728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

The Maine Woods Pellet High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack) provides more heat per pound than firewood. Its blend of hardwood and softwood burns cleanly and produces little ash for easy cleanup.
Overall rating:
2.968 / 5
3
 / 
5
(127 reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
55%of customersrecommend this product67 of 122reviews
Rating Breakdown 127 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(36)
4
(26)
3
(6)
2
(16)
1
(43)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
55%of customersrecommend this product67 of 122reviews
Customer reviews for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
Review 1 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Lower Bucks, Pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Stove Chow Pellets

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ok... finished burning a [free] Ton of Energex premiums but had bought about 12 bags of Stove Chows at HD during that time..
Other than a bit more Ash, the Chows seems to burn as hot or hotter than the Energex..
They are distributed and[ or] re-bagged by Energex company.. Look identical...and I think they burn A little longer than Energex...
Chows we're 229.00 ton vrs 259.00 for Energex....Still will get another Ton of Energex..
Since we had to put ours in the Basement we had to cut the shrink Wrap which gave us a REAL FEEL] of each bag.. 4 bags we're rock hard about 1/4 up from bottom.. since stored outside I guess.
As we cut the shrink wrap, little sheets of Ice we're in between layers of pellets..Guess it was Condensation got thru? anyways, had we stored outside prob would not have found these rocks till later in the winter....HD will exchange for newe bags...
Have read others forums that Stove Chows are horrible, don't burn good, clog up the burn pots etc.
I am beginning to believe it is the stove more than the Pellets in most cases..Anyone using a HARMAN with the bottom -Auger will have No Trouble burning most pellets so just try different ones for your stove and don't put too much stock into negativity about pellets unless someone has the same setup you do. My Harman P61A can burn corn, oats, barley etc so no problem with pellets I;m sure.
If a bag of pellets doesn't look like a cheap bag of dog food with lot of powder and crushed up pellets, it will prob put out good heat...
As always, do a good brush and Vacuum at least once every 10 days or so no matter what pellets you burn..
Also have a OAK system for air so that may help with good burning..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great
Cons: none so far
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+21points
24out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 2 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

OK

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These pellets are as good as any bargain pellets. Burn good, feed good, have decent output, no excessively long pellet. Ash is the same as expected. My little Harman will burn anything I put in it, anyway. It isn't very picky.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Eastern Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy Nation Choice pellets

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm burning Nation Pellets from Home Depot in a Quadra fire pellet stove. I would not buy this brand again. I'm having a hard time chiseling out the burn pot size clunkers. I used Stove Chow from home depot last year with no issues. I hope this information helps. The code on the Nation Choice bags RM 08/12. Home Depot did a great job with Delivery.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+67points
72out of 77found this review helpful.
Review 4 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from professional scientist-- novice wood stove owner
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

analysis of wood pellets from Home Depot

PostedJune 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
OK. here goes.
I am a scientist with some 30 yrs experience and as such I am charged with reviewing data, analyzing that data and coming up with some conclusions. I do not have any personal experience with wood pellets, so this is what we call a literature review (quite common in the industry). I live in Florida and have just bought a property in Gouldsboro Me. So take these comments with a grain of salt.
After reading 123 reviews, along with others; this is my working hypothesis. I think pellet efficiency is more of a way the pellets are stored and handled than the brand name. Let me explain: it seems odd that reviewers have such divergent opinions on the same name product (some love a particular brand while others hate that brand). I have read opinions from several reviewers mentioning clumping or freezing of pellets in the bag. If these bags of pellets are stored outside, as some have reported, this could allow the humidity in the bag along with high moisture content of pellets to freeze resulting in a melting of the ice, when brought inside, allowing the pellets to become damp or even wet. This could be the cause of some of the clinkers, sooting and high ash accumulation. It seems to me that a hot fire in the fire box would offer a fairly complete combustion, given the size/surface area ratio of the pellets, regardless of the brand used.
As to the amount of sawdust in the pellet bags. Was any attention given to where on the pallet the bags were located ? You would expect more crushing near the bottom. When in the season the pallets were purchased. Late in the season the pellets would have had more time for the crushing to take place.
Now, after all this rhetoric, has anyone thought of using some type of container inside the house to dump the pellets in, to allow the moisture to evaporate prior to placing in the stove hopper ? If you have tried this or have any other comments, please post, as I would and I am sure other pellet stove owners would be very interested.
See ya in the cold north country, happy pelleting !
Pros: some insight
+23points
29out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 5 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from CT

