728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

The Maine Woods Pellet High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack) provides more heat per pound than firewood. Its blend of hardwood and softwood burns cleanly and produces little ash for easy cleanup.
Overall rating:
3.007 / 5
3
 / 
5
(133 reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
56%of customersrecommend this product71 of 127reviews
Rating Breakdown 133 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(38)
4
(28)
3
(7)
2
(17)
1
(43)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
56%of customersrecommend this product71 of 127reviews
Customer reviews for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
Review 1 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

OK

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These pellets are as good as any bargain pellets. Burn good, feed good, have decent output, no excessively long pellet. Ash is the same as expected. My little Harman will burn anything I put in it, anyway. It isn't very picky.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Easton PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Depends on stove mfg & pellet mfg & mfg lot

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had different experiences with the same same pellet mfg & stove mfg. qudrafire & englander stoves are fussy as their design exacerbates the clinker issue with budget pellets. Harmon burns just about anything with out clinker issues. It all depends on the lot of pellets you purchase & the stove you burn them in. I always end up with 20 - 30 bags left over & store them in a hot dry area for the summer. They always burn hot & with out excess ash. i.e. The cheap green pellets might just need some time to cure.
Pros: High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Lower Bucks, Pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Stove Chow Pellets

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ok... finished burning a [free] Ton of Energex premiums but had bought about 12 bags of Stove Chows at HD during that time..
Other than a bit more Ash, the Chows seems to burn as hot or hotter than the Energex..
They are distributed and[ or] re-bagged by Energex company.. Look identical...and I think they burn A little longer than Energex...
Chows we're 229.00 ton vrs 259.00 for Energex....Still will get another Ton of Energex..
Since we had to put ours in the Basement we had to cut the shrink Wrap which gave us a REAL FEEL] of each bag.. 4 bags we're rock hard about 1/4 up from bottom.. since stored outside I guess.
As we cut the shrink wrap, little sheets of Ice we're in between layers of pellets..Guess it was Condensation got thru? anyways, had we stored outside prob would not have found these rocks till later in the winter....HD will exchange for newe bags...
Have read others forums that Stove Chows are horrible, don't burn good, clog up the burn pots etc.
I am beginning to believe it is the stove more than the Pellets in most cases..Anyone using a HARMAN with the bottom -Auger will have No Trouble burning most pellets so just try different ones for your stove and don't put too much stock into negativity about pellets unless someone has the same setup you do. My Harman P61A can burn corn, oats, barley etc so no problem with pellets I;m sure.
If a bag of pellets doesn't look like a cheap bag of dog food with lot of powder and crushed up pellets, it will prob put out good heat...
As always, do a good brush and Vacuum at least once every 10 days or so no matter what pellets you burn..
Also have a OAK system for air so that may help with good burning..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great
Cons: none so far
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
26out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 4 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Eastern Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy Nation Choice pellets

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm burning Nation Pellets from Home Depot in a Quadra fire pellet stove. I would not buy this brand again. I'm having a hard time chiseling out the burn pot size clunkers. I used Stove Chow from home depot last year with no issues. I hope this information helps. The code on the Nation Choice bags RM 08/12. Home Depot did a great job with Delivery.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+73points
79out of 85found this review helpful.
Review 5 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from professional scientist-- novice wood stove owner
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

analysis of wood pellets from Home Depot

PostedJune 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
OK. here goes.
I am a scientist with some 30 yrs experience and as such I am charged with reviewing data, analyzing that data and coming up with some conclusions. I do not have any personal experience with wood pellets, so this is what we call a literature review (quite common in the industry). I live in Florida and have just bought a property in Gouldsboro Me. So take these comments with a grain of salt.
After reading 123 reviews, along with others; this is my working hypothesis. I think pellet efficiency is more of a way the pellets are stored and handled than the brand name. Let me explain: it seems odd that reviewers have such divergent opinions on the same name product (some love a particular brand while others hate that brand). I have read opinions from several reviewers mentioning clumping or freezing of pellets in the bag. If these bags of pellets are stored outside, as some have reported, this could allow the humidity in the bag along with high moisture content of pellets to freeze resulting in a melting of the ice, when brought inside, allowing the pellets to become damp or even wet. This could be the cause of some of the clinkers, sooting and high ash accumulation. It seems to me that a hot fire in the fire box would offer a fairly complete combustion, given the size/surface area ratio of the pellets, regardless of the brand used.
As to the amount of sawdust in the pellet bags. Was any attention given to where on the pallet the bags were located ? You would expect more crushing near the bottom. When in the season the pallets were purchased. Late in the season the pellets would have had more time for the crushing to take place.
Now, after all this rhetoric, has anyone thought of using some type of container inside the house to dump the pellets in, to allow the moisture to evaporate prior to placing in the stove hopper ? If you have tried this or have any other comments, please post, as I would and I am sure other pellet stove owners would be very interested.
See ya in the cold north country, happy pelleting !
Pros: some insight
+39points
51out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 6 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

