728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb

60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb

The EcoSmart A19 13-Watt (60W) LED Light Bulb (E)* can be used to replace an A19 or 60-watt bulb. The bright white LED light has an output of 800 lumens and can last up to 25,000 hours for extended use, saving you up to $129 per bulb over the course of the bulb's life. This light can be dimmed for convenient light customization and helps conserve energy over the life of the bulb. (E)* means this bulb meets Federal minimum efficiency standards.
Overall rating:
3.789 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product35 of 46reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(7)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product35 of 46reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
Review 1 for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb

Works Surprisingly Very Well And Accurate

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
A Great Looking Bulb. I bought this bulb to compare to its younger 8.5 Watt sibling and like it's lower wattage companion, it does not disappoint. I'm amazed at how natural this light looks. It really is perfect. You see Compact Fluorescents never look right. The 3200k are a bit too yellow and warm while the 5000k are too white and cold. This bulb is RIGHT in between. In my opinion the perfect bulb. Light output is no less than a 60 Watt incandescent as stated on the box (60 W Equivalent it states) and light dispersion is excellent, being similar to a regular incandescent bulb. Heat Sink is heavy duty and it needs it as the driver does get hot. This will ensure long life of the bulb. When looking at the picture, remember the colors aren't completely accurate due to camera interpretation but they're pretty close to the actual thing.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
from Northern Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great in pendants

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The bulb lights immediately to full brightness. The 3000K color is a nice neutral that brings out the color in my granite countertops and does not alter the color of food. It dims from barely visible to full brightness on a LED/CFL dimmer. The bulb produces even lighting in nearly every direction and works well in any fixture. I like the fact that the color of the bulb is white when the bulb is turned off.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb

Ecosmart Beats Philips

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I originally bought the Philips competing 60 watt replacement bulbs, but they buzzed with my Lutron Maestro dimmers and their 2700k color temp was too yellow. Returned those and replaced them with these Ecosmart bulbs. Sure enough, these were totally quiet and their 3000k color temp better resembled the incandescents they replaced. They also appear to be brighter than 60 watt incandescents, depsite having more modest lumens ratings. They dim just fine with every dimmer I tried them with.
With the recent generation of LED bulbs, the color temp, brightness, and omindirectional light performance of incandescents is finally not only matched, but exceeded in every way but cost - while avoiding all the limitations of CFLs. Once LEDs are cost-competitive, I predict CFLs will become obsolete.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Great Dimming
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
from Silver Spring, MD, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male

Tough choice between this and 8 watt version

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've been using LED bulbs in a variety of applications for about two years now. The Ecosmart line has proven reliable and cheap since I started using them about a year ago.
I'm posting this review for anyone who's torn between the 13w and 8w versions of this bulb. I own several of both, and at one point paid almost twice as much for the 13w version (the difference is much less generally now). With that said, the 13w bulb is brighter, but it's fairly subtle. If you absolutely need that slight lumen increase, go for it. However, even side by side the difference is pretty small. The 8w bulbs run warm, the 13w run borderline hot, even when unenclosed. I have a sneaking suspicion that the 13w bulbs are slightly over-voltaged 8w units, but I haven't dissected any to find out. The difference is a bit more noticeable when you run several of each bulb in a group-the 13w bulbs cover a bit more space. It's all personal preference, both bulbs are quite durable and so far very reliable. Long term I'd suspect the 8w bulbs would fare better due to heat's tendency to wear out electrical components over time, but again, no issues with either.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb

I bought 40 of these!!!

