is fairly lightweight and easy to use and the handle makes moving around easy for my wife. It is quieter than a lawnmower and when idle is pretty quiet but only thing keeping me from a 5 star is that it is a little louder than I had hoped (still pretty quiet for a generator). So far no issues and love the compact size.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator

CHEAP AND POWERFUL

PostedJuly 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had reservations buying this unit. So when it arrived I statred it right up. Like other reviewers it would start and then stop. It turns out that the gas cap has a air relief valve that must be opened for operation. Once I opened this it ran like a gem!! I also bought this to power my furnace in the event of a winter power failure - it uses about 1800 watts - no problem. I'm very pleased.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleased

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased the Ryobi 2000 Watt inverter generator to use for camping and backup power at home if needed. The unit was a return item found at our local HD store at a very good price. After checking the oil and adding fuel, it started on the second pull and idled quietly. The pull cord is very easy to pull… I expect my wife could easily start it. The unit is not overly heavy (approx 50 lbs) and is easily moved from the truck bed to the camper without assistance.
I connected a small space heater to test the output and it functioned fine. I moved the heater to high (about 1300 watts), the RPM increased as expected, and performed good.
At low idle the unit is VERY quiet. I’ve heard the Honda 2000W units in campgrounds… I’d say at low idle the noise level is comparable. I’ve never heard a Honda at high idle. The Ryobi does get louder at high idle, but not overly loud like an open frame generator.
We connected the generator to the camper, it idled fairly low with just the 60 watt inverter charging the batteries. With the fridge on AC power the RPM increased. With the inverter & fridge on, I powered the microwave (1100 watts) and tripped the generator’s circuit breaker.
After turning off the fridge & microwave, I turned the generator off and restarted it to reset the breaker. With the fridge off I tried the microwave with the inverter charging the batteries… the idle increased and the microwave ran for 10 seconds with no problems. I’ve not had an opportunity to test the microwave for a longer time period.
Next I tested the generator with the inverter and my wife’s blow dryer (1500 watts). The generator’s idle increased as expected. The generator powered the inverter and blow dryer for about 30 seconds with no issues.
I do not expect the generator will power the camper’s A/C unit, so I didn’t attempt it.
The main purpose for our purchase was to recharge our camper’s batteries and power a few AC devices while camping. It is reasonably quiet powering the inverter to charge the batteries. It powers my wife’s blow dryer and the microwave (separately) while charging the batteries. So far, we are pleased.
The true test will be running it in the woods to really see how loud it is in that setting. It is a little loud at high idle, but this is not unexpected. I expect the noise level will be acceptable for our purposes; however, I will probably build an enclosure to dampen the noise for our neighboring campers.
With only a couple hours use, we have observed NO issues with oil/fuel leaks or shutting down unexpectedly.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do NOT Buy A Ryobi Generator

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I bought a Ryobi RY2000 which failed right out of the box, leaking oil after
only 1-1/2 hours of use but as it was past the 30 day Home Depot warranty,
I was forced to take it to a local service center, which luckily was one I had
used before for lawnmowers and such and was thus familiar with them.
The service center wrote off the generator as scrap (leaking oil from both the
crank seal and rear engine cover) and informed me that Ryobi would send
me a replacement.
After waiting 2 weeks, I contacted Ryobi and they claimed they knew nothing
about this and after going around and around playing phone tag with the service
center as well as Ryobi, Homelite and Ridged (I'm still not clear on who owns who)
Ryobi insisted on a repair instead of a replacement, for a BRAND NEW generator
that failed the first time it was used.
I was told by the service center that despite them not having a Ryobi service manual
for this generator and none being available from Ryobi, they were told by Ryobi techs
to just use any brand of crank shaft seal and that might or might not work, which they
quite rightly refused to do.
And that's were I stand today, a MONTH after taking it in for warranty work, I STILL
don't have my generator and if I demand a replacement instead of a jury rigged
repair job, Ryobi claims a replacement won't be available until maybe March of 2012.
In short; DO NOT buy this generator, (and I'd suggest avoiding Ryobi, Homelite and
Ridged products in general) as the quality control at Ryobi is seriously lacking and
in the event it fails, they'll string you along and leave you with a patched-up unit.
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator

Excellent generator/inverter

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
ordered this on-line during a major power outage in New England. Showed up in 3 days with no special shipping. Ran the gas/forced air furnace, 3-4 ights, coffee maker and refrig no problems and very stable power, not a flicker with the lights. (I ran a non-inverter generator in the past and the voltage flutuation caused lights to dim/brighten continually, even the refrig shut down a few times). I also ran this along side a honda 1000 watt inverter and there was no difference in the noise level. For half the price of a Honda it's agreat deal!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performs Excellent and worth the Value

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This generator works great for tailgating or at your next big event. Generates ample power to run two drop cords and power just about anything. I have used this unit to run as backup power on the boat. It will run 2 small refrigerators, battery charger, and the lights. Very quiet! Well worth the money! Can’t wait to take it camping during the spring on our next trip.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator
from denver, colorado

Works OK, I just need a bigger one.

