728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

Perfect for cooling down a single room or studio. Window kit supplied for left and right side of unit making it ideal for vertical opening windows. User-friendly controls and remote. Easy to remove washable air filter with helpful reminder. Multiple fan speeds and setting for the perfect comfort.
Overall rating:
4.612 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product44 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(33)
4
(15)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product44 of 45reviews
Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
Review 1 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
SouthernAir
from Louisiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Modern efficient A/C units

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit is like all modern window a/c units. They all install and pretty much work the same. Oh, here's a quick tip for all the old heads who think there is too much water in the bottom of the unit, and that they need to drill more holes, to solve a perceived design flaw. Modern window a/c's are supposed to have water at the bottom, the fan is designed with blade extensions to sling the water on to the unit to help cool it, for more efficient operation. Drilling holes in the unit, will in most cases void the warranty.
+48points
48out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
CoolandHappy
from Paterson, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Air conditioner HAPPY CUSTOMER

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last year I moved into an attic apartment it was really really hot in the summer, it was ridiculously hot, that's the correct term. Well I bought a 5000 btu unit thinking it would be enough and boy was I wrong. I suffer like you wouldn't believe, the poor little AC was running full speed all day and night long without even making a dent on the sweltering 100+ degrees. Well, no this year. I bought this AC online after going to the Home Depot store, it was recommended by one of the associates there after I explained my situation. I could not be happier, this is one of the best buys I've ever made, this AC is GREAT, I just have to press the remote and in 5 minutes (I swear to God that's how long i takes) the rooms feels nice and dry, and people, my place is so hot in the summer I think I have a pizza oven in the roof somewhere, in fact, I am the only person who's made it past 3 months there. We just had a scorcher yesterday, It was close to a 100 here in the tri state area with a 75 dewpoint, that's extremely uncomfortable, when I got home after a hard day's work my room was nice and cool thanks to the automatic on timer that turns the AC on 30 minutes before I get there.
One of the best features of the AC is the 'Dry Air' mode that acts as an dehumidifier and it doesn't make the compressor run all the time since relative humidity is what really makes the room feel hot and sticky. I had never, even in the hottest day, run this unit above the low cool - dry mode, it is so powerful and efficient, it really doesn't have to, so it is really good for saving energy, this AC can pay by itself in 6 month.
The only drawback (there's always one) it's the noise. is a bit in loud side they have to work on that, That however... I can live with as long as I can sleep as good as I am doing now with this AC unit. So, if you need to cool an area that gets really hot and it needs powerful AC where central air is not possible, this is it. I am sure you can cool an entire house with this baby.
A bit heavy, do not install without an AC support bracket, got one at home depot for 15 bucks, not a big deal.
Well there you have it, This AC is good if you live in a hot place that a normal run of the mill mainstream brand won't cool unless is a central air or a 220 volt 18 K BTU unit .
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
RLEM
from Tampa, FL

Works for me -

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit is being used to cool a third floor bedroom (that is 21x12 with a long hallway and bath included). It does a great job, remote works great, not too loud at all -
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
WmHBlair
from Houston, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick and easy install, easily cools a hot garage

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We got this unit to cool the garage during the peak of the Summer months. Although larger than what this unit is supposedly intended to cool, the air in the garge would get 30 degrees cooler than it was when the unit was started within an hour or less. Installation was very easy. It could be done by anyone strong enough to lift the unit. The remote is a nice touch, although we don't use it. It notifies you when you need to clean the filter, which is a very slick thing.
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
LOVETHEAC

AWESOME!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great air conditioner. I live in a 650 sq ft 1br and this cools down the whole place in less than an hour. It has a remote which is very convenient. It also has the energy saver mode which is great for night time. I was expecting a much higher energy bill than what I got! LOVE IT!
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
lgfuajr
from Denver, CO, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent A/C Unit!