General Info

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Haven't used this brand yet. I have used a pellet stove for almost a decade now and it is a low cost Englander. The stove has been reliable and has saved me thousands. It does require some additional cleaning. The stove and how you service it will have a material impact on how the pellets work. I would obtain a test sample of brands and test them before use and read applicable reviews of those who have the same stove and pellets. That being said pellets properties can change from year to year and even from ton to ton. For Maine pellets this is reasonable price.
Pros: price
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

Stove Chow - First timer

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm a first timer with pellet stove/inserts - Vistaflame FPI 100 . Stove Chow came highly recommended by a HD EE who mentioned she burned it in her own stove and have had good experiences. I also saw good feedback on many pellet stove forums. My experience to date, and I have only run through three bags, have been that the mixed hardwood softwood provides excellent heat, relatively low ash and to date - NO CLINKERS and a minimum of fines. Cant quite figure out the composition, but as they are relatively dark in color, good chance there is a lot of bark. They do seem to burn quickly also. When my stove was setup, the dealer left me a few bags of the Energex hardwood pellets they were selling. I tested these also. The Stove Chow (incidentally also made by Energex) had comparable heat - if not hotter than the hardwood. Of note was that the Stove Chow pellets were softer and easier to break into pieces. Once can assume that will result in more fines using the Stove Chow than if I had went with the dealers high end brand. Other than that, they appear to be a good value for the price.
Pros: great value.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from CT

Every stove burns different

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First off let me say i never write reviews but felt i needed to for these pellets. Ive had a pellet stove for 8-9 yrs and have tried many brands of pellets from cheap to expensive. I have found that each stove burns differently. Ive burned the expensive name brands that are supposed to be ultra low ash that leave me cleaning my burn pot frequently and not produce much heat. Ive found stove chow to work the best for my stove and it's a good value for the money. What burns well for me might not burn as well for you but that doesnt mean its a bad product. Its just not right for you. This is definitely a trial and error thing. I suggest you grab a couple bags of a brand of pellets HD carries and try them. If they work for you youll end up saving some money since HD pellets seem to be priced the cheapest (at least in central CT).
+65points
69out of 73found this review helpful.
Review 9 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great pellets at an unbeatable price

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Stove Chow pellets I buy every year at Home Depot are GREAT. The price is right and usually available when i need them. I've tried other brands, but Stove Chow is my favorite so far.
Pros: quality pellets
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stove Chow - An update - 1ManArmy

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'd posted an initial review based upon a few bags of usage. Bought a ton and have run through a few more bags. Boy did I get an education. The Stove Chow has few fines as per my initial review, however the CLINKERS... oh my god... Clean the burn pot and start a bag. All is well initially. After a while the fire turns lazy and dark orange and smokey. Air adjustment you think right? Well,..loh and behold when you look into the burn pot, piles of pellets. Instantly you know that the air vents in the bottom of the burn pot have been clogged and need cleaning to remove the hard buildup. I'm having to do this every bag. What a bunch of -well I cant put it here, but you know. Will burn what I have left and move on. Lesson learned.
Cons: lots of clinkers
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Concord, NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nation's Choice Pellets

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have an Englander pellet stove which I bought at Home Depot 5 years ago. It has burned every great except Nation's Choice pellets. They form a big clinker on the burn plate and which eventually causes the fire to go out, but does not stop the feed, resulting in an overflow of unburied pellets. I have to clean the stove every 8 hours. I am hoping that these pellets are not doing damage to my stove.
Home Depot Purchasing Manager: do your company's reputation a favor and stop selling this brand. Listen to your customers!
Cons: Difficult to Use, clogs my pellet stove.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Concord NH

Worst Pellet to date, Nations Choice.

