728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fuel or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

The Maine Woods Pellet High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack) provides more heat per pound than firewood. Its blend of hardwood and softwood burns cleanly and produces little ash for easy cleanup.
Overall rating:
3.007 / 5
3
 / 
5
(133 reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
56%of customersrecommend this product71 of 127reviews
Rating Breakdown 133 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(38)
4
(28)
3
(7)
2
(17)
1
(43)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
56%of customersrecommend this product71 of 127reviews
Customer reviews for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
Review 41 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Windham, ME, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Burn good hardly any ash

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have been burning Maine Choice pellets for the past several years. They produce allot of ask. The Green Supreme pellets I bought at the depot burn with hardly any ash but a crust forms in the bottom of the burn pot. This makes me clean the stove after 24 hours since the crust blocks the bottom air holes. I burned Presto pellets prior to the Maine pellets and they also created crust in the burn pot. I think the crust may come from more hardwood in the mix. But I would buy again at 197 plus the veterans discount. Can't beat that price per ton.
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from vermont
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

get the "low ash"

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
more than likely brands will vary but i have tried several including both all hardwood and a mix of hard and soft. i have found that burn time and heat output don't change much. what does is just a small amount more of after burn residue which would be ash in a wood stove but is a black powder substance with the pellets... as long as the bag says low ash you should be good to go . !!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, good price

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought 10 bags of the Fireside Ultra to try it out. Based on others comments about a hard buildup in the burn pot and dirty glass after a single bag, I slowed down the feed rate from 4 to 2.5. After 3 bags all there is is a light ash that comes out without any scraping and clean glass. Much better than the product I was using which produced clinkers and clogged the hopper all the time. With the previous pellets, which ranged from sawdust (and lots of it) to 2" long, I had to sift out the sawdust and break the long pellets to prevent clogs in the hopper. A real pain! The size range on these is just right and they burn hot.
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality, low price
Cons: none
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 44 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Lower Bucks, Pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Stove Chow Pellets

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ok... finished burning a [free] Ton of Energex premiums but had bought about 12 bags of Stove Chows at HD during that time..
Other than a bit more Ash, the Chows seems to burn as hot or hotter than the Energex..
They are distributed and[ or] re-bagged by Energex company.. Look identical...and I think they burn A little longer than Energex...
Chows we're 229.00 ton vrs 259.00 for Energex....Still will get another Ton of Energex..
Since we had to put ours in the Basement we had to cut the shrink Wrap which gave us a REAL FEEL] of each bag.. 4 bags we're rock hard about 1/4 up from bottom.. since stored outside I guess.
As we cut the shrink wrap, little sheets of Ice we're in between layers of pellets..Guess it was Condensation got thru? anyways, had we stored outside prob would not have found these rocks till later in the winter....HD will exchange for newe bags...
Have read others forums that Stove Chows are horrible, don't burn good, clog up the burn pots etc.
I am beginning to believe it is the stove more than the Pellets in most cases..Anyone using a HARMAN with the bottom -Auger will have No Trouble burning most pellets so just try different ones for your stove and don't put too much stock into negativity about pellets unless someone has the same setup you do. My Harman P61A can burn corn, oats, barley etc so no problem with pellets I;m sure.
If a bag of pellets doesn't look like a cheap bag of dog food with lot of powder and crushed up pellets, it will prob put out good heat...
As always, do a good brush and Vacuum at least once every 10 days or so no matter what pellets you burn..
Also have a OAK system for air so that may help with good burning..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great
Cons: none so far
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
26out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 45 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Hopewell Junction, NY 12533, USA

Excellent pellet quality (high heat output with less ash)

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I quite happy with Pres-to-logs wood pellets. They are more dense and produce less ash than the previous brand green supreme wood pellets also purchased at home depot.
The pellet size is very consistent preventing my pellet stove to clog.
Pros: High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 46 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Northern CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

stove chow

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hey Home Depot it is mid February, zero on the thermometer, and the stores in Northern CT are all out of pellets. WE NEED PELLETS FOR ANOTHER MONTH AT LEAST!!!!!!
Bought another ton of Chows to get me thru April. I notice the new pellets are lighter in color than previous bags. They burn well and don't make much ash, but also don't seem to put out as much heat as before. Prestologs were the best I've had this year, low ash and high heat.
Pros: High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 47 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fireside brand: Burns well, doesn't have excessive residue

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fireside pellets: This ton burns well, but the residue isn't as hard as previous tons of Fireside. I haven't decided if that's better or worse. Other reviewers have complained about the "lava rock" that is left behind when burning Fireside, but I don't have a problem with that. It makes the burn pot easier to empty. Also, harder residue seems to help keep the air holes open. I find that the softer residue tends to clog the air holes in the burn pot faster, resulting in the stove not burning as well. As far as total residue, I can burn a full ton before I have to empty my ash vac (PowerSmith). FYI, I have an Englander Stove (fireplace insert).
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Ellsworth/ Bangor Maine area
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fireside Ultra vs Premium Blazer