Every stove burns different

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First off let me say i never write reviews but felt i needed to for these pellets. Ive had a pellet stove for 8-9 yrs and have tried many brands of pellets from cheap to expensive. I have found that each stove burns differently. Ive burned the expensive name brands that are supposed to be ultra low ash that leave me cleaning my burn pot frequently and not produce much heat. Ive found stove chow to work the best for my stove and it's a good value for the money. What burns well for me might not burn as well for you but that doesnt mean its a bad product. Its just not right for you. This is definitely a trial and error thing. I suggest you grab a couple bags of a brand of pellets HD carries and try them. If they work for you youll end up saving some money since HD pellets seem to be priced the cheapest (at least in central CT).
+52points
55out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 6 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from NASHUA NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

PELLET FUEL

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the past years hm dep sold FIRESIDE ULTRA PELLETS which were very good (no clunkers-good heat) this year .NATIONS CHOICE pellets are much lower quality in my opinion-large very hard clunkers-not as good heat-must clean twice as often--bottom line would not get again or recommend to anyone--Iasked a manager how these pellets were he said they were very good--NOT
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Massachusetts
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

National Choice Pellets

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have never had any problems with my pellet stove UNTIL I bought Nation Choice Pellets. They are complete JUNK!!. First they are dirty with a lot of dust, clinkers, the BTU is not very good and they are not cut very good at all. There are some that have to be an inch and a half long, and a complete first my auger keeps jamming up with them. It was so bad I had to take the stove a part and remove the auger to fee the jam. This stuff is pure junk! It is like taking $219.00 and putting it in the burn pot for nothing.
I will never buy this product again. The lowest bidder gets to put there pellets in Home Depot well they can keep them you lost me as a customer as long as you sell junk like this!
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great pellets at an unbeatable price

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Stove Chow pellets I buy every year at Home Depot are GREAT. The price is right and usually available when i need them. I've tried other brands, but Stove Chow is my favorite so far.
Pros: quality pellets
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Concord, NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nation's Choice Pellets

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have an Englander pellet stove which I bought at Home Depot 5 years ago. It has burned every great except Nation's Choice pellets. They form a big clinker on the burn plate and which eventually causes the fire to go out, but does not stop the feed, resulting in an overflow of unburied pellets. I have to clean the stove every 8 hours. I am hoping that these pellets are not doing damage to my stove.
Home Depot Purchasing Manager: do your company's reputation a favor and stop selling this brand. Listen to your customers!
Cons: Difficult to Use, clogs my pellet stove.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Concord NH

Worst Pellet to date, Nations Choice.

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pellets seemed good at first, Then I got through my first bag, in my england stove..... thats when the fun began.. I have half a ton through the stove, of another brand, and have not had to scrape the buildup off the feed auger, after one 40lbs bag of theese... time to scrape, no big deal, cleaned and re-fired, next day, next bag..... scrape the auger again...... Glad I only bought three bags to try, cause there good for nothing. other than maby animal bedding.....
Pros: they burn.. kinda??
Cons: dirty low heat high clinkers lots of fly ash..., just plain junk.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, good price

