728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

This Commercial Cool by Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner features quiet cooling ample to cover a room about 500 sq.ft. This unit also features eco-friendly refrigerant and is free of any lead and mercury making it RoHS complaint. This model also features casters, a remote 24 hour timer, and a 46 in. extended window exhaust kit.
Overall rating:
4.198 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(364 reviews) 364
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product311 of 351reviews
Rating Breakdown 364 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(175)
4
(134)
3
(27)
2
(8)
1
(20)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product311 of 351reviews
Customer questions and answers:
34 Questions | 199 Answers
Customer reviews for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Review 1 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
1cowboy
from Missouri

This product was great

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It works wonderful, was no problem putting together and has performed over and above our expectations!
-2points
69out of 140found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
46Chris

Haier makes good air conditioners!

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great ac! It's pretty quiet, works the way it should, and was easy to install. I'm thinking about getting a second one.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
PeepingTom123

12,000 BTU HAIER PORTABLE A/C UNIT

PostedJune 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. Cools really well. Have recommended it to a few neighbors (especially with hurricane season approaching).
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Judy
from Brogue, PA

has great features

PostedJune 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It cools quickly, is relatively quiet, easy to install.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Mary
from RI

Bought for my Mom

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for my Mom. She saw the one I bought for myself last year and loved it. When her old window unit went she wanted one of these for it's ease of use and only having to put a window kit in the window was the selling point for both of us. I have had no problems with mine and it cools 2 rooms with no effort. My mom also has hers cooling 2 rooms and she loves it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
hlrjr50
from Philadelphia

Really efficient, especially dehumidifier. Cools room great just from dehumidifying.

PostedJune 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works very good a cooling.
(Completing for my Mom)
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
mountainmom

WONDERFUL!

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this because we purchased a window AC unit last year and it barely cooled one room, plus the old one couldn't be used in new/replacement Vinyl windows. This was easy to assemble, fit into the vinyl replacement window easily and COOLS WONDERFULLY! It was well packaged, but arrived with a few small scratches on one side. Since it was just cosmetic, I didn't bother to complain or return. I have had this unit running for a month and a half, it's quiet, and I've never had to empty it. It cools our living room and dining room easily, plus helps to cool other adjoining rooms as well. I erred on too many BTU's instead of too few, and this really was perfect. VERY happy with my purchase. It's not small, so be sure you have room for it, but other than that, it's great.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Joey

excellent product - kept house cool on a hot day with door being constantly opened

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
excellent product at a great price - kept house cool on a hot day with the door being constantly opened by numerous guests
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
amanda
from CA

Portable and efficent

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a replacement unit for a swamp cooler...This new unit is wonderful and does a great job.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
John
from PA.

Works well, easy to install

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased unit to supplement Center Air for large family room with western exposure. Found it easy to install, up and running in minutes. Cools room. Cooled room and allowed the central AC to turn off before super cooling the remaining house. Also found it great for spot cooling family room when Central A/C is not needed for entire house.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Deavers

Easy setup, works great

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy set up, attractive unit.
Cools our large living room so its pleasant in the afternoons.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
MaCoY321
from San Jose

I am impressed!!!

PostedJuly 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It gets hot here in San Jose, CA.... on occasions. And this unit cooled our 12x17x8 room in no time. Now of course there is noise like the others, but its quieter than my 10K BTU window A/C unit I had before. With the same specs on other brands Home Depot has the best prices. -- My only one Cons is... this thing is heavy.... although it has a nice roll away wheels. -- two thumbs up here.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
MissyT
from Sidney, IL

Absolutely Meets Expectations!

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this a/c unit! I'm working it to death during this heatwave in central Illinois and I'm very pleased with performance. (July 2011.)
Only problem I've had is the exhaust hose disconnected from back of the unit. I'm not sure if I had it properly attached in the first place. Solved problem by popping it back in and then securing with some duct tape.
Overall, I'm in love. Casters, remote control, long enough exhaust hose to work in my funky bedroom area. It has everything I need.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
ColorsofLights
from Manchester, NH

I am very HAPPY!

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is everything it says it is and I think for the price that's a lot.
Compared to other items with these features this is the best value. ~ db
Colors of Lights
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Pancho

Excelent product easy to set up and use.

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was sent in a very reasonable time, set up, and window installation is very easy, and it works very well.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
raboraider
from watertown, sd

This product is quieter than window ac.

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is better than I was expecting. The moisture evaporator was as stated in a condition of 90+ degree days and 80+degree nights with well over 80 percent humidity. The moisture did not need to be dumped out. It was all exhaushed out the window vent.
It lower the temp from 89 degrees in 625 square feet 7 degrees in one hour with outside temps of 96 degrees. In an upstairs application.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
bigd

cool deal

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The price was fair , the installation was simple , and the operation was awesome.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Kevin

Helps keep house cooler!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this because my AC just couldn't keep up with the 105+ temps in Oklahoma. So I put it in my gameroom (about 600 sq ft). the room had been getting to 80-81 every afternoon. I set it on 74, and it has been able to keep at 73-76 throughout the day!! I agree with other posts, that it would be nice to cycle OFF when it gets in range, but the fan still blows. HOWEVER, the result is what I was looking for - so end result is what I needed!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Bobby

Great Portable AC!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This AC unit works great! No more emptying the water from the unit. It's cools down our bedroom in about 30mins on the hottest days. The unit is also very quiet compared to our last AC unit.
I had previous portable AC unit in our bedroom and it broke down. I would have to empty the water from the unit every 3-4 hours depending on the humidity, boy what a pain!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
JustinL
from Idaho Falls

Does a good job!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After my window air conditioner stopped working I began looking at these portable AC units. I originally considered a 14,000 BTU or better unit, but with the cost difference I finally added 12,000 BTU units to my list and selected this one. Portable AC units cost more per BTU than window units of equal power, but I didn't want any more of the heavy lifting.
Pros:
- Does not require draining of any water when used in Air Conditioning mode. The water is evaporated and discharged with the warm air to the outside. There is a separate mode for dehumidifying, which could need draining. It says that if the water reservoir fills then the unit will indicate that draining is needed and shut itself off, but I have not used dehumidify mode and have not tested this feature.
- The unit has wheels so no more heavy lifting or scratching up the window sill when installing/removing a window unit.
- This unit will fit in a closet for storage.
- The unit cools so well that I have found it off on more than one occasion because the kids said that they were too cold.
Cons:
-The 5 inch diameter warm air discharge hose was shorter than I wanted. The unit needed to be positioned just under the window for the hose to fit up, but I wanted the unit closer to the main hallway to cool my entire floor. A strong fan in the doorway helps to move the air out of the room. Perhaps there are extension hoses?
- The cost difference when compared to an equal BTU window unit needs to be considered.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 17 >>