728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Conditioners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED

Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED

This Commercial Cool by Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner features quiet cooling ample to cover a room about 500 sq.ft. This unit also features eco-friendly refrigerant and is free of any lead and mercury making it RoHS complaint. This model also features casters, a remote 24 hour timer, and a 46 in. extended window exhaust kit.
Overall rating:
4.166 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(404 reviews) 404
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product342 of 389reviews
Rating Breakdown 404 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(191)
4
(148)
3
(30)
2
(11)
1
(24)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product342 of 389reviews
Customer questions and answers:
59 Questions | 278 Answers
Customer reviews for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED
from Pompano Beach, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good unit for a year...Then the Fan Blades melt from the heat :(

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
This unit was pretty good for the first 12 months, then it started making some noises -- since it was beyond the 12 month warranty period, I'd take a look at what was up. It turns out that the blower motor has this plastic connection around the wheel which comes apart -- so it was wedged between the outer wall and the blades -- thus the HORRIBLE noise. Anyway, I had a Haier prior to this one which last 6 years without any issues -- but given this one lasted a little over 14 months -- I'm done with Haier. It looks like the heat from the blower probably contributed to the breakdown of the plastic. Cheap parts leaves the consumer holder the short end of the stick. Bummer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
+30points
33out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED
from Pico Rivera CA, 90660
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
Bought unit in October 2012. Just started the unit for the 2nd day of the spring. So basically it's going on it's second year of use. The unit did not start properly. It seems to be on "stuck" mode. Which happens often with portable AC's. Since It's just going on it's 2nd year. I am no longer under warranty. Called Haier & was basically told I'm on my own. I paid over $400 for this item. Sad to say it only worked for 1year. POOR QUALITY UNIT..
Cons: poor quality
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED
from Helena, MT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This unit works better than I had expected!

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
This unit is great! I put it in my front room and vented it out a casement window. The vent kit won't work for this kind of window so I just cut a piece of plexiglass to fit the screen opening, cut a hole in the plexiglass for the vent hose end and put it in the window. A few dollars and a little time, I can still see out the window and let light in and no ugly piece of wood to look at.
This unit keeps the whole upstairs of the house very comfortable. The whole west side of the house is almost all windows so when the sun gets around to that side it turns the house into a giant oven (80 outside 90 inside, 85+ outside 95-100 inside) with all the windows wide open and wouldn't cool down until mid morning the next day. Now, I turn this unit on around noon, close all the windows, and let it run and the whole house stays cool (80+ outside 79-82 inside). I have it positioned so that it will blow the cool air through the front room, and also into the dining room, and down the hallway so the air will get into the bathroom and two back bedrooms and it works great. Keeps all rooms cool. The thermostat is between the bathroom and the back bedrooms and on a hot day in late afternoon it reads 79. Very impressive! In my opinion this unit cools a larger area and better than it claims.
The only down side is that it is a little noisy, not surprising considering the size and cooling ability. I have to turn the t.v. and stereo up when it is running, but not so bad that you have to raise your voice to talk and be heard. Remember this is in my front room, if it were in another room you wouldn't know it was running. I have had smaller window mounted units in another room in the past that were a lot noisier!
I love the remote control feature and all it's functions, especially the timer function, it's nice to be able to have it turn on or off when you're not around, and the wide range of adjustment for the cold air output. Being on wheels is nice, makes it very east to move around even on carpet.
All in all, this unit is wonderful!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: slightly noisy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+40points
44out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED

Cools well, a little loud

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
I have run this AC a few times now. My initial thoughts were that it is pretty loud but considering the entire AC unit is indoors it might not get much better. I found that when the temperature setpoint is met it cycles often and sometimes runs the compressor for 30 seconds. The remote and timer mode are nice. Of course, it has a super bright blue display that I am going to have to cover up at night.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
Cons: noise
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+28points
31out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED
from Hawk Springs, WY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cools room

