728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED

DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED

The Dyson DC24 Animal is an ultra-lightweight and compact bagless upright vacuum for homes with pets. Ball technology for easy steering. Mini turbine head removes dirt and pet hair from carpets, upholstery and tight spaces. Motorized brush bar for carpets - switches off for hard floors. Reversible wand for high-reach cleaning. Lifetime washable HEPA filter traps microscopic allergens.
Overall rating:
4.515 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(992 reviews) 924
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product891 of 985reviews
Rating Breakdown 992 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(725)
4
(163)
3
(33)
2
(32)
1
(39)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product891 of 985reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer reviews for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED

Very disappointed in this vaccumm

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this after my last dyson finally stopped after 10 years. This model is flimsy and was broken after the first two weeks. I have very long hair, and my hair always ends up in the vaccumms. The roller bar on the front of the vac stopped working after two uses, and after two weeks the device lost suction. This is not a full size vac. The dirt canister is tiny and needs to be emptied often. The cord is short and the wand is awkward. This is the worst vac I have ever owned. Home Depot took it back, because they are awesome, but this vac is horrible.
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34

Picks up crazy amount of fur!! Feels cheap

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to put together. Feels cheap. BUT picks up so much! Easy to dump the debris.
Would recommend and/or buy again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Overall: Excellent (See Comments)

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
PROS:
1) The SIZE and WEIGHT are very convenient.
2) SUCTION is excellent; the machine does a great job of getting ground-in (as fine as powder) dirt out of rugs.
3) The FILTERS seem to help remove very small particles from the air.
4) The OVERALL DESIGN and CONSTRUCTION are amazing.
CONS:
1) The CORD is TOO SHORT (it is only 20" and it needs to be 35' as is the case with the larger Dyson vacuums)
2) The INSTRUCTIONS are TERRIBLE. Surely something that costs this much and has this kind of technology behind it can have a decent set of instructions. There are no written instructions--just line drawings that, in some cases, are difficult to decipher.
3) The WASTE COLLECTION CONTAINER is POORLY DESIGNED. If one is not very careful, one can dump the contents of the waste container while in the process of trying to remove the container from the machine. A short downward push on the release button allows the container to disengage; a stronger downward push on the same button opens the bottom of the container and allows the waste to spill out onto the machine and the floor/carpet.
4) Be aware that the design of this machine will not allow it to go UNDERNEATH BEDS, unless they are raised rather high off the floor.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED
from Nebraska, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

I can't believe how much more dirt & hair this Dyson picks up than my old vacuum. So easy to use, also!!

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love my new Dyson Animal. The amount of hair & dirt I picked up the first time I vacuumed was amazing. I can't believe my carpet has been hiding all that dirt!! Plus, it was lightweight & easy to maneuver. I'm thrilled I made the choice to move to a Dyson!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality
Cons: No Instructions
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED

Believe the hype

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I absolutely love this vacuum cleaner. It is by far the best one I have ever used. It's lightweight (I carried it upstairs with two fingers, literally), super easy to maneuver around furniture, REALLY strong suction (you should have seen the crud it pulled out of my carpets), simple and elegant design, relatively quiet (quieter than my last upright that didn't clean nearly as well), telescoping handle so it fits easily in my short linen closet... I was hesitant to spend this much money on a vacuum cleaner but now I'm thrilled I did. This thing is perfect. I can't believe I am this excited about a vacuum cleaner, but I am.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Daily

Powerful little machine!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have only had the Dyson for a few weeks, but I love the powerful suction it has. It is taking stuff out of my carpet that I didn't know was there. It is lightweight, which makes it a bit awkward to steer. My husband thinks it is not sturdy, but I think it is because he is used to heavy vacuums. My biggest issue is the small size of the dirt canister. It needs to be emptied after doing 2 rooms. I do have 2 pets who shed a lot. The vacuum I had before would probably go 6-8 rooms before needing to be emptied, but it also did not do anywhere near the job the Dyson is doing. When you need to empty the canister it is so easy, just place canister over a trash can, push a button and empty. No mess at all. Love that the handle is connected to the hose to use tools - very convenient and the compact size makes it easy to store away.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: small dirt canister
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

FANTASTIC!

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought a Bissell 'Healthy Home' Vacuum a little over a year ago & I found that it has already lost a significant amount of suction. We have mostly hardwood floors throughout our home, & 3 rooms with brand new carpets. The Bissell seems to blow the dirt, dust, & pet hair around the wood floors & barely picks up anything off the carpets. I vacuumed this morning with the Bissell, thoroughly, one last time. I then went over the same areas with the Dyson Animal. They call this thing an animal for a reason. It's a beast! I was disgusted at what was left behind by the Bissell. We have a large dog that mainly stays in the den/kitchen area. I was amazed at the hair & dirt my Dyson picked up. I have twin 15-month old girls. We do not wear our shoes throughout the house, especially in their bedrooms. The amount of dirt on their carpet was scary. I put it together in all of 5 minutes. It is so light-weight & easy to use around the house. My 1 complaint is that the cord is a little short. I'm not lazy, so it isn't that big of a deal to plug & unplug for each room. I still give this machine 5 stars. Thank you, James Dyson!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED
from Missoula, Mt, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great product

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very good product. Very light and easy to use. Only wish it had a longer power cord. Always have to unplug room to room. Overall very good
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED
from Summerville, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

I can't believe it is not my favorite ever

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased my first Dyson over 4 years ago and must say, I was sold, best vacuum cleaner ever. So I was thrilled that they made one just for pet hair with the ball technology no less. When they went on sale, I had to have it, and I can't believe I am saying I wish I would not have wasted the money. Can't see that it works any better than the original, cord is short, canister is very small, machine is very short, wand extension is awkward and I have trouble getting the beater bar to work. It is frustrating to use and I wish I had not tried because I would return it in a heartbeat. I love my original Dyson and really don't like this one at all.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED
from North Tonawanda
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Now this is a real vacuum cleaner!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No one really enjoys vacuuming, but this machine goes a long way in minimizing the work and hassle. This is a light machine that is easy to push around, about 1/3 the weight of the last premium bag-less (non-Dyson) we used. Great suction on both carpets and floors and a snap to empty and keep clean. We particularly like the design and operation of the wand, which gets into the hard to clean places easily. Some reviewers have complained about the 20 foot power cord not being long enough, but we decided pass on paying $100 more for a 35 foot cord and heavier machine. This is a superbly designed and crafted vacuum with high quality materials that should last us a long time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I was disappointed.

