728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Conditioners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Heat

10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Heat

Stay cool or warm and breathe fresher air with our WA-1061H units. Enjoy a comfortable year-round environment with an air conditioner and heater unit. Cooling, dehumidifying and fan features all in one. Powered by a 10000/9500 BTU cooling/heating capacity, it ideally cools or heats an area up to 300 sq. ft. Uses new UL required LCDI (Leakage-Current Detection and Interruption) plug. Also features self-evaporating technology which means that during the cooling process, water is extracted from the air into the unit. Most of this water is then recycled and used to cool the cooling coils and make it run more efficiently.
Overall rating:
3.4 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
54%of customersrecommend this product7 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(1)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
54%of customersrecommend this product7 of 13reviews
Customer reviews for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Heat
Review 1 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Heat

Nice and useful a/c

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It works well and pumps out a lot of cool air but the entire room doesn't get as cool as I wish it did. I think the reason is that the a/c only has one hose instead of two. Besides that it works great and has a bunch of features such as heat and a timer which i find very useful!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Heat
from Austin Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

better than nothing

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to assemble, remote is easy to operate. keeps room cool as long as the outside temp is below 90 degrees. Works well for 12 by 14 room or smaller
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: does not work as well as a window unit if the same
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Heat
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Compact and cools very nicely.

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great value, A/C AND heat for low price. Ordered online, delivered early!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Heat
from Bowie, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works well.

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit is more efficient than the discontinued previous model with the same specifications. It looks like there is another place for a filter at the lower portion of the unit, but it only comes with a single filter. it is much smaller than the older model.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: no cons
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Heat
from Saint Paul, MN

Not a bad product.

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased this unit to cool/heat an otherwise un-climate-controlled recently finished 500 sq ft attic bedroom space.
One little problem with assembly was that the venting tube does not stay in the unit by itself, either that, or I was missing a clip of some sort. Problem was solved with the introduction of some electrical tape to hold everything together.
It is a little bit of a noisy beast, but I don't mind - I prefer the white noise. If you don't like noise, this unit will not work for you.
I was also concerned about how much water it might be housing as a result of the MN humidity, but I guess it reuses or recycles it because nothing has drained, and nothing has leaked.
At this point I cannot review its heating abilities, but will happily give it 8/10 for cooling - especially considering it's cooling more space than it's designed for. Makes the space perfectly sleepable!
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Heat

heat takes some time and it is kind of loud

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I really dont think it is to loud but our 10 yr old says its annoying. The remote is good to have and it doesnt suck down to much power. Make sure you run a line to get rid of the water the plug on the back is to low to get anything under and you will make a mess. If you are hooking it to exhaust out a wall you will need more parts and good luck trying to find something that will fit with the supplied pipe. The window adapter looks cheap but you get what you pay for
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Heat
from Florissant, MO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A really good value

PostedJune 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had my unit approximately five years and it works really well. But the exhaust hose (venting hose) has begun to come apart on the outside extension. I need to replace that hose. Where can I get such a hose?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Heat
from Windsor, NC 27983, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good buy

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works good and my wife loves it. She runs on a treadmill and is able to put it in front of her to keep cool. Also easy to move from room to room.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Heat
from Sarasota, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very noisy & limited settings.

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would give this AC unit a much higher grade if it were NOT so noisy. I am disappointed in only 2 fan speed settings and it doesn't have an option for setting times for it to come on/off in a 24 hr period.
I would like to set it to come on for 2-4 hrs/day while I'm away, but I see no way to do so.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Heat
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works hard and efficiently.

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The room I put this conditioner in ended up being a bit bigger than the recommended size. Even with that, it did a fantastic of job of dehumidifying and cooling the room. I wasn't sure it could handle it and if I'd need to get a different one, but this did the job quite well. It ran 10 or 12 hours a day and still didn't run up my utility bill as much as I thought it would.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Heat
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really Loud!

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to install but it is so loud that it is really a problem to use it in an office or bedroom.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Heat

This is an awsome product for the price.

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We needed something for my wifes father who has health conditions and this was the answer. This product worked to cool his home to the point that he could breath much easier during the hot month we had.
I would recomend this unit to anyone who needs it. His windows wind out and a window unit would never work, the kit that came with this unit make setting it up a snap.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Heat
from New Caney, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works, but not well

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While the unit produces cool air and works better than a fan, it does not actually cool the bedroom. The portability is its best feature.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: poor performance
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Heat

Does not cool to set temperature on auto.

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered 2 of them. The 1st one does not work and I am returning. The second one works if it is not on auto.
Cons: poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Heat

Not worth the money

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit is loud! It pulls as much or more air to cool its compressor than it does for the room. This is an issue because it pulls the air from the room to cool it self and blows it outside, causing negative pressure in the room and pulling o upside air in through where ever it can come from. I have had this unit a week and will be returning it. JUNK!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Fit, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy, Blower Speeds, Performance
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.