728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

The Maine Woods Pellet High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack) provides more heat per pound than firewood. Its blend of hardwood and softwood burns cleanly and produces little ash for easy cleanup.
Overall rating:
2.969 / 5
3
 / 
5
(128 reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
55%of customersrecommend this product68 of 123reviews
Rating Breakdown 128 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(36)
4
(26)
3
(7)
2
(16)
1
(43)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
55%of customersrecommend this product68 of 123reviews
Customer reviews for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
Review 41 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Soldotna, Alaska
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
burns well, price is good for a great product, they even delivered to my home.
Pros: High Quality
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 42 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Monterey County CA.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great convenience but I've had better quality

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First - I LOVE my pellet stove! Such a great value. Would recommend it to anyone but my 90 year old mother! (Just because each bag weights 40 pounds and you need to carry them into the house and pour them into the pellet stove). These pellets are slightly less in quality than I've purchased before (but they cost less too!). They don't burn quite as cleanly and therefore leave what we call "clinkers" in the burn cylinder, I need to clean out the stove a little more frequently. But hey - they do the job and Home Depot was great in getting them ready for me to pick up. Thank you! Very glad you carry them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, clean cheap source to heat the house, store beautifully with no mess
Cons: pellet stoves are not a good product for the, elderly or handicapped or, anyone without good strength.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 43 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

good heat

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
had no problem with pellets. give off plenty of heat. cheaper then most places as well
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 44 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, good price

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought 10 bags of the Fireside Ultra to try it out. Based on others comments about a hard buildup in the burn pot and dirty glass after a single bag, I slowed down the feed rate from 4 to 2.5. After 3 bags all there is is a light ash that comes out without any scraping and clean glass. Much better than the product I was using which produced clinkers and clogged the hopper all the time. With the previous pellets, which ranged from sawdust (and lots of it) to 2" long, I had to sift out the sawdust and break the long pellets to prevent clogs in the hopper. A real pain! The size range on these is just right and they burn hot.
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality, low price
Cons: none
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 45 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

Great product performed well

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was disappointed that at end of year they ran out product no longer available it's hard to make Home Depot my source if this is going to happen
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 46 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Zanesville, OH 43701, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

MY 1st LOAD OF PELLETS FROM H D. EASY LIGHTING, BURNS GREAT.

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
CONS: ROTTEN OLD RECYCLED PALLET BROKE WHEN I LIFTED OFF TRUCK RUPTURING 3 BAGS, SPILLING THE PELLETS. ALSO THE PLASTIC BAGS ARE SO THIN AND NON-PLIABLE THAT YOUR FINGERS CAN GO RIGHT THRU WHEN LIFTING.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 47 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from vermont
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

get the "low ash"

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
more than likely brands will vary but i have tried several including both all hardwood and a mix of hard and soft. i have found that burn time and heat output don't change much. what does is just a small amount more of after burn residue which would be ash in a wood stove but is a black powder substance with the pellets... as long as the bag says low ash you should be good to go . !!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

American Wood Fiber pellets

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to buy the pres-to-logs pellets that they advertised on their website but found out the only carried one brand (American Wood Fiber) at my local HD. I bought a couple bags of the AWF and found them to work really well in my stove. I have used mostly Somerset but had problems with them bridging, bought those at Lowes at $4.74 a bag. I ended up buying a ton of the AWF for $167, which is great. Burned another 10 or so bags with no issues. I will say they are a little dusty at the bottom of the bag but not too bad. I would buy these again for that price for sure.
Pros: burn well
Cons: a little dusty
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

mixed wood pellets

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When purchasing the product, it doesn't specify if it is hardwood or soft wood, just says premimum, which doesn't mean anything. you never know what brand your going to get. Still lowest price I've seen around
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 50 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Northern CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

stove chow

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hey Home Depot it is mid February, zero on the thermometer, and the stores in Northern CT are all out of pellets. WE NEED PELLETS FOR ANOTHER MONTH AT LEAST!!!!!!
Bought another ton of Chows to get me thru April. I notice the new pellets are lighter in color than previous bags. They burn well and don't make much ash, but also don't seem to put out as much heat as before. Prestologs were the best I've had this year, low ash and high heat.
Pros: High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 51 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fireside brand: Burns well, doesn't have excessive residue

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fireside pellets: This ton burns well, but the residue isn't as hard as previous tons of Fireside. I haven't decided if that's better or worse. Other reviewers have complained about the "lava rock" that is left behind when burning Fireside, but I don't have a problem with that. It makes the burn pot easier to empty. Also, harder residue seems to help keep the air holes open. I find that the softer residue tends to clog the air holes in the burn pot faster, resulting in the stove not burning as well. As far as total residue, I can burn a full ton before I have to empty my ash vac (PowerSmith). FYI, I have an Englander Stove (fireplace insert).
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Saugus, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is my second time purchasing this item

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I find the people at Home Depot very helpful and accommodating. The product is clean burning and easy to handle in the separate bags. The price is affordable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 53 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Northern CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Green Supreme, Stove Chow, and Prestolog

