728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Portable Propane Gas Grill

Portable Propane Gas Grill

Grill up delicious food in a variety of locations with the Brinkmann Table Top Grill. This product features a stainless steel tube burner rated for up to 12,000 BTUs of cooking power. Its compact design makes it ideal for use in camping, tailgating and other outdoor activities, and its legs can be folded into place for easy transportation.
Overall rating:
3.745 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product40 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(18)
4
(19)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product40 of 49reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer reviews for Portable Propane Gas Grill
Review 1 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from San Ramon, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Quality, easily portable grill

PostedJune 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This grill comes assembled out of the box and all you need to attach is the gas valve which simply screws into the side of the barbecue and slide the grease tray underneath the barbecue. In its collapsed position, the legs fold underneath and the top latches securely shut. When you're ready to use it, you unfold the legs, unlatch the top, attach the propane tank (the small kind used for lanterns) and you're ready to go. There is a hole in the side of the barbecue that allows you to light the burner with a long lighter or it has an included metal wand (attached by chain) you can put a match in. The burner lit perfectly without any difficulty. The burner is covered with a tent shaped metal cover to spread the heat around. The cooking grates are fairly thin so I'm not sure how they'll hold up over the long term but so far, so good. The cooking surface is good size with enough room for about five hamburgers. This portable gas grill is great for bringing to cookouts or anywhere else you want to barbecue on the go.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By BrinkmannSupportJune 9, 2015By BrinkmannSupportJune 9, 2015
Hi daveb714,

Thank you for sharing. We appreciate your review and we're glad that you like the grill and that it has been easy for you to operate. We hope you enjoy the Spring grilling season! Please feel free to contact us with any questions. Happy grilling! Tiffany, The Brinkmann Team Brinkmann
Review 2 for Portable Propane Gas Grill

No replacement grate available

PostedJune 14, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would have given this grill a much higher rating, but we were only able to use it for a year. We accidentally left the grate in the grill during the rain, it rusted, and the replacement grates are no longer available. I haven't been able to find a compatible-sized grate except the one Home Depot sells that is expandable and only covers about half the depth of this grill. Plus there's no locking mechanism on the expandable grate, so we've had lots of food fall into the ashes. Now we're just not using the grill anymore and it looks like we'll have to buy a whole new grill. I think this model is going out of stock, which is why the replacement parts aren't being made. Too bad for past (recent past) customers. My only other complaint is that the legs don't lock into place, but that's been covered in other reviews.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Houston, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Have Grill, Will Travel!

PostedJune 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Perfect for small meals at home, apartment use, picnics, tail-gating, and grilling on-the-spot!
This portable grill is 20-lbs light, compact, pre-assembled, and is designed to connect to a 1-lb camping-style disposable propane bottle (sold separately). Cooking on high, the propane lasts about 2-hrs (3-hrs otherwise). A more economical and refillable source is to purchase an adapter hose and run the grill from a standard 20-lb tank.
There’s a single stainless steel tube burner covered by a metal flame guard, a single porcelain coated cooking grate with 1.4 sq ft of cooking space, and a drip tray that attaches to the base. The grill can be lit by long-lighter or match (there’s a match extension attached to a chain to make this safer).
Detach and clean the drip tray, close the lid, latch, collapse the legs, and you have easy suitcase-type carrying and very efficient storage.
Pros: handy, Portable, convertible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By BrinkmannSupportJune 16, 2015By BrinkmannSupportJune 16, 2015
Hi restathome,

Thank you for sharing. We're glad that you like the portable gas grill and we hope you enjoy traveling with it this Summer. Please feel free to contact us with any questions. Happy grilling! Tiffany, The Brinkmann Team Brinkmann
Response from By BrinkmannSupportJune 16, 2015By BrinkmannSupportJune 16, 2015
Hi restathome,

Thank you for sharing. We're glad that you like the portable gas grill and we hope you enjoy traveling with it this Summer. Please feel free to contact us with any questions. Happy grilling! Tiffany, The Brinkmann Team Brinkmann
Review 4 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Garland, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Small but does a great job!

