728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

This Commercial Cool by Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner features quiet cooling ample to cover a room about 500 sq.ft. This unit also features eco-friendly refrigerant and is free of any lead and mercury making it RoHS complaint. This model also features casters, a remote 24 hour timer, and a 46 in. extended window exhaust kit.
Overall rating:
4.198 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(364 reviews) 364
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product311 of 351reviews
Rating Breakdown 364 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(175)
4
(134)
3
(27)
2
(8)
1
(20)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product311 of 351reviews
Customer questions and answers:
35 Questions | 200 Answers
Customer reviews for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Review 1 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
cski
from Helena, MT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This unit works better than I had expected!

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit is great! I put it in my front room and vented it out a casement window. The vent kit won't work for this kind of window so I just cut a piece of plexiglass to fit the screen opening, cut a hole in the plexiglass for the vent hose end and put it in the window. A few dollars and a little time, I can still see out the window and let light in and no ugly piece of wood to look at.
This unit keeps the whole upstairs of the house very comfortable. The whole west side of the house is almost all windows so when the sun gets around to that side it turns the house into a giant oven (80 outside 90 inside, 85+ outside 95-100 inside) with all the windows wide open and wouldn't cool down until mid morning the next day. Now, I turn this unit on around noon, close all the windows, and let it run and the whole house stays cool (80+ outside 79-82 inside). I have it positioned so that it will blow the cool air through the front room, and also into the dining room, and down the hallway so the air will get into the bathroom and two back bedrooms and it works great. Keeps all rooms cool. The thermostat is between the bathroom and the back bedrooms and on a hot day in late afternoon it reads 79. Very impressive! In my opinion this unit cools a larger area and better than it claims.
The only down side is that it is a little noisy, not surprising considering the size and cooling ability. I have to turn the t.v. and stereo up when it is running, but not so bad that you have to raise your voice to talk and be heard. Remember this is in my front room, if it were in another room you wouldn't know it was running. I have had smaller window mounted units in another room in the past that were a lot noisier!
I love the remote control feature and all it's functions, especially the timer function, it's nice to be able to have it turn on or off when you're not around, and the wide range of adjustment for the cold air output. Being on wheels is nice, makes it very east to move around even on carpet.
All in all, this unit is wonderful!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: slightly noisy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+34points
37out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
az2061

Cools well, a little loud

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have run this AC a few times now. My initial thoughts were that it is pretty loud but considering the entire AC unit is indoors it might not get much better. I found that when the temperature setpoint is met it cycles often and sometimes runs the compressor for 30 seconds. The remote and timer mode are nice. Of course, it has a super bright blue display that I am going to have to cover up at night.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
Cons: noise
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+25points
28out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
wyonana
from Hawk Springs, WY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cools room

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Rating at 3 stars for the following: exhaust hose is a weird size, it also becomes pretty hot when in use, doesn't want to stay in window panel -(if you bump it, it will fall out). and, the unit is loud when operating. We originally were going to put an exhaust vent through the wall, but, discovered that we could not find fittings the same size, which was frustrating, so we sort of "jerry rigged" a device and discovered the exhaust hose becomes quite hot, so were worried about fire hazard. we ended up taking this apart and repairing hole in the wall... (argh!) The reason we intended to do it that way, was because our windows are the vertical crank out (see photo). My husband ended up building a "window" to fit inside the window and we were able to vent the unit this way. The unit does cool pretty well, but, with the exhaust hose being what it is, it is awkward to place, and very obviously unattractive, and the noise is somewhat of an issue. If we weren't desperate for the relief, we would probably not keep the unit, even though, again, it does do the job...so, a "mixed bag" as it were....
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Install, exhaust hose becomes hot, unit pretty noisy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+31points
38out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
RetiredLes60
from McKinney, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This AC unit is great. Clean lines very cool air and the noise is low enough to sleep.

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looking to cool the bedroom down at night. Looked at reviews and this seemed to meet our needs. The ac unit arrived and was easy to open and simple to install. The hose fit the window and I added some foam to tighten the fit some. The appearance is very nice and fits into the room well. (17X15) I order a unit above the recommended size for the room size thinking that it would be more energy efficient by not running all the time. This seemed to work for it cools the room down within ten minutes. The noise from the unit is about the same as our old window unit. I was able to sleep just fine after a two nights. The condensation is working well and I have not had to dump water. The AC unit is working as expected and would recommend this to others.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
RichH
from Southside VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hefty Unit, User Friendly, Works Well

