728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Pressure Washers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer

3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer

The Homelite 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer is designed to deliver impressive cleaning results for the do-it-yourselfer. This pressure washer sports a 5-in-1 changeover nozzle that allows you to choose the right spray pattern for the task at hand. A PowerFlex hose is also included to provide consistent performance without kinking. With a roll cage frame, this pressure washer is built with added durability to last.
Overall rating:
3.914 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(105 reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product76 of 103reviews
Rating Breakdown 105 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(55)
4
(23)
3
(6)
2
(5)
1
(16)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product76 of 103reviews
Customer reviews for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer
Review 1 for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer
from Moscow,Pa.

Update to an earlier review

PostedApril 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
4/28/2011: This is an up date to an earlier review. Used pressure washer again. Now have about 5 hours on it. According to the book you should change the oil now. Book only show you to open the oil fill tube and tip the washer on its side. If you look under the washer the wheel axile is held on by a clip that easily comes off to get the tire out of the way. It could not be easier. You can drain the oil without spilling a drop. I meassured the oil before putting it in and came up with a 16oz. capacity. The book does not tell you how much it holds. Even when starting it when cold it only takes 1/2 a pull. This is the best pressure washer I have ever used. As long as it lasts I will be EXTREMELY HAPPY!
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer

Don't overfill the oil

PostedMay 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just used my PW for the first time. After about 1.5 hrs, I noticed an oil slick under the unit. Oil was leaking out through the air cleaner. Long story short, I think I overfilled the oil. According to the engine manual, the oil capacity is 18.6 oz, and the PW comes with an 18 oz bottle of oil in the original box. No brainer, right? Wrong. They prefill the unit with 2oz of oil at the factory, so when you dump the entire 18oz bottle of oil in, you've overfilled it. I assumed it had a 20oz crankcase (as many small engines do), so I thought they were geniuses by giving you an 18oz bottle to top it off. Turns out, they should provide a 16oz bottle. Other than that, the unit ran great. Simplicity of the unit leads me to believe that it will last longer than previous PWs.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer
from Moscow,Pa.

BEST PRESSURE WASHER EVER!

PostedApril 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a Homelite UT80432 pressure washer on 4/19/2011. Putting it together was easy even though the directions are not quite correct. There are only 3 different size bolts to put together. But where they tell you to put them, they do not fit. IT's no big deal. Anyone can figure it out. They give you extra oil. So watch how much you put in. The book does not tell you how much it holds. I have an 11 year old Karchar 1800 psi P.W. that the pump is acting up. So I searched online to figure out the best one to buy that was not too expensive. Price was $399.00 & I got 10% off, so I paid $359.10 plus tax. Well worth it. Used the P.W. today (4/20/2011) for the first time for 3 hours. OH MY GOD! What a P.W. It starts on one pull everytime . The tip has 6 different settings. Not 5 like the box says. They are GREAT. I also bought a 4000 psi turbo tip. If you are going to clean concrete this works GREAT also. Now I just have to see how long this unit will last. As of right now I would recommend this P.W. to everyone. Good Luck to all in your pursuit for a GOOD P.W.
+53points
53out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As good as advertised

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quick set up out of the box. Started up with first pull. Pressure washed an old, badly, sap-stained deck in about 3 hours of continuous use. More than enough power to do the job. Could cut a slice in the wood if I wasn't careful. Based on the other reviews had very similar experience except that I had no problems with pin holes in the pressure hose. The gas tank is on the small side for the job. I did run it out of gas once and it took several pulls to get it to restart. After that, I would shut down every 25 minutes or so to refuel and restarting would only take one pull, even with the engine being hot. This was a great purchase for home use.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer
from St. Louis, MO

This bad boy is awesome!

