728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tillers & Cultivators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator

10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator

Perfectly prep your soil with the Powermate Cultivator. The Powermate 10 in. 43 cc Gas 2-Cycle Cultivator is designed to help you accomplish a variety of cultivation and tilling tasks around your home and property. It is built for dependable, trouble free performance and is backed by an extensive service network to keep the cultivator running strong for years to come. The adjustable tilling widths of 6-10 in. and up to 5 in. tilling depth make easy work of weeding and aerating soil. Equipped with 7 in. rear wheels, this cultivator is easy to maneuver around lawns and gardens. The comfortable design allows you to work until the job is done. A three-piece foldable handle allows for convenient storage and a front carry handle provides maximum portability.
Overall rating:
3.305 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(190 reviews) 190
Open Ratings Snapshot
61%of customersrecommend this product110 of 179reviews
Rating Breakdown 190 reviews
3.3 out of 5
5
(72)
4
(42)
3
(8)
2
(8)
1
(60)
Features 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Quality 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
61%of customersrecommend this product110 of 179reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 71 Answers
Customer reviews for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
Review 1 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Kingman AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Received free product:Yes

Lightweight, Compact, Powerful

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The lightweight feature makes this item easy to store, move around, and use. The tiller appears to be fairly tough to handle all small and medium tilling jobs.
The handles come with wing nuts that allow you to move the handles for easy storage.
The engine started right up when cold, and was ready to go within a few seconds.
We gave the ease of use a "3" because it took several passes to learn the machine. We followed the recommendations but had issues with the machine digging in and not tilling the soil. Once we figured out the best setting, it tilled the soil fairly easy.
The video shows the tiller in action. The ground was fairly moist.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from BF PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Cultivating made easy

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very satisfied with this Powermate cultivator from the moment I opened the box. Assembly was extremely easy, just 4 bolts and Tee nuts. From there a couple easy steps, just add the included oil to 1 gallon of gasoline, pour into tank. Make sure red power switch is on, then pump primer bulb 6 times, and pull cord a few times. Cultivator started right up, ran smooth. Then with very little pressure on the throttle the engine revs up nicely, and the tines begin to spin. Continued pulling throttle and engine responded coming up to operating speed, runs smooth at high speed. I tried cultivating a small patch of dirt behind my house, and this cultivator worked as expected, turned up the soil, too bad it's freezing here now, or I could have started planting my spring flowers.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Caliente, NV 89008, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

WORKS GREAT IN HIGH DESERT GROUND

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We live in the Southwest high desert country. Our soil tends to be sandy. The garden bed we tested this Powermate Cultivator in had been worked for several years adding compost and mulch. The bed has not been planted for the last couple of years but we did keep the weeds down. This mid-sized cultivator worked it's way through the ground with no problem at all. My husband was very pleased with the ease of handling especially after he was able to adjust it just the way he liked it. The Powermate Cultivator was easy to assemble and came with clear pictured instructions. I think this cultivator would handle breaking untouched soil in our area. For us it is well worth the money.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Powerful Enough Cultivator For Gardens And Yard Work

PostedApril 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This cultivator is an awesome little machine. It has plenty of power turning over the soil/grass in your yard. It has two widths on cultivating your yard 7" and 10" and I used the 7" for preparing the soil for my garden. To get 7" paths you need to take off the two outer tins. The 10" is for bigger areas that need to be turned over like seeding your yard. This cultivator handle stones and rocks that I had in my soil with ease. I had no problems with this cultivator starting it or using it. I would definitely recommend getting this cultivator for your yard and garden.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Received free product:Yes

A lot of power from a small package

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is impressive how much power came from the 43 cc 2 cycle engine
Assembly was easy and required no tools. Just tighten 4 handles and it's fully assembled. Handles loosen and fold in for easy storage and transportation.
Add 2 stroke gas 50:1 and it will start on the first pull
The engine is unassuming when it is idling but as soon as you squeeze the trigger it screams
It turned medium hardness dirt with small roots into power in seconds. Please see video
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Light, compact cultivator that is easy to manuever and does the job

