728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Conditioners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

This Commercial Cool by Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner features quiet cooling ample to cover a room about 500 sq.ft. This unit also features eco-friendly refrigerant and is free of any lead and mercury making it RoHS complaint. This model also features casters, a remote 24 hour timer, and a 46 in. extended window exhaust kit.
Overall rating:
4.115 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(505 reviews) 505
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product420 of 487reviews
Rating Breakdown 505 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(232)
4
(183)
3
(40)
2
(16)
1
(34)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product420 of 487reviews
Customer reviews for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Review 1 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Shell Knob, MO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Recent Purchase

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
This wonderful air conditioner is saving my life this summer. My old 220 air conditioner went out a few weeks ago when I was just testing it. It was over 30 years old and in a place where it can't be easily removed or changed out. I live in a 1956 model 8'x40' trailer and am very poor. This model cools the whole trailer as well as the old one did and was affordable for me. Also, since I'm completely alone I was able to remove a louver (don't have regular windows), and fit the window paneling in perfectly, so was able to set it up myself, which was great! My daughter hired an air conditioning company to set it up for me, but didn't need them, so saved her some money. The filter is super easy to clean and, so far, no water has needed to be emptied. I've been using this a week and a half now. I know I would cook to death in here without air, but this machine is saving my life, helping me survive, which is what my life is all about now.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, easy to follow instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Central Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK so far.

PostedMay 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Bought this for 450 sq ft insulated workshop (with 14' ceiling) in TX. Today it's 96 outside and 78 inside. AC has been running all day. I don't expect it to maintain 70 but hopefully it'll maintain a little comfort. The weakest part of this system is the exhaust connections. I knew I'd have to create a custom window fitting (see photo) but there were two unexpected problems. First the connector that attaches to the unit has a mating piece in the AC that allows some rotation of the hose when moving the AC around . Well the mate has two little tabs that holds it in the AC unit, and one broke. Had to permanently glue the mate, so no rotation. No big deal. Then the connector on the other end won't stay clipped into the window panel. Very weak clip. So had to make hold-downs for it. Again no big deal as I have the tools and materials to do this. Others may not have the wherewithall to do so. Lastly heed the advice of others to have this delivered to store. I did and the box still looked like it was used in a rugby game. The manufacturer should add lots more packaging materials. My unit had one little dent.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Nice and Cool!

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
This is perfect for what we needed. We had an area in our office that was not getting cooled from the general A/C. This unit allows us to keep the area cool without freezing out everyone else. This is some noise when the compressor kicks in but it is one of the quietest ones in the ratings list.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Portable Unit for Cooling a small space

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
This a/c works very well and with the hot weather here in Seattle these last 5 weeks, is keeping my small apartment at a comfortable 75 degrees, which otherwise would be close to 90. If I could have afforded to pay a bit more, I would have gotten the next higher model for 14,000 BTU to cover 600 sq.ft., which would have probably cooled my space closer to 70 degrees, as my space is an open studio of about 600 sq.ft.
I don't have a window that would work for an a/c, as my only window is near the ceiling. My carpenter friend fitted a sheet of wood into the frame of the door leading to the outside deck and sawed a hole in the wood for the hose to fit through. When I need the a/c, I secure the door open, place the wood into the door frame and install the hose into the hole, and viola, I have an operating a/c. Where there's a will, there's a way!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Lousiana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Helps me breathe

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I bought this a/c because of lung problems, and my Doctor said I had to keep my room at 72* year round. It's a lot cheaper to use 115 watts then 220, and a lot cheaper then having to a/c the whole house. Those are the reasons I purchased a room a/c. It makes a huge difference on my breathing.
It doesn't look too bad, but I wish the exhaust hose was shorter. It brings the room temperature down very quickly, It's not too noisy, less then window units.
Worth the money.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Install
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from NW Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice Product