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After the price dropped to $13.97, I had to give these things a good look. We are doing a basement remodel and I really wanted to use all LED lights down there, but the cost was just too prohibitive until now. So, the first thing I tried was putting 9 of them in our foyer chandelier. Wow! The color of the light is beautiful and works perfectly on our dimmer. Previously in this fixture, we had 7 100w dimmable CFL's (which were way too tall and ugly) and 2 60w regular bulbs. I took all of them out and replaced with the new LED's and I LOVE the look in our foyer.
I am waiting for there to be a deal for LED's in a GU10 track light bulb as we have a lot of those in our home and in the basement.
Overall: great color, excellent brightness and energy efficiency. A+!!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb

Brightness fluxuates

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not sure what the problem is, but we plugged this in and it gets bright occasionally and then dims again after a short while. Possibly a defective bulb (it sounds like there are quite a few of those) so I plan to return it next time we're back at the store.
When it does work, it's many times better than the CFLs we currently have.
Cons: unreliable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bright, but interfere with scanners & other VHF devices.

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These are great bulbs for lighting as long as you don't have any VHF scanners or transceivers in the house. I'm a firefighter/EMT and they create so much static on our main channels that I had to replace the ones in the house with Phillips 800 lumen LED bulbs, also sold by Home Depot. I was able to use the other half in out buildings, but I gave the other half of them away to people who don't have to worry about radio frequency interference.
 
Products related to my review
 
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
from Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for my needs.

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I replaced several sets of cfl's and incandescents with these 13W LEDs while they were on sale. I really like them--great color (just a little 'whiter' than my previous bulbs), instant bright start, nice dimming range. No flicker. No hum.
One knock, they don't project light "upward" (i.e., in line with the long axis of the bulb) as brightly as they do radially. I use them in 2-bulb fixtures and lamps, and in that application they throw light evenly and are perfect.
Another knock, when dimming you have to start them at "medium," then dial them down to "low." They don't start up on a low setting, but throttle back nicley once started.
I even put one in the fridge. The cold has no effect on the bulb, it works great. I would have put one in my (freezing cold Michigan) porch light as well, but I need more brightness outside than this 60W equivalent bulb can project.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
from USA

Outstanding substitute for incandescant or CFL bulb

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This 13 watt 3000 degree Kelvin color temperature LED replacement for a standard base incandescant or CFL light bulb is expensive, but worth it. It is somewhat more energy efficient than a CFL (over 4 times as efficient as an incandescant 60 watt bulb), and puts out a very pleasing white light, perfect for living room, dining room, halls, or bedroom. Unlike CFL's, it comes full on instantly. Unlike CFL's, it dimms nicely with an appropriate dimmer (dimmable CFL's are frauds: They don't dim well, and the buzz and flicker at low light levels). Unlike less expensive LED replacements for light bulbs, this one radiates its light in a near full spherical pattern, not a narrow beam or a 180 degree dome, so that placed in an ornamental light fixture with translucent glass, it both sheds good light AND lights up the fixture pleasingly. It also, unlike CFL bulbs, is truly INSTANT (or within a second) full brightness when turned on.
I use five of them in a chandelier in my dining room, with a dimmer.
I also use the 5000 degree Kelvin color temp ("natural daylight") variant of this device in the sconces beside the mirror in my bathrooms, It provides excellent rendition of my and guests faces for morning toilet and makeup. And unlike CFL bulbs goes INSTANTLY to full brightness... an important feature in a bathroom mirror lamp.
$25 is a lot of money for a light bulb. But this lasts 2 to 4 times longer than a CFL, and 8 to 10 times longer than an incandescant light bulb, making the real premium on this oustanding device not as steep as it first seems.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Execellent Bulb for Bathroom fixtures

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
At first I dismissed this bulb due to its funny shape. It turns out the shape is very good for bathroom fixtures. Other LED lights tend to have 180 degree illumination. This leaves half of the typical bathroom glass (flower shape) fixture dark. This bulb actually shines a bit back towards the fixture base, lighting the entire fixture. The wide saucer glass also hides the cooling fins a bit when looked at from below.
As far as brightness goes... I replaced two 60 watt incandescent bulbs with with two of the LED bulbs. The light color is about the same with the LED bulbs being slightly brighter.
I did not try a dimmer. I have had buzzing issues with different EcoSmart bulbs that did not occur with the Phillips LED's
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
from Richardson
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good color, but could use more power

