728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

The EcoSmart 24 Watt LED Flood Light Bulb uses 24 Watt and lasts up to 25,000 hours, saving you up to $264 per bulb over the course of the bulb's life. This LED bulb is more energy efficient than a halogen bulb and may be dimmed for light customization. Contains mercury: N.
Overall rating:
3.146 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
53%of customersrecommend this product23 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
3.1 out of 5
5
(20)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(16)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
53%of customersrecommend this product23 of 43reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Review 1 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

Excellent for many applications

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works very well in recessed fixture over kitchen sink. Very bright, white light over entire sink area, but light intensity drops off rapidly further away: this characteristic makes it good in some applications, but not in others. Reaches full brightness almost instantly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Houston, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Save your receipt

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The light from these bulbs is excellent. Very bright and warm, and there's no warm up time like there is with compact flourescents. However, their longevity has proven to be their weak link. I bought six of these back when they were close to $50 each. In nine months, three of them have gone bad. One quit working altogether, and the other two turned literally into strobe lights. I believe the bulbs have a decent warranty, but I didn't save my receipt, so the promise of saving me money has gone the same way as so many of these so called "money-saving green" items.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is rated equal to 125 watts using only 24 watts of power.

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This 24 watt (equal to 125 watt incadesent) LED light can be used in light fixtures that previously had 75 watt incadescent bulbs and us less power. You can now replace many of you higher wattage lights with these higher light (1300 Lumens) output and not increase your power load on your circuit breaker. This is a win/win for the home owner. I would like to see the cost come down. I love the light output using less watts (power). Great!! When will the LED's equal to 150 - 200 watts be available?
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

Not for Outdoor use

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The description here for this item says "Indoor/Outdoor Ideal for use in track, recess, and security lighting". The first line of the package at my local Home Depot says in capital bold printing that its not for outdoor use and its not to be exposed to rain.
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not so great

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Yes, read all the information on the box. I prefer a warm hue from my lighting. The brightness and color ( even with the package listing of a light appearance of very close to the warm end of the scale.) was morgue-like in reality.
Paid $650 for bulbs. Three have gone bad in just one week.
The entire lot is going back.
Yes, I want to save energy and money. These are not the answer for me. I'll save my money and wait for a better bulb.
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from cleveland,oh

Great product

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought the bulb at a deep discount.It is very bright and economical.
Pros: Very Bright
Cons: kinda bulky
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Spring, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't last

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought three of these for my kitchen and had to return all within six months because they turn on and off like strobe lights. I purchased the Phillips version and after six months no problems. I would recommend spending the few extra bucks for the Phillips.
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Lutherville-Timonium, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It is brite as we expected, and goes "on" almost instantly

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
goes on fast and is bright, and the idea that a review is too short is a stupid stipulation on HD's part.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Bishop, CA

Bright, clear light... with a caveat.

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Bright, strong light. Overall I'm very pleased with the lights, but one thing I didn't anticipate is that there's about a 1 second delay before the lights illuminate, after the wall switch it turned-on. It's a little disconcerting at first, but you get used to it.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Fort Collins, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleasing bright white light. Generate much less heat than 90-watt halogen bulbs.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased 10 of these bulbs. One failed within days and was immediately replaced without hassle. They are more directional than I hoped, but this has not been a problem with the 4- to 5-foot spacing in my 8-foot kitchen ceiling. Color rendering is great with much less of the yellowish hue that characterizes other bulbs. I particularly like their cooler operating temperature which always worried me about halogen or incandescent bulbs in recessed cans covered above by insulation.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Logan, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highest Wattage-Equivalent I Could Find at the Best Price

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As noted above, the product was an excellent combination of high wattage-equivalent and lowest price by a long shot, but best of all from our perspective, was that the bulbs had been manufactured in the United States....unfortunately, I have since noted that "assembly" has been moved to Mexico on recent visits to the store, something I am very sorry to see indeed!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Frisco, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great replacement for 90W halogens on 20 foot ceiling.

