728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Conditioners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

This Commercial Cool by Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner features quiet cooling ample to cover a room about 500 sq.ft. This unit also features eco-friendly refrigerant and is free of any lead and mercury making it RoHS complaint. This model also features casters, a remote 24 hour timer, and a 46 in. extended window exhaust kit.
Overall rating:
4.165 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(436 reviews) 436
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product369 of 420reviews
Rating Breakdown 436 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(206)
4
(159)
3
(33)
2
(13)
1
(25)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product369 of 420reviews
Customer reviews for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Review 1 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Brogue, PA

has great features

PostedJune 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
It cools quickly, is relatively quiet, easy to install.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

works well and looks good

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
This Haier 12,000 BTU portable air conditioner was relatively easy to set up and did a great job cooling our kitchen area and living room. The auto evaporation is a big plus and the unit looks good as well. I was very satisfied with this purchase so far.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Manchester, NH

I am very HAPPY!

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
This product is everything it says it is and I think for the price that's a lot.
Compared to other items with these features this is the best value. ~ db
Colors of Lights
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Illinois

Great Replacement for window units

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Our old house does not have the duct work necessary for central air, and we have always used window units to cool it. Our family room is long and narrow (12x25) and unfortunately the window is at the front of the room. Previously used window units had to be run with not only a ceiling fan but also a large rotating fan in order to circulate the cool air through the long room. This Haier portable unit can be placed and directed where you want the air to go without the use of loud fans. Because of the smaller windows we were never able to get larger than a 8000 btu unit for the window. Now we have a wonderful 12000 btu unit that keeps the room nice and comfortable and when we want to we just wheel it over towards the doorway and use it to cool off the rest of the downstairs, and relieve us of the oppressive humidity. Great product, easy to set up and easy to use. We only wish it had a power saver shut off when the room reached the desired temperature
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from western new york

Very satisfied with performance!!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
This A/C couldn't have come at a better time! It cools the room very quickly and we have a large livingroom 24' x 24' with 30' ceilings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

This product really works!

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
We have a small office in an old building that is not airtight and have to keep the door open to watch for customers, etc. This AC unit keeps the room cool even in 90+ degree weather. It is a lifesaver!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from United States

Works well and has a long exhaust line.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
My kids have NO ac during their remodel. I bought this to help out as they have 3 small kids. It made a tremendous difference instantly! Gets cold quick and stays cold. The average temp was 100 day and night. They are finally able to sleep at night. They said they couldn't have made it without this unit. So THANKS very much.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Silverdale, PA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great so far

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Have only had product for a week. Temps outside in 80's. Easy to install even for very small window size, which is the reason for purchase. Great fast cooling for 20x20 attic room.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Very easy to install with the vent kit.It's been 90 and humid for 3 days and my 400 sq foot downstairs is nice and cool.

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Very easy to install in my standard wood frame window with the vent kit. It's been hot (90) and humid for 3 days and my downstairs of about 400 sq.feet is at 72 to 73 degrees. I put the unit in my dining room, and use a tower fan in the doorway between the dining and living room to push the air to the LR. Unit is quiet-doesn't interfere with watching TV.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Placerville, CA 95667, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome!!!!!!

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
This unit is awesome! It cools 500 sq feet with no problem and in minutes! You can't beat the price either (I shopped around alot) this is definitely a product I would recommend! Oh and free shipping too!!!!
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Powerful, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exactly as described

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Probably read reviews on 20+ different units and came up with a few common problems associated with indoor portable units. They fill up with water in 3 hrs & leak, they are loud and the intake hoses and window connections are cheap.
The majority of the reviews on this unit seemed to indicate that this was not the case with the Haier. So, I ordered one.
It has been running for 7 days now and effectively cools 300 sq ft at the desired setting temperature. When you get out to 400-500 sq. ft, not so much. But that is at the high end of its stated range anyway.
Tested the decible levels with my iPhone and at max fan speed, it ran 61 db and when compressor kicked in, it read 68 db. So, very quiet overall.
The evaporative condensor is the way to go so you dont have a bucket to change every 3-5 hours. It also enables the footprint of the unit to be smaller. It does contain a small container inside the unit and an exterior drain plug, for very high humidity environments or when using dehumidifier and the evaporative process may not be able to keep up with the moisture being removed. I am in San Diego, so that will likely never be an issue.
The exhaust hose and window fitting are made from a very dense plastic and very confident they will stand the test of time. Just remember with any unit, it will need to sit out from your wall about 12-15" plus the depth of the unit itself as the hose comes out the back and needs to have room to bend up and/or over.
For $400, this unit is well worth the money and does exactly what it's online description says. One other and maybe not-so-important point, is that the cabinet is not an ugly, white beast sitting in your room. I dont know that I would ever describe an a/c unit as attractive, but this one comes close!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Powerful, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Nice Design
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from San Pedro, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Quiet, efficient and worth the price

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
this is a great product for the price, quiet, efficient and it will freeze you out of the room in a short time!!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Spokane, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

product features are great

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I enjoy the portable air conditioner works great. The remote is very handy. I bought three and gave two of them to family members they also love theirs.The remote is perfect for my 86 yr.old mother,she can adjust temp as she sees fit. As the season gets hotter we will enjoy even more...Awesome!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from home
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cools very good

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
it is stylish and cools very well. really don't care for the window vent kida cheesy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Purchase that Ive Made

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I couldnt have a window AC in my co-op so I did so much research on the portable AC's. This portable AC works so well it cools my entire 522 square feet apartment. It looks very
nice. Please get a 1200 btu it works well. apartment is very
Comfortable even with 90 degree temperature.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, good price, cools the room very fast
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Cali
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super cool...on hot days!

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I read the astounding number of positive reviews on this air conditioner, which convinced me to purchase two since the price was lower than any other by a few bucks including the option to pick-up at my local store made this a no brainer purchase.
I am so pleased, with this nice looking, easy to install device with a remote and timer. I live in Cali where the heat temperature has been in the upper 90's; not something I want to get used to. :)
The air conditioner made it extremely livable on the lowest speed, any higher and I would have been an iceberg. Thankfully, I only need to use an air conditioner in the summer, so I am expecting this purchase to last many years. Highly recommended purchase!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design, remote
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from San Francisco, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great feature s

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Works like a charm, sturdy,well made,works wonder full y tecommend to relatives n freinds, well buy more appliances through your stores or online
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Super easy to set up and use.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I wanted a user friendly, easy to install air conditioner for my son's bonus room upstairs. Just vent it out a window and turn it on! That's it. No water to empty. Love it.
The only con is they do not send you enough foam tape to weather seal the vent tube out the window. This is a minor con as I picked a roll up at Home Depot for a couple dollars. Hope it lasts a long time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Mercer Island, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replacement unit, well suited for room

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
My old, less efficient a/c unit bit the dust this year. I had not tried this brand before. I have been pleased with the performance of this a/c unit in my bonus room. Over the garage, it gets more heat from the garage than other areas of the house. The product is not noisy. Pleased with purchase.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Gresham. OR
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Beautifully

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
This unit is the best purchase I have made in a very long time; it made summer pleasant for my family. It cools our approximately 525 sq ft living room/kitchen area beautifully. Gone are the days of sweating the summer away!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 21 >>