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pellets seemed good at first, Then I got through my first bag, in my england stove..... thats when the fun began.. I have half a ton through the stove, of another brand, and have not had to scrape the buildup off the feed auger, after one 40lbs bag of theese... time to scrape, no big deal, cleaned and re-fired, next day, next bag..... scrape the auger again...... Glad I only bought three bags to try, cause there good for nothing. other than maby animal bedding.....
Pros: they burn.. kinda??
Cons: dirty low heat high clinkers lots of fly ash..., just plain junk.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Rhode island

Green Supreme

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We are very happy with Green Supreme wood pellets. Will continue to purchase. Good heat output at a reasonable price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from NASHUA NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

PELLET FUEL

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the past years hm dep sold FIRESIDE ULTRA PELLETS which were very good (no clunkers-good heat) this year .NATIONS CHOICE pellets are much lower quality in my opinion-large very hard clunkers-not as good heat-must clean twice as often--bottom line would not get again or recommend to anyone--Iasked a manager how these pellets were he said they were very good--NOT
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 15 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, good price

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought 10 bags of the Fireside Ultra to try it out. Based on others comments about a hard buildup in the burn pot and dirty glass after a single bag, I slowed down the feed rate from 4 to 2.5. After 3 bags all there is is a light ash that comes out without any scraping and clean glass. Much better than the product I was using which produced clinkers and clogged the hopper all the time. With the previous pellets, which ranged from sawdust (and lots of it) to 2" long, I had to sift out the sawdust and break the long pellets to prevent clogs in the hopper. A real pain! The size range on these is just right and they burn hot.
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality, low price
Cons: none
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Massachusetts
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

National Choice Pellets

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have never had any problems with my pellet stove UNTIL I bought Nation Choice Pellets. They are complete JUNK!!. First they are dirty with a lot of dust, clinkers, the BTU is not very good and they are not cut very good at all. There are some that have to be an inch and a half long, and a complete first my auger keeps jamming up with them. It was so bad I had to take the stove a part and remove the auger to fee the jam. This stuff is pure junk! It is like taking $219.00 and putting it in the burn pot for nothing.
I will never buy this product again. The lowest bidder gets to put there pellets in Home Depot well they can keep them you lost me as a customer as long as you sell junk like this!
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from maine
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great pellets this year

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Im a first year pellet user. Ive tried 5 different brands and the athens pellets are what I keep returning to. I rate them right up there with Energex as far as ash content and heat. Im using a harman xxv. Better than stove chow and lots better than t.s. brand. If Energex is great these are great for alot less money and made in maine!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Wappingers Falls New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good purchase for the price

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a Quadra Mount Vernon AE stove and it's my first year using it. Just put it in. I have a friend with the same stove and he recommended these pellets. He ordered 7 tons and it works well and low ash according to him. I got lucky he has the same stove so Im going off his opinion. I know soft wood pellets are the best but they were out of them. From all the reviews it seems to me it's not only the pellets but the quality of your stove. I will see for myself how they work.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none yet
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Ellsworth/ Bangor Maine area
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fireside Ultra vs Premium Blazer

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Please everyone, write the pellet brand in your reviews. In the title is best, that way we can all benefit from each others experience more quickly and efficiently. To say that Home Depot pellets are bad, is very unfair to Home Depot as I have seen no less than 6-8 brands in our stores this winter alone. Pellets are scarce this winter, and HD and other stores are doing their best to simply acquire pellets needed for their customers, let alone worry about brands. I must commend them on not price gouging as current HD prices are the same or lower than the falls prices. For my review. I like the Firesides, and it seems many others do as well. They burn hot and burn long. The Blazers: Just bought 2 bags to try, they have been burning about 45 minutes to an hour at full feed rate and full air rate. They are burning hot, as I expected as they are 100% softwood, but they are burning instantaneously when they drop into the burn pot. While they may be hot, I would anticipate that they would be expensive to burn due to their quick burn rate. I am trying them to see if they might be good for those very cold days. Also might be good to mix in with a hardwood pellet for that extra heat on a cold day. If I am mistaken about these Blazers, I will update this post with another post in a couple of days. Currently, we are having the best luck with a blended pellet like Fireside or Maine Wood Pellet for high heat, and 100% hardwood like Green Team on warmer days, for a long burn and efficiency. Look for my Nations Choice review soon as I also purchased 10 bags of those to try. We are using a New Englander stove and finding varying air rates gives us more efficient burns on all different types and brand of pellets. Jim Addison
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Monterey County CA.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great convenience but I've had better quality

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First - I LOVE my pellet stove! Such a great value. Would recommend it to anyone but my 90 year old mother! (Just because each bag weights 40 pounds and you need to carry them into the house and pour them into the pellet stove). These pellets are slightly less in quality than I've purchased before (but they cost less too!). They don't burn quite as cleanly and therefore leave what we call "clinkers" in the burn cylinder, I need to clean out the stove a little more frequently. But hey - they do the job and Home Depot was great in getting them ready for me to pick up. Thank you! Very glad you carry them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, clean cheap source to heat the house, store beautifully with no mess
Cons: pellet stoves are not a good product for the, elderly or handicapped or, anyone without good strength.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>