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I left it in the box for a couple of weeks working up the gumption to clean the outside of the house. I read the instructions carefully, found out from Homelite that the dilution ratio is 20:1 for soap and used Zep Siding Cleaner. I mixed the cleaner 2:1 in a bucket and kept the pressure washer tank full. Soap from bottom to top, don't let it dry and power wash from top to bottom - Outstanding Results! I think I will put down a piece of plywood on the grass next time as the pump heat burnt the lawn where it was running. Live & learn, not a big deal... The powerful Honda motor and selectable pressure head make for an impressive washer. Don't hesitate to buy this thing!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer

Well worth the money!

PostedApril 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I spent a fair amount of time searching for the "perfect" power washer and I have found it in this Homelite. After reading a few of the negative reviews about the unit, I was initially concerned, but those concerns were quickly relieved after unpacking the unit and see the quality of construction. The instructions were very straightforward and no problems were encountered during assembly--which consisted of tightening 3 screws and attaching the hose to the pump and wand. My only deviation is that I did not use the oil that was supplied with the unit, but used a major brand instead. After filling the unit with the specified amount of oil (be sure that you DO NOT screw the dipstick in to check the level—simply allow it to rest on the threads) and filling the tank with gasoline, the engine started on the second pull.
For those experiencing difficulty starting the engine, note that when the engine first "fires" be certain to close the choke; the engine can be flooded easily by leaving the choke open too long. Also, the choke is not required when the engine is warm. I allowed the engine to run about 3 minutes and then began washing my patio and back of the house. We had a light layer of green mold on the house and a very heavy layer on the patio. Using only water and the 25 degree setting on the nozzle, the washer removed all of the mold very easily. The unit is VERY powerful and is definitely worth the $100 over the 2700PSI model.
If there is any complaint to be had, it is the size of the fuel tank. It is somewhat small and I managed no more than 30 minutes of run time before it ran out of fuel. In one way perhaps, this is not a negative attribute, for the engine should probably be allowed to cool at this point anyway. The Honda engine has plenty of power and I am thoroughly satisfied with this washer. Normal use will likely be to wash our ATVs after riding, but it is comforting to know the extra power is there if needed. Purchase this one with confidence, it is the "sweet spot" between the cheap units and the $1000 models.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer
from san jose, ca

so far, so good...

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought it today, assembled in 15 min... oil loaded, gas filled, Liquid Green in the detergent tank. Now for ignition.... started right up on the 1st pull, stayed on at 3rd pull.
Water started/stopped I think while the pump primed itself... though I thought I did that. But after like 5 min, it was full pressure all the time. The 3kpsi or so (I can't really tell) blasted the crud out of my salt tiles... making them look new again.
I was looking at the Ridgid for $799, but so far, for $399, this deal seems to be quite sufficient. Got the $59 extended 3 yr warranty just in case....
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer

I'm happy I invested in 3100 psi PW.

PostedJuly 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my first pressure washer and I'm glad I bought the 3100 psi Honda engine PW. Honestly I expected more power but good enough for household stuff. I realize i would have been very unhappy if I would had bought the 2700 psi homelite. I did my research and notice the Lowes TROY Bilt 2600 had reviews all over the internet as the better PW. I bought this one because more bang for the buck. Everyone tells me as long as it has a Honda engine you can go wrong. I was anxious to try it. So I set it up right after I bought it. It took about 20 mins cuz I'm one of those guy that like to read all the instructions before messing anything up. The instructions are not very detailed. I did find how much oil the PW takes! It take all 18 ozs. the capacity is 20.3 oz. I have no idea why some consumers are only puting 16oz or say they are over filling it if they put all 18 ozs. Overall I am satisfied with the pressure washer. I tested on my mud covered Hummer. I had gone mud doggin a week prior man was the mud hard but it was no problem for ths PW. I took me about over an hour to get the mud so i had to refuel twice. FYI dont let it run out of gas! Regardless good PW for the money. I also purchased the extended warranty so I covered for 5 years. We will see if it lasts.
Pros: Good power. I like the noozles. It started on the first pull.
Cons: the gas tank is too small. It lasted me 30 mins. Then you have to wait for it to cool down to restarted it. The gun handle does not have a lock to avoid fatigue.
I will probably post another review after I use it some more.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer
from Chinook, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Buy it!