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We've had them installed for about a month and are very pleased with the color and intensity of the light. We used them to replace 90W halogen bulbs in recessed fixtures on a 20 foot ceiling. I also installed an LED dimmer switch which dims them down to a nice level when we don't want it so bright.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Bishop, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

18 months later, not so great.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the bulbs about 18 months ago. Two bulbs over the washer & dryer. Excellent bright 3000K light.
There was always about a 1 second delay before the light would come on. Now, after 18 months, one bulb still takes about a second to turn on while the other bulb might take 10 seconds to two minutes to turn on.
These bulbs get maybe only 1 - 3 hours of use a week -- hardly heavy duty usage.
Based on the way they're performing now, I'm changing my opinion to not recommend them.
Pros: Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
Cons: slow start-up
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from St George, UT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

bright led, high rate of failure

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I bought 16 of these for indoor use in hard-to-reach locations . They truly are bright, and out-perform any flourescent par 38 for light output. They see about 15 hrs of use a day, 7 days a week. They have been in use for just over a year now, and 6-7 of them have started strobing or burned out. Thank goodness for the 5 yr. warranty. I have had no problem returning them to my local HD store for replacements, just make sure that you save your reciepts, and MAKE A COPY! Home Depot reciepts are famous for self-erasing in less than 2 years, even if stored with care. I will not be buying any more of these, and may try the Philips brand that recently came out. Just too high of a rate of failure, which is common in self-ballasted, high-watt LED bulbs that don't have a cooling fan.
Pros: Very Bright
Cons: Burns Out
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Does not last/ burns out

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 8 of these for my outdoor security lights under the eaves of my house. This product is labeled 23 years of life, and 5 of the 8 burned out in less than one year! The package says indoor/outdoor use, and the bulbs themselves are stamped with "suitable for wet locations". I'm thinking that these are NOT true statements. These are WAY too expensive for less than a year of life!
Cons: Burns Out
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

Retrofit Lighting

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect for upgrading or a new installation This Lamp is efficient and has long life
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High failure rate, replacements no longer available at store

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love the light - bright, dims nicely, economical, and great color. Reliability hasn't quite held up to the "23 year life" advertised. This is based on 50,000 hrs, and I estimate they are on about 1000 hrs annually in our application, so the MTBF is less than 10% of the advertised lifetime.
Purchased five of these between 2011 and 2012 and four have failed so far - usually by going intermittent ("strobing"). First three were replaced at local store (with receipt of course), no questions asked.
However on the most recent failure, the store said this model was not carried any more, and I'd have to contact the manufacturer. Seems odd, since EcoSmart is a Home Depot brand.... Had to call HD customer care to find the contact info, so for anyone that needs it, the number is 866-527-0313 (also on the box, I later found). Presumably they will ship a new one.
It's interesting to note that the replacement for the failure from about a year back did not have the one-second turn-on delay, and behaves a bit differently from the others when being dimmed. I'm hopeful this means the internal circuitry was redesigned to something more reliable and the latest replacements won't fail.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Great Dimming, Easy Installation
Cons: Burns Out, Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Correct color - Bright and dimmable

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have spent more than $1000 this year converting all lights over to LED. I use these in an enclosed light fixture outdoors under a overhang and they are fantastic. My over all light bill I monitor use TED5000 and LED lighting is the way to go unless electric rates drop. Since I doubt this don't delay and switch everything over right now if you will be in your home for 5 years... its worth it...
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

2 second delay was a deal-breaker

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two of these to provide a fast on-time complement to the CFL floodlights in my kitchen and bathroom. They have a two second delay between turning on the switch and lighting the LED, presumably because of a design choice made in the driver. That didn't give me the experience I was looking for, so back they went. Other things to note are the fairly blue color temperature and the medium-wide angle (not as wide as the CFL they were to replace). I'll wait for the next generation.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product!

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
they work great!...go on fast no delay...bright as day,light up the night.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>