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was disappointed when I got the DC24 out of the box and discovered it is a "mini" vacuum cleaner. It is much smaller than the other dyson vacs and has half the amps. I needed it for a house with six people and 3 dogs, and it just wasn't powerful enough to cut it. I definetly should have researched better, but am dissapointed with dyson and the reatailer that they don't make a point to show in the ad what the product really is. The pics make it look just as big if not bigger than the DC41.
For a smaller house or light cleaning, this product would be fine. I couldn't afford the DC41 so instead got the DC33 and am very happy with it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Few issues, does work well

PostedMay 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Vacuum itself picks up awesome! The hose attachment, particularly the accessories provided do not work well on a hardwood floor. I liked the set up on my previous Dyson better when it comes to the hose. Again the main vac works great. It picks up dust and dirt way better than my previous Dyson Animal. The cord is ridiculously short, I would say 1/3 the length of the cord on my previous Dyson, I constantly have to unplug and move the cord to do my entire living/dining/kitchen space. I do like the quick on/off for the rolling bristles, and the suction. I need to order a longer cord and some different attachments, which I don't appreciate when paying so much.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED
from Folsom, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Vacuum - short cord

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The DC24 Animal works wonders on our carpets! I already have a Dyson vacuum but, after five years, I could tell it was slowing down a bit. We have two big, furry dogs and hair tumbleweeds are common in our house. I was beyond shocked at how much hair and dirt this new vacuum picked up. It hugs the floor better than the other Dyson, maneuvers much easier and is a lot more light-weight. My only criticism with the product is the cord - it is way too short! I have one room that I can't actually get across unless I use an extension cord. And, even on close-out, it is a little spendy. But I do love how much junk it picks up from my floors (even though it grosses me out!).
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED
from Tulsa, OK
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Best vacuum I've ever had.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love my Dyson. I knew our dog shed but until I purchased the Dyson I didn't realize how clean my rugs could get. Love that it switches so easily between hardwood floors & rugs.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED
from Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Worst vaccuum ever

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is lightweight but that is about the only good thing about it. The canister is not very big, I have three dogs that shed and had to empty frequently. The suction is terrible and we have tile floor throughout. It does not fit under beds, bathroom vanities, kitchen cabinets. And it stopped suction all together after two months. For $599 never again. Customer service good about return.
Pros: Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: Cord Length, Suction, Dust Chamber, Performance
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED
from Colorado
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Vaccuum ever owned

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This vaccuum is super compact, lightweight, yet powerful. It scoops up hairs and dirt like a champion. Some complain about the small chamber but unless your house is a disgusting mess, it is plenty large. I will never buy another brand of vaccuum.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED

Average vacuum way overpriced

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this vacuum cause I borrowed my sister's dc24(yellow one) and it seemed to be better than my cheapo bissel. Thought the animal feature would be better. Wrong! This vacuum works the same as my Bissel at 3+ times the cost. Going to see about returning it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DO NOT PURCHASE ANY DYSON

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dyson states it has a 5 year warrantee. I purchased one new in the box. The motor almost caught on fire, after 6 months. There is a gasket at the base of the storage tube that became out of place during shipping. This caused the dirt ect to go into the motor, causing the problem. Nowhere in the directions does it say to check this. I called customer service. I informed him what happened. The first thing he asked if anything was damaged. I said only the vacuum, why? He asked if my carpet was ok. Apparently, fires must not be an uncommon issue. He directed me to a repair shop, and sent them authorization. The repairs were made. Two weeks later, the shop called, they were refusing payment to them. I called customer service, and only after a heated discussion did they agree to pay. I went to a shop closer to buy a several belts, which do not last long, and was told he was no longer a rep, due to the problems with their warantee. Now 5 months later, the microswitch that controls the powerhead went out. They will not cover this now, I called. The shop where I purchased the belts had 4 dysons waiting for parts. Repair costs ranging from $120 to $160. I said no more and purchased a Bissel. It has better suction, and far more suction to the hose attachment, another weak point with the Dyson. It didn't provide enough suction to run the upholstery powerhead. It works real well on my Bissel!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED
from Kennesaw, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Small but works like a charm!

PostedApril 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Don't let the size of this machine fool you....it's awesome! I have gone through a series of Dyson-wannabes and they all were horrible! And very expensive to change filters and parts. This machine has washable filters, easy to empty and works like a BIG machine! I love it..... even the high price was worth it! I guess you get what you pay for!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: not enough accessories
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DC24 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner-DISCONTINUED

Good pick

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I already have the regular Dyson Animal. I was interested in this because it is light weight....as I have two flights of steps in our home. This "little brother" seems just as powerful. It can get in to smaller places. The switch to hose was tricky at first, but thats because I was trying to convert it the same way as the regular model. I now have the hang of it, and it is basically easy to do. It makes sweeping the steps a breeze, and is easily helping me get in to those corners and tight areas.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>