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I live in a 12x 45 or 50 ft house trailer and the Haier Air condition 12000 btu's I bought has been sufficient to cool my living room which is approximately 12x16 or 18, kitchen which is 12x 12 and part of the hallway. it keeps it comfortable and about 10 degrees cooler than outside. Even when it is say 75 or 79 degrees in here and 10 degrees hotter outside it is still bearable.
It took my son about a half hour to assemble. He had a little trouble with the window kit. Overall I am satisfied and would recommend it to anyone looking for a AC.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Tacoma, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great need for Air Conditioning this Summer

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
A little Complicated to install, but when it is done it makes sense. I would have bought more than the 12,000 SQ since it takes it a long time to cool down 400 sq.ft. Really love the remote control !!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this portable A/C

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I have been using this air conditioner for about 90 days now, and am extremely pleased with it. I'm in an 800 sq ft apartment in the Pacific Northwest. During the day, I shut the bedroom and bathroom doors, and this unit adequately cools my living room, dining room, kitchen, hall and entry way. At night, I use a tower fan in the hallway to pull the cool air back to the bedroom. I vented the unit through a living room window. It is 57" high and slides horizontally, so I had to do some adaptation with the vent kit.
The air conditioner is reasonably quiet. I do have to turn the TV volume up a bit when the compressor kicks in, but it isn't a big deal. Quieter than window unit I had previously. I love that the unit is self-evaporative so there's no draining required. The vent hose is reasonably long and the unit has wheels, so it rolls easily. My apartment has high ceilings, so I like that the air vent is on top of the unit and air can be easily directed upward. Daytime temperatures have been in the high 80s to low 90s thus far, and the unit has been great at cooling the place down quickly. My neighbor has this same model, and is equally pleased with the performance. I did a LOT of research before purchasing, and this model kept coming up at the top for meeting my needs.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Cools well, a little loud

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I have run this AC a few times now. My initial thoughts were that it is pretty loud but considering the entire AC unit is indoors it might not get much better. I found that when the temperature setpoint is met it cycles often and sometimes runs the compressor for 30 seconds. The remote and timer mode are nice. Of course, it has a super bright blue display that I am going to have to cover up at night.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
Cons: noise
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+37points
40out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Helena, MT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This unit works better than I had expected!

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
This unit is great! I put it in my front room and vented it out a casement window. The vent kit won't work for this kind of window so I just cut a piece of plexiglass to fit the screen opening, cut a hole in the plexiglass for the vent hose end and put it in the window. A few dollars and a little time, I can still see out the window and let light in and no ugly piece of wood to look at.
This unit keeps the whole upstairs of the house very comfortable. The whole west side of the house is almost all windows so when the sun gets around to that side it turns the house into a giant oven (80 outside 90 inside, 85+ outside 95-100 inside) with all the windows wide open and wouldn't cool down until mid morning the next day. Now, I turn this unit on around noon, close all the windows, and let it run and the whole house stays cool (80+ outside 79-82 inside). I have it positioned so that it will blow the cool air through the front room, and also into the dining room, and down the hallway so the air will get into the bathroom and two back bedrooms and it works great. Keeps all rooms cool. The thermostat is between the bathroom and the back bedrooms and on a hot day in late afternoon it reads 79. Very impressive! In my opinion this unit cools a larger area and better than it claims.
The only down side is that it is a little noisy, not surprising considering the size and cooling ability. I have to turn the t.v. and stereo up when it is running, but not so bad that you have to raise your voice to talk and be heard. Remember this is in my front room, if it were in another room you wouldn't know it was running. I have had smaller window mounted units in another room in the past that were a lot noisier!
I love the remote control feature and all it's functions, especially the timer function, it's nice to be able to have it turn on or off when you're not around, and the wide range of adjustment for the cold air output. Being on wheels is nice, makes it very east to move around even on carpet.
All in all, this unit is wonderful!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: slightly noisy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+57points
61out of 65found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Las Vegas, NV 89123
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best purduct i've bought this year

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I Live in Nevada and it already 100 plugs outside I bought this item online and it showed up within a week. it's easy to install. the unit itself is a plug in and run. my room is a 15 x 15 and the room cools down in about 3 minute. so far this air conditioner is great I would recommend this product to everyone.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Cools Great, But dont forget to buy some Duct Tape too if you purchase this.

