728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Portable Dishwashers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED

Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED

This Danby Designer 8-place setting dishwasher is a convenient and efficient addition to any home. At 18 in. wide this model takes up minimum space and the built-in casters allow it to be easily moved. Energy Star rated and boasting a low-water consumption feature, this model is eco-friendly. Suitable for not only condos and apartments, this model even offers a built-in soft water system for remote cottage locations.
Overall rating:
4.158 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product26 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(9)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product26 of 30reviews
Customer reviews for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
JoeUser

Keep the box it came in.

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I could comment on the dishwasher's energy efficiency or features but it arrived damaged. Quite damaged. The box was a bit scuffed up but nothing that would give any indication that the washer itself had been crushed like a beer can. I was reluctant to power it up for fear that something internal had been damaged. After returning it, Home Depot was quite good about taking it back even though I had to drive it to the nearest store myself, I looked more closely at the reviews from other sites. Seems that this particular brand of washer arrives damaged from the factory or it only lasts a year and then mysteriously stops.
I would say spend the money on a full size portable washer with a name you recognize and look skeptically at the overwhelmingly good reviews.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
Susan

Fantastic cleaner!

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had my dishwasher for a couple months now and have been very pleased with it. It is slightly smaller than a full size but is more than enough room for a week's worth of dishes for a single person who doesn't cook a lot! It does have a few quirks when you first set it up (namely - the on button isn't labeled well so you need to know a blinking light means that it is on and working) but other than that it is an easy, effective product.
Another small tip - the soap container is set up a little oddly and I was afraid it wouldn't take the tab type of dish soap. I've used several brands though and they all fit fine and the dishwasher has no problem using them.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
Dissapointed

Worked great until it broke.

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this dishwasher for three months, and loved it. Then, one of the hoses snapped. Just broke right off.
The Danby-referred repair man came -- a full month after we first contacted them -- with the wrong part. The right part is apparently on factory backorder and won't arrive for at least another month.
In short, it seemed like a great buy, but the quality is obviously very poor, and the company is not interested in fixing it.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
Heather
from San Francisco, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Quiet, squeaky clean, but a few issues.

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We've had the dishwasher for close to a month. The dishes have always come out sparkling clean with light rinsing before loading. The Danby is quiet, runs well, and easy to hook-up.
Issues
1) The door doesn't lie flat for loading, so the entire bottom rack rolls back in unless you take it slightly of its tracks.
2) The power cord and hose are supposed to retract, when in fact, you have to sort of awkwardly stuff them back into their respective holes.
3) The cycle is very long (maybe two hours?) and the dishes don't dry well, so we run it after dinner and then open the door before going to bed to air dry over night.
Would I buy it again. Yup! The time it saves our family of four (it's a tight squeeze, but all the dishes have fit so far) is absolutely worth it. Why did we wait so long to buy this?
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
Joe1978
from Downey, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A great product, if only it worked

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
When I received the machine, it worked for about 2 weeks, and thereafter it started to malfunction. It would start on the pre-wash cycle, and then repeat the cycle for 3 times, until it turns off. I called Danby, and they had given my the name and phone number of 2 Repair people to come out there to fix it. After waiting for 2 weeks for the part to come in, they supposed fixed it, but the same problem still occured. So Home Depot, was kind enough to take it back, and give me store credit for another one. Thanks Home Depot... I will be giving an update once I receive the other Dishwasher
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: defective
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
Pleasedaspunch

An amazing little machine

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm so glad we chose this dishwasher! We've had two full-sized portables over the past 20 years and they were indispensable, but we always had to rinse the dishes (and pretty thoroughly) before loading. The Danby is much easier to move around and it actually washes dishes! It took me a while to get used to the idea, but you really can just put the dishes in without rinsing them, and they always come out squeaky clean. You should know that it's really more like half a dishwasher (the 18" width would suggest it's 3/4 of full size, but it's also not as deep). If you've been running your full size dishwasher every other day or so, then this little dishwasher should work fine for you, as long as you don't mind running it every day.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
Ameron
from Indianapolis, IN

GREAT MACHINE

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After searching the net for a portable dishwasher that I could afford, I found this Danby from Home Depot. Could hardly wait to try it out ! I found that this little gem is just what I had been looking for. It did a GREAT job of cleaning and drying my dishes, but didn’t put them away! Well, can’t have everything I guess. It was so very quiet, only the toaster beat it for sound. I could have very easily talked on the phone, while standing beside it. The three cycle wash, plus drying did seem to take awhile, but sure did a great job on some of the dried on spots. I’m NOT one to have to hand wash my dishes before putting them in a dishwashing machine…, no way. And this little baby had no problem w/ getting everything spotless. Must say.., at this time I’m as pleased as punch w/ my purchase.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
MN49
from Minnesota

compact, quiet, works well with hard water

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great for small apartments and other small living spaces.
Very quiet.
Love the built-in water softener filter.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
amanda
from Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

