728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb

The EcoSmart 24 Watt LED Flood Light Bulb uses 24 Watt and lasts up to 25,000 hours, saving you up to $264 per bulb over the course of the bulb's life. This LED bulb is more energy efficient than a halogen bulb and may be dimmed for light customization. Contains mercury: N.
Overall rating:
3.143 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
54%of customersrecommend this product20 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(14)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
54%of customersrecommend this product20 of 37reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Review 1 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Rustybolt
from San Antonio, TX

much better than i expected

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have been wanting to try this new LED bul since it has an impressive 1300 lumens of light output. The high price put me off, however. My kids got me a $30 gift card for Fathers day (thanks kids) so i used it to offset the cost. I'm very pleased with it. So much so that i think I will buy four more to complete my kitchen look. I had put this one on a single switch over the sink. The light is very white and not blue. Close to daylight and since it is so bright it is very good for tasks. Be advised this is a narrow flood with a beam spread of about 25 degrees. You will have to determine if the placement of your lighting works with this beam spread. Uses 24 watts which is actually more than the Ecosmart 120 watt equivalent R40 CFL bulbs they replaced, but the light is superior, albeit more focused. Color temp of 3000 degrees K is very good for a kitchen, Instant on with no annoying warm up period is certainly nice. Much less expensive than comparable bulbs from competing maufacturers and more light output. Made in USA by Lighting Science Group. Well done, Home Depot!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
GBMaker
from Pasadena, CA

Finally a bright, honest LED light

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've been shopping LED lights for over 10 years, and I've had my fill of manufacturer's unclear and sometimes outright lying descriptions of their LED incandescent replacement products.
After all this time of "about as bright as" and "about the color of", it's refreshing to find an LED light that is what is says it is, and is actually bright enough to work as general illumination!
The color is crisp and white at 3000 degrees Kelvin, and I believe the 1300 Lumen brightness spec. The beam is a bit narrow, so I popped the focusing lens off the thing and got about 40 degrees spread that way. Of course, I'll have to protect the LED element with some other clear, flat covering. If I could move the element to the front of the lamp while maintaining its connection to the heat sink, it would make a perfect 120 degree illuminator. It's so bright, though, that pointing it at a white ceiling works to light up the room without modification.
Price was reasonable at just under $50, plus it was on sale at Home Depot, and I got an additional discount by using my Home Depot credit card. The price I paid was under $45. Given that these things are supposed to last for at least 10 years, it's worth it.
The only negative things I can say about this product are the ubiquitous presence (for all the high power LED lamps) of a gigantic heat sink that makes the lamp large and heavy. This rules out using it in small or delicate fixtures. It also gets hot, not enough to burn but certainly painful. Also, this is the only lamp made in its series that is truly bright enough, and yet they haven't made any that have a wider beam. Odd.
Overall, though, this lamp's departure from other LED lamps with its instant on feature and true-to-advertised specs make this a winner in my book. Which I'm reading using this lamp.....
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
davhef
from Bishop, CA

Bright, clear light... with a caveat.

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bright, strong light. Overall I'm very pleased with the lights, but one thing I didn't anticipate is that there's about a 1 second delay before the lights illuminate, after the wall switch it turned-on. It's a little disconcerting at first, but you get used to it.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Finky

Great bulbs

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used in our basement these were the perfect solution. We've been searching and trying several brands but the don't last.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Robin

so far so good

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had these for a month and they have been working fine. The brightness was something we really needed as we had replaced 6 2x4 fluorescent fixtures with 10 recessed cans. It remains to be seen if the electric bill will decline or if the bulbs will last as long as advertised. I'll let you know in 15 years!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
jodave

Excellent for many applications

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works very well in recessed fixture over kitchen sink. Very bright, white light over entire sink area, but light intensity drops off rapidly further away: this characteristic makes it good in some applications, but not in others. Reaches full brightness almost instantly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Ross
from Houston, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Save your receipt

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The light from these bulbs is excellent. Very bright and warm, and there's no warm up time like there is with compact flourescents. However, their longevity has proven to be their weak link. I bought six of these back when they were close to $50 each. In nine months, three of them have gone bad. One quit working altogether, and the other two turned literally into strobe lights. I believe the bulbs have a decent warranty, but I didn't save my receipt, so the promise of saving me money has gone the same way as so many of these so called "money-saving green" items.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Stan
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is rated equal to 125 watts using only 24 watts of power.

