728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

The EcoSmart 24 Watt LED Flood Light Bulb uses 24 Watt and lasts up to 25,000 hours, saving you up to $264 per bulb over the course of the bulb's life. This LED bulb is more energy efficient than a halogen bulb and may be dimmed for light customization. Contains mercury: N.
Overall rating:
3.046 / 5
3
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
51%of customersrecommend this product20 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(16)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
51%of customersrecommend this product20 of 39reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Review 1 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from San Antonio, TX

much better than i expected

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have been wanting to try this new LED bul since it has an impressive 1300 lumens of light output. The high price put me off, however. My kids got me a $30 gift card for Fathers day (thanks kids) so i used it to offset the cost. I'm very pleased with it. So much so that i think I will buy four more to complete my kitchen look. I had put this one on a single switch over the sink. The light is very white and not blue. Close to daylight and since it is so bright it is very good for tasks. Be advised this is a narrow flood with a beam spread of about 25 degrees. You will have to determine if the placement of your lighting works with this beam spread. Uses 24 watts which is actually more than the Ecosmart 120 watt equivalent R40 CFL bulbs they replaced, but the light is superior, albeit more focused. Color temp of 3000 degrees K is very good for a kitchen, Instant on with no annoying warm up period is certainly nice. Much less expensive than comparable bulbs from competing maufacturers and more light output. Made in USA by Lighting Science Group. Well done, Home Depot!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Frisco, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great replacement for 90W halogens on 20 foot ceiling.

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had them installed for about a month and are very pleased with the color and intensity of the light. We used them to replace 90W halogen bulbs in recessed fixtures on a 20 foot ceiling. I also installed an LED dimmer switch which dims them down to a nice level when we don't want it so bright.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from auberry ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

led flood light bulb

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good & bright. hope it saves me money & lasts as long as the regular flood light, time will tell
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well so far - very bright

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I use this to light the alcove at the front entrance to our house. It provides ample bright light. I hope it lasts as long as advertised, but only time will tell.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

Started Strobing within a Year

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Liked the performance initially as an oversink flood, but as many have noted they don't last long. Just less than a year, started strobing. 5yr warranty or not (much the less a receipt to get them replaced) I will never purchase this product again way too expensive to fail that often.
Pros: Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: Burns Out
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Burbank, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

best, brightest, cheapest!

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hands down these things are the best investment you can make. Yes, expensive to begin with...but saves you from changing bulbs for the next 15-20 years, no heat so your A/C runs less, saves enough on power to pay for itself 10x over. The color on these is also amazing. Not too warm, and not the typical 'blue' white that most led bulbs offer. Also this is by far the most powerful flood you can get. All others are only 18 watts. HD does carry an 18w version also but its only $2 less. Also dimmable.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Detroit, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best bulb for the cost.

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the brightest LED flood available, and the price can't be beat. We have put 26 of them into our church so far, in hard-to-reach places. They are brighter than 200 watt incandescents, and will last the rest of my lifetime!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Spring, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't last

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought three of these for my kitchen and had to return all within six months because they turn on and off like strobe lights. I purchased the Phillips version and after six months no problems. I would recommend spending the few extra bucks for the Phillips.
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Lutherville-Timonium, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It is brite as we expected, and goes "on" almost instantly

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
goes on fast and is bright, and the idea that a review is too short is a stupid stipulation on HD's part.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bright, efficient, good color

PostedMay 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These bulbs are definitely as bright as they claim to be and have a good color - not too blue, not too red. The manufacturer lists them as a floodlight with a 40 degree beam which works great in a cathedral ceiling but may be a little tight for short distances. Because of the beam angle and the intense nature of LED light the bulbs cast shadows with fairly sharp edges. We've had 4 of these bulbs in use for several hous daily over 2 months and are very pleased with them so far.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

Burnt Out before Halogen

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased four of these and three have burnt out. One caused damage to the surrounding light fixture.
Pros: Very Bright
Cons: Burns Out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from North Granby, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fails prematurely, less light from more power at higher cost than alternative

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When first installed, they seemed great: bright light, comes on instantly. However, within two weeks of installation, one of two bulbs purchased failed completely. That's unacceptable in a bulb that costs this much and that is advertised as lasting 23 years. While advertised as "120W equivalent", this 24-watt bulb's 1,300-lumen light output is lower than the Cree "90-watt equivalent" (18-watt) PAR38 LED flood that Home Depot sells online at almost half the price of the EcoSmart. It's hard to see why one would want to pay more for a bulb that uses more energy to put out less light and that may last decades shorter than it ought to.
Pros: Very Bright
Cons: Burns Out, inefficient, expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Pasadena, CA

