728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tillers & Cultivators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator

10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator

Perfectly prep your soil with the Powermate Cultivator! The Powermate 10 in. 43 cc Gas 2-Cycle Cultivator is designed to help you accomplish a variety of cultivation and tilling tasks around your home and property. It is built for dependable, trouble free performance and is backed by an extensive service network to keep the cultivator running strong for years to come. The adjustable tilling widths of 6-10 inches and up to 5 in. tilling depth make easy work of weeding and aerating soil. Equipped with 7 in. rear wheels, this cultivator is easy to maneuver around lawns and gardens. The comfortable design allows you to work until the job is done. A three-piece foldable handle allows for convenient storage and a front carry handle provides maximum portability.
Overall rating:
3.141 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(121 reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
55%of customersrecommend this product61 of 111reviews
Rating Breakdown 121 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(43)
4
(23)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(43)
Features 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
55%of customersrecommend this product61 of 111reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer reviews for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
Review 1 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Littleton, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A gardener’s best friend. Time saving, back saving machine.

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This cultivator comes mostly assembled in the box, requiring only attachment of the handles using the 4 provided bolts and 4 spinner knobs. No tools are necessary for assembly, which I completed in about 5 minutes at a relaxed pace. Metal retaining clips integrated into the (right) handle bar keep the cable for the throttle finger control neat and out of the way. The debris shield, tines, handle bars and lower parts that’ll contact the Earth are made of metal, but the choke controls and shields for the controls are plastic and have sort of a flimsy, cheap feel about them. The 2-cycle engine requires a 50:1 mixture of gas and oil. A 2.6 oz. bottle of 2-cycle oil is included. The gas tank holds about a quart of gas, which isn’t a lot, but is enough fuel to provide continuous run time for a small garden, depending on how hard you work the machine. The handle bar grips are soft and reduce teeth chatting vibration, however I’d still recommend wearing a pair of gloves and taking frequent breaks to allow the feeling to come back into your hands. A half-dozen pumps of the primer button and several pulls to get started for the first time. The machine is light, so you need to hold the bottom bar when you pull the cord to keep the machine from rising off the ground. Noise level is comparable to that of a gas powered chainsaw, which is tolerable and allows you to hear loud speaking, but I’d recommend ear plugs. The debris shield completely covers the tines and protects ankles and shins against kickback of flying rocks and debris while keeping the soil on the ground. Being a forward rotating, front-tine tiller, I found the handling a bit unruly and laborious when breaking new ground or ground that hadn’t been cultivated for a number of years. I had a difficult time trying to maintain a straight line in new ground, but the handling was much tamer and controllable in loose soil that’d be recently cultivated. That said, under the right soil conditions, this cultivator shines and is a workhorse. It quickly loosened the soil in a 10 x 6 vegetable garden that had been abandoned and taken over by grass and clover weeds. I then prepared a narrow area of new ground for a planned expansion of a paver patio area by loosening packed soil that otherwise, with a shovel, would have been back breaking and very time consuming. I was working in soil damped by recent rainfall and the tines occasionally got mudded, but they kept spinning and cleaned easily with a garden hose. A nice feature of this cultivator is the adjustable tine width, which allows you to adjust the tines to maneuver in between and around plants without damaging them. To reduce the width of cut, you simply remove the cotter pins on the outer tines and slide the tines off the axle. The included instructions are helpful and detailed with a number of photo illustrations, but the illustrations aren’t entirely accurate. The section of instructions that describes the handlebar assembly depicts a red ignition switch on the handlebar, but the switch on my cultivator is actually on rear of the motor. Being that this is my first experience using a cultivator, I’m very satisfied with its performance, which I’d say meets my expectation for a machine of this size. As I get up in years, I’m looking for ways to save time and my back from the aches and pains associated with laboring in the garden. This cultivator addresses both of those issues, and is relatively easy to use, provided you let the machine do the work and resist the urge to muscle it to dig deeper or faster than it wants to. While the metal parts appear durable, my concern is the plastic parts will prematurely fail, especially the primer bulb which is stiff and more plastic-like than rubber, and the plastic choke lever. The handles fold for storage, but at 33 lbs, this cultivator is small enough and light enough to hang from the rafters in my garage where it takes up no valuable floor space.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: some flimsy plastic parts
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from North West, Loudoun Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Feed it well and it will serve you well

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Out of the box, 2 minute assembly. Just connect the middle and top handle with provided four bolts. Pour the gas (mixed with provided oil) and you are ready to start this machine. You need to somehow hold the machine in place before you pull the cord to start it. The machine weighs so light that if you pull it without firmly gripping it against the ground, the whole machine gets pulled toward you. Its handling and control is very easy, in fact, at times it felt like a toy to me. Once started, it does what it’s made for. It worked hand in hand with me preparing 10X10 feet area that we had been planning for our vegetable garden since ages. If you are planning to buy it, keep in mind that it’s a cultivator, not a tiller. Even though the concept is a bit similar but not exactly same. This cultivator does a great job if your soil is not rocky. All you should be expecting from it is to break the surface’s crust to improve water, air, and nutrient penetration and absorption. At full throttle, it gets real loud so you do need ear protection.
Many consumers had issues starting it after storing it for a season or so. I am not there yet but I have learned something over the years and I know it has always worked. STOP putting the lowest grade gas with ethanol in these tiny engines. I’ve always put highest grade gas and I never had issues starting any of my machines I have in my garage. Gas with ethanol works ok in the cars but with these small engines it’s a different story. For few extra cents, you get a peace of mind. Feed this machine well and it will serve you well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
 
