728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tillers & Cultivators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator

10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator

Perfectly prep your soil with the Powermate Cultivator. The Powermate 10 in. 43 cc Gas 2-Cycle Cultivator is designed to help you accomplish a variety of cultivation and tilling tasks around your home and property. It is built for dependable, trouble free performance and is backed by an extensive service network to keep the cultivator running strong for years to come. The adjustable tilling widths of 6-10 in. and up to 5 in. tilling depth make easy work of weeding and aerating soil. Equipped with 7 in. rear wheels, this cultivator is easy to maneuver around lawns and gardens. The comfortable design allows you to work until the job is done. A three-piece foldable handle allows for convenient storage and a front carry handle provides maximum portability.
Overall rating:
3.21 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(143 reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
58%of customersrecommend this product77 of 133reviews
Rating Breakdown 143 reviews
3.2 out of 5
5
(52)
4
(30)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(49)
Features 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Quality 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
58%of customersrecommend this product77 of 133reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 56 Answers
Customer reviews for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
Review 1 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Kingman AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Received free product:Yes

Lightweight, Compact, Powerful

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The lightweight feature makes this item easy to store, move around, and use. The tiller appears to be fairly tough to handle all small and medium tilling jobs.
The handles come with wing nuts that allow you to move the handles for easy storage.
The engine started right up when cold, and was ready to go within a few seconds.
We gave the ease of use a "3" because it took several passes to learn the machine. We followed the recommendations but had issues with the machine digging in and not tilling the soil. Once we figured out the best setting, it tilled the soil fairly easy.
The video shows the tiller in action. The ground was fairly moist.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from North West, Loudoun Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Feed it well and it will serve you well

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Out of the box, 2 minute assembly. Just connect the middle and top handle with provided four bolts. Pour the gas (mixed with provided oil) and you are ready to start this machine. You need to somehow hold the machine in place before you pull the cord to start it. The machine weighs so light that if you pull it without firmly gripping it against the ground, the whole machine gets pulled toward you. Its handling and control is very easy, in fact, at times it felt like a toy to me. Once started, it does what it’s made for. It worked hand in hand with me preparing 10X10 feet area that we had been planning for our vegetable garden since ages. If you are planning to buy it, keep in mind that it’s a cultivator, not a tiller. Even though the concept is a bit similar but not exactly same. This cultivator does a great job if your soil is not rocky. All you should be expecting from it is to break the surface’s crust to improve water, air, and nutrient penetration and absorption. At full throttle, it gets real loud so you do need ear protection.
Many consumers had issues starting it after storing it for a season or so. I am not there yet but I have learned something over the years and I know it has always worked. STOP putting the lowest grade gas with ethanol in these tiny engines. I’ve always put highest grade gas and I never had issues starting any of my machines I have in my garage. Gas with ethanol works ok in the cars but with these small engines it’s a different story. For few extra cents, you get a peace of mind. Feed this machine well and it will serve you well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+60points
60out of 60found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from BF PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Cultivating made easy

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very satisfied with this Powermate cultivator from the moment I opened the box. Assembly was extremely easy, just 4 bolts and Tee nuts. From there a couple easy steps, just add the included oil to 1 gallon of gasoline, pour into tank. Make sure red power switch is on, then pump primer bulb 6 times, and pull cord a few times. Cultivator started right up, ran smooth. Then with very little pressure on the throttle the engine revs up nicely, and the tines begin to spin. Continued pulling throttle and engine responded coming up to operating speed, runs smooth at high speed. I tried cultivating a small patch of dirt behind my house, and this cultivator worked as expected, turned up the soil, too bad it's freezing here now, or I could have started planting my spring flowers.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Received free product:Yes

A lot of power from a small package

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is impressive how much power came from the 43 cc 2 cycle engine
Assembly was easy and required no tools. Just tighten 4 handles and it's fully assembled. Handles loosen and fold in for easy storage and transportation.
Add 2 stroke gas 50:1 and it will start on the first pull
The engine is unassuming when it is idling but as soon as you squeeze the trigger it screams
It turned medium hardness dirt with small roots into power in seconds. Please see video
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Littleton, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A gardener’s best friend. Time saving, back saving machine.

