728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower

42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower

This Poulan PXT tractor is perfect for the price conscious home owner. With a 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton engine and 6 speed gear drive and 42 in. mowing deck, this tractor is perfect for lawns up to an acre with either flat or hilly terrains. This riding tractor offers you great features at a great price
Overall rating:
3.842 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product35 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(19)
3
(6)
2
(5)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product35 of 43reviews
Customer reviews for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower
Review 1 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower
from Maryland

This product is easy to assemble.

PostedJune 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Where do I start. This is an exellent product. First, It was delivered curbside for free. You didn't misunderstand me, I said, Free folks. The product came in a crate. Very easy to uncrate and roll off. The only assembly required is the steering wheel and seat. Comes with oil from the factory. Just add gas and start it up. Mine started up first try,Very impressive. After a little rough idle and some paint burn off, Which is normal,The machine ran fine. I like the cup holder and the ability to mow in reverse, When the key is in the proper position. I have had my mower for a month now and I love it. To sum it up, I researched riding mowers for about a week and for quality, features, durability and performance,This is an exellent value. This is the only riding mower you"ll ever need. My hat is off to the Home Depot.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower
from Downingtown, PA

We shall see....

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
So right out of the crate, the mower came with a nice dent on the hood of it. We had thought it was just cosmetic, and yes, still may be- but tried to use it for the first time yesterday and unfortunately the mower blade was not turning. Local home depot sent out a rep. this morning, and turns out they will have to pick up the tractor and either fix or replace it. I think once we get a working one, this will work well. Customer Service was very prompt on helping, and very apologetic- so kudo's to them on their prompt responses.
So, I would recommend to others, and I feel it was a fluke of a thing of it not working right brand new- but I have a feeling this will all get corrected and will be mowing the lawn in no time with the riding tractor instead of the push mower.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower
from Sound Beach, New York

Nice dependable lawn tractor

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Polan 42 inch lawn tractor is great for a medium to medium-large size yard. I had the 38 inch Poulan lawn tractor for 10 years and it was great. The drive belt snapped a couple of weeks ago. I could have replaced it and gotten a couple of more years out of it but I decided to treat myself to a new and slightly larger one. I gave the old one to my neighbor who is going to replace the belt and the pulleys.
Curb side delivery so you have to remove the tractor from the box yourself and push in on to your lawn. The seat and the steering wheel were a snap to install. One thing to remember is when you first turn it on, it is going to smoke a lot. They probably over fill the oil for shipping purposes so you need to ride it around for about 10 minutes to burn off the excess oil. It worked fine after that. It will cut in reverse if you put the key in the straight up position. If you don't put the key in that position and have the blades engaged, it will cut off automatically for safety reasons.
If I can get 10 years out of this one like I did my old one I will be very happy. That works out to about $100 per year. Two weeks of cuts from a landscapper would cost me that much, so you can't beat it economically.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower

Good value for the $ - no unneeded bells or whistles

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did a lot of shopping and a lot of reviews of competitor offerings in the price range and came to the conclusion this was the best. You always have to look behind the labels to see who REALLY manufactures these mowers
For the economy models many well known brand names are being manufactured by lesser quality manufacturers
In the case of Poulan it's manufactured by well respected Husqvarna - which is a bonus - though the engines on nearly all competitor models are the standard Briggs & Stratton.
I didn't need or want a bagger, didn't really need a mulcher - automatic transmission is nice but not necessary - and Home Depot accepts competitors coupons so if you google around (or go to the Post Office and get a change of address package!) you can get some valuable coupons too!
Between the free shipping and the low price and additional discounts with coupons, you can't go wrong. There's a few comparable models at other retailers cheaper at times but the quality seems much lower.
Note - it DOES mow going backwards but you need to turn the key as instructed to allow it to disengage this wise safety feature for those with kids (those complaining obviously haven't read the directions.)
I'd prefer they included the $5 deck anti-scalp wheel but I was able to easily take one off an old mower and re-install it in the pre-drilled holes.
The mower deck needed a bit of adjusting as it was a little bit uneven out of the crate, and it does idle a bit rough until the mower is engaged - but after that it runs smooth (in both cases minor adjustments can be made) - self installing the anti-scalp wheel does make a difference but this is as good a cut as I've had on my lawn. The 17 hp engine does fine getting up the hills in my yard too.
Have mowed about 3 or 4 times and it does a good job.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower
from Foxboro

Loved it

PostedMay 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Went in for a walking mower walked out with this. Price was right considering what I was going to pay for a walking mower. My husband is 67 years old so I do all the yard work he's on his feet all week at work bet he mows the lawn now..HAHA 4 stars because it doesn't mow in reverse. They couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating with regards to this mower. Free home delivery but they couldn't do it till Tuesday this is Saturday and I really needed it today put on my home depot card got the free rental truck 2 of their employees loaded it followed me home unloaded it showed me how to use it and left.....A++++++++ service at the Mansfield, MA home depot this is the way business should be done.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower
from Mt. Pleasant, SC

A simple to assemble and use machine.