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Compared to fluorescent and CFL bulbs, this LED bulb is available in the same color temperature rating, 3000K. Different chemicals are combined to create the same effect, and this light ends up having a very slight purple color cast to it. I have not compared it to a tri-gas CFL like another ***lite on this website, but overall this is a better bulb for longevity. For rooms with woodwork, I would look for a bulb with an even lower color temperature. Finally, for installations where reliability is key, choose a bulb that has passed regulatory testing.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb

Great light, ceiling fan remote won't work!

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Bought 4 of these for a radio remote controlled ceiling fan as they were brighter than CFL's and dimmable. Unfortunately, the receiver for the RF remote is located in between the bulbs. The light turned on, but you could only use the remote again by placing it about 3-4 inches from the fan between the lights! They'll go back and I'll see if another brand has better RF shielding.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb

It's an overall good bulb.

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I just installed a new chandelier in my dining room and I also had my electrician install a dimmer switch made specifically to use with dimmable LED / CFL lamps. Then I went shopping for the 3 LED bulbs I needed. I chose LED bulbs because they do not get hot like incandescent and halogen and there is no mercury in them like florescent. Plus I just really don't really like florescent lighting at all. What a journey !! The first LED bulbs I chose were much to yellow. The second set were much too white, bright and had too much of a blue cast for me. Apparently I unknowingly went from one end of the color spectrum to the other. I learned that I wanted a bulb in the 3000-3500 color range and found these which were 3000. Much better. They give off a nice glow to help set the ambiance and the dimming helps with that too. It's important to note that you need to have the right dimmer switch. I learned this from the experience of having to replace a few of the existing switches in my home as the "dimmable" led bulbs would not work in them.There seems to be a lot of confusion in the industry as I've actually had to turn away electricians who wanted to install a standard dimmer switch because they were convinced that if a bulb was "dimmable"- it would work. Not always the case. It has to be a dimmer switch that will work with dimmable LED or CFL bulbs.
I do wish that instead of a 60 watt replacement bulb (which this is) a 100 watt (or more) replacement was offered so I could maximize my light potential as desired. This is a whole new territory in light bulb shopping though and I'm sure the options will get better and less expensive with time.
Considering the options available right now I find these particular bulbs suit my needs just fine.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
from Dayton, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A bright LED bulb that is great...when it's working!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
APPLICATION:
I'm using these bulbs in recessed fixtures where I have previously used expensive PAR20 Philips "halogena" bulbs (550 lumens). The projection of the light from my recessed fixtures is excellent with these LED bulbs.
BRIGHTNESS: A+
Excellent brightness at 800+ lumens! If these things were any brighter they would blind you when looking at them! They blow my old halogen bulbs away.
COLOR: A
I'm very pleased with the color. At 3,000K these bulbs are not as harsh as other pure white LED bulbs I've tried.
HEAT MANAGEMENT: B+
The first thing you notice when you take these bulbs out of the box is the heat sink. It is substantial! Using an infrared pyrometer, I measured operating temperatures above 170 degrees at the core of the heat sink...but the outside "fins" of the heat sink only get "very warm." So I guess the heat sink is doing it's job. The LED portion emits no heat at all. The overal air temps around the fixture are much lower than the halogen bulbs they are replacing.
BULB LIFE: F-
25,000 hours of life!?!?! Umm....I'd be happy if they lasted 25 hours!!!! Folks...this is where these things have FAILED MISERABLY for me and warrant the one star rating. I purchased 7 of these bulbs less than 2 months ago and installed them in identical recessed fixtures in my finished basement. Of the 7 bulbs I purchased, 6 of them failed within 45 days (my basement lights are on about 30 minutes per day). The bulb either completely dies, or it is reduced to emitting a dim ring of light around the outside of the bulb. Maybe I just got a bad batch or something...because I originally bought them all at the same time. I have exchanged them for new bulbs as each one died...and so far the replacements are holding out. But it has been less than 90 days.
BOTTOM LINE:
These bulbs have excellent brightness and color...and I wouldn't blame anyone for trying them. But do yourself a huge favor and keep your original box and receipt handy! I suspect you might need to return/exchange them before the 90 day Home Depot return policy runs out.
* * * Believe it or not I haven't given up completely on them because I think they are great when they are working!!!
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb

