728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

This Commercial Cool by Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner features quiet cooling ample to cover a room about 500 sq.ft. This unit also features eco-friendly refrigerant and is free of any lead and mercury making it RoHS complaint. This model also features casters, a remote 24 hour timer, and a 46 in. extended window exhaust kit.
Overall rating:
4.164 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(433 reviews) 433
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product366 of 417reviews
Rating Breakdown 433 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(205)
4
(157)
3
(33)
2
(13)
1
(25)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product366 of 417reviews
Customer reviews for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Review 1 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

12,000 BTU HAIER PORTABLE A/C UNIT

PostedJune 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Great product. Cools really well. Have recommended it to a few neighbors (especially with hurricane season approaching).
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from CA

Portable and efficent

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
This is a replacement unit for a swamp cooler...This new unit is wonderful and does a great job.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

cool deal

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
The price was fair , the installation was simple , and the operation was awesome.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Helps keep house cooler!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I bought this because my AC just couldn't keep up with the 105+ temps in Oklahoma. So I put it in my gameroom (about 600 sq ft). the room had been getting to 80-81 every afternoon. I set it on 74, and it has been able to keep at 73-76 throughout the day!! I agree with other posts, that it would be nice to cycle OFF when it gets in range, but the fan still blows. HOWEVER, the result is what I was looking for - so end result is what I needed!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Great Portable AC!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
This AC unit works great! No more emptying the water from the unit. It's cools down our bedroom in about 30mins on the hottest days. The unit is also very quiet compared to our last AC unit.
I had previous portable AC unit in our bedroom and it broke down. I would have to empty the water from the unit every 3-4 hours depending on the humidity, boy what a pain!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Flint Mich

Looks great ..Alittle bit of a gap arouind the window sleeve but with a few pieces of foam it will keep out any unwanted pest

PostedAugust 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
It does a great job to take the heat and hummidty out of a very large room ..It keeps it very comfertable and cycles on and off to show that the sensors are working.There is about the same amount of noise as a window fan and with the results make it very easy to accept
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Albuquerque, NM

We sleep better now

PostedAugust 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Arrived quicker than expected. Very easy to assemble and get running in our bedroom. This allows us to keep our fairly large bedroom very cool at night while turning our central air up overnight. People have complained about the bright blue light, yes it definitely is annoying - we are covering it with a cloth. Some people also complained about how hard it is to remove this unit from the box. All you have to do is lay the box down, open the bottom flaps, fold them out of the way, upright the box and lift it off. Very easy. Ours arrived in good shape. This unit is no louder than a window air conditioner, so we don't feel it is too loud at all. We are very pleased with this unit and might buy another for our upstair's guest room.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Illinois

Great Replacement for window units

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Our old house does not have the duct work necessary for central air, and we have always used window units to cool it. Our family room is long and narrow (12x25) and unfortunately the window is at the front of the room. Previously used window units had to be run with not only a ceiling fan but also a large rotating fan in order to circulate the cool air through the long room. This Haier portable unit can be placed and directed where you want the air to go without the use of loud fans. Because of the smaller windows we were never able to get larger than a 8000 btu unit for the window. Now we have a wonderful 12000 btu unit that keeps the room nice and comfortable and when we want to we just wheel it over towards the doorway and use it to cool off the rest of the downstairs, and relieve us of the oppressive humidity. Great product, easy to set up and easy to use. We only wish it had a power saver shut off when the room reached the desired temperature
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from western new york

Very satisfied with performance!!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
This A/C couldn't have come at a better time! It cools the room very quickly and we have a large livingroom 24' x 24' with 30' ceilings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Flower Mound, TX

Awesome AC!

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
We had purchased a DeLonghi portable ac unit from Lowes that was suppose to be a dripless operation. After a couple of days of using it our floor was soaked and our whole house smelled of mildew. I promptly returned it to Lowes and then came across this unit. It is an awesome AC with fantastic cooling power. We are in a record breaking heat wave here in Texas and we use this in our master bedroom at night. I wake up in the morning actually cold! Allows us to sleep in total comfort and I highly recommend it!
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

WONDERFUL!