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm into my third ton of the 13/14 season using a Harmon Accentra stove. The Green Supreme burn with only moderate heat and produce a lot of ash. I was emptying the ash bin every three days with the GS. The Stove Chows burn much hotter than the GS with half the ash. At least a week on the ash bin with the Chows. The Presto's were a pleasant surprise producing as much or more heat than the Chows with about the same amount of ash. My recommendations: Avoid the Green Supreme unless you like cleaning your stove. I like the Chows, but I think the Prestos put out a little more heat judging by how warm the top of the stove gets, so I will take the Presto Logs again next ton.
A note to future reviewers: All store carry different brands of pellets. If you don't identify your pellet brand your review is useless.
Pros: High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 54 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Eddington. Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

American wood fibers

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seem to burn well in my Englander stove. I use about 1 1/2 bags a day empty ash once a day and clean glass. Overkill I a sure.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 55 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Islip, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

They burn well however they are the dustiest Pellets I have ever used! Every bag had lots of wood dust.

PostedMay 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used these Pellets all season. They burned well, kept the house warm. The one thing that turned me off was the dust. The bags were all filled with wood dust. If it was obnoxious.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Hopewell Junction, NY 12533, USA

Excellent pellet quality (high heat output with less ash)

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I quite happy with Pres-to-logs wood pellets. They are more dense and produce less ash than the previous brand green supreme wood pellets also purchased at home depot.
The pellet size is very consistent preventing my pellet stove to clog.
Pros: High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 57 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

Good

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good burn, good heat, moderate ash. Wood buy again.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 58 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from MDI Maine
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Review for Maine Woods Pellet, not other HD sold brands

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just to clarify, this is really a poor place to judge Maine Woods Pellets because this review appears to encompass whatever brand HD is carrying at the time.
I have the personal pleasure of burning a LOT of MWP all year long due to work. We burn MWP along with other providers in our industrial wood pellet boiler for process steam and heating in the winter. Our extensive quality control tests have come back with extremely repeatable results with MWP which is a difficult thing to achieve with mixed wood species, mixed outdoor air temperature (when making the pellets) and variations of new/worn equipment in the process chain. We are very appreciative of the consistancy that MWP provides to keep our boiler running clean and predictable while burning a renewable, Maine produced resource and offsetting over 1 million gallons of #2 fuel oil a year.
With that said, I am also a happy customer residentially with MWP consuming about 5 tons a year for a 2,400 ft2 house plus taking care of domestic hot water load. The value can not be beat for BTU's per $. I use a Kedel pellet boiler to heat my home and MWP burns just as good as pellets that are 150% the price, so why waste my money when I can support a local business? My father and grandmother also happily burning MWP in traditional pellet stoves and consume 6-7 tons per year in their duplex. Dad purposefully did not clean his stove (except empty the ash pan below) ALL WINTER last year to prove he didn't have to, albeit efficiency was sacrificed I'm sure. His point was he didn't have to, which is a testimate to the pellets (no clinkers) and probably more to the stove (Harman).
In conclusion: Cheaper stoves are often more picky with what type of pellet they like since a lot of their air/draft settings have limited adjustment etc. Pay a little more for a better stove/boiler and you will be able to burn whatever you throw in it.
And to Gene below: Pellets are already 5% moisture avg by weight. I usually get nose bleeds when humidity is below 30%, so really your pellets are as dry as they need to be in the bags. The only reason they gather moisture in the bags (as you already pointed out) is improper handling and ripping a bag or getting water on them. ALL pellets do that!
Pros: excellent value, local maine business, renewable resource
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Ellsworth/ Bangor Maine area
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fireside Ultra vs Premium Blazer

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Please everyone, write the pellet brand in your reviews. In the title is best, that way we can all benefit from each others experience more quickly and efficiently. To say that Home Depot pellets are bad, is very unfair to Home Depot as I have seen no less than 6-8 brands in our stores this winter alone. Pellets are scarce this winter, and HD and other stores are doing their best to simply acquire pellets needed for their customers, let alone worry about brands. I must commend them on not price gouging as current HD prices are the same or lower than the falls prices. For my review. I like the Firesides, and it seems many others do as well. They burn hot and burn long. The Blazers: Just bought 2 bags to try, they have been burning about 45 minutes to an hour at full feed rate and full air rate. They are burning hot, as I expected as they are 100% softwood, but they are burning instantaneously when they drop into the burn pot. While they may be hot, I would anticipate that they would be expensive to burn due to their quick burn rate. I am trying them to see if they might be good for those very cold days. Also might be good to mix in with a hardwood pellet for that extra heat on a cold day. If I am mistaken about these Blazers, I will update this post with another post in a couple of days. Currently, we are having the best luck with a blended pellet like Fireside or Maine Wood Pellet for high heat, and 100% hardwood like Green Team on warmer days, for a long burn and efficiency. Look for my Nations Choice review soon as I also purchased 10 bags of those to try. We are using a New Englander stove and finding varying air rates gives us more efficient burns on all different types and brand of pellets. Jim Addison
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 60 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Rhode island

Green Supreme

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We are very happy with Green Supreme wood pellets. Will continue to purchase. Good heat output at a reasonable price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>