728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Portable Propane Gas Grill

Portable Propane Gas Grill

Grill up delicious food in a variety of locations with the Brinkmann Table Top Grill. This product features a stainless steel tube burner rated for up to 12,000 BTUs of cooking power. Its compact design makes it ideal for use in camping, tailgating and other outdoor activities, and its legs can be folded into place for easy transportation.
Overall rating:
3.628 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product33 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(17)
3
(5)
2
(0)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product33 of 41reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Portable Propane Gas Grill
Review 1 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Nevada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor design on grill and regulator

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this grill last summer to take camping because during the summer some states do not allow charcoal. I looked at reviews posted in Home Depot and other stores. I should have heeded what they said.
The grill is poorly designed. The legs don't lock so carrying it a around can be a challenge. I ended up using a small bungee cord to hold the legs against the body of the grill. The latch that holds the grill lid in place is very weak and the lid will flop open.
And last, contrary to most of the postings stating the grill does not cook hot enough I can't get the darn thing low enough to cook anything. On the very lowest setting it burns anything I put on the grill. I have tried to adjust the regulator but it looks to be sealed with lock tight or something. I have considered welding shut some of the holes but really don't like messing about with gas outlets.
I have tried contacting the company but service support appears to be off shore and the language barrier is frustrating. I have had the grill for about a year so I assume HD can't do anything about it so I am out the $80 bucks.
Pros: none so far
Cons: way too hot burns everything.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Atlantic Beach NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great compact grill

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Already assembled except for a couple of small pieces. Works great and even got a discount for end of season sale. Highly recommend this grill if you have a small space to BBQ or don't want to use the "big grill" for just a few items.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poorly designed portability features

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The latch that is supposed to hold the lid shut while carrying the grill is junk; It will not stay closed. Also, there is absolutely nothing to lock the legs shut while carrying the grill. You have to awkwardly carry this grill upright with two hands. It's a pain getting this grill to it's destination every time I take this camping or to the park. Also, the high temperature setting is not very hot at all. A waste of decent quality materials. Poor function, poor design.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Detroit, Mi
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for the price

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great for the price. If the wind is strong, 20mph +, the flame may go out and the burner is weak (just like any other small grill). In normal conditions, the flame and heat are good. Folds up nicely.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Derby CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good investment

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The grill is wonderful. It is compact and can be moved to wherever we need it. I highly recommend this grill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from kajului,HI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works get at the beach

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
we had a beach party and the grill worked great even in the wind
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Portable Propane Gas Grill

Good small grill

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We like this grill for where we use it works good in our HOA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for what I wanted

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was looking for a simple tailgate type grill to eliminate the need for charcoal and the mess that goes with it. This unit is perfect. Small and compact yet a reasonable cooking surface enough cook for six adults. Hot dogs, chicken, sausages. (not all at the same time - it isn't that big) but big enough for everyone to have a first bite without having to wait for the next cook around for a first serving.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Garland, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Small but does a great job!

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a very small patio area and therefore could not accommodate a full size grill. I purchased the tabletop grill and made a small "table" for it on the patio using two large Mexican pots as a base and tiling a piece of Hardi-board for a tabletop. The grill works great and can cook several large steaks or about 4 large chicken breasts at a time. I have found that the 16 oz. container of propane will only last about 2 meals (at the highest temp setting) including warm up time and plan to buy the conversion hose that will connect it to the larger propane tank. The grill is very easy to clean and I would recommend this product to anyone for home use as well as tail gating or camping.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from hanceville ala
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

grill

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What little I have used it,was great.I use it once in a blue moon, but it does great.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Temecula
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Portable Propane Grill

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a better portable grill than the current grill that I had. This grill seemed to have more features than my current portable grill. The grill works very well. This grill works like a small version of my full size propane grill. I am very happy with my purchase.
Pros: Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Portable Propane Gas Grill

good grill for the price

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's my first time using this portable grill and it works just fine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Portable Propane Gas Grill

great grill, great price

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Puts out a lot of heat for the size, perfect for a table top
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A basic no frills table top grill

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is an ok table top grill. Plenty of room for burgers and chicken for a family of 4-5. The ability to pack the whole thing up like a small suitcase is one of its best selling points. This grill is good for tailgating and picnics in the park. The weak point is the flame control, I wish it was a bit finer...This is not a workhorse grill for everyday use. For what it was designed for, it is a good value. I wish the flame diffuser plate and grill were made of stainless steel, but in this price range, you have to accept the limitations of the construction.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Portable Propane Gas Grill

Good value, good results

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Enjoying our grill - needed something reasonably small for two, but big enough for a small party.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Portable Propane Gas Grill

OK but has its limitations

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The basic problem is heat control. The difference between low and high is neglible. Cooking two large steaks takes much longer than it should. Flame has a lot of yellow as well but as long as it is blue coming out of the burner I am told that is normal? The cylindars barely last two meals. And will be hooking it to my large cylindar even though the adapater is WAY to expensive for the part. Its ok. Wish we had gone for the Weber. This is available cheaper at Cabalas and a few other places.
Pros: gets the job done, easy to store and travel
Cons: poor heat control, expensive small cylindars required
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Cape Cod, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Middle of the road

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
A bit disappointed with the original grill shipped. Many flaws including missing matchlighter, & non-closing latch on front. Quality control is obviously lacking between manufacturer and consumer. I exchanged it in-store, no problems (great customer service BTW), yet took it out of the box to make sure it had all the bits and pieces, etc. There's nothing extraordinary to report about this grill, nothing special, gets the job done.
Looks as if it'll be a good bbq for the beach and camping, reason for our purchase.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Little Grill

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Use the Grill every night great for one or two persons
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Portable Propane Gas Grill

Poorly Designed Portability

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this portable grill for less than a year and the latch to lock the grill has already sheared off. Before that, the lock just wouldn't even stay closed. It constantly would come unlatched when carrying the grill from my trunk to the street. In addition, the legs do not stay locked in any way when transporting the grill, so they flail around everywhere. This grill works well to cook, but sadly the transportation and the horrible locking mechanism make this a horrible product. If I could get my money back I would.
Cons: poor transportation, locking mechanism
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

nice camping grill

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
perfect for our family to take camping. have this brand for our home gas grill and no complaints about either one. has enough cooking space to prepare meals for our family of 3 and friends. great valued little grill.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>