728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

The EcoSmart 24 Watt LED Flood Light Bulb uses 24 Watt and lasts up to 25,000 hours, saving you up to $264 per bulb over the course of the bulb's life. This LED bulb is more energy efficient than a halogen bulb and may be dimmed for light customization. Contains mercury: N.
Overall rating:
3.13 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
54%of customersrecommend this product22 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(16)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
54%of customersrecommend this product22 of 41reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Review 1 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from San Antonio, TX

much better than i expected

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have been wanting to try this new LED bul since it has an impressive 1300 lumens of light output. The high price put me off, however. My kids got me a $30 gift card for Fathers day (thanks kids) so i used it to offset the cost. I'm very pleased with it. So much so that i think I will buy four more to complete my kitchen look. I had put this one on a single switch over the sink. The light is very white and not blue. Close to daylight and since it is so bright it is very good for tasks. Be advised this is a narrow flood with a beam spread of about 25 degrees. You will have to determine if the placement of your lighting works with this beam spread. Uses 24 watts which is actually more than the Ecosmart 120 watt equivalent R40 CFL bulbs they replaced, but the light is superior, albeit more focused. Color temp of 3000 degrees K is very good for a kitchen, Instant on with no annoying warm up period is certainly nice. Much less expensive than comparable bulbs from competing maufacturers and more light output. Made in USA by Lighting Science Group. Well done, Home Depot!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

Great bulbs

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used in our basement these were the perfect solution. We've been searching and trying several brands but the don't last.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Burbank, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

best, brightest, cheapest!

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hands down these things are the best investment you can make. Yes, expensive to begin with...but saves you from changing bulbs for the next 15-20 years, no heat so your A/C runs less, saves enough on power to pay for itself 10x over. The color on these is also amazing. Not too warm, and not the typical 'blue' white that most led bulbs offer. Also this is by far the most powerful flood you can get. All others are only 18 watts. HD does carry an 18w version also but its only $2 less. Also dimmable.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is rated equal to 125 watts using only 24 watts of power.

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This 24 watt (equal to 125 watt incadesent) LED light can be used in light fixtures that previously had 75 watt incadescent bulbs and us less power. You can now replace many of you higher wattage lights with these higher light (1300 Lumens) output and not increase your power load on your circuit breaker. This is a win/win for the home owner. I would like to see the cost come down. I love the light output using less watts (power). Great!! When will the LED's equal to 150 - 200 watts be available?
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Pasadena, CA

Finally a bright, honest LED light

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've been shopping LED lights for over 10 years, and I've had my fill of manufacturer's unclear and sometimes outright lying descriptions of their LED incandescent replacement products.
After all this time of "about as bright as" and "about the color of", it's refreshing to find an LED light that is what is says it is, and is actually bright enough to work as general illumination!
The color is crisp and white at 3000 degrees Kelvin, and I believe the 1300 Lumen brightness spec. The beam is a bit narrow, so I popped the focusing lens off the thing and got about 40 degrees spread that way. Of course, I'll have to protect the LED element with some other clear, flat covering. If I could move the element to the front of the lamp while maintaining its connection to the heat sink, it would make a perfect 120 degree illuminator. It's so bright, though, that pointing it at a white ceiling works to light up the room without modification.
Price was reasonable at just under $50, plus it was on sale at Home Depot, and I got an additional discount by using my Home Depot credit card. The price I paid was under $45. Given that these things are supposed to last for at least 10 years, it's worth it.
The only negative things I can say about this product are the ubiquitous presence (for all the high power LED lamps) of a gigantic heat sink that makes the lamp large and heavy. This rules out using it in small or delicate fixtures. It also gets hot, not enough to burn but certainly painful. Also, this is the only lamp made in its series that is truly bright enough, and yet they haven't made any that have a wider beam. Odd.
Overall, though, this lamp's departure from other LED lamps with its instant on feature and true-to-advertised specs make this a winner in my book. Which I'm reading using this lamp.....
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Spring, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't last

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought three of these for my kitchen and had to return all within six months because they turn on and off like strobe lights. I purchased the Phillips version and after six months no problems. I would recommend spending the few extra bucks for the Phillips.
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Bishop, CA

Bright, clear light... with a caveat.

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bright, strong light. Overall I'm very pleased with the lights, but one thing I didn't anticipate is that there's about a 1 second delay before the lights illuminate, after the wall switch it turned-on. It's a little disconcerting at first, but you get used to it.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

Excellent for many applications

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works very well in recessed fixture over kitchen sink. Very bright, white light over entire sink area, but light intensity drops off rapidly further away: this characteristic makes it good in some applications, but not in others. Reaches full brightness almost instantly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product!