PostedMay 17, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Made a little noise and smoke upon starting but I called Poulan and they said let it idle for a few minutes. I did and the excess smoke burnt off and the idle became steady. It is a low cost, comparatively, machine with simple mechanical features that gets the job done, thats all I needed. HOWEVER, the ad said it mows in reverse but it doesn't, it cuts off instead. Also was an online only special, now at stores for 50.00 dollars less. I guess I should have waited but they told me it was only available online, way to squeeze an extra 50 bucks and make me wait HD. Live and learn right.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower
from Oakton, VA

Couldn't start the engine after a 30-min run

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered this Poulan riding mower from HomeDepot.com. After reading all the reviews (with good and bad ratings), I decided to give this brand a shot (price was a big factor in my decision process). Home Depot's service was great. The whole process from ordering to curb side delivery was smooth and professional.
The engine first started roughly with lots of black smoke and uneven vibrations. I had to stop it, and restart. Then, the initial running and cutting seemed good and normal. After half hour, I needed to stop the engine and take care of other things. When I came back and attempted to start it again, it never did. The battery should be fine because the starting sound was normal -- it's the engine that never held. I tried everything recommended by the user's manual and even online's helper forum, but couldn't make it run.
I called Home Depot, and felt relieved that HD would take it back free of charge and would fully refund my purchase. I wouldn't touch this brand any more. John Deere will be most likely my next purchase.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower
from Glenwood Springs CO

Red Hot Mama!

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We LOVE it! Front door delivery was great. We uncrated the mower, put the seat and the stearing wheel on, gassed it up and it started first try! My yard hasn't looked better. Nice turn radius and easy to use. No regrets!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower
from New York

Excellent Value!

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the price, this is an excellent lawn tractor. You do not need to spend more for a more powerful engine, or any other features. The mower comes in a wooden crate and requires minimal assembly. You just have to bolt the seat on and put on the steering wheel. The mower makes a nice even cut without getting bogged down even in thick grass. You need to get the hang of navigating the mower to make the return cut because this is not a zero turning radius machine, but that is easily learned. Also, the clutch grabs a little abruptly, and you need to be aware of that and get used to it. DO NOT put the mower in high gear with the engine revved and let go of the clutch! It will lurch forward and possibly throw you from the machine. But that is common sense.
Be aware of safety for this machine and any other riding mower that you may buy. Read the manual all the way before you use the machine. Don't do stupid things such as trying to navigate by ducking under overhanging branches. Instead, take the time to trim back the branches. Enjoy your purchase if you decide to get one of these.
One thing that I did not like is the position of the drain plug for the oil. Even with the "extension" that they give you for this purpose, changing the oil is likely to be messy. They recommend changing it every 25 hours which you have to keep track of yourself, since this machine does not come with an hour meter on the dashboard.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower
from Wisconsin

GOOD VALUE FOR THE PRICE

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This mower seems solid and strong with good power. It cuts well at a fairly fast speed of 5. The only downfall I see is that the floating deck does not give an even cut on uneven surfaces when turning. it appears you need rollers to get an even cut and the rollers come on more expensive mowers. I am happy with this mower, but I wish it had rollers on the deck.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower

wish I had 2 of them

PostedSeptember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great mower for the price, especially with free shipping.
I had an older Murray 42" that I spent more time repairing than mowing. This was a great change. The turning radius is amazing for a mower of this type and it has run great right out of the box for 2 months now. I highly recommend it. And I love the feature that allows you to mow in reverse.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower

poulan mower

PostedMay 19, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Mower is good for price range. It is very similar to toro, craftsman, and some others in this range. all are MTD mowers with briggs & statton engines. some different features found on each. I like that this mower will mow in reverse, if needed. I don't really care for the cheap frame, but you get what you pay for.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower
from NJ

