728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Deck & Patio Restoration or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

The Deck Restore 3.75-gal. Acrylic Liquid Armor Resurfacer is formulated to beautify and protect exterior wood and composite decking, docks, stairs and more. The 1-part, acrylic formula is water based, and it is ready for application. It helps to lock down splinters to make surfaces more barefoot friendly.
Overall rating:
2.923 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(209 reviews) 209
Open Ratings Snapshot
50%of customersrecommend this product101 of 201reviews
Rating Breakdown 209 reviews
2.9 out of 5
5
(68)
4
(32)
3
(13)
2
(8)
1
(88)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5
2.8 out of 5
50%of customersrecommend this product101 of 201reviews
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 93 Answers
Customer reviews for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
Review 21 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Chesterfield, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product --worth the effort!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product! I had a pressure treated natural deck that was added onto a year ago. I decided to use this to make both parts match. It covers the exact amount of square feet it says it does. Don't plan on trying to stretch it. It takes two coats to get the proper coverage and plan on brushing it on between the board to get a quality look. We did our 400 square foot deck and our 100 square foot front porch. They look AWESOME! It feels great on your feet and is not to rough. Also not slippery when wet. Never looks bad even when wet. It is some work to put down but worth all the effort.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not last

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was good when first applied in the fall. Everything looked great. Then winter arrived with freezing temps,snow and sleet etc. even though I never used a shovel, only pushed a broom it is just flaking right off!! Now it just flakes off in chunks when you just walk on it!! Come Spring I will have to scrape it all off
Because it looks terrible now. Didn't even last four months!! And it is very expensive!!
Cons: Scratches Easily
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Rockville, MD
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Restore Deck System

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This was a major project for us. It was a bit pricey after buying everything needed for the job. However, we still probably saved money by not hiring someone. The color was just as expected from the color guide and it really did fill in all the cracks and grooves. The textured finish is a bit rough. Just finished the project so it will be the first winter with the deck restored. By the looks of the deck, I do believe it will hold up well over the winter! If you've got the time, I would recommend using this product to restore your deck.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

Peeled off

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Our deck was prepared according to Restore recommendations and the product still peeled up after 6 months. Waste of money!
Cons: peels off deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Glastonbury, Ct
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Happy

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this product last summer. Followed the instructions exactly, it is very hard to apply. The deck looks bad...all the nails rusted through even though we primed....the product is peeling off the railings and the floor. Heading to Home Depot for a refund. Still stuck with a disaster of a deck.
Cons: Difficult to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Louisville, KY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DON'T BUY!!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I followed the prep directions exactly. Found that the application was much more difficult than advertised but it looked great after it was completed. However after our hard winter, it has begun separating, cracking, chipping and generally a disaster. How do I exercise my "Limited Lifetime Warranty"? Don't waste your time or money.
Cons: does not hold up, difficult to apply
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Bath, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Restore was perfect! Did just what it said it would!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I loved the Deck Restore! My deck was destroyed! My kids were getting splinters everyday! I applied it myself (no husband required:) and it covered every imperfection! The product also covered EXACTLY as many square feet as it said it would! My kids now run around the deck with no shoes and no splinters! I love the texture and color choices! Only complaint is I used the "river rock" color and it was slightly lighter that shown on the sample. But I love the product and have recommended it to many friends already!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

NEVER EVER USE ON CONCRETE!!!!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm not sure how this product works on wood decking however do not ever ever....ever....ever use this on concrete. I applied this product two weeks ago and it looked fabulous, however only after two weeks the product is cracking and chipping. Could only imagine what it's going to look like after I shovel the porch after a snow storm. I followed all of the recommendations of the manufacturer and the end product did not hold up to their word. It should not specify that this can be used for concrete. Home Depot should take this off the shelf until the label specifies "DO NOT USE ON CONCRETE".
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use
Cons: does not work for concrete
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

Restore Refund

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied 12 gallons to my deck last summer. The produce lasted fine until this Spring when it bubbled up and peeled off. Home Depot was great in getting copies of my receipts. I contacted Rust-o-leum and sent pictures and receipts and said I was totally dissatisfied. They issued a full refund, but my deck looks horrible!
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: doesn't last
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Cincinnati
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This stuff is junk