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I first purchased the Homelite 2700 PSI model with the Subaru engine. After the first hour the carburator began to leak gas on the hot engine...major fire hazard! So I took it back to the Home Depot in Warrenton, OR and they were really great! I then bought the Homelite 3100 Honda model and it is a monster. There is a big different in power between the 2700 to the 3100. Easy to put together, easy to use, quick change head allows different settings on the fly! Just a hint, pull the trigger on the wand when starting this machine because pressure builds up very fast (even with just the hose on and no engine running) making it a hard pull, so, relieve the pressure by squeezing the trigger while pulling the starter cord. So if your looking for a great quality gas pressure washer get the Homelite 3100 Honda and you won't be disappointed!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer
from Coral Springs, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good machine

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I returned 2 from this manufacturer that were not as costly but were delivered by ups. I was upgraded to this model at no extra charge. Worked on the third pull. I have used the unit 4 times and it starts on the 2nd to 3rd pull. The adjustable tip gives you the ability to get into different spots. True the gas tank is small but I am past the stage of operating this type of equipment for more than an hour without a rest. I am somewhat surprised that the ratings for this type of equipment are all over the place (good to bad) whether you purchase at Home Depot,Lowes,Sears. I am only sharing my experience with this product and fine service I received from Home Depot when I started with a difficulty and it turned out well.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer
from Newark, DE

Excellent pressure washer!!

PostedAugust 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall, this is an excellent pressure washer. After intense research, what sold me on this machine is having 3100 PSI, the Honda motor, and a brass pump. Here are some tricks I learned with it... There have been complaints that it's hard to start when the engine is hot. Have someone hold the trigger on the wand (releasing water through the wand), while you start the machine. That way, pressure won't build up while starting. Using this trick, the machine starts easily every time. So far, the pressure washer has started for me on the first pull every time. Also, they don't mention this in the manual... DO NOT over-tighten the garden hose to the pressure washer, and DO NOT move the machine while it's running!! The garden hose fitting could break off inside the coupling on the pressure washer, making the pressure washer impossible to repair. I haven't used the machine enough yet that the oil needs to be changed. Be careful when moving the pressure washer, as there's minimal clearance between the ground and the pump. When finished using the pressure washer, it's a good idea to shut off the fuel supply valve, and let the pressure washer keep running until it shuts off. There will be no fuel left in the motor - just be sure to turn the fuel supply line back on when you're ready to use the machine again. I bought the 3-year extended service plan just to be on the safe side. You have nothing to lose (except dirt) with this pressure washer!!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer

Nice machine if you are careful with it

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've read all of the reviews here, including the negative. Weighing the responses between the good and the bad led me to purchase this model anyway since it's GPH/Pressure is rated well and the problems people are having with it seem to be common sense stuff. It was easy to assemble since that only requires unfolding the handle and bolting on the attachment holder. You dump oil into it, which is included and fill it with gas. I screwed on the hose, and the wand and connected my garden hose. I turned the water on and squeezed the handle to make sure I had water flow. The engine started first pull. I took it easy for the first 10 minutes of use to allow the engine to break in a bit and then shut it down. You can smell the paint and everything else burning in, this is normal. I then started it back up and washed my siding - this thing has tons of power and there wasn't anything I couldn't clean. I even stripped off the concrete stairs to prepare them for new concrete stain. In closing, I would like to comment on a few other reviews regarding what I've read because I'm a little put off that I almost missed out on buying what seems so far to be a great machine.
1) The guy that broke his pressure hose by running over it - yeah, that can and will happen especially if you have the hose sitting on a scorching hot driveway. Those things are under extreme pressure, handle them with extreme care, especially when you move the unit around. Yes the hose is a bit on the shorter side but for my purposes, 25 feet is plenty and I have that much less to worry about splitting. When you move your main unit, have someone move the hoses with you or carefully pull along both at the same time. Again, don't let the vinyl clad hose sit on hot concrete, you're asking for problems.
2) The guy that had oil blowing out the muffler and intake. Dude, you very likely tilted the unit when it was running, or you filled the oil and tilted it way back and then ran it without allowing it to settle. Tilt the unit back on it's wheels as little as possible when it's running and you should have no problems. A small complaint is that the handle it too upright which makes it difficult to move the unit without tilting it back significantly. I'm bolting on roller casters on the front of mine to correct this.
3) To all the people having engine starting problems. First, make sure you have your engine choked properly especially in colder temps. Make sure the kill switch is on. Make sure the gas flow valve is on. And finally, make sure you have water flow into the pump - I didn't look at any schematics but since the manufacturer states to allow water to run for at least 30 seconds through the wand I'm beginning to wonder if there isn't a cut off sensor. Regardless, with any pressure washer you always let water run before AND after you shut the engine off to help it cool down. I water the bushes for a minute or two after the engine is shutoff.
4) To all the people having problems with the hoses leaking - REALLY? I'm not sure why I need to explain this but here goes - you need to make sure your connections are TIGHT. It's that simple. I even wrapped teflon tape around the threads and used a dry shop cloth for extra grip to tighten down the connections. I had not one single drop of water leak. I was looking at a store return on one of these and actually saw the hand grip completely torn apart by what probably was a pair of pliers. I imagine that same person probably performs most home repairs with a hammer.
5) Make sure you winterize any of your equipment, run it out of gas if it's going to sit for a while. Drain ALL of the water out of everything. Blow out your hose and wand with an air compressor. If you keep more than a few gallons of gas in storage, run STABL and don't use ethanol fuels or any gas for that matter older than 4-5 months. It's not worth running a few dollars of old gas in a unit that costs several hundred. Change the oil yearly, it's easy to do and doesn't cost much.
I'm impressed with this unit and expect no problems if I service it just as I do all my other equipment.
+67points
83out of 99found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer
from South Florida Metro, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Excellent value and small footprint when not in use.

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Homelite 3,100 PSI 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas pressure washer is an excellent value that requires very little storage space when not in use. This unit includes the hose and mult-tip wand. This unit was extremely easy to setup and use out of the box. Within about 5 minutes the unit was assembled and I was cleaning my back deck. Oil was included. The unit was easy to breakdown after use and the handle folds over the unit for easy storage. I highly recommend this unit.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer
from PA.

Just Purchased and After First Use......

PostedJune 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just purchased this product. First use concrete, second blacktop. Both surfaces were fairly dirty. Cleaner used was the all purpose ZEP cleaner, the blue colored solution. 1) Buy the extended warranty for $60 at HD well worth the protection. 2) Assembly fairly easy. 3) Fill the oil port up before starting. 3) Attach all the hoses they are nice easy turn connections and large grips for turning the water feed hose on/off and the jet supply hose. 4) Filling the Gas, nice just put the handle down and you will have no issues get a gas can with the extended nozzle makes it even better. 5) Charge the unit with water NEVER RUN WITHOUT WATER. 6) Very easy to move around. 7) Nozzle is great rotates to allow for soap application 2 settings and the remaining are for different water angles and pressures. Note: To allow cleaner to prime into the line you must use 1 of the 2 settings they show bubbles on the nozzle tip, to stop using soap rotate the head to one of the desired spray patterns. 8) It cleans very well for the mid priced pressure washer. It will blow old paint off, mud, new specs of tar, stickers etc. Note: You will get the snake patterns on concrete if you use the direct stream it will put clean lines on the surface so you will want to watch what pattern you use to clean your surface with. There are better cleaning agents out in the market, but the multi-purpose ZEP did fair. 9) It starts every time. I did notice if you are out of fuel it will be a bear to pull your start cord, so don't get frustrated check your fuel it's most likely empty. 10) At this point with around 8 hours of using this unit it is a impressive little machine, you could put specs on power, engine, pump construction etc...the bottom line it did the job as well as some of the more expensive units I have used. 11) Keep the oil changed and drain the water out after use for the day and keep it clean and I trust this will last for a good while. I'll follow up around 20 hours of use unless it fails or I find problems with this after use. One last item it's nice not having to change tips for each job, you just let the trigger go reach down and rotate the jet head to the desired pattern or cleaner application. 12) I would recommend this unit. I am impressed with the power the availability of accessories, it's performance and good construction. Happy and Safe cleaning, I would suggest wearing eye protection when using this, it will blow debris around.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer
from Pomona, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Great Right out of the box