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Cools well, but that's its job, right?!. If you buy this you will also need to buy some Duct Tape. The hose does not stay attached to the thing you put in the window, so you have to Duct Tape the hose to the window thing, to hold it otherwise the slightest nudge or bump or turning of the unit will dislodge the vent from the window Slider and you have hot air blasting everywhere, its an easy fix, but for $400 i would expect the thing to assemble without Duct Tape. The other problem is the LED light is BRIGHT Blue, and is REALLY BRIGHT at night, were talking like million candle power bright. If you like a dark room to sleep in, than DO NOT BUY THIS UNIT, or if you your too lazy to return it like me and you slaughtered the packaging when opening it, then just place some duct tape over the LED. Presto You know have a Brand New Ghetto AC Unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Hawk Springs, WY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cools room

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Rating at 3 stars for the following: exhaust hose is a weird size, it also becomes pretty hot when in use, doesn't want to stay in window panel -(if you bump it, it will fall out). and, the unit is loud when operating. We originally were going to put an exhaust vent through the wall, but, discovered that we could not find fittings the same size, which was frustrating, so we sort of "jerry rigged" a device and discovered the exhaust hose becomes quite hot, so were worried about fire hazard. we ended up taking this apart and repairing hole in the wall... (argh!) The reason we intended to do it that way, was because our windows are the vertical crank out (see photo). My husband ended up building a "window" to fit inside the window and we were able to vent the unit this way. The unit does cool pretty well, but, with the exhaust hose being what it is, it is awkward to place, and very obviously unattractive, and the noise is somewhat of an issue. If we weren't desperate for the relief, we would probably not keep the unit, even though, again, it does do the job...so, a "mixed bag" as it were....
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Install, exhaust hose becomes hot, unit pretty noisy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+43points
50out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Had to return. Significant damage to shipping box during transit. Feared AC might be damaged inside. Didn't open. Fast, professional customer care.

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I was buying this Haier 12,000 BTU for my daughter, but had to send back due to damage to shipping box. We already have a Haier AC - a 10,000 BTU. Please see our picture. They are great air conditioners. Had this one for 4 years now. The vents open and close levels on top. In the picture, they are closed. We have had not problems or issues with it. All features work well. It cools down our living and dining room very well. When we close the doors to the hallway and bedrooms it cools down extra fast. Just be sure to maintain it well. I open the plug (to air out inside) and cover it in the winter season. Check and keep the filter clean (just wash) on back, and check condenser in back of filter and drain section for any dust, debris. (Clean that very carefully. Lightly pat, not rub. Very soft brush, damp cloth, etc. Can find tips online). And empty any water collected from bottom/back into a little tray or whatever works best for you, where plug is. It's usually not much. About 1/16 to 1/8 cup or so. It has a deep but soft,, medium humming noise level. Sounds like "white noise". My son falls asleep through it on the couch next to it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, comfortable noise level, easy to move around, easy & clear instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Pompano Beach, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good unit for a year...Then the Fan Blades melt from the heat :(

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
This unit was pretty good for the first 12 months, then it started making some noises -- since it was beyond the 12 month warranty period, I'd take a look at what was up. It turns out that the blower motor has this plastic connection around the wheel which comes apart -- so it was wedged between the outer wall and the blades -- thus the HORRIBLE noise. Anyway, I had a Haier prior to this one which last 6 years without any issues -- but given this one lasted a little over 14 months -- I'm done with Haier. It looks like the heat from the blower probably contributed to the breakdown of the plastic. Cheap parts leaves the consumer holder the short end of the stick. Bummer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
+51points
54out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Seattle, Wa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great AC Unit

