728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner

14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner

This Commercial Cool by Haier 14,000 BTU cooling and 11,000 BTU heating portable air conditioner features quiet cooling/heating, ample to cover a room about 500 sq. ft. This unit also features eco-friendly refrigerant and is free of any lead and mercury making it RoHS complaint. This model also features casters, a remote 24 hour timer and a 46 in. extended window exhaust kit.
Overall rating:
3.523 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(132 reviews) 132
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product83 of 123reviews
Rating Breakdown 132 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(43)
4
(44)
3
(8)
2
(13)
1
(24)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product83 of 123reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner
Review 1 for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner
from California

Best Portable AC Unit

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this unit. I have run through a bit over the last couple years in the LA heat. This one has stood the test of time, and also the quietest one I have come across. Even my landlord made a comment about the lack of noise and thought about buying it. The heat feature is definitely a plus.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner
from Seattle, wa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of money

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It just doesn't perform. I got it for our upstairs which consists of 3 bedrooms real close to each other for a total of less than 500 square feet. I thought, since it was rated at 500 sqft, it should offer some sort of relief. NOPE. It can't even cool off my bedroom (225 sqft), never mind the rest of the space. And I live in Seattle. It is about 85 degrees outside today and I cant get one small room below 77 degrees with all the doors closed.
Do not waste your money on this unit.
Cons: doesn't perform its job
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Other bad reviews?????

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:14,000 BTU Cool and Heat Portable Air Conditioner with 110 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
I read these reviews before the decision to purchase. I guess there is a lemon produced every so often? However ours was not one of them! We put this in our dinning room; about a 1400 square foot space; with westerly facing windows along the wall; direct sun 50% of the day. In 90 degree outside temps this unit maintained a CONSTANT 68 degree inside temperature. It would have gone lower but that is where we had it set. It cycled about every 30 minutes for a five to ten minute run. The sound level is no different than any other A/C unit we have or had. If you can get one like this I say BUY! Shipping and service from Home Depot is classical top notch. I see no negatives on this one!
Bob
Mayor of a small Pennsylvania town.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design, works as advertized
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner
from Goleta, CA, USA

Great Product

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:14,000 BTU Cool and Heat Portable Air Conditioner with 110 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
This air conditioner does exactly what I need. I have a large room with tile floor and uninsulated hot water lines keep parts of the floor hot 24/7. It is like a giant heater is always on in this room. My 8,000 btu air conditioner was doing absolutely nothing for me so I got this.
Pros: Cools down my room without trouble. Double hose design which in my opinion is absolutely necessary. Single hose designs cool off the compressor pump with cooled air from inside the room, and then exhaust that air outside. This creates a negative pressure inside the room and will actually draw air in from outside through open windows, doorcracks, or any other place air can get in from. Dual hose designs take care of this by cooling down the compressor pump with outside air and then exhausting that air outside as well. This way cool air inside the room is not used and wasted, and outside air isn't constantly coming in creating more work for the AC.
Cons: Pretty noisy. The remote doesn't work when it is in its holding bay. This is ridiculous because when it is in the holding bay it is covering up the buttons on the machine. You actually have to take the remote out to press the buttons on either it or the machine. Also, when the room temperature is at or around the desired temp, sometimes the machine doesn't know if it should be on or off so it cycles on/off/on/off/on/off for a minute or two before deciding on one. This is accompanied by annoying clicking noises and can be pretty annoying at times. I contacted the company about the clicking noises before I knew what they were and they never got back to me. This kind of verifies what most people say about the lack of customer service with this company.
So far I am overall very happy with this AC. I can finally sleep under my covers at night.
Pros: Easy to Use, cools nicely
Cons: loud
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+32points
39out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner
from Conway,Arkansas
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked less than a week and only ran it part time! want come on at all! tried reseting it several times and it lights up and beeps then says stop!

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:14,000 BTU Cool and Heat Portable Air Conditioner with 110 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
It was easy to hook up and looks nice! But only worked a few times and want come on! Have reset and checked everything! Now I have to deal with a service tech and do without heat until it gets fixed! I don't like having to mess with this after only using it a few times!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: want come on after only using it a few times!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner
from Fife, WA