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This cultivator comes mostly assembled in the box, requiring only attachment of the handles using the 4 provided bolts and 4 spinner knobs. No tools are necessary for assembly, which I completed in about 5 minutes at a relaxed pace. Metal retaining clips integrated into the (right) handle bar keep the cable for the throttle finger control neat and out of the way. The debris shield, tines, handle bars and lower parts that’ll contact the Earth are made of metal, but the choke controls and shields for the controls are plastic and have sort of a flimsy, cheap feel about them. The 2-cycle engine requires a 50:1 mixture of gas and oil. A 2.6 oz. bottle of 2-cycle oil is included. The gas tank holds about a quart of gas, which isn’t a lot, but is enough fuel to provide continuous run time for a small garden, depending on how hard you work the machine. The handle bar grips are soft and reduce teeth chatting vibration, however I’d still recommend wearing a pair of gloves and taking frequent breaks to allow the feeling to come back into your hands. A half-dozen pumps of the primer button and several pulls to get started for the first time. The machine is light, so you need to hold the bottom bar when you pull the cord to keep the machine from rising off the ground. Noise level is comparable to that of a gas powered chainsaw, which is tolerable and allows you to hear loud speaking, but I’d recommend ear plugs. The debris shield completely covers the tines and protects ankles and shins against kickback of flying rocks and debris while keeping the soil on the ground. Being a forward rotating, front-tine tiller, I found the handling a bit unruly and laborious when breaking new ground or ground that hadn’t been cultivated for a number of years. I had a difficult time trying to maintain a straight line in new ground, but the handling was much tamer and controllable in loose soil that’d be recently cultivated. That said, under the right soil conditions, this cultivator shines and is a workhorse. It quickly loosened the soil in a 10 x 6 vegetable garden that had been abandoned and taken over by grass and clover weeds. I then prepared a narrow area of new ground for a planned expansion of a paver patio area by loosening packed soil that otherwise, with a shovel, would have been back breaking and very time consuming. I was working in soil damped by recent rainfall and the tines occasionally got mudded, but they kept spinning and cleaned easily with a garden hose. A nice feature of this cultivator is the adjustable tine width, which allows you to adjust the tines to maneuver in between and around plants without damaging them. To reduce the width of cut, you simply remove the cotter pins on the outer tines and slide the tines off the axle. The included instructions are helpful and detailed with a number of photo illustrations, but the illustrations aren’t entirely accurate. The section of instructions that describes the handlebar assembly depicts a red ignition switch on the handlebar, but the switch on my cultivator is actually on rear of the motor. Being that this is my first experience using a cultivator, I’m very satisfied with its performance, which I’d say meets my expectation for a machine of this size. As I get up in years, I’m looking for ways to save time and my back from the aches and pains associated with laboring in the garden. This cultivator addresses both of those issues, and is relatively easy to use, provided you let the machine do the work and resist the urge to muscle it to dig deeper or faster than it wants to. While the metal parts appear durable, my concern is the plastic parts will prematurely fail, especially the primer bulb which is stiff and more plastic-like than rubber, and the plastic choke lever. The handles fold for storage, but at 33 lbs, this cultivator is small enough and light enough to hang from the rafters in my garage where it takes up no valuable floor space.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: some flimsy plastic parts
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Westminster, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Powerful for it's size

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the perfect tool for someone who wants a smaller cultivator and does not need a big tiller. It is the perfect size for my small vegetable garden, and I do not have to plant rows as far apart as when I used a full sized tiller. Very versatile, it can be used for light tilling, cultivating and aerating. Assembly was quick and easy, attachment of the handle is all that is required. It started on first pull, and in no time at all I was using it to aerate a portion of my lawn. I found it easy to operate and I am looking forward to Spring to cultivate my gardens, both vegetable and flower, using this handy tool. In the meantime, my cultivator is sitting in my garage, taking up little room, since the handle conveniently folds.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Springfield, MO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good tiller, great value

