728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Power Tool Batteries & Chargers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion High Capacity Battery

18-Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion High Capacity Battery

The new 18-Volt High Capacity Battery works with all RIDGID 18-Volt tools and is powered by Hyper Lithium Technology. Hyper Lithium is an innovative battery technology built for high performance and provides best-in-class run time, best-in-class recharges and best-in-class extreme weather performance. With an added Fuel Gauge to easily monitor your batteries charge level and triple electronics design to protect the battery from overheating, overloading, overcharging Hyper Lithium is built for high performance.
Overall rating:
4.235 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product11 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(3)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product11 of 15reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion High Capacity Battery
Review 1 for 18-Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion High Capacity Battery
from Western MA.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hyper vs XCP

PostedJune 8, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I have both the 18V Hyperformance btty and the XCP 19.2 V. from another brand.
I did a comparison on both, drilling 3/4" holes using a separate spade bit for each drill into 2x4 stud.
Now to be fair, the XCP is a slightly higer voltage, but the Ridgid drill I was using has a higher torque and speed rating vs the other brands drill. So take this as you will.
The "unscientific" results: Ridgid hyperformance drilled 41 1/2 holes, while the XCP drilled 86 holes.
Now the Hyperformance combo set I purchased, I am quite pleased with. The drills are an upgrade from the other brand I have, and I do like the Hyper btty, I just think this Hyperformance btty is a bit over priced, IMHO.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion High Capacity Battery
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No lifetime service agreement

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Part of the lure of the ridgid X4 line was the lifetime service agreement across the product line but when I tried to register this with ridgid their website indicates it doesn't qualify. The Homedepot listing however showed it as qualifying.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion High Capacity Battery
from Branchland, WV 25506, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great battery

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to replace a battery but it WAS covered under the lsa and had no probs in doing so. Cant beat the power and length of the battery life. I have used mine ALL day driving deck screws and only after about 12 hrs did I change out batteries. LOVE IT!!!!! cant go wrong with RIDGID. And by the way the battery I replaced just had a manufactures defect, not a big deal, as it happens with everything.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion High Capacity Battery
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Only has 3 year warranty

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Make sure you are aware that this battery only has a 3 year warranty from Ridgid and doesn't qualify for Ridgid's LSA warranty.
+20points
24out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion High Capacity Battery
from Mountains of Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great battery

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Strong, long lasting battery. Replaced a Ni-cad with it, and it lasts longer, runs stronger - only downsides are: it takes a long time to charge, and I used to be able to buy 2 Ni-cad's for the price of one of these Lithium batteries. I'll be buying another one in the near future.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: pricey
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion High Capacity Battery

The best on the market

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Outstanding battery life with exceptional power. The battery indicator is a great feature.
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion High Capacity Battery
from Livingston, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Lifetime Warranty

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The battery performs well and is a big improvement over previous generations, however I am very disappointed to learn that it is not eligible for the Ridgid Lifetime Warranty program.
Unfortunately for me, I didn't know this when I purchased the battery as all available literature makes it seem like you can "upgrade" to the Lifetime Warranty once you complete the registration process.
Had I known this prior to purchase, I would not have spent the extra money for this battery.
Pros: Long-Lasting
Cons: disappointing warranty
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion High Capacity Battery
from Spokane, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

last a long time

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this battery does an excellent job. And charges really fast.
Pros: Long-Lasting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion High Capacity Battery
from Augusta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm very satasfied with the spare battery, I get about 3 more hours of use before switching.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion High Capacity Battery
from Lombard, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Replacement battery for my Ridge combo kit

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had to replace my battery for my Ridge combo kit, both of the original batteries stopped working after about 3 years. Over all the battery works well although I believe the old batteries held a longer charge. I like the battery meter to let you know at a quick glance how much power is left in the battery. I find it funny that this replacement battery is $99. 00 and I can
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion High Capacity Battery
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works as expected

PostedMay 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works as expected. heck of a lot better than the little ones.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion High Capacity Battery
from Madison, AL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very powerful battery. I love the LED feature

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I gave this product 4 Stars as I just bought the battery recently and haven't actually used it to perform any work related projects yet. My Ridgid drill runs great with this battery, but that's without a load. The battery seems to be very powerful. I will be able to give a much more accurate evaluation in a few months or a year after I have had a chance to use it for a while. I really do like the LED feature that allows you to view the amount of charge left in the battery at any given time. Very handy.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Strong, l.e.d. amount of remaining charge indicator
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion High Capacity Battery
from Arlington, Tx
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

18v X4 hyper lithium battery

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this battery to use with my 18v ridgid Jobmax console, has the power to do the job without having to change batteries. this is my first battery and rigdid tool that I bought and it works great. I think I will look into more of the ridgid 18v products that are available.
Pros: Durable, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion High Capacity Battery
from Shreveport, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I cannot believe I had to buy a new battery already!!!!

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sure hope the new one lasts longer than the ones that came with the tools.
-6points
3out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion High Capacity Battery
from WhiteSalmon, Wash.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

18 volt Lithium High Capacity

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It does last longer than the old type of battery. Just pricey!I really like the lights that let ya know how much power is left.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion High Capacity Battery

Exactly what we expected

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered as a backup battery and works exactly as desired
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 18-Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion High Capacity Battery
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product