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not use this stuff. It will peel off within 6 months. First I used bleach on the deck, then Dawn dish soap to get rid of the bleach. After that, I used a pressure washer to get rid of the soap. The deck looked great and I almost didn't put the stuff on. Now I am sorry I did. It is coming off in sheets. Is is so bad, when the wind blows hard enough, I am picking the junk out of the grass and gardens. I repeat, do NOT use this junk. If you are having an issue with this garbage, call rust-oleum and get your money back.
Cons: flakes off in sheets
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Waste Time and Money

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Spent hours pressure washing and prepping deck, and several more hours rolling on two coats only to watch this product be removed by the weather. It didn't even make it through one winter. Now I am left a deck that is mostly back to the original boards, but some of this junk is still stuck on in patches so I can't even stain at this point. Thank you selling a product that wasted $750 of my money and hours of my time.
Cons: junk
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT USE (unless you like to flush money down the toilet!)

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product on my deck last summer. I spent over 400 dollars on this product and applied the paint AS INSTRUCTED. At first I was very pleased with how the deck turned out. It hasn't even been 9 months later and big chips of the paint are coming off everywhere on the deck and it looks awful! If you read through the rest of these reviews you will find the same story over and over. I contacted the company today and if they do not make things right, then will move on to the Better Business Bureau.
Cons: coating peels up in big chunks!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Cumming, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awful Product

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Awful product!!! I sanded my deck, and used on old and new decking. Product wasn't easy to apply and went thru 3 rollers on a very large deck. Pieces started coming off 3 weeks later. Bought 4-5 gallons buckets, luckily could return 2. I pressure washed my deck a few weeks ago and it ALL came off, really!!!! Worst product ever. Pay more and don't waste your hard earned weekend time putting this anywhere near your home
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Lacey, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Totally disappointed

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We spent two weekends cleaning (their product), letting everything dry for a week, then applying this product. It is breaking off in sheets less than 10 months later. If you want to waste a ton of money just to get to sand off your whole deck and try something else a year later, go for it. Tried calling Rustoleum, they would do nothing to offset our time or expenses.
Cons: blisters and breaks off in chunks
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of many hours and many dollars!

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Took days to apply.
Took one winter to peel and bubble.
Hugh cost!
Low return!
Save your time and money!
Cons: came off!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Ogden, Utah
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible Product, do not buy!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I too read all the horrible reviews for this product but I thought hey why not give it a shot well I was so wrong! The pain was awful to work with, it is so thick it gets all over. It took me a week to paint every inch on my cement. I work 7 days on and then have 7 days off so it wasn't just like an after work project I actually spend most of the day for seven days painting. I finished painting two weeks ago well today I walk outside and the paint is peeling off my cement. Yes I can actually peel the paint right off. This is such a horrible product I will be calling the company and demanding a refund. I spend nearly 300 dollars on this project for it to peel off in two weeks.
Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Difficult to Clean, horrible in every way!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Kansas City, MO
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

End result is great!

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Plan ahead and allow plenty of time to apply this correctly. We found we had better luck between the deck slats with the coordinating stain, our slats were too close together to use the decking product. The product is very thick and takes time to apply correctly, but the end result is just what we needed.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: takes time to apply correctly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Idaho
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extremely Disappointed

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Almost entirely flaked off from front steps after less than 6 months. I was very excited to find this product and am so disappointed at the performance. A huge waste of money, will have to replace everything I coated with it.
Pros: Dries Quickly, nice surface while it lasted
Cons: flakes off, doesn't last
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst deck coating product ever made!

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What a scam product! As with other disappointed reviewers, I applied it in the late summer to a new deck; even applied additional coats than was recommended. Looked good throughout the fall, but winter came and now in spring I noticed a separation crack at one of the trim boards. Upon closer inspection, (down on my knees), the whole deck was covered with splits in the coating - shrinkage cracking - that now exposes the wood to direct moisture infiltration! This product has probably ruined my new, but good luck trying to collect on that limited lifetime warranty! Now this summer, I'll have to look at GacoDeck (my first gut instinct at the time; should have gone with it) or even a roof patch/repair coating to halt the damage that has started due to this product. Run away from this product - don't look back!
Cons: shrinks and splits in less than a year!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big Waste

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not buy this product. I put it on my deck last August 2013, and now April 2014 it is all buckled and peeled away. And the company doesn't even stand behind their product. It says limited lifetime warrenty well mine isn't even 8 months.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, peels off in chunks
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>