728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop HVAC Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator

Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator

The Suncourt Radon Mitigation Fan Kit features a thermal plastic resin housing that is watertight and resistant to UV rays to help protect the motor. The motor casing has an automatic thermal reset for overload protection. The kit includes a 4 in. input/output fan, an air pressure indicator, 2 white 4 in. to 3 in. rubber couplers and mounting hardware for your convenience. It is ETL listed for both indoor and outdoor use.
Overall rating:
4.31 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product22 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(11)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product22 of 25reviews
Customer reviews for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator
Review 1 for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator
from Woburn, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice fresh air fan

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My goal was to get some fresh air moving in the basement. If this fan could accomplish that goal, I had planned to buy a second fan, to add a full radon removal setup to the sump hole where we have radon. (Radon is only emitted from one of our four sump holes).
However, after adding this fan in another area (well away from the radon source), the radon detectors (at the source) now indicate normal radon gas levels. I've checked it twice and our radon problem seems to be gone. Just by adding a little fresh air flow. Currently running the fan 7 hours a day, and the average reading this morning is 1.6 pCi/L (third test).
Tested with both detectors hanging 16" above the 'open' sump hole. The 'Before' (fresh air fan) reading was 4.6 pCi/L with the sump hole sealed. (Before flooding necessitated installing the sump pump).
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator
from New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having a complete kit made installation made things easy. Local code requires a cutoff for the fan so I attached a cord with a molded plug instead of hard-wiring the unit. The only other thing needed beyond what was included was a sealant required when installing the flow gauge.
It reduced my radon level from 4.7 pC to 0.3 pC which was at the background radiation level at my area.
The only negative is that the unit produces a bit more noise that I would have liked. I think that if the couplings were softer they wouldn't transfer so much from the fan to the pipe. Since the pipe runs through all floors you can hear it anywhere near that pipe. To be fair it's not loud enough to be annoying. On the good side you can easily tell if it's still running.
Doing this work myself saved me several hundreds of dollars over using a professional installer and was trivial. I ran an outlet to the area for the fan in the attic, cut the existing pipe and inserted it. It did require submitting plans for approval by our township (kind of overkill for a plug-in fan in my book) and I was required to use an independent tester to certify the radon level was properly mitigated. Expect to spend up to a couple hundred over the price of the fan if you have the same requirements in your area.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: a liitle noisy but not annoying
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator
from Maine, USA
Age Range:55 to 64

Radon Mitigation Fan Kit

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The price was good
Fan installed easily
Problem with the fan gives off a hum noise thru entire wall. Very noticeable in the garage where the pipe goes up the wall into the attic of the garage, then out thru the roof. I've tried putting pieces of rubber backed carpet behind the mounting flanges but it is still sending the hum noise on the end of the house wall. I'll have to figure out something for the mounting to stop the resonation hum thru the entire wall. More rubber I guess, anyone with suggestions.
This is my first time dealing with this type of fan so I'm not sure weather there all this way no matter what brand you get. So can I recomend it, the price was very good for what you received, now lets see how long it runs for.
I saved about 750 dollars by installing it myself, plus I hired a person to go up on the roof to install the roof flang. My total cost was about 350 dollars and took about 10 hrs. at a slow and easy pace (over 3 days). The fan seems to be doing the job according to the vacume meter.
I'll do another Radon test in a couple of weeks and I hope it goes from 29 down to below 4.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
Cons: Noisy, hum thru mounts to wall, was a good value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator
from Rochester, MN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works but noisy

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product dropped the levels in my home. But I can hear the fan run at night and when it is quit in my home. I would go with one that was more quiet .
Cons: noisy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator

It is doing the job very well!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed it a month ago and since then our radon levels have went from almost five to .7. this is a huge improvement! We put the fan in the basement in the room with the sump pump and ran a pvc pipe outside and above the roof line. The fan itself is not silent but it's not obnoxiously loud either. You can hear a hum in the background but at this point I really don't even notice it. It's just a little white noise. If we had installed it outside as recommended we wouldn't be able to hear it at all. Since we do have it inside we also have a radon detector that runs 24/7 ($120) so if there is a leak we will know it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator

Second one that doesn't work!

