728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Deck & Patio Restoration or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

The Deck Restore 3.75-gal. Acrylic Liquid Armor Resurfacer is formulated to beautify and protect exterior wood and composite decking, docks, stairs and more. The 1-part, acrylic formula is water based, and it is ready for application. It helps to lock down splinters to make surfaces more barefoot friendly.
Overall rating:
2.923 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(209 reviews) 209
Open Ratings Snapshot
50%of customersrecommend this product101 of 201reviews
Rating Breakdown 209 reviews
2.9 out of 5
5
(68)
4
(32)
3
(13)
2
(8)
1
(88)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5
2.8 out of 5
50%of customersrecommend this product101 of 201reviews
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 93 Answers
Customer reviews for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
Review 1 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Ma
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

DON'T BUY THIS PRUDUCT, EXPESIVE, HARD TO APPLY, JUNK, LASTED 1 YEAR, PEELS GREAT!!

PostedMay 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 7 4 gallon pails of this product last year and applied exactly as specified. After the snow melted this year WOW what a surprise I have, 75% of this paint has pealed up and off, I HAVE MANY PICTURES TO SHOW!! This paint was triple the cost of others $700!!! This paint was the WORST product I every used!!! Only lasted 1 year, how do I go about this 12 year guarantee?? This was the hardest paint to prep for, then roll on using the textured rollers and doing 2 coats, and 1 year later it's worst that it was before!!! I have receipts, pails, and many pictures. I will be sharing my story to others so they don't make the mistake I did by buying this product!! I trusted the rust-oleum name as their oil base paint has always been great, this stuff is horrible!!
Cons: doesn't last, high cost, hard to apply
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+45points
45out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Washington state

DO NOT BUY!! Wasted money pit

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Doesn't deserve one star. Applied end of last summer, product started peeling 6 months later. Wasted all this time and didn't even get 1 year out of the 12 they guarantee. Oh and speaking of guarantee, they do not stand behind this product. We have been fighting with them about just getting money back. However it will cost me double to sand all this stuff off. Don't waste your money on this stuff. Anyone filing a class action suit on rustoleum, count me in. Will never use ANY rustoleum product based on this single experience and the customer service.
Pros: nothing
Cons: peels off.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+38points
39out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from SPRINGFIELD, MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BIG DISAPPOINTMENT!!

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased eight 5-gallon cans of the Restore Resurfacer last Fall and applied it to one wooden front porch and one wooden back deck. We had a contractor apply it as he had done several applications so we are certain he knew what he was doing. We were initially very pleased with how it looked. However, sometime in the winter after snow, etc, we noticed a huge chunk of it had raised up and then observed several cracks running across the boards the entire width of the deck. Now it's turning loose and coming up in large pieces. So far the front porch has not shown signs of turning loose. We thought we had found a “miracle product” to save our wood deck. Now to save our deck, we just purchased composite decking and will go to even more expense of tearing off the wood deck and installing the composite decking and hopefully be done with this once and for all. We are not recommending this product to anyone.
Pros: Even Application, Modern, looked great initially
Cons: does not adhere well, apparently does not withstand snow?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+66points
69out of 72found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Fort Washington MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't buy this product !!!!!!!!

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My deck looked awesome after I finished applying the Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer last fall but soon after the winter passed, I started to see large pieces of the paint come up. The worst deck product I every brought. Don't waste your money. I will write a formal compliant to the company and attempt to get a refund from Home Deport. :( :( :( :(
Cons: Scratches Easily, peeling after 6 months
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+33points
34out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from liverpool,ny
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

wasted money -

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
paid to have this applied last summer-now that snow is going it all is flaking off. I want my money back for 2 boxes and 5 gallon . not happy
Pros: Dries Quickly
Cons: Scratches Easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+47points
49out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Southern Indiana
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Do not purchase

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product goes down with a little more effort than is described, but looks beautiful when completed. Unfortunately, the beauty is short lived. After about 6 months it is beginning to come up in several spots. Believe me when I tell you it was put down correctly by folks who knew what they were doing. It is very difficult to get a response from the manufacturer of the product as well regarding the "warranty." The deck I finished is very large, and you can probably imagine was not inexpensive to finish. Now I am out a substantial amount of money and have little doubt this product is going to continue to come up.
I feel incredibly guilty for having recommended this product initially to friends and neighbors since they are now having the same issues.
Pros: initially looks beautiful....but
Cons: does not last, manufacturer does not respond to issues
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+37points
39out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Ohio