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
Rating at 3 stars for the following: exhaust hose is a weird size, it also becomes pretty hot when in use, doesn't want to stay in window panel -(if you bump it, it will fall out). and, the unit is loud when operating. We originally were going to put an exhaust vent through the wall, but, discovered that we could not find fittings the same size, which was frustrating, so we sort of "jerry rigged" a device and discovered the exhaust hose becomes quite hot, so were worried about fire hazard. we ended up taking this apart and repairing hole in the wall... (argh!) The reason we intended to do it that way, was because our windows are the vertical crank out (see photo). My husband ended up building a "window" to fit inside the window and we were able to vent the unit this way. The unit does cool pretty well, but, with the exhaust hose being what it is, it is awkward to place, and very obviously unattractive, and the noise is somewhat of an issue. If we weren't desperate for the relief, we would probably not keep the unit, even though, again, it does do the job...so, a "mixed bag" as it were....
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Install, exhaust hose becomes hot, unit pretty noisy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+37points
44out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED
from Southern NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stay Away from this unit

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
Ordered the unit 6/25/2014, shipped to home... delivered EARLY (THANKS Home Depot!). Unfortunately this was the only good thing...
Waited the 24 hours suggested to let the system settle, turned it on and it worked... for approximately 2 weeks. Unit will not turn on as the GFI on the plug immediately trips on being plugged in. Tried a different circuit, no luck. Called Haier service. They do not have anyone in my area to work on the unit... I'm 45 minutes from Boston... Are you kidding me. With no one to work on it I'm waiting for a "manager" to call back after locating someone that can work on the item.
I'm pushing for my money back, and dump this item. Will never purchase a Haier product again.
Cons: Not Durable, cannot get it serviced
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED
from Santa Monica, CA

The little AC that could

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
I live in Santa Monica, CA. The weather is good 80% of the year, but every now and then we get these awful heat waves and none of the apartments have central air. I have a very small (maybe 500 sqft) first floor apartment. Weirdly, I have no upstairs neighbor - and, of course, no insulation. This week it was in the high 90s for five consecutive days. I closed off the bedroom and bathroom so this unit was only cooling about 300 sqft. It kept the living room / kitchen 15-20 degrees cooler than the outside temperature (which was approaching 100). This thing ran all day every day for the whole week without a complaint. Is it going to keep your whole house 60 degrees? No. But it's a great solution for a single room. It even has a thermostat. I have not tried the dehumidifying function, so I can't speak to that.
As for the noise level, it's not terrible. I was able to sleep easily through it once I got used to the sound of the compressor engaging a disengaging. If you're trying to watch TV while it runs, you'll have to crank up the volume. Again, my expectations were not for a whisper quiet unit. The noise was less than I expected.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED
from Las Vegas, NV 89123
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best purduct i've bought this year

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
I Live in Nevada and it already 100 plugs outside I bought this item online and it showed up within a week. it's easy to install. the unit itself is a plug in and run. my room is a 15 x 15 and the room cools down in about 3 minute. so far this air conditioner is great I would recommend this product to everyone.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED
from McKinney, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This AC unit is great. Clean lines very cool air and the noise is low enough to sleep.

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
Looking to cool the bedroom down at night. Looked at reviews and this seemed to meet our needs. The ac unit arrived and was easy to open and simple to install. The hose fit the window and I added some foam to tighten the fit some. The appearance is very nice and fits into the room well. (17X15) I order a unit above the recommended size for the room size thinking that it would be more energy efficient by not running all the time. This seemed to work for it cools the room down within ten minutes. The noise from the unit is about the same as our old window unit. I was able to sleep just fine after a two nights. The condensation is working well and I have not had to dump water. The AC unit is working as expected and would recommend this to others.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED

WORST AIR UNIT EVER

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
I purchased this unit summer of 2013. It worked well the first summer, then this summer (2014) the compressor failed the first week it was on. I contacted the manufacturer, since the compressor is still under warranty, and they are a pain to deal with and unresponsive.
So now, I am left with an "Air Conditioner" that only blows 95 degree air. Not exactly what I was looking for in an already hot nyc apartment.
This is on top of the horrible exhaust hose design, which continuously falls off of the unit and the window piece. The opening of the exhaust hose is so large, that I developed an insect problem from bugs flying in when the unit was not turned on.
I did not purchase a $400 unit with the intention of using it for only one summer. Save your money and buy a different brand.
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality, compressor failure, exhaust hose design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED
from Southside VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hefty Unit, User Friendly, Works Well