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Light weight cultivator that assembles quickly, with only four easy release bolts that mount the handle and allows the handle to be collapsed for easy storage. This unit does not take much room in your shed - which is a big plus in my crowed shed. Adjustable depth of cut and adjustable width of cut from 6-10 inch, achieved by removing the outer tines. Adjusting the depth takes trial and error, and is done by loosing a quick handled bolt and changing the setting. Unit has four tines total. Rear wheels provide good maneuverability, as does the overall light weight of the unit. Two cycle engines requires a 50:1 oil gas mix (although the product overview says 40:1, a tag on the cap indicated 50:1). Push the priming bulb a few times, engage the manual choke, and after a few pulls and the engine starts (make sure you have the on/off switch turned on!) Blades will not engage until you rev the engine by pulling the throttle located on the handle. When engaged, unit walks through moist soil with ease, and cultivated the soil as well as any unit I have used before. This is not a large machine, and when I tried to walk though some thicker brush areas, it takes some effort to get the job done. It is best suited for general garden work, but does have flexibility and other applications. I used it as a bed edger by removing two tines and it worked great for that application. I no longer have to hand dig the edges. Overall, a nice compact and lightweight unit. Well built.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from North West, Loudoun Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Feed it well and it will serve you well

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Out of the box, 2 minute assembly. Just connect the middle and top handle with provided four bolts. Pour the gas (mixed with provided oil) and you are ready to start this machine. You need to somehow hold the machine in place before you pull the cord to start it. The machine weighs so light that if you pull it without firmly gripping it against the ground, the whole machine gets pulled toward you. Its handling and control is very easy, in fact, at times it felt like a toy to me. Once started, it does what it’s made for. It worked hand in hand with me preparing 10X10 feet area that we had been planning for our vegetable garden since ages. If you are planning to buy it, keep in mind that it’s a cultivator, not a tiller. Even though the concept is a bit similar but not exactly same. This cultivator does a great job if your soil is not rocky. All you should be expecting from it is to break the surface’s crust to improve water, air, and nutrient penetration and absorption. At full throttle, it gets real loud so you do need ear protection.
Many consumers had issues starting it after storing it for a season or so. I am not there yet but I have learned something over the years and I know it has always worked. STOP putting the lowest grade gas with ethanol in these tiny engines. I’ve always put highest grade gas and I never had issues starting any of my machines I have in my garage. Gas with ethanol works ok in the cars but with these small engines it’s a different story. For few extra cents, you get a peace of mind. Feed this machine well and it will serve you well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+69points
69out of 69found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from portland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Bad Carb Many units quit in a very short time.

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
worked fine,,,until it did not. Would rate it higher if it did not die after very few run hours. Was hard to start in first year, and will not start at all now. The forums point to the carburetor as being a known problem, which obviously is not going to be fixed by the manufacturer, and is also not covered by warranty it is reported. Seems convenient that the part that is known to be bad is not covered. I have other tools and know how to take care, empty gas tanks, change spark plugs etc. None of these are effective for this unit If you feel it is worth the price to get a couple days use from it OK, but otherwise buy anything else. The only sales person I have spoken too was not knowledgeable, so just said I needed to contact powermate as it was their issue.
Pros: price if it worked but none since it wont
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Littleton, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A gardener’s best friend. Time saving, back saving machine.