Goes on very very thick...but does the trick

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My deck surrounds a pool and bakes in the sun all summer. We get plenty of snow and ice in the winter. Over the years, the deck has degenerated, requiring painting every 2-3 years to look halfway decent. This year I was getting my usual paint supplies when the clerk asked "does your deck have a peeling problem?" Perhaps the flaked paint I brought for color matching called his attention. After seeing the samples I decided to go ahead and try Restore, mostly on the hope that I would not have to repaint for 7-10 years. It paints like sand, but absolutely seals. Fingers crossed. You need two coats. I knocked down the texture with a brush for the second coat.
Pros: fills in the cracks
Cons: you'll need more than you think in product & labor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+32points
37out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Bangor Maine
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Product for Cold Climates

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Bought this product last fall and applied per directions. Now five months later the product is flaking off now that the snow has melted from my deck. Do Not Buy This Product! (See attached photos for product results) I will be visiting my local Home Depot to seek a refund.
Cons: does not last, not good for cold climates
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Saskatchewan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Total waist of time and money. You should be able to give a negative rating

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This looked like a great product. We cleaned the decks , front and back . We used the prewash produce they also sold. Used a brush and the wash product to clean the decks , twice and let it dry for a couple of days. The deck coating applied nicely and it looked great. If the fall when it started to get cold at night the coating started to blister as the day warmed up the blisters went away. Over the winter the cold must have blister it to 80%. I the spring the coating started coming off and the wind started to peel it off . The 10% that stayed had to be scraped off ... Not hard to scrape but this should have happened .
Please do not even consider trying this produce . If you see any good review here , check the date to see when it was posted .... Before winter or after winter
Pros: poor
Cons: blisters and peels
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Romeo, Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT BUY!!!

PostedMay 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was the biggest and most expensive mistake we have ever made regarding our deck. We prepared our deck according to the instructions. We tried the roller they said we should use (make by the mfg, of course) - it splattered product all over the place, including ourselves. We ended up using a brush and hand painting it all over the floor and flat surfaces of our deck. We did this in late summer/early fall and abided by all temperature recommendations. We were very pleased with the finished product. Since we had already removed all our deck furniture to do the job, we stored it away for the winter. We live in southeast Michigan, so needless to say, our winter was very snowy and frigid. No one even walked on the deck since it was covered for months under several feet of snow. Once all the snow melted, we were shocked to see that the product was peeling off the deck in several places, with absolutely no traffic. The product was advertised as impervious to high traffic patterns, abuse and torrential rains. Could not have been this product! Now, as we have been getting some spring rain, every time it rains, more product peels off and you can see the peelings sitting on the deck and more waving in the breeze ready to come off. The company guarantees their product and says to take back to point of purchase for full refund. Needless to say, we will be returning soon to Home Depot with our receipt, pictures of the mess on our deck and be asking for the full refund. Rustoleum says they will not pay for removal and replacement of their defective product, but I really think they should. Now our work will be doubled! Save yourself a lot of work and expense and DO NOT BUY OR USE!
Cons: peels off, not as advertised, expensive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Miami, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not pleased. Wish I had read reviews before buying

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a deck that had deteriorated. The Restore commercials convinced me to try the product. First I replaced all badly deteriorated boards then painted entire deck with Restore 4X. Not a bad product, tinted well but did not cover knotholes, joints, cracks, etc. I decided to use 10X.
!0X did not tint well. I don't know if it was product or Home Depot but it did not match sample or brochure. I will have to paint over with another product.
10X is very thick and difficult to use. The restore rollers leave a weird pattern and must be knocked down with a brush. Very poor coverage but the store POP does advise that there is limited coverage.
I quit applying after about half the bucket. Why continue if I'm going to have to redo with another product?
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Reno, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product failed to adhere

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product washed off in large areas and failed to adhere to the prepared surfice
Cons: washes off, causes more work, looks bad, poor quality of material
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Montesano, WA 98563, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New look!