Good machine for the price

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed to replace an old rear-engine riding mower and wasn't sure whether to get the same type or the tractor type. Finding a good balance of price, quality, and a mower that would be safe on hills wasn't easy. This looked like a good machine but word of mouth said beware of a lot of tractor types. In hindsight, I don't know why.
I had no problem with delivery or condition. As other reviews mentioned, one gear is sometimes tough to engage but it's not a problem that matters to me. The mower is great on the hills (maybe 10 degree grade), makes much tighter turns than the old machine, and it doesn't clog and stall when the grass is overgrown which is a welcome change from what I had.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower
from Western North Carolina

Finally, My first New mower

PostedMarch 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great little mower from Poulan. It's part of the husqvarna line just not as expensive. Came in a tractor trailer right up to the curb. The drive brought up the drive on his lift cart. Took about 25 minutes to uncrate it and another half hour or so to put the steering wheel and seat on. Instructions were very clear and it was a simple task. Put some gas in it and it cranked in about 3 seconds. Amazing just coming out of the crate. Oh yes, check the oil before cranking but it was right on the nose. My grass is still a little brown but I drove it around for about half an hour putting it thru it's paces. Rugged little mower The 17.5 HP engine isreally powerful. I'm judging from old 12.5 HP. . Well built with no cutting of corners that I can see. Gotta get used to the clutch tho as it is quick to the touch. All in all I think this mower is going to last a long time with the right care. By the way get this now while there is still free shipping on it. You'll save about $150.00 bucks or more. Would like to add that the folks at Home Depot Customer Service were really great when I had questions.
+16points
25out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower

very good and easy to operate

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Instructions were clear and easy to follow to put tractor together. It cuts the lawn nicely and easly. No gussing games on heighth to lower or raise.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower
from Ballwin, MO

Poulan XT PXT175G42 Riding Lawn Mower

PostedJune 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one great value. Turning radius of 18" is great for my smaller lawn. Mowing is very smooth and with the reverse mowing option/safety for reverse mowing, makes it a safe mower to use when kids/small pets can potentially be present. While the offset for the oil drain is cumbersome to avoid messes, it is a wonderful value package. This product has exceeded my expectations for the price.
I am considering using this with a lawn sweeper and a back blade, for which there are value priced products available.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower
from CHESILHURST, N.J.

First time owner of a riding mower.

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to start and operate. Thought the price to be reasonable. Had some problem bolting on the seat but was expecting that by reading the other helpful reviews. Took my time threading, slow and straight and it worked out. I am 62. Read the operating instructions and for the first time in my life, had fun mowing the 1/3 acre yard.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower
from Baldwin, NY

Good product overall

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this tractor/mower based on previous reviews and features. Easy to put together even though the accessories for the steering wheel were different than the installation manual. I also bought the muching kit and found I couldn't get the standard blades that come with the mower off without an additional leverage device to start the bolt that holds the blades to the mower. The manual calls for this bolt to have 40-45 inlbs of torque but odviously they were installed at the factory much tighter. Also the mower deck needed adjustment to allow the mower to be raised to its highest level. The front should be lower than the rear but it came with the front much higher. I also noticed that even though a supposed feature of this tractor is to be able to reverse the tractor with the blades operating, the manual warns, that even with their ROS system, that the mower shouldn't be reversed with the blades operating.
I mowed my lawn once since receiving it and it ran and mowed wonderfully.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower

A good bargain

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased this mower to replace my old Craftsman that had worn out after 10 years of faithful service. The good news is that mechanically this mower is almost exactly like the old one. The bad news is that after 10 years, this mower is almost exactly like my old one. This mower has a good strong 17.5 HP quick starting engine, so hopefully the power increase will result in longer life. The turning radius is slightly better, so I assume some work was done on the steering system. Still the same old drive system and pulleys, but hopefully better materials. I won't know if this is a good mower until I've had it for at least 5 years, but Home Depot keeps bugging me for a review. Fine. Let's say it's good enough for now. Starts strong, no choke required. Cuts well, though it needs a lower speed for proper leveling. The height setting is still primative, so you can't adjust less than 1 inch increments. No deck wheels, so bouncing will scalp the grass. In short, it has all the pitfalls of a 10 year old design.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Front-Engine Gas Riding Mower
from Massachusetts

Quality mower with a great price

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband used this mower yesterday for our acre and a half of land. He came in and gave me a big kiss and told me it was the best gift he ever received. The mower worked great, very uniform cut. He loves the mower and I loved the reaction.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>