728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

Perfect for cooling down a single room or studio. Window kit supplied for left and right side of unit making it ideal for vertical opening windows. User-friendly controls and remote. Easy to remove washable air filter with helpful reminder. Multiple fan speeds and setting for the perfect comfort.
Overall rating:
4.395 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product70 of 75reviews
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(52)
4
(21)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product70 of 75reviews
Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
Review 1 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Piscataway NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Air conditionner, so far

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This air conditioner was easy to assemble and after using it for two weeks, I give it
five stars
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from LaPlata, Mo
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Window AC

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased a house without air conditioning. After getting quotes to have a central system installed we decided to try to tough it out. After two summers of above average and record heat we decided to try a window ac. We were a little skeptical since we had never had a window unit before. This unit was priced right and easy to install. It may be a little undersized for the area we are trying to cool, but it does a very decent job of keeping us comfortable. It is quiet and trouble free so far. We plan on getting one more of these to put in our upstairs bedroom.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from baltimore, md

great AC unit

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we have this unit in the downstairs of our house- the ceilings are very tall however it cools the entire downstairs. it is a little bit loud but not something that we can't talk while in the room or have to blast the TV. definitely worth the money- great product!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Laguna beach,cal.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It cools my whole 1 bedroom apartment very well

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had my air conditioner only 3 mos. but when in use I couldn't be more comfortable. And I love the energy saver button. It shuts off when desired temperature is reached. Thanks,so far,for being a great product!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Oklahoma CIty
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this for a rental property and it works great. easy to install and cools off several rooms. I would highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Louisiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Modern efficient A/C units

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit is like all modern window a/c units. They all install and pretty much work the same. Oh, here's a quick tip for all the old heads who think there is too much water in the bottom of the unit, and that they need to drill more holes, to solve a perceived design flaw. Modern window a/c's are supposed to have water at the bottom, the fan is designed with blade extensions to sling the water on to the unit to help cool it, for more efficient operation. Drilling holes in the unit, will in most cases void the warranty.
+61points
62out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Paterson, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Air conditioner HAPPY CUSTOMER

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last year I moved into an attic apartment it was really really hot in the summer, it was ridiculously hot, that's the correct term. Well I bought a 5000 btu unit thinking it would be enough and boy was I wrong. I suffer like you wouldn't believe, the poor little AC was running full speed all day and night long without even making a dent on the sweltering 100+ degrees. Well, no this year. I bought this AC online after going to the Home Depot store, it was recommended by one of the associates there after I explained my situation. I could not be happier, this is one of the best buys I've ever made, this AC is GREAT, I just have to press the remote and in 5 minutes (I swear to God that's how long i takes) the rooms feels nice and dry, and people, my place is so hot in the summer I think I have a pizza oven in the roof somewhere, in fact, I am the only person who's made it past 3 months there. We just had a scorcher yesterday, It was close to a 100 here in the tri state area with a 75 dewpoint, that's extremely uncomfortable, when I got home after a hard day's work my room was nice and cool thanks to the automatic on timer that turns the AC on 30 minutes before I get there.
One of the best features of the AC is the 'Dry Air' mode that acts as an dehumidifier and it doesn't make the compressor run all the time since relative humidity is what really makes the room feel hot and sticky. I had never, even in the hottest day, run this unit above the low cool - dry mode, it is so powerful and efficient, it really doesn't have to, so it is really good for saving energy, this AC can pay by itself in 6 month.
The only drawback (there's always one) it's the noise. is a bit in loud side they have to work on that, That however... I can live with as long as I can sleep as good as I am doing now with this AC unit. So, if you need to cool an area that gets really hot and it needs powerful AC where central air is not possible, this is it. I am sure you can cool an entire house with this baby.
A bit heavy, do not install without an AC support bracket, got one at home depot for 15 bucks, not a big deal.
Well there you have it, This AC is good if you live in a hot place that a normal run of the mill mainstream brand won't cool unless is a central air or a 220 volt 18 K BTU unit .
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
+30points
31out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from The Colony, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We've got it cooling our kitchen, about 15 x 15, and an adjacent family room, a little bigger than that. We have "vaulted" ceilings, and we've been using this unit in the dead of August Summer in North Texas - a string of weeks over 100 F every single day and far into the night. The unit is so nice and compact and wonderful esp. when we cook in the kitchen, it really makes a big difference. We are very pleased with the unit. No problems whatsoever. We rough-calculated operating cost at about $1.00 per day running about 7 to 10 hours per day. It blows very, very strongly, too. Construction quality is very good.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Houston, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick and easy install, easily cools a hot garage