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The finish was fairly easy to apply, set up quickly, and completely changed the appearance of the deck. We expect it to last for years, enduring the long wet winters with ease.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Deck Restore is perfect

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The ad caught my attention--restore a deck or concrete to near-new condition--and seemed too good to be true. The in-store display intrigued me as I had a peeling, chipped painted concrete front porch that was detracting from the appearance of my home. Stripping the paint was not an option so Deck Restore seemed to be a viable solution. The product worked beyond my wildest dreams. I selected a color that would closely approximate the color of the other unpainted concrete sidewalk and driveway and the result is fabulous! Deck Restore gave me the color and texture I wanted and was extremely simple to prepare, apply and clean up. I've never had an outdoor painting project go this smoothly.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
16out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Pittsburgh PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't last

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I applied this coating to concrete at the end of the summer and followed all the instructions. After going through 1 winter, the coating is coming off in large flakes. It looked good when I first put it down, but I expected it to last longer than 6 months for the price.
Cons: flakes off
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from New Hampshire
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rust-Oleum Restore Has Ruined My Deck

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I applied Rust-Oleum Restore to my deck mid August 2013.
We followed the manufacture's instructions religiously. Also watched their video for product application.
Used Rust-Oleum deck cleaner for preparation and their special roller for application.
Fast forward to March 2014 and this stuff is peeling and cracking everywhere.
The failure mode is either peeling up in large sheets (see video) or it crumbles when you step on it.
The major problem is that in sections of the deck where is neither peels or crumbles, its removal is all but impossible without destroying the wood decking.
The only thing I can do now is pull up the fir decking and either replace it (very expensive) or turn the decking over, put it back down and use a conventional stain (labor intensive).
Needless to say, "I am not happy".
Pros: initally looked great
Cons: Not Durable
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Mahopac,New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Huge failure

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While this product looks good it is very tough to roll on or brush and the coverage is pitiful!tooo thick and splatters everywhere!!! After I was done it did look great during the late spring and summer but after the cold temps and moisture from all the snowfall I could wipe it off simply by rubbing the sole of my shoe on it and it simply wiped right off with little effort,basically like wiping fog from a windshield! As soon as the weather gets warmer I will use my broom and swep this ---- off my deck and then use a solid stain !!!
Worst product ever made and definitely not worth the money!!!!doesnt restore ----!!!!
Pros: looks good for a very short time
Cons: slides right off in the cold and or rain
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Des Moines, Iowa
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Total waste of time and money

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't have a large deck (12 X 16). I probably spent 20 hours on it prepping the surface and followed the instructions. Yes I loved the look, but its peeling off EVERYWHERE. I live in Iowa and yes we had a rough winter but for a product that's supposed to last 10 years it should have been able to withstand this winter.
The information on coverage is totally inaccurate.... you'll need to double or triple, so what I thought was going to cost about $160 was more like $400.
And if you have spindles (I have 90) the small roller is to wide to handle the 2x2s and reach in between under the railing.
Pros: Good Coverage
Cons: does no last, cost misrepresented
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from McGaheysville, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

RESTORE - DO NOT USE

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I USED THIS PRODUCT LAST YEAR ON MY DECK AFTER 10 YEARS OF USING STAINS. IT LOOKED GREAT WHEN DONE LAST AUGUST. BEGINNING OF SUMMER I CLEAN DECK WITH RESTORE CLEANER AND SINCE THEN I KNOW HAVE MOLD AND MILDEW IN EVERY CRACK AND ALSO IT RETAINS ANY DIRT THAT GETS ON IT. LIKE JUST WALKING ON IT WITH DIRTY SHOES. WOULD NEVER USE AGAIN .
Cons: Difficult to Clean, mildew, mold
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
Age Range:25 to 34

Looks great before it fails and ruins your deck

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased last summer and had optimal conditions for application...long dry summer. Followed manufacturers specs and came out with a very nice looking deck. Then the winter came. Less than half way through winter and the first couple freeze/thaws and the restore has failed. Cracks and chips...worse and worse every day as the product continues to deteriorate.
Vendor was happy to refund for the product, but that doesn't solve the issue of a wrecked deck that I will now take up with the manufacturer.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions
Cons: ruined the deck
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>