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This 24 watt (equal to 125 watt incadesent) LED light can be used in light fixtures that previously had 75 watt incadescent bulbs and us less power. You can now replace many of you higher wattage lights with these higher light (1300 Lumens) output and not increase your power load on your circuit breaker. This is a win/win for the home owner. I would like to see the cost come down. I love the light output using less watts (power). Great!! When will the LED's equal to 150 - 200 watts be available?
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
EcoSmart10
from Fort Collins, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleasing bright white light. Generate much less heat than 90-watt halogen bulbs.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 10 of these bulbs. One failed within days and was immediately replaced without hassle. They are more directional than I hoped, but this has not been a problem with the 4- to 5-foot spacing in my 8-foot kitchen ceiling. Color rendering is great with much less of the yellowish hue that characterizes other bulbs. I particularly like their cooler operating temperature which always worried me about halogen or incandescent bulbs in recessed cans covered above by insulation.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Nigelous
from Logan, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highest Wattage-Equivalent I Could Find at the Best Price

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As noted above, the product was an excellent combination of high wattage-equivalent and lowest price by a long shot, but best of all from our perspective, was that the bulbs had been manufactured in the United States....unfortunately, I have since noted that "assembly" has been moved to Mexico on recent visits to the store, something I am very sorry to see indeed!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Santino

Not for Outdoor use

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The description here for this item says "Indoor/Outdoor Ideal for use in track, recess, and security lighting". The first line of the package at my local Home Depot says in capital bold printing that its not for outdoor use and its not to be exposed to rain.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
MNice
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not so great

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Yes, read all the information on the box. I prefer a warm hue from my lighting. The brightness and color ( even with the package listing of a light appearance of very close to the warm end of the scale.) was morgue-like in reality.
Paid $650 for bulbs. Three have gone bad in just one week.
The entire lot is going back.
Yes, I want to save energy and money. These are not the answer for me. I'll save my money and wait for a better bulb.
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
JMCM
from Frisco, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great replacement for 90W halogens on 20 foot ceiling.

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had them installed for about a month and are very pleased with the color and intensity of the light. We used them to replace 90W halogen bulbs in recessed fixtures on a 20 foot ceiling. I also installed an LED dimmer switch which dims them down to a nice level when we don't want it so bright.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
mountainman
from auberry ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

led flood light bulb

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good & bright. hope it saves me money & lasts as long as the regular flood light, time will tell
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
TXFixitGuy
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LED Flood Light

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I call this more of a spot light. It's quite bright, and should work well for a recessed fixture need spot lighting. If your room has several recessed fixtures, consider these as they're bright and are easy on electricity, and they are dimmable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Easy Installation
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
davhef
from Bishop, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

18 months later, not so great.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the bulbs about 18 months ago. Two bulbs over the washer & dryer. Excellent bright 3000K light.
There was always about a 1 second delay before the light would come on. Now, after 18 months, one bulb still takes about a second to turn on while the other bulb might take 10 seconds to two minutes to turn on.
These bulbs get maybe only 1 - 3 hours of use a week -- hardly heavy duty usage.
Based on the way they're performing now, I'm changing my opinion to not recommend them.
Pros: Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
Cons: slow start-up
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
Matttheelectrician
from St George, UT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

bright led, high rate of failure

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I bought 16 of these for indoor use in hard-to-reach locations . They truly are bright, and out-perform any flourescent par 38 for light output. They see about 15 hrs of use a day, 7 days a week. They have been in use for just over a year now, and 6-7 of them have started strobing or burned out. Thank goodness for the 5 yr. warranty. I have had no problem returning them to my local HD store for replacements, just make sure that you save your reciepts, and MAKE A COPY! Home Depot reciepts are famous for self-erasing in less than 2 years, even if stored with care. I will not be buying any more of these, and may try the Philips brand that recently came out. Just too high of a rate of failure, which is common in self-ballasted, high-watt LED bulbs that don't have a cooling fan.
Pros: Very Bright
Cons: Burns Out
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
1Scoundrel
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well so far - very bright

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I use this to light the alcove at the front entrance to our house. It provides ample bright light. I hope it lasts as long as advertised, but only time will tell.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
uagent
from West Grove, PA 19390, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Check the Packaging Before Use

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Another reviewer of this item mentioned the item in their store said not to use outdoors. I'd recommend double-checking, as when I purchased mine there was I think a 19W bulb that looks exactly the same that is only labeled for indoor use. This item says to ensure the base isn't exposed to rain, but is rated for outdoor use. Thus, I use it in a can of a security light to light my driveway. While it uses more energy than a typical CFL, it has the huge advantage of instant-on operation. This has been a huge help to my wife in the mornings, as she leaves before dawn, and she doesn't have time to either wait for a CFL to light up, and would end up leaving a light on when she left for work. One bulb has enough output to light up my carport area for 3 cars. I've had the bulb for about 4 months now, but only a duty cycle of about 1/2 an hour per day. I'll keep my eyes on it for any changes as mentioned by other reviewers, as it would be a shame for such an awesome bulb to go bad.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 120W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) PAR38 LED Flood Light Bulb
NotHappy
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Does not last/ burns out

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 8 of these for my outdoor security lights under the eaves of my house. This product is labeled 23 years of life, and 5 of the 8 burned out in less than one year! The package says indoor/outdoor use, and the bulbs themselves are stamped with "suitable for wet locations". I'm thinking that these are NOT true statements. These are WAY too expensive for less than a year of life!
Cons: Burns Out
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>