728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Portable Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Portable Propane Gas Grill

Portable Propane Gas Grill

Grill up delicious food in a variety of locations with the Brinkmann Table Top Grill. This product features a stainless steel tube burner rated for up to 12,000 BTUs of cooking power. Its compact design makes it ideal for use in camping, tailgating and other outdoor activities, and its legs can be folded into place for easy transportation.
Overall rating:
3.406 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product22 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(13)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product22 of 30reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Portable Propane Gas Grill
Review 1 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Nevada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor design on grill and regulator

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this grill last summer to take camping because during the summer some states do not allow charcoal. I looked at reviews posted in Home Depot and other stores. I should have heeded what they said.
The grill is poorly designed. The legs don't lock so carrying it a around can be a challenge. I ended up using a small bungee cord to hold the legs against the body of the grill. The latch that holds the grill lid in place is very weak and the lid will flop open.
And last, contrary to most of the postings stating the grill does not cook hot enough I can't get the darn thing low enough to cook anything. On the very lowest setting it burns anything I put on the grill. I have tried to adjust the regulator but it looks to be sealed with lock tight or something. I have considered welding shut some of the holes but really don't like messing about with gas outlets.
I have tried contacting the company but service support appears to be off shore and the language barrier is frustrating. I have had the grill for about a year so I assume HD can't do anything about it so I am out the $80 bucks.
Pros: none so far
Cons: way too hot burns everything.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from kajului,HI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works get at the beach

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
we had a beach party and the grill worked great even in the wind
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poorly designed portability features

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The latch that is supposed to hold the lid shut while carrying the grill is junk; It will not stay closed. Also, there is absolutely nothing to lock the legs shut while carrying the grill. You have to awkwardly carry this grill upright with two hands. It's a pain getting this grill to it's destination every time I take this camping or to the park. Also, the high temperature setting is not very hot at all. A waste of decent quality materials. Poor function, poor design.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Garland, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Small but does a great job!

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a very small patio area and therefore could not accommodate a full size grill. I purchased the tabletop grill and made a small "table" for it on the patio using two large Mexican pots as a base and tiling a piece of Hardi-board for a tabletop. The grill works great and can cook several large steaks or about 4 large chicken breasts at a time. I have found that the 16 oz. container of propane will only last about 2 meals (at the highest temp setting) including warm up time and plan to buy the conversion hose that will connect it to the larger propane tank. The grill is very easy to clean and I would recommend this product to anyone for home use as well as tail gating or camping.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Portable Propane Gas Grill

OK but has its limitations

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The basic problem is heat control. The difference between low and high is neglible. Cooking two large steaks takes much longer than it should. Flame has a lot of yellow as well but as long as it is blue coming out of the burner I am told that is normal? The cylindars barely last two meals. And will be hooking it to my large cylindar even though the adapater is WAY to expensive for the part. Its ok. Wish we had gone for the Weber. This is available cheaper at Cabalas and a few other places.
Pros: gets the job done, easy to store and travel
Cons: poor heat control, expensive small cylindars required
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A basic no frills table top grill

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is an ok table top grill. Plenty of room for burgers and chicken for a family of 4-5. The ability to pack the whole thing up like a small suitcase is one of its best selling points. This grill is good for tailgating and picnics in the park. The weak point is the flame control, I wish it was a bit finer...This is not a workhorse grill for everyday use. For what it was designed for, it is a good value. I wish the flame diffuser plate and grill were made of stainless steel, but in this price range, you have to accept the limitations of the construction.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Portable Propane Gas Grill

Poorly Designed Portability

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this portable grill for less than a year and the latch to lock the grill has already sheared off. Before that, the lock just wouldn't even stay closed. It constantly would come unlatched when carrying the grill from my trunk to the street. In addition, the legs do not stay locked in any way when transporting the grill, so they flail around everywhere. This grill works well to cook, but sadly the transportation and the horrible locking mechanism make this a horrible product. If I could get my money back I would.
Cons: poor transportation, locking mechanism
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Cape Cod, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Middle of the road

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
A bit disappointed with the original grill shipped. Many flaws including missing matchlighter, & non-closing latch on front. Quality control is obviously lacking between manufacturer and consumer. I exchanged it in-store, no problems (great customer service BTW), yet took it out of the box to make sure it had all the bits and pieces, etc. There's nothing extraordinary to report about this grill, nothing special, gets the job done.
Looks as if it'll be a good bbq for the beach and camping, reason for our purchase.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

nice camping grill

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
perfect for our family to take camping. have this brand for our home gas grill and no complaints about either one. has enough cooking space to prepare meals for our family of 3 and friends. great valued little grill.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Overall a good little grill

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have owned it for several weeks now and have used it 3 times - tailgating. Quick & easy to set up. Handle makes it easy to carry. One problem is the latch to keep it closed while you carry it (like a suitcase) does not secure well. I just have to be careful and make sure it is closed tightly. Otherwise a good little grill for its size.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Distributes Heat Evenly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Beaver Falls, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A good, easy-to-use grill.