Finally a bright, honest LED light

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've been shopping LED lights for over 10 years, and I've had my fill of manufacturer's unclear and sometimes outright lying descriptions of their LED incandescent replacement products.
After all this time of "about as bright as" and "about the color of", it's refreshing to find an LED light that is what is says it is, and is actually bright enough to work as general illumination!
The color is crisp and white at 3000 degrees Kelvin, and I believe the 1300 Lumen brightness spec. The beam is a bit narrow, so I popped the focusing lens off the thing and got about 40 degrees spread that way. Of course, I'll have to protect the LED element with some other clear, flat covering. If I could move the element to the front of the lamp while maintaining its connection to the heat sink, it would make a perfect 120 degree illuminator. It's so bright, though, that pointing it at a white ceiling works to light up the room without modification.
Price was reasonable at just under $50, plus it was on sale at Home Depot, and I got an additional discount by using my Home Depot credit card. The price I paid was under $45. Given that these things are supposed to last for at least 10 years, it's worth it.
The only negative things I can say about this product are the ubiquitous presence (for all the high power LED lamps) of a gigantic heat sink that makes the lamp large and heavy. This rules out using it in small or delicate fixtures. It also gets hot, not enough to burn but certainly painful. Also, this is the only lamp made in its series that is truly bright enough, and yet they haven't made any that have a wider beam. Odd.
Overall, though, this lamp's departure from other LED lamps with its instant on feature and true-to-advertised specs make this a winner in my book. Which I'm reading using this lamp.....
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

so far so good

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had these for a month and they have been working fine. The brightness was something we really needed as we had replaced 6 2x4 fluorescent fixtures with 10 recessed cans. It remains to be seen if the electric bill will decline or if the bulbs will last as long as advertised. I'll let you know in 15 years!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is rated equal to 125 watts using only 24 watts of power.

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This 24 watt (equal to 125 watt incadesent) LED light can be used in light fixtures that previously had 75 watt incadescent bulbs and us less power. You can now replace many of you higher wattage lights with these higher light (1300 Lumens) output and not increase your power load on your circuit breaker. This is a win/win for the home owner. I would like to see the cost come down. I love the light output using less watts (power). Great!! When will the LED's equal to 150 - 200 watts be available?
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Fort Collins, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleasing bright white light. Generate much less heat than 90-watt halogen bulbs.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 10 of these bulbs. One failed within days and was immediately replaced without hassle. They are more directional than I hoped, but this has not been a problem with the 4- to 5-foot spacing in my 8-foot kitchen ceiling. Color rendering is great with much less of the yellowish hue that characterizes other bulbs. I particularly like their cooler operating temperature which always worried me about halogen or incandescent bulbs in recessed cans covered above by insulation.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Logan, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highest Wattage-Equivalent I Could Find at the Best Price

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As noted above, the product was an excellent combination of high wattage-equivalent and lowest price by a long shot, but best of all from our perspective, was that the bulbs had been manufactured in the United States....unfortunately, I have since noted that "assembly" has been moved to Mexico on recent visits to the store, something I am very sorry to see indeed!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

Not for Outdoor use

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The description here for this item says "Indoor/Outdoor Ideal for use in track, recess, and security lighting". The first line of the package at my local Home Depot says in capital bold printing that its not for outdoor use and its not to be exposed to rain.
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from West Grove, PA 19390, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Check the Packaging Before Use

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Another reviewer of this item mentioned the item in their store said not to use outdoors. I'd recommend double-checking, as when I purchased mine there was I think a 19W bulb that looks exactly the same that is only labeled for indoor use. This item says to ensure the base isn't exposed to rain, but is rated for outdoor use. Thus, I use it in a can of a security light to light my driveway. While it uses more energy than a typical CFL, it has the huge advantage of instant-on operation. This has been a huge help to my wife in the mornings, as she leaves before dawn, and she doesn't have time to either wait for a CFL to light up, and would end up leaving a light on when she left for work. One bulb has enough output to light up my carport area for 3 cars. I've had the bulb for about 4 months now, but only a duty cycle of about 1/2 an hour per day. I'll keep my eyes on it for any changes as mentioned by other reviewers, as it would be a shame for such an awesome bulb to go bad.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Does not last/ burns out

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 8 of these for my outdoor security lights under the eaves of my house. This product is labeled 23 years of life, and 5 of the 8 burned out in less than one year! The package says indoor/outdoor use, and the bulbs themselves are stamped with "suitable for wet locations". I'm thinking that these are NOT true statements. These are WAY too expensive for less than a year of life!
Cons: Burns Out
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>