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We got this unit to cool the garage during the peak of the Summer months. Although larger than what this unit is supposedly intended to cool, the air in the garge would get 30 degrees cooler than it was when the unit was started within an hour or less. Installation was very easy. It could be done by anyone strong enough to lift the unit. The remote is a nice touch, although we don't use it. It notifies you when you need to clean the filter, which is a very slick thing.
+34points
35out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

AWESOME!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great air conditioner. I live in a 650 sq ft 1br and this cools down the whole place in less than an hour. It has a remote which is very convenient. It also has the energy saver mode which is great for night time. I was expecting a much higher energy bill than what I got! LOVE IT!
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

700 sq foot air conditioner

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this air conditioner for son. He said works great and he uses the remote. Only had it for short time. Got it because of the reviews. Hope it pans out to cool his small one bedroom apt. Hasn't gotten very hot yet.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

A/C installed at client's house in Pasadena

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit installed works so perfectly, that the client called me several times and thanked me. Furthermore, he asked me if I can install a second unit in the rear guest house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Denver, CO, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent A/C Unit!

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although I've never heard the brand name of SPT, this A/C unit is surprisingly an excellent "work horse". This particular 12000 BTU unit easily cools 2 rooms--one large room 15x25 and one small 12x12! It was very easy to install! It took less than 20 minutes from unpackaging to securing in place in the window to power on. That's all there was to it! I love it and I'm extremely pleased with it. No more 91 degree room just before going to bed--it's now a comfortable 72 degree room! What a big difference!
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Lots of Features, High Quality
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Grand Rapids, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

dropped at warehouse

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The packaging for this air conditioner was just fine, however, when we installed it the fan would not turn. Upon further inspection we realized the it had been dropped-obviously at the warehouse- before it was boxed up. Very disappointed, but ordered another one exactly the same to try again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: wasn't able to try it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

worth it!!!!

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very satisfied with this purchase. Our home typically a couple degrees hotter than the outside temp. It was absolutely horrible. Now our 1000 sf upper level stays at least 10 degrees cooler than the outside temp. I wish I would have bought is sooner. Its blowing on me right now. Woot woot!! You will not regret it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from La Mesa, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Value - Cools Room Quickly

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only reason I didn't give this unit a 5 star rating is because of the noise. You really need to work on the sound attenuation. Otherwise; this is an excellent a/c unit. It really cools extremely well. I have to keep changing the temperature upwards instead of downwards. What a major difference, especially during the July humidity. Easy installation.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: really really noisy.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Tampa, FL

Works for me -

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit is being used to cool a third floor bedroom (that is 21x12 with a long hallway and bath included). It does a great job, remote works great, not too loud at all -
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Idaho

Dissapointed

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We bought this A/C unit in the middle of july. When we first installed it I was AMAZED at how cold and powerful it was. I would only have to turn it on for 10 minutes and I would be freezing and have to turn it right back off. About the middle of August I noticed it wasn't even half as cold as it use to be and not nearly as powerful. We thought we might be overworking it so we tried to turn it on as minimal as possible. It is now the beginning of September and nothing has changed. It is still weak. I can stand right in front of the unit now and not even get cold. The fan barely blows too, even on high. EXTREMELY disappointed!! For only having this thing for a month and a half it sure went down hill fast. It still works ok and it helps a little but it doesn't make much of a difference. I think we are going to try and return it or exchange it or something. Maybe we got a lemon. I don't know. But we live in an area that is dry and isn't even that hot- in the summer it might reach the upper 90s but hardly ever breaks 100. I don't think we could have worn it out that fast.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from New York, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

best for my needs

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
needed help putting it in the window but it fits perfectly. It only took about 15 minutes to start cooling. It nicely cools my whole very warm upstairs apartment on the low setting. Highly recommend this unit.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from MN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Complaints

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have no complaints. It is as good as any other air conditioner of same size and efficiency that I have used. However, the one I bought last year of a different brand seemed the same way until we reinstalled it this spring when it would not make cold air. We'll see what this one is like after storing it for the winter. It would be nice if an air conditioner this size and btu's could be lighter. It is a normal weight for an air conditioner of its size, but I remember how big cell phones used to be. I think it can be improved. It is beastly to install these things.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>