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although I've never heard the brand name of SPT, this A/C unit is surprisingly an excellent "work horse". This particular 12000 BTU unit easily cools 2 rooms--one large room 15x25 and one small 12x12! It was very easy to install! It took less than 20 minutes from unpackaging to securing in place in the window to power on. That's all there was to it! I love it and I'm extremely pleased with it. No more 91 degree room just before going to bed--it's now a comfortable 72 degree room! What a big difference!
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Lots of Features, High Quality
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
Phyllis
from La Mesa, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Value - Cools Room Quickly

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only reason I didn't give this unit a 5 star rating is because of the noise. You really need to work on the sound attenuation. Otherwise; this is an excellent a/c unit. It really cools extremely well. I have to keep changing the temperature upwards instead of downwards. What a major difference, especially during the July humidity. Easy installation.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: really really noisy.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
siggy77
from The Colony, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We've got it cooling our kitchen, about 15 x 15, and an adjacent family room, a little bigger than that. We have "vaulted" ceilings, and we've been using this unit in the dead of August Summer in North Texas - a string of weeks over 100 F every single day and far into the night. The unit is so nice and compact and wonderful esp. when we cook in the kitchen, it really makes a big difference. We are very pleased with the unit. No problems whatsoever. We rough-calculated operating cost at about $1.00 per day running about 7 to 10 hours per day. It blows very, very strongly, too. Construction quality is very good.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
Holly13
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product so far!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This ac has worked great for us so far! First heat wave and it cooled the space better than I expected! We are using an older 10,000 BTU and this one for about 1,600 square feet of 1 level long and wide space. The only issue I had was that the directions for sides weren't great. It took me a while to figure out what I was doing wrong.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
MEG63
from Marysville, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth every cent!

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's worth every cent to have a comfortable home on a hot day. This air conditioner delivers as promised.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
sassysmom
from New York, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

best for my needs

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
needed help putting it in the window but it fits perfectly. It only took about 15 minutes to start cooling. It nicely cools my whole very warm upstairs apartment on the low setting. Highly recommend this unit.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
Carol
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I purchased the SPT 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner and is very pleased with it.

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very satisfied so far with the SPT 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner I purchased. I have an area that is around 17'X26' with an adjorning hallway, bathroom and bedroom. The unit cools the whole area including another bathroom, den, kitchen, 2 bedrooms and living room. It can be felt in the entire house. It does not take a long time to feel the results. I am very pleased.
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
cjs99
from Simi Valley

AC works well, like the air vent to outside.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is a real good AC that has a vent to the outside where you can bring in fresh air. That feature was not found on most AC we looked at (some store said it was not made anymore). It has plenty of power and buttons are simple. Only problem I can see is the pull for the vent is thin plastic that looks like it could break real easy. Have not used the remote that came with it so I can't say much about it. Might be a little pricey but AC works for us.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
Cory
from Western Pennsylvania
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great so far!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit was purchased after returning a Haier portable 12,000 BTU air conditioner. I was a little skeptical of the brand name at first but tried it after reading the reviews. I am very satisfied with the performance and features of this unit so far. It cools much better than the Haier portable and seems to run much quieter also.
Pros: Lots of Features, High Quality, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
warmintexas
from Texas, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works Well.

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this to repace a verry old AC... it seems a bit louder than the one we had, but over all it works well. I put it in myself, and I wouldn't recomend doing it alone... It is heavy, but doable.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
ktown
from Kingman, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

This unit is awesome.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to use here in the Arizona heat. It works petfect. We love the energy saver feature and our electric usage is the same as with the evapotative coolers.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
MG77

Amazing a/c

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is a great product: it's quiet, powerful, easily cools down my 1-bedrm apartment (it's in the living room). Also has a "dry" mode that's great when it's humid!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
MPL1029

Highly recommended.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light air sound....cools perfectly to what the temp is. Perfect product!!!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
Tazz
from Portland, ME area
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I have used this item for about 2 months and can find nothing negative for the most part.

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation instructions are poorly depicted and the operating instructions are complex but through. So far it has performed very well cooling a 22 X 14 living room with cathedral ceiling.
Pros: Quiet
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
Hjgjo
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great better then others for cheaper

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am someone who has tried over 10 different brands and none compare to this brand and unit. It comes completely ready no assembly with screws or anything. Just stick the side panel on and put in window. It also has lasted longer then its counter parts. I have 3 very furry dogs and the hair gets sucked in and the others broke but not this one. Also I have a living room converted to a bed room that's huge and it cools the whole room.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, remote
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>