728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Conditioners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

Perfect for cooling down a single room or studio. Window kit supplied for left and right side of unit making it ideal for vertical opening windows. User-friendly controls and remote. Easy to remove washable air filter with helpful reminder. Multiple fan speeds and setting for the perfect comfort.
Overall rating:
4.456 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product59 of 64reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(46)
4
(16)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product59 of 64reviews
Customer reviews for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
Review 1 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Piscataway NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Air conditionner, so far

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This air conditioner was easy to assemble and after using it for two weeks, I give it
five stars
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from baltimore, md

great AC unit

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we have this unit in the downstairs of our house- the ceilings are very tall however it cools the entire downstairs. it is a little bit loud but not something that we can't talk while in the room or have to blast the TV. definitely worth the money- great product!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Laguna beach,cal.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It cools my whole 1 bedroom apartment very well

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had my air conditioner only 3 mos. but when in use I couldn't be more comfortable. And I love the energy saver button. It shuts off when desired temperature is reached. Thanks,so far,for being a great product!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Oklahoma CIty
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this for a rental property and it works great. easy to install and cools off several rooms. I would highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

700 sq foot air conditioner

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this air conditioner for son. He said works great and he uses the remote. Only had it for short time. Got it because of the reviews. Hope it pans out to cool his small one bedroom apt. Hasn't gotten very hot yet.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Louisiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Modern efficient A/C units

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit is like all modern window a/c units. They all install and pretty much work the same. Oh, here's a quick tip for all the old heads who think there is too much water in the bottom of the unit, and that they need to drill more holes, to solve a perceived design flaw. Modern window a/c's are supposed to have water at the bottom, the fan is designed with blade extensions to sling the water on to the unit to help cool it, for more efficient operation. Drilling holes in the unit, will in most cases void the warranty.
+59points
60out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Paterson, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Air conditioner HAPPY CUSTOMER

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last year I moved into an attic apartment it was really really hot in the summer, it was ridiculously hot, that's the correct term. Well I bought a 5000 btu unit thinking it would be enough and boy was I wrong. I suffer like you wouldn't believe, the poor little AC was running full speed all day and night long without even making a dent on the sweltering 100+ degrees. Well, no this year. I bought this AC online after going to the Home Depot store, it was recommended by one of the associates there after I explained my situation. I could not be happier, this is one of the best buys I've ever made, this AC is GREAT, I just have to press the remote and in 5 minutes (I swear to God that's how long i takes) the rooms feels nice and dry, and people, my place is so hot in the summer I think I have a pizza oven in the roof somewhere, in fact, I am the only person who's made it past 3 months there. We just had a scorcher yesterday, It was close to a 100 here in the tri state area with a 75 dewpoint, that's extremely uncomfortable, when I got home after a hard day's work my room was nice and cool thanks to the automatic on timer that turns the AC on 30 minutes before I get there.
One of the best features of the AC is the 'Dry Air' mode that acts as an dehumidifier and it doesn't make the compressor run all the time since relative humidity is what really makes the room feel hot and sticky. I had never, even in the hottest day, run this unit above the low cool - dry mode, it is so powerful and efficient, it really doesn't have to, so it is really good for saving energy, this AC can pay by itself in 6 month.
The only drawback (there's always one) it's the noise. is a bit in loud side they have to work on that, That however... I can live with as long as I can sleep as good as I am doing now with this AC unit. So, if you need to cool an area that gets really hot and it needs powerful AC where central air is not possible, this is it. I am sure you can cool an entire house with this baby.
A bit heavy, do not install without an AC support bracket, got one at home depot for 15 bucks, not a big deal.
Well there you have it, This AC is good if you live in a hot place that a normal run of the mill mainstream brand won't cool unless is a central air or a 220 volt 18 K BTU unit .
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from NY, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid AC for the price

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The AC is strong, I live in a 600 sq ft. studio and it cools it nicely. The remote control has a range from across the room, and there is an energy saver mode which at least makes me feel like I'm saving $. It's a bit louder than average I'd say, and I have it propped by my TV so, it competes a little. If you get a good price on this, I would highly recommend. Also, it's not difficult to install at all.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Hadley, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Other

