728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

The Maine Woods Pellet High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack) provides more heat per pound than firewood. Its blend of hardwood and softwood burns cleanly and produces little ash for easy cleanup.
Overall rating:
2.89 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(118 reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
53%of customersrecommend this product60 of 114reviews
Rating Breakdown 118 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(32)
4
(23)
3
(5)
2
(16)
1
(42)
Quality 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
53%of customersrecommend this product60 of 114reviews
Customer reviews for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
Review 41 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
sclarke
from vermont
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

get the "low ash"

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
more than likely brands will vary but i have tried several including both all hardwood and a mix of hard and soft. i have found that burn time and heat output don't change much. what does is just a small amount more of after burn residue which would be ash in a wood stove but is a black powder substance with the pellets... as long as the bag says low ash you should be good to go . !!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
redrooster
from Northern michigan

Michigan pellets

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you have a chance to get Michigan 100% wood pellets get them they burn great and hardly produce any ash! These are NOT a blend ... I ran out of these and had to buy another brand that was a blend and what a difference between the two. It seems the darker the pellet the better,,and the harder it is to break a pellet in half the better...from what I have found out...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
HayFarmer

OK

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These pellets are as good as any bargain pellets. Burn good, feed good, have decent output, no excessively long pellet. Ash is the same as expected. My little Harman will burn anything I put in it, anyway. It isn't very picky.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 44 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
JimAddison
from Ellsworth/ Bangor Maine area
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fireside Ultra vs Premium Blazer

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Please everyone, write the pellet brand in your reviews. In the title is best, that way we can all benefit from each others experience more quickly and efficiently. To say that Home Depot pellets are bad, is very unfair to Home Depot as I have seen no less than 6-8 brands in our stores this winter alone. Pellets are scarce this winter, and HD and other stores are doing their best to simply acquire pellets needed for their customers, let alone worry about brands. I must commend them on not price gouging as current HD prices are the same or lower than the falls prices. For my review. I like the Firesides, and it seems many others do as well. They burn hot and burn long. The Blazers: Just bought 2 bags to try, they have been burning about 45 minutes to an hour at full feed rate and full air rate. They are burning hot, as I expected as they are 100% softwood, but they are burning instantaneously when they drop into the burn pot. While they may be hot, I would anticipate that they would be expensive to burn due to their quick burn rate. I am trying them to see if they might be good for those very cold days. Also might be good to mix in with a hardwood pellet for that extra heat on a cold day. If I am mistaken about these Blazers, I will update this post with another post in a couple of days. Currently, we are having the best luck with a blended pellet like Fireside or Maine Wood Pellet for high heat, and 100% hardwood like Green Team on warmer days, for a long burn and efficiency. Look for my Nations Choice review soon as I also purchased 10 bags of those to try. We are using a New Englander stove and finding varying air rates gives us more efficient burns on all different types and brand of pellets. Jim Addison
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 45 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
pmah
from Northern CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

stove chow

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hey Home Depot it is mid February, zero on the thermometer, and the stores in Northern CT are all out of pellets. WE NEED PELLETS FOR ANOTHER MONTH AT LEAST!!!!!!
Bought another ton of Chows to get me thru April. I notice the new pellets are lighter in color than previous bags. They burn well and don't make much ash, but also don't seem to put out as much heat as before. Prestologs were the best I've had this year, low ash and high heat.
Pros: High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 46 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
JOHANN

Good

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good burn, good heat, moderate ash. Wood buy again.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 47 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
Greg

Great product performed well

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was disappointed that at end of year they ran out product no longer available it's hard to make Home Depot my source if this is going to happen
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 48 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
jules
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product heats the house very well..but has alot of ashe content

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
works great to keep the house warm does have ash content
where the wood stove needs to be cleaned a lot more often with this product but puts out great heat
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 49 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
holmsie

mixed wood pellets

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When purchasing the product, it doesn't specify if it is hardwood or soft wood, just says premimum, which doesn't mean anything. you never know what brand your going to get. Still lowest price I've seen around
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 50 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
Alef
from Hopewell Junction, NY 12533, USA

Excellent pellet quality (high heat output with less ash)