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
they work great!...go on fast no delay...bright as day,light up the night.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

so far so good

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had these for a month and they have been working fine. The brightness was something we really needed as we had replaced 6 2x4 fluorescent fixtures with 10 recessed cans. It remains to be seen if the electric bill will decline or if the bulbs will last as long as advertised. I'll let you know in 15 years!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well so far - very bright

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I use this to light the alcove at the front entrance to our house. It provides ample bright light. I hope it lasts as long as advertised, but only time will tell.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Fort Collins, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleasing bright white light. Generate much less heat than 90-watt halogen bulbs.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 10 of these bulbs. One failed within days and was immediately replaced without hassle. They are more directional than I hoped, but this has not been a problem with the 4- to 5-foot spacing in my 8-foot kitchen ceiling. Color rendering is great with much less of the yellowish hue that characterizes other bulbs. I particularly like their cooler operating temperature which always worried me about halogen or incandescent bulbs in recessed cans covered above by insulation.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Logan, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highest Wattage-Equivalent I Could Find at the Best Price

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As noted above, the product was an excellent combination of high wattage-equivalent and lowest price by a long shot, but best of all from our perspective, was that the bulbs had been manufactured in the United States....unfortunately, I have since noted that "assembly" has been moved to Mexico on recent visits to the store, something I am very sorry to see indeed!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

Bright, nice color, high failure rate

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
3 out of 5 have failed within 4 months.
Do not buy.
Cons: Burns Out
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Frisco, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great replacement for 90W halogens on 20 foot ceiling.

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had them installed for about a month and are very pleased with the color and intensity of the light. We used them to replace 90W halogen bulbs in recessed fixtures on a 20 foot ceiling. I also installed an LED dimmer switch which dims them down to a nice level when we don't want it so bright.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from St George, UT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

bright led, high rate of failure

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I bought 16 of these for indoor use in hard-to-reach locations . They truly are bright, and out-perform any flourescent par 38 for light output. They see about 15 hrs of use a day, 7 days a week. They have been in use for just over a year now, and 6-7 of them have started strobing or burned out. Thank goodness for the 5 yr. warranty. I have had no problem returning them to my local HD store for replacements, just make sure that you save your reciepts, and MAKE A COPY! Home Depot reciepts are famous for self-erasing in less than 2 years, even if stored with care. I will not be buying any more of these, and may try the Philips brand that recently came out. Just too high of a rate of failure, which is common in self-ballasted, high-watt LED bulbs that don't have a cooling fan.
Pros: Very Bright
Cons: Burns Out
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from West Grove, PA 19390, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Check the Packaging Before Use

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Another reviewer of this item mentioned the item in their store said not to use outdoors. I'd recommend double-checking, as when I purchased mine there was I think a 19W bulb that looks exactly the same that is only labeled for indoor use. This item says to ensure the base isn't exposed to rain, but is rated for outdoor use. Thus, I use it in a can of a security light to light my driveway. While it uses more energy than a typical CFL, it has the huge advantage of instant-on operation. This has been a huge help to my wife in the mornings, as she leaves before dawn, and she doesn't have time to either wait for a CFL to light up, and would end up leaving a light on when she left for work. One bulb has enough output to light up my carport area for 3 cars. I've had the bulb for about 4 months now, but only a duty cycle of about 1/2 an hour per day. I'll keep my eyes on it for any changes as mentioned by other reviewers, as it would be a shame for such an awesome bulb to go bad.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Coral Springs, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stay away! Poor Quality Control

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchase the first bulb, and it started flashing like a strobe light immediately. Returned the bulb for a replacement. Second bulb doesn't even light up.....Another dud! Poor Quality control at the Ecosmart factory. Save your money and yourself the hassle of returning a defective product.
Cons: poor product quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

DOA

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Never lit up. Expensive enough that I didn't take a chance on a replacement bulb which might last only a short while.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Correct color - Bright and dimmable

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have spent more than $1000 this year converting all lights over to LED. I use these in an enclosed light fixture outdoors under a overhang and they are fantastic. My over all light bill I monitor use TED5000 and LED lighting is the way to go unless electric rates drop. Since I doubt this don't delay and switch everything over right now if you will be in your home for 5 years... its worth it...
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>