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit to replace an electric unit with 1.5 gpm and 1800 psi capacity. What a difference the extra pressure and flow make.
I unpacked the power washer, followed the start up instructions and began washing my deck immediately. The dirt, mossy green growth and barbque grease came off with little problem and usally with one swipe of the wand.
After finishing the deck I moved to the vinyl siding with excellent results. Starting and restarting after refueling were no problem.
The various settings on the spray nozzle for soap application and wide and narrow washing spray patterns were easy to change and useful for different areas.
The only slight negative is that the unit - with water and spray hoses attached - did not roll around easily while washing. Once I stopped washing and was able to use the handle on the washer it moved fine.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer

Glad I got it!

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Went to 1st home depot, they didnt have it. Went to another one they had it. Got home and followed the directions and read the manual and it started right up on first pull. Used it to power wash my deck and was impressed. Ran out of gas, filled it up and started up no problem. weeks went buy and did another deck. had to shut it off like three or four times to move it and it started up with no problems. before you started it up again you have to release the pressure in the hose to start it and you will see that it will start up with one pull. im glad i got this one. Honda engines are to last for ever if you take care of them. Its a 3100 psi and I also like the folded handle for easy transport and the 5 in 1 nozzles is great that way you can change it with out loosing any tips. the wheels could be better and the hose could be a little longer but those are minor issues. Just be careful with the pump on the bottom when you are moving it so you dont damage it. over all I love my power washer and it has a great power. treat her right and she will treat you the same! Not bad homelite! Cant wait to use it again.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer
from Little Rock

Newbie's First Power Washer

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Did some online research on gas vs electric and for my jobs, large decks, driveway, siding along with deck furniture and automobiles, gas was the way to go. Decided on the Homelite 3100 PSI washer as it had all of the bells and whistles I was looking for. Assembly was a no brainer as you only needed to attach the compressor hose, compressor hose holder, wand, wand holder and add oil. You get 18 oz of oil with the PW but only add 16 oz as it comes from the factory with 2 oz in the crank case. I bought a 1 gallon gas can but I should have bought a 2 gallon as this PW is thirsty. Had to go back to the service staion and get more gas when I ran out washing a large deck. Starts on the first pull and runs great. Make sure your hose is connected and the water is turned on and release the pressure with the wand, choke oulled out, starting knob set to ON and she cranks up on the first pull. My decks have not been cleaned in 15 years so you can imagine the buildup of dirt and mildew. Used the ZEP Deck and Fence cleaner and poured directly into the soap tank from the bottle. The water from the machine with the wide spread soap setting was just the ticket. I let it set for 10 minutes and used the 40 setting to power wash the Zep off the deck. Just do a small area at a time for best results. I also had to hold the wand about 4 inches from the surface to wash away the scum and now my deck looks like it is brand new. Will add someThompson Clear Water Seal in 24 - 48 hours. This PW is the cat's meow.
 