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I quite happy with Pres-to-logs wood pellets. They are more dense and produce less ash than the previous brand green supreme wood pellets also purchased at home depot.
The pellet size is very consistent preventing my pellet stove to clog.
Pros: High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 51 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
Arnie
from Eddington. Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

American wood fibers

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seem to burn well in my Englander stove. I use about 1 1/2 bags a day empty ash once a day and clean glass. Overkill I a sure.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 52 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
Marty
from Chico, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

excellent value/ good product

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had a pellet stove for 8 years and have used these pellets with good results in the past. Excellent value, easy pick-up and loading.
Pros: High Quality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 53 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
5salmon
from Soldotna, Alaska
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
burns well, price is good for a great product, they even delivered to my home.
Pros: High Quality
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 54 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

good heat

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
had no problem with pellets. give off plenty of heat. cheaper then most places as well
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 55 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
Pellethead
from Lower Bucks, Pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Stove Chow Pellets

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ok... finished burning a [free] Ton of Energex premiums but had bought about 12 bags of Stove Chows at HD during that time..
Other than a bit more Ash, the Chows seems to burn as hot or hotter than the Energex..
They are distributed and[ or] re-bagged by Energex company.. Look identical...and I think they burn A little longer than Energex...
Chows we're 229.00 ton vrs 259.00 for Energex....Still will get another Ton of Energex..
Since we had to put ours in the Basement we had to cut the shrink Wrap which gave us a REAL FEEL] of each bag.. 4 bags we're rock hard about 1/4 up from bottom.. since stored outside I guess.
As we cut the shrink wrap, little sheets of Ice we're in between layers of pellets..Guess it was Condensation got thru? anyways, had we stored outside prob would not have found these rocks till later in the winter....HD will exchange for newe bags...
Have read others forums that Stove Chows are horrible, don't burn good, clog up the burn pots etc.
I am beginning to believe it is the stove more than the Pellets in most cases..Anyone using a HARMAN with the bottom -Auger will have No Trouble burning most pellets so just try different ones for your stove and don't put too much stock into negativity about pellets unless someone has the same setup you do. My Harman P61A can burn corn, oats, barley etc so no problem with pellets I;m sure.
If a bag of pellets doesn't look like a cheap bag of dog food with lot of powder and crushed up pellets, it will prob put out good heat...
As always, do a good brush and Vacuum at least once every 10 days or so no matter what pellets you burn..
Also have a OAK system for air so that may help with good burning..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great
Cons: none so far
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 56 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
d55olds1
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Green Supreme wood pellets

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I buy my pellets from a place that specializes in such. Saying that I found myself short this year on pellets. I purchased a pallet of them through Home depot. In my experience with pellets these are below average. They produced a lot more ash than normal. The price was good and availability was excellent since no one else had them. The service at Home Depot Landsdowne Md was exceptional.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 57 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
none
from Keedysville, MD, USA

Stove Chow vs American Wood Fibers

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My last review on 1/14/12 was for American Wood Fibers Premium Wood Pellets packaged out of Columbia, Md and purchased from HD in Frederick. I recently needed to purchase another ton and went to the HD in Hagerstown. They did not have the AWF brand only the Stove Chow brand out of Pa. Cost for Stove Chow was $20 bucks more and I believe the quality is not as good. The pellets are darker than the other brand and I'm getting a bit more ash and they don't seem to get the stove quite as hot.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 58 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
adecan
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Keeps you warm

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
They arent the best pellets, but not the worst. Lots of ash but burn pretty how. A fair price
Pros: Easy to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 59 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
alangski
from Stewartstown, PA 17363, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

reasonable.....

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Like everything else at the Depot....this product is reasonable. I have found that "Pellets are Pellets"....really. Over the past 4 years, I have tried every brand imaginable and haven't found that much difference in ANY of them except maybe the fancy colored bag they come in. I would have bought from here 2 weeks ago, but 2 weeks ago, their price was $20 higher than what it is today(per ton)...still a little higher than the locals.
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 60 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
Sprinklerman

Not my first choice

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Only bought this because I could not find pellets anywhere else. Smokes a lot on start up and doesn't last as long. I burn about 25% more pellets with this brand but it cost me about 15% less than the brand I usually buy. O.K. in a pinch but would not use regularly. You get what you pay for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 >>