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I bought this because we purchased a window AC unit last year and it barely cooled one room, plus the old one couldn't be used in new/replacement Vinyl windows. This was easy to assemble, fit into the vinyl replacement window easily and COOLS WONDERFULLY! It was well packaged, but arrived with a few small scratches on one side. Since it was just cosmetic, I didn't bother to complain or return. I have had this unit running for a month and a half, it's quiet, and I've never had to empty it. It cools our living room and dining room easily, plus helps to cool other adjoining rooms as well. I erred on too many BTU's instead of too few, and this really was perfect. VERY happy with my purchase. It's not small, so be sure you have room for it, but other than that, it's great.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Just Excellent product

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I open the box and found one product it was pipe little bit broken, who care at least its cool me down.
Perfect in few minutes its will bring down the down temp no noise just excellent.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Oklahoma

This room AC rescued us from this record setting heat.

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
We had been debating all summer as to whether or not we wanted to buy a single room AC. We have a big house with high ceilings and our home AC just could not keep our bedroom cool in the 100+ heat everyday, and my wife would die of embarrasment if we installed a window AC on our realitvely new house. Afterall, our bedroom windows face the busiest street in the neighborhood. Thanks to this new AC unit, we were able to close the house AC vents in our room and master bath, and use this item. I do wish it had an oscilating fan feature. Other than that, it's perfect.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from watertown, sd

This product is quieter than window ac.

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
This product is better than I was expecting. The moisture evaporator was as stated in a condition of 90+ degree days and 80+degree nights with well over 80 percent humidity. The moisture did not need to be dumped out. It was all exhaushed out the window vent.
It lower the temp from 89 degrees in 625 square feet 7 degrees in one hour with outside temps of 96 degrees. In an upstairs application.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Idaho Falls

Does a good job!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
After my window air conditioner stopped working I began looking at these portable AC units. I originally considered a 14,000 BTU or better unit, but with the cost difference I finally added 12,000 BTU units to my list and selected this one. Portable AC units cost more per BTU than window units of equal power, but I didn't want any more of the heavy lifting.
Pros:
- Does not require draining of any water when used in Air Conditioning mode. The water is evaporated and discharged with the warm air to the outside. There is a separate mode for dehumidifying, which could need draining. It says that if the water reservoir fills then the unit will indicate that draining is needed and shut itself off, but I have not used dehumidify mode and have not tested this feature.
- The unit has wheels so no more heavy lifting or scratching up the window sill when installing/removing a window unit.
- This unit will fit in a closet for storage.
- The unit cools so well that I have found it off on more than one occasion because the kids said that they were too cold.
Cons:
-The 5 inch diameter warm air discharge hose was shorter than I wanted. The unit needed to be positioned just under the window for the hose to fit up, but I wanted the unit closer to the main hallway to cool my entire floor. A strong fan in the doorway helps to move the air out of the room. Perhaps there are extension hoses?
- The cost difference when compared to an equal BTU window unit needs to be considered.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from NE Colorado

Nice unit,.....

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Easy to install... Nice looking unit..... and seems to do the job quit nicely.... We have about 525 sq ft total in 2 rooms separated by wall with a 4' x 8' hole and a doorway through it.... It cools the first room down to 71, while the second room gets down to mid 70's... Good enough for me !! ..... Before, these two rooms were mid 80's during the hot summer days.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from norfolk,va
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

just what we needed

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
bought 4 my grandson who has the whole upstairs with limited air vents & only 1 window,does a grt job
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Easy setup, works great

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Easy set up, attractive unit.
Cools our large living room so its pleasant in the afternoons.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from PA.

Works well, easy to install

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Purchased unit to supplement Center Air for large family room with western exposure. Found it easy to install, up and running in minutes. Cools room. Cooled room and allowed the central AC to turn off before super cooling the remaining house. Also found it great for spot cooling family room when Central A/C is not needed for entire house.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Missouri

This product was great

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
It works wonderful, was no problem putting together and has performed over and above our expectations!
-2points
69out of 140found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 21 >>