Great but home depot doesn't carry the warm bulb

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have several of the Phillips bulbs and this one is better in several ways. It is as omnidirectional as the Phillips but it doesn't look like a bug light. Even better it CAN be used in an enclosed fixture. All of this means it can be in a flush mount ceiling light, a fixture where you see the bulb and a table lamp.
The only problem is that the "warm" color is 3000k not 2700k like an incandescent or the Phillips bulb. If you like a whiter light you might like this but for me it feels like an office rather than a home. Lighting science makes a 2700k version of this bulb but for some reason home depot does not carry it.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb

Excellent Bulb!

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Compared side by side with a halogen of equal equivalent wattage...this LED was purer white and brighter. I'm happy to find an alternative to the awful CFLs!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product Saves You Money

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchase one of these bulbs almost every time I shop at The Home Depot to gradually replace the CFL's that in my opinion fell short on their advertised benefits. When purchasing the EcoSmart LED light bulb some may not like the initial cost per bulb but they are energy efficient and after replacing several in my home I have truly seen a drop in my electric bill and this is the only change I have made. Additionally, they are cool to the touch, dimmable and have a long life span. I have and will continue to recommend this product to others.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb

Very Happy

PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought a couple of these at my local HD and I have to say they are outstanding. They are bright, like the color, instant on and off, and the light shines just like an incandescent. Very happy with them and will buy more. You will not be disappointed. Nice job HD.
+6points
21out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb

Bright Lights

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried a couple of these lights in our kitchen and they make a HUGE difference in our ability to easily see what we're doing, and diminish the shadows. So I tried one in our dark hallway...it's bright now. Stuck them in our bedroom light ceiling fixtures and the bright, clear light at night is much easier to read in and very, well, bright as opposed to dimly lit.
They are a bit heavy...won't work in my cheap flexible lamp. But they've worked in all our other (very old) fixed sockets.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 60W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb

Awesome product from Lighting Science Group, but get the 2700K version instead, Home Depot

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First, these are amazing. Every other LED bulb I have tried, I have returned, due to not being omni-directional, or because of the nasty color temperature. This is the first one I have decided to keep, and it was on the border of being acceptable (I will go into that later).
Pro: Perfect size, same size, actually a touch smaller, than a regular incandescent light bulb. Omni-directional light output, which is needed in fixtures that the bulb is not firing straight into your desired lighting path. Light output appears to be equal to, or slightly greater than an incandescent (finally). 13.5W (although base of bulb says 14W)!
Con: Color temperature, as another reviewer stated. These are 3000K, which in my opinion, are not really warm white, but bright white, which is what the packaging says. Warm white, would be 2700K, and LSG (EcoSmart) makes them, but Home Depot does not carry them. This is my only con, and while in some fixtures, 3000K is acceptable, at my breakfast table, it was not.
I installed two of these in my outdoor lighting fixtures, which are weather sealed, and they are perfect. I can hardly notice the difference in light output from the 100W bulb that is installed in the next fixture, and the color temperature is just slightly cooler. Considering these lights are on at least 10 hours a day, this will be a huge savings. 400W down to 54W, once I install two more...
Also, these dim quite nicely. I have SmartHome Insteon dimmer switches (home automation), and am able to see them still on at 10%. The color temperature does seem to get a little cooler when dimmed, but not too bad, actually.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>