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Please everyone, write the pellet brand in your reviews. In the title is best, that way we can all benefit from each others experience more quickly and efficiently. To say that Home Depot pellets are bad, is very unfair to Home Depot as I have seen no less than 6-8 brands in our stores this winter alone. Pellets are scarce this winter, and HD and other stores are doing their best to simply acquire pellets needed for their customers, let alone worry about brands. I must commend them on not price gouging as current HD prices are the same or lower than the falls prices. For my review. I like the Firesides, and it seems many others do as well. They burn hot and burn long. The Blazers: Just bought 2 bags to try, they have been burning about 45 minutes to an hour at full feed rate and full air rate. They are burning hot, as I expected as they are 100% softwood, but they are burning instantaneously when they drop into the burn pot. While they may be hot, I would anticipate that they would be expensive to burn due to their quick burn rate. I am trying them to see if they might be good for those very cold days. Also might be good to mix in with a hardwood pellet for that extra heat on a cold day. If I am mistaken about these Blazers, I will update this post with another post in a couple of days. Currently, we are having the best luck with a blended pellet like Fireside or Maine Wood Pellet for high heat, and 100% hardwood like Green Team on warmer days, for a long burn and efficiency. Look for my Nations Choice review soon as I also purchased 10 bags of those to try. We are using a New Englander stove and finding varying air rates gives us more efficient burns on all different types and brand of pellets. Jim Addison
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 49 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Northern michigan

Michigan pellets

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you have a chance to get Michigan 100% wood pellets get them they burn great and hardly produce any ash! These are NOT a blend ... I ran out of these and had to buy another brand that was a blend and what a difference between the two. It seems the darker the pellet the better,,and the harder it is to break a pellet in half the better...from what I have found out...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

good heat

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
had no problem with pellets. give off plenty of heat. cheaper then most places as well
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 51 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Chico, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

excellent value/ good product

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had a pellet stove for 8 years and have used these pellets with good results in the past. Excellent value, easy pick-up and loading.
Pros: High Quality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 52 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

American Wood Fiber pellets

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to buy the pres-to-logs pellets that they advertised on their website but found out the only carried one brand (American Wood Fiber) at my local HD. I bought a couple bags of the AWF and found them to work really well in my stove. I have used mostly Somerset but had problems with them bridging, bought those at Lowes at $4.74 a bag. I ended up buying a ton of the AWF for $167, which is great. Burned another 10 or so bags with no issues. I will say they are a little dusty at the bottom of the bag but not too bad. I would buy these again for that price for sure.
Pros: burn well
Cons: a little dusty
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Soldotna, Alaska
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
burns well, price is good for a great product, they even delivered to my home.
Pros: High Quality
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 54 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Easton PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Depends on stove mfg & pellet mfg & mfg lot

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had different experiences with the same same pellet mfg & stove mfg. qudrafire & englander stoves are fussy as their design exacerbates the clinker issue with budget pellets. Harmon burns just about anything with out clinker issues. It all depends on the lot of pellets you purchase & the stove you burn them in. I always end up with 20 - 30 bags left over & store them in a hot dry area for the summer. They always burn hot & with out excess ash. i.e. The cheap green pellets might just need some time to cure.
Pros: High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 55 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

mixed wood pellets

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When purchasing the product, it doesn't specify if it is hardwood or soft wood, just says premimum, which doesn't mean anything. you never know what brand your going to get. Still lowest price I've seen around
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 56 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

Good

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good burn, good heat, moderate ash. Wood buy again.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 57 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

Great product performed well

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was disappointed that at end of year they ran out product no longer available it's hard to make Home Depot my source if this is going to happen
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 58 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Monterey County CA.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great convenience but I've had better quality

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First - I LOVE my pellet stove! Such a great value. Would recommend it to anyone but my 90 year old mother! (Just because each bag weights 40 pounds and you need to carry them into the house and pour them into the pellet stove). These pellets are slightly less in quality than I've purchased before (but they cost less too!). They don't burn quite as cleanly and therefore leave what we call "clinkers" in the burn cylinder, I need to clean out the stove a little more frequently. But hey - they do the job and Home Depot was great in getting them ready for me to pick up. Thank you! Very glad you carry them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, clean cheap source to heat the house, store beautifully with no mess
Cons: pellet stoves are not a good product for the, elderly or handicapped or, anyone without good strength.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 59 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Northern CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Green Supreme, Stove Chow, and Prestolog

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm into my third ton of the 13/14 season using a Harmon Accentra stove. The Green Supreme burn with only moderate heat and produce a lot of ash. I was emptying the ash bin every three days with the GS. The Stove Chows burn much hotter than the GS with half the ash. At least a week on the ash bin with the Chows. The Presto's were a pleasant surprise producing as much or more heat than the Chows with about the same amount of ash. My recommendations: Avoid the Green Supreme unless you like cleaning your stove. I like the Chows, but I think the Prestos put out a little more heat judging by how warm the top of the stove gets, so I will take the Presto Logs again next ton.
A note to future reviewers: All store carry different brands of pellets. If you don't identify your pellet brand your review is useless.
Pros: High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 60 for High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)
from Eddington. Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

American wood fibers

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seem to burn well in my Englander stove. I use about 1 1/2 bags a day empty ash once a day and clean glass. Overkill I a sure.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>