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a very small patio area and therefore could not accommodate a full size grill. I purchased the tabletop grill and made a small "table" for it on the patio using two large Mexican pots as a base and tiling a piece of Hardi-board for a tabletop. The grill works great and can cook several large steaks or about 4 large chicken breasts at a time. I have found that the 16 oz. container of propane will only last about 2 meals (at the highest temp setting) including warm up time and plan to buy the conversion hose that will connect it to the larger propane tank. The grill is very easy to clean and I would recommend this product to anyone for home use as well as tail gating or camping.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A basic no frills table top grill

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is an ok table top grill. Plenty of room for burgers and chicken for a family of 4-5. The ability to pack the whole thing up like a small suitcase is one of its best selling points. This grill is good for tailgating and picnics in the park. The weak point is the flame control, I wish it was a bit finer...This is not a workhorse grill for everyday use. For what it was designed for, it is a good value. I wish the flame diffuser plate and grill were made of stainless steel, but in this price range, you have to accept the limitations of the construction.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Brockport, NY 14420, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Nice grill

PostedMay 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very little assembly. Comes with the grates, drip tray and valve, but no propane tanks. Folds up easy for storage on the rv- perfect for camping!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By BrinkmannSupportMay 27, 2015By BrinkmannSupportMay 27, 2015
Hi navycamarogirl,

Thank you for sharing. We're glad that you like the grill and we hope you have fun camping! Please feel free to contact us with any questions. Happy grilling! Tiffany, The Brinkmann Team Brinkmann
Review 7 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poorly designed portability features

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The latch that is supposed to hold the lid shut while carrying the grill is junk; It will not stay closed. Also, there is absolutely nothing to lock the legs shut while carrying the grill. You have to awkwardly carry this grill upright with two hands. It's a pain getting this grill to it's destination every time I take this camping or to the park. Also, the high temperature setting is not very hot at all. A waste of decent quality materials. Poor function, poor design.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Cape Cod, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Middle of the road

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
A bit disappointed with the original grill shipped. Many flaws including missing matchlighter, & non-closing latch on front. Quality control is obviously lacking between manufacturer and consumer. I exchanged it in-store, no problems (great customer service BTW), yet took it out of the box to make sure it had all the bits and pieces, etc. There's nothing extraordinary to report about this grill, nothing special, gets the job done.
Looks as if it'll be a good bbq for the beach and camping, reason for our purchase.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Nevada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor design on grill and regulator

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this grill last summer to take camping because during the summer some states do not allow charcoal. I looked at reviews posted in Home Depot and other stores. I should have heeded what they said.
The grill is poorly designed. The legs don't lock so carrying it a around can be a challenge. I ended up using a small bungee cord to hold the legs against the body of the grill. The latch that holds the grill lid in place is very weak and the lid will flop open.
And last, contrary to most of the postings stating the grill does not cook hot enough I can't get the darn thing low enough to cook anything. On the very lowest setting it burns anything I put on the grill. I have tried to adjust the regulator but it looks to be sealed with lock tight or something. I have considered welding shut some of the holes but really don't like messing about with gas outlets.
I have tried contacting the company but service support appears to be off shore and the language barrier is frustrating. I have had the grill for about a year so I assume HD can't do anything about it so I am out the $80 bucks.
Pros: none so far
Cons: way too hot burns everything.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Portland Oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Grill

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an Excellent Grill for our needs, especially for the price. I built a table that I have it fastened to, and has worked great for 4+ years. I've added a temperature gauge to the lid, so I know when she's ready. And this unit is quite easy to clean. I have replaced the flame diffuser shield with a homemade one, only because we've used this so much, and something has to wear-out.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By BrinkmannSupportApril 16, 2015By BrinkmannSupportApril 16, 2015
Hi VolvoGuy,

