728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

This Commercial Cool by Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner features quiet cooling ample to cover a room about 500 sq.ft. This unit also features eco-friendly refrigerant and is free of any lead and mercury making it RoHS complaint. This model also features casters, a remote 24 hour timer, and a 46 in. extended window exhaust kit.
Overall rating:
4.169 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(432 reviews) 432
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product366 of 416reviews
Rating Breakdown 432 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(205)
4
(157)
3
(33)
2
(12)
1
(25)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product366 of 416reviews
Customer questions and answers:
66 Questions | 290 Answers
Customer reviews for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Review 1 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from NH

I bought 3 and they are great

PostedAugust 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I bought 3 and I vent them to the cellar through the floor and leave the cellar windows open. It cools the house and it keeps the dampness out of the cellar. The cellar stays dry. They are somewat louder then my previous brand, but it blocks out the ouside noise so I can sleep. I am disabled with a sleep disoder. Also to stop it from recycling set the temp to 61 degress and it win run continiously. I use the fan speed to control the temp in the house. I also use a stand up osilating fan in front of them sometimes and it push the cold A/C into different rooms.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Albuquerque, NM

We sleep better now

PostedAugust 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Arrived quicker than expected. Very easy to assemble and get running in our bedroom. This allows us to keep our fairly large bedroom very cool at night while turning our central air up overnight. People have complained about the bright blue light, yes it definitely is annoying - we are covering it with a cloth. Some people also complained about how hard it is to remove this unit from the box. All you have to do is lay the box down, open the bottom flaps, fold them out of the way, upright the box and lift it off. Very easy. Ours arrived in good shape. This unit is no louder than a window air conditioner, so we don't feel it is too loud at all. We are very pleased with this unit and might buy another for our upstair's guest room.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Very easy to install with the vent kit.It's been 90 and humid for 3 days and my 400 sq foot downstairs is nice and cool.

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Very easy to install in my standard wood frame window with the vent kit. It's been hot (90) and humid for 3 days and my downstairs of about 400 sq.feet is at 72 to 73 degrees. I put the unit in my dining room, and use a tower fan in the doorway between the dining and living room to push the air to the LR. Unit is quiet-doesn't interfere with watching TV.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Happy with

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Works very well and easy to install. Very happy with product.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It works great.

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
It meets my needs and expectations :) it keeps the bedroom cool and even cools the rest of the house a little if I leave the door open. The remote comes in handy and it was very east to install. I also like that I can easily wheel it to other rooms if needed.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works Great!

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
This was purchased for a small office that simply needed more ventilation and cooling as the current HVAC is limited to this new additional space.
This unit works great and is not any louder than a fan. We have been pleased with the purchase and had it shipped straight to the location (it was actually easier and cheaper to ship it here than to the local store a couple miles down the road).
Definitely would recommend it.
On a side note, although they say portable, I guess technicially it is, but once you put in the hoses needed to vent it and the drain, it is not really mobile. It can be installed yourself pretty easily in most cases. We had professionals do this one as it needed some extra work because of our space, not the product itself.
Great for any space (camper, office, room) without A/C or needing a little bump in cooling power. Definitely a positive purchase.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Harrisburg, PA 17104, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

USED WITH CEILING FANS AND THIS UNIT COOLS 3 ROOMS

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I USE THIS UNIT WITH CEILING FANS TO COOL 3+ ROOMS. FOR ME IT IS A GREAT BUY. MY ELECTRIC BILL HAS GONE UP ON AVERAGE $10 AND IT RUNS ABOUT 8 HOURS A DAY. WORKS BETTER IF WINDOW SCREEN IS REMOVED.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from home
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cools very good

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
it is stylish and cools very well. really don't care for the window vent kida cheesy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Exeter, NH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

no water to empty EVER !

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I read many reviews on portable ac units before this purchase. Every one complains about water tank needing to be emptyed or overflowing on to the floor at 1am. NOT this unit, set the temp and enjoy. With fans, this thing cools our 2 story cape, replacing 3 window units. Very high quality unit and connector hose. More than impressed
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great buy

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Worth the price and easy to install. It cooled the entire upstairs.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Super easy to set up and use.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I wanted a user friendly, easy to install air conditioner for my son's bonus room upstairs. Just vent it out a window and turn it on! That's it. No water to empty. Love it.
The only con is they do not send you enough foam tape to weather seal the vent tube out the window. This is a minor con as I picked a roll up at Home Depot for a couple dollars. Hope it lasts a long time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Wisconsin
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it! Works great as air conditioner, haven't tried the dehumidifier funtion yet.