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought 10 bags of the Fireside Ultra to try it out. Based on others comments about a hard buildup in the burn pot and dirty glass after a single bag, I slowed down the feed rate from 4 to 2.5. After 3 bags all there is is a light ash that comes out without any scraping and clean glass. Much better than the product I was using which produced clinkers and clogged the hopper all the time. With the previous pellets, which ranged from sawdust (and lots of it) to 2" long, I had to sift out the sawdust and break the long pellets to prevent clogs in the hopper. A real pain! The size range on these is just right and they burn hot.
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality, low price
Cons: none
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Spofford, NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fireside ultra are consistently the best pellets that I've had over the years

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Folks! Just finished reading ALL the reviews, and two/thirds forgot to mention which brands they were writing about!!! This makes the end review look bad for Home Depot and pellets in general.........By far the Fireside ultra's have been the best brand for my Harmon P38............I live near where "Green Supreme" (New England Pellet) are made and wish they were good, but had a lot of clinkers, Maine Pellet produced a lot of ash.............Home Depot has always had the best price in the area............So please Home Depot in Keene, NH get some Fireside ultras in so I can finally buy my pellets for the winter and have peace of mind!!! TIP: Try to store your pellets at least inside a shed, because if stored outside with only a couple of layers of plastic over them, will cause the pellets to absorb moisture (bags have many tiny holes to allow product to "breath") and when you bring them inside right away, condensation takes place and presto, even the best brand will make more clinkers than if they were stored inside!!! Thank God for wood pellets - please Home Depot keep them affordable - oil and gas are far too expensive.............
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Ellsworth/ Bangor Maine area
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fireside Ultra vs Premium Blazer

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Please everyone, write the pellet brand in your reviews. In the title is best, that way we can all benefit from each others experience more quickly and efficiently. To say that Home Depot pellets are bad, is very unfair to Home Depot as I have seen no less than 6-8 brands in our stores this winter alone. Pellets are scarce this winter, and HD and other stores are doing their best to simply acquire pellets needed for their customers, let alone worry about brands. I must commend them on not price gouging as current HD prices are the same or lower than the falls prices. For my review. I like the Firesides, and it seems many others do as well. They burn hot and burn long. The Blazers: Just bought 2 bags to try, they have been burning about 45 minutes to an hour at full feed rate and full air rate. They are burning hot, as I expected as they are 100% softwood, but they are burning instantaneously when they drop into the burn pot. While they may be hot, I would anticipate that they would be expensive to burn due to their quick burn rate. I am trying them to see if they might be good for those very cold days. Also might be good to mix in with a hardwood pellet for that extra heat on a cold day. If I am mistaken about these Blazers, I will update this post with another post in a couple of days. Currently, we are having the best luck with a blended pellet like Fireside or Maine Wood Pellet for high heat, and 100% hardwood like Green Team on warmer days, for a long burn and efficiency. Look for my Nations Choice review soon as I also purchased 10 bags of those to try. We are using a New Englander stove and finding varying air rates gives us more efficient burns on all different types and brand of pellets. Jim Addison
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Newburgh, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Green Supreme wood pellets.

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Green Supreme are the worse pellets that I have purchased for my pellet stove. The Home Depot in my area had a brand two winters ago called Old Dominion and they were very good pellets. Since I purchased two ton of Green Supreme I have had to clean out the burn pot every other day if not every day. Big chunks of cinders in burn pot and lots of ash. Worst pellets I have used and WILL not purchase them again. Truely a Waste of Money!! Sure wish I could get Old Dominion again!!
Cons: terrible product!, waste of money
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Rhode island

Green Supreme

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We are very happy with Green Supreme wood pellets. Will continue to purchase. Good heat output at a reasonable price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Monterey County CA.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great convenience but I've had better quality

