728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

The EcoSmart 24 Watt LED Flood Light Bulb uses 24 Watt and lasts up to 25,000 hours, saving you up to $264 per bulb over the course of the bulb's life. This LED bulb is more energy efficient than a halogen bulb and may be dimmed for light customization. Contains mercury: N.
Overall rating:
3.146 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
53%of customersrecommend this product23 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
3.1 out of 5
5
(20)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(16)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
53%of customersrecommend this product23 of 43reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Review 1 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

so far so good

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We've had these for a month and they have been working fine. The brightness was something we really needed as we had replaced 6 2x4 fluorescent fixtures with 10 recessed cans. It remains to be seen if the electric bill will decline or if the bulbs will last as long as advertised. I'll let you know in 15 years!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Frisco, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great replacement for 90W halogens on 20 foot ceiling.

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We've had them installed for about a month and are very pleased with the color and intensity of the light. We used them to replace 90W halogen bulbs in recessed fixtures on a 20 foot ceiling. I also installed an LED dimmer switch which dims them down to a nice level when we don't want it so bright.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

2 second delay was a deal-breaker

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two of these to provide a fast on-time complement to the CFL floodlights in my kitchen and bathroom. They have a two second delay between turning on the switch and lighting the LED, presumably because of a design choice made in the driver. That didn't give me the experience I was looking for, so back they went. Other things to note are the fairly blue color temperature and the medium-wide angle (not as wide as the CFL they were to replace). I'll wait for the next generation.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bright, efficient, good color

PostedMay 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These bulbs are definitely as bright as they claim to be and have a good color - not too blue, not too red. The manufacturer lists them as a floodlight with a 40 degree beam which works great in a cathedral ceiling but may be a little tight for short distances. Because of the beam angle and the intense nature of LED light the bulbs cast shadows with fairly sharp edges. We've had 4 of these bulbs in use for several hous daily over 2 months and are very pleased with them so far.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product!

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
they work great!...go on fast no delay...bright as day,light up the night.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Spring, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't last

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought three of these for my kitchen and had to return all within six months because they turn on and off like strobe lights. I purchased the Phillips version and after six months no problems. I would recommend spending the few extra bucks for the Phillips.
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

Not for Outdoor use

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The description here for this item says "Indoor/Outdoor Ideal for use in track, recess, and security lighting". The first line of the package at my local Home Depot says in capital bold printing that its not for outdoor use and its not to be exposed to rain.
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Burbank, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

best, brightest, cheapest!

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Hands down these things are the best investment you can make. Yes, expensive to begin with...but saves you from changing bulbs for the next 15-20 years, no heat so your A/C runs less, saves enough on power to pay for itself 10x over. The color on these is also amazing. Not too warm, and not the typical 'blue' white that most led bulbs offer. Also this is by far the most powerful flood you can get. All others are only 18 watts. HD does carry an 18w version also but its only $2 less. Also dimmable.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Connecticut
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I replaced exterior flood 90 Watt Incandescent bulbs with these LED Bulbs. They are brighter than the incandescents, give a nice warm color and will save me some money through their life. I would recommend these bulbs.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not for outdoors

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The package says indoor/outdoor use. I bought 2 and paid nearly $80 dollars for light bulbs. It rained the night I put them up and now neither 1 works. i got about 3 hours of use.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Bishop, CA

Bright, clear light... with a caveat.

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Bright, strong light. Overall I'm very pleased with the lights, but one thing I didn't anticipate is that there's about a 1 second delay before the lights illuminate, after the wall switch it turned-on. It's a little disconcerting at first, but you get used to it.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Correct color - Bright and dimmable

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have spent more than $1000 this year converting all lights over to LED. I use these in an enclosed light fixture outdoors under a overhang and they are fantastic. My over all light bill I monitor use TED5000 and LED lighting is the way to go unless electric rates drop. Since I doubt this don't delay and switch everything over right now if you will be in your home for 5 years... its worth it...
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Fort Collins, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleasing bright white light. Generate much less heat than 90-watt halogen bulbs.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased 10 of these bulbs. One failed within days and was immediately replaced without hassle. They are more directional than I hoped, but this has not been a problem with the 4- to 5-foot spacing in my 8-foot kitchen ceiling. Color rendering is great with much less of the yellowish hue that characterizes other bulbs. I particularly like their cooler operating temperature which always worried me about halogen or incandescent bulbs in recessed cans covered above by insulation.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

Great bulbs

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used in our basement these were the perfect solution. We've been searching and trying several brands but the don't last.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

DOA

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Never lit up. Expensive enough that I didn't take a chance on a replacement bulb which might last only a short while.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Pasadena, CA

Finally a bright, honest LED light

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've been shopping LED lights for over 10 years, and I've had my fill of manufacturer's unclear and sometimes outright lying descriptions of their LED incandescent replacement products.
After all this time of "about as bright as" and "about the color of", it's refreshing to find an LED light that is what is says it is, and is actually bright enough to work as general illumination!
The color is crisp and white at 3000 degrees Kelvin, and I believe the 1300 Lumen brightness spec. The beam is a bit narrow, so I popped the focusing lens off the thing and got about 40 degrees spread that way. Of course, I'll have to protect the LED element with some other clear, flat covering. If I could move the element to the front of the lamp while maintaining its connection to the heat sink, it would make a perfect 120 degree illuminator. It's so bright, though, that pointing it at a white ceiling works to light up the room without modification.
Price was reasonable at just under $50, plus it was on sale at Home Depot, and I got an additional discount by using my Home Depot credit card. The price I paid was under $45. Given that these things are supposed to last for at least 10 years, it's worth it.
The only negative things I can say about this product are the ubiquitous presence (for all the high power LED lamps) of a gigantic heat sink that makes the lamp large and heavy. This rules out using it in small or delicate fixtures. It also gets hot, not enough to burn but certainly painful. Also, this is the only lamp made in its series that is truly bright enough, and yet they haven't made any that have a wider beam. Odd.
Overall, though, this lamp's departure from other LED lamps with its instant on feature and true-to-advertised specs make this a winner in my book. Which I'm reading using this lamp.....
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Logan, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highest Wattage-Equivalent I Could Find at the Best Price

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As noted above, the product was an excellent combination of high wattage-equivalent and lowest price by a long shot, but best of all from our perspective, was that the bulbs had been manufactured in the United States....unfortunately, I have since noted that "assembly" has been moved to Mexico on recent visits to the store, something I am very sorry to see indeed!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Bishop, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

18 months later, not so great.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the bulbs about 18 months ago. Two bulbs over the washer & dryer. Excellent bright 3000K light.
There was always about a 1 second delay before the light would come on. Now, after 18 months, one bulb still takes about a second to turn on while the other bulb might take 10 seconds to two minutes to turn on.
These bulbs get maybe only 1 - 3 hours of use a week -- hardly heavy duty usage.
Based on the way they're performing now, I'm changing my opinion to not recommend them.
Pros: Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
Cons: slow start-up
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

Excellent for many applications

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works very well in recessed fixture over kitchen sink. Very bright, white light over entire sink area, but light intensity drops off rapidly further away: this characteristic makes it good in some applications, but not in others. Reaches full brightness almost instantly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

Purchased 9, 8 have failed in first year.

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Box says they will last 18 years. Most of them didn't last 1 year. We used them in our lobby and only turned them on weeknights. The ceiling is so high its takes a lot of planning and work to change the bulbs so we thought the cost was worth if if they would last longer than normal bulbs. Very disappointed.
Pros: Stylish, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
Cons: Burns Out
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>