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
I use this in my woodworking shop - a prefab metal outbuilding. Let me tell you, you feel like an ant under a magnifying glass in there - until now.
Make sure you have an outlet that is a 20 amp circuit that you aren't running anything else on - this runs 11 plus amps and will overheat and trip a 15 amp breaker.
There have been people with issues about the hose or parts being "flimsy"?
Maybe because they didn't realize that you had to "screw" the hose onto the part that mounts to the air conditioner? It is threaded - all you have to do is get the duct started in the thread and turn the part that mounts to the air conditioner until it is completely seated. It takes 30 seconds and I have, in the process of temporarily moving the hose to vent out the front door of the building (until I could cut a hole - no windows in this building) accidentally even moved the unit with the hose. I can see using the window adapter if I had to move this into my house though - didn't seem flimsy to me - and has a neat slider to close the window off when not in use. Certainly couldn't be worse than trying to mount a 12,000 BTU window unit - LOL.
The casters work well on a outdoor building floor - I can't imagine people having issues with them unless they aren't taking care and pushing down on the unit as they move it on carpet. There are handles in the side that could be used easily to move the unit while lifting just enough to ensure the casters don't catch.
Love the controls - can turn the humidifier on and off, 3 fan speeds, and you can even just run the unit on fan only. Even has a timer to run it for a certain time, though I don't use that feature.
As an example, I ran the unit yesterday after getting around to cutting the hole in the building - and the temp dropped from 91 to 76 in the space of an hour and a half. With the mid afternoon sun still directly on the building. Did I mention the building is a 12' x 28' building?
Love the adjustable vent - you can point it more up or straight across the room and aim it at where you're sitting.
I would say if you are looking for a heavy duty unit that works well, doesn't sound that loud - actually not as loud as one of the window fans I use in my house - this is a good buy.
It's largish, but doesn't take up that much room as the size tends to be in it's vertical dimension. The actual footprint floor space wise is no more than a kitchen chair.
I look forward to several years of cooling in my shop with this unit.
I can recommend getting it. Make sure you leave it sitting upright for 24 hours without using it when you first get it - let the refrigerant settle out, just like a normal refrigerator or freezer when you move your house.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+76points
76out of 76found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED

Good value for the money

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
This portable air conditioner takes a while to cool our living room/dining room/kitchen area, but mostly because we only turn it on in the evening after work. If we left it on all day I'm sure it would be more than adequate. The remote control is a nice feature. My only complaint is that the unit is a little loud, but in all fairness, probably no louder than a standard window A/C unit.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: a little loud
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

EASE of use, quiet , Saves $$$, cools room in minutes

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
I have had this unit a month now and am ordering another right now.This is the best PORTABLE AC unit I have researched and the negative ratings you see are people who just have not experienced window units or are not using them correctly. They have several modes, COOL, FAN and DEHUMIDIFY....NO DROP TUBE is needed unlike ALL other units. It does NOT require it;s OWN receptacle as some say( I am a 40+ plus electrician) you need t have a 20 amps circuit without lot;ls of other products running on it. My AMP meter showed it pulling 8 AMPS on HIGH after start up..
Within 15 minutes of delivery I had it up n running. Though I made my own discharge plate for the hose to connect to this was for my own satisfaction to make the exterior have that finished look.It came within 2 days and DOES NOT have to be shipped back to manufacturer if you don;t want it you can take it to any store... FITS ALL WINDOWS !!!!
I can say this this unit made LESS noise on HIGH than my window units did on LOW. The TV was on when I first started up and though the unit was on HIGH I did NOT have to raise the volume on the TV
Can;t say much more except GREAT UNIT and I am ordering another......Great for HOT SPOTS or at night to keep bedroom cool without entire house ac running.
THIS IS THE ONE !!!!!
I am buying my second NOW !!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Quiet, easily moved aaround, does not require separate circuit, great valu, in home service no charge, 15 minutes up n running !!, 3modes fan dehumidifier and ac, only 1 vent tube, great warranty
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED

I'm freezing!