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First - I LOVE my pellet stove! Such a great value. Would recommend it to anyone but my 90 year old mother! (Just because each bag weights 40 pounds and you need to carry them into the house and pour them into the pellet stove). These pellets are slightly less in quality than I've purchased before (but they cost less too!). They don't burn quite as cleanly and therefore leave what we call "clinkers" in the burn cylinder, I need to clean out the stove a little more frequently. But hey - they do the job and Home Depot was great in getting them ready for me to pick up. Thank you! Very glad you carry them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, clean cheap source to heat the house, store beautifully with no mess
Cons: pellet stoves are not a good product for the, elderly or handicapped or, anyone without good strength.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Calfornia

Heat'rs Wood Pellet

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Seems they have a different brand online than in the Stores in California. Bought pallet if Heat'rs Pellets and the 1st 10 bags have a lot of dust causing problems feeding the stove and produce more than normal ash residue. It also produces a hard ball of ash in the fire bowl which doesn't clear through the clean out. You have to remove by hand after the stove cool downs.
Cons: Not Durable
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 18 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Pittsfield, Ma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not the best pellets

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Recently I purchased 2 tons of pellets from our local Home Depot. 1 ton was Stove Chow, the other Fireside Ultra. The Stove Chow produced large chunks of black ash, and the flame was too much for my England Stove. Even on the lowest heat setting the flame seemed out of control and was roaring like a jet engine. I now have to mix half and half with the Fireside Ultra to produce a flame I feel safe with. I'll never buy Stove Chow again.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Naples Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would you feed your goldfish turtle food ?

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All of the stores that sell pellet fuel sell all different brands of pellets . You will not find the same brand year after year....I have been burning pellets for 7 years now I have actually had a good batch from the same brand and a bad batch....not from Home Depot .
I always buy a few bags now and test them before buying ...I have a stove that will do multifuel so is less apt to cause auger clog ups....So be aware folks ...
1) Know your stove and it's limitations
2) Test a few bags before doing all the work of putting away pellets for the season
3) don't believe what you read ...get the facts for yourself ! And do your homework
A smart shopper is a happy shopper
I hope this helps others ...much of this I have acquired from experience as I drove myself crazy reading some of these reviews .....
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from MDI Maine
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Review for Maine Woods Pellet, not other HD sold brands

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just to clarify, this is really a poor place to judge Maine Woods Pellets because this review appears to encompass whatever brand HD is carrying at the time.
I have the personal pleasure of burning a LOT of MWP all year long due to work. We burn MWP along with other providers in our industrial wood pellet boiler for process steam and heating in the winter. Our extensive quality control tests have come back with extremely repeatable results with MWP which is a difficult thing to achieve with mixed wood species, mixed outdoor air temperature (when making the pellets) and variations of new/worn equipment in the process chain. We are very appreciative of the consistancy that MWP provides to keep our boiler running clean and predictable while burning a renewable, Maine produced resource and offsetting over 1 million gallons of #2 fuel oil a year.
With that said, I am also a happy customer residentially with MWP consuming about 5 tons a year for a 2,400 ft2 house plus taking care of domestic hot water load. The value can not be beat for BTU's per $. I use a Kedel pellet boiler to heat my home and MWP burns just as good as pellets that are 150% the price, so why waste my money when I can support a local business? My father and grandmother also happily burning MWP in traditional pellet stoves and consume 6-7 tons per year in their duplex. Dad purposefully did not clean his stove (except empty the ash pan below) ALL WINTER last year to prove he didn't have to, albeit efficiency was sacrificed I'm sure. His point was he didn't have to, which is a testimate to the pellets (no clinkers) and probably more to the stove (Harman).
In conclusion: Cheaper stoves are often more picky with what type of pellet they like since a lot of their air/draft settings have limited adjustment etc. Pay a little more for a better stove/boiler and you will be able to burn whatever you throw in it.
And to Gene below: Pellets are already 5% moisture avg by weight. I usually get nose bleeds when humidity is below 30%, so really your pellets are as dry as they need to be in the bags. The only reason they gather moisture in the bags (as you already pointed out) is improper handling and ripping a bag or getting water on them. ALL pellets do that!
Pros: excellent value, local maine business, renewable resource
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>