728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

This Commercial Cool by Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner features quiet cooling ample to cover a room about 500 sq.ft. This unit also features eco-friendly refrigerant and is free of any lead and mercury making it RoHS complaint. This model also features casters, a remote 24 hour timer, and a 46 in. extended window exhaust kit.
Overall rating:
4.169 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(432 reviews) 432
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product366 of 416reviews
Rating Breakdown 432 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(205)
4
(157)
3
(33)
2
(12)
1
(25)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product366 of 416reviews
Customer questions and answers:
65 Questions | 288 Answers
Customer reviews for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Review 1 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

works great. cools well

PostedJune 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
very easy to assemble and cools well and easy to use.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

12,000 BTU HAIER PORTABLE A/C UNIT

PostedJune 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
Great product. Cools really well. Have recommended it to a few neighbors (especially with hurricane season approaching).
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Manchester, NH

I am very HAPPY!

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
This product is everything it says it is and I think for the price that's a lot.
Compared to other items with these features this is the best value. ~ db
Colors of Lights
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

excellent product - kept house cool on a hot day with door being constantly opened

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
excellent product at a great price - kept house cool on a hot day with the door being constantly opened by numerous guests
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Illinois

Great Replacement for window units

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
Our old house does not have the duct work necessary for central air, and we have always used window units to cool it. Our family room is long and narrow (12x25) and unfortunately the window is at the front of the room. Previously used window units had to be run with not only a ceiling fan but also a large rotating fan in order to circulate the cool air through the long room. This Haier portable unit can be placed and directed where you want the air to go without the use of loud fans. Because of the smaller windows we were never able to get larger than a 8000 btu unit for the window. Now we have a wonderful 12000 btu unit that keeps the room nice and comfortable and when we want to we just wheel it over towards the doorway and use it to cool off the rest of the downstairs, and relieve us of the oppressive humidity. Great product, easy to set up and easy to use. We only wish it had a power saver shut off when the room reached the desired temperature
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from western new york

Very satisfied with performance!!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
This A/C couldn't have come at a better time! It cools the room very quickly and we have a large livingroom 24' x 24' with 30' ceilings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Crystal Falls, MI

Great features

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
I like the fact that it can cool, just fan and just dehumidify (?). It keeps the bedroom very comfortable for respit from the awful heat wave we've been having, never thought I would need an air conditioner in the UP!!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from albuquerque, nm

loud but bearable...cools hot room in New Mexico

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
We have a 350 sq.ft converted garage that HOLDS heat. We are venting ac out the doggy door which works well. We also have 60" plasma tv in the room. With tv on I can get it down to 75 degrees with it off to 72. I'm happy with unit cause it is now pleasant. Just have to turn on the Bose speakers to hear the TV but its a hard room to heat. Its been in upper 90's ...a dry heat/ no humidity. I would recommend unit but don't see how it could heat 500 sq' room.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Flower Mound, TX

Awesome AC!

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
We had purchased a DeLonghi portable ac unit from Lowes that was suppose to be a dripless operation. After a couple of days of using it our floor was soaked and our whole house smelled of mildew. I promptly returned it to Lowes and then came across this unit. It is an awesome AC with fantastic cooling power. We are in a record breaking heat wave here in Texas and we use this in our master bedroom at night. I wake up in the morning actually cold! Allows us to sleep in total comfort and I highly recommend it!
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from New York, NY

I love love love this A/C!!

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
I just purchased this a/c a week ago. It was easy to assemble and the window attachment just needed a bit of maneuvering. It was only minutes before my bedroom in NY with high ceilings went from 90 degrees to 75 degrees! Soon to rest at 72. I really want another for my living room!
I recommend this unit hands down!!!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Minnesota

The product has easy to follow instructions

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
The product works great and is so quiet!! It fits into the area we put it and looks great.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Idaho Falls

Does a good job!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
After my window air conditioner stopped working I began looking at these portable AC units. I originally considered a 14,000 BTU or better unit, but with the cost difference I finally added 12,000 BTU units to my list and selected this one. Portable AC units cost more per BTU than window units of equal power, but I didn't want any more of the heavy lifting.
Pros:
- Does not require draining of any water when used in Air Conditioning mode. The water is evaporated and discharged with the warm air to the outside. There is a separate mode for dehumidifying, which could need draining. It says that if the water reservoir fills then the unit will indicate that draining is needed and shut itself off, but I have not used dehumidify mode and have not tested this feature.
- The unit has wheels so no more heavy lifting or scratching up the window sill when installing/removing a window unit.
- This unit will fit in a closet for storage.
- The unit cools so well that I have found it off on more than one occasion because the kids said that they were too cold.
Cons:
-The 5 inch diameter warm air discharge hose was shorter than I wanted. The unit needed to be positioned just under the window for the hose to fit up, but I wanted the unit closer to the main hallway to cool my entire floor. A strong fan in the doorway helps to move the air out of the room. Perhaps there are extension hoses?
- The cost difference when compared to an equal BTU window unit needs to be considered.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Philadelphia

Really efficient, especially dehumidifier. Cools room great just from dehumidifying.

PostedJune 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
Works very good a cooling.
(Completing for my Mom)
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Easy setup, works great

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
Easy set up, attractive unit.
Cools our large living room so its pleasant in the afternoons.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Very happy with this unit.

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
I bought this to replace an old portable a/c. Our entire living room, with high ceilings is cooled quickly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

This product really works!

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
We have a small office in an old building that is not airtight and have to keep the door open to watch for customers, etc. This AC unit keeps the room cool even in 90+ degree weather. It is a lifesaver!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Telford PA

Easy to hook up and cools great

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
The compressor went on my central air. Not having a few thousand dollar lying around, I decided to try a portable air conditioner. This air conditioner was super easy to hook up and it works incredible. We have had 99 - 105 degrees heat and yet my living room and dining room is a comfortable 74. Haven't gotten my first electric bill yet so hopefully I made the right choice.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from Flint Mich

Looks great ..Alittle bit of a gap arouind the window sleeve but with a few pieces of foam it will keep out any unwanted pest

PostedAugust 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
It does a great job to take the heat and hummidty out of a very large room ..It keeps it very comfertable and cycles on and off to show that the sensors are working.There is about the same amount of noise as a window fan and with the results make it very easy to accept
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Excelent product easy to set up and use.

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
Product was sent in a very reasonable time, set up, and window installation is very easy, and it works very well.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Commercial Cool 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
from norfolk,va
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

just what we needed

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:12,000 BTU 500 sq. ft. Cool Only Portable Air Conditioner, 100 Pints per Day Moisture Removal in Dehumidification Mode
bought 4 my grandson who has the whole upstairs with limited air vents & only 1 window,does a grt job
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 21 >>