If it's oily when you open box, go no further

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered this online in mid-May and got quick delivery. It stayed in the box until I opened it on July 1 since the weather had turned HHH. As I unwrapped the protective plastic, I noticed a wet sheen on it and discovered the entire 85 lb unit was covered in some kind of oil. Needless to say, I packed it back up and am returning it. I don't know if it worked or not but I was not going to attempt to lift a greased 85 lb. AC. Home Depot customer service told me I should pack it up and UPS will call me to arrange a pick-up date. I should have a full refund when they do.
Pros: packed well
Cons: could not use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Indianapolis IN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ok

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
An ok product, not great but easy to assemble, but not to carry up a flight of stairs.Cools adequately by morning. Sleep setting is useless.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from long island N.Y.
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pleasantly surprised

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
SPT was a brand I never heard of. I was doing a lot of research because I was determined to buy a good product. After reading all the reviews about this brand I decied to try it.. I was more than pleased with the delivery, installation, and the effectiveness of this unit. I plan on buying another one for a different room in my house, and have told all my friends about this unit..
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from west plains
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

never worked right out of the package.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We got this shipped to us and installed it same day turned it on and all it would do was hum.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from La Mesa, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Value - Cools Room Quickly

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only reason I didn't give this unit a 5 star rating is because of the noise. You really need to work on the sound attenuation. Otherwise; this is an excellent a/c unit. It really cools extremely well. I have to keep changing the temperature upwards instead of downwards. What a major difference, especially during the July humidity. Easy installation.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: really really noisy.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from The Colony, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We've got it cooling our kitchen, about 15 x 15, and an adjacent family room, a little bigger than that. We have "vaulted" ceilings, and we've been using this unit in the dead of August Summer in North Texas - a string of weeks over 100 F every single day and far into the night. The unit is so nice and compact and wonderful esp. when we cook in the kitchen, it really makes a big difference. We are very pleased with the unit. No problems whatsoever. We rough-calculated operating cost at about $1.00 per day running about 7 to 10 hours per day. It blows very, very strongly, too. Construction quality is very good.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Near Athens , Ga
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good product for the money

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I installed this ac unit in under 20 min. It is being used in a 20 x 20 garage . We bought it because we made our garage into a playroom for our 6 children. It works great even on days like today with 97 degrees and 100 percent humidity. We set it on dry and it takes the humidity out of the air and cools the room fairly quickly. I would recommend this ac unit for use even in the brutal summers like we have here in GA.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from New Hampshire
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best A/C I've Owned

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've owned many brands including portables and always been disappointed on a real hot day. But this one gets it done and is quiet, Not a brand I had heard of but very glad I tried it. A winner.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Houston, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick and easy install, easily cools a hot garage

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We got this unit to cool the garage during the peak of the Summer months. Although larger than what this unit is supposedly intended to cool, the air in the garge would get 30 degrees cooler than it was when the unit was started within an hour or less. Installation was very easy. It could be done by anyone strong enough to lift the unit. The remote is a nice touch, although we don't use it. It notifies you when you need to clean the filter, which is a very slick thing.
+34points
35out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Sacramento, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice unit for the price

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read many reviews before purchasing this unit and I was a little skeptical of the off-brand name of SPT but this little unit works like a dream and runs fairly quiet for this type of unit.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

AWESOME!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great air conditioner. I live in a 650 sq ft 1br and this cools down the whole place in less than an hour. It has a remote which is very convenient. It also has the energy saver mode which is great for night time. I was expecting a much higher energy bill than what I got! LOVE IT!
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner
from Denver, CO, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent A/C Unit!

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although I've never heard the brand name of SPT, this A/C unit is surprisingly an excellent "work horse". This particular 12000 BTU unit easily cools 2 rooms--one large room 15x25 and one small 12x12! It was very easy to install! It took less than 20 minutes from unpackaging to securing in place in the window to power on. That's all there was to it! I love it and I'm extremely pleased with it. No more 91 degree room just before going to bed--it's now a comfortable 72 degree room! What a big difference!
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Lots of Features, High Quality
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>