A great value in a space saver

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you have bad luck read the instructions. Went from chuck to t-bone when I did. My worst dishes and pans are spotless now. Well designed and built. I know, I work food prep and kitchen equipment every day. Took a peek underneath at the workings. Use a good soap, I recommend c______. You need a lot less and cost comes out the same. One less trip to the store. A savings.
Got limited space? Buy this one.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
Lumberzak

Awesome Lil' Dishwasher

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I researched these things forever before settling on a purchase. All signs pointed to this lil' guy, and I can safely say I am not disappointed. The eco cycle leaves dishes cleaner than any built in unit I have ever owned! It is hands down a fantastic machine. The new faucet head was easy to install and came ready for 2 different faucet configs. Connection is a breeze, with no leakage, and like I said, it cleans like the dickens. Once you learn how to work the system, and take out the wine glass holders in the top rack, it holds way more dishes than you expect. My only want is for better tracking of the wheels on the lower rack, but I'll live with it for the great quality the rest of this machine embodies.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
TonyG

a great little dishwasher

PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had many others, and would pick this over others. It has it's own water softner built in. does wonders if you have well or hard water
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
Daisy88
from Arab, AL 35016, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome little machine!

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this dishwasher! It fits perfectly in my tiny kitchen and works wonderfully. Even cleans stuck-on, burnt-on food from my dishes the first time through! I can't say enough about this machine. It has made my life so much easier....and my kitchen alot cleaner. =)
One of the best purchases I've ever made!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
Benz12
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Buy For The Price

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This dishwasher works great. It's the perfect size for my small kitchen...even adds additional counter space, which is awesome. It's very easy to hook up, once you figure it out. And the best part, it cleans my dishes really well! The only reason I wouldn't give it a 5 is that it does run for awhile, and it's a little loud. However, I'm in a studio...if I were in a bigger apartment, I'm sure this wouldn't be an issue at all. Definitely a great buy, especially for the price! Love it, and very happy I made the purchase.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
magfirenze
from Brooklyn, NY

Good product for small spaces; performs well/as expected

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm happy with our purchase of the Danby 18" portable dishwasher. I have it for a couple of months and use it 3-4 times per week. The only small problem I encountered was due to using too much detergent. You cannot use the ready-pack detergents that are pre-measured with this size dishwasher. Once I figured that out and made the switch, dishes were clean with no residue. I do wish there was a way to hang, coil or otherwise store the hoses after each use. And I am worried about the wheels and how they will hold up over time since I need to roll it over a marble lip between the floor surfaces to get it to the sink. Could be a problem long-term. But, sure beats washing dishes by hand!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
RTurnNow

Nice little washer.

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cleans dishes great. Holds more than I thought. Burned on food on pots and pans come clean. Like the water softner - use any granulated water softner salt and add about a cup of water to the salt for the first use. (Not in the directions.)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
susang7

So easy to use and cleans great!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unbelievable price for a great product. The quick connect is wonderful and, at least for me, universal since I am able to use it with my washer as well. It arrived quickly after I ordered and the assembly was next to nothing. The product cleans all my dishes and pans sparkling clean and is very quiet while in operation. I would highly recommend this product to anyone, best friends/family, etc...
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
AJHM
from Encinitas, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A great portable dishwasher

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Plugged it in, attached the hose to the faucet and it worked perfectly from the first time. Great product if you lack the space for a built in, and a great price.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
NoxAeternus
from Nazareth, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little Noisy but WOW CLEAN

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had my machine for a few months now and i must say that this is the cleanest dishes i have had! my glasses come out squeaky clean (quite lieterally) and it is very energy effeciant. i like how the unit heats the water its self, and you use cold. it uses just about 4 gallons of water, so that really saves not only my back from standing at the sink, but lots of water. The best thing about it is that you can put nasty dirty dishes into it and they come out perfectly clean! (I use finish tabs as a detergent) I never rinse dishes (I believe its a waste of water), and have cleaned the crock pot, lasagna dishes, microwaved plastic tupperwares, and coffee-stained mugs. EVERYTHING comes out clean!
It may be a little smaller than your usual dishwasher, but it cleans way better than any i have ever had! love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: kind of noisy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
aprilbaby83

Good small portable dishwasher

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The dishwasher is exactly as expected. Having read some of the previous reviews I knew that it had a relatively long wash cycle, but it has the ability to "turn off" the water when the wash is finished so you are able to run it overnight without fear of running your hot water tank down to nothing. Also the dishes are not completely dry upon completion of the cycle, but opening the door a crack allows them to air dry while I'm at work since there is no dry only option
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Portable Dishwasher in White-DISCONTINUED
Thom

Powerful little machine

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was delivered by a friendly and helpful delivery man from the company Home Depot uses for large deliveries.
The dishwasher works great! I'm very happy with it. It didn't come with any directions on how to connect it to your faucet, but I was able to find some good videos on Youtube about that.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>