728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black

12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black

The DeLonghi DCF2212T 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access allows you to easily fill the water tank and ground coffee filter without moving the unit. Open the door using the handle, pour water in the channel and put grounds in the coffee filter. This coffee maker features a programmable timer with 2 hour automatic shutoff and a water level indicator to let you know when the unit needs refilling. An aroma button activates a unique brewing process that enhances the flavor and aroma of your coffee. This special time-released process saturates grounds a little at a time to extract the best flavor and aroma from your coffee.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product20 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(13)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Features 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product20 of 25reviews
Customer reviews for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black
Review 1 for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black
from Aliso Viejo, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Aesthetically Pleasing and Proficient for Good Cup of Java...

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So far, so good. I give this about 4.5 stars.
NOTE: I've owned it for 3 weeks and have used it about 6 times.
It is hard to locate in stores with only some Best Buy and Home Depot retail stores carrying it.
Here are my observations thus far...
APPEARANCE -- black color with stainless accents look attractive for price paid; fits under our very LOW cabinets (very few options when your cabinets begin at 13.5" from counter); carafe feels a little thin on the glass which makes me nervous as I wash it in my porcelain sink, especially after becoming anxious after drinking caffeine; gold mesh basket seems decent quality and better than Mr. Coffee ones I've seen in Target
EASY OF USE -- the front-loading with pull-out handle is brilliant and nice with our low cabinets (even though you should move coffee maker AWAY from cabinets when actually brewing); water pours easily down the reservoir near the grounds; "aroma setting" does allow for a better "sniffing" experience but does take about 11 minutes to brew 4 cups worth of java so many "impatient pukes" in today's fast-paced society will veto this option entirely
BREWING -- easy-to-use; cleaning the mesh basket can be a pain afterwards but I just wipe it out with a tissue after it dries a bit and then rinse it out in the sink under gentle water spray so it doesn't shorten the life span of the mesh; it does make some weird "gurgling" and loud noises when brewing (esp. during "aroma" brewing) so we'll see how long this machine lasts...our Krup's lasted 10 years but we paid more for that one; the java tastes very good especially with my Peet's coffee and using my Breville Burr Grinder
COST -- for the price the materials are definitely of good quality construction with maybe only the carafe glass being a little too thin
All in all, I'm very happy with this purchase and may update this review if my opinion changes dramatically down-the-road.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Digital, Good Use of Space, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black
from Milwaukee, WI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

love the front opening feature

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great coffee maker right out of the box. The front feature is a plus, you can put this almost anywhere.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Great Value, Convenient, Good Use of Space, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

All in all it does a good job

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Clean look. Easy to understand. My only issue regards its claim to be easily operable from the front only. Not requiring you to pull the device towards you to load up and run. It is possible, but a funnel would make it much easier. The opening is narrow and does not allow filling from the carafe in one attempt as you cannot upend the carafe and keep it in the opening. Otherwise, good coffee maker. Flavorful and aroma setting works well. Satisfied with purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black
from Lancaster, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A really good coffee pot

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Makes great coffee from a simple to use, reasonably priced machine. Love the front load design for both water and grounds. Using the 'aroma' cycle with Folgers coffee. Researched on line before purchase. Highly rated for flavor. They were exactly right. Much better than more commonly known brands/models.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Modern, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Reliable, Convenient, Good Use of Space, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black

DeLonghi 12-Cup Coffee Maker

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this to replace a 12-cup coffee maker from the same manufacturer. The other lasted over 5 years before the heating element began to get weak. This one is the current equivalent and appears to be sturdier than the other.
A good no frills coffee maker that makes good coffee.
Pros: Easy to Use, Large Capacity, Performs Well, Looks Great, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Convenient, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black

delonghi coffee maker

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works as advertised.simple to operate but is rather slow to brew, thus the 4stars. Otherwise very nice and we were quite pleased with the Home Depot ordering experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black
from Omaha, NE, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Excellent and good price.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had this coffee maker and loved it, but after hard use I needed to replace it. It has so many well thought out design and functional features I just couldn't settle less and had been searching for this DeLonghi. I was so pleased to find you had it and at good price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black