seems good, first a/c i have ever owned

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:14,000 BTU Cool and Heat Portable Air Conditioner with 110 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
ok, so i live in apt w/ single pane windows,total space of550 square ft. the temp was 85 inside(sun bakes on the slider and wall) when its 62 outside. it cools off the 350 square ft livivng room to comfortable quickly. the air coming out is 41.5 dgrees f. i also tested the heat. 96 degrees. it seems to me its alot better at maintaining a temp than changing it. i letf the a/c on one day with the temp set at 72, and it was 68 outside and i got home and the temp was 73, mind you it wasn't running when i got home either. it turns on with in 1 or 2 degees of what its set at.. i have an idea of what goes on because of a temp thing that does indoor/outdoor and tells the low and high since midnight. on days before that i would come home and it would be 80+ and even though it was immediately more comfortable when i turned a/c on/ it would only drop room 4-5 degrees until the sun dissapeared. you will probably have to play with it to get the best out of it for your circumstances.
my biggest complaint is the window kit. the hoses are like 5" diam, and even with a piece of 1x6 to fill the space in the window, i had to bend and tweek the hoses to fit., not to mention it does not seal for squat. of course none of the other brands seem to either. the other brands at competitors have slim oval vents,which i like better,but this does not. as far as portable a/c units go, the outlet vent is simple, but after getting this mail order and sight unseen, and looking at home depot and its big competitor at whats in stock, this has the best simple overall sturdy construction. i think for best results though, add a second fan or two at the far end of the room to help circulate the air.
AND WRAP,INSULATE THE OUTLET HOSE! you will know why when you first try it out.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+20points
27out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner
from Astoria, Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect room air conditioner/dehumidifier

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:14,000 BTU Cool and Heat Portable Air Conditioner with 110 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
I needed an AC unit to cool my studio apartment (500 sq ft). I also wanted one that would work as a dehumidifier - preferably without needing maintenance to dump the water. This has been perfect. It cools and dehumidifies the main room PLUS the kitchen (which is separated by walls and I wasn't figuring would be cooled). It's about the same noise level as your standard hotel room air conditioner - white noise that I've gotten used to. The vent kit is wobbly, as everyone has mentioned - I just lined it with duct tape and locked it in with a portable window lock. It looks fine in the room, the filter is easy to clean, remote makes life very easy and I'm a happy customer.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: flimsy vent kit
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner
from Myrtle Beach, SC

AC working Ok for now

PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:14,000 BTU Cool and Heat Portable Air Conditioner with 110 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
Using the AC unit in my garage (about 500sf). Outside temps here now in SC are in the 90s. Unit has brought the temp down at least 11 degrees and got rid of the humidity so I could work in my garage comfortably. My garage door nor ceiling are not insulated which are big factors. I will be working to update those two factors. Noise factor is tolerable - really don't notice the noise. Haven't tried the heater - that's for later in the year. Water pan has not needed to be emptied. Researched alot of units - I am happy with this unit so far.
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner

Nice Unit. Horrible support from Haier

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:14,000 BTU Cool and Heat Portable Air Conditioner with 110 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
A part was broken out of the box. I called Haier support and they needed purchase verification. Through 2 weeks of emails and faxes of my receipt and many phone calls, I though I was going to get my part. 25 days in, I called and they said that 3 days ago, corporate approved my purchase verification and the part was ordered. Not confident I'm going to get my part any time soon. Poor customer service. I won't be buying a Haier product again.
+52points
53out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner

did not work

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:14,000 BTU Cool and Heat Portable Air Conditioner with 110 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
I should have returned it but I really wanted this unit. So month after I picked it up from the store I am missing a day of work waiting on the repair person person who should have been here an hour ago. I have not heard from anyone. So this weekend I will return the unit. Very disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner
from CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works great

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:14,000 BTU Cool and Heat Portable Air Conditioner with 110 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
I just got this A/C unit . Have not had it running long enough to get a lot of use from it . It seems like it is going to do what I need it for and is not very loud when it is working .
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wasn't a good product from the start

PostedApril 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:14,000 BTU Cool and Heat Portable Air Conditioner with 110 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
I know that there is always someone that gets the eggshell in the omelet and this time it was me. I have had this a/c for 15 days. The air conditioner was very, very slow to cool my 450 sq. ft room and never got to the temperature I set. The vents kept on coming out of the window mount to the point that every day one would be out of the window holder. The final straw was that the auto evaporation system didn't work and my carpet got soaked. Home Depot Customer Service has been great in helping me get another unit on order ( DeLonghi Pinquino 13,000 BTU). From my experience, I wouldn't recommend this unit to anyone.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: poor quality control
+21points
27out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner