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
This air conditioner has worked very well for me. It's rated for a 500 sqft room, but I have a 600 sqft open 1 bedroom apartment that this has worked very well for. The remote is a nice touch, but I don't use it too often.
You will probably need to buy insulation tape, tape with foam on one side and sticky on the other, to help seal the window connector. The screws that go into the window connection piece can easily strip and fail. Using some invisible duct tape is pretty easy and a good way to fix this problem.
Overall, this unit has been great for me with some tweaks and extra duct tape and insulation around the window piece.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A good value

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
We have a 420 sq ft room we need to be cooled. The unit works well and can maintain our desired temp of 78 degrees even when its 102 degrees outside. It is a little noisy but equal to the sound of a window unit. I know of quieter equipment such as a mini split system but that would be very expensive in comparison to what this unit costs. I'm happy with the value and the fact it cools our room to a comfortable level. And we got it shipped to the store in a short amount of time. Would have given 5 stars except for the amount of noise. But I really cant complain as the cost was in my range of what I wanted to spend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Weedsport, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought two units at the same time, one was dead on arrival.

PostedMay 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I ordered two of these units at the same time and had them shipped to my home. They arrived timely, and seemed well packaged. Unboxing and setup is pretty straight forward. Unfortunately, one of the units did not work when I received it. It would show the "STOP" indicator that you should see when you have a full bucket - this was empty.
Contacting the manufacturer was fairly simple, and although there were some major language barrier issues with the over-seas tech support they were able to get me connected to a local repair shop. The local repair shop responded promptly and came on site within a few days to repair a bad float switch for the tank. On fixing that they then diagnosed that the control board itself was also bad, which required a trip to their shop with the unit. That took another week, but the unit is up and running now. All in all I spent quite a bit of time on the phone chasing around repairs for a brand new unit. It's for that reason that I cannot recommend this product. - it it doesn't work when it's brand new, that's not a good indicator to me. It took two weeks to get everything straightened out.
As for the performance the units seem to work good. I haven't seen an electricity bill yet to know about efficiency, but the performance is good. Two of these units are at opposing ends of my fairly open 1,500sq ft ranch and they are doing a good job keeping the temperature under control. They are fairly loud but no more so than any other air conditioner. Having the remote and timer are both useful features as well. And the best part: the auto-evaporation. I've not had to empty a bucket yet even with several days of continuous use in fairly humid conditions.
I would say the value of this unit is great, it's a good amount of cooling for the money, and the features are great. Unfortunately there is no way I can give anything but a poor rating for quality and overall, as this was certainly a negative buying experience.
Pros: Lots of Features, Looks Great
Cons: unreliable, dead on arrival
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from McKinney, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This AC unit is great. Clean lines very cool air and the noise is low enough to sleep.

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Looking to cool the bedroom down at night. Looked at reviews and this seemed to meet our needs. The ac unit arrived and was easy to open and simple to install. The hose fit the window and I added some foam to tighten the fit some. The appearance is very nice and fits into the room well. (17X15) I order a unit above the recommended size for the room size thinking that it would be more energy efficient by not running all the time. This seemed to work for it cools the room down within ten minutes. The noise from the unit is about the same as our old window unit. I was able to sleep just fine after a two nights. The condensation is working well and I have not had to dump water. The AC unit is working as expected and would recommend this to others.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The window mounting kit does not fit, too short, and poor design.

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
The window mounting kit was poor in design. No pre-drill hole. Too short. If the window is bigger for sliding window. It won't fit. I went back to Home depot to look for it.
I was told "call the factory". It was a common problem. Especial for people in Canada. It looks like Canada has different size of windows than US.
You can't installed it if the sliding window is more than 48 inches. You need to buy the additional window kit for $14. It was just a piece of plastic. No pre-drill hole.
I returned the item
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install, the instruction was poor
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 24 >>