728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Deck & Patio Restoration or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

The Deck Restore 3.75-gal. Acrylic Liquid Armor Resurfacer is formulated to beautify and protect exterior wood and composite decking, docks, stairs and more. The 1-part, acrylic formula is water based, and it is ready for application. It helps to lock down splinters to make surfaces more barefoot friendly.
Overall rating:
2.971 / 5
3
 / 
5
(204 reviews) 204
Open Ratings Snapshot
52%of customersrecommend this product101 of 196reviews
Rating Breakdown 204 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(68)
4
(32)
3
(13)
2
(8)
1
(83)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
52%of customersrecommend this product101 of 196reviews
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 93 Answers
Customer reviews for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
Review 21 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from McGaheysville, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

RESTORE - DO NOT USE

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I USED THIS PRODUCT LAST YEAR ON MY DECK AFTER 10 YEARS OF USING STAINS. IT LOOKED GREAT WHEN DONE LAST AUGUST. BEGINNING OF SUMMER I CLEAN DECK WITH RESTORE CLEANER AND SINCE THEN I KNOW HAVE MOLD AND MILDEW IN EVERY CRACK AND ALSO IT RETAINS ANY DIRT THAT GETS ON IT. LIKE JUST WALKING ON IT WITH DIRTY SHOES. WOULD NEVER USE AGAIN .
Cons: Difficult to Clean, mildew, mold
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

NEVER EVER USE ON CONCRETE!!!!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm not sure how this product works on wood decking however do not ever ever....ever....ever use this on concrete. I applied this product two weeks ago and it looked fabulous, however only after two weeks the product is cracking and chipping. Could only imagine what it's going to look like after I shovel the porch after a snow storm. I followed all of the recommendations of the manufacturer and the end product did not hold up to their word. It should not specify that this can be used for concrete. Home Depot should take this off the shelf until the label specifies "DO NOT USE ON CONCRETE".
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use
Cons: does not work for concrete
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Brighton, IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Glad I discovered this product

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The ads and pictures caused me to expect a much thicker result but realized it is what was said 10 times thicker than regular paint. Application must be slow because of the thickness and the splatters from the roller pad. The recommended roller works very well in application. Regular roller would not work.
We are very pleased with the result and would recommend it to our friends.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Good Protection, Looks Great, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: splatters more than normal
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Bath, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Restore was perfect! Did just what it said it would!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I loved the Deck Restore! My deck was destroyed! My kids were getting splinters everyday! I applied it myself (no husband required:) and it covered every imperfection! The product also covered EXACTLY as many square feet as it said it would! My kids now run around the deck with no shoes and no splinters! I love the texture and color choices! Only complaint is I used the "river rock" color and it was slightly lighter that shown on the sample. But I love the product and have recommended it to many friends already!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Cincinnati
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This stuff is junk

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not use this stuff. It will peel off within 6 months. First I used bleach on the deck, then Dawn dish soap to get rid of the bleach. After that, I used a pressure washer to get rid of the soap. The deck looked great and I almost didn't put the stuff on. Now I am sorry I did. It is coming off in sheets. Is is so bad, when the wind blows hard enough, I am picking the junk out of the grass and gardens. I repeat, do NOT use this junk. If you are having an issue with this garbage, call rust-oleum and get your money back.
Cons: flakes off in sheets
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Glastonbury, Ct
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Happy

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this product last summer. Followed the instructions exactly, it is very hard to apply. The deck looks bad...all the nails rusted through even though we primed....the product is peeling off the railings and the floor. Heading to Home Depot for a refund. Still stuck with a disaster of a deck.
Cons: Difficult to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works but is very difficult to work with

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The directions said to use one of their spongy rollers to apply. I tried this and I have no idea how anyone could do it this way. I ended up going on my hands and knees pouring some out on a deck board and then using a large paint brush to evenly spread it out, which took two weekends to complete my medium-sized deck. When they say it's thick, they mean it's really thick. It's more like mud than paint, and painting with it is more like frosting a cake than it is painting.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
Cons: difficult to apply
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of many hours and many dollars!