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this fan in October. It stopped working in November. I bought another one in January, it stopped working in February. I've had an electrician look at the wiring and he concluded that the issue is definitely the fan.
I will not be buying this fan again and do NOT recommend it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator

Very Easy to install

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installation was quick and easy. All the parts were included and I was done in less than 30 minutes. I did already have the piping run when the house was built and I had an outlet already in the attic so I had a huge head start.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator
from Harpers Ferry, WV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We installed this after getting a reading of 13.9 on the home radon detector test. About 3 weeks after installing the fan we tested again, and the reading had dropped to 2.3. It does not make any apparent noise and just does the job.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value.

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very easy to install. Must purchase a separate appliance cord for installation. Only drawback to this purchase was the fan was bound up and it took about an extra 30 minutes of troubleshooting before we took the housing off, gave the fan a push, n presto!
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: no cord supplied., fan motor was stuck.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Radon Mitigation Fan

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. Simple to install and came with all the necessary instructions. Couplers work great…just remember that you need a power cord for this...
Noise level is acceptable. Even with it right above the master bedroom it's only barely noticeable.
Pressure indicator is working well too and the included tube fits fine. Just put some caulking to seal the tube, no need to buy a bigger tube (like mentioned in another review). I recommend this product…
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator
from Clarksville, Columbia, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product, great price

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I first bought the wrong size 4 to 4, returned easily to the store, and got this one. Installed in the attic to the existing sump tubing (be careful not to cut the sewage tubing which looks same).
The unit didn't come with a wire so you need to get yourself to power it. Also the plastic tubing for pressure monitoring is too small to make a sealed connection with the U-tube, so you will need to find a piece yourself.
After all, it works fine. The fan noise is only barely noticeable at quiet night if you are really pay attention to it from the bedroom under it. Our 1600ft basement radon level dropped from 4.6 to 1.5 after 3 days (the radon's lifetime is 3.8 days, when the residual radon level drops by half, in addition there are leakages in house sealing). I expect it keeps lowering further. The fan is about 70W, like keeping a 60W lamp on.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design, Quiet
Cons: wrong tubing for the pressure monitor, no electric wire and plug
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value, but louder than expected.

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works well and is a great value, but would not recommend for an indoor (attic) installation. It is installed on one end of a ranch house in the attic and can be heard in rooms 30-40 ft away from the fan on the other side of the house. I will try adding addition rubber mounts to the brackets where they mount to the house to see if that helps, but the noise seems to be motor noise, not vibration.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value
Cons: Noisy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator
from Boulder, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great price but a litte noisy

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hard to beat the price, particularly given the inclusion of a vacuum gauge. It is noisy and I am stil working on mitigating the vibration. Only adpter option is both inlet and outlet 4" or 3", with no option to order, for example, 4" in and 3" out. This requires purchasing and adapting a flexable plumping connection if one is using different inlet and outlet sizes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good but noisier than expected

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Unit arrived with all the parts and directions. Unit install with no hassles and operated quietly at first. Got noisier after a couple of weeks of running. C\Unit is installed in the attic and I can just hear it through a R-76 insulated ceiling. I wrapped the unit in 8 inches of insulation and it is quieter now
Pros: Easy to Install, High Quality
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy and quiet

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
was easy to install and wire up, quiet motor, great price!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator

Noisy!

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have installed several of these fans, and every one vibrates rather strongly. It appears the blades are not balanced. I have resolved the situation by isolating the fan and the adjacent piping from the structure with rubber spacers, but I should not have to.
I love the price and the fact that this is a complete package with couplings and manometer, but I wish they would put a little effort into resolving the vibration noise.
Cons: Vibrates
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator
from Mount Joy, PA 17552, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked fine

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and cost was good, a little noisy even from our attic but I can live with it.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator
from Maryland
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value, Wiring Issue

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit is well made and priced right. When I hooked up power to it (you must supply your own wire and plug), the unit did not come on. I checked the wiring (easily accessed) against the wiring diagram and saw that one of the wires had been routed to the wrong wing nut. I hooked it up to the correct one and the fan came on. This was a factory mis-wire, not related to the power wire I added.
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: wiring problem
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator
from Newton,NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Excellent product priced right

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product at an excellent price, with easy instructions for installation
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Radon Mitigation Fan Kit 4 in. Fan with 4 in. to 3 in. Couplers and Air Pressure Indicator
from Billings, MT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The fan does it's job

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The fan has a sturdy casing and comes with everything you need to mount it for use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>