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this in my woodworking shop - a prefab metal outbuilding. Let me tell you, you feel like an ant under a magnifying glass in there - until now.
Make sure you have an outlet that is a 20 amp circuit that you aren't running anything else on - this runs 11 plus amps and will overheat and trip a 15 amp breaker.
There have been people with issues about the hose or parts being "flimsy"?
Maybe because they didn't realize that you had to "screw" the hose onto the part that mounts to the air conditioner? It is threaded - all you have to do is get the duct started in the thread and turn the part that mounts to the air conditioner until it is completely seated. It takes 30 seconds and I have, in the process of temporarily moving the hose to vent out the front door of the building (until I could cut a hole - no windows in this building) accidentally even moved the unit with the hose. I can see using the window adapter if I had to move this into my house though - didn't seem flimsy to me - and has a neat slider to close the window off when not in use. Certainly couldn't be worse than trying to mount a 12,000 BTU window unit - LOL.
The casters work well on a outdoor building floor - I can't imagine people having issues with them unless they aren't taking care and pushing down on the unit as they move it on carpet. There are handles in the side that could be used easily to move the unit while lifting just enough to ensure the casters don't catch.
Love the controls - can turn the humidifier on and off, 3 fan speeds, and you can even just run the unit on fan only. Even has a timer to run it for a certain time, though I don't use that feature.
As an example, I ran the unit yesterday after getting around to cutting the hole in the building - and the temp dropped from 91 to 76 in the space of an hour and a half. With the mid afternoon sun still directly on the building. Did I mention the building is a 12' x 28' building?
Love the adjustable vent - you can point it more up or straight across the room and aim it at where you're sitting.
I would say if you are looking for a heavy duty unit that works well, doesn't sound that loud - actually not as loud as one of the window fans I use in my house - this is a good buy.
It's largish, but doesn't take up that much room as the size tends to be in it's vertical dimension. The actual footprint floor space wise is no more than a kitchen chair.
I look forward to several years of cooling in my shop with this unit.
I can recommend getting it. Make sure you leave it sitting upright for 24 hours without using it when you first get it - let the refrigerant settle out, just like a normal refrigerator or freezer when you move your house.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+70points
70out of 70found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
LAMF
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

EASE of use, quiet , Saves $$$, cools room in minutes

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this unit a month now and am ordering another right now.This is the best PORTABLE AC unit I have researched and the negative ratings you see are people who just have not experienced window units or are not using them correctly. They have several modes, COOL, FAN and DEHUMIDIFY....NO DROP TUBE is needed unlike ALL other units. It does NOT require it;s OWN receptacle as some say( I am a 40+ plus electrician) you need t have a 20 amps circuit without lot;ls of other products running on it. My AMP meter showed it pulling 8 AMPS on HIGH after start up..
Within 15 minutes of delivery I had it up n running. Though I made my own discharge plate for the hose to connect to this was for my own satisfaction to make the exterior have that finished look.It came within 2 days and DOES NOT have to be shipped back to manufacturer if you don;t want it you can take it to any store... FITS ALL WINDOWS !!!!
I can say this this unit made LESS noise on HIGH than my window units did on LOW. The TV was on when I first started up and though the unit was on HIGH I did NOT have to raise the volume on the TV
Can;t say much more except GREAT UNIT and I am ordering another......Great for HOT SPOTS or at night to keep bedroom cool without entire house ac running.
THIS IS THE ONE !!!!!
I am buying my second NOW !!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Quiet, easily moved aaround, does not require separate circuit, great valu, in home service no charge, 15 minutes up n running !!, 3modes fan dehumidifier and ac, only 1 vent tube, great warranty
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Anonymous

I'm freezing!

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Originally purchased the Soleus Air 13,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifier and was very disappointed with my purchase. From the start the Soleus gave me error messages and didn't really cool our small bedroom with the door shut. I returned the Soleus after using it for a few months because it finally started smelling like burning plastic. I purchased this cheaper model and have been very happy with the purchase. It is much more quiet and the cooling element is unreal! I have to bump up the temp because I get so cold at night. It's awesome. I've had it for 2 months now- now water to dump, no issues.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+21points
25out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Cook99
from Santa Fe Springs, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Air Conditioner

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It does exactly what we need it too. Since our home is small and the nights get cool anyway, we run this portable during the hottest hours of the day. Although it doesn't get freezing in the house, it's comfortable.
We bought this because we were expecting and needed to regulate the temperature for her. This was perfect.
The only con is that it is slightly loud. But again, our house is small.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Smiley
from Hummelstown PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love it!