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Took days to apply.
Took one winter to peel and bubble.
Hugh cost!
Low return!
Save your time and money!
Cons: came off!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Cumming, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awful Product

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Awful product!!! I sanded my deck, and used on old and new decking. Product wasn't easy to apply and went thru 3 rollers on a very large deck. Pieces started coming off 3 weeks later. Bought 4-5 gallons buckets, luckily could return 2. I pressure washed my deck a few weeks ago and it ALL came off, really!!!! Worst product ever. Pay more and don't waste your hard earned weekend time putting this anywhere near your home
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Waste Time and Money

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Spent hours pressure washing and prepping deck, and several more hours rolling on two coats only to watch this product be removed by the weather. It didn't even make it through one winter. Now I am left a deck that is mostly back to the original boards, but some of this junk is still stuck on in patches so I can't even stain at this point. Thank you selling a product that wasted $750 of my money and hours of my time.
Cons: junk
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Kansas City, MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I applied the coating about one month ago. Seems to be holding well. The coating was fairly easy to apply. It is not a fast process and definitely requires two coats. It was difficult to get the thickness needed even with two coats using the recommended roller sleeve. I found cutting the roller sleeve to the width of the deck boards was easier and more efficient than using the full roller width.
The coating looks very nice now and was much cheaper and easier than replacing the boards.
Not sure what I will do if ever need to replace the boards as the coating fully covers the screws.
Pros: Looks Great, Modern, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Idaho
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extremely Disappointed

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Almost entirely flaked off from front steps after less than 6 months. I was very excited to find this product and am so disappointed at the performance. A huge waste of money, will have to replace everything I coated with it.
Pros: Dries Quickly, nice surface while it lasted
Cons: flakes off, doesn't last
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Lacey, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Totally disappointed

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We spent two weekends cleaning (their product), letting everything dry for a week, then applying this product. It is breaking off in sheets less than 10 months later. If you want to waste a ton of money just to get to sand off your whole deck and try something else a year later, go for it. Tried calling Rustoleum, they would do nothing to offset our time or expenses.
Cons: blisters and breaks off in chunks
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT USE (unless you like to flush money down the toilet!)

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product on my deck last summer. I spent over 400 dollars on this product and applied the paint AS INSTRUCTED. At first I was very pleased with how the deck turned out. It hasn't even been 9 months later and big chips of the paint are coming off everywhere on the deck and it looks awful! If you read through the rest of these reviews you will find the same story over and over. I contacted the company today and if they do not make things right, then will move on to the Better Business Bureau.
Cons: coating peels up in big chunks!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big Waste

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not buy this product. I put it on my deck last August 2013, and now April 2014 it is all buckled and peeled away. And the company doesn't even stand behind their product. It says limited lifetime warrenty well mine isn't even 8 months.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, peels off in chunks
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

Restore Refund

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied 12 gallons to my deck last summer. The produce lasted fine until this Spring when it bubbled up and peeled off. Home Depot was great in getting copies of my receipts. I contacted Rust-o-leum and sent pictures and receipts and said I was totally dissatisfied. They issued a full refund, but my deck looks horrible!
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: doesn't last
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst deck coating product ever made!

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What a scam product! As with other disappointed reviewers, I applied it in the late summer to a new deck; even applied additional coats than was recommended. Looked good throughout the fall, but winter came and now in spring I noticed a separation crack at one of the trim boards. Upon closer inspection, (down on my knees), the whole deck was covered with splits in the coating - shrinkage cracking - that now exposes the wood to direct moisture infiltration! This product has probably ruined my new, but good luck trying to collect on that limited lifetime warranty! Now this summer, I'll have to look at GacoDeck (my first gut instinct at the time; should have gone with it) or even a roof patch/repair coating to halt the damage that has started due to this product. Run away from this product - don't look back!
Cons: shrinks and splits in less than a year!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from sedro woolley wa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

waste of time and money

PostedMay 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied deck restore last summer and at first other then not spreading well i was very happy with the look. After just one winter it is all peeling up. I have a very large deck and it took ten four gallon buckets to coat the whole deck. Which ended up being a very expensive mistake. If you value your time and money don't waste either on this horible product
Cons: doesn't spread very good, doesn't stick to the wood, just plain sucks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

Does not do as advertised!

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Followed directions, applied two heavy coats. Looked great until Winter. Snow came and even though this is a mostly covered porch, all of the area treated have begun to peel and flake off in huge pieces. Simple sweeping brings off large chunks!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Columbia Mo

Looked great while it lasted

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I put the deck restore down in the Fall of 2013. It's now April 2014 and its already starting to pill off. Maybe I did something wrong but because of the cost of this product I wouldn't take a chance if I had it to do over again.
Cons: pills off after only a few months
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>