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
Originally purchased the Soleus Air 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifier and was very disappointed with my purchase. From the start the Soleus gave me error messages and didn't really cool our small bedroom with the door shut. I returned the Soleus after using it for a few months because it finally started smelling like burning plastic. I purchased this cheaper model and have been very happy with the purchase. It is much more quiet and the cooling element is unreal! I have to bump up the temp because I get so cold at night. It's awesome. I've had it for 2 months now- now water to dump, no issues.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+21points
25out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED

Works well, no water to drain. Loud though

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
Using it to cool a 12x12 room with hot computer equipment. Cools the room down fast, keeps it cool. The only complaint, and it's a minor one for me, is that the compressor kicks on a lot and it's fairly loud. If they could find a way to quiet it a bit I would have easily given it five stars. It installs easily and, while there is a drain valve available, I have not had to empty it in over a hundred hours of running. Overall, a solid appliance that (noise notwithstanding) I would recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: slightly on the noisy side
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED
from Grand Rapids MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Portable air conditioner

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
Installation was super easy. Its a little louder than I would have thought, however on a 90 degree day when I come into the house and feel the need for a blanket I don't even hear it.
We opted to make it a more permanent fixture in the home we vented it out the wall instead of the window and that gave us the ability to keep it out of site.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED
from Tacoma, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works Very Well

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
PROS:
-Fair price
-Delivered before estimated date
-Very good packing
-Easily-understood controls
-Comfortably cools or dehumidifies my 225 sq. ft. room
-Reliable & has no routine emptying of water
-Wheels for portable use
CONS:
-My horizontal sliding window was too tall for the supplied panels. I had to buy plywood, duct tape, and extra weather-seal foam to adapt my window to the exhaust hose panel. I installed mine without using any screws or fasteners, making it easier to secure the window while I'm away.
--Where the exhaust hose connects to the back of the air conditioner could have been designed to fit more tightly. An air leak there allowed moist air to escape back into my room. I stopped it with duct tape.
-Somewhat noisy. Volume on TVs or stereos will likely need to be increased when this unit is turned on.
SUMMARY:
I recommend this air conditioner despite any drawbacks, because it cools and dehumidifies very well. After setting up this unit properly, I've had no problems with it. It kept me from enduring the hot humid nights while trying to sleep. Also, it dehumidified my room, reducing the summertime moisture that had caused closet mildew.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED
from Oregon

I recommend one modification

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
Nice product, I own two. Fairly quiet for a portable. I bought a 1" by 8" piece of pine that I cut to length to fit inside my window frame. I painted it white and cut out a round hole and mounted the hose exhaust adapter to it. I then ran a 1/2" foam window weather strip down the window side and placed it in the window frame. I secured the window closed with simple window latch locks for security, pushing the window firmly against the weather striped end of my 1x8 piece of painted white pine with the hose exhaust adapter mounted to it.
Made for a much more secure, tight, insulated way for the 4 inch exhaust tube to be attached in the window frame compared to the thin plastic frame panels that come with these portable units. Plus it can be pulled out and stored with the unit in the off season making for a 5 minute install every year.
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED
from Hummelstown PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love it!

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
This a/c unit is just what we needed. We weren't at all interested in the dehumidifier function, and haven't used it so I can't rate that. We chose this one because of the great reviews, and the a/c itself is fantastic!
We bought it because our central air system just can't handle cooling the upstairs bedroom in our cape cod. It sits right under the roof (no attic) and it's almost always too hot for good sleep in the summer. The portable a/c unit cools the area quickly, and is definitely quiet enough to sleep to (a major concern). The timer function and remote control are wonderful too. If we don't have the unit running and it gets a little too warm overnight, we can just pop it on for an hour or so, and it works like a dream.
Highly recommend!
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner-DISCONTINUED
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Super easy to set up and use.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
I wanted a user friendly, easy to install air conditioner for my son's bonus room upstairs. Just vent it out a window and turn it on! That's it. No water to empty. Love it.
The only con is they do not send you enough foam tape to weather seal the vent tube out the window. This is a minor con as I picked a roll up at Home Depot for a couple dollars. Hope it lasts a long time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 19 >>