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This cultivator comes mostly assembled in the box, requiring only attachment of the handles using the 4 provided bolts and 4 spinner knobs. No tools are necessary for assembly, which I completed in about 5 minutes at a relaxed pace. Metal retaining clips integrated into the (right) handle bar keep the cable for the throttle finger control neat and out of the way. The debris shield, tines, handle bars and lower parts that’ll contact the Earth are made of metal, but the choke controls and shields for the controls are plastic and have sort of a flimsy, cheap feel about them. The 2-cycle engine requires a 50:1 mixture of gas and oil. A 2.6 oz. bottle of 2-cycle oil is included. The gas tank holds about a quart of gas, which isn’t a lot, but is enough fuel to provide continuous run time for a small garden, depending on how hard you work the machine. The handle bar grips are soft and reduce teeth chatting vibration, however I’d still recommend wearing a pair of gloves and taking frequent breaks to allow the feeling to come back into your hands. A half-dozen pumps of the primer button and several pulls to get started for the first time. The machine is light, so you need to hold the bottom bar when you pull the cord to keep the machine from rising off the ground. Noise level is comparable to that of a gas powered chainsaw, which is tolerable and allows you to hear loud speaking, but I’d recommend ear plugs. The debris shield completely covers the tines and protects ankles and shins against kickback of flying rocks and debris while keeping the soil on the ground. Being a forward rotating, front-tine tiller, I found the handling a bit unruly and laborious when breaking new ground or ground that hadn’t been cultivated for a number of years. I had a difficult time trying to maintain a straight line in new ground, but the handling was much tamer and controllable in loose soil that’d be recently cultivated. That said, under the right soil conditions, this cultivator shines and is a workhorse. It quickly loosened the soil in a 10 x 6 vegetable garden that had been abandoned and taken over by grass and clover weeds. I then prepared a narrow area of new ground for a planned expansion of a paver patio area by loosening packed soil that otherwise, with a shovel, would have been back breaking and very time consuming. I was working in soil damped by recent rainfall and the tines occasionally got mudded, but they kept spinning and cleaned easily with a garden hose. A nice feature of this cultivator is the adjustable tine width, which allows you to adjust the tines to maneuver in between and around plants without damaging them. To reduce the width of cut, you simply remove the cotter pins on the outer tines and slide the tines off the axle. The included instructions are helpful and detailed with a number of photo illustrations, but the illustrations aren’t entirely accurate. The section of instructions that describes the handlebar assembly depicts a red ignition switch on the handlebar, but the switch on my cultivator is actually on rear of the motor. Being that this is my first experience using a cultivator, I’m very satisfied with its performance, which I’d say meets my expectation for a machine of this size. As I get up in years, I’m looking for ways to save time and my back from the aches and pains associated with laboring in the garden. This cultivator addresses both of those issues, and is relatively easy to use, provided you let the machine do the work and resist the urge to muscle it to dig deeper or faster than it wants to. While the metal parts appear durable, my concern is the plastic parts will prematurely fail, especially the primer bulb which is stiff and more plastic-like than rubber, and the plastic choke lever. The handles fold for storage, but at 33 lbs, this cultivator is small enough and light enough to hang from the rafters in my garage where it takes up no valuable floor space.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: some flimsy plastic parts
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Great Performing Cultivator

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I plant a small garden every year and always struggle trying to cultivate the soil before planting. This year I decided to make life easier and obtained the Powermate 10 Inch 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator. Upon arrival my first impression was it's too flimsy and would not perform well. However, after using the cultivator, I am quite impressed with the performance. It quickly tore through the compacted soil in my garden and wanted more.
The Powermate 10 Inch 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator comes with a 43 cc (OEM Branded) engine, four 8 inch diameter tines that cultivate a 10 inch path, adjustable wheels for setting depth, and an adjustable spike for creating drag. The little 43 cc engine started right up and runs like a scalded ape. It quickly cultivated my garden soil with little effort.
The only negative is the flimsy handle connections on the cultivator. Bracing bwtween the handle ends would make the handles much sturdier. Overall, the good performance outweighs the flimsy handles. I may try to strengthen the handles with cross bracing. Recommended for cultivating small home gardens.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
Cons: flimsy handles
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Colorado
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
first year it worked fine. second year it would not start. I took it back to HD repair guy said $100.. to fix with a new carb. 4 hours of use for $200.00 cost. BAD DEAL!!
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from NEW YORK
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Entry Level Residential Cultivator

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is a good cultivator for the average home owner. Is perfect for a small home garden. Not recommended for commercial use. One complaint is that it takes a 50:1 gas to oil mixture. All of my other garden tools take a 40:1 so need a new gas can. Cultivates 10 inches wide and max of 5 inches deep. Starts up very easy. Cultivates reasonably for the price.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Springfield, MO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good tiller, great value

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a good light duty tiller. if you come into it with higher expectations you will be disappointed. I have used this tiller for a year to maintain a small garden (15' X 30') and it has proven up to the task. The teeth do get clogged up and need to be cleaned out if you are going through vegetation. I struggled to start the motor the first time but after the first use it has always started on the first pull. The OEM recommends that you take it easy for the first 10 hours of operation so as part of the first use I let it idle for about an hour to help the engine break in.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Agawam MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Received free product:Yes

