728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

The EcoSmart 24 Watt LED Flood Light Bulb uses 24 Watt and lasts up to 25,000 hours, saving you up to $264 per bulb over the course of the bulb's life. This LED bulb is more energy efficient than a halogen bulb and may be dimmed for light customization. Contains mercury: N.
Overall rating:
3.046 / 5
3
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
51%of customersrecommend this product20 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(16)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
51%of customersrecommend this product20 of 39reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Review 1 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Houston, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Save your receipt

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The light from these bulbs is excellent. Very bright and warm, and there's no warm up time like there is with compact flourescents. However, their longevity has proven to be their weak link. I bought six of these back when they were close to $50 each. In nine months, three of them have gone bad. One quit working altogether, and the other two turned literally into strobe lights. I believe the bulbs have a decent warranty, but I didn't save my receipt, so the promise of saving me money has gone the same way as so many of these so called "money-saving green" items.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Bishop, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

18 months later, not so great.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the bulbs about 18 months ago. Two bulbs over the washer & dryer. Excellent bright 3000K light.
There was always about a 1 second delay before the light would come on. Now, after 18 months, one bulb still takes about a second to turn on while the other bulb might take 10 seconds to two minutes to turn on.
These bulbs get maybe only 1 - 3 hours of use a week -- hardly heavy duty usage.
Based on the way they're performing now, I'm changing my opinion to not recommend them.
Pros: Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
Cons: slow start-up
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Long life, I don't think so Tim

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this bulb for my aging in-laws to eliminate the temptation of him getting on a ladder to replace bulbs. Purchased Christmas 2012 so we're at 18 months. It failed by changing to a strobe light, flashing off and on. We checked the light fixture and it is working properly. It has a 5 year warranty so lets say Home Depot honors a bulb without a box and the off chance the receipt can be located. Is it worth replacing with the same bulb? I would not recommend this bulb.
Cons: bad design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

Not for Outdoor use

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The description here for this item says "Indoor/Outdoor Ideal for use in track, recess, and security lighting". The first line of the package at my local Home Depot says in capital bold printing that its not for outdoor use and its not to be exposed to rain.
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Does not last/ burns out

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 8 of these for my outdoor security lights under the eaves of my house. This product is labeled 23 years of life, and 5 of the 8 burned out in less than one year! The package says indoor/outdoor use, and the bulbs themselves are stamped with "suitable for wet locations". I'm thinking that these are NOT true statements. These are WAY too expensive for less than a year of life!
Cons: Burns Out
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from St George, UT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

bright led, high rate of failure

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I bought 16 of these for indoor use in hard-to-reach locations . They truly are bright, and out-perform any flourescent par 38 for light output. They see about 15 hrs of use a day, 7 days a week. They have been in use for just over a year now, and 6-7 of them have started strobing or burned out. Thank goodness for the 5 yr. warranty. I have had no problem returning them to my local HD store for replacements, just make sure that you save your reciepts, and MAKE A COPY! Home Depot reciepts are famous for self-erasing in less than 2 years, even if stored with care. I will not be buying any more of these, and may try the Philips brand that recently came out. Just too high of a rate of failure, which is common in self-ballasted, high-watt LED bulbs that don't have a cooling fan.
Pros: Very Bright
Cons: Burns Out
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from North Granby, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fails prematurely, less light from more power at higher cost than alternative

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When first installed, they seemed great: bright light, comes on instantly. However, within two weeks of installation, one of two bulbs purchased failed completely. That's unacceptable in a bulb that costs this much and that is advertised as lasting 23 years. While advertised as "120W equivalent", this 24-watt bulb's 1,300-lumen light output is lower than the Cree "90-watt equivalent" (18-watt) PAR38 LED flood that Home Depot sells online at almost half the price of the EcoSmart. It's hard to see why one would want to pay more for a bulb that uses more energy to put out less light and that may last decades shorter than it ought to.
Pros: Very Bright
Cons: Burns Out, inefficient, expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

Started Strobing within a Year

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Liked the performance initially as an oversink flood, but as many have noted they don't last long. Just less than a year, started strobing. 5yr warranty or not (much the less a receipt to get them replaced) I will never purchase this product again way too expensive to fail that often.
Pros: Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: Burns Out
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Pasadena, CA

Finally a bright, honest LED light

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've been shopping LED lights for over 10 years, and I've had my fill of manufacturer's unclear and sometimes outright lying descriptions of their LED incandescent replacement products.
After all this time of "about as bright as" and "about the color of", it's refreshing to find an LED light that is what is says it is, and is actually bright enough to work as general illumination!
The color is crisp and white at 3000 degrees Kelvin, and I believe the 1300 Lumen brightness spec. The beam is a bit narrow, so I popped the focusing lens off the thing and got about 40 degrees spread that way. Of course, I'll have to protect the LED element with some other clear, flat covering. If I could move the element to the front of the lamp while maintaining its connection to the heat sink, it would make a perfect 120 degree illuminator. It's so bright, though, that pointing it at a white ceiling works to light up the room without modification.
Price was reasonable at just under $50, plus it was on sale at Home Depot, and I got an additional discount by using my Home Depot credit card. The price I paid was under $45. Given that these things are supposed to last for at least 10 years, it's worth it.
The only negative things I can say about this product are the ubiquitous presence (for all the high power LED lamps) of a gigantic heat sink that makes the lamp large and heavy. This rules out using it in small or delicate fixtures. It also gets hot, not enough to burn but certainly painful. Also, this is the only lamp made in its series that is truly bright enough, and yet they haven't made any that have a wider beam. Odd.
Overall, though, this lamp's departure from other LED lamps with its instant on feature and true-to-advertised specs make this a winner in my book. Which I'm reading using this lamp.....
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Bishop, CA