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Fairly easy to install and set up. Haier could have make the instructions a little more clear, but I went to their website and they had a video clip on how to set up so that helped as well. On- unit buttons and remote work great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Tacoma, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works Very Well

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
PROS:
-Fair price
-Delivered before estimated date
-Very good packing
-Easily-understood controls
-Comfortably cools or dehumidifies my 225 sq. ft. room
-Reliable & has no routine emptying of water
-Wheels for portable use
CONS:
-My horizontal sliding window was too tall for the supplied panels. I had to buy plywood, duct tape, and extra weather-seal foam to adapt my window to the exhaust hose panel. I installed mine without using any screws or fasteners, making it easier to secure the window while I'm away.
--Where the exhaust hose connects to the back of the air conditioner could have been designed to fit more tightly. An air leak there allowed moist air to escape back into my room. I stopped it with duct tape.
-Somewhat noisy. Volume on TVs or stereos will likely need to be increased when this unit is turned on.
SUMMARY:
I recommend this air conditioner despite any drawbacks, because it cools and dehumidifies very well. After setting up this unit properly, I've had no problems with it. It kept me from enduring the hot humid nights while trying to sleep. Also, it dehumidified my room, reducing the summertime moisture that had caused closet mildew.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Gresham. OR
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Beautifully

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
This unit is the best purchase I have made in a very long time; it made summer pleasant for my family. It cools our approximately 525 sq ft living room/kitchen area beautifully. Gone are the days of sweating the summer away!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Sidney, IL

Absolutely Meets Expectations!

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I love this a/c unit! I'm working it to death during this heatwave in central Illinois and I'm very pleased with performance. (July 2011.)
Only problem I've had is the exhaust hose disconnected from back of the unit. I'm not sure if I had it properly attached in the first place. Solved problem by popping it back in and then securing with some duct tape.
Overall, I'm in love. Casters, remote control, long enough exhaust hose to work in my funky bedroom area. It has everything I need.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Six Mile Lake Michigan
Gender:Female

So far so good.

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I bought this air conditioner based on other reviews so I will start by saying that I installed this myself and it was easy. Yes the plastic piece that fits in the window is cheap and awkward, but what I did is have the local hardware cut a 1/8 inch thick piece of plexiglass just a little smaller than the width of the screen I took out of the crank-out window, minus the height (less a half inch) of the cheap plastic piece the a/c vent hose fits into so that I could attach that with the screws provided to the plexiglass. The whole thing friction fits into the window and you can still have the view. I used the little weatherstrip piece provided to seal around the tiny gap and didn't use any tape. The air conditioner is attractive and works great, is a little loud, but definitely worth every penny. Plus, it is easy to use and has to be because the instructions are vague. Don't know how efficient it is because we've only used it twice, but will update this review at the end of summer.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Pacific NW
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very nice AC unit

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
Easy to unbox and set up. Clear instructions. Waiting for hot weather here in NW to see how efficient it is. Started right up and was easy to control with remote. Very nice looking and reasonably quiet (much more quiet than our old window unit.) Rolls around easily. I think we're going to really enjoy having this AC!
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Waynesville, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has met my expectations of portability.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I needed a portable air conditioner that was easy to move not only from room to room but from house to house. I live in an area of the country in which air condtioning of the house is sporatic. At times it is only the night hours that need to be cooled in the bedroom and not the entire house. This unit is easily connected to the bedroom window. It cools my large bedroom with 9 ft ceilings in no time. It is quiet and I love not having to empty any pans of water. I wanted to be able to take the unit to my friends house when she visits from Florida. It was very easy for my husband and I to put it into the car and drive it to her house. At her house we were able to make it connect to the outside using her sliding glass doors with a simple wood extension between the doors. It cooled the main living area with vaulted ceilings without any difficulty. It met my expectations. Sandy L.
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, easy to transport by car.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Torrance, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Happy and Cools down perfectly!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
We have used this portable air conditioner for the past month. It cools a very large living room approx. 350 sq. ft very quickly. Easy to set up and easy to use! We are planning to buy a 2nd one to use in another area of the house. I love that you don't have to empty a water container or fill a water container like my 2 previous air conditioners. So much better!!! It has a slim profile, so fits in most areas.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Oconomowoc, WI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very pleased

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner with 100 Pint/Day Dehumidification Mode and LCD Remote Control
I am using this air conditioner and it's twin to cool four large rooms on the ground floor of my two story house. In addition to the two air conditioners I am using three tower fans to help circulate the air. It is important to note the fans because no air conditioners can cool multiple rooms without help to circulate the air. These two are doing a very nice job of keeping the rooms comfortable even with my TV and computer in use and the sun beating down on two sides of the house all day.
The window installation kits work very nicely and I will now be able to install and uninstall these units as needed. With the window units I used to have I was forced to wait until my son could come to install and uninstall.
These do take up a little floor space inside the house but that is a small consideration since I have a lot of floor space to use.
Another plus is being able to leave the screens closed to help keep insects out.
All in all, I am very satisfied with this air conditioner.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 21 >>