Great for the home garden

PostedApril 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I really put this cultivator to work over the past few weekends. It was a life saver. We decided to turn our 5 year old raised beds into a regular garden. This saved me many hours of backbreaking work.
Truth be told, I would have been much better served with a tiller for the initial soil loosening, A cultivator is not the right tool due to the way the tines are designed. It did a good job because the soil was previously tilled and free of grass, roots, and rocks. However it was very compacted. If you intend to use this as a tiller (to establish a soil bed), it's not going to work well.
As a cultivator, this is awesome. I was mixing in potting soil, pete, and other organic mixes with ease over a very large area, and very deep. Figuring out the perfect position for the wheels and depth guide really help you to avoid digging holes or getting stuck in ruts.
I put about 14 hours on this machine so far, and really like it. I'm pretty amazed at how it hot starts. My experience with hot starting 2 strokes usually involves a lot of flooding, sear words, and sore shoulders. This started up on 1 or 2 pulls.
Other reviews point to longevity issues. That remains to be seen but I am optimistic. 2 stoke engines require extra care when stored. Especially occasional use ones like this. Bad gas, old gas, or a bad mix will gum up a carb beyond the point of cleaning. Also only use premium unleaded fuel and try to get as little ethanol as possible
Some other points to mention:
Unpacking and assembly was trivial.
I like the large fuel tank. Nothing more annoying than constantly gassing up. It seems pretty frugal with the fuel for 43cc as well.
The folding handle isn't great. It's more like an easy to take apart handle. I wish that was nicer
This has plenty of power. It would be nice if tiller tines were included or if the tines on the unit were more of a combination of tiller/cultivator
This is the second Powermate gas powered product I own and am impressed with them. For value conscious items that are used somewhat infrequently, they are probably the best on the market.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Mulches Well, easy start, big fuel tank
Cons: folding handle is awkward
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked fine when I first purchased, next season couldn't get it to start. When we finally got it to start it worked a little, enough to do the job. This year (third year) finally got it started up but tines don't move effectively. Took it to 2 different repair people, one rebuilt the carburetor (to no avail) and the second one (the only "Powermate authorized repair shop" in the north metro) couldn't even get their act together enough to figure out the problem, much less fix it . . . five weeks later I picked it up still not working and now it's sitting in my garage waiting for me to take it to the scrap heap. I won't be making the mistake of buying Coleman Powermate products in the future.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Palo Alto, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

For lightweight garden jobs

PostedJune 19, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is a fine tool for lightweight gardening (mulching/tilling fairly loose topsoil, etc). I attempted to use this to cultivate a hardpacked, dead gas and this was way underpowered. Even after significantly soaking
the soil this cultivator struggled to get through it. Performance was mediocre.
On looser soil this was great and worked well, but I could have probably done that by hand. It failed to perform in the sections where I really needed the power.
Another annoyance: Stalled out frequently and the pull cord would frequently catch. (The pullchain is not great).
Depending on what you need it for, this could be a great item. But if you've got solid, hardpacked soil, bring out the bigger guns.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Westminster, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Powerful for it's size

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the perfect tool for someone who wants a smaller cultivator and does not need a big tiller. It is the perfect size for my small vegetable garden, and I do not have to plant rows as far apart as when I used a full sized tiller. Very versatile, it can be used for light tilling, cultivating and aerating. Assembly was quick and easy, attachment of the handle is all that is required. It started on first pull, and in no time at all I was using it to aerate a portion of my lawn. I found it easy to operate and I am looking forward to Spring to cultivate my gardens, both vegetable and flower, using this handy tool. In the meantime, my cultivator is sitting in my garage, taking up little room, since the handle conveniently folds.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Virginia Beach, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extremely pleased!

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this to cultivate my garden beds, hoping it would be easier than using a tiller attachment for my weed eater. I am glad I made the decision. Set-up took 5 minutes, and after mixing the included oil with premium gas, it started on the second pull. The cultivator is light weight and easy to maneuver. I have two 4x8 and one 8x8 raised garden beds, and this thing went through them in less than 30 minutes total time. It is important to remember and pay the few cents extra for premium gas, and make sure to mix the gas appropriately. I looked at the other options out there, including the electric cultivators and more powerful 4 cycle engines, but for the money, this is well worth it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Florissant Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Work horse for a bargain

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This little guy is a workhorse with power to spare.. I bought this thing to dig out an area to extend my deck, went through topsoil like a champ. Then through another 3 foot of dirt and rock. Started every time with ease , and used the same mix as my saws. I have had problems with equipment starting and running at the altitude where we live, 9000 ft, this thing started first time and ran great right out of the box. The best part was the price. I looked at all the top brands and this little guy was half price in comparison . Would tell anyone that asked, Best bet, if you need a Good roto-tiller !
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from South Fork, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little machine

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This machine was a snap to assemble and easy to use. Works the garden so well I don't know why I didn't get one sooner. Makes gardening so much easier.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>