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This a/c unit is just what we needed. We weren't at all interested in the dehumidifier function, and haven't used it so I can't rate that. We chose this one because of the great reviews, and the a/c itself is fantastic!
We bought it because our central air system just can't handle cooling the upstairs bedroom in our cape cod. It sits right under the roof (no attic) and it's almost always too hot for good sleep in the summer. The portable a/c unit cools the area quickly, and is definitely quiet enough to sleep to (a major concern). The timer function and remote control are wonderful too. If we don't have the unit running and it gets a little too warm overnight, we can just pop it on for an hour or so, and it works like a dream.
Highly recommend!
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Kobeayashimarue
from Oregon

I recommend one modification

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice product, I own two. Fairly quiet for a portable. I bought a 1" by 8" piece of pine that I cut to length to fit inside my window frame. I painted it white and cut out a round hole and mounted the hose exhaust adapter to it. I then ran a 1/2" foam window weather strip down the window side and placed it in the window frame. I secured the window closed with simple window latch locks for security, pushing the window firmly against the weather striped end of my 1x8 piece of painted white pine with the hose exhaust adapter mounted to it.
Made for a much more secure, tight, insulated way for the 4 inch exhaust tube to be attached in the window frame compared to the thin plastic frame panels that come with these portable units. Plus it can be pulled out and stored with the unit in the off season making for a 5 minute install every year.
+39points
39out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Klattu
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Emergency Cool

PostedJune 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
During a road trip, had the roof airs go out on the old motorhome.
Had to do something to survive, and save the cat and dog traveling along.
Picked up two of these, with the justification that they will be used in the guest rooms after vaction.
Set them up in the booth seats, one facing forward, the other toward the rear.
We were cooler than ever before, during the trip, and at campsite.
Really like the way all the water goes out with the hot air.
Very satisfied and cool.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Patti
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I LOVE IT!!!

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the Haier 12,000 BTU based on it's specifications of decibels (49) and sq. footage cooling (500). Ok, it's a machine, so you can hear it, but I didn't have to turn the volume up on my TV while it was running on high and although my square footage is probably a bit more than 500, it cooled my living room perfectly. My floor plan is open so I can't close doors off to the dining room or foyer, but still cooled my space.
It's very attractive and the window kit was very easy to assemble...even for a 65 year old gal!
I didn't even have to use the screws to install it into my window, it just fit perfectly snug. I plan to buy another one for my second floor for when I have guests.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Durable, High Quality
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
wysiwyg

Good product

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased this a/c based on online reviews and it generally performs well, cooling a decent-sized living room and adjacent dining area. Based on a month's use, this seems well-made too.
Not bad-looking vis a vis others (black and silver, not off-white), and digital temp read-out on (detachable) remote is handy. Also has a timer ( a little tricky to use).
Price was less that a few comparable brand of this general type (a/c (although more than comparable window-unit) too, with shipping included
This one provides much *better* cooling that a comparable one from another manufacturer that it replaced!
And, *no* problem with condensation, leaks from water overflow, or shutting down from a full overflow pan, as reported for some other brands. (Unit also can function as dehumidifier and a heater, but have not used those functions.)
A couple of general things to bear in mind about these a/cs in general:
1) they don't provide as much cooling as the BTU rating (12,000 here), or as much as as a similarly-rated window unit, as is generally noted (in part because they don't recirculate cooled air in quite the same way as window units do);
2) they tend to be nosier that comparable window units.
3) exhaust hose isn't the prettiest thing to see (typical for any of these units).
But a live-saver on a hot day (of which many lately)!
Pros: High Quality, good cooling
Cons: Difficult to Install, bad instructions!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Cherie
from Six Mile Lake Michigan
Gender:Female

So far so good.

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this air conditioner based on other reviews so I will start by saying that I installed this myself and it was easy. Yes the plastic piece that fits in the window is cheap and awkward, but what I did is have the local hardware cut a 1/8 inch thick piece of plexiglass just a little smaller than the width of the screen I took out of the crank-out window, minus the height (less a half inch) of the cheap plastic piece the a/c vent hose fits into so that I could attach that with the screws provided to the plexiglass. The whole thing friction fits into the window and you can still have the view. I used the little weatherstrip piece provided to seal around the tiny gap and didn't use any tape. The air conditioner is attractive and works great, is a little loud, but definitely worth every penny. Plus, it is easy to use and has to be because the instructions are vague. Don't know how efficient it is because we've only used it twice, but will update this review at the end of summer.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Nana
from Sanford, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I love this unit!