Products related to my review
 
+49points
49out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Florissant Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Work horse for a bargain

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little guy is a workhorse with power to spare.. I bought this thing to dig out an area to extend my deck, went through topsoil like a champ. Then through another 3 foot of dirt and rock. Started every time with ease , and used the same mix as my saws. I have had problems with equipment starting and running at the altitude where we live, 9000 ft, this thing started first time and ran great right out of the box. The best part was the price. I looked at all the top brands and this little guy was half price in comparison . Would tell anyone that asked, Best bet, if you need a Good roto-tiller !
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Springfield, MO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good tiller, great value

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good light duty tiller. if you come into it with higher expectations you will be disappointed. I have used this tiller for a year to maintain a small garden (15' X 30') and it has proven up to the task. The teeth do get clogged up and need to be cleaned out if you are going through vegetation. I struggled to start the motor the first time but after the first use it has always started on the first pull. The OEM recommends that you take it easy for the first 10 hours of operation so as part of the first use I let it idle for about an hour to help the engine break in.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from NEW YORK
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Entry Level Residential Cultivator

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is a good cultivator for the average home owner. Is perfect for a small home garden. Not recommended for commercial use. One complaint is that it takes a 50:1 gas to oil mixture. All of my other garden tools take a 40:1 so need a new gas can. Cultivates 10 inches wide and max of 5 inches deep. Starts up very easy. Cultivates reasonably for the price.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from wa state
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Garbage

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used the tiller for about 2 weeks,ran great .Untiul it came time to start it two weeks latter.well its been a year and a half and it still will not start.Ive done everything humanly possible to fix this tiller.nothing works .iyt wont run more than two seconds if your lucky enough to get that out of it.i wouldnt recomond this product to my worst enemy!!
Cons: Not Durable, hard starting, wont start
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Rosenberg, Greater Houston
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A professional tiller in a miniature package!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sometimes I am skeptical about something, and I am way wrong. This is an example. I was thinking, what a 43 cc tiller can do. But when I turned it ON, and put it to action, it was amazing! It is so powerful. It tills my clay soil deep enough, about 5 inches, and breaks up the soil so nicely. I recommend this cultivator to all home owners. My pictures are proof of the Powermate performance.
The assembly was so easy; just 5 minutes, since it was mostly assembled.
I mixed the 2 cycle 2.6 oz engine oil that came with the package with one gallon premium 93 octane gasoline, since ethanol free gasoline is not available in my area. Tuned on the machine after 3 priming, and it started at one pull. (instruction says to prime 6 times. I was just checking with 3). Good job!
I tried the tilling on my backyard, where I have prepared an area to cultivate vegetables. The performance was amazing. It did a good job very fast (and furious). I can put aside many of my yard tools now.
This Cultivator is designed to help you accomplish a variety of cultivation and tilling tasks around your home and property. It is built for dependable, trouble free performance and is backed by an extensive service network to keep the cultivator running strong for years to come. I firmly believe that , that is why I said that this is a miniature professional machine: very durable, and nothing to break.
The comfortable design allows you to work until the job is done. A 3-piece foldable handle allows for convenient storage and 2 carry handles provides maximum portability; you can carry it or push it and store it until you need it next time. Thanks, Power mate for a good product, well made.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Auburn, CA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

terrible mistake

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first time I fired it up, it was okay. The second time, it was tough, but I got it to work eventually. The third time I had to start replacing parts. First, the fuel filter, then the fuel hoses. Then the primer bulb. All these parts are at the local true value, so I was still okay with it. I didn't expect much more from such a cheap off brand, but I figured it would last a little longer now that I replaced all the super cheap parts. The next thing to go was the piston rings. It's a tiny two stroke motor, so it's really not that big of a deal to replace, but the manufacture doesn't consider it a replaceable part. Nothing on the engine itself is actually considered replaceable, and there are no replacement parts - so now the whole thing is junked. Do yourself a favor and just rent the mantis from home depot if you have a tiny little garden and just want to mix soil or turn up the top layer. You'll spend less money in three seasons, and won't have to work on it at all.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Murfreesboro, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it is meant to do with no problems

PostedMay 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Started right up the first time and has been doing so ever since. Must recommend you buy premium gasoline without ethanol. 2 cycles engines just don't like regular with ethanol. If you have a large garden go for something bigger. If you have a small plot, say 50 by 30, it will do the job. For virgin area, I had to go over it a time or two. In places where I planted last year, it churned up the dirt to a 4 to 41/2 inch depth with no problems. For the price, ease of use, and performance, it is the best value going around. Just remember to get premium gasoline with no ethanol in it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Portland, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light but powerful

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The assembling out of the box shouldn't take you longer than 5 minutes, it's really easy.
Being a 2-stroke engine you need to run it with a oil and gasoline mix, if you run straight gasoline you will ruin the engine.
The entire machine is very light and therefore you need to hold it down to pull on the starter, but if you prime it correctly it will start right up.
It is much more powerful than I had expected and it didn't have any problems going through our dry/hard clay-ish soil. As long as you don't have too many rocks in the ground it will work for you too.
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator

Horrible!!!