PostedJune 28, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This generator was good for powering up the electrical in our 25' camper, however, if we turned on the coffee pot or microvave while the furnace was on then the generator overloaded. Easy to start--in fact my wife started it alot. Not as quiet as I would have liked, but still was not as loud as some other units.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator
from Highlands Ranch, CO

There is just no power!

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've been evaluating various 2000 watt generators to power my camper this summer. I previously rented the Honda to provide a reference point. The honda worked well, but since it was so much more expensive I didn't buy one. I decided to try this ryobi next.
I purchased this a bit over a week ago and took it on an extended camping tour. It started right away - and ran well - and consistently. Unfortunately it didn't power nearly as much as the Honda did. I couldn't run a small microwave, air conditioner or even a large fan. It was so gutless that I stopped unpacking it after the first stop because it couldn't support anything larger than a laptop and a few handheld electronics.
It will be returned tomorrow. Don't waste your time. If it doesn't actually generate electricity then it's worthless.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator
from Exeter, RI

Awesome Generator

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great Generator I used this at my mother’s house during the past storm that left us without power for 37 hours. I plugged in her deep freezer and refrigerator into the outlets with extensions cords ran for two three hours at several intervals and after the power was restored the temperateness were both at safe levels. This unit is very quiet.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator

Great Product

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this generator for a few weeks now. I wanted it mostly for camping. I wanted the Honda but couldn't get around to spending almost a grand on something I'd use a few times a year. The Ryobi is fairly quiet and gets the job done. Enough juice to recharge the battery, cell phones, radio, and ran the cofeemaker just fine. Very happy with it. The wheels and the handle make it a breeze to transport. 3 Year warranty and plenty of service centers close to me. Give it a try. HD has a great return policy so if it doesn't work for you, return it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator

Lite weight easy to carry. Generator seems great.

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Only draw back was the pull handle has to be held low if you are pulling it on uneven ground. Nothing wrong with the generator itself
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator
from Anderson, SC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Power in Small Package

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It has excellent power in a small package. It runs pretty quiet considering the value associated with the expense of the product. The telescopic handle and wheels make the compact frame a pleasure to take with you. Even running at a full load the inverter generator does not use a great deal of gasoline. It would be helpful if there was some kind of gauge so that you could know how much fuel was remaining. I also would suggest a little bit of a longer telescopic arm for individuals around 6 feet tall, to avoid bending down while rolling the inverter generator. Not many complaints could be held against this item, due to its overwhelmingly incredible value for the price paid.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator
from Villa Rica, GA

Awesome

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the greatest generator ever. It's small, starts very easily, light weight, and has a travel handle to wheel it around with like luggage. how cool is that.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator
from Pueblo,Co

Generator may have been overrated in the watts department

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The generator fires up and runs good,but would not run a 1850watt hairdryer by itself or a 1450 watt microwave by itself.we were at 10,000 feet in elevation,but it should have ran them individualy my father-in-laws old 1850 colman did.So as soon as we got home I took it back thats to bad because I liked the little thing if only it did what it should have:(
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator
from Andersonville, TN

Great Product, Excellent Price!

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this generator for use with my small travel Trailer, and for backup use in event of power outage. It will run everything in my camper; dorm size refrigerator, microwave or toaster oven, lights and fan, simultaneously! To use the 7000 btu Airconditioner, it has to be directly plugged into the Generator(not through the Camper electrical system, and the only item plugged in, when in Air Conditioner mode. It WILL power the AC fan unit only, through the camper electrical system, along with everything else, simultaneously. At half the price for the "Red" company's unit, this is a great small generator/inverter! It allows me to go "off the grid" camping, for extended periods of time, very affordably! It is easy to start, and very quiet, even when it speeds up for full power demand( I have to consciously listen for it, to hear it). It is very lightweight and the wheels make it easy to move around. For my money, this is the best generator/invertor to buy, in this power size!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator
from Southern Utah
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Portable Power

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this generator for my pop-up trailer. I needed a unit which would no require me to keep filling it up every couple of hours, be quiet during operation, adapt to varying power demand, not heavy and be easy to start so anyone using the trailer could connect it, start and operate it.
I did not want to pay $1K for the generator.
The Ryobi generator meets all of my requirements although it's not always the easiest to cold start. It does restart easily after extended operation and refueling.
I haven't used it long enough to give it a rating on extended use year after year but my other Ryobi tools have been reliable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2000-Watt Inverter Generator
from The Colony, TX

Cheap construction

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this genset for about a month before I noticed it was leaking oil anywhere I parked it. The oil level sensor has a plug on the very bottom of the motor (which is mighty difficult to get to) which had sprung a leak.
Overall, it works as advertised but doesn't handle quick overloads at all. It also is picky about the angle you roll it around. Either you kill your back (unless you are 4'2") or you end up scraping the back cover on the concrete.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 >>