1ST SUMMER END SHORT REVIEW

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:14,000 BTU Cool and Heat Portable Air Conditioner with 110 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
5 months into operation, the Haier 14K BTU unit is doing just fine. When the unit arrived the box was a bit trashed and the unit recieved some cosmetic damage, but nothing significant. Inspect yours throughly upon arrival. Easy to install. just input and output duct to the window. duct is rather short, so is power cable. Unit has beeen cooling a ~20 x 25 master bedroom all summer nicely. No issues. Fan is a little noisy but not excessive and has three speeds. Wheels allow to move the unit from room to room, but because the wheels are small it can be difficult over carpet. A couple of hot days this summer I placed the unit upstairs in an area open to the downstairs in a 1600 sq ft home and it actually was able to keep the whole house to a comfortable temp while I had company over. I'm not saying it kept the whole house frosty, it just took the edge off where it was noticably cooler overall. The remote control is a welcome feature and works well. I have not tried the heat or de-humidification functions. The unit has not leaked. I went to drain the unit today and nothing came out so condensation doesn't seem to be an issue. Air flow can be directed well left to right but no too much up and down. But at least it is adjustable. Good unit overall. I purchased this unit cause it was highest rated BTU for cooling , wasn't a window mounted unit ,didn't look ugly, and had a remote.
+51points
52out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner
from Copper Canyon, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

I am returning it for a window unit

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:14,000 BTU Cool and Heat Portable Air Conditioner with 110 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
I have a 300 square foot out building that I am converting to an office. It is fully insulated and I bought this unit based on the great reviews. I think they work fine when they are not the only cooling source. But in the Texas heat I would run the unit all day and it would not get below 80. I am trading it in for a good old fashioned window unit.
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner

Worth every penny!!

PostedJune 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:14,000 BTU Cool and Heat Portable Air Conditioner with 110 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
I searched around for a portable ac for a while as I wanted to make sure this would cool by 600 sq foot cabin. This absolutely did the trick. I simply funnel the tubes out a side window and the window fittings weren't even necessary. This air comes out COLD! Also has a dehumidifier that has worked nicely for me. I would 100% recommend this product. I have had limited use with it though over the course of 2 days but I was so impressed so far I had to recommend this. It is not very noisy and is very portable with the wheels on bottom. Again I would recommend this unit for a 600 sq ft area.
+20points
26out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner
from Hopatcong, NJ

14k btu? I dont think so, or something was wrong with it.

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:14,000 BTU Cool and Heat Portable Air Conditioner with 110 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
We had a 10k btu window unit that was ruining our window casing, so I purchased the portable thinking 14k btu would be great. Plus no giant ac filling a window. Well, lets just say that it performed like a 5k btu ac. It was also pretty loud. Perhaps something happened in shipping (online only) and some gas leaked out? All I know is that for $550 and 14k btu it should have cooled much better than that. I returned it this past Saturday. If you do order this, try it out immediately and keep the box and packing materials. I am so glad I did.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner

Does its job!

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:14,000 BTU Cool and Heat Portable Air Conditioner with 110 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
We have a large livingroom, dining room, kitchen room with high ceiling. Our only option for AC was a portable unit, due to the configuration of our house. For only being 14000 BTUs it does a great job. The only time it has a rough time is if you turn it on when the sun is beating right on it at 2-3 pm on a 95* day. We have over -all been pleased, other than the unit being rather large. Its nice not having to empty a bucket for the dehumidifier portion of it. The remote works nicely. Our window it 1" too small for the panel, but we just stood the exhaust hoses up on end and blocked off the rest of the window.
Pros: Performs Well, Nice Design
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner
from Sewell, Mantua Township, NJ 08080, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works Incredibly well!

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:14,000 BTU Cool and Heat Portable Air Conditioner with 110 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
I have been using this portable A.C. for a couple months now and I have to say I am so impressed!
Our bedroom is located over the garage and always the hottest room upstairs but this air conditioner works magic!
Keeps our room extremely cool, or the way I like to sleep - down right COLD!
I have also owned a GE model previously that was so loud and irritating to have in the bedroom, This unit is the lowest decibel rated for noise on the market and I will back it up, Extremely quiet considering it is an A.C.
I highly recommend this model if your shopping for quality.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner
from Upper Tract, Western, WV 26866, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

does what it said it could do.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:14,000 BTU Cool and Heat Portable Air Conditioner with 110 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
I bought this unit for cooling my fishing camp and it does a good job cooling 450 sq.ft.area. On cool nights the heating is areafeature. i have older casement windows. To vent I removed screen and cut plywood to put in screen latches.Vented through plywood with vent kit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, High Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14,000 BTU Portable Heat / Cool Room Air Conditioner
from Port Huron, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No cooling at all!!!

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:14,000 BTU Cool and Heat Portable Air Conditioner with 110 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
I bought this unit to cool our main living area.....kitchen, dining room, and living room. I don't know what the problem was for sure, but this unit only blew WARM air when it was set on COOL.
We followed the setup instructions completely.....let it sit 24 hours before using. The fan worked, but it just was NOT cold.
TOOK IT BACK FOR A REFUND.
Cons: Too Heavy, did not work!
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>