Thank you for sharing. We're glad that you like the Portable Grill and that it has worked well for you. We do sell replacement parts for this unit should you ever need anything. Please feel free to contact us with any questions. Happy grilling! Tiffany, The Brinkmann Team Brinkmann
Review 11 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Atlantic Beach NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great compact grill

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Already assembled except for a couple of small pieces. Works great and even got a discount for end of season sale. Highly recommend this grill if you have a small space to BBQ or don't want to use the "big grill" for just a few items.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Houma
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great little grill

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Really like this Grill. Small and portable enough to take anywhere, large enough to feed a family of four. Heat is a little low when on its highest setting. Its missing a temperature gauge, but other than thats pretty good quality.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: no temperature gauge, low heat
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

nice camping grill

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
perfect for our family to take camping. have this brand for our home gas grill and no complaints about either one. has enough cooking space to prepare meals for our family of 3 and friends. great valued little grill.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Portable Propane Gas Grill

OK but has its limitations

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The basic problem is heat control. The difference between low and high is neglible. Cooking two large steaks takes much longer than it should. Flame has a lot of yellow as well but as long as it is blue coming out of the burner I am told that is normal? The cylindars barely last two meals. And will be hooking it to my large cylindar even though the adapater is WAY to expensive for the part. Its ok. Wish we had gone for the Weber. This is available cheaper at Cabalas and a few other places.
Pros: gets the job done, easy to store and travel
Cons: poor heat control, expensive small cylindars required
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Overall a good little grill

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Have owned it for several weeks now and have used it 3 times - tailgating. Quick & easy to set up. Handle makes it easy to carry. One problem is the latch to keep it closed while you carry it (like a suitcase) does not secure well. I just have to be careful and make sure it is closed tightly. Otherwise a good little grill for its size.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Distributes Heat Evenly
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Beaver Falls, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A good, easy-to-use grill.

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my 2nd grill of this type. The identical grill that I bought 4 yrs ago was a Char-Broil. I wasn't able to find a replacement burner so I bought this one. Hopefully it will last just as long - good value for the price. The lid latch was broken but I don't tailgate so it's no big deal. It heats up quickly and does a great job on burgers and steaks. These grills last as long or longer than $400+ grills.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Detroit, Mi
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for the price

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great for the price. If the wind is strong, 20mph +, the flame may go out and the burner is weak (just like any other small grill). In normal conditions, the flame and heat are good. Folds up nicely.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Portable Propane Gas Grill

Poorly Designed Portability

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this portable grill for less than a year and the latch to lock the grill has already sheared off. Before that, the lock just wouldn't even stay closed. It constantly would come unlatched when carrying the grill from my trunk to the street. In addition, the legs do not stay locked in any way when transporting the grill, so they flail around everywhere. This grill works well to cook, but sadly the transportation and the horrible locking mechanism make this a horrible product. If I could get my money back I would.
Cons: poor transportation, locking mechanism
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Portable Propane Gas Grill
from Sterling Heights, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great grill

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Hooked mine up to my 20 lb. using an adapter hose (those 1 pounder's are way too expensive!). Heated up just fine (put grill marks on my chops!) and had surprisingly even heat. Maybe I was just lucky, but I did not experience issues that I saw from other reviewers. My match holder was present, there was no paint chipping or dented hood, heated up fine, flame did not blow out, latch closed securely. In my mind it was a little pricey ($80), but it seems like it should last. (Cabela's has it for $60, but I'm not near one and the shipping was almost $20) My last grill's burner eventually rusted out and I could not find a replacement. That seems to be a common problem, so I like the fact that a replacement burner for this grill is available and inexpensive.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, replacement burner available
Cons: a little pricey
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Portable Propane Gas Grill

Good choice for apartment grilling

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This grill looks really sleek and is more heavy duty than other grills in its class. Anything smaller would be a pain as corn on the cob and skewers just fit. The grill cover (sold separately) is a great purchase too - fits well and of good quality. Only complaint is that it doesn't heat up the whole grill equally, but very close. Would recommend for those who can't have charcoal grills (we have wooden deck not suitable for charcoal) and want to take it camping.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>