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a good light duty tiller. if you come into it with higher expectations you will be disappointed. I have used this tiller for a year to maintain a small garden (15' X 30') and it has proven up to the task. The teeth do get clogged up and need to be cleaned out if you are going through vegetation. I struggled to start the motor the first time but after the first use it has always started on the first pull. The OEM recommends that you take it easy for the first 10 hours of operation so as part of the first use I let it idle for about an hour to help the engine break in.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from NEW YORK
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Entry Level Residential Cultivator

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is a good cultivator for the average home owner. Is perfect for a small home garden. Not recommended for commercial use. One complaint is that it takes a 50:1 gas to oil mixture. All of my other garden tools take a 40:1 so need a new gas can. Cultivates 10 inches wide and max of 5 inches deep. Starts up very easy. Cultivates reasonably for the price.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Light, compact cultivator that is easy to manuever and does the job

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Light weight cultivator that assembles quickly, with only four easy release bolts that mount the handle and allows the handle to be collapsed for easy storage. This unit does not take much room in your shed - which is a big plus in my crowed shed. Adjustable depth of cut and adjustable width of cut from 6-10 inch, achieved by removing the outer tines. Adjusting the depth takes trial and error, and is done by loosing a quick handled bolt and changing the setting. Unit has four tines total. Rear wheels provide good maneuverability, as does the overall light weight of the unit. Two cycle engines requires a 50:1 oil gas mix (although the product overview says 40:1, a tag on the cap indicated 50:1). Push the priming bulb a few times, engage the manual choke, and after a few pulls and the engine starts (make sure you have the on/off switch turned on!) Blades will not engage until you rev the engine by pulling the throttle located on the handle. When engaged, unit walks through moist soil with ease, and cultivated the soil as well as any unit I have used before. This is not a large machine, and when I tried to walk though some thicker brush areas, it takes some effort to get the job done. It is best suited for general garden work, but does have flexibility and other applications. I used it as a bed edger by removing two tines and it worked great for that application. I no longer have to hand dig the edges. Overall, a nice compact and lightweight unit. Well built.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator

Piece of junk. Don't waste your money

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Biggest piece of junk that I have ever owned. Takes me about 1 hour to get it started and it still runs like garbage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from North Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Why It Won't Start

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you look at all the reviews most of the 1 star reviews complain that it won't start again after being used 1 time. Why? Because the rubber fuel tank plug where the fuel lines enter/exit the fuel tank is not made of fuel resistant rubber and turns into a gooey mess after exposure to the gas. Bits of the gooey mess enter the carburetor and clog up the ports. No more fuel to the engine - no more starting. This is a manufacturer's defect and should be covered by the 2 year warranty.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Florissant Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Work horse for a bargain

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This little guy is a workhorse with power to spare.. I bought this thing to dig out an area to extend my deck, went through topsoil like a champ. Then through another 3 foot of dirt and rock. Started every time with ease , and used the same mix as my saws. I have had problems with equipment starting and running at the altitude where we live, 9000 ft, this thing started first time and ran great right out of the box. The best part was the price. I looked at all the top brands and this little guy was half price in comparison . Would tell anyone that asked, Best bet, if you need a Good roto-tiller !
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Mesa Az
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Do Not Buy This Machine

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used one time put away for a few months would not start , broken primer bulb , looks like the whole thing fell apart in just a few months . do not buy this machine. will try to return to store . I will update this post .
Mesa AZ 85213
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, Not Durable, poor quality, made in china
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Utah, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very difficult to start, Not reliable