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My mom and I both bought this Cultivator the same day. Both worked great at first. Now, they dont stay running when accelerated. Both are having the exact same problems. We have gone through the trouble shooting in the manual, and NOTHING has fixed it. Beginning to think it was a huge waste of money!! I expected it to last more tham one season.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Georgetown, Tx.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not for the novice operator!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am amazed at the power this little tiller has. I've operated equipment of every kind and every size for a number of years. I think I know now, why an engineer has not put a two cycle engine on a bigger machine! If you have no, or very little experience with lawn equipment proceed with due caution. This thing will eat your lunch! With care and some experience, this tiller will accomplish bigger jobs than it was intended to. I am very impressed with this little guy!
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from RICHMOND IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

PIECE OF JUNK

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THIS IS THE WORST THING I EVER PURCHASED WORK FINE THE FIRST DAY THE SECOND DAY IT RAN FOR 5 MINUTES QUIT AND WOULD NOT START AGAIN CALLED CUSTOMER SERVICE(WHAT A JOKE} THEY SAID PLUG COULD BE FOULED, NOT GETTING FUEL, THEY COULD NOT EVEN TELL ME THE NUMBER OF THE SPARK PLUG TOOK TO FACTORY RECOMMENDED SHOP UNDER WARRENITY THEY SAID IT IS READY TOOK IT HOME AND IT RAN FOR TEN MINUTES QUIT WOULD NOT START AGAIN THAT DAY THE NEXT IT STARTED AGAIN RAN FOR TEN MINUTES QUIT AND ACTED LIKE THE ENGINE WAS LOCKED UP PUT THE PIECE OF JUNK IN THE BARN THIS SPRING TRIED IT AGAIN AND IT STARTED TOOK AND HAD IT TUNED UP AT A LOCAL SHOP THEY SAID IN NICE WAY THAT WAS A PIECE OF JUNK TOOK IT HOME AND IT RAN FOR 15 MIMUTES QUIT AND WONT START AGAIN THIS THING WONT EVEN MAKE A GOOD BOAT ANCHOR
Cons: junk
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from OKC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Powermate is a sad product

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought a Powermate 2 years ago. Worked great the first year. Last year the weather only allowed me the chance to use it once. Did start easy. This year is different story. Wouldn't start. Oil was in muffler and after replacing spark plug and cleaning it with a Carberator cleaner, the pull string broke causing the spring to break. Parts are obsolete so can't be purchased. Debating whether to take it to a service center which means I won't have it for my garden. I guess you get what you pay for because it was the cheapest available. My last rototiller lasted 20+ years and that was 2nd hand. I was hoping to get the same from this one.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Runnells, Ia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rip Off

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product started and worked fine the whole first year of operation. Went to get it out this year, and It would not start. Called to get a new carb and Primer bulb...I might as well throw this piece of junk away with what they want to charge for shipping. Just to get the primer bulb, they wanted to charge me $25 for shipping plus $9.53 for "handling". Really?! The bulb was only $5.40 by itself!!! I will never buy another powermate product in my life!!!!! Ever!!!!
Does anyone want it.. I will give it to them!
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, Not Durable, expensive to fix
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Pike County, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap white metal

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this machine two years ago. I've never had any issues with it starting. It's always run great. Living in NEPA, I have a lot of rocks in my yard. Maybe that's why yesterday the transmission housing cracked in half. It'll cost $95 to replace the part. Although it worked fine up until now, I'd have a hard time recommending it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Midland Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEWARE!

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had the machine for 3hrs and it constantly leaked gas and never once started. Can't say one good thing about it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from portland, oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst purchase ever!!!

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DO NOT BUY!!! POWERMATE WILL NOT HONOR WARRANTY!!!
Cons: powermates warranty
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Myerstown, PA 17067, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really tears up the ground

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This cultivator works just as well as the more expensive brand out there. I've owned both of them now and for the money you can't beat this little thing. It really excels when you have an established garden because you can get between the rows so easily. If you take the outside tines off you can get between just about anything. I was really surprised how well it works. It started with one pull and was super easy to put together. The design is very comfortable to use so you won't brake your back. And it is light weight you can lift it with one hand. .
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 in. 43 cc 2-Cycle Gas Cultivator
from Washington, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Runs 1 Time, good luck with more

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this tiller once for about one hour, in about 2 weeks
I wanted to use it again, it will not start now.
I disassembled the carburetor and put in a "KIT" with the parts I was able to find, the engine ran for 15 minutes and died it will not start again.
Don't waste your time with this tiller, purchase a popular brand and you will be a happy gardener
JoeF
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, Not Durable, hard to start
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>