Perfect for under the cabinets and looks good

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We have been using the coffeemaker for a month now and we totally love it! We have low cabinets and this is the perfect solution. I make the coffee every day and I am a happy camper!
I had read reviews about the loading tray popping open and water going everywhere but this one has a very positive lock into place on the last inch before it is in place. There is no way this will pop open on its own. We have used it every day for over a month. Redesigned perhaps.
The Aroma brew is intended for brewing less than a full pot and helps to squeeze all the "coffee goodness" out of the grounds. We always do 8 cups and the Aroma setting takes 14 minutes vs 7 minutes for regular brew. I timed it. It just pumps water half as fast and lets the water draw out flavor. The coffee is a bit darker on Aroma setting. That says more goodness. Coffee is not quite as hot with Aroma setting if you pour it as soon as it is done. But if it sits on heating pad for a bit you can tell no difference.
I think the loading tray is fine for pouring in water out of the pot. Some said it was a small target. Also no leaks in the pot that some folks experienced.
Clock is not back lit was a complaint...we only change the clock once a year and never change the auto on timer so no matter to us.
Timer works great.
We think it is very quiet. We had a Braun before this and it was twice as loud.
Only thing we did not love is that you can't disassemble pot/lid for putting in dishwasher. So we just use a scrub brush. FAR from a deal breaker.
I really like not having to slide the coffee maker out from under the cabinet every morning,turning it sideways and flipping the top open so I can fill it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Digital, Convenient, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black

Great for shorter persons

PostedJune 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the second one owned, It is great for shorter people as you do not reach to the back of the machine to fill with water. Also good to put under counter and fill without moving from under counter.
Drawback, somewhat limited life, could be from our water supply.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black
from vancouver, wa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Looks nice

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We love the fact that we can pour the water in the front.
Pros: Large Capacity, Performs Well, Looks Great, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Digital, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black

I really like the front load feature of this coffee maker.

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It looks great and the coffee taste good too. It's my favorite maker so far!
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Convenient, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black
from Scottsdale Arizona

EXCELLENT

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I LOVE this coffeemaker. No more pulling the coffee maker forward to pour water in the back. Love that! NO more lifting the lid to add coffee.
I read that some people had a problem with these leaking. I recently discovered why this happened..... it had to be because they did not have the plastic liner inside the place where the coffee goes. I do not use the gold mesh permanent liner. I use paper but you still have to keep the re moveable black plastic liner in the place where you put the coffee. All done from the front.
Great tasting coffee too!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black
from Pearland, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the front access.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my second unit. Glad I found this one. The first lasted for years, even with my abuse. So far the new one is working great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Durable, Fast / Speed, Easy to Clean, Reliable, Convenient, Good Use of Space
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome Product !!!!!!!!

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is one stunning looking coffee maker but for me the test was going to be the taste. Woke up this morning with pure excitement to have my first cup of coffee. You would have thought I was going to Disneyland LOL. My home had a great coffee smell reminding me of the days I would go visit my Gransparents, who's home always had coffee brewing. Had my first cup this morning. WOW! What a great cup of coffee. Thanks DeLonghi, You did it !!!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black
from Fairfield, CT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

door does not stay closed

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you have time to stand and watch this unit make coffee every day, this is for you. Do not leave unattended if you care about counters and floors being covered with coffee.
The door does not close all the way and nothing in the manual addresses this.
Cons: Leaks, Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black
from Florida, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

DeLonghi

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the first coffee maker I have ever paid more than $12 for...it's easy to use (I LOVE not having to pull it out from under my cabinet every time I make a pot of coffee), it makes a great pot of coffee quickly and looks amazing on my counter. Best coffee maker I have ever owned :)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black

Great coffee, poor clock

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Love the front load feature, wish the clock and timer were easier to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Hasn't changed much

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Puchased the DCF2212T a few months ago after having it's predecessor and found not much has changed. The clock is the WORST part of it, not as simple as changing the hour then minutes. You have to hold the clock button and scroll through 24 hours (or whatever). The pot design is nicer than the previous models, less splash proof when filling. Don't break the pot though, an exact replacement will cost you $30 which I refuse to pay. All-in-all nice product!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Reliable
Cons: Size, replacement pot too expensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black

Hopper Door Does Not Latch

PostedApril 20, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had one of these coffee makers and loved it! This one is a different story - the hopper door (where you put the coffee and water does not latch - it could swing open and make a huge mess
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12-Cup Drip Coffee Maker with Complete Frontal Access in Black
from Great Meadows, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For the most part OK

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm used to having a coffee maker beep when it is done brewing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Digital
Cons: no beep when done brewing, only 2 hour keep warm instead of 4
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>