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought it in the spring and it seemed to work just fine right out of the box. Ever since that time I cannot get the thing to start when I need it too. Went to use it in the fall to till up my garden, which is what I bought it for, and the machine would not start again. Had to till it by hand. Very frustrated with it and would not recommend it to anyone. One more thing to add, the handles on this thing are very flimsy and bend very easily. Not a good attribute for something that is suppose to be designed to handle tough work.
Cons: Not Durable, difficult to start
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Syracuse, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simply doesn't last more than a few long days of use, throttle / power regulator issues

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this about 3 times during one summer without much issue. The following year couldn't make it through an entire days of work. I tore it apart and checked everything to no avail.
I then lugged it to a local small engine repair shop, $45 bucks later and I was told this engine has a internal throttle regulator in such that if you gas it too long for too hard it stops working and needs to be "reset" for lack of better words. So basically if you push this little guy / actually use it at all the next time you try and start it and give it throttle it just simply dies on you. As soon as you give it gas it quits.
I can't find anywhere how to make the fix the repairman did but am not going to bring it back there for 1/4th the cost of this machine again.
Long story short, rent a better machine or buy something that lasts, this thing is not worth it, seriously. You'll waste more time trying to fix it, get it repaired or simply just trying to start this machine than it's worth.
I wouldn't buy it for 79.95 much less 199.95. I'll gladly sell you mine for 49.95, used about 15 hours total.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Merced, California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Small, Lightweight & Efficient

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This gas cultivator is small but has enough power to cut through hard clay soil.
Pros: Durable, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from phoenix az
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

decent value

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
good machine for the money it must not be abused and it will last you qiute a while small enough to get the job done with ease but powerful enough for homeower gardens
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Rosenberg, Greater Houston
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A professional tiller in a miniature package!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sometimes I am skeptical about something, and I am way wrong. This is an example. I was thinking, what a 43 cc tiller can do. But when I turned it ON, and put it to action, it was amazing! It is so powerful. It tills my clay soil deep enough, about 5 inches, and breaks up the soil so nicely. I recommend this cultivator to all home owners. My pictures are proof of the Powermate performance.
The assembly was so easy; just 5 minutes, since it was mostly assembled.
I mixed the 2 cycle 2.6 oz engine oil that came with the package with one gallon premium 93 octane gasoline, since ethanol free gasoline is not available in my area. Tuned on the machine after 3 priming, and it started at one pull. (instruction says to prime 6 times. I was just checking with 3). Good job!
I tried the tilling on my backyard, where I have prepared an area to cultivate vegetables. The performance was amazing. It did a good job very fast (and furious). I can put aside many of my yard tools now.
This Cultivator is designed to help you accomplish a variety of cultivation and tilling tasks around your home and property. It is built for dependable, trouble free performance and is backed by an extensive service network to keep the cultivator running strong for years to come. I firmly believe that , that is why I said that this is a miniature professional machine: very durable, and nothing to break.
The comfortable design allows you to work until the job is done. A 3-piece foldable handle allows for convenient storage and 2 carry handles provides maximum portability; you can carry it or push it and store it until you need it next time. Thanks, Power mate for a good product, well made.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Opelika, AL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Want last

PostedApril 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this cultivator for small bedding projects around my home. It worked great the first time I used it. I took all precautions when I stored it and drained all gas/oil mix out of it. Now that its spring and I am in need of it again, it wont crank. It is exactly one year old and may have a total of 10 hours of use. The warranty will not cover the carbarator and it looks like 90% of these cultivators have that same problem. I would not and will not recommend this product
Cons: Not Durable
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Portland, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light but powerful

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The assembling out of the box shouldn't take you longer than 5 minutes, it's really easy.
Being a 2-stroke engine you need to run it with a oil and gasoline mix, if you run straight gasoline you will ruin the engine.
The entire machine is very light and therefore you need to hold it down to pull on the starter, but if you prime it correctly it will start right up.
It is much more powerful than I had expected and it didn't have any problems going through our dry/hard clay-ish soil. As long as you don't have too many rocks in the ground it will work for you too.
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>