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my 2nd grill of this type. The identical grill that I bought 4 yrs ago was a Char-Broil. I wasn't able to find a replacement burner so I bought this one. Hopefully it will last just as long - good value for the price. The lid latch was broken but I don't tailgate so it's no big deal. It heats up quickly and does a great job on burgers and steaks. These grills last as long or longer than $400+ grills.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Sterling Heights, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great grill

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Hooked mine up to my 20 lb. using an adapter hose (those 1 pounder's are way too expensive!). Heated up just fine (put grill marks on my chops!) and had surprisingly even heat. Maybe I was just lucky, but I did not experience issues that I saw from other reviewers. My match holder was present, there was no paint chipping or dented hood, heated up fine, flame did not blow out, latch closed securely. In my mind it was a little pricey ($80), but it seems like it should last. (Cabela's has it for $60, but I'm not near one and the shipping was almost $20) My last grill's burner eventually rusted out and I could not find a replacement. That seems to be a common problem, so I like the fact that a replacement burner for this grill is available and inexpensive.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, replacement burner available
Cons: a little pricey
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A great portable grill that works

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a full time RVer or camper Ii works outstanding gets nice and very hot, also easy to clean and very sturdy and well built
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Washington Township, MI 48094, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Might be good for Hot Dogs?

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was excited to try this out for tailgating, and it was a bit larger and I could consolidate my Weber smokey-joe and small portable gas grill, and only need to bring this one. What a mistake that was, what a complete failure this grill turned out to be. It took over 50 minutes to cook 8 hamburgers, and they were medium rare at best after that. We eventually ran out of propane they took so long. I have a portable temperature gauge that I use on my smokey-joe and brought that. After 15 minutes of pre-heat on high it got to about 470 or so. I then put the 8 burgers on (they were probably about 3/8 of a lb each so they were larger). The grill could just not handle it. The temp never got higher than 325 when the meat was on, just didn’t have enough juice to get any higher. If you are cooking for maybe 2 people and only want 1 hot dog each, then maybe this grill is for you. But if you want to cook some meat in a decent amount of time, without going through 2 canisters of propane then this grill is not for you!
Pros: Easy to Assemble
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Portable Propane Gas Grill

Great Purchase

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I never had any problem with this grill. Everything was in the box, no paint was chipped and the food always cooked fast. I think people who complained about the cooking time didn't have the right gas container or something. I had no experience like that. The only complaint I have is the legs don't have a way of locking closed. So when you carry it by the handle the legs will flop open. Other than that though, I've always been happy with it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Portable Propane Gas Grill

Good choice for apartment grilling

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This grill looks really sleek and is more heavy duty than other grills in its class. Anything smaller would be a pain as corn on the cob and skewers just fit. The grill cover (sold separately) is a great purchase too - fits well and of good quality. Only complaint is that it doesn't heat up the whole grill equally, but very close. Would recommend for those who can't have charcoal grills (we have wooden deck not suitable for charcoal) and want to take it camping.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Puerto Rico
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Grill, a little expensive for what it is.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It's a portable functional gas grill, the gas controller is not working as it should be. but it works. To expensive I bough this item around 100$ it should probably cost around 80 dollars no more than that.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: cheap gas controller
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Portable Propane Gas Grill

GREAT LITTLE CAMPING GRILL

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this grill. It is easy to assemble and sturdy. It’s wonderful to take a camping with my family and the gas cooking surface is enough for my family of 3 and friends. It is a great valued little grill. You should have one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy item,well made,seems durable,good value

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product is well made,parts fit very well abd easy to assemble and worked fine. Seems to be durable, not just a few uses. Fairly priced.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Casa Grande, AZ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It's size is [erfect for the apartment balcony it will be used on most of the time

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
simple to set up and easy to use. It is perfect for apartment balcony use. Will use all year round here in AZ.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>