PostedMay 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this portable AC about a year ago, to use in my master bedroom at night. I live in Central Florida where AC is used 10 out of 12 months a year. I have a fairly big bedroom. The unit cools the room within minutes, I like to sleep in cool room ( around 70 degrees)
Unit is easy to install, not heavy,less noisy than a hotel room air conditioner.
I like the remote features( easy to understand).
I have never had to empty pan of water, but have not used it as condenser...
At first the LCD was too bright but within days, I had no complaints.The LCD screen is easy to read in the dark. I keep remote close by, if I get cold I just press the minus button on remote and it performs perfectly. It is energy efficient. I never noticed a difference in the bill... I can set the thermostat a little higher at night for the rest of the house, and keep my room is cold My house is 2000 Sq feet.
Am going to buy another one for guest bedroom. It has been a real blessings! I definitely recommend this unit!
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Vass22VT
from Rutland, Vermont

Water did not evaporate!

PostedJune 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was looking forward to using a portable air conditioner that I wouldn't have to empty. Unfortunately, it appears that it is too humid in VERMONT to expect the evaporation function to work properly. The unit shut down after just a half hour of use, and I was forced to drain the water before I could even turn on the fan. I sent it back!
Just FYI... This unit is quite powerful and the recommendation is for dedicated outlet. When the unit was running, I couldn't vacuum in the same room without tripping the breaker.
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Roberto
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just Bought This

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I ordered this unit on-line and received it three business days later. Shipping was no cost. The unit is fairly heavy and fairly bulky, but I assume it needs to be in order to function properly. The window fitting was ok, but I built one out of a 5/8 board, traced the oval exhaust hole onto the board and cut it out w/ a jig saw. I screwed the board into the aluminum window frame. I fastened the exhaust outlet port to the hole in the board w/ construction adhesive, and sealed it w/ caulk. I was able to reinsert my window screen; the exhaust port is not visible from outside.
The unit seems to cool my second floor, SW bedroom very well. It cooled the room from 82 degrees to 72 degrees w/i two hours; though the reservoir filled and the unit shut down and displayed the message "stop" and would not restart. This message is not detailed in the manual. I removed the drain plug but no water came out. I contacted the manufacturer and they were very helpful and insisted that the "stop" message means that the water reservoir is full. I again removed the drain plug and this second time noticed the rubber stopper that needed to be removed from the drain tube. After I did that about two cups of water drained out, and then the unit started right up when I powered on.
The drain plug is quite low to the floor; I could only place a small dish under it to catch the water. This unit is advertised as self-evaporating, needing no draining routine. If the unit fills up every two hours that is going to be a pain.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, seems to cool very well
Cons: Too Heavy
+24points
32out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Kitkatv3

All this needs is a power save mode

PostedJune 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Arrived without issue and works flawlessly.
All it needs is a power save mode: when the ac has achieved the desired temperature it turns off the ac compressor but the fan continues to run. A window unit I have has this excellent feature, and it does save energy.
Bought this unit for a bedroom with an extra wide window (which the window & tube kits fits without a gap, which would not be possible with a window ac). Actually using it in the living room and it's performing much better than a window unit we had, and it doesn't block a window.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
PAconsumer
from Eastern Pennsylvania

Good replacement for a window unit

PostedJuly 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this model to replace a comparable BTU window unit that was over 10 years old and was wrecking the vinyl replacement window where it was installed each summer (I even built a wood mounting stand to diminish the damage).
The Haier unit does not cool as completely as the older window unit but ALMOST. The unit is installed in a dining room window (about 12x15 in area) that opens directly into a 12x18 living room that opens into a 9x15 foyer.
The temperature is cool in the dining room, comfortable in the living room, and nobody cares much about the foyer.
The advantage of this unit is that it can easy be placed in the living room, if desired on very hot days, rather than being stuck in the dining room like the window unit.
The sound generated is less than the window unit. Nothing to interfere with conversation or television.
The automatic automatic evaporation of condensate has worked fine so far even on extremely humid days. No manual draining, at least so far.
I'm pleased with the unit so far (2 weeks post purchase).
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Luke

Cold Enough to Buy

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So you're pondering buying this unit and wonder if it's worth it. Well I've owned it for a few months and I've concluded it's not cold enough to freeze Hates over or turn your living room into an Las Vegas ice bar. But, I'd say it's cold enough to warrant purchasing. On a blazing California day, in a home of 800 sq ft. with the crappiest home insulation you can imagine, this unit can cool it down to 71 degrees...which can sometimes take a few hours if the home was already hot. Is that amazing? No, not really. But on such a said hot day, standing in front of the unit is more than amazing - it's downright glorious.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 17 >>