Products related to my review
 
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer

Great power for the money

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit after much research. I was a little leery because of some of the negative reviews I read concerning starting a hot engine and some that mentioned issues with oil leaking. I decided to go ahead and purchase and I am so glad I did. I thoroughly read the manuals and did notice that the manual stated the oil capacity was 20.3 ounces, however, everything I found at honda.com said it was 0.58 US quarts, which converts to 18.56 ounces. The unit shipped with 2 ounces of oil already in it and they included a 14 oz. bottle of oil. Obviously this totals 16 ounces of oil, but when I put the oil in, it was beyond the upper line on the dipstick, so I emptied a little out.
After I gassed up, I pressed the trigger to release the water pressure in the wand, pulled out the choke all the way, pulled once, and this baby fired up. I did not pull very hard either. After a second or so, I pushed the choke back in all the way.
Anyway, I have quite a bit of hard scape to clean, including a 100 yard circular driveway. I powered through a long sidewalk that was covered in algae and mildew. I decided to try it without detergent first to see what it could do. It ate right through all the grime and blasted it away. It took me a little over an hour to clean that area and I stopped to gas up once. Being the stubborn person I am, I did not wait for the engine to cool before fueling. I did use a funnel, however, to reduce the chance of spillage. I filled up, put on the gas cap, released the water pressure in the wand, pulled on the cord and this incredible machine roared to life again with a single, easy pull. I did not, repeat, did not use the choke because the engine was already hot. I can only guess that those folks who were having difficulty starting the unit with a hot engine, were using the choke. Again, this is only a guess.
Once I was done, I disconnected everything and drained all the water out of the unit and the hose. I intend to follow all the directions in the owner's manual to the T. Everyone should read all the manuals cover to cover before operating this machine.
The bottom line is that if you are sitting on the fence trying to decide whether you need to buy a power washer or not, don't. This little Honda motor is powerful and if properly used and maintained should yield several seasons of service. The power is off the hook and it can handle the toughest jobs.
I think my massive driveway is going to take a couple of weeks to get done because I don't have the stamina to do it all at once. I give out long before this unit will I assure you. I will provide an updated review after I finish my driveway.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer

Reasonable price for power and convenience features

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Hose and gun holder are nice features. Honda engine is a positive; gun and wand are comfortable to use.
Be careful when moving as hose connections are close to ground and you will scrape hoses. 25 ft hose that comes with unit does resist kinking; length issue noted by others is solved by using a longer garden hose-power of machine will compensate for most home projects.
Big negative is size of gas tank-my main project is the driveway and I used about 2 1/2 gallons of gas-having to fill up and restart a hot engine about a dozen times is a real pain. Waiting 15-20 minutes to restart a hot engine will make this a week long project so I fought thru restarting a hot engine and it certainly was not a one pull affair. I did release pressure each time I pulled; next use I will try someone's suggestion to just let cold water run thru system for a few minutes before trying to restart.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3,100 psi 2.5 GPM Direct Drive Gas Pressure Washer
from Seattle, WA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Quality & Performance!

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I replaced my dinky electric powerwasher with this Homelite to prep my home for staining. Over the course of a few days had no problems starting/re-starting. It is necessary to squeeze the wand handle to relieve the pump pressure before re-starting...if it takes more than one pull to start...you need to relieve the pressure in between pulls. I'm sharing this point because I think that might explain some of the complaints about having to let the engine sit between starts??
I chose this model over the 2,600 PSI unit mainly because it has a bit more metal in its construction and a brass pump head. Assembly was a no brainer and the exact amount of oil needed is supplied.
Power and reach was plentiful enough to wash down the upper peaks of our two story home from ground level...including the soaping action. The wand pattern dial was extremely useful; I found myself interchanging a lot as I worked my way through the project. Soap dispenser worked great...I used Zep siding cleaner...the native ratio of the power washer did not require dilution and since the soap intake is downstream of the pump I can safely use a wider variety of chemicals...I went through about 2 1/2 bottes of solution to clean the entire exterior of my home ~ $24 in chemicals.
I didn't time it, but it seemed as though I had to refill gas every 30 minutes of run time...those interruptions didn't seem to be a problem for me.
I love how the handle breaks down for storage, the hose it comes with is non-kink and seems to be of high quality.
I definitely recommend this product!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>