Bright, clear light... with a caveat.

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bright, strong light. Overall I'm very pleased with the lights, but one thing I didn't anticipate is that there's about a 1 second delay before the lights illuminate, after the wall switch it turned-on. It's a little disconcerting at first, but you get used to it.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not for outdoors

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The package says indoor/outdoor use. I bought 2 and paid nearly $80 dollars for light bulbs. It rained the night I put them up and now neither 1 works. i got about 3 hours of use.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from San Antonio, TX

much better than i expected

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have been wanting to try this new LED bul since it has an impressive 1300 lumens of light output. The high price put me off, however. My kids got me a $30 gift card for Fathers day (thanks kids) so i used it to offset the cost. I'm very pleased with it. So much so that i think I will buy four more to complete my kitchen look. I had put this one on a single switch over the sink. The light is very white and not blue. Close to daylight and since it is so bright it is very good for tasks. Be advised this is a narrow flood with a beam spread of about 25 degrees. You will have to determine if the placement of your lighting works with this beam spread. Uses 24 watts which is actually more than the Ecosmart 120 watt equivalent R40 CFL bulbs they replaced, but the light is superior, albeit more focused. Color temp of 3000 degrees K is very good for a kitchen, Instant on with no annoying warm up period is certainly nice. Much less expensive than comparable bulbs from competing maufacturers and more light output. Made in USA by Lighting Science Group. Well done, Home Depot!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Coral Springs, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stay away! Poor Quality Control

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchase the first bulb, and it started flashing like a strobe light immediately. Returned the bulb for a replacement. Second bulb doesn't even light up.....Another dud! Poor Quality control at the Ecosmart factory. Save your money and yourself the hassle of returning a defective product.
Cons: poor product quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

Bright, nice color, high failure rate

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
3 out of 5 have failed within 4 months.
Do not buy.
Cons: Burns Out
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

Purchased 9, 8 have failed in first year.

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Box says they will last 18 years. Most of them didn't last 1 year. We used them in our lobby and only turned them on weeknights. The ceiling is so high its takes a lot of planning and work to change the bulbs so we thought the cost was worth if if they would last longer than normal bulbs. Very disappointed.
Pros: Stylish, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
Cons: Burns Out
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Fort Collins, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleasing bright white light. Generate much less heat than 90-watt halogen bulbs.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 10 of these bulbs. One failed within days and was immediately replaced without hassle. They are more directional than I hoped, but this has not been a problem with the 4- to 5-foot spacing in my 8-foot kitchen ceiling. Color rendering is great with much less of the yellowish hue that characterizes other bulbs. I particularly like their cooler operating temperature which always worried me about halogen or incandescent bulbs in recessed cans covered above by insulation.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Correct color - Bright and dimmable

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have spent more than $1000 this year converting all lights over to LED. I use these in an enclosed light fixture outdoors under a overhang and they are fantastic. My over all light bill I monitor use TED5000 and LED lighting is the way to go unless electric rates drop. Since I doubt this don't delay and switch everything over right now if you will be in your home for 5 years... its worth it...
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bright, efficient, good color

PostedMay 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These bulbs are definitely as bright as they claim to be and have a good color - not too blue, not too red. The manufacturer lists them as a floodlight with a 40 degree beam which works great in a cathedral ceiling but may be a little tight for short distances. Because of the beam angle and the intense nature of LED light the bulbs cast shadows with fairly sharp edges. We've had 4 of these bulbs in use for several hous daily over 2 months and are very pleased with them so far.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is rated equal to 125 watts using only 24 watts of power.

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This 24 watt (equal to 125 watt incadesent) LED light can be used in light fixtures that previously had 75 watt incadescent bulbs and us less power. You can now replace many of you higher wattage lights with these higher light (1300 Lumens) output and not increase your power load on your circuit breaker. This is a win/win for the home owner. I would like to see the cost come down. I love the light output using less watts (power). Great!! When will the LED's equal to 150 - 200 watts be available?
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Logan, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highest Wattage-Equivalent I Could Find at the Best Price

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As noted above, the product was an excellent combination of high wattage-equivalent and lowest price by a long shot, but best of all from our perspective, was that the bulbs had been manufactured in the United States....unfortunately, I have since noted that "assembly" has been moved to Mexico on recent visits to the store, something I am very sorry to see indeed!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>